Skip to main content

Full text of "Rutherfurd's southern counties register for ... being a supplement to the almanacs; containing accurate lists of the public bodies, registered electors, &c. and much useful information connected with the counties of Roxburgh, Berwick, Selkirk, & Peebles"

See other formats


. 


114  ROXBURGH  STREET,  KELSO. 


£ 


MONTHLY  PROFESSIONAL  VISITS  TO 

Melrose,  Jedburgh,   Hawick,  and  Coldstream. 

MELROSE 

On  the  first  Monday  in  each  month. 

Attendance  at 

ANDERSON'S  TEMPERANCE   HOTEL. 


HAWICK 

On  the  2nd  Monday  in  each  month. 

Attendance  at 

MURRAY'S  TEMPERANCE  HOTEL. 


JEDBURGH 

On  the  first  Tuesday  in  each  month. 

Attendance  at 

MRS.  COWAN'S,  8  MARKET  PLACE. 


COLDSTREAM 

On  the  second  Tuesday  in  each  month. 

Attendance  at 

THE  NEWCASTLE  ARMS  INN. 


|  Select  Dental  Preparations,  Tooth  Powders,  Lotions,; 
&c,  prepared  by   Mr.  Vernon. 

CARBONATED  OTTO  DENTIFRICE. 

A  very  agreeable  and  excellent  preparation  for  cleansing  the  Teeth  &  Gums. 


CAMPHORATED,  ALKALINE,  &  ASTRINGENT    DENTIFRICE. 

This  preparation  neutralizes  the  effectB  of  acids  on  the  Teeth, 
and  imparts  firmness  and  strength  to  the  Gums. 


ASTRINGENT    POWDER   AND   ASTRINGENT  WASH 
FOR   THE    MOUTH. 

Highly  useful  in  cases  of  Inflammation  of  the  Gums. 


AROMATIC   TINCTURE   OF  MYRRH    AND    BORAX. 

PREPARED  WITH   EAU  DE  COLOGNE. 

A  very  refreshing  and  elegant  preparation  for  Strengthening  the  Gums. 


With  the  above  exceptions,  he  may  be  consulted  Daily,  from  10  to  5  (or  by  appointment),  at  his  Residence, 

114  ROXBURGH  STREET,  KLELSO. 


THE    SCOTTISH    PROVIDENT    INSTITUTION. 

ESTABLISHED  1837. 

THE  TERMS  of  this  Society  secure  a  larger  original  Assurance  for  the  same 
Premium,  and  eventually,  to  good  lives,  as  large  Additions  as  where  the 

ordinary  high  rates  are  charged. 

A  Policy  for  £1200  to  £1250  (with  right  to  Whole  Profits)  may  generally 

be  had  for  the  Premium  elsewhere  charged  to  assure  £1000  only. 

Policies  originally  for  £1000  have  already,  under  the  peculiar  system  of 

the  Society,  been  increased  to  £1300,  £1500,  and  even  to  £1700. 

Examples  of  Annual  Premium  for  Assurance  of  £100  at  Death,  with  right  to  Whole  Profits. 


Age. 

Premium. 

Age. 

Premium. 

Age. 

Premium. 

Age. 

Premium. 

.  21 

£1  16  3 

29 

£2  0  8 

37 

£2  9  8 

44 

£3  3  3 

22 

1  16  9 

30* 

2  i     6 

38 

2  11   3 

45 

3  5  9 

23 

1  17  2 

31 

2  2  6 

39  . 

2  12  11 

46 

3  8  5 

24 

1  17  7 

32 

2  3  5 

40 

2  14  9 

47 

3  11  5 

25 

1  18  0 

33 

2  4  6 

41 

2  16  8 

48 

3  14  8 

26 

1  18  6 

34 

2  5  7 

42 

2  18  8 

49 

3  18  1 

27  . 

1  19  2 

35 

2  6  10 

43 

3  0  11 

50 

4  1  7 

28 

1  J9  11 

36 

2  8  2 

*  Thus  a  person  of  30  may  secure  £1000  at  death  (with  profits)  for  a  yearly  premium  of  £20,  15s.,  which  in  the  other 
Mutual  Offices  would  assure  £800  only. 

Or,  if  unwilling  to  burden  himself  with  payments  during  the  whole  of  his  life,  he  may  secure  a  Policy  for  £1000  for 
a  Premium  of  £27,  13s.  4d.,  limited  to  twenty-one  payments,  being  thus  relieved  of  payment  before  he  has  passed  the 
prime  of  life,  for  a  Premium  nearly  the  same  as  most  Offices  require  during  the  whole  term  of  life. 

%©"  Tables  of  Premiums  payable  for  21  years,  or  other  fixed  period,  may  be  had  on  application. 

Above  15,000  Policies  issued.  Subsisting  Assurances  upwards  of  4?  Millions. 
Accumulated  Fund,  arising  entirely  from  Premiums,  considerably  above  a  Million. 

Reports  and  every  information  may  be  had  on  application. 
Edinburgh,  April  1866.  JAMES   WATSON,   Manager. 

Agents: — Dunbe — William  K.  Hunter,  Royal  Bank;  Eari.ston—  James  Smail,  Commercial  Rank;  Galashielb— John 
Pringle,  Writer ;  Hawick— Walter  Haddon,  Writer;  Jedburgh— George  Hilson.  jun.,  City  of  Glasgow  Bank;  Kelso 
— Koberton  &  Broomfield,  British  Linen  Company's  Bank ;  Peebles— Robert  Stevenson,  Writer. 


Phospho  Guano  surpasses,  most  certainly,  by  its  more  correct 
and  constant  composition,  the  best  sorts  of  Peruvian  Guano  ;  and 
of  its  superior  efficacy  there  can  be  not  the  slightest  doubt. — 
From  Report  by  the  Baron  Justus  von  Liebig. 

PHOSPHO   GUANO. 


Contractors'  Trade  Mark. 

IMPORTING  WAREHOUSES- 


Company's  Trade  Mark 

-SEACOMBE,  NEAR   BIRKENHEAD. 


DEPOTS  IN  SCOTLAND. 


Berwick. 

Dundee. 

Wick. 

Port  Glasgow 

Leith. 

Macduff. 

Thurso. 

Ayr. 

Perth. 

Inverness. 

Kirkwall. 

Dumfries. 

Aberdeen. 

Invergordon. 

Oban. 

Silloth. 

PETER  LAWSON  &  SON, 

CONTRACTORS  FOR    GREAT  BRITAIN  AND  THE  EUROPEAN  CONTINENT. 

rPHE   PRICES,    including  cost,  of  bags,  CARRIAGE  FREE  at  any    Railway    Station    or    Shipping- 
■^      Port  in  the  Kingdom,  are  as  follow  : — 

For  10  tons  and  upwards,         .....         £12     0     0  per  ton. 

For  5  tons  up  to  10  tons 12     5     0       „ 

For  smaller  quantities,    .         .         .         .         .         .  12  10     0       „ 

Ten  Shillings  pet  ton  discount  for  Cash  within  a  month. 
To  prevent  fraud,  all  bags  are  branded  with  the  Phospho  Guano  Company's  Trade  Mark,  as  well  as 
that  of  the  Contractors,  copies  of  which  appear  at  the  head  of  this  Advertisement. 

There  are  Authorized  Agents  appointed  for  the  sale  of  Phospho  Guano  in  all  the  Principal  Towns 
and  Villages  in  the  United  Kingd6m  ;  but  where  any  difficulty  exists  in  procuring  supplies,  Orders  may  be 
sent  direct  to  Peter  Lawson  &  Son,  George  IV.  Bridge,  Edinburgh;  or  28  King  Street,  Cheapside,  London. 

PETER  LAWSON  &  SON,  Contractors. 

%&~  The  attention  of  Farmers  is  particularly  directed  to  the  fact  that  Phospho  Guano  is  the  only  manure  the  quality  of 
which  is  vouched  for  by  Chemists  of  high  standing,  who  have  themselves  visited  bulks  and  drawn  tlieir  own  samples  for  analysis. 


THE 

SOUTHERN  COUNTIES'  REGISTER  AND  DIRECTORY: 


CONTAINING 


MUCH  USEFUL  AND  INTERESTING-  INFORMATION,  AND  VERY  COMPLETE  LISTS 


CONNECTED  WITH  THE 


COUNTIES  OF  ROXBURGH,  BERWICK,  AND  SELKIRK. 


KELSO:   J.  AND  J.  H.  EUTHEEFUED,  No.  17  SQUAEE. 
LONDON :   LONGMAN  k  CO.     EDINBURGH :   JOHN  MENZIES. 


MDCCCLXVI. 


Just  Published,  Price  3s.  6d., 

BY  THE 

EEV.    E.    LAJTG, 

NENTH0RN. 


"A  volume  replete  with  Bible  truth  clearly  Etated  and  well 
illustrated."— Dk.  H.  Bonar. 

"The  great  practical  question,  'How  to  come  to  Christ,' is 
treated  with  much  skill.  .  .  A  valuable  addition  to  Christian 
literature.  .  .  The  most  important  truth  is  set  forth  with  a 
terseness  and  a  point  much  to  be  admired."- — Kelso  Chronicle. 


KELSO :  J.  &  J  H.  EUTHERFFED. 

Edinburgh  :  J.  MENZIES.     London  :  NISBET  &  Co. 


PRINTED  BY   J.  AMD  J.  B.  RUTBBKFCED,  KELSO.  -VO*. 


NOTES  AND  ERRATA. 


At  page  82  we  state  the  Kelso  Assessment  for  poor  rale  to  be 
Is.  8d.  per  £ — this  is  the  total  rate,  lOd.  being  paid  by  the 
proprietor  and  lOd.  by  the  occupier  In  all  the  other  parishes 
we  give  the  half-rate,  or  that  payable  by  the  individual,  except 
in  the  case  of  Jedburgh  (p.  254),which  has  a  peculiar  method  of 
rating. 

These  rate  entries  have  been  objected  to  as  an  instance  of 
over  much  attention  to  minutiae  in  the  Register.  They  are  so, 
perhaps,  to  numerous  individuals  ;  but  take  the  ca-e  of  a  farmer 
wishing  to  settle  in  a  parish,  for  him  to  know  that  a  poor  rate  of 
lOd.  (or  nothing  sx  p.  587)  will  be  exacted  for  each  pound  of  his 
rent  becomes  an  important  matter,  and  will  enter  accordingly 
into  his  calculations  when  he  offers  for  a  lease.  What  we  have 
said  of  the  poor  rates,  we  think,  will  hold  good  with  the  other 


minutiae— they  will  be  important  or  not  according  to  the  lielit 
in  which  they  are  viewed. 

At  page  547  we  should  have  made  the  date  of  Mr.  Broughton's 
purchase  of  Rowchester,  1858— it  should  have  been  1856. 

PHIOK  BANK,  MELUOSE  (see  p.  152.) 

This  mansion  is  now  the  summer  residence  of  Adam  Black 
Esq.,  publisher  (late  M.I'.),  Edinburgh,  he  having  succeeded  to 
his  brother- in  law,  William  'iait,  Esq.,  deceased. 


Longforinacus  parish  has  been  omitted  in  the  index,  p.  662. 
Gavin  ton  village  do.  do.  p.  659. 


Digitized  by  the  Internet  Archive 

in  2011  with  funding  from 

National  Library  of  Scotland 


http://www.archive.org/details/rutherfurdssouth1866kels 


TO  OUE  SUBSCRIBERS. 


Ten  years  ago  we  published  our  first  issue  of  the  "  Southern  Counties'  Eegistee — a  Supplement  to  the 
Almanacs,"  in  a  shape  suitable  for  binding  up  with  Oliver  &  Boyd's  Edinburgh  Almanac.  But  although 
of  use  for  official  purposes,  and  of  interest  to  country  gentlemen,  we  found,  after  its  second  issue,  that  it 
was  of  little  value  for  commercial  purposes ;  and  our  object  ever  since  has  been  to  compile  a  publication 
which  might  interest,  and  be  of  use  to,  all  classes  of  the  community.  This  object  we  expected  to  have 
carried  out  in  1863,  and  had  accumulated,  and  to  some  extent  arranged,  materials  for  that  purpose,  when 
circumstances  compelled  us,  for  the  time  being,  to  relinquish  the  publication — a  delay  which  rendered  our 
materials  of  too  old  a  date  to  be  of  much  use,  and  caused  us  a  heavy  expense  in  renewing  and  re-arranging 
type,  which,  from  the  same  circumstances,  had  become  necessary.  These  disadvantages,  however,  had  the 
good  effect  of  bringing  some  unknown  matters  to  the  surface,  and  causing  our  thorough  investigation  of 
others,  which  might  otherwise  have  been  superficially  passed  over. 

Although  the  work  has  been  in  hand  for  four  years,  the  matter  which  we  now  issue  has  been  all 
investigated  and  got  up  since  the  spring  of  1864  ;*  and  by  far  the  greatest  part  of  it  has  been  printed 
within  the  last  twelve  months.  When  we  began  in  earnest  the  compilation  of  the  work  for  publication, 
we  had  little  idea  of  the  labour  it  would  entail  before  it  could  be  carried  out,  and  when  we  quoted  600 
columns  in  our  circulars  as  the  probable  number,  we  thought  we  were  over-stating  the  matter.  Instead 
of  600,  it  will  be  observed  they  foot-up  to  798,  and  this  despite  of  close  packing  and  exclusive  of  ad- 
vertisements.f  This  extension,  with  the  fact  of  the  compiler's  health  having  given  way  for  three  months, 
explains  our  delay  in  publishing  so  long  beyond  the  time  anticipated. 

While  we  take  credit  to  ourselves  for  much  labour  bestowed  on  the  compilation,  we  have  to  acknowledge 

*  Except  the  Calendars,  which  are  suitable  for  any  year. 

t  This  has  necessarily  caused  a  rise  in  the  quoted  probable  price  of  the  volume — a  rise  in  strict  proportion  to  the 
increase  of  text. 


IV  PREFACE. 


the  assistance  received  by  us  with,  the  returns,  without  which  our  own  labour  would  have  been  purposless. 
We  have  especially  to  specify  the  returns  connected  with  the  Hawick  and  Melrose  lists,  the  introductory 
matter  of  Galashiels,  Castleton,  and  Ettrick;  and  generally  of  Whitsome,  Ashkirk,  Cockburnspath,  and 
Coldingham  parishes,  as  having  been  supplied  to  us  with  more  than  ordinary  completeness,  in  each 
case  through  the  interest  of  one  individual.  From  the  Ordnance  Survey  officials,  both  at  Edinburgh  and 
Southampton,  we  received  very  important  and  prompt  assistance.  By  their  aid  the  parochial  areas  in 
land,  water,  roads,  &c,  are  inserted,  and  the  parochial  geography  of  Selkirkshire  (next  to  Cromarty 
the  most  scattered  county  in  Scotland)  has  been  accurately  described.  We  are  indebted  to  the  friendship 
of  the  Rev.  R.  0.  Bromfield,  Sprouston,  to  the  Editor  of  "  Tounger's  Eiver  Angling  "  [Mr.  James  Smail, 
banker,  Earlston]  and  to  T.  T.  Stoddart,  Esq.,  Kelso,  for  the  Calendars  and  Tweed  Fishery  Information. 
At  page  697  we  have  acknowledged  our  obligations  to  the  Fishery  Board  for  Scotland. 

While  acknowledging  the  assistance  received  with  the  parochial  and  county  lists,  we  beg  also  to 
tender  thanks  for  the  kindly  courtesy  of  our  county  family  subscribers  in  sending  us  returns. 

In  compiling  the  Register,  we  found  that  the  publication  would  be  incomplete  without  a  handy-sized 
and  accurate  Map  of  the  District.  This  led  us  to  correspond  with  Mr.  Bartholomew,  F.R.G.S., 
Edinburgh,  and  arranging  with  him  for  the  preparation  (from  the  Ordnance  plans),  and  the  engraving  of  a 
suitable  map.  This  map,  in  different  stages  of  completion,  has  now  been  in  use  by  the  public  for  six 
months,  and  its  accuracy  is  every  where  admitted.  It  does  not  contain  every  name  or  place  ;  but  the 
omissions  are  of  little  importance.  To  ensure  its  accuracy  we  transmitted  copies  for  revisal  to  nearly 
every  parish  in  the  district.  It  will  be  observed  we  have  also  inserted  a  Map  shewing  the  position  of  the 
District  with  its  Railway  System,  etc. 

Our  printed  edition  is  1300  copies.  Of  these  there  have  been  already  subscribed,  in  anticipation  of  pub- 
lication, nearly  1000.*  If  an  extra  issue  be  required,  we  may  state  that  except  the  bringing  up  of  some 
directory  and  list  matters,  and  the  correction  of  errors  (mostly  clerical  errors,  we  hope,  which  were,  under 
the  circumstances,  scarcely  avoidable),  and  an  improvement  in  the  arrangement,  little  or  no  alteration  can 
be  made  in  the  present  issue.t     After  the  publication  of  the  census  for  1871  (which  will  not  be  till 

*  For  a  classification  of  our  Subscribers,  see  note  after  the  Index  to  Advertisements. 

t  Add  to  these  a  more  careful  reading:  the  pressure  under  which  many  of  the  sheets  were  compiled  and  hurried 
through  the  press,  made  crudities  and  apparent  slovenliness  unavoidable. 


PREFACE.  V 

1873)  an  edition  thoroughly  revised  will  be  published,  in  which  the  introductory  accounts  of  the  different 
towns  and  parishes  will  have  to  be  conformed  to  the  new  data ;  but  even  then  the  fresh  edition  will  be 
founded  on  the  present  one. 

To  facilitate  reference  we  have  printed  the  Indexes  on  tinted  paper ;  and  connected  therewith  we 
beg  to  draw  the  attention  of  the  reader  to  the  following  matter,  which  may  be  of  importance  : — When 
searching  for  information,  on  any  subject,  do  not  be  satisfied  with  its  details  in  its  own  parish,  or  under  its 
own  heading,  but  turn  to  the  Index,  where  different  references  to  the  subject  may  be  found,  as  we  fre- 
quently, in  our  investigations  of  one  parish,  discovered  matter  connected  with  the  information  in  another, 
already  printed  off. 

J.  &  J.  H.  RUTHERFURD. 

Kelbo,  May  1866. 


Note. — We  beg  to  draw  the  attention  of  Subscribers  to  our  Prospectus  (see  following  page)  of  "  The  Border  Almanac." 
We  think  that  Buch  a  publication  might  be  made  both  useful  and  interesting ;  but  to  be  so  to  its  fullest  extent,  the  interest 
in  it  of  the  community  must  be  Becured — of  those  individuals  especially  who  are  bookishly  or  archDeologically  inclined, 
and  willing  to  supply  suitable  materials,  or  able  to  suggest  ideas.     Communications  are  respectfully  invited. 


In  the  Press,  and  speedily  will  he  published, 
In  1  volume,  foolscap  8vo,  pp.  340. 


\at\vc8, 


INCLUDING 

TALES,  BALLADS,  A1STO  SONGS. 

BY 

ROBERT  WHITE, 

Author  of 
"  The  History  of  the  Battle  of  Otterburn." 

and  Editor  of 
"Poems  and  Ballads,  by  Dr.  John  Leyden." 


KELSO  :  J.  &  J.  H.  EUTHERFUED. 


PROSPECTUS 

OF 

THE    BORDER    ALMANAC. 


POR  four  years — 1862-65 — we  published  what  we  called  our  Household  Almanac,  a  compilation,  the 
Calendar  sheet  of  which  was  printed  in  London,  and  supplied  to  any  bookseller  or  printer  who  might 
require  it  for  use  in  a  local  publication,  or  for  issuing  separately  under  his  own  name.  This  Calendar  sheet, 
useful  as  it  was  in  many  ways,  and  full  of  instruction  and  moral  sentiment,  was  purposely  somewhat  inane  ; 
and  any  local  interest  possessed  by  our  Almanac  was  secured  by  extra  sheets  tagged  on  before  and  behind. 
We  had  thus  a  very  heterogeneous  affair,  and,  while  admitted,  as  a  whole,  to  be  amusing,  not  represent- 
ing the  district  sufficiently. 

Owing  to  the  necessity  of  our  having  to  push  through  the  Register,  we  were  unable  to  produce  an 
Almanac  of  any  kind  for  the  current  year;  but  with  1867  we  hope  to  renew  the  Annual  under  the  title 
of  The  Border  Almanac — to  contain  the  usual  Calendar  Information  (compiled  and  printed  by  ourselves), 
and,  as  formerly,  some  sheets  of  information  and  amusement,  but  all  to  have  a  District  or  domestic  interest 
— whether  a  proverb,  such  as  "  Worse  and  worse  like  the  elders  of  Maxton,"  with  an  account  of  its  origin, 
another  extract  from  our  Journal  or  that  of  "  any  other  man,"  the  publication  of  an  unedited  or  nearly 
forgotten  ballad,  a  reminiscence  of  an  old  event,  or  the  true  account  of  a  matter  now  traditionary. 

For  these,  and  such  as  these,  the  pages  of  our  Almanac  will  be  a  receptacle  ;  and  we  hope  it  will  be 
the  means  of  saving  something  of  value  from  oblivion.  In  our  investigations  for  the  Register  we  came  on 
many  suitable  materials  for  such  a  publication,  but  which,  in  the  Register  itself,  would  have  been  out  of 
place.  These  we  intend  to  use  up ;  and  we  shall  also  be  glad  to  receive  contributions.*  Anything  of 
real  interest  connected  with  the  Scotch  Border  or  Northumberland  cannot  come  amiss. 

At  or  before  Christmas  of  this  year  we  hope  to  send  out  our  first  of  the  new  issue. 

Kelso,  May  1866.  J-  &  J-  H.  EuTHEEPUED. 

*  Here  is  a  Ballad — unpublished  so  far  as  we  know — of  which  we  would  like  to  get  the  remainder;  or  parts  of  it 
would  be  useful,  which  might  be  compared  and  a  whole  patched  up. 


"Jenny,  gang  an'  fetch  some  water, 
Nocht's  the  thing  ye  ever  du  ;  " 
Jenny  hears  her  mother's  clatter, 
Sits  and  ties  her  shauchelt  shue. 

"Jean  may  gang,"  says  Jenny  moonguV; 
"  She  can  gang  as  weel  as  me  ; 
She  eits  up  the  corner  groongin'. 
Ne'er  dis  nocht  withoot  a  plea."— 


"Jock  may  gang, — he's  aye  sae  lazy, — 
A'  fetched  in  the  last  yestreen  ; 
See  !  a'm  shooin  up  my  crazzy" — 
Doon  the  tears  fell  frae  her  een. 

"  Bless  my  heart !  the  pitcher's  broken ;  " 
"It  v/asua  me,"  cries  ane  and  a', 
Kate  sits  by  the  creddle  rockin', 
Telt  that  Jenny  let  it  fa'. 


We  believe  the  Ballad  proceeds  with  an  amusing  description  of  the  adventures 
-i.e.,  at  service. 


"  Jenny  broke  the  jug  in  flinders, 
Afore  my  very  lookm'  een  ;  " 
Sic  a  set  o'  uiseless  members, 
Never  on  this  yirth  was  seen." 

"  Baith  the  jug  an'  pitcher  broken  ! 
Was  the  like  o't  ever  kenned? 
Naething  else  I  need  ha'  ettled, 
But  I'll  shank  ye  tae  the  fremd." 

of  the  "  useless  members  "  at  the  fremd 


Insurance  Advertisement  received  too  late  for  insertion  elsewhere 


SCOTTISH  NATIONAL  INSURANCE  COMPANY. 

ESTABLISHED  1841. 

EDIHBUBGH— 22  ST.  ANDKEW  SQUAEE. 


DIRECTORS 

CHARLES  LAWSON,  Esq.,  of  Borthwick  Hall,  Chairman, 


John  A.  Macrae,  Esq.  of  Wellbank,  W.S.,  Deputy  Chairman, 

Benjamin  H.  Blyth,  Esq.,  C.E. 

James  Duncan,  Esq.,  W.S. 

Charles  Cowan,  Esq.  of  Logan  House. 

William  Dickson,  Esq. 


E.  S.  Gordon,  Esq.,  Sheriff  of  Perthshire. 
James  Cunningham,  Esq.,  50  Queen  Street. 
Jas.  Taylor,  Esq.,  of  Starley  Hall. 
Patrick  Arkley,  Esq.  of  Duninald. 
Wholesale  Stationer. 


LONDON,  69  Lombard  Street. 

Resident  Secretary— Alex.  H.  Whytt. 

DUBLIN,  28  Westmoreland  Street. 

Resident  Secretary — H.  D.  Dickie. 


GLASGOW,  42  West  George  Street. 

Resident  Secretary — J.  T.  Maclagan. 

MANCHESTEE,  70  Cross  Street. 

Resident  Secretary — Samuel  Heywood. 


The  Directors  invite  special  attention  to  three  most  vital  considerations  :- 


First. — By  publishing  the  details  of 
their  Balance  Sheet,  and  of  the 
principles  adopted  in  their  periodic 
Investigations,  they  enable  every  one 
interested  to  judge  of  the  Soundness 
and  Stability  of  the  Company,  and 
give  the  best  guarantee  for  continued 
prudence  in  all  their  operations. 

Secondly — Whilst  making  the  ample 
provision  for  future  liabilities,  of  which 
the  evidence  has  just  been  referred  to, 
they  have  made  Bonus  Additions  to 
their  policies  in  their  Life  Assurance 


Branch  at  the  rates  successively  of  One 
Pound,  One  Pound  Five  Shillings, 
and  One  Pound  Twelve  Shillings 
and  Sixpence  per  cent  per  annum- 

These  Bonuses  will  stand  a  favourable 
comparison  with  those  declared  by  the 
oldest  and  most  successful  Life  Offices 
in  Scotland,  whether  mutual  or  pro- 
prietory, when  the  relative  rates  of 
premium  are  taken  into  account. 

Thirdly. — Whilst  thus  providing  for 
safety  on  the  one  hand  and  for  liberal 
Bonuses  to  the  assured  on  the  other, 


the  Directors  have  had  the  satisfaction 
of  accumulating  such  large  additions 
to  the  Paid  up  Capital  and  Reserve 
as  have  greatly  increased  the  security 
of  the  persons  insured,  and  at  the 
same  time  improved  the  value  of  the 
stock  to  the  shareholders  in  a  degree 
which  far  exceeds  the  experience  of 
the  great  majority  of  Scottish  as  well 
as  English  Offices,  notwithstanding 
the  greater  age,  and  in  some  cases  the 
more  extensive  transactions  of  thes* 
Offices. 


Every  description  of  Life  Assurance,  Fire  Assurance,  and  Annuity  business  transacted  on  the  most  favourable  terms. 

JOHN  M.  M'CANDLISH,  Manager. 
WALTER  BROWN,  Secretary. 
Prospectus,  Forms  of  Proposal,  fyc ,  may  be  had  on  application  at  the  Bead  Office,  Branches,  or  Agencies. 


CONTENTS. 


General  Index,  p.  xi.  to  xiv. 

Index  to  the  County  Families  and  Seats,  xv.  and  xvi. 

Index  to  the  Fairs,  p.  1 ;  Weekly  Markets,  3;  Cattle 
Markets,  3  ;  Anniversaries  and  Fasts,  4. 

Calendars — Gardeners,  5  ;  Woods  and  Fields,  20  ;  Anglers,  34. 

Tweed  Fishery  Information,  39. 

Comparative  Sketch  of  the  Agriculture  of  the  Dis- 
trict, 43. 

Population  of  the  District,  51. 

District  Lists  and  Information,  53  ;  Road  Trusts,  55. 

Roxburghshire,  57. 


Selkirkshire,  363 
Berwickshire,  467. 
White  and  Herring  Fishery,  697. 
Comparative  Tables,  702. 
Ecclesiastical,  etc.,  Lists,  717. 
Registration  Information,  727. 
Appendix,  p.  733 ;  Addenda,  p.  743. 


Railway  Map  of  the  District,  facing  the  Fairs. 
General  Map,  end  of  the  volume. 


Note.— As  it  is  scarcely  possible  to  give  every  particular  in.  the  following  Indexes,  a  knowledge  that 
the  Parishes  are  compiled  in  the  following  order  will  be  of  further  use  in  facilitating  reference. 
I. 


Introductory  Letterpress — 

1.  Descriptive  of  the  boundaries  and  natural  features ; 

the  towns,  villages,  and  hamlets  ;  with  importance, 
peculiarities,  objects  of  interest  and  associations,  cli- 
mate and  sanitary  conditions,  angling  and  other 
amenities,  Ac. 

2.  Holidays,  Anniversaries,  Market  Days,  Hirings,  Fairs, 

and  Cattle  Sales— dates  of,  and  full  particulars. 

3.  Census  particulars — 1st  April  1861. 

4.  Principal  Landed-Proprietors,  and  Superiors. 
II.  Lists — 

1.  Magistrates  and  Council,  Justices  of  the  Peace,  Courts, 

and  Public  Offices. 

2.  Post  Office — arrivals,  despatches,  &c. 

3.  Clergy,  &c,  Churches,  Official",  Patrons,  and  Fasts. 

4.  Church  Societies — Missionary,  Bible,  Colportage  <fec. 

5.  Educational  Institutions. 

6.  Parochial  Board  and  Union  Poorhouse,  Rates,  &c. 

7.  Benevolent  Institutions,  Societies,  and  Charitable  Be- 

quests. 


III. 


8.  Mutual  Assistance — Sick,  Burial,  and  Benefit. 

9.  Mutual  Benefit— Masons',  Oddfellows',  Forresters',  <fec. 

10.  Mutual   Improvement — Literary  and   Scientific,   Li- 

braries, Lectures,  &c. 

11.  Rural— Horticultural  and  Agricultural  Societies,  &c. 

12.  Mutual  Profit — Gas  and  Water  Companies,  &e. 

13.  Sports  and  Amusements,  and  Volunteer  Corps 

14.  Bank  Branches,  and  Insurance  and  other  Agents 

15.  Professions — Law  and  Medicine. 

16.  Newspapers. 

17.  Mills,  Manufacturers,  Auctioneers,  Curing-Establish- 

ments, Skinneries,  &c. 

18.  Conveyance — Carriers  and  Railways. 

19.  Statute  Labour  Roads. 
Directory — 

1.  Towns— streets  arranged  alphabetically. 

2.  Villages. 

3.  Countv  Families,  Seats,  and  Smaller  Residences. 

4.  Registered  Voters — Non-Resident. 


GENERAL  INDEX. 


Abbreviations. — Dt.,  District ;  B.,  Berwickshire  ;  R.,  Roxburghshire  ;  S.,  Selkirkshire  ;  Ac,  refers  to  the  Comparative  Table  ot 
real  and  average  value  per  acre,  of  the  parishes ;  M.,  refers  to  the  Comp.  Table  of  Death  and  Birth  Rate  and  Illegitimacy  ; 
L.,  Lists  ;  D.,  Directory. 


Abbey,  Kelso,  69;  Melrose, 
127;  Dryburgh,  612;  Jtd- 
burgh,  247 

Abbev  St.  Batbans,  583;  L., 
584 ;  D.,  585 ;  Ac.  702  (No.  68) 

Acreage  value,  Comp.  Table  of 
R.  and  S,  463;  B.  702 

"  Acredale  lands,"  note,  695 

Agriculture  of  the  Dt.,  43 ; 
similarity  of  R.  and  B.,  44 ; 
of  S.,  R.,  and  B.,  compared, 
note,  364  ;  system  of  husban- 
dry, 44;  crop  do.,  45;  stock 
do.,  47 ;  "Border  Leicesters," 
48;  Peasantry,  48 ;  "Bond- 
age System,"  49,  743 ;  Shep- 
herd's, note,  415 

"Agricultural  population,"  late 
habit  of  writing  down,  note, 
707 

"  A  June  Haddock,"  note,  698 

AUanton,  572  • 

Analysis  of  the  River  Tweed 
Fishery  Act,  39 

Ancrum,  196;  deer  park,  196, 
battle  of  Ancrum  Moor,  197 ; 
L.  and  D.,  197;  Ac,  463 
(No.  7) 

Anglers'  Calendar,  34 

Anniversaries,  list  of,  4,  750 

Area  and  valuation  of  R.,  58 : 
S.,  366;  B.,  472 


Ashkirk,  353;  political  peculi- 
arity, 353 ;  L    and  D.,  354  ; 
Ac  ,  463  (No.  26) 
Auchencraw,  672 ;  D.,  679 
Ayton,  595 ;  L.,  597 ;  D.  600  ; 
Ac,  702  (No.  45) 

Baillie,  Lady  Grizzel,  622 
Bank  Branches—  Kelso,  94,  note, 
302  ;      Hawick,    note,    3»2  ; 
Dunse,  note,  557 
Bassendean  House,  639 
Battle  of  Ancrum  Moor,  197 
Bedrule,  280 ;  L.  and  D.,  281 ; 

Ac,  463  (No.  34) 
Bemersvde  Hill,  note,  469,  612  ; 

Hamiet,  614 
B.,  467 ;  topographical  features, 
467 ;  quarries  of  B.  and 
R.,  468;  comparison  between, 
469;  County  lists,  472; 
Naturalists'  Club,  480;  Ad- 
ministrative Battal.  of  Rifle 
Volunteers,  480  ;  Provincial 
Grand  Lodge  of  Free  Masons, 
481 ;  M.,  705  (No.  4) ;  ele- 
mentary education,  high  po- 
sition in,  714 
B.  and  R.,  similarity  of,  44 
B.,  Women,  714 ;  large  pro- 
portion of  unmarried,  note, 
707 


Birds,  &c,  of  the  Dt.,  548,  686, 
see  Calendar  of  Woods  and 
Fields,  notes,  156,  157,  413; 
of  the  coast,  670 

Birgham,  653 ;  D.,  656 

Biiths,  cumpulsory  registration 
of,  727  ;  Comparative  Table 
of,  705  ;  excess  of  in  Hawick, 
nute,  712  ;  in  Eyemouth,  709 ; 
fewness  of  in  London,  706  ; 
Comparative  Notes,  711,  note, 
741 

Black  Cock,  663 

Blantyre,  late  Lord,  nute,  643 

Board  of  Supervision,  irregular 
returns  of,  716 ;  Officials,  722 

Border  Association  of  Teachers, 
722  ;  of  Inspectors  of  Poor, 
721;  Mission  to  the  Blind,  746 

"  Border  Leicesters,"  48,  89  ; 
note,  613 

"Bondage  System,"  49,  743 

Border  Marriages,  482,  645, 
740 ;  penalty  attached  to, 
note,  740 

Border  Rifle  Assoc,  54 ; 
Coursing  Club,  54;  Games 
(Jedburgh),  749 ;  Pigeon 
Matches  (Kelso),  747  ;  Unit 
ed  Steeple  Chases,  747 

Boston,  Thomas,  note,  415, 
54S,  608 


Bowden,  212;  L.  and  D.,  213; 

Ac,  463  (No.  8) 
Bridge,       highest,       in       the 

world,  note,  500 
"British   [Kelso]   Chronicle," 

96 
Bullfinch,  the,  183 
Bunkle  (and  Prestun),  631 ;  L., 

632;  D.,  633;  Ac,  762  (No. 
i    56 
Burnmouth,    596 ;     D.,     601  ; 

Fishermen  of,  note,  645 
Bushes  and  fruit  trees,  19 

Caddonfoot,  note,  457 
Caddon  Water,  note,  456 
Caledonian  Hunt  Race   Meet- 
ings, 92,  748 
Cal  ndars  —  Anglers',       34  ; 
Gardeners',    5 ;    Woods  and 
F  elds,  20 
Cartley  Hole,  note,  422 
Castleton,      232 ;       castle      of 
Hermitage,  233 ;  Newcastle- 
ton,  234 ;  churchyard,  notr, 
234;  L.,  237;  D.,  239 ;  Ac, 
463  (No.  41) 
Cat-rail,  424 

Cattle  Markets  and  Sales,  3 
Cavers,   289;    Denholm,    289; 
Cavers  House,  289;   L.  and 
D.,  291 ;  Ac.  463  (No.  9) 


GENERAL    INDEX. 


XI 


Census  definition  <>f  a  family, 

and  of  a  house,  G7 
Channelkirk,  530 ;  Oxton,  531 ; 

Bovial  Society,  532 ;  L.,  631; 

D.,    532;    highest  inhabited 

house,  note,  533 ;    Ac.,   702 

(No.  69) 
Cheviot  Hill,  note,  156 
Cheviot  sheep,  48,  89,  228 
(Jhirnside,  625 ;  female  popula- 
tion, note,  626 ;  congregation 

of  Covenanters,    note,    627 ; 

L.,  626  ;  D.,  628 ;   Ac,  702 

(No.  46) 
Chirnside-Bridge    Paper   Mill, 

572 ;  note,  626 
Church  of  Scotland,  Presbyte- 
ries of,  in  the  Dt.  and  L.,  718 
Churchyards  in   Ettrick,  416  ; 

at    Hilton,    note,    579;     at 

Fishwick,  note,  648 
Climate    of    Galashiels,    426 ; 

Jedburgh,  246;    Kelso,  72; 

Melrose,127;  Morebattle,  163; 

Yetholm,  note,  156 
Clintmains,  614 
"  Close  Villages,"  note,  716 
Clovenfords,  429 
Cockburnspath,  589  ;  L.,  691  ; 

Carters'  meeting,   692;    D., 

593;  Ac,  702  (No.  52) 
Coldingham,   667  ;    Geological 

notes,  668 ;  fishermen,  note, 

671;  "  Eunrig  lands,"  note, 

672;    C.    Law,    note,    673; 

L.,  674;    D.  sundries,   680; 

farmers,    681 ;     seats,    683 ; 

Ac,  702  (No.  47) 
Coldingham,  town  of,  Priory, 

sands  and  shore,   671;    D., 

677 
Coldstream,     482 ;      Cornhill, 

484;  Wark  Castle,  note,  483; 

L.,  485 ;  D.,  494 ;    Ac,  702 

(No.  42) ;  M  ,  705  (No.  11) 
Common-Riding,  Hawick,  304 ; 

Selkirk,  375 
Commissioners  of  Supply,  E., 

60 ;  S.,  367 ;  B.,  474 


Commission  of  the  Peace,  R., 
63 ;  S.,  367  ;  B.,  475 

Comparisons  between  R.  and 
B., 469;  Kelso  and  Hawick, 
301,  and  note,  302 

"  Close  Tillages,"  note,  716 

Comparative  Tables — Acreage 
Valuations  of  R.  and  S.  (No. 
1),  463  ;  B.  (No.  2),  702  ; 
Deaths,  '  Births,  ;&c.  (No.  3), 
705  ;  Elementary  Education 
(No.  4),  714  ;  Poor  and  In- 
sane (No.  5),  716  ;  Agricul- 
ture of  E.,  S.,  and  B.,  note, 
364 

Corn  Exchange — Dunse,  555  ; 
Galashiels,  436 ;  Hawick, 
319;  Jedburgh,  259;  Kelso, 
91,  117,  note,  739;  Melrose, 
137 

Corn  Markets,  3 

Coursing  Club,  Border,  54; 
Jed-Forest,  260 ;  Hawick, 
321 ;  Castleton,  243 

Cornhill  Lamb  Fair,  484 

"  Cottagers  of  Glenburnie," 
note,  347. 

Covenanters,  notes,  414,  627 

Crailing,  221;  Nisbet,  221; 
L.  and  D.,  222;  Ac,  463 
(No.  17) ;  note  on  466 

Cranshaws,  586  ;  L.,  587  ;  Ac, 
702  (No.  70);  note  on  704 

Crop  Husbandry,  45 

Dandy  Dinmont,  note,  205 

Darnick,  128 ;  D.,  146 

Dean,  village  of,  341 ;  viaduct, 
589 

Deanburnhaugh,  358 

Deaths,  comparative  table  of, 
705  ;  notes  on,  706  ;  compara- 
tive notes,  England  and 
Scotland,  711 ;  excess  of  in 
Dunse,  note,  709,  and  Hawick, 
notes,  709,  712  ;  Lauder  and 
Eyemouth,  708 ;  small  rate 
in  Foulden,  note,  635  ;  Com- 
pulsory Registration  of,  728 


Deer  parks,  196,  507 
Denholm,  289;  Dean,  292;  D., 

292 
Dingleton,  144 
Dinlaybyre,  233 
Disadvantages  of  Ettrick,  417 
Dt.  Lists,  53  ;  Lunacy  Board, 
53  ;  R.  and  S.  Batt.  cf  Rifle 
Volunteers,  54;  B.,  do.,  480; 
Border      Rifle     Association, 
54 ;    Border  Coursing  Club, 
54;   Road  Trusts  of  E,  55; 
do.  of  B.,  56  ;  do.  of  S.,  371 
Dons  of  Newton-Don,    notes, 

219,  620. 
Dotterel,  note,  663,  686 
Douglas,  late  Dr,  note,  422 
Dryburgh  Abbey,  612 
"  Duke  of  Darnick,"  128 
Dunglas  dean  and  viaduct,  589 
Dunse.  54S;  sanitary  condition, 
549 ;     housing    accommoda- 
tion  and    high   death    rate, 
note,  709  ;  L.,  550 ;  D.,  559 
Ac,  702  (No.  43);  M.,  705, 
(No.  12) 
"  During  Sessions,"  note,  251 

Eaelston,  506 ;  female  popu- 
lation, note,  508;  L.,  508; 
D.,  512;  Ac,  702  (No.  48) 

Eccles,  653  ;  L.,  654  ;  D.,  656  ; 
Ac,  702  (No.  i$)-see  Leit- 
holm  and  Birgham 

Ecclesiastical  L.,  718 

Edgerston  (quoad  sacra  parish), 
L.  and  D.,  277 

Edinburgh  Border  Counties  As- 
sociation, 745,  746 

Edmonstones,  the,  note,  180 

Ednam,  178 ;  Thomson  the 
poet,  note,  179,  203 ;  L.  and 
D.,  180  ;  Ac,  463  (No.  19) 

Edrington  Castle,  644. 

Edrom,  572;  L.  and  D.,  573; 
Ac,  702  (No.  53) 

Eels  and  Lampreys,  prejudice 
against,  note,  429 

Eildon  Hill,  128 


Elementary  Education,  714 
Elliots  of  Midlem,  213 
English  and  Scotch  Terms,  4 
Episcopal  Church  of  Scotland, 
dioceses  in  the  Dt.  and  L., 
721 
Ettrick,  41 1 ;   garden  produc- 
tions,     411 ;      Covenanters, 
note,   414 ;   Shepherds,   note, 
415;  Boston,  note,  415;  posi- 
tion  of    Ettrick    Hall,   note, 
416 ;       churchyards,       416 ; 
richness  in  teinds,  note,  418  ; 
disadvantages  of,  417;  L.  and 
D.,  418;  Ac,  463  (No.  27) 
Ettrick  Forest,  363,  405 
Evelaw  Tower,  639 
Eviction  of  Paupers,  note,  716 
Eyemouth,  688 ;  importance  of 
as  a  fishing  station,  note,  689 ; 
district  of  fisheries,  note,  690; 
L.,  690;  Burns  at,  692;  D., 
694;       "Acredale      lands," 
note,  695 ;  Ac.  702  (No.  73) ; 
M,  705  (No.  14);  favourable 
peculiarities   of,    688 ;    note, 
709  ;  causes  of,  note,  710 

Faiks,  list  of,  1 

Farmers'  Club,  the  oldest,  317 

Fasney  Water,  note,  586 

Fast  Castle,  670 

Fast  Days,  list  of,  4 

Fastren's  E'en,  129,  157 

Female  population  of  Chirnside, 

note,    626 ;     Earlston,    note, 

508 ;  Melrose,  130 
Field,  thef  London  Newspaper), 

opinion  of,  on  our  peasantry, 

745 
"  Figures  reading  both  ways," 

note,  707 
Fishery      statistics  —  salmon 

(red),     40 ;     haddocks,    &c. 

(white),  697  ;  herrings,    699 
Fishermen  of  Eyemouth,  note, 

689 ;  Ross  and  Burnmouth, 

note,  645 
Fish- Table  for  the  District,  751 


Xll 


GENERAL    INDEX. 


Fishwick,  note,  648 

Fields  and  Woods,  Calendar  of, 
20 

"Floors,"  note,  70 

"  Flowers  of  the  Forest,"  424 

Fog",  605  ;  L.  and  D.,  606  ;  Ac, 
702  (No.  57) 

Foot-ball  match  at  Melrose, 
129  ;  Yetholm,  157 

"  Forest,"  the,  363,  405 

Fonlden,  635 ;  salubrity  of, 
note,  635 ;  beauty  of  the 
village,  6  36;  L.,  636;  D., 
637  ;  Ac,  702  (No.  58) 

Foxes,  283;  note,  205;  note, 
663 

Free  Church,  Presbyteries  of 
in  the  Dt.  and  L.,  719 

French  Prisoners  at  Kelso,  72, 
735 

Friendly  Societv,  the  oldest, 
650 

Fullarton's  Gazetteer,  Letter 
from  the  Editor,  733  ;  Mis- 
statements of,  repelled,  735 

Galashiels,  422 ;  recent  in- 
crease and  prosperity,  422 ; 
late  Dr  Dougias,  note,  422 ; 
weavers,  note,  423,  note,  453  ; 
climate  and  sanitary  condi- 
tion, 426;  L.,  430;  D.,  442; 
Ac,  463  (No.  1);  M.,  705 
(No.  5) 

Gardeners'  Calendar,  5 ;  fruit 
trees  and  bushes,  19 

Garden  productions  of  Ettrick, 
411 

Gattonside,  128;  L.  and  D., 
145 

Gemmels,  Andrew,  note,  192 

Gipsies,  157 

Glasgow  Roxburgh  Society,  747 

Glowworm,  29 

Golden  plover,  note,  663 

Gordon,  537;  L.  and  D.,  538"; 
Ac,  702  (No.  54) 

"  Go  to  Birgham,"  note,  653 

Grant's  House,  672 ;  D.,  679 


Greenlaw,  541;    L.,  542;    D., 

545  ;  Ac,  702  (No.  50) 
Grouse,  413,  662 

Haddocks,  catch  of,  on  the 
coast,  697  ;  notes  on,  698 

Handball  match  at  Hawick, 
750 ;  Jedburgh,  243 

Harden,  Scotts  of,  358 

Harestanes,  750 

Hassington,  653,  657 

Hawick,  3(10;  early  insignifi- 
cance, 300;  curious  antiquities, 
300  ;  recent  prosperity,  301 ; 
comparison  between  Kelso 
and  H.,  301 ;  public  build- 
ings, 301;  otterhounds  304, 
note,  321 ;  Common  Riding, 
304  ;  handball  match,  750  ; 
cattle  sales,  304;  L.,  306; 
ploughing  competition,  note, 
317 ;  Farmers'  Club,  the  old- 
est existing,  317  ;  factories, 
324;  pork  curimr,  325;  D., 
327;  Ac,  463  (No.  3);  M., 
705  (No.  7) ;  high  death  and 
birth  rates,  708,  note,  712 

Health  rate,  adverse  causes  of 
in  towns,  713 

Heiton,  192;  D.,  194 

Hermitage  Castle,  233 

Heronry  at  Wells,  283 

Herrings,  catch  of,  on  the 
coast,  699  ;  notes  on,  700 

Highest  inhabited  houses, 
notes,  352,  419,  533 

Hilton  (in  Whitsome),  579; 
churchyard,  note,  579 

Hislop  and  Wallace,  note,  1S3 

Hobkirk,  283 ;  L.  and  D.,  2?4; 
Ac,  463  (No.  35) 

Housing  accommodation  in 
Scotland  and  Dt.,  note,  709 

Holy  Fairs,  182 

Horndean,  502 

Hounam,  225 ;  L.  and  D.,  226 ; 
Ac,  463  (No.  36) 

Houndslow.  638;  D.,  640 

Houndwood       (quoad       sacra 


■parish), note,   667;   L.,   676 
village    of,     672;     D.,    68 
sundries,  681 ;  farmers,  6S2 
seats,  683 
Hume  (see  Stichill),  182 
Hume  the  historian,  626 
Hume,  Sir  Patrick,  the   Pro- 
testant, 622 
Husbandry,    system     of,     44; 

crop,  45  ;  stock,  47 
Hutton  (and   Fishwick),   648 ; 
Friendly  Society,   650;    L., 
649  ;  D.,  650 ;  Ac,  702  (No. 
55) 
Hutton,  Dr.  James,  631 

Illegitimacy,  Table  of,  705  ; 
increase  of,  740  ;  large  pro- 
portion of  male  births,  note, 
741 

"  Induction"  and  "Ordination," 
difference  between,  note,  718 

Innerleithen,  460;  Ac,  463 
(No.  28) 

Inspectors  of  Poor  L.,  723  ;  As- 
sociation of,  721 

Jedburgh,  244;  old  ploughing 
competition,     317 ;     natural 
salubrity    of,    and    deficient 
sanitary  arrangements,  246 
fruit  trees,  246  ;  Abbey,  247 
Queen   Mary's   House,  247 
scenery  about,  247  ;  L.,  250 
Saving   Bank,   261 ;   Young 
.Men's  Christian  Association, 
749  ;  Games,  749 ;  Rifle  Vo- 
lunteer Band,  750;  D,  265; 
Edgersti.n.  277  ;  Ac, 463 (No. 
4);  M.,  7u5(No.  8);  note  on, 
708 

"Jocko' the  Side,"  234 

Kames,  Lord,  659 

Kelso,  68;  morality  of,  72, 
709,  733  ;  theatre  at,  72,  735  ; 
climate,  72  ;  fairs  and  mar- 
kets, 73;  comparison  between 
K.  and   Hawick,  note,  302 ; 


sewerage,  76  and  note,  303 
L,  76 ;  Shedden  Park,  71,  85 ; 
Union  Agricultural  Society; 
89,  490;  Corn  Exchange, 
91,  note,  739;  Stall  Holders 
in,  117;  Plate  Glass  Society, 
02;  Races,  92,  748;  Pigeon 
Matches, 747;  Bank  Branches, 
note,  94;  "Kelso  Mail,"  96  ; 
"British  Chronicle," 96;  pork 
curing,  97;  Bread  Society, 
748 ;  French  prisoners  at,  736, 
new  buildings  in,  748  ;  print- 
ing at,  69,  737  ;  manufactures 
of,  738;  weavers  of,  note, 
453;  workmen,  738;  D., 
99;  Maxwellheugh,  71,113; 
high  acreage  value,  463  (No. 
5);  M.,  705  (No.  9);  note  on, 
709 ;  housing  accommoda- 
tion, note,  709 

"  Kelso  Mail,"  96 

Kelso,  sale  of  rams,  89  note,  613 

Kelso  v.  Fullarton's  Gazetteer, 
734 

"  Kelso  weel  beggit,"  note,  736 

Kerss,  Rob,  190 

Kirkhope,  399;  L  and  D,  400; 
Ac,  463  (No.  29) 

Kirkton,  287  ;  L.  and  D.,  287 ; 
Ac,  463  (No.  37) 

Ladhope,  L.  and  D.  (see  Gala- 
shiels) ;  registered  voters  in 
153 

Ladvkirk,  502 ;  Horndean, 
502;  Upsettlington,  502; 
church,  502 ;  high  acreage 
•  value,  702  (No.  60) 

Lamberton,  645 

Lamb  Fairs— Castleton,  236  ; 
Cornhill,  484;  Dunse,  549; 
Hawick,  305 ;  Lammas,  121 ; 
St.  Boswell's,  129 

Lampreys,  26,  note,  429 

Langton,  569  ;  L.  and  D.,  570; 
Ac,  702  (No  61) 

Lanton,  273 

Lauder,  518;  L.,  519;  D.  525; 


GENERAL    INDEX. 


1111 


^  Ac,  702  (No.  44) ;    M.,  705 

(No.  13) ;    small  birth  rates 

705  (No.  13),  706 
Leet  Water,  note,  579 
Legerwood,   534;   L.  and   D., 

535 ;  Ac,  702  (No  59) 
Leitholm,  653  ;  D.,  656 
Leyden,  Dr  John,  289  ! 
Liddesdale,  "Jocko' the  Side," 

234  ;     Sir    Walter   Scott  j  in 

233 ;  working  classes  of,  235; 

sulphurous    springs,    236, — 

see  Castleton 
Life,  prospects  of,  in  England, 

Scotland,  and  the  Dt.,  711 
Lillitsleaf,   207;    L.    and    D., 

2U8;  Ac,  463  (No.  10) 
Lindean  Cottages.  429,  454 
Linton,  172 ;   church,  172  ;  L. 

and  D.,  173 ;  Ac,  463  (No. 

21) 
Littledean  Tower,  218,  G13 
Longnewton,  197 
Lunacy  Board,  53 

Makerstoun,  190 ;  Makers- 
toun     House,      19C;       Rob 

.  Kerss,  190  ;  Ac,  463  (No.  22) 

Male  population,  influx  of, 
affecting  the  averages,  714 

Manufacturing  population  af 
fecting  the  averages,  706, 
note,  707 

Market  Days,  3 

Marlborough,  Duke  of  (Lord 
Eyemouth),  rente,  688 

Marriages,  Compulsory  Regi- 
stration of,  in  Scotland,  729  ; 
in  England,  note,  727  ;  cere- 
monies, necessary  in  Eng- 
land, note,  72S 

Marriage  Registers,  Table  com- 
piled from,  and  notes,  714 

Married  Women,  fecundity  of, 
in  Scotland,  note,  731 

Maxton,  218;  Rutherford,  218; 
L.  and  D.,219;  Ac,  463  (No. 
23) 

Maxwellheugh,  71 ;  D.,  113 


Melrose,  126 ;  Abbey  of,  127  ; 
salubrity  of,  127,  709  ;  Eildon 
Hills,  128 ;  Lammas  Lamb 
Fair,  129  ;  female  population, 
130  ;  L.,  131 ;  Lodge  of  Free 
Masons,  J136 ;  D.,  141  ; 
Weirhill,  144;  Ac,  463  (No. 
6);  M.,  705  (No.  10) ;  note  on, 
709 ;  housing  accommoda- 
tion, note,  709 

Merchant  Coy.,  the  oldest,  380 

Mertoun,  612 ;  Rams,  sale  of,  at 
Kelso,  98,  note,  613:  L.,  614  ; 
D.,  615  ;  Ac  ,  702  (No.  62) 

Merse,  the,  467 

Midlem,  212  ;  Elliots  of,  213 

Minto,  296 ;  Crags,  296 ; 
House,  296  ;  L.  and  D.  297  ; 
Ac,  463  (No.  24) 

Morebattle,  163  ;  loch,  163  ; 
L.  and  D.,  165;  Ac,  463 
(No.  11) 

Mortality,  comparative  table, 
&c,  of,  705  ;  notes  on,  706 

Morality  of  Kelso,  72,  705 (No. 
9  )--see  appendix  ;  of  Eye- 
mouth, 709 

Mordington,  644;  coals,  644; 
L.  and  D.,  646;  Ac,  702 
(No.  63) 

Naturalists'  Club,  480 
Nenthorn,     618;    its     beauty, 

note,  112;    L.  and  D.,  619; 

the    Dons,   note,   620 ;    Ac, 

702  (No.  64) 
Newark  Castle,  374 
Newcastleton,  234 
Newspapers — Berwicksh.,  469  ; 

Kelso,  96 
Newstead,  128,  147 
Newtown.   St.   Boswell's,  128, 

147 
Nisbet,  221 
Norham,  503 

Northumberland  coal-field,  644 
Notes  on  the  Tables — Acreage, 

K.  and  S.,  464  ;  B.,  703  ;    on 

Death,   Birth,   and   Illegiti- 


macy, 706 ;  Poor  Roll,  716  ; 
White  Fishing,  698;  Herring 
do.,  700;  lilementary  Educa- 
tion, 714 
Nursery,  the  first,  in  Scotland, 
note,  299 

Oldhamstock,  686  :   Ac,  702 

(No.  67) 
Oliver's  cattle  sales  at  Hawick, 

304 
"  Ordination  "  and  "  Ind  uction," 

difference  between,  note,  718 
Otters,  196,  203,  663,  670 
Otter  Hounds,  304,  324 
Oxton,  531 ;    Bovial    Society, 

532;  D..  532 
Oxnam,  228;  Cheviot  sheep  in, 

228  ;    L.  and  D.,  229 ;    Ac, 

463  (No.  38) 

Papkr  Mill,  572 ;  note,  626 

Parliamentary  Representation, 
B.,  473  ;  R".,  59  ;  S.,  367 

Parochial  Board,  days  fixed  for 
electing  members,  724 ;  of- 
ficial Reports,  their  want  of 
system,  716. 

Parochial  Teachers,  Lists  of, 
723  ;  Border  Association  of, 
722. 

Paxton  House  and  picture 
gallery,  649 

Peasantry — hinds,  48;  "bon- 
dagers,"  49,  743  ;  shepherds 
inCastleton,  235;  in  Ettrick, 
note,  415  ;  opinion  of,  quoted 
from  London  Field,  746 

Pease  Dean  and  Bridge,  590 

"Peden's  Pulpit,"  289 

Peebles,  461 ;  insignificant 
rental  of,  note,  462 ;  Ac, 
463  (No.  30) 

Penny  Bank,  Hawick,  322 

Pigeon  Matches,  747. 

Plate  Gla*s  Society,  Mutual, 
Kelso,  92  ;  Jedburgh,  260 

Ploughing  Competition,  first 
in  the  Dt.,  317 


Poetry  of  the  Yarrow,  404 
Political  peculiarity  of  Ashkirk, 

353 
Polwarth,  622  ;    L.,  623 ;  D., 

624  ;  Ac,  702  (No.  65) 
Polwarth,  Lord,  sale  of  rams, 

98,  note,  613,1 
Population,   excessive  female, 

of  Melrose,    130 ;    Earlston, 

note,   508;    Chirnside,    note, 

626 
Population  of  B.,  R.,  and   S., 

remarks  on,  51 
Pork  Curing— Kelso,  97,  739  ; 

Jedburgh,    263  ;    Yetholm, 

note,  160  ;  Hawick,  325 
Prince    Charles,   followers  of, 

178 
Printing,    early  establishment 

of,  at  Kelso,  note,  737 
Prize  Essay  on  the  "  Bondage 

System,"  note,  744. 

Quakers,  note,  179 
Quarries  of  B,,  K,,  and  S.,  468 
Queen    Mary's    House,    Jed- 
burgh, 247 

Races— Caledonian  Hunt,  748; 

Keho,    92  ;     Hawick,   304  ; 

Selkirk,    383 ;     Lamberton, 

645 
Ram      Sales  —  Dunse,     550  ; 

Hawick,  305 ;  Kelso,  89,  and 

note,  613 
Reformed  Presbyterian  Church 

(Covenanters)  L.,  720 
Registered    Voters  —  residence 

qualification,   County,   note, 

278  ;  Burgb,  note,  529 
Register  Office  Officials,  722 
Registrar    General's     Reports, 

tables  compiled  from,  705,  714 
Registrars'  L.,  723 
Registration       Information  — 

Scotland,     727 ;      England, 

note,  727 
Rental  of  Peebles,  insignificant, 

462  ;  Ac,  463,r(No.  30) 


XIV 


GENERAL    INDEX. 


Reston,  672  ;  D.,  680 

Rhymer's  Glen,  127 

Rifle  Association,  54 

Road  Trusts— R.,  55  ;  B.,  56  ; 
S ,  and  Ettrick,  371 

Roberton,  357  ;  lakes,  357  ; 
Scottsof  Harden,  358;  Dean- 
burnhaugh,  358  ;  L.  and  D., 
358  ;  Ac,  463  (No.  31) 

Rooms,  the  windows  in,  67 

Ross,  645  ;  Burnmouth,  fisher- 
men of,  note,  645 

R.,  57  ;  valuation  and  area  of, 

58  ;  lieutenancy,  59  ;  Par- 
liamentary    Representation, 

59  ;  Sheriff1  Court,  60  ;  Com- 
missioners of  Supply,  60 ; 
Commission  of  the  Peace,  63  ; 
quarries  of,  468 ;  acreage 
value,  463;  M.,  705  (No  2); 
note  on,  708  ;  elementary  ed- 
ucation, 714 

R.  and  B.,  similarity  of,  44 
Roxburgh,   192  ;  Heiton,  192  ; 

Andrew  Gemmels,  note,  192  ; 

L.  and  D.,  193  ;  Ac,  463 
Rnberslaw  mountain,  280,  289 
"  Runrig  Lands,"  note,  672 
Rutherford,     218 ;     Dons    of. 

note,  219,  620 

St.  Abb's  Head,  668  ;  geologi- 
cal features,  note,  668  ;  birds, 
Ac,  of,  670 

St.  Boswell's,  120  ;  fair,  121  ; 
L.,  122  ;  D.,  123  ;  Ac,  463 
(No.  13) 

Salmon  fishing  in  the  Tweed, 
produce  of,  40  ;  Sea  Fishing 
Station,  645 

Salubrity  of  Dunse,  549  ;  Eye- 
mouth, 689  ;  Fou'.den,  note, 
635;  Jedburgh,  246  ;  Kelso, 
72;  Melrose,  127;  Stichill, 
182  ;  Yetholm,  156 

Sandyknowe,  187 

Sanitary  Acts,  danger  of,  in 
practice,  note,  708 

Savings   Banks  —  Coldstream, 


491  ;  Galashiels,  438 ; 
Hawick,  322 ;  Jedburgh, 
261  ;  Kelso,  95 

Scott,  Sir  Walter,  in  Liddes- 
dale,  233 

Scott,  Hugh,  of  Harden,  613 

Sea-fish  out  of  season,  note,  751 

Seasons,  change  of,  note,  317 

S.,  363;  "Ettrick  Forest," 
363 ;  agricultural  condition 
compared  with  R.  and  B., 
note,  364  ;  county  lists,  366  ; 
Pastoral  Society,  370 ; 
Battalion  of  Volunteers,  370 ; 
whinstone  quarries,  468  ,•  M., 
705  (No.  3) ;  notes  on,  708 

Selkirk,  372;  recent  prosperity, 
373 ;  sanitary  regulations, 
373 ;  L.,  375 ;  Merchant 
Companv,  380  ;  D  ,  387  ;  Ac, 
463  (No.  2);  M.,  705  (No.  6); 
elementary  education,  714 

Sewerage  of  Jedburgh,  246  ;  of 
Kelso,  76,  and  note,  303 

Shedden  Park,  71,  85 

Shepherds  in  Ettrick,  note,  415 

Sheriff  Courts,  R.,  60;  S., 
367  ;  B.,  472 

Siccar  Point,  590 

Simprin,  608 
j  '*  Sir      Michael      Scott,      the 

Wizard,"  70,  202,  374 
!  Smailholm,  187  ;  Sandyknowe 
tower,     187;     L.    and    D, 
188  ;  Ac  ,  463  (No.  14) 
J  "Social  Evil,"  706 

Southdean,  203  ;  Thomson,  the 
poet,  179,  203 ;  the  poet's 
father,  204  ;  L.  and  D.,  205  ; 
Dandy  Dinmont,  note,  205, 
235  ;  Ac,  463  (No.  40) 

Spottiswoode  House,  638  ; 
Archbishop,  639;  "S.  Build- 
ings," note,  642 

Stall  holders,  list  of,  in  Kelso 
Corn  Exchange,  117 

Stichill  (and  Hume),  182,  185  ; 
holy  fairs,  182  ;  S.  House, 
182;    Linn,   183;    the   bull- 


finch, 183;  Wallace  and 
Hislop,  note,  183  ;  L.  and  D., 
185  ;  Ac,  463  (No.  25) 

Stock  husbandry,  47 

Stow,  456 ;  Caddon  Water, 
note,  456  ;  district  of  Cad- 
donfoot,  note,  457  ;  L.  and 
D.,  457  ;  Ac ,  463  (No.  32) 

Sulphurous  springs  in  Castle- 
ton,  236 

Swinton,  608  ;  L.,  609 ;  D., 
610  ;  Ac,  702  (No.  51) 

System  of  husbandry,  44 

Tables,  comparative,  of  Ac. 
Value  for  R.  and  S-,  463  ;  for 
B.,  7"2;  Mortality,  &c,  for 
the  Dt.,  305 ;  Elementary  Ed- 
ucation, 714 

Terms  in  use,  4 

Teviothead,  350 ;  L.  and  D., 
351  ;  highest  inhabited 
houses  of  the  Dt.,  352  :  Ac, 
463  (No.  39) 

"  The  Merse,''  note,  467 

Thomson  the  poet,  note,  179, 
203 

"  To  those  about  to  Marry"  in 
England,  note,  728 

Towers  —  Smailholm,  187  ; 
Darnick,  128  ;  Branxholm, 
301;  Littledean,  218;  Evelaw, 
639 

Tweed  Fishery  Act,  Analysis 
of,  39  ;  salmon  fishings,  pro 
duce  of,  40 

Trusts,  Road,  of  R.,  65  ;  B., 
56  ;  S.  and  Ettrick,  371 

Union  Agricultural  So- 
ciety Show,  89,  490  ; 
Ram  Sale,  89,  and  note,  613 

Union  Chain  Bridge,  648 

United  Presbyterian  Church. 
Presbyteries  of,  in  the  Dt. 
and  L",  719 

Unmarried  Women,  proportions 
of,  707 

Upsettlington,  502 


Vaccination    Act,    compu" 
sory   information — Scotland, 
730  ;  England,  note,  730 

Valuation  and  area  of  R.,  58  ; 
S.,  366  ;  B.,  472 

Viaducts,  note,  589 

Vipers,  663 

Volunteers,  administrative 
battalion  of,  R.  and  S.,  64  ; 
B.,  480 

Wallace,  statue  of,  613 
Wallace  and  Hislop,  note,  183 
Wark  Castle,  note,  483 
Weavers,  notes,  423,  453 
Weekly  Markets,  list  of,  3 
Weirhfll,  Melrose,  144 
Westruther,  638 ;  L.,  639  ;  D., 

640  ;  Ac,  702  (No.  72) 
Whitchester  estate,  note,  663 
Whiterig  (in  Mertoun)  614 
Whitsome  (and   Hilton),  579  ; 

L.   and   D.,   580;    Ac,   702 

(No.  66) 
Wild  plants,  70— see  Calendar 

of  Woods  and  Fields,  20 
Wilton,  347  ;    W.  Dean,  note, 

347 ;  L.,  347 
Windows,  rooms  with,  67 
Wooden  Glen  and  Lynn,  71 
Woods  and  Fields,  Calendar  of, 

20 

Yarrow,  483  ;  the  poetry  of, 

'  404;     "the    Forest,"   405; 

Ettrick  Shepherd,   405;    L. 

and  D.,  406 ;   Ac,  463  (No. 

33) 

Yarrow  and  Ettrick,  richness 
in  teinds,  note,  418 

Yetholm,  156 ;  climate  of,  note, 
156  ;  Cheviot  Hills,  note, 
156  ;  gipsies,  157 ;  Fastren's 
E'en,  129, 157  ;  L.,  158  ;  D., 
160  ;  Ac,  463  (No.  16). 

Younger,  John,  the  angler, 
note,  197 


INDEX    TO    THE    COUNTY    FAMILIES,    ETC. 


XV 


INDEX  to  the  COUNTY  FAMILIES,  SEATS,  and  SMALLEE  RESIDENCES 

in  the  DISTRICT. 


Abbotsford,  126,  149 
Aiaslie  Combe,  Woll,  356 
Allan,  AUanbank,  528 
Allan,  Capt.  John,  Stoneridge,  660 
Allan,  orSlishhous63,  634 
AUanbank,  in  Edrom,  575 
Aller)y(SirD  Brewster),  150 
Ancrum  House  (Sir  W.  Scott),  196, 

201,  507 
Anderson,  Coveyheugh,  6S3 
Anderson,  Tushielaw,  420 
Ashiesteel,  409 
Ayton  Castle,  620,  note  463 

Baird,  Stichill  House,  186 
Eaillie,   Major  and  Lady  Grizzel, 

Dryburgh  Alib.-v  House,  616 
Baker,  Lauglee,  276 
Balfour  of  Newton-Don,  G20 
Ballantyne,  Holylee,  460 
Barstow,  Kippilaw,  216 
Beniersyde  (Haigs  of),  616 
Berry  well,  566 
Binning,  Lord,  note,  £15 
Black,  Adam,  Prior  Bank,  15S 
Blackadder  House  (Sir  G.  Houstou- 

Boswall).  575 
Blaikie,  St  Helen's,  153 
Blair  Maconochie,  Gattonside  Ho., 

151 
Blantyre.  Lord,  of  Wedderlie,  643 
Bolton,  St  Boswell's  Bauk,  125 
Bonjedward  House,  275 
Borthwick  of  Crookstone,  note,  458 
Bowhill,  394 
Boyd,  Cherry  trees,  162 
Boyd,  Maxpoffle,  125 
Brakenridge,  LiddellBank,  243 
Branxholm,  344 
Brewster,  Sir  David,  150 
Briery  Yards,  344 
Briggs,  Major,  Lin  thill,  216 
Broad,  Chiefswoocl,  151 
Broadwuod,  Pavilion,  152 
Bromfield,  Old  Greenlaw,  547 
Broughton,  Bowchester,  547 


Brown,  Mrs,  of  Longformacus,  665 
Brown,  Major,  of  Park,  516 
Brown  of  Rosebiink,  Penang,  116 
Brunton,  Ladhope  House,  161 
Brunton,  Brooniiands,  115 
Buccleuch,  Duke  of,  394 
Buchan,  Kelloi-,  677 

Cameron,  Mainliouse,  171 

Camp  bell -Ronton    of   Lamberton, 

647 
Gampbell-Swinton,  Kimmergliame 

House,  577" 
Campbell,  Sir  Hugh  Hume,  G24 
Carre,  Cavers  Carre,  216 
Cathcart,  Caldra  House,  607 
Chimside,  Edrington  House,  647 
Chisholme,  361 
Chisholme,  Stirches,  345 
Clark,  Langhaugh,  152 
Cleghorn,  Weens,  286 
Cochran,  Ash  kirk,  356 
Cockburn,  Menslaws,  282 
Corse-Scott,  Sinton,  356 
Coteficld,  211 

Cotesworth,  Cowdenknowes,  516 
Coulson,  Mrs,  of  Houndwood  Ho., 

683 
Craigie,  Sheriff,  Jedbank,  275 
Cranahaws  Castle,  68S 
Curie,  St.  Cuthbert's,  153 
Curie,  Abbey  Park,  149 
Currie  of  Linthill,  note,  216 

Dalkeith   Earl  of,  151 
Dalrymple,  Elliston,  124 
Dalrymple.  Wester  Langlee,  153 
Dicks.m  of  Cliisliolme,  note,  361 
Dickson,  Hassendeanburn,  299 
Dickson,  Sir  W.,  of  Sydenham,  note, 

116 
Dickson  of  Chatty  Bughtrig,  658 
Dickson  of  Peelwdls.  605 
Douglas  of  Cavers,  294 
Douglas,  Mrs.  Pringle,  of  The  Hain- 

ing,  374,  395 


Douglas,  Sir  George,  115 
Drybrough,  Press  House,  683 

Eildon  Hall,  151 

Elcho,  Lord,  note,  666 

Elibank  (Lord  Elibank).  40S 

Eliott,  Sir  W.  F.  A.,  Wells,  285 

Elliot,  Benrig,  124, 

Elliot  of  Harwood,  Clifton  Park, 

174 
Elliot,  Redheugh,  243 
Elliot,  Easter  Cruicksfield,  634 
Elliot,  Wolflee,  205 
Elliot-Scott  of  Riccalton,  note,  282 
Eliott-Lockhart,  Borth  wiekbrae,366 
Erskine  of  Drvburgh,  616 
Erskine,  The  Priory,  152 

Fairfax,    Sir  W.  G.   H.,    of    St 

Boswell's  Bank,  note,  125 
Faft-holme,  Cliapel-on-Leadcr,  528 
Fairbolme,  Ravenswood,  152 
Floors  Castle,  70, 114 

GOLDIELANDS,  344 

Gordon  of  Cluny,  Belchester  House, 

658 
Gordon,  Hartrisrge,  276 
Grant-Suttie,  Tlie  Mains,  630 
Grant,  Dr.,  Hawick,  324 
Greenriver,  286. 
Greig,  Eccles,  659 
Gunsgreeu  House  (Dr.  Home),  603 

Haddington,  Earl  of,  500,  515 
Hall,  Sir  John,  of  Dunglaas,  note, 

591 
Hardie,  Stoneshiel  House,  681 
Hartrigge  (Lord  Stratheden),  276 
Harwood  (Elliot),  2S6 
Hay,  Dnnsa  Castle,  566 
Hay  of  Whaerigg,  217 
Henderson,  Abbotrule.  206 
Heriot,  Coldingham  Law,  683 
Home,  Earl  of,  Hirsel,  500 
Home,  Fairlaw  House,  683 


Home,  Rev.  E.  Homefleld,  683 
Home,  Newmains,  083 
Home,  Major,  Bassendean,  641 
Hood,  John,  of  Stoneridge,  note,  660 
Hood,  Mrs,  of  Kames,  659 
Hood,  Sunnyside,  684 
Hood,  Miss,  of  Walton  Hall,  116 
Hope-Scott,  Abbotsford,  149 
Hope-Smith,  Cruicksfield.  634 
Houston-Bus  wall,   Sir    George,   of 

Blackadder,  575 
Hubback,  Hoscote  House,  361 
Hunter,  Anton's  Hill,  658" 
Hunter  and  Bell,  Misses,  Springhill 

660 

James,  Easter  Samieston,  276 
Jardine    of   Castle    Milk,    Liddell 

Bank,243 
Jeffrevs-Oswald,  Edrington  Castle, 

647 
Jardine,  LarriBton,  242 
Jerdon,  Jedfoot  House,  276 
Jerviswonde,      Lord,      Bemersyde 

House,  616 
Johnson    of     Adderstone    Mains, 

Tweedbank,  116 
Johnston  of  Alva,  The  Hanging- 

ehaw,  408 

Karr  of  Kippilaw,  note,  216 
Ker,  Gilbert,  Gateshaw,  167 
Ker-Seymour,   of  Morristou,  note, 

535 
Kerr,  Lord  Henry  S  ,  Huntlyburn 

House,  151 
Kerr  of  Chatto,  SunlawB,  195 
Kerr,  Hundalee  Cottage,  275 
Kerr,  Whithuugh,  243 
Kelsall,  Pinuaclehill,  116 
Kidd,  Lowood,  152 

Ladvkirk  House  (David  Robert- 
son, M.P.),  505 
Laidlaw,  Sillerbit  Hall,  345 
Landale,  Templehall  House,  683 


IV1 


INDEX    TO    THE    COUNTY   FAMILIES,    ETC. 


Lang,  Viewfield,  397 

Langtou  House  (Lady  E.  Pringle), 

Lauderdale,    Earl  of,    Thirlestaue 

Castle,  528 
L'Atuy,  Netherbyres,  603 
Lennel  House,  500 
Logan,  Misses,  Cairnbank,  566 
Logan-Home,  Broomhouse,  676 
Lothian,  Marchioness  of,  note,  275 
Lothian,  Marquia  of,  Mounteviot, 

224 
Low  of  Laws,  Berry  well,  581 
Lundie,  Spittal  House,  662 

Macbraire,  Broadmeadows,  659 

M'Donald,    Col.,    of     Powderhall, 
Orniiston,  295 

Mack,  Berrybank,  683 

M'Laren,  Hope  Park,  500 

Macmillan-Scott,  Wauchope,  286 

Marchmont  House,  624 

Marjoribanks,  Sir  John,  The  Lees, 

Maxwell,  Teviotbank,  299 

Meiklam,  Gladewood,  617 

Mein,  Hunthill,  275 

Mellerstain  House,  515 

Mertouu  House  (Lord  Polwarth), 
617 

Millar,  Nunlanda  House,  637 

Miller  (William,    M.P.),    Mander- 
aton,  567 

Milne,  Sheriff,  The  Heatherlie,  396 

Milne-Home,  Milne  Graden,  501 

Minlo,  Earl  of,  298 

Mitch  ell- 1  ones,  Ayton  Castle,  602 
500 

Mitchell-Inn  ea,    Blanerne   House, 
633 

Mitchell,  Mrs.,  Laidlawsteel,  460 

Mitchell  of  Stow,  Carolside,  516 

Morton,  Earl  of,  note,  588 

Mounteviot  House  (Marquis  of  Lo- 
thian), 224 


Munro-Binning,  DrylmrghHo.,  617 
Murray,  Ettrick  Bank,  396 
Murray,  Sir  John,  Philiphaugh,  396 
Murray,  Wooplaw,  153 

Napier,  Broadmeadows,  395 
Napier,  Lord,  of  Merchistoun,  420 
Newton    Don    (Lady  E.   Balfour), 

620 
Nisbet  House  (Lord  Sinclair),  578 
Nisbet,  Lambden,  547 
Nisbet,  Mersington  House,  659 
Nixon,  Lynwood,  344 

Ogilvie,  Cheaters,  201 
Oliver,  Langraw,  286 
Oliver,  Locbside,  166 
Ormiston,  Glenburnhall,  275 
Otto,  Jerdonfield,  276 

Panton,  Dr.,  Edenhank,  116 
Parker,  Sydenham,  116 
Paterson,  White!ee,  153 
Paton,  Crailing  House,  224 
Paton,  Misaea,  Woodside,  117 
Paxtou  House  (Milne  Home),  652 
Pennycook,  Hallrule,  286 
Polwarth,  Lord,  of  Mertoun,  617 
Pott,  Kuowesouth,  282 
Pott,  Todrig,  36C 
Pringle,  Lady  E.,  Langton  Houbq, 

571  ,  630 
Pringle,  Sir  John,  of  Newhall,  note, 

458 
Pringle,  Torwoodlee,  459 
Pringle,  Wilton  Lodge,  345 
Pringle,  Yiiir,  397 
Purves,  Col.  H.,Pui-vea  Hall,  660 

Ramsay,  Miaa  W.,  of  Maxton  Cot- 
tage, 1-25; 
Renny,  Major,  Edrom  House,  576 
Ronton,  Campbell,  of  Lamberton, 
Mordington,  House,  647 


Riddell    Col.,   of   Caoueston,   The 

Anehorage,  1 50 
Robertson,  David,  M.P.,  of  Lady- 
kirk,  505 
Robertson,  Mrs.,  of  Ednam  Ho,, 115 
Robson-Scott,  of  Aahtrees,  note,  262 
Robsou-Scott,  Newton,  282 
Rodger,  Bridgelands,  395 
Ross-Hume,  of  Ninewella,  630 
Roxburghe,  Duke  of,  114 
Roy,  Nentborn  House,  619 
Russell,  Lady,  Ashiesteel,  409 
Rutherfurd,  of  Fairnington,  195 
Rutherfurd,  Siieriff,  Edgerston,  242, 

278 
Rutherford,  Sunnyaide,  153 
Rutherford,  The  Scaurs,  277 

St.  Clair  (Hon.  Mrs.),  St.  Ella's 
Lodge,6f6 

Saudison|  Mrs.  Magnus,  of  High- 
laws,  683 

Sandys-Lumsdaine,  of  Lumsdaine, 
note,  633 

Scott,  Capt  ,  yr.  of  Ancrum,  Kirk- 
lands,  202 

Scott,  Glendouglas,  210 

Scott,  Hugh,  of  Gala,  453 

Scott,  Lady  John,  Kirkbank,  171 

Scott,  Lintalee,  276 

Scott-Makdougall,  Mia3,  Makers- 
toun  House,  191 

Scott-Plummer,  Sunderland  Hall, 
396 

Scott  of  Raeburn,  Lessudden 
House,  125 

Scott,  Rodono,  420 

Scott,  Sir  William,  M.P.,  201 

Scott,  Wooden,  116 

Shortreed-Fair,  Gilliestongnea,  275 

Simson,  Threepwood,  153 

Sinclair,  Lord,  of  Niabet,  m.0^578 

Smyth  Mrs.,  of  Whitchester,  Elleni 
Cottage,  665 


Spottiawoode  of  Spotliswoode,  642 
Springo-ood    Park,  (Sir  G.   H.   S. 

Douglas),  115 
Spror,  Riddell,  211 
Stirling,  Lady,  of  Renton  H^use, 

684 
Stirling,  Whiterigg,  217 
Stobb's  Castle,  295 
Stratheden  and  Campbell,    Lord, 

note,  276 
Swinton  of  Swinton,  611 

Tait  nf  Langrigg,  Edenside,  115 
The  Hirsel  (Lord  Home),  500 
Tbirlestane  Castle  (Lord  Lauder- 
dale), 528 
Thirlestane  Caatle  (Lord  Napier), 

420 
Thoilieshope,  242 
Tod,  Drygrange,  151 
Tod,  Mioses,  Kirklanda,  516 
Trotter-Cranstoun,  of  Dewar,  576 
Trotter  of  Morton  Hall,  Charter- 
hall,  607 
Tunibull,  Abbey  St.  Bathana,  585 
Tweedhill  House,  652 

Waldie- Griffith,       Hendersyde, 

181  ;  note,  673 
Walk  r  of  Bowland,  note,  459 
Watson,  Bucklanda  House.    44 
Wauchope  of  Niddrie,  of  Yetholni 

Hall,  note.  162 
Wedderburn  Castle,  567 
Wellfield    House    Academy   (Mr. 

Wood),  567 
Wemyss,  Karl  of,  500  ;  note/666 
Whitmuir  Hall,  397 
Wilkie,  Fouldeu,  637 
Wilson,  Cumledge,  566 
Wilson,  Orchard  House,  295 
Wilson,  Otterburn,  167 

Younger,  Roaebank,  116 


\LlLmad  J.  K. 

(■h./X)'""'"'''     >  j?""*1" 


SOUTHERN 


BVPfflytSlID 

and  Nortlwni  part  of 
^  ILLUSTRATIVE <.tili<'  BORDER  DISTRICT. 

•inapnLl&rittnBft  tiiiiri&xl  dins 

nah. 


\i»JFW^rK. •■     '"'-'^^m-^-  ■.  /,  .■■■  tarts    .As\  ^ 


toJbrta^  _ 


'\  ,-/-.'/<"' 


Jjwfitoffirtl- 


lmL'fiiilj 


jiMniyri'iiiiiiB . 


iy.mJ.       Vl/-„^/V^-Vu      -r^""1"'      "        SELKIRK         1%   '"7,'u   ijj^     ,        ---.  \       *-' 

uJU'-rfjiirn  \     ^\vU''*i 


■  -:  -  ;«„^v*  "'■■"•■■■/M ;.  t  x  f  €s^ 


jin      (-  CttSTJi'lWuilj.^      -jl'"11'--"'!       i'P       \     "%  ^ 

^V.    I  ■  ■      fl~^  A1  ^f   :   ,      r\d  '    y_/..'^j_...i>:  r 


.AE 


Jr/ualfi/tJl 


\:'dr*v*^t;-^sfr    hlRKCUD^RI&HT  "*'*'AbP 


"W 


^^Sz^"^P\^\'  l"" 


-  •JrM „  ,\\\  It       Aa" 

Up—  -  v^jrX  w    ^- 

J^-c- Sl.„l,l,m  ■....-■  '.v.';/.,?,,/.      -\l 

'       TM-l&tiHoutJt    \J//llis'ftrdJiir.u[eJtT  Penrit 


■S     3 

3   £ 


.S  <o 


5    ■= 

■8    15 


■ 


£eLvf>,J*JJi.JunJu.rtiu-J .  JUfiUsfier* . 


JAMES  STEEL. 

LICENSED  DEALER  IN  GAME, 

FISHMONGER  AND  POULTERER, 
11    BRIDGE    STREET, 

MILS®, 

Js  open  to  Contract  for  Rabbits  and  all 

kinds  of  Game  in  any  part  of  Scotland. 


ComnuBBions  for  Tweed  Salmon  oarofully  executed. 


so 


o« 


THE  SOUTHERN  COUNTIES'  REGISTER,  DIRECTORY,  Ac. 


FAIRS. 

Tbe  figures  within  parenthesis — thus  (78) — occurring  after  the  fairs, 
markets,  and  anniversaries,  denote  the  page  where  the  event  is  fully 
described  ;  the  letter  n  denotes  that  the  fair  preceding  it  has  become 
nominal  or  defunct ;  where  no  figure  or  letter  occurs,  the  event  is 
not  in  the  district,  and  the  entry  is  made  from  other  almanacs  for 
convenience  of  reference;  but  for  its  existence  or  the  accuracy  of 
its  date  we  do  not  vouch. 


MARCH. 

Alnwick,  hiring,  1  Saturday 

Eerwick-on -Tweed,  hiring,  1  Sat. 

Cornhill,  hinds'  hiring,  1  Mon- 
day (484) 

Dunse,  hinds'  hiring,  1  Tues.  (549) 

Ettrick,  hiring  shepherds,  &  sale 
of  ewes,  last  Wed.  (w,  41 7) 

Galashiels,  seed-corn,  <fcc,  3  Wed- 
nesday (n.,  430) 

Gifford  Tryst,  last  Tuesday 

Hexham,  stock,  25 

Jedburgh,  hinds'  hiring ,  1  Tues- 
day (248) 

Kelso,  hinds'  and  herds'  hiring,  1 
Friday  (73) 

Kelso  Horse  Fair,  2  Friday  (73) 

Lauder,  hinds  and  herds,  1  Tues- 
day (519) 

Melrose,  hinds'  hiring,  1  Mon.  ; 
ewes  and  other  stock,  Saturday 
before  last  Tuesday  (129) 

Morpeth,  horses  and  cattle,  28 

Peebles,  hiring,  1  Tuesday 

Selkirk,  shepherds'  and  hinds' 
hiring,  1  Wed.  (375) 

8tow.  ewes,  seeds,  corn,  hiring, 
2  Tuesday 


APRIL. 

Belford,  last  Wednesday 
Carlisle,  cat.,  Saturday  nearest  20 
Castleton,  hiring,  2  Friday  (236) 
Ladykirk,  linen  cloth,  plants,  &c,  5 

(n,  504) 
Lauder,  servants,  6  Tuesdays  after 

1  Tuesday  of  March  (519) 
Selkirk,  hiring  servants,  5  (375) 

MAY. 
Alnwick,  12 
Berwick -on -Tweed,  hiring,  and 

horses,  1  Sat. 
Castleton,  hir.,  Frid.  bef.  17  (236) 
Dunse,  hir.  young  men  &  women, 

2  Tues.  before  26  (549) 
Falkirk,  cattle  and  horse  show,  3d 

Thursday 
Greenlaw,  cows,  &c,  22  (n,  541) 
Heriot  House,  sheep,  cattle,  and 

turnip-seed,  Friday  after  26 
Hawick,  hir.  servants,  17  (305) 
Jedburgh,  cat  and  horses,  1  Tues. 

aft.  26;  hir.  serv.,  1  Tues.  (248} 
Kelso,  hinds'  hiring,  1  Friday  (73) 
Langholm,  cat. ,  last  Tuesday,  o.s. 
Melrose,  hiring  young  men  and 

women,  1  Monday  (129) 


Norham,  3  Thursday 
Peebles,  2  Wednesday 

JUNE. 
Dumfries,  hor.,  Wed.  after  17,  o.s. 
Dunse,  cat.,  shp.  &  hor.,  1  Thurs. 

(549) 
Earlston,  cat.  and  horses,  29  (507) 
Gifford  Fair,  3  Tuesday 
Linton  (Peeblesshire),  sheep,  2S 
Melrose,  cattle,  1  Wednes.  (129) 
Norham,  3  Thursday 
Swinton,  3  Thursday  (n,  608) 
Yetholm  (Kirk),  sheep,  27  (157) 

JULY. 
Alnwick,    last   Mon. ;  wool,    Sa- 
turday after  5 
Coldingham,  2  Tuesday,  o.  s.  (n) 
Cornhill,  lambs  and  wool,  3  (484) 
Dunse,  cat.,  sheep  &  wool,  2  Tues. 

(549) 
Ettrick,  lambs  and  wool  30,(?i417) 
Galashiels,  wool,  8  (430) 
Hawick,  wool,  1  Thursday  after 
St.  Boswell's ;  shearers,  1  Thurs- 
day after  26  (305) 
Hexham,  wool,  2 
Jedburgh  (Rink),  20,  or  two  days 

after  St.  Boswell's  (249) 
Kelso,  wool,  2  Friday  (74) 
Langholm,  lambs  and  wool,  26 
Linton  (Peeblesshire),  wool,  Wed. 

after  18 
Morpeth,  Wednesday  before  22 
Peebles,  wool,  Tuesday  after  18 
Pennymuir,  lambs  and  wool,  31 

(229) 
St.  Boswell's,  18  (121) 
Selkirk,  shearers,  15 
Stagshawbank,  5 


Thirlestane,  Iambs,  30 

Yetholm  (Town),  lambs,  wool,  &c. 
2  Wednesday  (n,  158) 
AUGUST. 

Berwick,  hiring,  1  Saturday 

Carlisle,  cattle,  26 

Dunse,  cattle,  sheep,  and  horse, 
26  or  Tuesday  after  (549) 

Hexham,  stock,  6 

James',  St.  (Kelso),  5  (74) 

Jedburgh,  cattle,  horses,  shearers, 
20,  if  Tuesday  ;  if  not,  Tuesday 
before 

Kelso,  shearers'  port  every  Mon- 
day morning  during  harvest 

Lauder,  lambs,  Friday  bef.  12  (n 
519)  V 

Melrose,  shearers,  1  Mon.  ;  lam- 
mas,  12 ;  but  if  Saturday,  Sun- 
day, or  Monday,  Tuesday  after 
(129, 130) 

Newcastle,  horses,  cattle,  and 
general  business,  2  Wednesday 

Peebles,  Tuesday  before  24 

Stagshawbank,  lambs,  5 

SEPTEMBER. 
Belford,  ewes,  26 
Carlisle,  cattle,  20 
Castleton,  ewes  and  lambs,  Friday 

before  2  Wednesday  (237) 
Cornhill,  draft  ewes  (26) 
Dunse,  ewe  tryst,  3  Tuesday  (550) 
Ettrick,  tups  and  fat  sheep  24  (n) 
Hawick,  tups,  20  and  21  (305) 
Jedburgh  (Rood  Day),  cattle  and 

horses,  25  (249) 
Kelso    Union    Agricultural    So- 
ciety's Exhibition  of  sheep,  and 
sale  and  hire  of  Leicester  and 


FAIRS — MARKETS ANNIVERSARIES   AND    FASTS ENGLISH   AND    SCOTCH   TERMS. 


Cheviot  Tups,  2  Thursday  and 
Friday  (47  and  89) — see  note 
(613) ;  Leicester  and  half-bred 
draft  ewes  and  cattle  market, 
24  (74) 

Langholm,  sheep,  IS 

Moffat,  2  Friday  aft.  Falkirk  Tryst 

Peebles,  Tuesday  before  12 

St  Ninian's,  27 

OCTOBER. 

Alnwick,  1  Tuesday 

Belford,  hiring,  1  Wednesday 

Castleton,  draft  ewes  and  lambs, 
Thursday  bef.  2  Tuesday  (237) 

Earlston,  cat.  and  horses,  3  Thurs- 
day (507) 

Galashiels,  general  business,  ll(n) 

Greenlaw,  cows,  last  Thurs.  (541) 

Hawick  (Tryst),  horses  and  cattle. 
3  Tuesday  (305) 

Jedburgh  (Rink),  14  (ob.t.,  249) 

Lauder,  servants,  4  Friday  (519) 

Melrose,   ewes  and  other  stock, 
Saturday  after  1  Tuesday  (130) 

Morpeth,  horses  and  cattle,  25 

Norham,  2  Thursday 

Peebles,  2  Tuesday 

Penicuick,  1  Friday 

Pennymuir,  sheep  and  cat,  15(229) 

Rothbury,  stock,  3 

Selkirk,  servants'  hiring,  31  (375) 


Swiuton,  4  Tuesday  (n,  60S) 
Stagshawbank,  lambs,  24 
Wooler,  cattle,  sheep,  17 
Yetholm  (Kirk),  sheep,  24  (158) 

NOVEMBER. 
Alnwick,  hiring,  1  Saturday 
Berwick,  hiring,  1  Saturday 
Castleton,  hiring,   Friday  before 

8  (236) ;  cattle  and  small  lambs, 

3  Friday  (237) 
Cbirnside,  last  Thursday  (n) 
Dumfries,  horse,  Wed. before  22 
Dunse,  servants'  hiring,  1  Tues.  ,* 

cattle  and  sheep,  17,  or  Tuesday 

after  (550) 
Edinburgh  (Hallow  Fair),  2d  Mon. 
Ettrick  (Little  Fair),  3  Friday  (71) 
Hawick,  cat.,  &  hiring  servants, 

(305) 
Hexham,  stock,  9 ;  hiring,  11 
Haltwhistle,  cattle,  22. 
Jedburgh,  hiring,  1  Tuesday(24S); 

cat.  and  horses,  1  Tues.  (249) 
Kelso,  servants' hir.,  1  Friday  (73) 
Langholm,  cattle,  5 
Melrose,  servants,  1  Monday ;  cat. 

22  (130) 
Newcastle,    cattle,    last  Wednes- 
day ;  hiring,  1  Tuesday 
Rothbury,  stock,  1 


WEEKLY  MARKETS. 


Dunse — Grain  in  bulk,  Tues.  (549)  I  Jedburgh — Corn,    &c,    Tuesday 


Earlston— Grain  (5 OS) 

Galashiels — Grain  in  bulk,  Tues- 
day (429) 

Hawick — Corn,  Meal,  &c.,  Thurs- 
day (304) 


(248) 
Kelso — General  (73) ;  Corn,  <fec. 

(73,  117) 
Melrose — Corn,  <fec,  Mond.  (129) 
Selkirk— Wednesday  (375) 


CATTLE  MARKETS  AND  SALES. 

Note  — The  Berwick  and  Kelso  Fat  Cattle  Markets  fall  on  alternate 
Mondays  during  the  season,  viz. — November  to  July.  The  Me] rose 
and  Coldstream  Cattle  Markets  (both  Monday)  are  both  regulated  eo 
as  not  to  fall  on  the  Kelso  days.  The  Coldstream  dates  are  fixed 
annually  by  the  Bailie  (see  p.  484). 


Berwick-on-Tweed — Fortnightly 
Monday 

Coldstream — Monthly,  an  unfix- 
ed Monday  (4S4) 

Dunse— Monthly,  1st  Friday  (549) 

Earlston — Sales,  Saturday  (50S) 


Galashiels— Sales,    Fortnightly, 

Saturday  (430) 
Hawick— Sales  (304) 
Jedburgh— Monthly,  3  Thu.  (248} 
Kelso — Fortnightly,  Monday  (73) 
Melrose — Fortnightly.jMon.  (129) 


ANNIVERSARIES  AND  FASTS. 


[In  the  following  list  G.  H.  means  General  Holiday;  F.,  Fast  Day; 
S.,  Sunday. — New  Tear's  Bay  is  a  Gen.  Holiday  in  the  district. 

Ayton— F.,  Thursdays  bef.  last  S. 

of  Feb.  and  July  (598) 
Castleton  —  F. ,    Fridays   before 

second  S.  of  June  and  Nov.  (23S) 
Ciiirnside — F,,  last  Thursdays  of 


April  and  October  (*G27) 

Coldstream — G.  H.  in  July,  un- 
fixed (4S4)  F.,  Wed.  before  first 
S.  of  May,  and  in  Oct.,  unfixed 
(487) 

Coldingham — F.,  Thursday  bef. 
last  S.  of  June,  and  in  Decem- 
ber, unfixed 

Denholm — F.,  first  Wed.  in  May 
and  last  in  Oct.  (292) 

Dunse — G.  H.  in  June,  unfixed 
(549);  F.,  Thursday  bef.  second 
S.  of  July — winter  unfixed  (553) 

Earlston — F.  in  Feb.  and  July — 
unfixed  (509) 

Eyemouth — F.,  varies  in  the  dif- 
ferent churches 

Galashiels — G.  H.,  Michaelmas 
Day  (429);  F.,  Thursdays  before 
first  S.  of  May  and  second  S.  of 
Nov.  (433) 

Greenlaw — F.,  Wed.  bef.  first  S. 
in  May  and  Nov.  (543) 

Hawick — Common  Riding,  Fri- 
day on  or  before  20th  May  :  G. 
H.,  days  following  the  May  and 


Nov.  hirings(304,  305);  F.,  Wed. 
before  last  S.  in  June  and  sec- 
ond S.  of  Dec.  (311) 

Jedburgh— Handball  match,  Fas- 
tren'sE'en;*  G.  H,,  Wed.  after 
hiring  in  May  (248);  F.,  Thurs- 
days before  first  S.  of  July,  and 
in  Dec.  unfixed  (253) 

Kelso— G.  H.,  1  Wed.  July  (73)  ; 
F.,  Wed.  before  first  S.  of  May 
and  Nov.  (79) 

Lauder— F.,  Wed.  bef.  last  S.  in 
June,  and  in  Dec.  unfixed  (521) 

Melrose  —  Foot  -  ball,  Fastren  9 
E'en  ;*  G.  H.  18th  July  (129) ;  F. 
Thursdays  before  second  S.  of 
April  and  Nov.  (133) 

Selkirk — Common  Riding,  regu- 
lated by  that  of  Hawick— gene- 
rally early  in  June  (375);  F., 
Thursdays  bef.  last  S.  of  April 
and  second  S.  of  Nov.  (378) 

St.  Bos  well's— Handball  match, 
12th  March  (121);  F.,  Thurs- 
days before  last  S.  of  Feb.  and 
firsts,  of  July  (122) 

Yetholm  —  Football  and  Games, 
Fastren's  E'en*  (157);  F.,  early 
Wed.  in  Jan.  and  July— unfixed 
(159) 

*  Sec  note,  p.  157. 


(For  the  F.  D.  of  country  parishes,  see  their  individual  lists, 
under  Clergy). 


ENGLISH  AND  SCOTCH  TERMS. 


English. 
Lady  Day  -  - 
Midsummer  -  - 
Michaelmas  -  - 
Christmas  -    -    - 


Mar. 

25 

June  2-4 

Sept. 

29 

Dee. 

25 

Scotch. 
Candlemas 
Whitsunday 
Lammas 
Martinmas 


New 
Feb.    2 
May  15 
Aug    1 
Nov.  11 


Old 
Feb.  13 
May  2(3 
Aug.  12 
Nov.  22 


In  the  district  the  old  Scotch  Whitsunday  term  (May  26)  is  that 
when  houses  are  changed,  leases  of  farms  are  entered  upon,  and  hinds 
and  shepherds  change  their  service  ;  unmarried  ploughmen,  and  do- 
mestic servants  change  places  at  both  the  Whitsunday  and  Martin- 
mas old  Scotch  terms.  The  new  Scotch  terms  of  Whitsunday  and 
Martinmas  prevail  in  some  of  the  gentlemen's  houses,  and  are  the 
rule  on  the  English  Border.  The  quarterly  terms  of  Candlemas  and 
Lammas  are  seldom  used  ;  the  rule  in  hiring  servants  being  by  the 
year  and  half-year,  and  of  houses  and  farms  by  the  year  or  a  longer 
period.     The  English,  terms  are  practically  unknown  in  the  district. 


GARDENERS'  CALENDAR   FOR   THE   DISTRICT  :    MEMORANDA. 


GARDENERS'  CALENDAR  FOR  THE 
DISTRICT. 


GARDENING  MEMORANDA. 

Good  cultivation  is  essential  in  a  garden  kept  either  for  pleasure  or 
profit.  The  soil  should  be  well  and  deeply  dug ;  if  it  be  naturally 
shallow  let  a  little  fresh  sub-soil  be  brought  up  to  the  surface  every 
year,  and  in  the  course  of  time  a  shallow  soil  will  become  a  deep  one. 
Where  the  soil  is  naturally  deep  and  good,  trenching  it  occasionally 
will  be  of  great  service. 

"Weeds  should  never  be  allowed  to  go  to  seed,  for  "one  year's 
seeding  is  seven  years'  weeding."  If  persevering  efforts  are  made  to 
keep  them  down,  a  garden  may  be  got  almost  entirely  rid  of  them. 
Hand-picking  is  far  more  effective  than  hoeing,  and  cheaper  in  the 
long  run. 

All  edgings  of  walks  and  borders  should  be  tidily  kept ;  nothing 
is  more  unsightly  than  tall  straggling  box  ;  it  should  not  be  higher 
than  from  two  to  four  inches  in  the  common  run  of  gardens. 

Fruit  trees  and  bushes  should  be  kept  within  limits.  Large  stan- 
dards are  not  suited  to  small  gardens :  dwarfs  are  more  manageable, 
can  be  cultivated  in  greater  variety,  produce  the  finest  fruit,  and  are 
not  easily  shaken  by  high  winds.  These  remarks  are  especially  true 
of  the  apple,  which  may  be  abundantly  produced  in  this  climate,  aud 
is  one  of  the  most  healthful  and  serviceable  fruits  which  we  possess. 

In  gardening  all  overcrowding  sbould  be  carefully  avoided.  Trees, 
Bushes,  Vegetables,  and  almost  all  Plants,  require  light  and  air,  and 
the  more  they  get  of  these  the  better ;  they  must  have  room  also  for 
then'  roots  to  grow  and  feed  in.  With  sufficient  room  there  will  be 
the  greater  produce. 

Examples  : 

Peas  should  be  thinly  sown  in  the  drill :  planting  the  seed  is  pre- 
ferable to  sowing  it:  and  two  drills  should  never  be  placed  alongside 
of  each  other.  It  is  best  to  keep  each  drill  entirely  by  itself,  occupy- 
ing the  intervals  with  other  crops.  In  this  way  peas  yield  a  great 
deal  more  than  when  crowded ;  and  room,  trouble,  staking,  and  ex- 
pense are  saved.    The  same  treatment  should  also  be  given  to  beans. 

Onions,  Carrots,  and  Turnips,  should  be  thinned  very  early  to  a 
proper  distance  ;  the  Onions  grown  in  rows  one  foot  apart,  and  from 
four  to  six  inches  asunder,  if  it  be  wished  to  have  them  large  :  the 
Carrots,  early  sorts,  in  rows  nine  inches  apart,  and  plants  from  four 
to  six  inches  ;  the  larger  kinds  in  rows  of  15  or  IS  inches  apart,  and 
plants  six  or  eight  inches  :  early  Turnips,  in  rows  two  feet  apart,  and 
plants  thinned  from  six  to  nine  inches  according  to  sorts. 

For  growing  Carrots  and  Onions  the  ground  should  be  dug  and  ma- 
nured in  autumn.  These  crops  are  liable  to  be  attacked  by  maggot; 
where  this  is  the  case  a  good  topdressing  of  soot  laid  on  in  the  autumn, 
to  He  on  the  surface  during  winter,  and  pointed  in  at  spring  time,  has 
been  found  to  be  beneficial ;  also  a  good  watering  of  soft  soap  and 
water,  the  mixture  being  made  at  the  rate  of  about  one  pound  of 


soap  to  a  tub  of  water,  and  applied  as  soon  as  the  plants  are  fairly 
above  ground.  The  liquid  from  a  cow  byre  or  dung  heap,  diluted 
with  its  own  bulk  of  water,  is  excellent  manure  for  young  carrots,  and 
will  often  secure  a  large  crop ;  it  may  be  applied  frequently  at  inter- 
vals of  a  few  days. 

To  make  sure  of  a  good  plant  of  Onions,  the  seed  may  be  sown  in 
the  end  of  February  or  early  in  March,  in  a  pot  or  box  placed  either 
in  a  hot-bed  or  window;  the  young  plants  should  be  gradually  ex- 
posed to  the  open  air,  and  planted  out  as  soon  in  April  as  possible,  in 
rows  one  foot  apart,  and  four  or  six  inches  asunder ;  in  this  way  fine 
large  bulbs  are  got,  the  young  plants  are  not  so  liable  to  be  attacked 
by  maggot,  and  this  plan  is  at  least  as  easy  as  sowing  and  thinning. 

All  vegetables  like  good  manure,  and  should  have  it.  Potatoes  may 
be  excepted,  for  though  the  produce  of  potatoes  is  less  without  manure 
than  with  it,  the  quality  is  better,  and  there  is  less  liability  to  disease. 
The  truth,  however,  is  all  but  universal,  that  vegetables  can  only  be 
produced  in  perfection  on  rich  soil.  Autumn  planted  Cabbages  benefit 
from  manure  water  or  guano  water  applied  to  their  roots  once  or 
twice  in  the  spring. 

The  same  ground  should  not  be  planted  twice  in  immediate  suc- 
cession with  the  same  crop  if  it  can  be  avoided :  a  variety  should  be 
studied. 

The  planting  and  pruning  of  Fruit  Trees  and  Bushes  should  be 
gone  about  in  fresh  weather  and  not  in  frost,  and  be  all  over  by  the 
end  of  November,  if  possible  :  it  should  be  remembered  that  a  cut  is 
a  wound,  and  that  when  it  is  exposed  to  frost,  the  plant  is  thereby 
liable  to  injury.  The  object  of  pruning  is  to  remove  superfluous 
wood,  to  force  the  branch  to  make  fruit  spurs,  and  thereby  secure 
greater  fertility,  and  to  give  air  and  light  to  eveiy  part  of  the  tree  or 
bush .  Gooseberry  and  Currant  Bushes  arebenefited  by  having  the  ends 
of  the  young  shoots  taken  ofFduringthegrowingperiod,  as  this  disposes 
the  bush  to  form  and  mature  fruit  buds.  Vegetables  should  not  be 
grown  too  close  to  fruit  trees  or  bushes.  Trees  on  walls  are  often 
choked  in  this  way,  and  their  roots  robbed  of  moisture  and  food : 
good  fruit,  and  a  good  crop  of  it,  cannot  be  expected  with  such  treat- 
ment. 

To  keep  away  caterpillars,  soot  may  be  laid  pretty  thickly  around 
the  roots  of  bushes  in  the  autumn.  Some  people  have  tried,  with  ap- 
parent success,  tobacco  liquor  diluted  with  water  to  the  colour  of  port 
wine,  and  sprinkled  with  a  brush  on  the  bushes,  when  in  bloom.  Some 
recommend  tanner's  bark  to  be  laid  under  the  bushes  in  the  autumn, 
to  remain  on  the  ground  ;  and  others  pour  liquid  from  the  cow  byre 
over  the  bushes  and  roots  during  the  winter. 

When  bushes  are  seized  with  caterpillar,  they  should  either  be 
carefully  hand-picked,  without  loss  of  time,  or  have  dusted  over 
them,  when  wet  with  dew,  or  rain,  or  by  a  watering  pan,  powder  of 
hellebore,  which  will  kill  the  caterpillars  ;  after  this  the  fruit  should 
not  be  eaten  till  the  bushes  are  washed  clean,  as  the  powder  is  poi- 
sonous. 

As  Potatoes  grown  in  gardens  are  now  so  liable  to  disease,  it  will 
be  prudent  to  plant  there  only  First  Early  kinds ;  such  sorts  have 
the  advantage  of  being  ripe  usually  before  the  disease  becomes  pre- 
valent. Some  of  the  Round  First  Earlies  are  as  productive  as  the 
later  sorts,  and  nearly  as  soon  usable  as  the  Ash-leaf,  and  much  better. 
Proper  attention  should  be  given  to  have  a  constant  succession  of 
vegetables,  and  a  good  variety :  potatoes  have  largely  usurped  the 
place  of  all  other  vegetables. 


GARDENERS'  CALENDAR   FOR    THE   DISTRICT  :   JANUARY — MARCH. 


JANUARY.  * 

Digging,  planting-,  and  pruning,  not  done  in  autumn,  should  be 
completed  without  delay. 

Up  to  the  end  of  the  month,  if  not  done  before,  take  cuttings  of 
Pears  and  Apples  for  grafting  in  April,  and  insert  them  two-thirds  of 
their  length  in  the  ground,  out  of  the  sun,  until  they  are  required. 

Beans.— In  favourable  weather  Early  Mazagan  Beans  may  be  plant- 
ed three  or  four  inches  apart  in  the  rows,  and  rows  at  least  2£  feet 
asunder.     Single  rows  are  however  most  prolific. 

Cabbage. — In  warm  situations  Cabbage  may  be  planted  in  open 
weather  in  the  end  of  this  month,  and  blanks  in  the  autumn  planted, 
filled  up. 

Peas. — Plant  one  or  more  early  sorts  about  the  third  week  of  this 
month:  DilUugatone's Early,  Sangster's No.  l(Syn. Daniel O'Rourke), 
Early  Emperor,  may  all  be  sown  at  the  same  time  and  will  form  a 
good  succession.  The  above  directions  can  only  be  carried  out  when 
the  season  is  open  and  the  ground  sufficiently  dry  to  allow  the 
operations. 

In  this  month,  if  the  Calendar  be  followed,  there  ought  to  be  found 
in  gardens  a  supply  of  Savoys,  Brussels  Sprouts,  Coleworts,  Curled 
Greens,  Delaware  Greens,  Asparagus  Kale,  Cottager's  Kale,  and 
Fearnought  Cabbage,  which  may  be  cut  the  whole  winter.  Asparagus 
Kale  is  a  tender  and  delicious  green,  and  after  the  head  is  cut,  will 
afford  many  successive  growths  of  young  shoots,  which  may  either 
be  cooked  as  greens,  or  stripped  and  treated  as  Asparagus.  Cot- 
tager's Kale  is  a  new  vegetable,  which  sends  out  tufts  of  growth 
from  the  base  of  its  leaves;  the  tufts  are  stripped  off  and  used  as 
greens. 

If  early  Rhubarb  or  Seakale  be  desired,  place  pots  or  boxes  over  the 
plants,  and  cover  with  leaves  or  stable  litter. 

Though  little  can,  or  should,  be  done  in  a  garden  dui-ing  this  month, 
it  ought  to  be  kept  clean  and  orderly,  for  a  garden  well  kept  is  plea- 
sant at  every  season ;  many  gardens  lie  in  ruins  all  the  winter. 

FEBRUARY. 

Beans.— Plant  for  a  main  crop  such  as  Early  Longpod,  Mackie's 
Monarch  (called  also  Sangster's  Wonderful  Longpod),  Marshall's 
Dwarf  Prolific,  a  dwarf  sort  of  about  one  foot  in  height,  a  great 
bearer,  and  suitable  for  small  gardens.  In  gardens  much  shaded,  or 
moist  and  growth  y,  beans,  when  they  have  flowered  enough,  should 
have  their  tops  nipped  off  to  force  them  to  fill  their  pods. 

Cabbage. — Plant  out  Cabbage  to  succeed  the  more  advanced. 

Carrots. — In  the  end  of  the  month  sow  on  soil  prepared  in  the 
autumn,  French  Early  Horn  Carrots  :  this  sort  is  smaller  than  the 
common  Early  Horn,  and  considerably  earlier :  it  is  a  distinct,  hand- 
some, and  most  useful  and  excellent  variety. 

Chives. — Plant  Chives  in  any  out  of  the  way  place :  they  are  used 
in  spring  in  various  ways  in  the  place  of  onions  when  the  latter  are 
scarce  or  done. 

Peas. — Sow  early  sorts,  same  as  for  last  month,  with  the  addition 


*  As  the  Calendar  is  adapted  to  the  neighbourhood  of  Kelso,  its  direc- 
tions for  the  spring  months  should  be  followed  a  little  later  in  colder  and 
later  districts,  and  in  the  autumn  months  a  little  earlier. 


of  the  Ringwood,  a  good  sized  melting  pea  of  better  quality  than  the 
first  earlies. 

Planting  and  pruning  of  fruit  trees  and  shrubs  are  often  done  at 
this  season  and  even  later  ;  but  it  is  much  better  to  have  the  work 
all  over  before  Christmas,  or  in  November,  where  it  is  practicable  ; 
excepting,  however,  the  Peach,  Nectaiine,  and  Apricot,  which  may 
now  be  pruned  and  nailed. 

Rose  Bushes  may  be  pruned  to  one  or  two  eyes :  Climbing  and 
China  Roses  should  be  little  cut. 

Where  the  soil  is  dry  and  fine,  and  the  weather  open,  box  and 
other  edgings  may  be  made,  which  will  so  far  further  the  work  of 
the  garden ;  but  on  wet  or  stiff  cold  soils  it  is  better  to  delay  this  till 
the  ground  work  quite  freely. 

A  garden  should  at  this  period  supply  Savoys,  Fearnought  Cab- 
bage, Brussels  Sprouts,  Coleworts,  Kale  of  sorts,  Asparagus  Kale, 
Cottager's  Kale,  and  sometimes  Brocoli,  according  to  the  season  and 
situation,  at  least  towards  the  latter  end  of  the  month. 

MARCH. 

This  month,  when  weather  permits,  ought  to  be  a  busy  time  in  the 
garden,  as  many  principal  crops  must  now  be  sown  or  planted. 

Asparagus. — This  is  one  of  the  best  of  Vegetables,  and  indeed 
esteemed  by  many  asthe  very  best.  On  the  dry,  light,  gravelly  soil  of  the 
valley  of  the  Tweed,  it  grows  with  great  luxuriance,  and  almost  with- 
out trouble  after  the  beds  are  in  working  order.  A  small  space  of 
ground  will  afford  a  constant  succession  of  heads  and  as  much  as  a 
moderate  family  will  require,  from  early  in  April,  in  the  average  of 
seasons,  to  the  middle  of  June  or  later.  Light  soil  needs  no  previous 
preparation  for  Asparagus,  but  stiff  and  retentive  soil  should  be  made 
porous  by  having  fine  gravel  and  sand  dug  into  it.  There  has  been  a 
great  deal  of  the  "  much-a-do  about  nothing"  said  and  written  on  the 
growing  of  Asparagus,  and  this  may  be  one  reason  why  the  cultivation 
of  this  plant  is  almost  restricted  to  what  are  called  gentlemen'sgardens. 

Any  person  who  has  a  patch  of  ground,  of  five  or  six  yards  each  way, 
to  devote  to  this  vegetable,  may  enjoy  a  fair  supply  of  it.  The  beds 
may  be  laid  off  four  feet  wide,  with  one  foot  alleys  ;  each  bed  should 
contain  two  rows  of  plants,  the  rows  being  respectivly  one  foot  from 
the  edge,  and  two  feet  apart  in  the  bed.  Sowing  the  seed  is  the  most 
certain  way  to  obtain  a  proper  cover  of  plants.  Sow  in  rows,  already 
described :  when  the  young  plants  are  about  two  inches  high,  thin 
thern  out  to  one  foot  apart  in  the  rows,  water  now  and  then  with 
guano  water  not  too  strong,  or  with  water  in  which  a  little  salt  has 
been  dissolved,  every  week  or  fortnight.  Treated  in  this  way  the 
young  plants  will  make  great  progress  during  the  first  summer.  In 
February  following,  give  a  top-dressing  of  guano,  and  rake  it  in  :  and 
when  the  ground  is  dry  the  beds  may  be  watered  in  spring  and  sum- 
mer. In  the  spring  of  the  third  year,  or  two  years  from  the  time  of 
sowing,  the  beds  will  begin  to  yield  their  produce  :  they  should  be 
moderately  cut  at  first.  When  the  beds  come  to  be  cut  it  is  best 
to  apply  guano  or  liquid  manure  after  cutting  is  over,  and  not  before, 
as  otherwise  a  bad  flavour  might  be  communicated.  Covering  the 
beds  with  litter  in  the  winter,  and  forking  in  the  spring,  is  objection- 
able for  the  same  reason,  and  besides  may  rot  the  plants  or  destroy 
the  crowns.  Asparagus  beds  require  no  protection  at  all  from  frost 
in  this  district,  and  should  just  be  let  alone.  Salt  is  an  excellent  top- 
dressing  for  Asparagus  :  it  may  be  laid  on  in  spring  without  harm 


GARDENERS    CALENDAR   FOR   THE   DISTRICT  :  MARCH APRIL. 


10 


and  beneficially,  or  it  may  be  applied  after  cutting  and  when  the 
plants  are  making  their  summer  growth.  This  is  the  most  suitable 
period  for  the  application  of  any  manure. 

Beans. — Plant  further  crops  as  desired. 

Brocoli. — Sow  early  sorts  for  autumn  use ;  such  as  Purple  Sprout- 
ing, &c. 

Cabbage. — A  good  time  for  planting  main  crops  of  all  sorts  of 
Cabbage,  Early,  Red,  and  Late,  or  Drumhead,  from  the  autumn  sown 
beds.  Sow  about  third  week  seed  of  early  and  second  early  sorts  :  of 
the  latter  the  Pomeranian  is  a  handsome,  distinct,  and  excellent 
sort,  and  will  be  m  use  about  September  and  later.  Indeed,  it  is 
advisable  always  to  have  a  few  Cabbage  plants  ready,  as  there  may 
be  at  times  spots  of  ground  capable  of  receiving  them,  which  other- 
wise might  lie  waste.  Cabbages  not  required  for  family  use  may  be 
given  to  a  pig  or  cow.  Cabbages  after  being  cut  are  often  allowed  to 
sprout,  with  a  view  of  forming  young  heads  :  this,  it  is  said,  saves  the 
trouble  of  making  fresh  plantations.  It  is  certain,  however,  that  such 
heads  cannot  be  so  tender  as  those  first  cut,  for  the  plant  will  most 
likely  have  taken  up,  for  the  first  growth,  the  best  and  the  greatest 
part  of  its  food :  it  is  preferable  to  dig,  dung,  and  plant  afresh,  and 
the  garden  looks  better. 

Carrots. — Sow  Early  Horn  as  soon  as  possible,  to  come  into  use 
after  the  first  crop  of  French  Horn  is  over.  Though  the  Ehrly  Horn  is 
commonly  used  in  summer,  yet  when  thinned,  as  previously  directed, 
it  grows  to  a  good  size,  and  may  be  stored  for  winter  use.  In  the 
end  of  the  month  the  intermediate  and  larger  sorts  may  be  sown  if 
the  ground  and  weather  be  suitable. 

Cauliflower. — In  the  end  of  the  month  plant  out  the  autumn 
sown,  and  sow  seed  in  choice  situations. 

Celery. — Sow  in  a  pot  or  box,  under  protection,  for  early  planting. 

Leeks.— -Sow  early  and  thinly,  in  a  warm  situation,  and  rich  soil. 

Lettuce.— Sow  seed,  and  plant  out  such  plants  as  may  have  been 
under  cover. 

Onions.— Sow  about  the  middle  of  the  month,  on  ground  prepared 
in  the  autumn.  Where  large  bulbs  are  desired,  sow  in  rows  one  foot 
apart,  and  thin  quickly,  to  four  or  six  inches.  If  smaller  bulbs  be 
preferred,  sow  broadcast,  and  cover  the  beds  with  a  little  soil  out  of 
the  alleys.  Previous  to  sowing,  the  beds  are  all  the  better  of  being 
well  beaten  and  firmed  with  the  back  of  the  spade,  or  even  trampled 
fairly  over  :  this  should  not  be  done  if  the  ground  be  wet ;  the  less 
working  of  ground,  of  any  sort,  and  in  any  way,  in  such  condition, 
the  better.  Or  sow  seed  in  a  box  or  pot :  gradually  expose  the  plants 
to  the  air,  and  in  the  first  week  in  April,  if  the  weather  and  ground 
will  allow,  plant  out  in  wide  rows,  as  already  directed.  The  young 
plants  though  not  larger  than  stout  darning  needles  will  be  found 
quite  hardy  and  prove  a  safe  crop,  and  ripen  earlier  and  better  than 
if  sown  in  open  ground  :  the  practice  of  sowing  in  boxes  will  be  found 
further  to  be  a  great  saving  of  seed.  Danger's  Early  bulbs  quickly, 
and  is  much  sooner  fit  for  use  than  the  common  sorts.  The  main 
crop,  whether  sown  or  planted,  may  consist  of  White  Globe,  Deptford, 
and  James'  Keeping.  For  pickling,  sow  broadcast  Small  Silver  Skin 
and  White  Small  Nocera. 

Parsley. — Sow  either  as  edging  in  the  quarters,  or  in  rows,  IS 
inches  apart,  and  thin  afterwards. 

Parsnips.— Sow  early  in  the  month,  in  drills  at  least  one  foot  wide, 
and  thin  to  six  or  eight  inches. 

pEAS>_Make  sowings  of  Second  Earlies :  Harrison's  Glory,  Harri- 


son's Perfection,  Napoleon  or  Climax,  are  good  peas,  with  plenty  of 
pods  though  not  well  filled  :  MacLean's  Advancer  is  earlier  than  the 
above  and  a  good  bearer;  Hair's  Mammoth,  Lord  Raglan,  Veitch's 
Perfection  are  large  melting  peas,  the  last  perhaps  the  largest  grown  : 
the  three  last  mentioned  are  much  of  the  same  kind,  and  all  the 
above  have  the  merit  of  being  only  from  two  to  three  feet  in  height. 
Where  there  is  but  little  room  for  peas,  and  where  stakes  are  scarce. 
Burbidge's  Eclipse  will  be  found  the  most  useful  pea  which  can  be 
grown :  it  is  in  height  from  one-and-a-half  to  two  feet ;  may  be  sown 
in  drills  two  feet  apart,  requires  a  few  short  stakes;  maybe  sown 
on  from  the  beginning  of  this  month  up  to  the  tenth  of  June,  and  will 
fruit  till  checked  by  frost ;  for  Scotch  broth  it  may  be  used  all  the 
winter,  and  if  sowings  are  made  for  this  object  the  peas  should  be- 
taken up  in  September  early,  dried  and  kept  in  the  haulms,  which 
may  be  tied  up  in  bundles  and  hung  over  a  rope  in  any  outhouse,  and 
brought  in  as  required. 

Potatoes. — Plant  early  sorts  in  the  end  of  the  month.  Cuttings  of 
large  potatoes  answer  better  for  sets  than  those  taken  from  smaller 
sizes.  For  it  may  be  held  to  be  a  rule,  that  well-developed  seed,  of 
whatever  sort,  is  always  to  be  preferred  either  for  sowing  or  planting. 
Kidneys  are  most  safe  when  planted  whole.  When  the  young  shoots 
first  appear  above  ground,  they  may  be  earthed  over,  and  this  may 
be  done  two  or  three  times,  to  secure  them  from  late  spring  frosts. 

Radish. — Sow  in  the  beginning  of  the  month. 

Shalots. — Plant  as  soon  as  the  ground  will  permit  working,  in 
rows  about  eight  inches  wide,  and  the  bulbs  six  inches  apart  in  the 
rows.  The  Shalot  is  a  small  mild  onion,  which  grows  like  the  potato 
onion,  and  may  be  used  in  June,  and  before  either  the  autumn  or 
spring  sown  ones. 

Spinach. — Sow  once  or  twice  in  succession. 

Turnips. — At  the  end  of  the  month  a  sowing  may  be  made  in  warm, 
sheltered  ground.  Crops  sown  at  tins  time  sometimes  succeed,  and 
are  always  worthy  of  atrial. 

A  garden  should  at  this  season  still  supply  some  Brussels  Sprouts, 
Fearnought  Cabbage,  Savoys,  Coleworts,  Kale  of  sorts,  Delawares. 
Asparagus  Kale,  Cottager's  Kale ;  and  Brocoli,  in  forward  seasons, 
will  be  more  plentiful.  Leeks  are  to  be  found  in  every  garden  in  this 
district,  and  are  usable  throughout  the  winter  and  spring :  they  an.* 
particularly  useful  now,  as  in  many  gardens  other  vegetables  will  be 
scarce. 

APRIL 

Beans. — Continue  to  plant  if  required. 

Brocoli  and  Brussels  Sprouts. — Sow  in  the  beginning  of  the 
month. 

Cabbage. — Sow  a  little  seed  :  plant  out  autumn  plants  if  not  done 
earlier. 

Carrots. — Sow  in  the  beginning  of  the  month  the  main  crop  of 
large  sorts,  such  as  Altringham,  Long  Red  Surrey,  Intermediate. 
James's  Scarlet :  the  last  is  very  fine  and  beautiful.  Sow  in  drills  15 
or  18  inches  wide,  and  thin  to  six  inches. 

Cauliflower. — Sow  seed  and  plant  out  protected  plants  if  not  done 
last  month. 

Celery  — Sow  under  a  hand-glass,  or  in  a  hot-bed  or  pot,  for  the 
main  crop. 

Kale. — Common  Curled  and  German,  Cottager's  Kale,  Chou  de 
Milan,  to  be  used  like  the  last. 


11 


GARDENERS    CALENDAR   FOR   THE   DISTRICT  :    APRIL JUNE. 


12 


Cress  and  Mustard. — Sow  for  Salad. 

Kidney  Beans. — Plant  towards  the  end  of  the  month  :  the  Newing- 
bon  Wonder  is  an  excellent  cropper. 

Lettuce. — Sow  for  a  succession. 

Peas. — Plant  for  a  succession. 

Potatoes. — Plant  Second  Earlies  and  common  varieties  in  the 
beginning  of  this  month  :  it  is  advisable  to  plant  the  sets  before  the 
eyes  have  sprung  much,  as  the  first  shoots  are  the  best.  Cuttings 
from  large  potatoes  are  always  to  be  preferred  when  cuttings  are 
made.  Kidneys,  of  almost  all  sorts,  do  not  bear  cutting  well,  and 
medium-sized  tubers  may  be  planted  whole.  Perhaps  it  may  be 
worth  while  to  try  large  whole  Kidneys  as  sets,  planted  well  off  each 
other,  say  fifteen  or  eighteen  inches  in  the  drill.  Potatoes,  accord- 
ing to  their  kinds,  have  their  proper  season  of  use.  After  the  First 
Earlies  there  come  in  a  succession,  the  Lapstone  Kidney  about  the 
middle  of  August ;  this  is  a  particularly  fine  sort,  but  very  tender 
and  liable  to  disease :  and  about  the  same  time,  Rilott's  Flour  Ball, 
a  small  cropper,  but  of  first-rate  quality,  and  a  very  desirable  variety. 
American  Earlies  may  succeed  the  Flour  Ball,  and  be  used  till  the 
end  of  the  year :  Harold's  American  is  of  the  very  highest  quality  : 
York  Regents  follow  on  through  the  winter  and  spring,  and  Reds 
may  be  used  till  young  potatoes  make  their  appearance.  The  Fluke, 
where  it  can  be  grown,  is  a  most  useful  potatoe,  as  it  can  be  used 
for  a  long  time,  and  is  a  late  keeper. 

Couve  Tronchpda. — Sow  seed  for  planting  out  when  ready:  it  may 
be  used  just  like  Cabbage,  and  is  excellent  in  November.  If  seed  of 
the  curled  variety  can  be  sown  at  the  same  time,  it  will  be  in  use  till 
February. 

Grafting. — This  is  a  good  time  for  the  grafting  of  fruit  trees :  it  is 
easily  done,  and  it  is  quite  as  well  to  have  good  sorts  of  fruit  as  bad. 

Hardy  Annuals. — Sow  in  the  beginning  of  the  month. 

Radishes. — Sow  for  succession. 

Savoys  and  Scotch  Greens. — Sow  for  planting  for  succession. 

Scarlet  Runners. — Plant  seed. 

Sea- Kale. — Sow  seed  and  plant  out  year-old  plants. 

Spinach. — Sow  if  desired. 

Turnips. — Sow  about  third  week,  sorts. 

Vegetable  Marrow. — Sow  in  a  pot  for  turning  out  in  the  end  of 
May.  The  New  Custard  Marrow  is  the  best,  but  appears  to  require 
more  heat  than  the  common  sorts. 

Gardens  should  now  give  a  fair  supply  of  Brocoli,  some  Asparagus, 
Lettuce,  and  Early  Cabbage  towards  the  latter  part  of  the  month ; 
also,  Radishes,  Rhubarb,  and  Sea-Kale  from  the  open  ground. 

MAT. 

Beans. — Plant  if  desired :  late  crops  come  handily  in  when  peas  are 
1  >ecoming  scarce. 

Beet.— Sow  seed  about  the  Sth  or  10th  of  the  month:  it  is  usual 
enough  to  do  this  in  April,  but  when  early  sown  the  plants  are  apt  to 
run  :  the  early  part  of  May  will  be  found  to  be  a  safe  season. 

Cabbage. — Sow  in  the  middle  of  the  month  for  autumn  cutting. 

Cauliflower. — Sow  in  the  middle  of  the  month  for  autumn  use, 
and  plant  out  the  spring  sown  when  ready. 

Celery. — Prick  out  plants  from  pots  or  boxes,  to  harden  and  pre- 
pare for  the  trench. 

Kale — Sow  Asparagus  Kale. 

Kidney  Beans. — Plant  for  a  main  crop  in  drills  two  feet  wide :  the 


seeds  may  be  put  in  every  two  inches  to  secure  a  full  plant,  and  thinned 
to  six  inches  apart.  It  will  be  found  that  plenty  of  room  affords  the 
largest  crops. 

Lettuce. — Sow  for  succession. 

Mangold  Wurzel.—  Though  this  be  properly  a  plantforfield  culture, 
yet  where  there  is  room  in  a  garden,  and  a  cow  is  kept,  it  may  be  sown, 
as  it  is  invaluable  for  cow-feeding.  Sow  the  Long  Red  or  Globe  Oiange 
about  the  eighth  or  tenth  of  the  month :  the  latter  is  very  rich,  and  a 
good  cropper :  the  former  keeps  a  long  time.  Should  any  plants  run, 
cut  out  the  shoot  and  they  will  still  form  bulbs.  Mangold  should  be 
taken  up  and  stored  out  of  the  reach  of  frost  before  the  middle  of 
October.  The  leaves  should  be  cut  at  about  an  inch  from  the  crown 
of  the  bulb,  and  the  roots  be  left  on  uncut  and  unbroken:  it  will 
keep  in  store  for  a  long  time :  the  leaves  are  excellent  for  milch 
cows,  and  should  be  given  fresh.  It  is  advisable  to  lift  the  plants 
just  as  the  leaves  can  be  consumed.  The  bulbs  should  be  stored  in 
pits  like  turnips,  only  they  should  be  completely  protected  from  frost. 

Peas. — Sow  for  succession ;  also,  about  the  middle  of  the  month 
sow  Knight's  Dwarf  Green  Marrow  :  it  is  the  latest  pea  grown,  and 
will  be  useful  when  other  sorts  are  done. 

Radishes. — Sow  if  desired. 

Scarlet  Runners.  —Sow  as  before. 

Turnips. — Sow  in  the  middle  of  the  month. 

Salsafy  and  Scorzonera. — Sow  in  rows  fifteen  inches  wide,  and 
thin  to  six  inches :  the  long  tap  root  of  Scorzonera  is  scraped,  washed, 
and  boiled,  and  served  with  butter  or  white  sauce :  it  comes  in  in 
September,  and  is  usable  two  or  three  months.  Salsafy  is  sometimes 
called  Vegetable  Oyster :  it  is  used  with  boiled  fowl  or  turkey,  and 
may  be  taken  up  and  stored  Uke  beet,  and  kept  during  the  winter. 

Gardens  should  now  supply  Asparagus,  Brocoli,  Early  Cabbage, 
Lettuce,  Radishes  and  Salad  Herbs,and  Sea-Kale :  Leeks  will  still  be 
usable. 

JUNE. 

Brocoli. — Plant  out  when  ready. 

Brussels  Sprouts. — Plant  out  in  the  latter  part  of  the  month. 

Cabbage. — Sow  a  pinch  of  seed. 

Celery. — Plant  in  the  first  week  the  young  plants  previously  prick- 
ed out  and  prepared :  plant  also  at  intervals  during  the  month,  and 
give  plenty  of  water. 

French  Horn  Carrots  may  be  sown  in  the  beginning  and  middle 
of  the  month,  and  also  throughout  next  month ;  in  this  way  what 
are  called  young  carrots  may  be  had  all  the  summer,  and  the  latest 
sown  may  be  left  for  use  in  spring. 

Kale. — Plant  Asparagus  Kale,  Cottager's,  Curled,  Cliou  de  Milan, 
and  Couve  Tronchuda,  if  not  done  before. 

Kidney  Beans. — Plant  for  the  latest  crop  in  the  beginning  of  the 
month. 

Leeks. — Leeks  should  be  got  in  without  delay,  and  whenever  they 
are  fit  to  remove  from  the  seed-bed,  plant  a  good  breadth,  as  they  are 
very  useful :  the  rows  should  be  eighteen  inches  wide,  and  plants 
nine  inches  apart. 

Peas. — Sow  a  good  breadth,  about  the  10th,  of  Burbidge's  Eclipse, 
or  some  middle  sort :  crops  seldom  do  much  good  when  planted  later, 
but  may  be  tried  on  to  the  end  of  the  month. 

Savoys  and  Scotch  Greens. — Plant  a  few  about  the  end  of  the  month. 

Strawberries. — Where  young  plants  are  required  for  fresh  plan- 


13 


GARDENERS    CALENDAR   FOR   THE   DISTRICT  :    JUNE — OCTOBER. 


14 


tations,  the  runners  should  be  encouraged  to  root :  this  may  be  done 
by  laying  a  stone  on  them  before  a  joint,  and  pinching  ofl'  all  after 
growths. 

Turnips. — Sow  for  succession  at  intervals  during  the  month,  and 
always  thin  well  and  soon. 

Gardens  should  supply  in  this  month  late  Brocoli  in  the  early  part 
of  it,  and  Asparagus,  Cabbage,  Lettuce,  Radishes,  and  Salad  Herbs 
throughout ;  also  the  French  Horn  Carrot,  and  in  a  fair  season  Peas 
and  Early  Cauliflower  about  the  20th. 

JULY. 

Asparagus  Kale  and  Delaware  Greens,  &c. — Plant  out  if  not  pre- 
viously done,  or  if  done  make  new  plantations.  4 

Brocoli. — Plant  the  main  crop  early  in  the  month. 

Brussels  Sprouts. — Plant  the  main  crop  early. 

Cabbage. — The  first  sowings  of  early  cabbage  for  the  nest  spring 
may  be  sown  about  the  20th  of  the  month.  There  are  many  names 
of  sorts  of  early  cabbage  ;  but  according  to  a  comparative  experiment 
made  at  the  Royal  Horticultural  Society's  Garden  at  Chiswick,  in  the 
year  1S62,  it  is  shown  that  there  are  very  few  distinct  varieties.  In 
the  report  of  the  experiment,  Dr.  Hogg  says,  "Of  the  61  varieties  of 
cabbages  examined,  the  following  were  the  only  distinct  sorts  : — Ful- 
ham,  or  Early  Battersea,  Aitken's  Matchless,  Sugar  Loaf,  Early  Plaw, 
and  Early  York."  The  following  are  given  in  the  report  as  being  the 
same  as  the  Fulham,  viz.  :  Blenheim,  Carter's  Matchless,  Cox's  Early 
London,  CattelTs  Reliance,  Early  Champion,  Early  Emperor,  Early 
Monarch,  Early  Paradise,  Early  Paragon,  Early  Lancashire,  East 
Ham,  Heale's  imperial,  Jacob's  Early,  King  of  the  Cabbages,  May's 
Paragon,  Mitchell's  Prince  Albert,  Myatt's  Eclipse,  Paragon,  Pear- 
son's Early  Conqueror,  Prince  of  Wales,  Sealey's  Victoria,  Shilling's 
Queen,  Superfine  Early  Dwarf,  Sutton's  Imperial,  "Wheeler's  Imperial, 
Wellington,  West  Ham  ;  all  the  above  are  held  to  be  "more  or  less 
pure  stocks"  of  the  Fulham.  The  Enfield  Market  is  very  like  the 
Fulham  but  has  more  leaves  and  is  a  little  later.  The  Nonpareil  is 
believed  to  have  been  obtained  from  the  Fulham,  but  comes  in  more 
early  and  is  smaller.  Aitken's  Matchless  is  held  to  be  a  small  form 
of  the  Fulham.  Wheeler's  Imperial,  Improved  Nonpareil,  Enfield 
Market,  and  Aitken's  Matchless  will  give  an  abundant  variety  of  the 
large  early  cabbages  ;  and  the  smaller  sorts,  Macewen's,  Vanack,  and 
Little  Pixie  will  be  enough  for  first  cutting  ;  and  for  Winter  cabbage 
sow  Drumhead  and  Glen  Dwarf  Dnrmhead. 

Plant  out  in  this  month  on  the  potatoe  ground  the  June  sowing 
for  autumn  use. 

Celery. — Plant  for  late  spring  use. 

Cauliflower. — Plant  beginning  of  the  month. 

Coleworts. — Sow  seed  in  the  beginning  of  the  month. 

Radishes. — Sow  Turnip  Radish ;  the  new  Chinese,  a  scarlet  sort,  is 
very  good :  it  will  be  in  use  from  the  autumn,  through  the  winter, 
till  February. 

Savoys  and  Scotch:  Kale. — Plant  in  the  beginning  of  the  month. 

Spinach. — Sow  winter  Spinach. 

Turnips. — Make  a  last  sowing  second  week. 

As  vegetables  will  now  be  abundant,  th  e  Asparagus  shouldbe  allowed 
to  grow  :  it  might  still  be  cut,  and  often  is  cut,  a  pai-t  of  this  month, 
but  when  Peas  come  in  the  Asparagus  shoidd  be  let  alone. 

Budding  of  Fruit  Trees  and  Roses  may  be  begun  about  the  middle  of 
the  month  if  the  bark  rise  freely,  and  may  be  continued  for  some  time. 


AUGUST. 

Cabbage.  — Sow  seed  first  week  for  a  second  plantation  in  the  autum  n , 

Cauliflower. — Sow  about  the  20th,  to  be  protected  during  win- 
ter for  planting  in  April. 

Coleworts". — Plant  out  if  ready  on  any  vacant  ground — plant  about 
nine  inches  apart  each  way :  they  will  be  serviceable  in  winter  as 
greens. 

Lettuce.  —Sow  Brown  Dutch  Cabbage  and  Hammersmith  Hardy 
Green  for  standing  over  the  winter. 

Onions. — Sow  first  week  to  transplant  in  spring  or  autumn. 

Radishes.— Sow  some  Turnip  Radishes  fii'stweek. 

Spinach.  —Sow  main  crop  of  winter  Spinach  first  week. 

Strawberries. — If  the  runners  have  been  properly  attended  to, 
and  the  young  plants  are  strong  and  well  rooted,  they  may  be  planted 
beginning  of  this  month ;  unless,  however,  they  be  in  a  condition  to 
get  properly  established  they  will  be  better  planted  in  the  spring. 

SEPTEMBER. 

Cabbage. — Plant  out  for  spring  use ;  also  plantations  may  be  made 
in  rows  one  foot  apart,  and  plants  about  eight  inches  in  the  row  to  be 
cut  during  the  winter  for  use,  as  Coleworts  or  Greens. 

Carrots.  —Store  as  they  ripen  :  when  left  too  long  in  the  ground 
they  form  fresh  roots,  and  when  the  ground  becomes  wet  are  liable  to 
be  worm-eaten. 

Celery. — Earth  up  very  gradually, 

Onions. — Gather  and  dry  as  they  ripen  ;  where  the  tops  would  re- 
main standing  they  should  be  bent  down  at  the  neck. 

Potatoes. — Potatoes  should  be  early  lifted,  especially  when  the 
haulm  begins  to  decay,  as  the  disease  appears  first  in  the  haulm,  and 
quickly  finds  its  way  to  the  tuber ;  when  early  taken  up  they  should 
be  speedily  covered,  as  the  light  is  apt  to  spoil  their  colour. 

Fecit. — Gather  and  stoi-e  as  varieties  ripen.  Apples  may  be  packed 
in  layers,  in  jars  and  boxes,  in  pure  dry  sand,  sufficient  to  keep  the 
layers  separate ;  or  they  may  be  packed  in  boxes,  in  layers,  amongst 
clean  fresh  moss,  its  external  moisture  being  dried,  and  will  keep  re- 
markably fresh,  as  the  natural  moisture  of  the  apple  is  by  this  means 
retained.  Before  being  used  they  should  be  washed  and  dried  and 
exposed  to  the  air  for  a  little.  Keep  in  a  dark  and  cool  place  out  of 
the  reach  of  frost,  Pears  do  not  appear  to  agree  with  cold  treat- 
ment, as  they  are  apt,  in  consequence,  to  lose  in  quality  :  they  may 
be  kept  in  a  moderate  temperature,  covered  say  with  cotton  cloth, 
or  wadding,  which  is  better,  and  light  and  air  carefully  excluded. 
When  sufficiently  ripe  they  should  be  brought  into  a  warm  place  for 
a  day  or  two  before  using,  which  will  much  improve  them :  when 
fruit  is  cold  the  flavour  cannot  be  properly  discerned  by  the  palate. 

OCTOBER. 

Beet. — Beet  may  now  be  storod  :  m  open  seasons  this  will  do  next 
month 

Cabbage. — Plant  still  for  spring  use  ;  also  prick  out  plants  in  vacant 
ground  three  or  four  inches  apart,  to  stand  over  the  winter  for  spring 
planting. 

Carrots. — Store  the  large  sorts :  they  should  not  be  left  in  the 
ground  to  make  a  second  root  growth. 

Celery. — Attend  to  the  earthing  up. 


15 


GARDENERS    CALENDAR   FOR   THE   DISTRICT  :    OCTOBER — NOVEMBER. 


16 


Frtjit. — Continue  to  store  as  directed  last  month  :  fruit  is  not  im- 
proved by  being  allowed  to  bang  in  frost. 

Parsnips. — Store. 

Vacant  ground  may  now  be  dug  rough,  or  thrown  up  in  ridges. 
Where  the  soil  is  stiff  dung  may  be  dug  in  with  the  winter  furrow, 
but  in  all  light  or  gravelly  soils  dung  laid  on  in  autumn  is  almost  lost, 
as  its  particles  are  carried  down  by  the  rains  to  a  depth  where  plants 
cannot  find  them. 

Edgings  of  Box,  &c.,  maynow  belaid.  About  the  end  of  the  month 
Gooseberry  bushes  may  be  pruned,  and  cuttings  prepared  for  young 
plants.  Where  the  wood  is  ripe,  Apple  and  Pear  trees  may  be  pruned  : 
this  may  always  be  done  when  the  leaf  is  fading  and  drops,  or  is  ready 
to  fall.     Prime  Currants  of  all  sorts. 

Gardens  should  at  this  season  afford  some  Cauliflower,  Cabbage, 
Sprouting,  Brocoli,  Salsafy  and  Scorzonera,  Lettuce,  Radishes,  and 
Salad  Herbs ;  also  Kidney  Bean  s  and  Scarlet  Runners  if  frost  be  absent. 

NOVEMBER. 

Beans  and  Peas. — A  planting  of  Early  Mazagan  Bean,  and  of  some 
sort  of  Early  Pea,  or  Second  Early,  such  as  Dickson's  Early  Favourite, 
may  be  made  :  when  planted  at  this  season  they  are  only  a  chance 
crop,  but  they  may  be  risked. 

Beet. — Take  up  and  store  :  cut  off  the  leaves  about  an  inch  from 
the  crown,  and  don't  damage  or  break  the  skin,  nor  cut  the  roots : 
they  may  be  stored  away  in  dry  sand. 

Salsafy  and  Scorzonera. — Take  up  and  store  like  Beet :  they  may 
be  kept  and  used  all  the  winter. 

Edgings  may  still  be  made  of  Box,  &c. 

Remove  fallen  leaves,  dead  leaves  of  winter  stock,  and  whatever 
might  render  the  garden  unsightly. 

Pruning  and  Planting  should  be  finished,  if  possible,  this  month. 

In  the  pruning  of  gooseberry  bushes  it  is  essential  that  the  bearing 
stems  should  not  cross  nor  interfere  with  one  another,  and  that  they 
should  be  at  such  distances  respectively  as  will  allow  air  and  light  to 
reach  them  properly,  as  well  as  afford  room  for  the  hand  to  pass  freely 
all  round  to  gather  the  fruit :  the  forms  of  bushes  are  of  less  impor- 
tance. Some  varieties  make  fruit  spurs  quite  readily  on  their  leading 
branches,  and  such  may  have  the  young  wood  closely  cut :  others  are 
less  manageable  in  this  respect,  having  the  habit  of  making  then-  blos- 
som buds  principally  on  the  young  wood :  these  should  have  the 
young  side  shoots  shortened  back  to  one  or  two  eyes  from  the 
main  stem.  From  inattention  to  the  different  habits  of  different 
varieties,  it  often  happens  that  the  bearing  wood  is  almost  all  cut  off, 
and  that  is  one  reason  why  gooseberry  bushes  are  frequently  seen 
with  great  lengths  of  their  branches  bare  and  unproductive.  The 
points  of  the  main  stems  should  also  be  shortened  back  to  three  or  four 
eyes.  If  the  points  of  the  shoots  have  been  taken  off  in  summer 
there  will  be  a  greater  likebhood  of  the  formation  of  fruit  buds  on  the 
leading  steins,  and  also  at  the  base  of  the  shoots,  which  will  allow 
closer  pruning,  and  make  the  bush  more  sightly. 

Young  bushes  grow  the  largest  fruit,  and  older  ones  fruit  of  the 
best  quality.  Where  large  fruit  is  desired  it  should  be  early  thinned, 
single  fruit  for  show  should  be  grown  about  four  inches  apart,  and 
from  bushes  not  more  than  six  years  old. 

Cuttings  for  planting  should  have  all  the  buds  rubbed  or  cut  care- 
fully off,  except  two  or  three  at  the  top. 


Red  and  White  Currants  should  be  close  pruned,  care  being  taken 
to  leave  a  sufficiency  of  fruit  buds. 

Black  Currants  should  have  the  young  wood  thinned  out,  and  what 
young  shoots  are  required  to  remain  may  be  left  uncut. 

Standard  pear  and  apple  trees  should,  as  far  as  possible,  be  pruned 
as  carefully  as  espaliers  or  wall  trees ;  the  saw  is  often  required  to 
thin  and  clear  out  cross  branches. 

Large  standards  are  totally  unfitted  to  small  gardens,  and  it  is  very 
questionable  whether  they  ever  should  be  grown  in  large  ones.  Gar- 
dens are  sometimes  so  cumbered  with  them  that  nothing  can  be  grown 
well.  Dwarf  apple  trees  are  most  convenient,  when  properly  pruned, 
can  scarcely  be  shaken,  and  usually  afford  better  and  riper  fruit  than 
large  standards.  They  should  be  made  to  spring  as  nearly  as  possible 
from  the  ground  ;  if  they  can  be  obtained  with  stems  not  more  than 
six  inches  high,  or  under,  so  much  the  better.  Dwarf  apple  trees  are 
often  planted  in  the  form  of  half  standards,  as  they  are  called  ;  that 
is,  the  heads  spring  from  stems  two  or  four  feet  in  height.  This  is  no 
advantage  at  all,  but  the  contrary  ;  for  the  nearer  the  ground  they  can 
be  got  to  bear,  there  will  just  be  the  greater  certainty  of  fruit,  and 
that,  too,  of  superior  quality. 

Dwarf  standards  may  be  trained  either  as  bushes  or  pyramids  :  in 
the  latter  case  one  main  central  stem  is  preserved,  from  which  side 
branches  are  allowed  or  encouraged  to  proceed  at  regular  intervals, 
and  clear  spaces.  When  trained  as  bushes,  several  stems  are  allowed 
to  spring  from  near  the  ground.  In  either  case  the  leading  stems 
and  branches  should  have  all  the  young  side  shoots  closely  cut  off  them 
at  pruning  time,  and  the  leaders  cut  back  to  from  two  to  six  eyes,  ac- 
cording to  the  age,  growth,  vigour,  and  habits  of  the  tree  or  variety: 
if  the  leaders  be  cut  too  long  some  of  the  eyes  remain  dormant ;  if  too 
close  cut  the  eyes  become  young  shoots :  if  cut  at  a  suitable  length 
the  eyes  will  become  fruit  spurs,  and  that  is  what  is  wanted,  and  what 
the  cultivator  must  aim  to  effect.  The  undermost  branches  should 
come  furthest  out,  and  the  trees  and  bushes  (for  many  dwarf  trees 
are  mere  bushes)  should  be  more  or  less  of  a  conical  form  ;  this  allows 
all  the  parts  of  the  tree  to  get  out  to  the  light  and  air ;  they  are  often 
allowed  to  grow  in  an  entirely  opposite  form,  in  which  case  the  lower 
branches  are  overshadowed  and  rendered  useless :  if  treated  as  di- 
rected, however,  they  will  bear  throughout,  from  the  main  stem,  if 
they  have  but  one,  to  the  extremities,  and  from  their  tops  down  to 
the  very  ground,  where  perfect  fruit  may  be  expected.  Every  branch 
should  be  quite  clear  of  its  neighbour,  and  light  and  air  be  allowed  to 
pass  freely  all  through  a  fruit  tree,  and  all  around  its  branches.  With 
such  a  mode  of  cultivation  the  fruit  is  properly  exposed,  and  ripens 
and  colours,  and  the  fruit  buds  become  healthily  developed  for  another 
season,  and  are  in  better  condition  for  resisting  winter's  frost,  and 
doing  their  work  properly  in  spring. 

Dwarftreesoughtto  be  properly  manured  in  the  autumn  :  or  ifthey 
set  their  fruit  well  and  promise  a  large  crop,  the  surface  of  the  soil  over 
their  roots  may  be  scraped  off,  to  the  depth  of  two  inches,  and  some 
good  cow  dung  or  rich  manure  laid  on,  and  the  soil  replaced  on  the 
dung  :  this  will  assist  the  tree  to  carry  a  large  crop  fully  out.  Nothing 
should  ever  be  allowed  to  grow  over  the  roots  of  dwarf  trees,  nor  any 
tall  crops  be  planted  near  or  amongst  them. 

Trees  on  walls  are  often  seriously  hurt  by  the  heavy  cropping  of 
the  borders  r  the  trees  being  thereby  cheated  out  of  food  and  moisture, 
and  the  ground  is  kept  colder  than  it  would  be  if  the  direct  rays  of  the 
sun  were  allowed  to  penetrate  it.     It  ought  to  be  studied  only  to  grow 


17 


GARDENERS'  CALENDAR  FOR  THE  DISTRICT  :  DECEMBER. 


18 


on  fruit  borders  such  vegetables  as  are  required  early,  and  which 
niay  be  soon  cleared  away,  which  will  allow  a  portion  of  the  summer's 
heat  to  warm  the  ground,  and  by  benefiting  the  roots  of  the  trees 
assist  the  proper  ripening  both  of  the  fruit  and  wood. 

Dwarf  trees  may  be  forced  into  bearing  either  by  root-pruning,  or, 
what  is  better,  by  taking  them  out  of  the  ground,  cutting  a  little  off 
the  ends  of  the  roots,  and  replanting ;  this  must  be  very  carefully 
done,  especially  on  light  dry  gravelly  soil.  Large  trees  are  often 
benefited  by  having  their  roots  cut  at  a  proportionable  distance  from 
their  boles  :  a  trench  should  be  dug  all  round,  and  the  roots  cut,  and 
when  the  trench  is  refilled  it  should  be  manured  :  this  will  encourage 
the  tree  to  make  fresh  roots,  and  add  to  its  vitality  and  productiveness. 

When  young  trees  are  planted  the  ground  ought  to  be  dry,  not 
wet,  and  the  roots  should  be  spread  well  out  on  all  sides  :  where  roots 
are  growing  on  one  side  the  tree  is  apt  to  become  one-sided,  and  thus 
become  deformed.  Whether  a  tree  be  planted  for  the  first  time,  or 
re-planted  after  lifting,  it  ought  not  then  to  be  cut  or  pruned  :  allow 
it  to  get  itself  established  (which  it  probably  will  do  the  first  year, 
which  will  be  shewn  by  the  growth  it  makes),  and  then  cut  it  into 
the  shape  desired.  It  is  desirable  that  the  cuts  should  get  healed 
over,  which  can  only  be  done  where  there  is  a  healthy  root  action : 
for  a  cut  or  wound,  when  large,  especially  if  not  covered  by  new 
wood,  may,  through  exposure  to  rain  and  drought,  become  crooked 
and  carry  death  down  the  branch  ;  this  must  be  kept  in  mind  with 
dwarf  trees,  where  the  root  action  is  less  vigorous  than  in  trees  grown 
on  crab  or  free  stocks.  Therefore  where  a  dwarf  tree  has  become  too 
large,  and  it  is  determined  to  cut  it  back  say  into  wood  of  two  or 
three  years  old,  it  will  be  safest  to  cut  it  a  year  before  lifting  and  re- 
planting, or  root-pruning.  If  trees  be  properly  managed,  however, 
they  will  not  require  such  severe  discipline.  It  is  customary  to  ad- 
vertise young  trees  as  well  set  with  blossom  buds,  and  capable  of 
giving  fruit  the  first  year  after  planting.  This  is  no  advantage  at  all, 
though  it  pleases  inexperienced  persons.  It  would  be  much  better 
to  begin  with  a  young  tree  which  had  no  blossom  buds  ;  train  it  into 
proper  shape  from  the  beginning,  and  wait  two  or  three  years  for 
fruit,  which  by  that  time  is  sure  to  be  produced  by  a  dwarf  tree. 
Large  trees  are  sometimes  cut  over  to  be  grafted  with  better  sorts  : 
in  small  gardens  it  would  be  better  to  take  them  out  and  re-plant 
the  ground  with  young  dwarfs.  Where  a  good  number  of  trees  can 
be  grown,  it  is  an  advantage  to  plant  a  considerable  variety  ;  for  as 
trees  have  different  seasons  of  blooming,  there  is  a  better  chance  of 
at  least  some  of  those  grown  being  favoured  with  suitable  weather 
for  blooming  and  setting  fruit  even  in  unfavourable  springs. 

If  Seakale  or  Rhubarb  be  desired  very  early,  they  should  be  covered 
in  the  beginning  of  the  month,  or  even  sooner,  with  leaves  or  stable 
litter,  or  a  mixture  of  both  :  if  pots  or  boxes  cannot  be  got  to  cover 
the  plants,  take  willow  or  hazel  sticks,  or  even  short  pea  stakes :  stake 
them  all  round  the  plant,  bringing  them  to  a  point  at  the  top  :  cover 
all  over  with  protecting  material,  and  in  ordinary  seasons  Seakale  and 
Rhubarb  may  be  had  at  Christmas. 

A  garden  should  at  tins  season  supply  Brussels  Sprouts,  Couve 
Tronchuda,  Scotch  Greens  after  frost,  Drumhead  Cabbage,  Lettuce, 
and  Savoys. 

DECEMBER. 

Work  suitable  for  last  month,  and  not  overtaken,  should  be  done : 
dead  plants  removed  and  all  rubbish :  digging,  ridging,  and  trenching 


effected  in  favourable  weather,  and  the  garden  kept  trim  :  it  should 
afford  such  vegetables  as  are  mentioned  for  last  month,  which  will 
constitute  an  agreeable  and  healthful  variety  at  such  a  season,  with 
the  addition  of  Rhubarb  at  Christmas,  if  the  forcing  of  it  has  been 
attended  to. 

If  the  work  of  the  garden  be  now  properly  done,  it  will  not  look  the 
dead,  cheerless,  desolate  waste  which  so  many  gardens  are  at  this 
season  ;  but  ready,  waiting,  and  hopeful  for  the  joyous  spring,  when 
the  earth,  rested  and  refreshed,  shall  put  forth  new  life,  the  flowers 
once  more  appear,  the  blossoms  burst  on  the  tree,  and  nature  shall 
have  risen  again  out  of  the  death  of  winter. 


LIST  OF  DWARF  STANDARD  DESSERT  APPLE  TREES,  ON 

PARADISE  STOCKS, 

Suited  to  small  Gardens,  arranged  in  the  order  of  their  use 

and  time :  to  be  grown  as  Bushes. 

1    Joanetting,  called  also  Jennetting;  or  White  Juneating,  Ac- 
early  in  August ;  hi  favourable  summers  in  end  of  July. 

2.  Margaret,  or  Early  Red  Margaret,  or  Early  Red  Juneating,  &c— 

Middle  of  August. 

3.  Irish  Peach  ;  very  excellent — August  and  beginning  of  Sept. 

4.  Thorle  Pippin,  beautiful  and  excellent — September. 

5.  Oslin  or  Arbroath  Pippin,  frequently  in  this  district  called  the 

Aromatic  ;  highly  flavoured — September. 

6.  Devonshire  Quarrenden — September  to  October. 

7.  Yellow  Ingestrie,  a  beautiful  little  apple  raised  from  th  Golden 

Pippin — September  and  beginning  of  October. 
S.  Kerry  Pippin,  one  of  the  best  and  most  beautiful — September  and 

October. 
9.  White  Paradise,  or  Paradise  Pippin ;  Lady's  Finger,  &c. — Oct. 

10.  Lady  of  the  Wemyss — October  to  Christmas. 

11.  Cambusnethan  Pippin,  or  Watch  Apple,  or  Winter  Redstreak— 

November. 

12.  Golden  Winter  Pearmain,  commonly  called  in  this  district  King 

of  the  Pippins — November  to  January. 

13.  Blenheim  Pippin,  or  Blenheim  Orange,  &c. — December  to  Feb. 

14.  Court  of  Wick — December  to  February. 

15.  Ribston  Pippin— December  to  March — tree  subject  to  canker. 
10.  Golden  Russet — December  to  March. 

17.  Margill,  a  small  rich  dessert  apple,  with  Ribston  flavour — Decem- 
ber to  March. 
IS.  Dutch  Mignonne — January  to  April. 

19.  Sam  Young,  a  small  russety  apple,  very  excellent — Christmas  to 

April. 

20.  Cockle  Pippin— January  to  April. 

Selections  of  six  from  the  above,  Nos  3,  4,  S,  12, 13,  20.  Selections 
of  twelve  ;  to  the  above  add  Nos.  1,  5,  14,  16,  IS,  19.  All  the  above 
list  are  suited  to  this  district,  and  most  of  them  will  succeed  up  to  an 
elevation  of  400  or  500  feet  above  the  sea  level. 

Kitchen  Apples. 

1.  White  or  Dutch  Codliu— may  be  used  when  half-grown  in  July. 

In  use  on  to  Oct. 

2.  Mank's  Codlin— October  to  December. 


19 


GARDENERS    CALENDAR.' — CALENDAR  OF    THE    WOODS   AND   FIELDS  :    JANUARY. 


20 


Hawthornden — October  to  December. 
Emperor  Alexander — October  to  December. 
Stirling  Castle — November  and  December. 
Mere  de  Menage — November  and  December. 
Nonesuch — November  and  December. 
Cellini — November  to  February. 
Aitken's  Seedling — November  to  February. 
Cockpit — December  to  February  or  March. 
Golden  Noble — November  to  March. 
Bedfordshire  Foundling — December  to  April. 
Baxter's  Fearmain — December  to  April. 
Fearn's  Pippin — December  to  April. 
Winter  Ruby — December  to  April. 
Reinnette  du  Canada — January  to  April. 

Selection  of  six  from  the  above,  Nos.  1,  S,  10,  11,  15,  16 


SHORT  LIST  OF  PEARS  ON  THE  QUINCE. 

Stock  to  be  grown  as  Bushes  or  Pyramids. 

Doyenne  d'ete — end  of  July. 

Citron  des  Carmes — beginning  of  Aug. — sometimes  end  of  July. 

Jargonelle — August  and  September. 

William's  Bon  Chretien— September  ;  to  be  pulled  before  ripe. 

Beurre  d'Amanlis — October. 

Louise  Boune  of  Jersey — October. 

Comte  de  Lamy — October. 

Gratioli  of  Jersey — October  and  November. 

Broom  Park — January. 

Beurre  Ranee — December  to  February. 

Orpheline,  or  Soldat  Laboureur — January  and  February. 


For  a  Wall  any  way  between  West  and  South  East 

1.  Urbaniste — October — very  excellent. 

2.  Comte  de  Lamy — October  to  the  end — a  first-rate  Pear. 

3.  Marie  Louise — October  and  November — one  of  the  best. 

4.  Beurre  d'Aremberg — November  and  December. 

5.  Passe  Colmar  Dore— December. 

6.  Beurre  Ranee — December  to  February. 

7.  Glou  Morceau — January  and  February. 
S.  Easter  Beurre — March. 

Pears  grown  upon  the  Quince  Stock  come  much  earlier  into  bearing 
than  when  grafted  on  the  Pear  Stock,  and  bear  fruit  of  excellent 
quality. 

Strawberries.— May  Queen  (earliest).  Black  Prince,  Keen's  Seed- 
ling, Carolina  Superba,  British  Queen,  Elton,  Frogmore  Late  Pine. 

Raspberries. — Fastolf,  Northumberland  Fillbasket,  Yellow  Ant- 
werp. 

Currants  —White,  White  Dutch  ;  Red,  Raby  Castle,  Long  Bunched 
Red  ;  Black,  Naples  Black. 

Gooseberries. — White  Champagne,  Red  Champagne  (always  called 
Ironmonger  in  Scotland),  Turkey  Red  (a  smooth  red  very  fine),  Sul- 
phur, Glenton  Green,  Ironmonger,  Tree  Upright,  Hedgehog, Bampton's 


Golden  Turse,  Warrington,  Whitesmith,  Jolly  Printer :  the  above  are 
common  and  well  flavoured  sorts.  For  show  gooseberries  of  the 
Lancashire  and  Cheshire  sorts,  the  heaviest  weights  as  shown  in 
I860  were — 

Red. 
London  I      Clayton.  Lion's  Provider 

Dan's  Mistake  |      Napoleon  le  Grand    |      Magnet 

Yelloio 
Catherina  Drill  Lord  Rancliffe 

Leveller  Peru  Leader 


Turnout 
Queen  Victoria 


Green 

Rough  Green 
Thumper 

|      Stockwell 
Telegraph 

White 

Antagonist 
Queen  of  Trumps 

Snowdrop 
Freedom 

Careless 

Hero  of  the  Nile 


Heaviest  Red  Berry.  London,  33  dwts. 
,,  Yellow,  Drill,  27  dwts.  22  grs. 

,,         Green,  Thumper,  27  dwts.  S  grs 
,,         White,  Antagonist,  30  dwts.  8  grs. 


CALENDAK  OF  THE  WOODS  AND  FIELDS. 


JANUARY. 

January  sometimes  presents  a  mild,  spring-like  season,  some- 
times it  is  rough  and  blustering,  and  it  sometimes  also  gives  us 
a  glimpse  of  what  "we  understand  the  Arctic  regions  present. 
When  it  presents  the  first  or  the  last  of  these  phases,  any  one  in 
health  may  enjoy  an  outdoor  ramble :  but  when  rough  "bluster- 
ing sleet  and  rain  dash  over  the  streets  and  fields,  every  one  tries 
as  much  as  possible  to  make  it  an  in-door  January.  When  mild 
and  open,  old  meadow  lands  and  the  grass-fringes  along  our 
river  margins,  spotted  here  and  there  with  the  daisy  that  "  never 
dies,"  look  fresh  and  pretty  under  the  noon-day  sun ;  and  life  be- 
gins to  move  early  weeds  and  flowers  under  sheltered  hedge- 
rows; for  whenever  the  winter  is  mild  in  January,  the  first 
leaves  of  the  creeping  cinquefoil  (a  common  hedge  creeper  through- 
out most  of  the  country)  may  always  be  seen.  The  red  dead- 
nettle  too  shews  its  pretty  little  flowers ;  and  the  lover  of  black 
currants  may  in  such  a  season,  by  pressing  the  leaves  of  the 
ground-ivy,  have  the  scent  at  least  of  this  fruit ;  for  the  scent  of 
the  leaves  of  ground-ivy  strongly  reminds  almost  every  one  of 
the  pleasant  odour  that  comes  from  the  black  currant  fruit  when 
pressed  in  the  hand.     Chickweed  and  groundsel  also  show  their 


21 


CALENDAR    OP   THE   WOODS   AND    FIELDS  :    JANUARY MARCH. 


22 


tiny  flowers ;  and  in  the  woods,  hanging  gracefully  on  brush- 
wood and  trees,  stately  and  small,  the  wild  honeysuckle  shews 
its  tender  spring  petals,  which  almost  every  spring  are  repeat- 
edly nipt  and  killed  by  frost ;  for  whenever  a  few  weeks  of  mild 
weather  come,  even  in  midwinter,  this  climber  is  sure  to  put 
forth  leaves.  In  the  fields  the  most  lifeful  sight  is  the  ploughmen 
and  their  teams,  followed  often  by  large  numbers  of  rooks,  and 
occasionally  a  number  of  black-headed  and  a  few  brown-backed 
gulls.  House  sparrows  also  begin  to  chatter  and  gossip,  and  the 
dainty  wren  will  occasionally  lift  up  her  voice,  and  a  pretty 
voice  and  a  merry  song  she  has.  Chaffinches  begin  to  jink, 
and  sometimes  they  get  half  way  through  their  short  song  and 
abruptly  stop.  If  mild,  by  the  end  of  February  we  sometimes 
hear  the  whole  song— "see  see  see,  a  wee  wee  wee  wee  drunken 
sooie  ! "  But  when  winter  rules  with  icy  hand,  the  coming  or 
partly  come  greenness  is  unseen,  birds  are  mute,  and  the  plough- 
boy's  whistle  can  be  heard  only  in  the  farm-yard,  or  by  the 
side  of  his  noisy  cart.  The  bracing  air  and  the  clear  grey  sky, 
however,  make  it  a  pleasure  to  tramp  over  either  field  or  road ; 
and  the  fact  that  frost  and  snow  are  the  natural  accompaniments 
of  the  month,  makes  their  presence  seasonable  and  agreeable 
withal. 

What  though  his  locks  with  icicles  be  hung ; 

What  though  his  breath  go  up  to  heaven  like  smoke, 
Shall  there  no  joyous  song  for  him  be  sung? 

Shall  not  for  him  the  bardic  strain  be  woke? 
Ay,  for  a  fresh  career  before  us  lies, 
And  hope's  sunlighted  wings  are  glittering  in  the  skies. 


FEBRUARY. 

During  this  month  the  year  begins  to  open,  and  spring-feelings 
begin  to  stir  in  the  breast  of  every  lover  of  nature.  The  early 
leafing  trees  begin  to  open,  and  "the  buds  of  the  general  forest 
begin  visibly  to  swell :  while  underneath,  the  young  leaves  of 
the  coming  primroses  point  skyward,  and  the  anemone,  a  com- 
mon flower  in  our  sheltered  and  loamy  woods,  is  now  spreading 
its  gracefully  shaped  leaves  over  the  young  thin  grass  or  moss, 
where  it  generally  blooms.  In  one  of  the  woods  on  the  Jed  we 
have  seen  the  anemone  grow  so  luxuriantly  that  the  ground 
seemed  white  when  it  was  in  blossom.  The  snowdrop  now  lights 
up  the  woodlands  in  many  of  our  Border  districts';  and  the 
sunny  dandelion  begins  to  blink  here  and  there  along  our  as  yet 
prosy  highways;  and  where  the  grass  is  prevalent  and  the 
mould  fine,  by  lanes  and  waysides,  the  early  leaves  of  the  speed- 
well may  be  seen.  This  very  pretty  flower  is  often,  but  errone- 
ously, called  the  forget-me-not,  in  the  Borders.  The  leaves  of 
the  speedwell  are  somewhat  round  in  shape,  and  they  grow  in 
twos,  one  on  each  side  of  the  stem;  whereas  the  leaves  of  the 


forget-me-not  are  comparatively  long  and  narrow,  and  they 
grow  singly— each  leaf  by  itself — on  the  stem.  By  noting  this, 
any  one  may  know  the  one  plant  from  the  other.  Like  a  huge 
rosebloom-bud,  looking  through  the  sand  on  the  edges  of  our 
rivers,  the  coltsfoot  may  be  seen  by  the  end  of  the  month;  and 
in  sheltered  corners,  neck-deep  in  water,  the  bright  marsh  mari- 
gold may  now  be  seen;  and  ragweed  and  hemlocks  begin  to 
top  the  soil.  The  bird  family  are  now  in  a  state  of  excitement ; 
and  from  this  to  the  time  when  their  nest-eggs  require  a  sitter, 
they  sing,  and  fight,  and  love  in  a  somewhat  Hibernian  style. 
In  the  old  pea  sticks  in  a  quiet  corner  in  a  garden,  the  thrush 
will  now  even  build  and  lay,  if  the  weather  be  mild.  By  the 
end  of  the  month,  in  open  weather,  thrushes,  blackbirds,  finches, 
hedge-sparrows,  and  wrens  sing:  and  the  bat  may  now  be 
seen  on  a  mild  evening  on  its  wavering  rounds,  darting  and 
wheeling  as  if  for  amusement,  but  in  reality  trying  to  satisfy  its 
newly  awakened  digestive  organs  on  any  early  gnats  it  can 
pick  up.  We  have  often  noticed  that  in  frosty  weather  in  this 
month,  and  with  snow  covering  the  soil,  if  a  blink  of  sunshine 
come,  finches,  robins,  and  titmice  chatter  and  sing.  The  raven 
nests  by  the  end  of  the  month ;  and  skylarks  and  linnets  con- 
gregate. Badgers  leave  their  holes,  and  begin  to  wander  about 
at  nightfall;  and  as  the  spring  advances,  they  extend  their 
wanderings  sometimes  a  few  miles  from  home.  These  quad- 
rupeds have  been  on  the  increase  of  late  years.  They  breed  in 
early  summer.  By  the  end  of  the  month  some  hares  get  paired; 
and  some  very  early  rabbits  bring  forth  young,  which  sit  at 
hole-mouths,  about  the  size  of  rats.  Early  spawned  fish  leave 
the  rivers  for  the  sea. 

MARCH. 

Lambs  now  add  beauty  to  the  grass  lands,  and  if  the  month  has 
shewn  a  predominance  of  the  peacock's  tail,  the  white  sheeted 
sower  will  now  be  seen  stalking  over  the  red  land  with  a  will. 
The  deep  green  of  the  autumn  sown  wheat  also  adds  variety  to 
the  shades  that  as  yet  but  slightly  diversify  the  landscape.  In 
the  woods  the  poplar  now  fairly  shews  its  leafage,  and  from  the 
yellow  tinge  of  the  leaves,  a  clump  of  poplars  at  this  season 
brings  autumn  into  remembrance.  The  resinous  buds  of  the 
horse  chestnut  open,  and  push  out  a  thick  and  beautiful  mass  of 
leaves.  Violets,  anemones,  and  primroses  now  deck  the  wood- 
lands, and  daffodils  and  daisies  the  lawns  and  meadows.  The 
black  thorn  also  shews  its  snowy  blossom,  and  drooping  catkins 
hang  on  the  hazels, 

And  downy  palm-buds  glisten  hi  the  sun. 

Gnats  come  out  by  old   sheltering  hedge-sides  and  decayed 
walls;  and  honey  bees  now  begin,  often  on  languid  wing,  to 


23 


CALENDAR   OF   THE   WOODS   AND    FIELDS:    MARCH MAY. 


24 


seek  the  flowering  gooseberry  bushes,  and  other  early  flowers ; 
and  the  large  humble-bee  gloats  during  the  sunny  noon  on  the 
swelling  flower  of  the  coltsfoot.  The  primrose  or  sulphur- 
butterfly  also  comes  out.  Crows  begin  to  repair  their  old 
nests,  and  jackdaws  and  rooks  also  become  busy,  and  are  con- 
stantly on  the  move,  carrying  the  lath  and  flooring  of  their 
nests.  Tremendous  battles  the  rooks  have  over  disputed  nests, 
but  no  sooner  does  a  matron  rook  drop  an  egg  in  her  disputed 
abode,  than  all  clamour  ceases,  and  she  is  left  to  repose.  Par- 
tridges and  red  grouse  now  pair,  and  blackcocks  ( the  male  birds) 
on  the  upper  fells  and  table-land  of  Upper  Coquetdale,  Redes- 
dale,  and  in  the  high  lands  in  the  vicinity  of  Keilder,  may  be 
seen  early  in  the  month  in  very  large  flocks — soon  to  be  broken 
up,  for  the  pairing  season  is  at  hand.  The  voices  of  the  feathered 
tribes  may  now  be  heard  at  all  hours  in  fine  weather.  The  ring- 
dove coos  this  month ;  but  from  this  bird's  destructiveuess  to  the 
green  crops  of  the  farmer,  a  deadly  war  is  now  waging  against 
it  in  Border  districts.  It  is  a  beautiful  bird,  and  has  a  sweet, 
and  to  many  a  romantic  cry;  but  poetry  aside,  no  alderman  has 
a  more  insatiable  stomach.  The  black-headed  gull  comes  to 
our  marshes  to  breed,  and  the  curlew  or  whaup  may  now  be 
heard  giving  forth  the  prolonged  "wheefle."  The  yellow  bun- 
ting sings,  and  also  the  golden  crested  wren.  The  latter  is 
yearly  becoming  more  plentiful.  The  song  of  the  gold-crest  is 
low  and  abrupt,  but  pleasing :  it  is,  however,  much  inferior  to 
the  merry  and  clear  song  of  the  dainty  dipping  kitty.  Wagtails 
— pied,  yellow,  and  grey,  arrive.  We  have  seen  the  pied  wagtail 
sometimes  in  February,  in  Berwickshire.  The  otter  now  breeds, 
and  it  continues  to  breed  till  near  the  end  of  the  year.  This 
animal  has  increased  in  the  Borders  within  the  last  twenty  years. 
Pike  and  perch  spawn. 

APRIL. 

Hearts  again  are  stirred  to  pleasure 

By  the  coming  of  the  spring ; 
Stirred  to  meet  and  greet  the  sweetness 

April  showers  and  sunshine  bring. 

This  is  perhaps  the  most  stirring  and  lifeful  month  in  the  year. 
In  field  and  garden  there  is  full  work  this  month,  if  there  ever 
is  full  work.  And  among  our  fellow  bipeds  of  the  feathered 
tribes  there  is  work  from  dawn  to  twilight ;  for  younglings  must 
be  fed,  and  food  at  this  senson  is  sometimes  scarce;  for  when 
coldness  prevails,  earth  worms  and  slugs  keep  snugly  in  their 
houses,  and  live  at  home  at  ease.  In  the  fields  and  woods  rosy- 
faced  merry  younglings  of  the  human  family  may  be  seen  on 
pleasant  days,  lifefully  moving  from  spot  to  spot  where  primroses 
and  daisies  abound.     Lambs  too,  madlv  run  and  frisk  on  the 


leas.  And  over  this  scene  of  toil  and  pleasure,  the  fine,  though 
fitful,  streaming  sunshine  falls,  while  bright  and  fleecy  clouds 
keep  ever  sailing  athwart  the  sky  :  these  combined  making 

The  eai-th  enjoyable, 
For  beautiful  it  is,  and  hamiony 
Unites  the  sunshine  and  the  laughing  sky 
With  earth's  sweet  greenery. 

Here  and  there,  early  leafing  trees  spot  the  woodlands;  and 
larches  are  arrayed  in  garments  of  delicate  green,  some  of  them 
graced  with  tasseled  lilac-coloured  flowers.  The  speedwell  family 
now  show  their  bright  blue  eyes  almost  everywhere,  but  ever 
most  numerously  by  green  lanes  and  on  sunny  grassy  banks, 
— and  the  wild  hyacinth  begins  to  raise  its  head  on  rich  and 
sometimes  damp  meadows.  This  plant  flowers  with  us  in  May 
and  June.  In  the  woods  the  pretty  delicate  woodsorrel,  Scot- 
land's sensitive  plant,  begins  to  show  its  pencilled  cup,  streaked 
and  faintly  marked  like  the  eggs  of  some  of  our  song-birds.  The 
summer  visitors  of  the  bird  family  have  by  the  end  of  the  month 
mostly  all  arrived.  To  our  Border  counties  we  have  the  arrival 
this  month  of  the  whitethroat,  garden  warbler,  whinchat,  red- 
start, and  some  of  the  larger  wrens ;  also  the  swallow  and  the 
cuckoo.  The  redstart  is  a  rare  bird,  but  it  frequents  some  of 
the  sheltered  wood-banks  in  Roxburghshire.  The  cuckoo  is 
seldom  heard  about  Kelso,  but  in  the  higher  and  wilder  portions 
of  the  county,  especially  where  young  fir  plantations  exist,  it 
is  often  heard.  In  wild  moorlands  a  solitary  plantation  of  this 
kind  is  the  favourite  resort  of  this  bird.  The  insect  world  has 
yet  little  show  in  the  upper  element,  for  the  alternating  sunshine 
and  shower  of  April  scarcely  suit  the  winged  portion  of  this 
numberless  family.  Bees  are  abroad  however,  and  the  copper, 
wall,  and  cabbage  butterflies  may  be  occasionally  seen  sporting 
in  the  noon-day  sunshine.  Of  the  creeping  things  now  to  be 
seen,  the  small  common  garden  snail  is  one,  newly  aroused,  for 
the  sweet  tender  plants  on  which  it  feeds  are  in  leaf.  Its  very 
pretty,  though  loathed  brother,  the  banded  or  snake  snail,  gene- 
rally remains  torpid  to  the  end  of  the  month.  The  most  amo- 
rous of  the  frogs  begin  thus  early  to  strike  up  their  love  songs 
in  the  marshes.  Eels  begin  to  appear,  some  of  them  coming 
from  the  sand  and  mud-banks,  and  some  from  the  mouth  of  the 
Tweed ;  and  by  the  end  of  May,  they  are  clinging  in  large  num- 
bers to  the  rocks  at  the  bottom  of  our  rivers.  They  may  now 
be  taken,  for  they  are  in  season  for  the  table. 

MAT. 

Away  into  the  woodland  paths 
And  jield  this  heart  of  thine. 

May  is  generally  looked  on  as  the  first  month  of  summer,  al- 


25 


CALENDAR    OP    THE    WOODS    AND    FIELDS  :    MAY JUNE. 


26 


t  hough  in  late  seasons  the  scarcely  opened  buds  on  oaks  and 
ashes,  and  the  half-grown  leaves  of  the  other  common  trees,  give 
it  more  the  look  of  a  spring  month.  In  ordinary  seasons,  how- 
ever, the  general  forest  presents  a  pretty  full  leafage  in  May ; 
and  in  the  woods  and  fields  of  our  district  the  flush  of  wild 
flowers  is  immense.  By  the  end  of  the  month,  if  the  season  is 
early,  tangled  glens  and  old  half-deserted  roadsides  are  rendered 
bright  by  the  bloom  of  wild  roses ;  and  although  we  have  fewer 
mazy  patches  of  the  wild  rose  now  than  hitherto,  owing  to  the 
spread  of  soil-culture,  the  wanderer  never  requires  to  look  long 
for  these  beautiful  flowers.  By  the  time  the  wild-briar  begins 
to  blossom,  a  spot  of  snowy  or  creamy  hawthorn  may  generally 
be  seen  here  and  there  along  our  field  or  roadsides,  often  in  close 
proximity  to  the  "  roses,  white  and  red."  Both  hawthorn  and 
briar,  however,  attain  their  full  bloom  in  the  succeeding  month. 
On  the  walls  of  old  abbeys  and  keeps,  the  yellow  wallflower 
may  now  be  seen,  adding  beauty  to  the  grey  ruins  on  which  it 
lives.  This  is  also  a  most  stirring  and  lifeful  month.  At  day- 
light— if  a  very  fresh  morning,  before  daybreak— the  feathered 
tribes,  from  the  wren  to  the  heron,  lift  up  their  united  voices, 
and  their  utterances  only  cease  with  the  down-going  of  the  sun. 
And  for  the  sake  of  enjoying  such  music,  and  the  green  earth 
and  pleasant  sunshine,  wanderers  leave  their  houses  and  roam 
by  wood  and  field,  to  their  heart's  delight.  Anglers  too, 
tempted  by  the  pleasant  waters  and  the  rising  trout,  hunt  up 
their  favourite  casts;  and  naturalists  and  lovers  of  nature  begin 
to  look  for  their  favourite  insects,  plants,  and  birds  and  their 
nests : 

And  all  the  earth  is  gay ; 

Land  and  sea 
Give  themselves  up  to  jollity. 
And  with  the  heart  of  May 
Doth  every  beast  keep  holiday. 

The  simple  enumerating  of  the  flowers  of  this  month  would 
alone  take  up  our  space.  It  is  common  to  note  the  woodland 
strawberry  flower  as  belonging  to  May ;  but  over  the  most  of 
Roxburghshire  and  Berwickshire,  we  have  found  this  wild  plant 
in  flower  in  February  and  March :  and  we  have  seen  it  in  Janu- 
ary. Forget-me-not  is  this  month  in  its  glory ;  and  we  know 
of  no  finer  wild-flower  sight  than  this  flower  yields  in  the  woods 
of  Springwood  Park.  There  we  have  found  forget-me-not  in 
distinct  shades  of  pink,  white,  and  blue;  and  it  fringes  the 
woodland  walks  by  the  river  side  so  luxuriantly,  that,  in  place 
of  thinking  it  wild,  which  it  is,  many  would  think  it  had  been 
planted  and  trained.  For  both  anglers  and  the  general  public 
river  sides  are  now  very  pleasant.  The  last  of  the  salmon  family 
that  on  the  previous  autumn  or  winter  ascended  to  breed,  now 
drop  seawards ;  and  during  April  and  May  immense  numbers 


of  their  young  also  drop  seawards  with  every  flood.  Few  clean 
tish  are  in  the  river  this  month ;  but  the  common  fresh  water 
trout  are  now  a  treat  on  the  table  ;  and  are  captured  with  fly 
and  creeper. 

JUNE. 

Briskly  rhis  the  caller  stream, 
Blithe  the  siller  troots  are  loupin ; 
Saft  the  dew  wi'  diamond  gleam, 
Frae  the  infant  harebell 's  coupin. 

There  is  more  flower  blossom  this  month  than  even  in  May. 
Woods  and  fields  shew  a  deeper  green,  and  leafage  is  quite  full 
and  matured  as  to  growth.  It  is  now  full  summer ;  for  May  can 
seldom  swell  the  forest  leaves  to  completion,  and  in  this  light 
may  pass  as  a  spring  month.  There  is  no  month  like  June  for 
the  enjoyment  of  delightful  mornings  and  evenings.  Either  by 
wood  or  field  at  such  times  there  is  a  richness,  a  freshness  so 
palpable,  that  every  one  may  feel  its  power.  In  the  woods  the 
honeysuckle  now  sheds  its  fragrance,  roadsides  are  rendered 
sweet  by  the  blooming  hedgerows,  half-neglected  waysides  and 
tangled  banks  are  rich  with  the  flush  of  wild  roses,  and  the 
moorlands  and  uplands  are  a-blaze  with  whin-blossom.  The 
tall  and  stately  foxglove,  too,  decks  the  rocky  shallow-soiled 
hillside,  as  well  as  the  woodland.  The  surface  of  the  stream 
now  shews  the  pretty  white  crowfoot  and  the  pondweed ;  and 
the  yellow  iris  shews  its  bright  head  by  the  quiet  waters. 
In  the  corn  fields  the  pretty  convolvulus  now  shews  its  head, 
supported  on  the  corn  stalk  on  which  it  climbs,  and  poppies  be- 
gin to  flower.  Little  music  is  now  heard  during  the  day  from 
the  feathered  tribes,  but  at  evening  and  morning  the  thrush 
keeps  fluting,  and  the  blackbird  whistles ;  but  the  solitary  stone- 
chat  ceases  to  sing.  Most  birds  have  young  to  rear  now ;  and 
young  rooks  are  on  the  wing  by  the  end  of  the  month,  but'they 
still  require  feeding.  Hawks,  magpies,  and  jackdaws  have  very 
tender  families  on  hand,  being  a  little  later  than  the  rook  in 
breeding.  Ravens  with  us  are  now  scarce,  the  only  place  we 
know  where  they  now  nest  being  Henhole  in  the  great  Cheviot. 
Rooks  and  daws  however  are  yearly  increasing,  especially  the 
latter.  Wild  bees  are  busy  this  month  with  nesting  operations. 
The  drone  yellow  wasp  may  be  found  beginning  her  nest;  and 
she  is  often  so  found  when  the  nest  is  not  larger  than  a  large 
gooseberry.  There  are,  it  is  stated,  forty  distinct  species  of 
humble  bees  in  Britain,  but  as  these  insects  change  often  in  out- 
ward appearance  from  age  and  otherwise,  individuals  of  the  same 
species  may  have  been  wrongly  classed.  We  have  anyhow  not 
a  tithe  of  the  number  in  the  Border  counties.  The  large  and 
beautiful  lamprey  leaves  the  sea  this  month  and  spawns  in  the 
Tweed.    The  spawn  bed  is  made  deeper  than  that  of  the  salmon, 


27 


CALENDAR   OF    THE    WOODS    AND    FIELDS:   JUNE AUGUST. 


28 


and  in  places  similar  to  where  the  salmon  deposit  their  ova. 
Minnows  also  begin  to  spawn  this  month ;  and  the  heron,  when 
he  happens  to  alight  among  a  body  of  spawning  minnows — 
"streamers"  as  boys  call  them — gobbles  large  quantities  of  them. 
Herons,  by  the  way,  are  on  the  increase  all  over  the  Borders. 
The  fox  breeds. 

JULY. 

Balmy  freshness  fills  the  woods, 
In  the  ear  the  corn  is  swelling. 

This  is  a  month  of  full  leafage,  and  a  number  of  fruit  trees 
(lower  or  blossom.  The  lime,  with  its  creamy,  scented  flowers 
is  now  in  its  glory ;  and  all  over  it  there  is  a  perpetual  hum- 
ming from  dawrn  to  sunset  of  garden  and  humble-bees.  By  the 
end  of  the  month  the  moorland  and  heathlands  begin  to  assume 
a  purple  shade ;  and  on  cliffs  and  dry  hillsides  the  wild  thyme 
is  in  flower ;  and  this  pretty  sweetly-scented  plant  is  common 
over  all  the  Border  counties.  "  The  Scottish  blue  belis  "  also 
reach  their  full  blossom,  and  they  grow  numerously  both  by 
hedgerows  and  on  dry  bare  banks  and  ridges.  Thistles  also 
blossom,  and  the  ragweed  opens  its  broad  yellow  heading  to 
the  sun.  But  the  grandest  display  of  wild  blossom  that  this 
month  brings  forth,  is  that  of  the  broom.  Cultivation  has 
cleared  many  of  our  hillsides  and  glens  of  the  '■  bonnie  bonnie 
broom,''  but  we  know  many  such  places  where  it  is  still  allowed 
to  remain,  and  where  it  may  now  be  seen  in  its  greatest  beauty. 
Most  of  the  June  flowers  are  still  in  blossom;  but  the  sunshine 
is  so  strong  now  that  we  instinctively  wander  from  the  fields  to 
the  cool  river-sides.  Here  we  find  in  the  shaded  wood-banks 
the_  raggedrobin ;  and  we  have  both  kinds,  white  and  red.  The 
white,  or  rather  the  cream-coloured  specimen  of  this  flower  has 
a  scent  scarcely  differing  from  the  primrose.  The  water-cress, 
in  half-hidden  springs  of  running  water,  is  also  in  bloom,  its 
cross-shaped  flowers  standing  a  few  inches  above  the  water.  The 
pheasant,  partridge,  and  grouse  now  have  young ;  and  keepers 
employ  their  time  in  looking  after  the  young  game,  and  in  tra- 
versing the  woods  for  the  purpose  of  shooting  down  the  young  of 
carrion  crows,  magpies,  and  hawks.  A  number  of  our  song-birds 
have  now  a  second  brood  on  hand ;  and  unless  at  daybreak  the 
songsters  of  the  grove  are  mute,  and  some  of  the  finches  now  cease 
to  sing  for  the  season.  The  lizard  lies  in  the  sun;  and  by  river- 
sides and  over  marsh  lands  the  gaudy  dragonfly,  erroneously  pro- 
nounced by  the  youth  of  the  Border  the  "  fleein  stangin-ether," 
sports  on  wavering  wing.  Beetles  now  become  numerous ;  and 
the  catterpillars  of  some  of  the  early  butterflies  now  begin  to 
shelter  themselves  against  their  approaching  change  to  a  crysalis 
or  pupa  state.    In  shallow  river  pools  the  toad  now  breeds    We 


have  seen  toad-spawn  in  May  in  the  Borders,  but  much  more  of 
it  in  June  and  July.  The  spawn  consists  of  a  long  chain  of 
transparent  gluten,  "four  or  five  feet  in  length,  and  the  ova  is 
encased  in  this,  in  a  double  row,  like  black  beads  thinly  strung. 
Frog  spawn  consists  of  the  same  material,  but  it  is  in  a  compact 
body,  like  a  dish  of  boiled  sago.  Corn  fields  now  stand  filled  to 
the  hedges ;  and  soft  winds  play  over  the  land,  and  gently  surge 
and  sway  the  lusty  grain,  making  it  look  not  unlike  a  rippling 
sea. 

AUGUST. 

The  scarlet  pimpernell  creeps  here  and  there, 
Amid  the  corn  the  crimson  poppies  blush ; 
Still  on  the  brooks  gleam  water-lilies  rare, 
And  purple  loosestrife  and  the  flowering  rush. 

August  with  its  ripening  fruit  and  grain,  has  a  plenteous  as- 
pect; and  with  the  yellowing  corn-fields,  the  fine  dark-green 
of  the  spreading  turnip  plants  ;  the  purple  heath-lands  and  the 
green  uplands,  the  country  is  beautiful.  And  the  air  is  filled 
with  the  ceaseless  hum  of  countless  insects.  Moths  dance  and 
waver  over  tall  grass  tufts  on  meadows,  and  round  oaks  and 
limes.  Cattle  stand  in  the  rivers  and  switch  their  pliant  tails, 
glad  of  the  cool  water  to  stand  in,  and  of  its  effect,  frum  the  cold- 
ness of  the  temperature  over  its  surface,  in  keeping  off  the  flies 
by  which  they  are  at  this  season  so  much  annoyed.  Farmers 
secure  their  hay,  and  prepare  for  the  harvest,  which  by  the  end 
of  the  month  is  common  in  the  low  lands.  About  the  beginning 
of  the  month  sportsmen  begin  to  exercise  their  dogs  and  their 
own  limbs  against  the  coming  Twelfth.  By  the  end  of  the  month, 
about  nightfall,  the  wild  sad  winds,  the  precursors  of  autumn, 
rise  and  sweep  along  upland  woods  and  ridges.  In  the  woods 
blaeberries  may  be  gathered ;  and  some  of  the  creeping  pea- 
plants  now  flower,  and  depend  from  the  branches  of  hazel 
and  hawthorn.  The  yellow-fringed  ladies'-bed-straw,  and  ladies' 
mantle,  with  a  similar  blossom,  deck  dry  sandy  road  and  river- 
sides. The  latter  flower  gets  its  name  from  the  peculiarity 
of  the  shape  of  its  leaves,  which  much  resemble  the  cloaks  or 
mantles  which  were  in  fashion  a  few  years  ago,  and  which  must 
of  course  have  been  in  fashion  centuries  ago.  The  white  campa- 
nula is  common  in  the  Border  counties,  but  to  see  it  in  perfec- 
tion the  valley  of  the  Jed  must  be  visited.  The  rich  soil  in  the 
lower  portion  of  this  valley,  and  the  fine  sheltered  nooks  and 
spots  which  it  here  and  there  contains,  are  the  means  of  produc- 
ing a  large  and  varied  crop  of  wild  flowers.  We  have  here  seen 
the  campanula  fully  six  feet  in  length.  Ferns  are  now  to  be 
gathered  in  great  variety;  and  the  satin-threaded  flowers  of  the 
bramble  are  open.  And  the  grain  fields  in  some  low  districts 
are  now  purple  with  the  flowers  of  the  wild  poppy.    The  bird 


29 


CALENDAR    OF    THE    WOODS    AND    FIELDS  :    AUGUST OCTOBER. 


30 


family  is  comparatively  quiet :  rooks  caw,  but  no  song  is  heard, 
unless  from  a  few  dawn-singers:  and  autumn  is  advancing.  The 
curlew  has  left  our  inland  heights  and  moors ;  the  yellow  wag- 
tail departs,  and  swallows  begin  to  congregate,  and  to  hold 
converse,  perhaps  about  the  "dangers  of  the  seas."  Great  num- 
bers of  wild-ducks  now  nightly  feed  in  the  barley  fields,  on  the 
grain.  A  large  number  of  butterflies  now  haunt  the  moorlands, 
most  of  them  v^ry  small,  but  decked  in  every  variety  of  colour ; 
and  glow-"worms  may  be  seen  about  their  haunts  in  the  early 
part  of  the  month.  They  appear  about  mid-June  and  disappear 
in  August.  This  light-giving  insect  is  the  wingless  female  of  a 
beetle.  It  is  not  so  common  now  as  it  was  some  twenty  or  thirty 
years  ago.  A  few  summers  ago  we  saw  a  number  on  the  road- 
side by  the  Tweed,  between  Ashiesteel  and  Ettrick  foot.  Mossy 
banks  are  the  places  where  these  insects  are  generally  found. 


SEPTEMBER. 

Under  the  pointed  knives  of  the  reaping  machine,  and  the  scythe 
of  the  mower  the  ripe  grain  is  falling ;  and  the  face  of  the  field 
is  gradually  becoming  changed.  The  wind  no  longer  passes 
softly,  as  if  whispering  through  the  tree  leaves,  for  their  fibre  is 
hardened,  and  a  rustling  is  now  heard  in  place  of  a  whispering  or 
hushing  sound.  On  the  inner  or  small  trunk-branches  of  the 
elm  may  now  also  be  seen  leaves  faded  into  a  pretty  bright  yel- 
low: and  young  limes  in  parks  and  by  waysides  are  yellow 
all  over.  Flowers,  though  still  pretty  numerous,  are  percep- 
tibly lessening  in  number.  The  summer  blossoms  are  mostly 
decayed,  though  a  few  of  the  prettiest  still  remain,  the  foremost 
and  finest  being  the  harebell.  The  gaudy  golden  ragweed  or 
ragwort  is  still  bright  and  pretty,  and  with  good  weather  will 
keep  up  its  head  till  the  close  of  the  month.  Autumn  has  mas- 
tered summer  however,  for 

The  orchard  fruits  hang  mellow, 
Mute  are  the  tuneful  throng. 
Save  Robin,  happy  fellow, 
Who  sings  the  whole  day  long 
In  bowers  of  elm  leaves  yellow. 

Hazel  nuts  may  be  gathered,  and  haws  and  hips  hang  in 
ruddy  clusters  by  the  waysides.  The  fleabane  is  now  common 
on  dampish  lands;  and  by  the  sea  a  number  of  autumn  flowers 
may  be  gathered.  The  fields  are  again  recovering  their  green- 
ness, for  the  after-grass  is  growing  where  the  hay  was  cut  down ; 
and  clover  foggage  is  fresh  and  green  in  the  barley  stubbles.  The 
goatsucker,  the  first  of  the  swallows,  and  the  whitethroat  depart ; 
and  large  numbers  of  lapwings  occasionally  assemble  about 
night-fall  on  newly-broken  land.     The  first  fresh  water  trout 


begin  to  spawn  :  and  a  second  supply  of  trout  flies  come  to  the 
surface  of  the  running  streams.  These  flies,  it  is  believed,  are 
from  the  eggs  dropped  by  some  of  the  insects  that  appeared  in 
the  spring.  The  insect  world  is  still  busy.  Ants  swarm  at  this 
season :  and  there  is  scarcely  a  dry  grassy  meadow  or  hillside 
in  our  district  but  there  colonies  of  these  busy  insects  may  be 
found.  It  has  occurred  to  us  several  times  that  ant  hillocks  are 
old  mole  hillocks,  grass-covered.  They  are  the  same  in  shape 
as  mole  hillocks,  and  are  of  the  same  lightness  as  to  density. 
But  we  have  occasionally  seen  ant  hillocks  much  larger 
than  any  mole  hillocks  we  ever  saw.  Wasps  also  swarm  this 
month;  and  this  is  the  reason  why  our  grocers'  shops  are  so  in- 
fested with  them  at  this  season,  the  scent  of  the  sugar,  etc., 
being  the  cause  of  bringing  them  thence.  On  the  moorlands  gay 
vested  butterflies  yet  flit  about  in  the  sunshine.  We  may  here 
note  that  a  number  of  our  butterflies  present  us  with  two  broods 
during  the  summer,  the  first  in  May  or  June  and  the  second  in 
August  or  September.  The  evenings  during  this  month,  under 
the  softened  light  of  the  moon,  are  the  finest  of  the  year;  and 
mostly  all  lovers  of  out-door  nature  who  have  health  love  in 
such  nights  to 

Linger  mid  the  chequered  light, 
The  dreamy  light  and  shadow. 

OCTOBER. 

The  wind  is  sadly  sighing. 
The  passage  birds  are  fled, 
The  forest  leaves  are  dying, 
The  summer  flowers  are  dead. 

This  is  the  month  that  crowns  the  woods  with  their  fullest 
beauty ;  and  but  for  the  somewhat  pensive  reflections  it  calls  up, 
would  be  welcomed  with  as  much  delight  as  May.  The  colour- 
ing along  the  woodland  slopes,  if  the  trees  are  of  various  kinds, 
is  generally  very  beautiful,  especially  when  brightened  up  by 
the  mellow  sunlight.  In  the  mornings  now  the  dew  lies  heavy ; 
and  it  is  a  very  fine  sight  to  see  the  numberless  dew-covered 
webs  of  the  gossamer  spider  at  such  a  time.  Before  the  sun 
breaks  the  dew,  these  beautiful  fabrics  may  be  seen  covering 
almost  every  inch  of  land  in  grass  and  stubble  fields;  and  hedge- 
rows and  whin  clumps  are  literally  covered  by  them.  We  once 
saw  in  Berwickshire  a  row  of  tall  spruces  so  covered  that  they 
looked  like  ship  masts  clad  in  outre  sails ;  for  the  slender  net- 
work was  so  heavily  laden  with  dew  that  the  trees  in  place  of 
appearing  green  were  of  cloud-like  grey.  Flowers  are  now  few. 
Solitary  harebells  may  still  be  seen  under  some  shady  hedge  or 
bush,  and  a  sprinkling  of  daisies  now  dot  the  old  pastures,  which 
still  look  pretty  and  green,  as  also  do  the  hills.    Mosses  are 


31 


CALENDAR  OF  THE  WOODS  AND  FIELDS  :  OCTOBER DECEMBER. 


32 


at  their  prettiest;  and  in  the  Borders  we  have  a  fine  variety. 
At  this  season  the  colouring  in  some  of  the  mosses  is  rich  and 
fine ;  and  under  the  shelter  of  these  interwoven  plants  millions 
of  insects  cosily  nestle  both  at  this  season  and  during  most  of 
the  year.  In  "the  insect  world  there  is  now  considerable  agita- 
tion. Caterpillars  are  creeping  everywhere  in  search  of  proper 
shelter  against  the  coming  winter.  Some  fasten  to  old  posts, 
some  creep  under  the  bark  of  trees,  some  seek  shelter  under  the 
eaves  of  our  hottses,  and  many  inside  our  country  houses ;  and 
millions  die.  They  get  into  the  pupa  state  very  soon  after  they 
get  into  proper  quarters.  The  beetle  tribe  is  also  fast  disappear- 
ing :  some  seek  protection  beneath  stones  and  beds  of  moss,  some 
bore  into  soft  and  some  into  hard  wood,  and  some  under  the 
bark;  others  delve  into  the  earth  or  mud,  and  some  live  under 
water.  All  our  birds  that  come  as  summer  visitors  are  now  de- 
parted ;  and  redwings  arrive,  and  snipes  increase  in  number,  for 
they  come  southward.  Salmon  and  sea-trout  leave  the  sea  in 
great  numbers  to  spawn  in  our  rivers.  Rats  now  leave  their 
summer  residences  in  the  corn-fields  and  ditches,  and  take  up 
their  winter  quarters  in  our  homesteads  and  houses. 


NOVEMBER. 

A  dull  brown  shade  is  creeping 
Over  mead  aud  mound  and  hill ; 
The  drooping  fern  is  weeping 
Above  the  murmuring  rill ; 
And  red  the  brook  is  sweeping 
Where  it  erst  was  clear  and  still. 

The  beauty  of  October  is  now  gone,  and  dreary  dark  November 
reicns ;  but  if  the  month  is  mild  we  would  recommend  the  lover 
of  "  trees  and  buds  and  flowers  "  to  wander  away  into  the  cosy 
woodland  nooks  in  which  he  plucked  the  early  spring  flowers, 
and  there  push  aside  the  protecting  covering  of  dead  leaves,  and 
he  will  find — what  ?  He  will  find  that  even  in  winter  the  flowers 
that  deck  the  woodland  are  not  asleep,  but  green  and  fresh  and 
growing.  There  he  may  at  this  season  see  the  tips  of  the  spring 
leaves  of  the  lovely  primrose,  and  the  strawberry  flower;  and  a. 
number  of  small  delicate  stems  of  humble  spring  creepers ;  and 
overhanging  these  he  will  find  the  woodbine  putting  forth  rich 
green  spring  leaves;  and  he  will  also  see  the  green  buds  shining 
at  the  old  leaf  roots  of  early  opening  trees :  these'combined  bring- 
ing him  strongly  in  mind  of  spring.  We  have  many  a  time  de- 
rived much  pleasure  from  excursions  of  this  sort,  which  often 
carried  our  thoughts  from  November  to 

"Whispering  leaves,  and  freshening  dewdrops  lying 
On  infant  flowers. 


Several  of  our  resident  birds  now  move  about  in  flocks ;   and 

The  merry  robin, 
How  he  frisks  about ! 
Spoi-ting  round  the  dog-house, 
Hopping  in  and  out. 
How  his  dark  eyes  twinkle 
In  the  sunny  light 
As  with  joy  he  warbles. 
Giving  us  delight. 

Even  late  though  it  is,  a  few  moths  may  still  be  seen  on  the 
wing  in  the  noonday  sun  ;  but  we  sometimes  witness  the  month 
pass  without  getting  a  single  glimpse  of  the  orb  of  day.  And 
when  the  wild  wind  comes  it  sweeps  through  the  leafless  trees 
with  a  dreary  sough.  There  is  no  soft  music  now  in  the  voice  of 
brook  or  river;  and  after  nightfall,  as  the  wind  sweeps  over 
them,  it  bears  aloft  and  over  the  plains  the  now  wild  or  mourn- 
ful sound  of  their  rushing  waters.  The  landscape  is  gloomy ; 
but  if  the  weather  be  mild  the  sportsman  enjoys  the  month 
greatly.  He  may  either  give  chase  to  the  fox  or  hare,  or  bring 
out  his  fowling-piece  against  grouse,  black-game,  or  partridge. 

DECEMBER. 

The  time  of  frost  is  the  time  for  me ! 
When  the  gay  blood  spins  through  the  heart  with  glee. 
When  the  voice  leaps  out  with  a  chiming  sound, 
And  the  footstep  rings  on  the  musical  ground. 

Should  frost  and  snow  come  this  month  (and  when  could  they 
be  more  seasonable?),  and  cover  up  our  flush  of  late  daisies, 
our  opening  chickweed,  and  groundsel,  and  ivy-blossom,  and  the 
green  meadows  and  hills,  and  the  fresh  green  fields  of  Autumn- 
sown  wheat,  it  is  a  comfort  to  know  that  much  enjoyment  comes 
with  them — enjoyment  all  the  more  welcomed,  because  of  a  kind 
that  comes  seldom.  Either  by  day  or  in  moonlight,  there  is 
much  that  is  beautiful  to  be  noted  when  snow  covers  the  soil  and 
frost  prevails : 

Morning!  each  pane  is  a  garden  of  frost, 
Full  of  delicate  flowers,  soou  raised,  soon  lost. 

Before  the  wind  dismantles  the  snow-covered  trees  each  indi- 
vidual tree  appears  as  if  from  fairy  land,  so  beautiful  and  often 
grotesque  are  they ;  and  many  pleasant  mornings  have  we  had  in 
tracing  the  plants,  forests,  lakes,  and  castles  on  the  frozen  win- 
dow glass.  In  the  moonlight  when  the  frost  is  very  keen  the 
snow  shines  and  twinkles  with  countless  crystals,  beautiful  as 
diamonds;  and  the  very  crunch  it  makes  below  the  feet  at  such 
a  time  rings  with  music.  Watch  the  radiant  faces  of  the  youths 
as  they  slide :  what  enjoyment '. 


33 


ANGLERS    CALENDAR  :     JANUARY MARCH. 


34 


Here  the  hobnailed  brog  is  the  aristocrat, 
The  weak  soled  boot  must  give  way  to  that. 

Now  is  the  time  when  our  gentlemen  and  tradesmen  leave  their 
homes  and  join  heartily  in  the  "roaring  game."  Then  the 
skaters— 

Away !  hurrah !  the  lake  is  like  glass  i 
Buckle  and  strap  on  the  iron  grass ! 
Off  we  shoot  and  poise  and  wheel, 
And  swiftly  turn  on  the  scoring  heel ; 
And  our  flying  sandals  chirp  and  sing, 
Like  a  flock  of  swallows  upon  the  wing. 

This  is  a  time  when  our  poor  birds  suffer  considerably  from  a 
want  of  food.  Snipe  and  wild  duck  may  now  be  easily  reached 
at  the  fresh  springs,  where  they  find  their  food;  and  wood- 
pigeons  seek  turnip  leaves  and  seakale ;  rooks,  the  stackyard ; 
and  finches  live  on  forest  and  garden  buds.  The  soft  billed 
birds  suffer  most;  for  blackbirds,  robins,  titmice,  and  hedge- 
sparrows  are  often  found  dead  in  severe  frosts.  Let  us  then 
spread  our  window-sills  with  food  daily.  We  shall  have  music 
for  our  outlay  in  spring.  The  thrush  will  now  sing  sometimes, 
the  robin  often.  We  have  one  true  winter  songster,  a  bird  that 
sings  in  the  severest  frosts.  We  have  heard  it  many  a  time  at 
the  dawn,  when  snow  was  deep  and  our  blood  almost  freezing. 
It  sings  chiefly  at  morn  and  eve;  and  its  song  is  very  low  and 
particularly  sweet  and  charming.  This  bird  is  the  dipper,  com- 
monly called  in  the  Borders,  the  "water  craw."  Many  people 
have  never  heard  it  sing ;  but  its  song  is  so  low  that  unless  when 
the  surroundings  are  in  a  state  of  quiet,  it  almost  requires  one  to 
listen  in  order  to  hear  it.  Perched  on  the  top  of  an  ice-bound 
stone  in  the  river,  it  will  in  the  gloaming  sing  for  a  quarter  of 
an  hour  sometimes,  with  very  few  breaks.  In  midwinter  it 
dives  as  briskly  as  in  summer ;  and  when  under  water  it  picks 
up  its  food  from  the  stones,  which  consists  in  the  winter  season 
almost  entirely  of  water  insects.  The  last  lingering  leaves  have 
fallen,  the  year  is  closed,  and  we  end  our  notes. 

Man  cannot  stand  beneath  a  loftier  dome 

Than  the  cerulean  canopy  of  light — 

The  Eternal's  vast,  immeasurable  home, 

Lovely  by  day,  and  wonderful  by  night ! 

Than  the  enamelled  earth,  so  greenly  bright. 

A  richer  pavement  man  hath  never  trod. 

He  cannot  gaze  upon  a  lovelier  sight. 

Than  fleeting  cloud,  fresh  wave,  and  fruitful  sod — 

Leaves  of  the  boundless  Book,  writ  by  the  hand  of  God ! 


ANGLERS'  CALENDAR. 


JANUARY. 
In  this  month  the  true  angler  never  thinks  of  casting  a 
line.  The  trouts  are  thin  and  watery  in  the  flesh ;  and  they 
can  only  betaken  with  worm — roe-angling  being  now  prohibited 
— and  in  flooded  or  "  falling-in  "  waters,  —  a  sort  of  fishing 
that  requires  no  skill  in  casting,  and  by  which  a  novice  could 
capture  almost  as  many  trouts  as  a  practised  angler,  provided 
he  were  properly  placed  on  the  water.  He  may  purchase  his 
gut  this  month,  however,  as  tackle-makers  generally  have 
their  new  stock  supplied  by  mid- winter;  and  by  purchasing 
early,  finer  gut  may  be  had. 

FEBRUARY. 

Though  this  is  a  month  of  something  more  than  promise  to 
the  salmon  angler,  it  is  of  little  value  to  the  trout  angler.  Unless 
in  a  very  mild  and  sunny  season  (and  February  seldom  wit- 
nesses such),  no  trout  flies  come  into  existence;  so  that  angling 
with  the  fly  would  yield  no  sport.  The  trouts  are  however 
beginning  to  get  into  better  condition ;  because  the  grubs  on 
which  they  feed — which  they  get  below  the  pebbles,  and  from 
which  the  water  or  trout  flies  emerge  —  are  many  of  them 
well  advanced  in  growth  by  the  end  of  the  month,  and  thereby 
yield  more  feeding  substance.  In  this  month  it  is  generally 
very  cold  work  to  fish  for  salmon,  but  on  the  same  days  it  is 
doubly  cold  to  fish  for  trout. 

MARCH. 

The  angler  may  now  have  his  March  Browns,  the  largest 
size,  ready  for  the  Tweed  or  Teviot ;  and  for  the  smaller  streams 
(few  of  which  yield  much  sport  in  March),  he  may  bring  out 
smaller  March  Browns,  or  spiders.  In  early  spring,  on  the 
Leader  and  Gala,  for  instance,  spiders  dressed  from  the  inner 
small  feathers  of  the  shoulder  of  the  woodcock-wing  are  kill- 
ing hooks ;  and  they  are  often  used  along  with  black  spiders. 
On  mostly  all  small  streams  spiders  are  deadly.  During  this 
month  the  angler  should  ply  his  art  at  the  necks  of  pools,  and 
where  the  streams  are  easy,  for  trouts  cannot  as  yet  keep  ground 
in  rough  water.  When  the  day  is  mild  and  sunny  a  fair  basket 
may  be  made  in  March.  The  best  time  of  the  day  for  the 
angler  is  from  about  eleven  to  one  o'clock.  Bull-trouts  are  often 
taken  with  trout  flies  in  this  and  the  succeeding  month  in 
Tweed  and  Teviot. 


35 


ANGLERS  CALENDAR  :  APRIL — AUGUST. 


36 


APRIL. 

Tlie  Tweed  angler,  at  least  on  the  lower  portions  of  the  river, 
generally  looks  on  this  as  the  prince  of  fly-fishing  months; 
and  on  the  smaller  waters  it  is  also  a  good  month  for  fly-fishing, 
especially  from  about  the  middle,  at  least  if  the  season  be  mild. 
The  same  flies  are  used  in  this  as  in  last  month,  but  the  angler 
should  hive  two  sizes  on  his  line,  large  and  small.  Trouts  are 
now  creeping  more  and  more  into  the  streams,  so  that  these, 
when  they  are  not  very  rapid  or  heavy,  should  have  the  angler's 
attention.  When  the  stream  continues  to  ripple  the  pool  down 
its  centre  for  some  distance,  the  angler  should  cast  over  the 
ripple,  as  trouts  are  generally  plentiful  in  such  places,  especially 
in  the  opening  of  the  year.  The  best  time  to  angle  is  from  ten 
to  four  o'clock. 

MAY. 

The  Hare's-lug-and-Woodcock-wing  fly  is  a  general  favourite 
during  this  month — indeed  it  is  a  good  hook  for  almost  any 
"  fly  "  month :  the  Pale  Yellow  Dun  is  another  good  fly  for  the 
same  season.  The  trouts  are  now  still  more  spread  in  the 
streams,  and  are  strong  enough  many  of  them  to  lie  in  pretty 
rough  water.  This  the  learner  should  note.  The  best  time 
for  fly-fishing  in  this  month  is  from  about  eight  to  four  or  five 
o'clock.  Earlier  in  the  morning  the  Creeper  is  a  deadly  bait 
about  the  beginning  of  this  month  ;  and  by  the  end  of  it,  it  is 
deadly  in  the  forenoons.  It  is  only  successfully  angled  with  in 
roughish  and  clear  water.  Should  the  river  swell  an  inch  or 
two,  and  even  remain  clear,  it  is  an  unsuccessful  lure.  Worm  is 
also  deadly  this  month  in  the  early  morning,  but  principally  in 
and  about  the  edges  of  mild  streams.  In  a  rising  or  falling 
river  the  minnow  also  becomes  a  good  bait  in  May.  We  may 
note  here  concerning  minnow  fishing,  that  in  June  and  July  it 
is  a  deadly  bait  both  in  rising  and  falling  waters,  but  especially 
the  latter.  It  is  also  a  good  bait  in  clear  water  during  these  two 
months,  to  the  angler  who  can  throw  a  long  line  and  work  it 
skilfully.  Par-tail  is  also  a  good  bait  after  a  flood,  and  on 
gloomy  days,  or  at  nightfall.  Very  large  trouts  are  taken  by 
both  of  these  lures,  and  they  are  deadliest  in  streams.  The 
angler  should  also  know  that  worm  is  often  very  deadly  after 
summer  floods,  and  before  the  water  loses  its  muddiness ;  and 
fly  also  is  generally  a  successful  lure  after  early  summer  floods. 

JUNE. 
Creeper  fishing  gets  to  its  height  in  this  month;  and  all 
througli  the  day,  especially  if  very  sunny,  it  is  an  excessively 
deadly  bait,  till  about  the  middle  of  the  month,  when  it  becomes 
scarce,  and  Stone-flies  become  plentiful.  The  Stone-fly  is  a  very 
sure  lure  after  a  flood,  both  in  stream  and  pool,  but  most  so  in 


the  former.  It  is  not  so  good  a  bait  in  clear  water.  Worm 
fishing  is  now  pleasant  work ;  and  on  sunny  days  the  angler 
may,  with  either  creeper  or  worm,  or  both,  have  little  difficulty 
in  making  a  good  basket  on  any  stream  where  trouts  are  plenti- 
ful ;  and  trouts  are  now  in  their  prime,  and  are  scattered  over 
all  the  streams,  as  well  as  all  parts  of  the  streams,  be  they  deep 
or  shallow ;  and  wherever  the  water  is  running,  and  is  of  suffi- 
cient depth  to  cover  their  backs,  they  may  be  captured.  Creepers 
are  bred  at  the  edges  of  the  river,  and  as  hungry  trouts  are  often 
prowling  near  them,  the  angler  should  often  cast  to  the  very 
edge  of  the  water.  Fly-fishers  have  not  such  good  sport  in 
June  as  in  May,  and  the  flies  used  in  this  month  should  be  made 
up  in  a  lighter  manner  than  in  May,  and  should  also  be  dressed 
on  smaller  wires.  On  the  small  waters  a  blae  midge-fly,  of  small- 
ish size,  is  often  a  good  killer  in  June,  and  in  Tweed  both  in 
June  and  July,  a  good  basket  is  occasionally  made  with  the  blae 
midge-fly  dressed  on  the  very  smallest  wires  made.  Some  good 
sport  is  had  by  fishing  with  fly  during  this  season  in  the  gloam- 
ing, and  even  after  nightfall.  In  this  month  the  angler  may  fish 
early  or  late,  and  all  through  the  day  if  he  choose. 

JULY. 

This  is  chiefly  a  month  for  worm  fishing.  The  waters  are 
generally  very  low,  rendering  fly-fishing  almost  useless ;  but 
worm  is  so  sure  a  lure  during  this  month,  especially  in  the  smal- 
ler waters,  that  the  angler  need  not  regret  having  to  use  the 
same  bait  for  a  succession  of  weeks.  It  is  a  month  when  worms 
seem  to  be  the  main  food  of  the  trouts,  most  of  the  water  grubs 
on  which  thej'  feed  having  become  flies.  The  worms  are  plenti- 
ful however,  and  by  watching  from  a  bank  the  angler  may  notice 
a  trout  now  and  then  nosing  round  and  round  some  of  the  flat- 
ish  ipebbles  near  the  shore :  this  is  to  obtain  worms — for  the 
black-headed  water-worms  are  very  plentiful  in  midsummer  be- 
low the  pebbles  in  all  rivers.  The  angler  should  therefore  cast 
his  bait  into  all  sorts  of  river  corners  and  shallows,  as  well  as  the 
main  stream,  and  he  may  be  repaid  for  doing  so.  By  throwing 
a  very  long  line,  trouts  may  be  often  got  with  worm  in  the  pools 
in  July.  They  take  it  as  it  falls,  as  they  take  fly.  It  requires 
fine  light  casting,  of  course,  but  almost  any  angler  may  soon 
learn  to  throw  both  a  long  and  soft  line.  Trouts  take  best  dur- 
ing this  month  from  about  eight  to  four  o'clock,  or  so. 

AUGUST. 

This  is  generally  a  sort  of  angle-with-everything-and-get- 
little  month,  a  month  for  which  there  is  no  particular  or  sure 
lure,  especially  on  large  waters  like  Tweed  and  Teviot.  It  is  a 
better  month  for  the  upland  streams,  or  burns,  and  among  these 


37 


RIVER    TWEED    FISHERIES. 


38 


the  worm  is  generally  a  very  good  bait  at  this  season.  From  the 
larger  rivers,  by  dint  of  perseverance,  we  can  generally  produce  a 
dish  of  respectable  appearance,  but  at  same  time  we  can  hardly 
say  we  ever  had  the  trouts  "  taking"  freely  during  August,  and 
we  have  often  tried  them  with  fly,  minnow,  and  worm.  Those 
in  the  large  rivers  are  now  falling  back  in  condition,  and  are 
consequently  leaving  the  strongest  parts  of  the  streams.  If  the 
weather  be  sunny,  the  middle  of  the  day  is  the  best  time  to  fish 
in  August. 

SEPTEMBER. 

The  first  of  the  trouts  now  begin  to  spawn  in  the  large  rivers ; 
but  those  not  so  far  advanced  are  still  palatable,  though  not  by 
any  means  like  what  they  were  in  June.  Fly  and  worm  are  both 
about  equal  as  lures  at  this  season,  the  former  perhaps  best  in 
larger  waters,  but  the  latter  the  preferable  in  the  upland  streams. 
By  the  end  of  this  month  trout  angling  may  be  looked  upon  as 
resembling  the  season — approaching  the  "  sere  and  yellow  leaf." 
The  day  may  be  delightful,  the  river  side  charming,  but  the  lifey 
",bir  and  whir"  no  longer  stirs  the  soul  of  the  angler.  The  time 
to  fish  now  should  be  from  about  ten  till  four  or  five  o'clock. 
Summer  and  spring  flies  may  both  be  used  with  tolerable  suc- 
cess. 

OCTOBER. 

Fly-fishing  is  better,  in  general,  during  the  early  part  of  this 
month  than  in  September,  in  small  waters  at  least;  and  the  flies 
used  should  be  those  made  use  of  in  spring.  Trouts  numerously 
ascend  the  small  waters  for  spawning  purposes,  and  in  October, 
with  spring  flies,  we  have,  in  our  earlier  years,  had  many  a  suc- 
cessful day's  sport  in  these  small  streams,  and  generally  got 
pretty  large  trouts  too;  and  the  time  when  they  seized  the  flies 
most  readily  was  generally  a  short  time  before  nightfall,  when 
the  waters  were  clearing  from  a  flood ;  the  place — a  mild  stream 
falling  into  a  feeding  pool. 

NOVEMBER. 

Now  that  roe-fishing  is  prohibited,  this  may  be  looked  upon 
as  a  dead  month  for  the  trout  angler,  and  few  of  those  anglers  we 
daresay  who  love  to  wield  a  deft  wand  and  a  light  line  over  the 
clear  sunny  waters  in  summer  will  regret  that  roe-angling  is 
among  the  things  that  were.  It  afforded  sport,  however,  to  a 
pretty  large  number  of  people  who,  during  the  summer  months, 
generally  found  it  difficult  to  secure  trouts  even  in  small  num- 
bers ;  but  these  anglers  may,  if  they  will  only  exercise  a  little 
patience  and  practice,  have  the  higher  pleasure  of  running  down 
their  game  when  it  is  in  season,  for  any  one  may  learn  to  angle 
so  as  to  be  able  to  ensure  moderate  success.     Many  years  ago 


we  had  the  curiosity  to  try  worm-fishing  in  clear  water  and  in 
frosty  weather  in  November,  and  we  captured  eleven  large  trouts 
in  one  pool.  We  might  have  got  more,  but  from  numbness  we 
could  not  bait  the  hook.     This  was  in  Leader  Water. 

DECEMBER. 

Fishing  nil.,  we  shall  add  a  few  memoranda. 

In  the  foregoing  notes  we  do  not  attempt  to  give  a  complete 
set  of  hints  on  angling ;  we  have  simply,  in  the  space  allotted 
to  us,  given  a  few  notes  that  we  hope  may  prove  useful  to  novices 
and  some  who  can  scarcely  be  called  beginners,  who  angle  with 
little  success  from  year  to  year,  without  paying  attention  to  the 
little  odds  and  ends  that  all  successful  anglers  have  to  put  into 
practice. 

A  well-balanced  rod  should  be  used,  and  a  pirn  line  and  cast- 
ing line  that  each  taper  toward  the  hooks,  and  fine  stained  gut ; 
and  in  order  to  cast  well,  the  learner  should  throw  out  the  arm 
with  vigour,  but  give  the  line  plenty  time  to  play  round  the  head 
before  casting. 

Fish  up  stream  with  everything  but  minnow.  If  this  cannot 
be  done  in  large  rivers,  throw  straight  across. 

Keep  well  back  from  the  place  you  cast  into.  No  trout  that 
sees  you  will  take  your  lure.  Never  make  more  than  a  cast  or 
two  over  the  same  water;  by  moving  on,  new  trouts  are  con- 
stantly getting  tempted  with  the  fly  or  bait. 

Fish  mostly  in  streams.  The  pools  yield  most  sport  imme- 
diately after  floods. 

Ail  our  remarks  in  the  foregoing  notes  refer  to  fishing  in  clear 
v:ater,  unless  where  the  reverse  is  stated. 


RIVER  TWEED  FISHERIES. 

Commissioners. 
Every  person  who  is  the  owner  of  a  fishing  of  the  annual  value  of 
£30,  or  which  extends  half  a-mile  in  length  where  such  Fishing  is 
only  on  one  side  of  the  River,  or  a  quarter  of  a  mile  where  such  Fish- 
ing comprehends  both  sides  of  it, — the  Husband  of  every  Proprietrix 
or  Liferentrix,  one  guardian  of  each  minor,  one  trustee  of  every  es- 
tate, one  member  of  each  corporation  or  associated  body  holding, 
enjoying,  or  possessing  such  a  Salmon  Fishing  of  the  annual  value  or 
extent  aforesaid. 

Officials. 

General    Clerk  and    Collector  in  the    Upper   District — Alexander 

Curie,  Esq.,  Melrose. 

Treasurer — J.  M.  Meggison,  Esq.,  Berwick. 

Superintendent — Charles  Smurthwaite,  Peebles. 

The  special  general  meeting  of  Commissioners  is  held  at  Cornhill 
on  the  first  Monday  of  September. 


39 


ANALYSIS    OF    THE    TWEED    FISHERY    ACT. 


40 


ANALYSIS  OF  THE  TWEED  FISHERY  ACT. 


The  Tweed  Salmon  Fishings  are  regulated  by  the  Act  of  Parlia- 
ment, 20°  &  21°  Victoria,  cap.  cxhdii,  and  the  Amendment 
Act,  22°  &  23°  Victoria,  cap.  lxx. 

These  measures  are  the  result  of  enquiries  made  in  1S57  and  1859, 
before  Committees  of  the  Lower  and  Upper  Houses,  into  the  exist- 
ing state  of  the  Fishings.  In  the  course  of  this  investigation  the 
fact  of  a  gradual  decrease  in  the  produce  of  the  river  was  established, 
beyond  dispute,  by  the  Tables  of  the  Berwick  Shipping  Company, 
who,  as  proprietors  and  tacksmen,  for  a  number  of  years  back,  have 
occupied  the  largest  proportion  of  the  netting  stations.  Of  the 
causes  assigned  for  this  decrease,  one  of  the  most  prominent  was  the 
employment  of  stell  and  other  fixed  nets  at  the  entrance  of  the 
river.  In  the  Acts  of  Parliament  above  recited,  these,  as  well  as 
cairn-nets,  which,  on  the  occasion  of  a  flood  or  spate,  were  numer- 
ously made  use  of  along  the  entire  course  of  Tweed,  are  declared 
illegal.  The  stake  or  bag-nets  also,  placed  beyond  the  limits  of  the 
river's  mouth  have  been  made  subject  to  a  weekly  close-time  and 
other  salutary  regulations.  In  regard  to  the  wear  shot  net,  it  is  held 
unlawful  in  future  to  use  meshes  of  less  than  seven  inches  round,  or 
extending  an  inch  and  three-quarters  from  knot  to  knot. 

The  Acts  in  question  are  also  armed  with  provisions  which  greatly 
alter  the  terms  of  the  Annual  and  Weekly  Close-times,  as  these  were 
formerly  observed.  According  to  Section  vi ,  in  the  Amendment  Act 
of  1859,  "  It  shall  not  be  lawful  for  any  Person  to  fish  for,  or  take, 
or  aid  'or  assist  in  fishing  for,  or  taking,  any  Salmon  in  or  from  the 
River  at  any  time  between  the  fourteenth  day  of  September  m  any 
Year  and  the  fifteenth  day  of  February  in  the  Year  following,  ex- 
cept'by  means  of  the  Rod  and  Line,  with  the  Artificial  Fly  only, 
nor  with  the  Rod  and  Line  at  any  time  between  the  thirtieth  day 
of  November  in  any  year,  and  the  first  day  of  February  in  the  Year 
following  and  which  respective  Periods  above  defined  shall  be,  and 
be  held  to  be  the  'Annual  Close-times,'  within  the  meaning  of  the 
Recited  Act,  and  this  Act ;  provided  that  the  Commissioners,  or  any 
five  of  their  number  may,  by  writing  under  their  hands,  or  under  the 
hand  of  their  Clerk,  authorize  any  Persons  appointed  by  them  to  fish 
for  and  take  Salmon  in  and  from  the  River,  with  the  consent  of  the 
Owner  of  the  Fishery  from  which  Salmon  are  taken,  during  the 
Annual  Close-times,  for  the  purpose  of  Artificial  Propagation." 

By  the  clause  which  regulates  the  Weekly  Close-time,  it  is  made 
unlawful  for  any  person,  between  the  fifteenth  of  February,  and  the 
fourteenth  of  September,  to  fish  for,  or  assist  in  fishing  for  Salmon  m 
or  from  the  river,  at  any  time,  or  in  any  way  whatsoever,  except  by 
means  of  the  Rod  and  Line,  or  by  means  of  Stake-nets  and  Bag-nets 
as  after-provided,  betwixt  6  p.m.  on  Saturday,  and  6  a.m.  on  the 
Monday  following.  The  Weekly  Close-time  for  the  Stake  and  Bag- 
nets  falls  to  be  regulated  under  the  same  Section,  by  the  state  of  the 
tide  on  the  Monday  morning.  The  penalties  incurred  by  infringement 
of  these  provisions  in  the  Amendment  Act,  are  properly  severe. 


Under  the  Statutes  above  recited,  the  slaying  of  Salmon  by  means 
of  the  leister  is  made  illegal.  A  clause  also,  in  the  Act  of  1859,  ren- 
ders obligatory  the  restoration  of  all  kelts  and  foul  fish  to  the  river, 
whether  taken  by  the  Net  or  by  the  Rod  and  Line.  To  this  obliga- 
tion, so  far  as  the  angler  is  concerned,  an  exception  has  been  made 
in  the  recent  Amendment  Act,  permitting  the  retention  of  Sea-trout, 
although  foul  or  unseasonable  ;  it  being  supposed  that  the  presence 
of  these  fish  in  the  river  imperils  the  security  of  the  fry  and  ova  of 
the  true  salmon,  and  otherwise  interferes  with  their  increase. 

In  landing  salmon  the  angler  is  restricted  betwixt  the  15th  of  Sep- 
tember and  the  1st  of  May  in  the  year  following,  to  the  use  of  the 
Landing  Net ;  the  Cleek  or  Gaff-Hook,  which  was  formerly  employed 
for  that  purpose,  being  prohibited  during  the  period  specified. 

To  the  trout  fishers  on  Tweed  and  its  tributaries,  clause  lxxv.  has 
a  peculiar  interest.' 

It  is  worded  as  follows  : — 

"  Every  person  who  wilfully  kills  any  smolt,  fry,  or  young  brood  of 
salmon  by  the  rod  and  line,  between  the  first  day  of  April  and  the  first 
day  of  June  in  each  year,  or  has  in  his  possession  any  smolt,  fry,  or 
young  brood  of  salmon  taken  by  means  of  the  rod  and  line  during  the 
said  period,  shall,  for  every  such  first  offence,  be  liable  to  a  penalty  of 
sixpence,  and  shall  for  every  second  or  subsequent  offence  be  liable 
to  a  penalty  not  exceeding  two  pounds,  and  an  additional  penalty  of 
two  shillings,  for  each  of  the  smolts,  fry,  or  young  brood  of  salmon  so 
killed,  or  found  in  his  possession  ;  and  the  rod  and  line  whereby  the 
same  hava  been  killed,  and  the  baskets  or  packages  in  which  the 
same  may  be  found,  may  in  the  case  of  every  such  second  or  subse- 
quent offence,  be  seized  or  forfeited." 

The,interests  of  the  angling  community  have  plainly  been  con- 
sulted in  this  provision  of  the  statute.  A  modified  penalty,  compared 
with  what  was  formerly  imposed,  has  been  affixed  in  the  case  at" 
a  first  offence ;  and  the  leniency  shewn  to  trout-fishers  is  further 
exemplified  by  the  limitation  of  the  period,  during  whioh  it  is  held 
unlawful  to  kill  salmon-fry,  to  two  months. 

It  is  not  to  be  inferred,  however,  that  salmon-fry  are  not  in  the 
river,  or  in  taking  humour,  throughout  the  remainder  of  the  angling 
season.  As  pars  or  finger-lings  they  abound ;  and  it  rests  with  every 
conscientious  angler,  not  to  make  abuse  of  the  forbearance  which 
refrains  from  making  their  capture,  while  in  this  state,  the  subject 
of  a  penalty. 

(Printed from  Report  of  Committee  on  Tweed  Fishings.) 

Estimated  Produce  of  all  the  Salmon  Fishings  in  the  River  Tweed, 

calculated  from  the  produce  of  those  Fisheries  occupied  by  the 

Berwick  Shipping  Company,  by  comparing  one  year  with  the 

preceding,  and  reckoning  the  other  Fishings  in  the  Tweed  to  be 

in  the  same  proportion  : — 

Salmon  Grilse     Trout 

In  1829  the  Company's  Fishings  produced       .    2350    15,273    28,889 

The  other  Fishings  in  the  Tweed,  calculated  at  3000    19,500    36,241 


Total  estimated  produce  of  the  Tweed  in  1S29,  5350    34,773    64,630 


4L 


ANALYSIS    OF   THE   TWEED    FISHERY    ACT. 


42 


From  the  data,  the  calculations  were  carried  backwards  to  1S0S,  and 
have  been  continued  yearly  since  1829  on  the  principle  above 
stated,  as  in  the  following  table  : — 


Year. 

Salmon. 

Grilse. 

Trout. 

1S0S 

37,333 

25,324 

21,033 

1809 

30,949 

32,679 

21,402 

1810 

40,782 

49,332 

23,963 

1811 

3S,566 

24.S52 

12,439 

1812 

27,711 

82.53S 

33,604 

1813 

35,273 

61,643 

36,319 

1814 

58,S90 

73,521 

34,161 

1815 

41,044 

97,734 

39,1153 

1S16 

54,041 

120,594 

62,074 

1S17 

36,199 

66,694 

37,131 

1818 

39,267 

59,848 

37,346 

1S19 

31,895 

71.S13 

47,386 

1820 

38.2SS 

116,495 

61,454 

1S21 

34,657 

55,291 

61,339 

1822 

25,250 

47,266 

70,413 

1823 

12,122 

50,794 

49,934 

1S24 

23,664 

73.3S1 

71,161 

1S25 

IS,  957 

61,506 

59,531 

1826 

12,040 

85,378 

69,203 

1827 

10,725 

54,034 

43,441 

182S 

13,511 

39.24S 

39,563 

1829 

5,350 

34,773 

64,630 

1830 

7,415 

66,520 

37,486 

1831 

13,197 

43,244 

77,037 

1832 

9,709 

41,411 

77,308 

1S33 

10,428 

93,939 

60,178 

1834 

10,106 

59,262 

48,852 

1835 

22,642 

S7.707 

S2.229 

1836 

16,957 

34.S46 

63,616 

1837 

14,577 

60,429 

57,426 

183S 

12,785 

7S.577 

40,876 

1839 

15,608 

35,449 

50,124 

1840 

10,920 

52,117 

56,342 

1841 

10,464 

71,254 

64,672 

1S42 

19,198 

109,935 

76,071 

1843 

17,777 

66,293 

54,209 

1844 

21.S30 

SS.003 

99,256 

1845 

IS,  962 

69,750 

54,355 

1S46 

17,878 

37,506 

3S.679 

1847 

9,032 

53,076 

67,796 

1848 

9,478 

97,102 

52,541 

1849 

11.4S4 

59,405 

39.435 

1850 

9,522 

33,864 

49,701 

1S51 

S.7S9 

16,855 

45,326 

1852 

5,  SOS 

28,902 

24,773 

1853 

9,199 

43,075 

37,341 

1854 

15,299 

16,739 

32,645 

1S55 

6,329 

13,952 

23,736 

1856 

4.8S5 

33,992 

80,597 

These  Tables  show  that,  whereas  37,333  adult  salmon  were  taken 
in  the  River  Tweed  in  the  year  1S0S,  a  number  exceeded  in  some 
subsequent  years,  the  take  had  dwindled  down  by  irregular,  though 
certain  steps,  to  48S5  adult  salmon  in  1S56.  Again,  in  turning  to  the 
rentals,  there  will  be  found  a  gradual  decline  from  £12,061  in  1S11  to 
£4859  in  1S56,  and  this  notwithstanding  an  increase  in  the  value  of 
what  may  bo  called  Snorting  Fisheries,  and  the  greater  facilities  af- 
forded by  railways  for  the  transmission  of  the  produce  of  the  Com- 
mercial Fisheries  to  more  numerous  markets. 

In  1807  the  rents  of  the  Salmon  Fishings  on  Tweed  amounted  to 
£15,766,  and  the  number  of  boxes  of  salmon  sent  to  London,  each 
box  containing  8  stone  weight,  was  no  less  than  S445.  The  present 
rents  of  the  river  do  not  greatly  exceed  £4000  [this  statement  was 
published  in  December  1S5S]. 

Peoduce  of  the  Salmon  Fishings  of  the  Eiver  Tweed  from  1857  to 
1862,  being  continuation  of  the  preceding  table  ;  extracted  from 
the  "  Quarterly  Review  "  of  April  1S63  : — 


Year. 

Salmon. 

Grilse. 

Trout. 

1S57 
1858 
1869 
I860 
1861 
1S62 

11,475 
14,614 
12,273 
8,940 
5,379 
8,467 

46,553 
23,590 
13,952 
20,323 
15,036 
25,042 

31.S46 
41,059 
35,081 
26,052 
28,607 
20.9SS 

The  following  is  a  return  of  the  Fish  caught  [mostly  by  the  Rod] 
in  the  Chief  Upper  Fisheries  in  the  years  1856-57-58:— 

1856. 

Netherbarns,            318 

Westhouses,              -  405 

Maxton,            --.._.  55 

Craigover, 200 

Mertoun-under- Water,    -  HO 

Rutherford,      -        -        -        -        -        -  10S 

Makerstoun,     ------  354 

Ortniston  and  Mounteviot,      -  237 

Floors, 512 

Sprouston ,------  450 

2750      2614      505* 
[Taken  from  the  evidence  of  Richard  Hodgson,  Esq.,  in  the  course 
of  Parliamentary  inquiry,  1859.1 


1S57. 

1858. 

281 

82 

623 

68 

4 

8 

188 

42 

90 

48 

160 

24 

312 

60 

248 

4 

298 

90 

410 

79 

*  Owing  to  a  misapprehension  by  the  House  of  Lords,  in  the  pass- 
ing of  the  Tweed  Fisheries'  Bill  in  August  1857,  the  Annual  Close- 
time  for  Rod  Angling  extended  from  the  14th  of  October  to  the  1st 


43 


AGRTCULTUEE    OP   EOXBUEGHSHIBE    AND    BEEWICKSHIRE. 


44 


COMPARATIVE  SKETCH 

OF  THE 

AGRICULTUEE    OF   BERWICKSHIRE    AND 
ROXBURGHSHIRE*. 


SOILS. 

Born  counties  have  a  great  diversity  of  soils.  These  consist  of 
clay,  loam,  sand,  peat,  and  I  add,  as  distinguished  from  all  these, 
friable  mnuld.  In  general,  each  description  of  soil  is  in  consider- 
able patches,  and  less  broken  than  in  many  counties.  There  are, 
doubtless,  farms  which  consist  of  every  variety  of  soil  named, 
but  these  are  exceptional,  and  one  kind  of  soil  generally  extends 
over  large  tracts  of  land. 

Clay  prevails  in  the  Merse,  where  it  is  very  retentive.  It  is, 
however,  of  a  fertile  character,  which  is  at  once  apparent  from 
its  black  colour.  It  has  here  also  a  considerable  surface-depth, 
and  is  much  more  productive  than  the  Roxburgh  clays. 

Loam  in  its  best  character  prevails  on  the  banks  of  the  Leader, 
to  the  north  of  Lauder,  of  Whitadder,  and  Blackadiier,  in  Lower 
Teviotdale,  and  all  along  the  banks  of  the  Tweed,  from  Dry- 
burgh  to  Berwick.  It  forms,  indeed,  all  the  peninsula  between 
Tweed  and  Teviot,  extending  from  Nisbet  on  the  one  side  to 
Rutherford  on  the  other,  to  the  junction  of  these  rivers,  and 
which  peninsula  constitutes  the  most  fertile  soil  in  Roxburgh. 


of  March.  This  misapprehension  was  rectified  by  the  Tweed  Amend- 
ment Act  of  1S59,  by  which  the  Annual  Close-tinie  for  Rod  Angling 
was  restricted,  commencing  on  the  1st  of  December  and  ending  on 
the  1st  February.  This  will  sufficiently  account  for  the  comparative 
small  number  of  Salmon  taken  by  the  rod  in  1S5S.  Rod  fishing  has 
since  greatly  improved,  both  as  regards  the  quantity  and  the  size  of 
the  fish  caught. 

We  here  add  a  quotation  from  the  "Quarterly  Review"  of  April 
1863,  in  reference  to  the  new  Act : — "  The  experience  of  the  Tweed, 
we  venture  to  maintain,  though  still  imperfect,  shews  that  the  decay 
of  the  river  has  been  arrested,  and  that  large  Salmon  of  some  age — 
the  best  and  surest  breeders — now  abound  in  its  waters,  and  the  re- 
sult is,  in  the  main,  to  be  attributable  to  improved  legislation." 

The  Rental  of  the  River  from  a  sum  not  greatly  exceeding  £4000 
in  1S5S  had  increased  to  £7052,  7s.  at  7th  September  1S63. 

*  Compiled,  by  permission,  from  a  very  interesting  Essay  on  the 
subject,  by  James  Sanderson.  Originally  published  in  the  Transac- 
tions of  the  Highland  Society,  and  subsequently  published  in  a  sepa- 
rate form.    Edinburgh  :  W.  Blackwood  &l  Sons.    Price,  Is.  6d 


Peat,  like  the  mountain-ranges,  is  most  abundant  in  the  out- 
skirts of  the  counties,  and  is  rarely  met  with  in  the  interior, 
with  the  exception  of  some  patches  in  the  parishes  of  Gordon 
and  Greenlaw.  This  soil  is  chiefly  confined  to  the  pastoral  dis- 
tricts. It  partially  extends  along  the  southern  base  of  the  Lam- 
mermuirs,  slightly  intersperses  the  Hawick  range,  and  is  singu- 
larly interstratified  with  clay  in  Liddesdale.  Zieep  peat-  moss  is 
not  prevalent. 

Sand  covers  a  comparatively  small  area,  In  the  valley  of 
Upper  Teviot  the  soil  is  partly  sand  and  partly  gravel.  In  the 
parish  of  Westruther  there  is  a  considerable  portion  of  black 
sand,  which  has  the  appearance  of  peat.  In  the  Merse,  sand  of 
a  similar  character  is  to  be  met  with,  but  the  area  it  covers  is 
not  large. 

Friable  Earth. — This  description  of  soil  covers  a  large  area, 
and  is  what  is  generally  designated  a  barley  soil.  The  upland 
slopes  of  Leader,  of  Ellem,  and  Rule  are  of  this  character  of  soil. 

SIMILARITY    OF    THE   TWO    COUNTIES. 

Although  Roxburgh  and  Berwick  in  some  respects  differ,  yet, 
on  the  whole,  no  two  counties  could  be  named  which  have  such 
a  similarity  of  soil  and  farming.  With  respect  to  minor  matters 
there  is  doubtless  some  variance.  Roxburgh  is  more  highly 
favoured  than  Berwick  for  markets ;  has,  on  the  whole,  a  better 
turnip  soil ;  its  fields  are  larger,  its  fences  better  trimmed,  and 
its  land  generally  requires  less  labour,  and  is  better  adapted  for 
fattening  flocks.  Berwick,  on  the  other  hand,  has  the  best 
wheat  soil,  produces  the  bulkiest  crops  of  beans  and  the  best 
mangold,  has  the  advantage  of  being  bounded  on  the  east  by  a 
maritime  coast,  and  the  flocks  which  depasture  its  mountains 
are  less  liable  to  disease  than  the  mountain  flocks  of  Roxburgh. 
The  hills  in  Roxburgh  are  green  and  grassy;  those  in  Berwick 
are  black  and  heathy.  Both  counties  are  alike  in  having  vari- 
ous modes  of  sheep -farming,  in  having  the  same  system  of  rota- 
tion, in  producing  the  same  varieties  of  crops,  in  invariably 
associating  tillage  and  pasture,  in  adopting  the  same  principles 
and  using  the  same  forces  in  husbandry.  They  agree,  too,  in 
each  having  mountainous  tracts  and  undulating  plains,  diversi- 
fied woodlands,  and  verdant  slopes, — in  fact,  in  having  the  same 
description  of  farms  and  the  same  style  of  farming. 

SYSTEM  OF  ROTATION  AND  HUSBANDRY. 

The  general  system  of  farming  embraces  stock  and  crop  hus- 
bandry, and  the  farmers'  attention  to,  and  profits  derived  from 
each,  are  somewhat  equally  divided.  It  is  the  union  of  these 
two  branches  of  farming  that  is  the  mainspring  of  the  Border 
farmers'  success,  and  which,  indeed,  forms  the  basis  of  all  ad- 
vanced and  successful  fanning.    In  this  respect  either  of  the 


45 


AGRICULTURE    OF    ROXBURGHSHIRE    AND    BERWICKSHIRE. 


46 


counties  is  not  equalled  by  any  other  county  in  Scotland ;  for 
they  excel  not  only  on  account  of  uniting  the  two  branches,  but 
in  the  efficient  manner  in  which  both  departments  are  carried  out. 
The  rental  of  arable  land  varies  from  £1,  5s.  to  £3, 10s.  per 
acre ;  35s.  being  about  the  average  rental.  During  the  last 
twenty-five  years  rents  have  risen  35  per  cent,  but  in  most  of 
cases  farmers  have  got  in  return  improved  homestead  accom- 
modation, and  an  increased  number  of  farm  cottages.  The 
average  rental  of  pastoral  land  is  6s.  6d.  per  acre.  This  descrip- 
tion of  land  has  recently  risen,  and  is  rising  very  rapidly,  doubt- 
less attributable  to  the  fact  that  the  store-producing  area  is 
being  rapidly  diminished,  and  that  while  the  British  farmer  suf- 
fers from  foreign  competition  in  grain,  yet  in  the  production  of 
stock — more  especially  sheep — he  has  no  competitor.  Hence  it 
is  that  the  Border  farmer  evinces  sound  judgment  in  his  manage- 
ment; for  while  he  devotes  much  attention  to  the  cultivation  of 
white  crops,  and  regards  this  department  as  an  essential  adjunct, 
yet  he  makes  it  a  subordinate  or  rather  an  auxiliary  branch  of 
stock-farming. 

The  Steadings  are  generally  conveniently  placed  near  to  the 
centre  of  the  farms.  Modern  steadings  are  very  compact,  yet 
commodious,  and  contain  fixed  steam-powers,  with  barn  and 
granaries  attached,  well-ventilated  single-stalled  stables,  with 
every  feeding  convenience  for  hay,  boiled  and  dried  food ;  stalls, 
boxes,  and  courts  for  fattening  cattle ;  boiling  and  turnip  houses, 
cart-sheds,  piggeries,  etc.  On  large  farms  there  are  generally  a 
smithy  and  occasionally  a  saw-mill,  the  latter  driven  by  steam- 
power.  For  the  sake  of  lessening  the  cartage  of  grain  and 
manure,  there  are  occasionally  two  steadings  on  one  farm. 

CROP  HUSBANDRY. 

Wheat  is  the  most  valuable  cereal  crop,  and  in  both  counties 
occupies  a  prominent  place. — Adapted  to  the  strong  clays  of  the 
Merse,  and  to  the  land  more  especially  north  of  the  Tweed  in 
Roxburghshire,  the  wheat  crops  raised,  both  as  regards  yield  and 
quality,  are  not  much  inferior  to  those  of  the  best  wheat-grow- 
ing districts  in  Scotland. 

According  to  the  agricultural  statistics  drawn  up  under  the 
auspices  of  the  Highland  Society  in  1857,  Berwick  takes  the 
sixth  rank  amongst  the  counties  of  Scotland  in  respect  to  the 
proportional  area  under  wheat,  while  Roxburgh  occupies  an  ave- 
rage place. 

Barley. — With  respect  to  acreage  under  this  crop,  Berwick  is 
the  fourth  and  Roxburgh  the  sixth  county  in  Scotland.  The 
quality  is  generally  very  superior. 

Oats. — The  oat  crop,  as  might  be  supposed,  occupies  a  larger 
area  than  any  of  the  other  cereals.  Both  counties  have  a  greater 
acreage  of  oats  than  that  of  wheat  and  barley  combined.    The 


quality  is  generally  superior ;  the  potato  oat  especially,  which 
is  extensively  grown  in  Kelso  district  and  in  the  west  of  Ber- 
wickshire, is  not  surpassed,  if  equalled,  for  quality,  in  any  district. 

Beans  do  not  occupy  a  prominent  place  in  either  county.  The 
Merse  clays  are  well  adapted  for  beans,  and  produce  very  bulky 
crops. 

Peas — Though  less  than  1000  acres,  for  both  counties,  are  under 
this  crop,  yet  either  of  them  has  a  much  larger  area  under  it 
than  any  other  county  in  Scotland.  This  may  be  partly  ascribed 
to  the  demand  for  grey  pease  to  make  peasemeal  and  barley 
bannocks — so  much  used  on  the  eastern  Borders — and  partly 
because  some  of  the  dry  soils  and  sunny  slopes  of  the  Border 
counties  are  singularly  well  adapted  for  the  growth  of  peas. 

Rape. — Next  to  Dumfries,  Berwick  grows  the  largest  area  of 
rape,  and  Roxburgh  follows  as  the  third  rape-producing  county. 

Turnips. — Roxburgh  has  the  largest  proportional  acreage, 
and  Berwick  next,  under  this  crop,  both  counties  having  under 
turnips  about  one-fifth  part  of  their  total  acreage  under  a 
rotation  of  crops.  This  fact  of  itself  is  perhaps  the  highest  eulo- 
gium  that  can  be  paid  to  the  agriculture  of  these  counties ;  for,  as 
a  general  rule,  turnip  culture  and  its  usual  attendant,  sheep  hus- 
bandry, form  the  basis  of  the  highest  farming.  Nor  is  it  only 
with  respect  to  acreage  that  they  excel  in  turnips ;  it  may  safely 
be  affirmed,  that  for  efficient  turnip  culture  and  yield  of  roots 
per  acre  the  county  of  Roxburgh  is  not  surpassed  by  any  county 
in  the  United  Kingdom :  the  same  is  applicable  to  several  dis- 
tricts of  Berwick;  but,  on  the  whole,  the  latter  county,  from 
having  a  larger  area  of  retentive  clays,  is  not  so  well  adapted 
for  the  culture  of  turnips  as  Roxburgh. 

Mangold. — The  small  acreage  Roxburgh  produces  is  not  worth 
noticing.  Berwick  ranks  along  with  Haddington,  as  next  to 
Ayr  and  Wigton,  though  far  short  of  the  area  of  these  mangold- 
producing  counties.  This  reveals  a  singular  anomaly,  as  the 
two  eastern  counties  have  nothing  in  common  with  those  of  the 
west.  In  fact,  the  nature  of  the  respective  soils  is  quite  dif- 
ferent, while  the  much  greater  quantity  of  rain  which  falls  on 
the  west  coast  renders  the  respective  climates  dissimilar.  Depth 
of  soil  is  probably  an  explanation  of  the  seeming  anomaly.  Crops, 
however,  are  not  grown  solelv  for  adaptability  to  soils,  but  their 
extent  is  influenced  by  other  circumstances.  Mangolds,  for  ex- 
ample, are  an  essential  adjunct  to  dairy  farming  or  the  soiling 
of  cattle ;  and  generally  where  these  are  most  carried  out,  there 
are  mangolds  most  grown.  Berwick,  on  the  whole,  produces 
excellent  mangold,  and  several  fields  of  this  root,  which  the 
writer  witnessed  in  the  Merse  this  season  [1862],  could  not  be  far 
short  of  forty  tons  per  acre. 

Potatoes,  as  might  be  anticipated,  from  the  extensive  area  that 
is  allotted  to  the  turnip  crop,  do  not  take  a  prominent  place  in 


47 


AGRICULTURE    OF    ROXBURGHSHIRE    AND    BERWICKSHIRE. 


48 


the  husbandry  of  Roxburgh  and  Berwick.  On  the  contrary, 
Roxburgh  has  Ihe  least  proportionate  acreage  of  any  of  the  Scot- 
tish counties  under  this  crop,  and  Berwick  next. 

Of  Carrots,  Cahbatje,  Bere,  Rye,  Flax,  eic.,the  area  under  each 
and  all  is  so  small  in  both  counties,  that  they  belong  more  to 
the  garden  than  the  field. 

Implements  of  Husbandry. — In  this  'department  there  have 
not  been  many  new  introductions,  but  chiefly  improvements 
effected  on  old  inventions.  The  farmers  of  either  county  have 
not  been  carried  away  by  a  mania  for  possessing  new,  and  often 
comparatively  worthless,  implements. 

STOCK  HUSBANDRY 

embraces  several  important  branches  of  Border  agriculture. 
The  solely  pastoral  farming  is  confined  to  the  Cheviot  and 
Lammermuir  ranges,  the  lofty-peaked  fells  of  Upper  Teviot, 
and  the  Liddesdale  hills.  This  kind  of  farming  has  undergone 
little  change  for  a  long  period,  save  that  the  area  under  it  has 
greatly  diminished,  and  is  rapidly  diminishing.  The  breeds  of 
sheep  in  the  pastoral  districts  are  blackfaced  and  Cheviot.  Though 
there  are  a  few  flocks  of  the  former  in  Liddesdale,  yet  this  breed 
is  now  almost  solely  confined  to  the  Lamrnermuirs.  The  Cheviot 
breed  still  prevails  on  its  native  mountains,  the  Cheviot  Hills — 
and  is  also  the  chief  breed  in  Liddesdale,  Teviotdale,  and  on  the 
Lamrnermuirs.  With  the  exception  of  Dumfries,  Roxburgh 
is  not  equalled  for  a  superior  breed  of  Cheviots  by  any  county. 
In  the  absence  of  statistics  it  is  difficult  to  form  a  close  estimate 
of  the  comparative  numbers  of  blackfaced  and  Cheviot  sheep  in 
the  counties,  but  these  may  be  roughly  estimated  as  six  Cheviots 
for  one  blackfaced.  Occupying  the  highest  hills,  the  blackfaced 
breed,  as  improvements  advance,  is  diminishing ;  indeed,  all 
upland  improvements  tend  to  make  the  Cheviot  breed  supplant 
the  blackfaced;  and,  again,  the  half  Leicesters  supplant  the 
Cheviot,  and  the  full-bred  Leicester  goes  on  extending  its 
range.  The  last  and  best  variety  of  breeding  sheep  are  pure- 
bred Leicesters.  These  are  kept  as  regular  stock  by  a  great 
many  farmers  in  the  Kelso  district,  as  well  as  in  the  low  lands 
of  Berwickshire,  for  breeding  rams.  This  system  has  sprung  up 
within  the  last  twenty  years ;  and  so  rapid  has  been  its  progress 
and  so  marked  its  success,  that  at  the  annual  tup  show  and 
auction  sales  held  at  Kelso  in  September,  the  show  of  Leicester 
rams  is  not  equalled  for  numbers  and  quality  at  any  fair  or 
auction  sales  in  Scotland  (see  notice  of  the  Kelso  Ram  Sale  in  the 
lists  for  that  parish).  Considerable  discussion  has  recently  taken 
place  concerning  the  true  Leicester  or  Dishley  breed,  some 
contending  that  the  sheep  of  Kelso  district  are  pure  Leicesters, 
while  others  contend  that  the  srnaller-boned  sheep  south  of  the 
Tweed  are  the  true  descendants  of  the  Dishley  breed.    Both 


parties  are  probably  correct ;  and  the  difference  of  form  now 
manifested  by  the  so-called  different  breeds  is  not  greater  than 
might  be  supposed,  between  two  off  shoots  of  the  same  breed 
having  been  differently  treated  in  different  climates.  As  it  is, 
the  Kelso  farmers  ought  to  stick  to  the  breed  of  sheep  they  have 
adopted,  as  they  yield  more  wool,  and  have  larger  frames,  than 
the  other  off  shoot  from  Dishley ;  and  their  aptitude  to  fatten 
is  borne  out  by  the  unequalled  rapidity  with  which  they  are 
matured  for  the  market.  And  this  brings  under  notice  a  most 
important  branch  of  farming  lately  sprung  up  also — viz.,  the 
fattening  of  hoggs  (one-year-old  sheep) ;  and  here  also,  in  this 
branch  of  farming,  Berwick  and  Roxburgh  take  the  foremost 
position.  In  concluding  these  cursory  statements  regarding 
the  breeds  of  sheep  in  the  counties,  the  writer  has  pleasure  in 
recording  that  |the  Leicester  breed  of  sheep  in  the  counties  of 
Roxburgh  and  Berwick  [known  as  the  Border  Leicester]  is  not 
equalled  in  any  county  in  Scotland ;  that  the  Cheviot  breed  in 
Roxburgh  is  not  surpassed  in  any  other  county ;  and  that  both 
counties,  maintain  a  greater  number  of  sheep,  in  proportion  to 
their  total  acreage,  than  any  two  other  counties  in  Scotland. 

Cattle. — Concurrent  with  sheep  husbandry  in  lowland  dis- 
tricts is  that  of  cattle.  This  department,  too,  occupies  a  pro- 
minent place  in  both  counties,  and  they  both  stand  high, 
especially  in  the  department  of  fattening  cattle :  of  the  cattle 
thus  fattened,  half  are  bred  in  the  district  and  half  bought  in 
from  other  counties.  Dairy  farming  there  is  none,  save  that 
only  which  is  necessary  to  supply  domestic  wants.  Nor  does 
the  Border  farmer  boast  of  owning  a  long-pedigreed  breed  of 
cattle,  such  as  are  only  kept  to  swell  the  successful  lists  of  the 
National  Show.  The  breed  of  cattle  however,  as  shorthorns, 
are  equal  to,  if  they  do  not  surpass,  those  of  any  other  county, 
but  they  are  generally  more  for  profit  than  fancy. 

Horses — The  few  that  are  bred  are  chiefly  for  agricultural 
work,  not  for  sale.  They  are  partly  of  Clydesdale,  and  partly 
of  English  breed,  and  partly  a  cross  between  these  breeds  (see 
Kelso  horse  fair). 

Swine — In  neither  of  the  counties  takes  a  prominent  place. 
Nearly  all  of  them  are  kept  for  home  use — [Kelso  being  the 
only  place  in  the  district  where  pork  curing  is  carried  on  to  any 
extent — which  see ;  see  also  Kelso  fortnightly  cattle  market.] 

PEASANTRY. 

The  wages  of  a  hind,  or  married  ploughman,  average  in  the 
district  about  £35  a  year,  paid  mostly  in  kind — the  proportions 
varying  in  different  localities. 

Unmarried  ploughmen,  boarded  in  the  farmers  kitchen,  receive 
about  £20  a  year.  Servant  girls  for  house  or  out  work  receive 
on  the  average  £6, 10s.  for  the  summer,  and  £3  for  the  winter 
half-year,  including  board. 


49 


AGRICULTURE   OP    ROXBURGHSHIRE    AND    BERWICKSHIRE. 


50 


Steward's  wages  average  about  £50,  and  shepherd's  about  £45 
a  year. 

Mr.  Sanderson  concludes  his  Essay  with  well  merited  para- 
graphs on  the  Border  farmers  and  peasantry.  Than  the  latter, 
there  is  perhaps  not  such  a  respectable  and  intelligent  class  of 
labourers  existing  anywhere:  as  for  the  farmers,  their  farms 
vouch  for  the.in. 

[If  further  information  be  required  on  the  subject  of  the  Agri- 
culture of  Berwick  and  Roxburgh  shires,  the  reader  cannot  do 
better  then  consult  Mr.  Sanderson's  Essay.] 

Of  the  Bondage  system,  which  is  universal  in  the  district, 
Mr.  Sanderson  possesses  a  rose-coloured  opinion,  and  passes  it 
with  a  pat  on  the  shoulder ;  but  as  the  system  is  evidently  des- 
tined, sooner  or  later,  to  be  the  means  of  trouble,  and  affect  the 
present  relations  of  farmer  and  hind ;  and  as  many  living  in  the 
district  know  only  of  the  system  by  the  name ;  and  the  name  to 
many,  living  where  the  system  does  not  exist  implying  a  sort  of 
serfdom,  we  may  state  that  the  following  are  its  principles : — 

The  Bondager  (i.e.  stout  lass,  employed  by  the  farmer  in  his 
fields,  at  so  much  per  day  [lOd.  to  Is.],  when  required;  and 
whom  the  bind,  by  use  and  wont,  is  bound — and  hence,  we  pre- 
sume, the  name  of  Bondager — to  provide)  is  by  law  the  servant 
of  the  hind  {i.e.,  married  ploughman,  living  in  his  own  cottage, 
and  having  a  wife  and  family) ;  she  is  hired  by  him,  and  although 
she  is  employed  by  the  farmer,  the  hind  is  responsible  for  her 
wages ;  in  many  instances,  however,  the  hind  finds  a  bondager 
in  his  own  daughter. 

The  present  wages  of  a  bondager,  or  out-worker  as  she  is 
sometimes  called,  [she  has  generally  better  wages  than  a  house 
servant]  average  about  seven  pounds  ten  shillings  for  the  sum- 
mer half-year,  and  four  pounds  in  winter — these  wages  at  all 
events  are  common — and  these  the  hind  is  bound  to  pay  what- 
ever work  may  be  done  by  her;  but  as  she  is  generally  well 
employed,  there  are  comparatively  few  cases  when  her  annual 
earnings  do  not  amount  to  about  fourteen  pounds,  so  that  the 
hind  actually  receives  about  two  pounds  ten  shillings  more  than 
he  pays ;  and  if  by  any  possibility  she  could  be  boarded  on  fifty 
shillings  for  the  year,  the  hind  could  have  no  reason  to  com- 
plain in  a  money  point  of  view.  The  field  has  its  charms  for 
these  women ;  their  general  strength  enables  them  to  do  all  that 
is  expected  of  them;  the  demand  for  their  services  gives  them 
full  independence ;  the  high  wages  furnish  a  dress  agreeable  to 
their  taste ;  and  there  is  a  lightsomeness  in  the  half-yearly  tenure 
and  the  coming  market,  which,  inducing  a  change  of  place  and 
company,  fills  up  an  existence  of  agreeable  excitement. 

There  are  three  stages  in  the  life  of  every  hind  who  keeps  to 
his  calling,  of  very  unequal  circumstances :  first — when  a  young 


man,  boarded  in  the  farmer's  kitchen,  and  having  his  bed  in  the 
stable  loft,  he  receives  £20  a  year,  and  having  neither  house,  wife, 
nor  bondager  to  give  him  trouble  or  expense,  he  lives  an  easy 
thoughtless  life :  at  this  stage  he  is  known  in  the  district  as  a 
ploughman,  as  distinguished  from  a  hind  or  married  ploughman ; 
the  second,  when  he  marries  and  has  a  young  family ;  the  third, 
when  his  family  are  able  to  work.  The  bondage  system  is  felt 
only  when  he  enters  the  second  stage ;  in  the  other  two  he  finds 
himself  rid  of  it,  or  practically  so,  and  his  wages  are  then 
fair  and  adequate;  but  the  second  stage  compels  many  to  abandon 
the  plough  for  the  spade  and  pick ;  others  emigrate  rather  than 
submit  to  the  ordeal  it  entails ;  whilst  others  drag  through  the 
stage  in  poverty  and  wretchedness,  the  effects  of  which  never 
leave  them :  and  this  must  be  apparent  to  any  who  will  take 
the  trouble  to  look  into  his  circumstances  during  this  period  of  his 
hindship.  Allowing  his  wages  to  be  £35,  or  rather  £37 :  10, 
including  the  fifty  shillings  gained  by  his  bondager,  and  from 
that  deduct  the  board  of  the  bondager,  which  cannot  be  esti- 
mated under  fifteen  or  sixteen  pounds,  which  include  lodgings 
and  washing ;  leaving  but  a  little  over  twenty  pounds  for  him- 
self, his  wife,  and  generally  a  large  family — a  family  often  of 
four  or  five  unfit  for  work.  From  these  circumstances  his  whole 
wage  cannot  be  estimated  above  eight  shillings  a-week  on  an 
average ;  in  fact  the  money  received  by  a  youug  man  when 
boarded,  and  having  no  responsibility,  is  just  about  the  same  as 
that  he  has  for  himself  and  family  when  married;  and  has  in- 
curred the  responsibility  of  providing  a  field  hand  for  the 
farmer,  and  of  heing  liable  for  her  wages.  Add  to  this  the  dis- 
comfort of  having  the  continual  presence  of  a  strange  woman  in 
the  cottage — limited  in  many  cases  to  a  single  apartment,  divided 
by  the  beds  into  a  but  and  a  ben  :  with  the  addition  of  a  loft, 
which  may  happen  to  be  habitable  or  not,  but  which  is  seldom 
or  never  used  for  bedroom  accommodation ;  and  the  effect  which 
such  a  circumstance  must  have  in  deteriorating  the  moral  feeling 
both  of  the  hind's  family  and  the  hired  girl.  It  may  be  sug- 
gested, and  occasionally  with  truth,  that  these  circumstances  do 
not,  or  seldom,  affect  the  feeling  of  comfort  or  privacy  in  the  hind's 
family — that  they  are  accustomed  to  the  system,  and  do  not 
mind  the  stranger's  intrusion.  Taking  this  for  granted  it  tells 
the  worse  for  the  system,  as  shewing  in  many  instances  the 
deadening  of  genuine  home  feeling. 

The  third  stage — when  the  hind's  family  has  grown  up,  and 
one  of  his  daughters  can  take  the  bondage  work — may  be  thus 
described  in  Mr.  Sanderson's  words : — 

"  In  such  cases  bondage  is  a  blessing,  as  it  not  only  secures 
employment  for  the  families  of  the  hinds,  but,  along  with  this, 
they  are  kept  under  the  influence  of  parental  example  and  re- 
proof, instead  of  being  sent  abroad  on  tM  world,  away  from  the 


51 


POPULATION    OF   THE    COUNTIES   OF   BERWICK,    ROXBURGH,    AND   SELKIRK. 


52 


parental  eye,  and  at  a  time  when  lliey  'are  most  susceptible  of  good 
or  evil" 

These  few  words,  while  they  proclaim  the  blessing  of  the 
system  when  it  assumes  the  limited  parental  form,  imply  also  its 
danger  when  it  assumes  the  aggregate  form  of  service.  Even 
in  its  second  and  best  stage  the  hind's  welfare  must  depend  on 
the  gratuitous  labour  of  his  daughter ;  for  had  he  to  pay  her  the 
wages  he  would  to  a  hired  bondager,  he  would  remain  at  the 
second  stage  level. 

The  Bothy  system,  such  as  exists  in  some  of  the  northern 
counties,  is  unknown  in  the  district. 

In  the  introductory  notice  of  Selkirkshire  a  few  remarks  will 
be  made  on  the  agriculture  of  that  county. 


REMARKS 


UPON  THE 


POPULATION  OF  THE  COUNTIES  OF  BER- 
WICK, ROXBURGH,  AND  SELKIRK. 


We  here  give  a  few  comparative  statements  extracted  from 
the  Population  Returns  of  1861  (published  1862). 

On  the  8th  of  April  1861 ,  the  number  of  persons  in  Scotland , 
including  the  Military,  and  Royal  Navy  and  Merchant  Seamen, 
as  were  in  Scotch  waters  on  that  day,  was  3,062,294.  From  this 
it  appears  that  the  population  of  Scotland,  between  the  years 
1851  and  1861,  increased  only  at  the  rate  of  6  per  cent;  while 
during  the  previous  10  years  it  had  increased  at  the  rate  of  10J 
per  cent. 

This  poDulation  of  over  Three  Millions  was  divided  into 
678,584  families,  who  inhabited  393,220  houses,  containing 
are  46  persons  in  every  10  families  (or  rather  over  4J),  17 
1,708,405  rooms  with  windows,  thus  indicating  that  there 
families  in  every  10  houses,  77  persons  in  every  10  houses,  43 
rooms  in  every  10  houses,  25  rooms  for  every  10  families,  17 
persons  to  every  10  rooms.  Of  these  678,584  families,  the 
males  were  1,449,848,  and  the  females  1,612,446  (including  the 
navy  and  merchant  shipping,  which  seems  to  have  had  120 
women  aboard);  being  a  population  of  111  females  to  100 
males.*     The  several  counties  exhibit  the  greatest  possible 

*  These  numbers,  however,  do  not  take  into  account  the  large  number  of 


difference  in  the  proportion  of  the  sexes.  Thus  in  Roxburgh 
there  were  only  102  females  to  each  100  males,  and  it  is  quoted 
as  being  (after  Peebles,  whose  proportion  was  over  10H  to  100) 
the  county  where  the  nearest  equality  of  the  sexes  exist 
[this  is  accounted  for  by  the  influx  of  railway  labourers  at 
the  time] ;  while  in  Shetland  the  females  were  in  such  excess 
that  they  were  slightly  over  142  to  each  100  males.  This  ex- 
cess is  difficult  to  account  for,  except  by  the  supposition  of  the 
greater  proportion  of  males  who  enter  the  mercantile  navy  and 
the  high  male  mortality  from  drowning.  In  three  years 
(1855 '6  and  '7)  no  fewer  then  1263  males  in  Shetland  were 
drowned ;  while  only  238  females  died  from  the  same  cause. 

The  proportions  of  Roxburgh  are  already  stated.  Berwick 
is  near  the  average,  being  110  females  to  100  males  ;  while 
Selkirk  is  und.jr  it,  being  105  to  100.  The  exact  numbers  were 
as  follows : — 


County. 

Separate 
families. 

MaleB. 

Females. 

Both 
Sexes. 

Children 

at  School, 

5  to  15. 

Roxburgh     . 
Selkirk     .     . 
Berwick    .     . 

11,626 
2,237 
7,912 

26,782 

5,026 

17,423 

27,337 

5,352 

19,190 

54  119 
10,449 
36,613 

8,471 
1,632 
6,062 

The  returns  of  population  for  1861  embrace  some  new  fea- 
tures not  given  in  former  censuses,  which,  from  their  important 
bearing  on  some  of  our  most  interesting  social  enquiries,  merit 
special  notice.  The  first  of  these  is  the  number  of  families  in 
each  county  and  parish  ;  the  second  is  the  number  of  inhabited 
rooms  having  no  windows,  and  one  or  more  windows; — this, 
when  compared  with  the  number  of  inhabited  houses,  affords 
a  means  of  judging  of  the  housing  accommodation  of  the  popu- 
lation, as  they  shew  the  average  number  of  families  and  the 
average  number  of  rooms  to  each  family.  Thus  in  Roxburgh 
223  families  lived  in  rooms  with  no  windows  [see  Castleton, 
Bowden,  and  Cavers  lists].     In  Berwick  24  thus  lived,  and  in 

Scotsmen  who  are  serving  in  the  army,  navy,  and  mercantile  shipping,  and 
who  in  the  census  returns  are  only  represented  by  the  number  of  military, 
or  of  seamen  actually  in  Scotland  or  on  its  coasts  when  the  census  was 
taken.  As  compared  with  England,  however,  where  the  proportion  is  105 
females  to  100  males,  the  proportion  of  females  in  Scotland  is  dispropor- 
tionally  great,  and  must  be  accounted  for  by  the  fact  that  a  much  larger 
proportion  of  men  leave  the  country  than  in  England,  either  aa  emigrants 
to  the  colonies,  foreign  countries,  and  England,  or  to  engage  themselves 
in  the  army,  navy,  and  merchant  shipping.  The  common  belief  is  that 
England  is  the  great  nursery  for  our  seamen  ;  and  so  in  one  sense  she  is, 
if  mere  numbers  be  considered.  But  in  proportion  to  her  population,  Scot- 
land furnishes  62  persons  for  every  25  furnished  by  England,  while  the 
emigration  returns  furnish  a  proof  that  Scotland  sends  out  in  proportion 
to  its  population  nearly  twice  as  many  emigrants  as  England. 


53 


BORDER   DISTRICT    INFORMATION. 


54 


Selkirk  2.  The  importance  of  this  information  in  a  sanatory 
point  of  view  cannot  be  over-estimated.  The  third  feature  is 
the  introduction  of  the  number  of  children,  between  the  ages 
of  6  and  16,  in  actual  attendance  at  school  during  the  first  week 
of  April.  The  particulars  of  these  for  each  parish  will  be  found 
in  the  parochial  lists — see  also  comparative  sketches  of  the 
housing  accommodation  of  the  towns  in  the  district  at  the  end 
of  the  Selkirkshire  and  Berwickshire  lists. 

Scotland  exceeds  all  other  countries  in  the  proportion  of  her 
female  population. 


BORDER  DISTRICT  INFORMATION. 


REGISTERS  OF  SASINES,  &0., 

FOR  THE  COUNTIES  OF  ROXBURGH,  SELKIRK,  PEEBLES. 

Keeper — John  Murray,  Esq.  of  Wooplaw,  W.S.  (Office,  Melrose). 

FOR  THE  COUNTY  OF  BERWICK. 

Keeper — Robert  Romanes  (Office,  Lauder). 


DISTRICT  LUNACY  BOARD  FOR  THE  COUNTIES  OF 

ROXBURGH,  SELKIRK,  AND  BERWICK. 

20  and  21  Victoria,  cap.  71. 

MEMBERS  FOR  ROXBURGHSHIRE. 

W.  O.  Rutherfurd  of  Edgerston,  Sher.-Dep.  of  the  County,  Chairman. 
Sir  Wm.  Scott  of  Ancrum,  Bart.     I  John  Paton  of  Crailing- 
John  Ord  of  Muirhouselaw.  The  Provost  of  Jedburgh  for  the 

Right  Hon.  the  Earl  of  Minto.  time  being. 

MEMBER  FOR  SELKIRKSHIRE. 

Charles  Plumnier,  Esq.,  of  Sunderland  Hall. 

MEMBERS  FOR  BERWICKSHIRE. 


Sir  Geo.  Houston  Boswall,  Bart. 

of  Blackadder. 
Major  Wm.  H.  Smith  of  Cruicks 

field. 
John  Hood,  Esq.  of  Stoneridge. 

Clerk — James  Erskine,  writer,  Melrose. 


George  C.  T.  Cranstoun,  Esq.  of 

Dewar. 
Lieut. -Col.  Geo.  Logan  Home  of 

Broomhouse. 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  AND  SELKIRKSHIRE  TEMPERANCE 

AGENCY. 

President— Peter  Hunter,  Darnick.     Vice-PresidenWW.  Waterston. 

Treasurer— A.  Anderson.         Secretary— D.  D.  Deans. 

Committee— Rev.  W.  Crombie,  Melrose,  James  Hart,  Charles  Smith, 

A.  Milne,  W.  Tait,  W.  Macbeau. 


EVANGELICAL  ALLIANCE. 

South-Eastern  Sub-Division, 

Comprehending  the  Counties  of  Roxburgh,  Berwick,  and  Selkirk, 

President— The  Hon.  Robert  Baillie,  Eildon  Hall. 

Vice-Presidents — Mr  Nixon,  Lynwood  ;  Mr  Dudgeon,  Spylaw  ;  David 

Pringle,  Esq.  of  Wilton  Lodge;  Mr  Paton,  and  Mr  Rodger,  Selkirk. 

Thomas  J.  Dunn,  Melrose,  Secretary  and  Treasurer. 

Annual  General  Meeting  at  Melrose,  with  District  Meetings 

occasionally. 


ROXBURGHSHIRE   AND  SELKIRKSHIRE  ADMINISTRATIVE 

BATTALION  OF  RIFLE  VOLUNTEERS. 

(Head-Quarters,  Melrose.) 

Colonel — Right  Hon.  Lord  Polwarth,  of  Mertoun. 

Major — Sir  George  H.  S.  Douglas.  Bart.,  of  Springwood  Park. 

Captain  and  Adjutant — J.  F.  Macpherson,  Melrose. 

The  Battalion  is  composed  of  the  following  corps  (the  particulars  of 

which  are  extracted  from  the  Adjutant's  Report,  made  up  to  30th 

November  1S63) : — 

Corps.  Stgth.  Mksm.  Best  Shot.  ut'cfass 


1st  Roxburgh  (Jedburgh)  85  11 

2d        Do.         (Kelso)....  89  86 

3d        Do.         (Melrose)..  69  4 

4th      Do.         (Hawick)..  115  12 

1st  Selkirk  (Galashiels)  . .  97  11 

2d     Do.     (Selkirk) 77  12 


Sergt.  W.  S.  Davidson. 
Private  George  Kerr  . 
Sergt.  R.  Somerville  . 

Sergt.  F.  Deans 

Private  George  Hall. . 
Sergt.  Thos.  Mitchell 


13 
18 
11 
16 
11 
12 


Best  Shot  of  Battalion — Private  G.  Kerr,  2d  Roxburgh,  IS  points. 

Total  enrolled  strength  of  the  Battalion 532. 

(For  particulars  of  the  corps,  see  the  lists  of  their  respective  towns. 
For  Berwickshire  Battalion,  see  Berwickshire  lists.) 


BORDER  RIFLE  ASSOCIATION. 

Annual  Subscription— Effective  Members  of  Battalion  and  Associated 
Companies,  2s.  6d. ;  all  others,  5s. ;  Life  Membership,  £5,  5s. 
Patron— His  Grace  the  Duke  of  Buccleuch  and  Queensberry. 
President — His  Grace  the  Duke  of  Roxburghe,  K.T 
Convener— Major  Sir  G.  H.  S.  Douglas,  Bart.,  of  Springwood  Park. 
Hon.  Secretary— Colin  A.  Hutchinson,  solicitor,  Kelso. 
The  object  of  the  Association  is  to  give  permanence  to  Volunteer 
Corps,  and  to  promote  Rifle  Shooting  generally,  but  more  particu- 
larly among  the  Volunteers  in  the  Counties  of  Roxburgh  and  Selkirk. 
The  annual  contest  is  held  in  the  autumn  at  Melrose,  when  prizes 
are  awarded.     Their  value  in  1863  was  £193,  15s.  4d.     Total  number 
of  winners,  43. 

BORDER  COURSING  CLUB. 

Entry-Money  which  constitutes  a  life-membership,  £2. 
Hon.  Secretary— Mr  John  Usher,  Stodrig. 


55 


BORDER   DISTRICT    INFORMATION  :    ROAD    TRUSTS. 


56 


The  meeting  takes  place  annually  about  the  beginning  of  October 
on  the  Sprouston  Barony.  The  Spring  Meeting  has  been  discon- 
tinued.    The  contests  are  entirely  for  sweepstakes. 


ROAD  TRUSTS. 
Roxburghshire  and  Berwickshire 
Road  from  Carter  Bar  to  Bridgehaugh,  near  Nether  Blainslie. 
Road  from  near  Eildon  to  the  confines  of  the  county,  near  Cartha. 
Road  from  Carter  to  Hawick ;  from  Hawick  to  Kelso. 
Road  from  Jedwater  line,  by  Swinnie,  to  the  Hawick  line. 
Road  from  Ancrum  Toll,  by  Belses,  to  Midlem  Bridge. 
Road  from  Jedburgh,  over  the  Dunion,  to  Spittal  guide-post. 
Road  from  near  Langhaugh  to  the  Bridge  at  Galashiels,  and  thence 
along  Bridge  Street,  to  junction  with  county  of  Selkirk,  near  Post- 
Office,  and  thence  by  Wilderhaugh  to  the  Damhead,  to  where  it 
joins  the  county  of  Selkirk  on  the  Peebles  road. 
James  Erskine  and  Alexander  Curie,  solicitors,  Melrose,  Clerks. 
J.  M'Connell,  Penrith,  General  Surveyor. 
J.  Nelson,  Jedburgli,  Assistant-Surveyor. 
Special  General  Meeting  held  at  Jedburgh  first  Tuesday  in  June,  and 
Statutory  Meeting  held  at  Jedburgh  second  Wed.  of  September. 

Drtgrange  Pontage. 

Act  under  Statute  46  Geo.  3,  cap.  4. 

Jas.  Erskine  and  Alex.  Curie,  solicitors,  Melrose,  Clerks. 

John  M'Connell,  Penrith,  General  Surveyor. 

John  Nelson,  Jedburgh,  Assistant-Surveyor. 

The  letting  of  Tolls,  on  above  roads,  takes  place  annually  at  Jedburgh 

on  the  second  Tuesday  of  March,  at  One  o'clock. 

Great  Road  and  other  Turnpike  Trusts,  partly  situated  in  the 

County  of  Roxburgh. 
Roads  from  Kelso  to  Firebum  Mill,  and  from  Kelso  to  Orange  Lane — 

J.  Cunningham,  Coldstream,  Surveyor. 
Road  from  Kelso  to  CornhilL  by  south  side  of  the  Tweed— "William 

Brown,  Surveyor. 
Road  from  Kelso  to  St  Boswells— William  Brown,  Kelso,  and  Thomas 

Mitchell,  Melrose,  Surveyors. 
Road  from  Jedburgh  Road,  uear  Eckford,  through  Morebattle  and 

Tetholm,  to  the  English  Border— "Wm.  Brown,  Surveyor. 
Kelso  Bridge — "William  Brown,  Surveyor. 

"Wm.  Smith  and  Chas.  Robson,  Kelso,  Clerks  and  Treasurers. 
Road  from  Lauder,  through  Kelso,  by  Haddon  Rigg,  to  the  English 
Border — "William  Brown,  Kelso,  Surveyor. 
"William  Smith  and  Charles  Robson,  solicitors,  Kelso,  Clerks. 
Robert  Curry,  Treasurer. 
Meetings  not  fixed. 
The  letting  of  Tolls  on  above  Roads  takes  place  annually  at  Kelso, 
generally  on  the  last  Friday  of  March. 

Selkirk  and  St.  Boswells  Turnpike  Trust. 

James  Curie,  solicitor,  Melrose,  Clerk  and  Treasurer. 

Thomas  Mitchell,  Surveyor. 


Mertoun  Bridge  Trust. 

Alexander  Curie,   Melrose,   Clerk  and  Treasurer. 

Thomas  Mitchell,  Surveyor. 

Tolls  let  annually,  on  last  Saturday  of  March. 

Haremoss  and  Scotsdike  Turnpike  Trust,  (Eastern  Division.) 

Qualification  of  Trustees,  £200  Scots  in  County  Valuation  Books. 

Geo.  and  Jas.  Oliver,  Hawick,  Clerks.     Wm.  Sime,  Surveyor. 

LlDDESDALE  TURNPIKE  TRUST. 

Qualification  of  Trustees,   £100  Scots  in  County  Valuation  Books. 
Geo.  and  Jas.  Oliver,  Hawick,  Clerks.    A.  Wilson,  Surveyor. 


BERWICKSHIRE  ROAD  TRUSTS. 

Middle  District,  and  Upsettlington  Branch  (now  called  Middle 

District). 

Quarterly  Meetings  are  held  on  the  first  Wednesdays  of  January, 

July,  and  October,  and  second  Wednesday  of  March.     Half-yearly 

Meetings  are  held  on  the  first  Wednesdays  in  April  and  November. 

Roup  of  Tolls,  at  Dunse,  on  first  Wednesday  of  April. 

G.  Peat,  Dunse,  Clerk  and  Treasurer. 

John  Waite,  Dunse,  Suiweyor. 

Eastern  District. 

James  Bowhill,  Ayton,  Clerk  and  Treasurer. 

John  Waite,  Dunse,  Surveyor. 

Greenlaw  Turnpike. 

9  Vic.,  Session  1S46. 

James  C.  Robson,  Dunse,  General  Clerk  and  Treasurer. 

James  Cunningham,  Coldstream,  Surveyor. 

Jonathan  Melrose,  Coldstream,  Clerk  to  the  Southern  Division. 

Whiteeurn  and  Kelso  Turnpike. 

R.  Romanes,  Lauder,  Clerk  and  Collector. 

Thomas  Mitchell,  Melrose,  Surveyor. 

Coldstream  Bridge. 
Two  fixed  General  Meetings  are  held  each  year  at  Greenlaw,  upon 
the  first  Monday  of  April,  and  upon  the  Monday  before  the  last 
Tuesday  of  October.     Other  Meetings  are  held  when  required. 
James  C.  Robson,  Dunse,  Clerk. 

Lauder  District. 

Robert  Romanes,  Lauder,  Clerk. 

Dunse  and  Westruther. 

William  Stevenson,  accountant,  Dunse,  Clerk. 

Ladykirk  and  Norham  Bridge. 

Let  of  Tolls  takes  place  at  Dunse,  on  first  Wednesday  of  April. 

Jonathan  Melrose,  Coldstream,  Clerk. 

James  Cunningham,  Coldstream,  Suiweyor. 


57 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    VALUATION    AND   AREA    OP   THE    PARISHES. 


58 


ROXBURGHSHIRE. 


This  county  lies  on  the  south-eastern  horder  of  Scotland,  and 
is  bounded  by  Berwickshire  on  the  north,  by  Northumberland 
on  the  east,  by  Northumberland  and  part  of  Cumberland  on 
the  south,  by  Dumfriesshire  on  the  south-west,  and  by  the 
county  of  Selkirk  on  the  west.  The  figure  of  the  county  is 
very  irregular,  and  measures  from  its  apex  in  the  south,  to  that 
part  which  is  inserted  between  the  counties  of  Berwick  and 
Edinburgh,  upwards  of  forty  miles ;  and  from  east  to  west 
about  thirty  miles.  The  area  of  the  shire  was  formerly  esti- 
mated to  contain  720  square  miles  (see  par.  next  column),  one 
half  being  in  cultivation.  The  county  is  divided,  by  its  rivers, 
into  several  districts,  the  chief  of  which  is  Teviotdale,  being 
that  division  drained  by  the  Teviot  and  its  tributary  streams. 
Liddesdale,  which  forms  the  south-west  corner  of  the  county, 
is  drained  by  the  Liddle  and  its  tributaries.  The  third  division 
lies  between  the  rivers  Gala  and  Leader ;  and  the  fourth,  which 
is  situated  north  of  the  Tweed,  is  included  in  "  the  Merse." 

The  southern  parts  of  Roxburghshire  are  very  mountainous, 
the  hills  frequently  rising  in  beautiful  swells  from  the  rich 
valleys  at  their  base.  The  aspect  of  the  county  is  thus  finely 
diversified,  and  its  beauty  greatly  enhanced  by  many  clear 
rivers  which  pour  through  the  different  vales.  The  soil  of  the 
county  is  various,  but  much  of  it  exceedingly  fertile;  and 
everywhere  the  finest  farming  prevails,  extraordinary  im- 
provements having  been  made  upon  the  capabilities  of  the  land, 
and  in  the  rearing  of  stock  (see  notice  of  the  Agriculture  of 
Berwickshire  and  Roxburghshire,  p.  43).  There  are  many 
antiquities  in  the  county  worthy  of  inspection, — viz.,  the  ab- 
beys of  Melrose,  Dryburgh,  Jedburgh,  and  Kelso;  the  castles 
of  Hermitage,  in  Liddesdale,  and  Roxburgh,  near  Kelso;  and 
many  other  structures  of  modern  celebrity.  The  railway  con- 
nected with  the  county  is  the  North  British  from  Edinburgh 
to  Carlisle,  by  Hawick.  A  branch  line  to  Kelso  strikes  off  at 
Newtown  St.  Boswells,  and  at  Riccarton,  13  miles  beyond 
Hawick,  a  junction  is  formed  with  the  Border  Counties'  Rail- 
way, by  which  this  district  is  brought  into  immediate  connec- 
tion with  Newcastle.  At  Kelso  the  North  British  and  North- 
Eastern  Railways  meet.  A  branch  to  Jedburgh  was  opened 
on  the  16th  of  July  1856  ;  it  commences  at  Roxburgh  Station, 
3  miles  above  Kelso,  and  runs  up  the  vale  of  the  Teviot, 
through  a  fertile  and  beautiful  country,  terminating  close  upon 
the  town,  whose  manufacturing  and  other  resources  it  has  been 
the  means  of  developing. 


The  county  of  Roxburgh  comprises  thirty  parishes,  and  five 
parts  of  parishes ;  it  contains  many  villages,  the  important 
market  towns  of  Kelso,  Hawick,  and  Melrose,  with  one  Royal 
Burgh — Jedburgh,  which,  in  connection  with  Haddington, 
Dunbar,  North  Berwick,  and  Lauder,  returns  one  Member  to 
Parliament,  and  the  county  sends  another. 

The  area  of  the  county,  according  to  the  Ordnance  Survey, 
just  completed,  is  670  square  miles,  or  428,494  statute  acres, 
which  is  as  near  as  possible  8  statute  acres  to  each  of  the  pre- 
sent population. 

The  population  of  the  county  was,  in  1801,  33,721 ;  in  1811, 
37,230;  in  1821,  40892;  in  1831,  43,663;  in  1841,  46,225;  in 
1851,  51,642;  and  in  1861,  54,119.  The  number  of  inhabited 
houses  was  7255;  uninhabited,  224 ;  building,  50.  Total  annual 
value  of  real  property,  as  assessed  in  April  1815,  was  £254,180, 
in  1849,  £306,315;  in  1855,  £316,131 : 4 :  8| ;  in  1856,  £324,844. 
13s.  9i-d. ;  in  1857,  £295,328  :  2 :  8  ;  in  1858,  £334,971 :  5  : 5 ;  in 
1859,  £345,431 : 1 :  10 ;  in  1863-4,  £381 ,597 :  7 : 4. 


VALUATION  AND  AREA  OP  THE  SEVERAL  PARISHES 

IN  THE  COUNTY  OP  ROXBURGH, 

For  the  Teae  to  Whitsunday  1863-64. 


Acres. 

Parishes. 

Amount. 

District  of  Jedburgh. 

10,388.921 

Amount  of  parish  of  Ancrum 

£12,49S  17    a 

3952.375 

Bedrule 

3674    0    0 

6043.351 

Crailing 

7994  17    o 

6084.903 

Edgerston* 

16,242.117 

Hobkirk 

900S  14     9 

16,585.863 

(  parish  of  Jedburgh 
(  burgh  of  Jedburgh 

22.10S  15  10 
9303     1     S 

5620.482 

parish  ot  Minto 

4667  13     S 

21,223.319 

Oxnam 

10,526    0     S 

27,983.658 

Southdeau 
District  of  Kelso. 

8922    3     3 

10,097.309 

Amount  of  parish  of  Eckford 

10,751     4  11 

3919.724 

Ednam 

S186  19    5 

15,107.271 

Hounam 

6907  12    9 

5542.053 

Kelso 

32.84S  14    4 

6427.823 

Linton 

7717  12    3 

2912.959 

Makerstoun 

5001     1     0 

22,518.072 

Morebnttle 

13,013  IS  11 

7924.785 

Roxburgh 

10,441    3     8 

4202.171 

Smailholm 

5492    3  11 

*  Edserston  haB  been  parochially  separated  from  the  parish  of  Jedburgh 
since  1851. 


59 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    COUNTY    INFORMATION. 


60 


Acres. 

Parishes. 

Amount. 

District  op  Kelso — continued. 

8731.643 

Sprouston 

£13,064     1     5 

2803.898 

Stitchel 

4196     5     6 

6036.220 

Yetholm 
District  of  Melrose. 

8080  12    3 

26,058.286  j 

Amount  of  parish  of  Melrose 

40,091     2    2 

Galashiels 

2253     6     0 

76S2.818 

Bowden 

7543  17    0 

3198.541 

St  Boswells 

6403  12    8 

4494.732 

Maxton 

5431     4     0 

6707.429 

Lilliesleaf 

6923  16     3 

District  of  Hawick. 

25,115  18     0 

6203.282 

Amount  of  parish  of  Hawick 

8271     0  10 

3,1559.618 

Teviothead 

8805  10     6 

18,352.870 

Cavers 

11,428    2     2 

6222.861 

Kirkton 

3065  13     3 

8417.142 

Ashkirk 

3788     4     0 

S820.112 

Wilton 

13,199     8     5 

1358.115 

Selkirk  (detached) 

1384  10     0 

18,038  223 

Roberton      do. 

6318     7  11 

District  of  Castleton. 

68,152.437 

Amount  of  Parish  of  Castleton 
Exclusive  of  Railways. 

17,218     0     0 

425.615.3S3 

£381,597    7    4 

LIEUTENANCY. 

Lord-Lieutenant — His  Grace  the  Duke  of  Buccleuch  and  Queens 
berry,  1841.  , 

Vice-Lieutenant — Sir  John  Pringle,  Bart.   1812. 
Deputy-Li  euten  ants. 


Elliot,  R.  K.,  of  Harwood  and  Clif- 
ton, created  1S48. 

Eliott,  Sir  W.  F.,  of  Stobs  and 
Wells,  Bart.,  1S17. 

Kerr,  William  S.,  of  Chatto,  184S. 

Lockhart,  A.  E.,  of  Borthwick- 
brae,  1848. 

Ogilvie,  Wm.,  of  Chesters,  1827. 


Polwarth,  Lord,  1S26. 
Rutherfurd.W.  O.,  ofEdgerston, 

1848. 
Scott,  SirWm.,  of  Aucrum,  Bart., 

M.P. 
Sprot,  Mark,  of  Riddell,  184S. 
Tod,  T.,  of  Drygrange,  1848. 
Waldie,  John,  of  Hendersyde,lS31 


Clerk  of  Lieutenancy — William  Millar,  solicitor,  Jedburgh. 


PARLIAMENTARY  REPRESENTATION. 

Member  for  the  County — Sir  William  Scott  of  Ancruni,  Bart.,  1S59. 

Constituency  for  the  County,  1578. 


Member  for  the  Burgh  of  Jedburgh,  (forming  part  of  the  Haddington 
District  of  Burghs) — Sir  Henry  Robert  Ferguson  Davie  of  Creedy, 
Bart.,  1S57. 

Constituency  for  the  Burgh,  17S. 

Auditor  of  Election  Expenses  for  Roxburghshire— George  Rutherford, 
Sheriff-Clerk,  Jedburgh. 


SHERIFF  AND  COMMISSARY  COURT. 

Sheriff-Principal  —  His  Grace  the  Duke  of  Buccleuch,  the  Lord- 
Lieutenant  of  the  County. 

Sheriff-Depute  and  Commissary — William  Oliver  Rutherfurd. 

Sheriff-Substitutes  and  Commissary-Deputes — Francis  Russell,  and 
William  Deans. 

Sheriff-Clerk — George  Rutherford. 

Sheriff-Clerk-Depute — James  Oliver. 

Commissary-Clerk — William  Elliot. 

Procurators-Fiscal — James  Stevenson  and  James  C.  Stevenson. 

The  Sheriff-Court  for  the  County,  and  the  Commissary  Court  are 
held  at  Jedburgh  on  Monday  and  Thursday  of  each  week,  during 
Sessions. 

PLACES  AND  DATS  OF  MEETING  OF  THE   COURTS  UNDER  THE  SMALL 
DEBT  ACT. 

The  Small  Debt  Courts  are  held  at  Jedburgh  on  Thursday  (weekly ), 
during  sessions,  and  in  vacation,  on  days  fixed  by  the  Sheriff; 
George  Rutherford,  Sheriff-clerk,  and  James  Oliver,  Depute-clerk. 
Kelso,  second  Tuesdays  of  February,  April,  June,  August,  October, 
and  December;  Adam  Woodman  Main,  Depute-clerk.  Hawick, 
first  Tuesdays  of  February,  April,  June,  August,  October,  and 
December;  Charles  Kirk,  Depute-clerk.  Melrose,  first  Fridays  of 
February,  May,  August,  and  November;  Allan  Freer  and  Thomas 
J.  Dunn,  Depute-clerks.  The  Clerks  above  named  are  the  only 
issuers  of  summonses. 


COMMISSIONERS  OF  SUPPLY. 
Convener  of  the  County — William  O.  Rutherfurd  ofEdgerston. 


Aitchison,  William,  Briery  hill 
Antrobus,  SirE.,  of  Rutherford. 
Antrobus,  J.,  yr.  of  Rutherford. 
Bailie,  the  Eldest,  of  Hawick,  for 

the  time  being. 
Bailies,  the  Three,  of  Jedburgh, 

for  the  time  being. 
Balfour,  Charles,  of  Newton  Don. 
Binning,  Lord. 
Black,  William,  Netherwells. 
Borthwick,  John,  of  Crookston. 
Boston,  Thomas,  Gattonside 
Boyd,  John  B.,  of  Cherrytrees. 


Boyd,  John,  of  Maxpoffie. 
Brewster,  Sir  David,  of  Allerly. 
Brunton,  James,  of  Hiltonshill. 
Brunton,  W.,  of  Ladhope. 
Buccleuch  and  Queensberry,  His 

Grace  the  Duke  of. 
Buchan,  Earl  of. 
Cardross.  Lord. 

Carre,  Walter  R.,  of  Caverse  Carre. 
Clark,  William,  Langhaugh. 
Clark,  William,  the  younger. 
Cleghorn,  Geo.,  of  Weens. 
Chisholme,  John  S.,  of  Stirches. 


61 


ROXBURGHSHIRE:    COUNTY   INFORMATION. 


62 


Cochrane,  Alex.,  of  Aslikirk. 
Cotesworth,     R.,     of     Cowden- 

knowes. 
Cotesworth,  Robt.,  yr.  of  Cowden- 

knowes. 
Currie,  William,  of  Liuthill. 
Curie,  Alex.,  of  East  Morriston. 
Dalkeith,  Earl  of. 
Dalrymple,    James,     of    Wester- 

Langlee. 
Dalrymple,  General  John. 
Darling,  Robert,  Broomlands,  fac- 
tor for  the  Duke  of  Roxburghe. 
Darling,  James  S.,  Kelso,  factor 

for  Mr  Baird  of  Stitchell. 
Dickson,  Win.  R.,  of  Alton. 
Dickson,  Jas.,  of  Chatto. 
Dickson,  A.,  vr.  of  Chatto. 
Dickson,  Sir  W.,  Bart.,  of  Syden- 
ham. 
Douglas,  C,  of  Chesterhouse. 
Douglas,  Sir  G.  H.  S.,  of  Spring- 
wood  Park. 
Douglas,  James,  of  Cavers. 
Eliott,  Sir  William  Francis,  Bart. 

of  Stobs  and  Wells. 
Eliott,  W.  F.  A.,  the  younger, 
Elliot,  Robert  Kerr,  of  Clifton. 
Elliot,  William  C,  younger  of  Clif- 
ton. 
Elliot,  Robert,  of  Redheugh. 
Elliot,  Robert,  yr.  of  Redheugh 
Elliot,  Win.,  manufacturer,    Ha- 
wick. 
Elliot,  Walter,  of  Wolfiee. 
Elliot,  John,  of  Binks. 
Elliot,  William  of  Benrig. 
Erskine,  James  of  Shielfield. 
Factor,  The,  for  the  Earl  of  Minto. 
Factor,  The,  for  the  Hon.  Walter 

Elliot  of  Wolflee. 
Factor,   The,    for  the    Earl    and 

Countess  of  Home. 
Factor,  The,  for  the  Marquis  of 

Lothian. 
Fair,  J.  S.  E.,  of  Langlee. 
Fair,  R.  S.  E.,  the  younger. 
Fairhohne,  Wm.,  of  Chapel. 
Freer,  Allan,  solicitor,  Melrose. 
Gibson,  John,  jun.,  Edinburgh. 
Gifford,  Earl  of. 
Grieve,  Robert. 

Grieve,  Wm.,  Branxholmpark. 
Haddington,  The  Earl  of. 
Hamilton,    Sir  H.   D.,   Bart.,  of 

North  Berwick. 
Hay,  George  W.,  of  Whiterig. 


Henderson,  David,  of  Abbotrule. 
Hilson,  Geo.,  sen.,  manufacturer, 

Jedburgh. 
Home,  G.  H.  M.  B.,  of  Softlaw. 
Hopkins,  John  C. 
Horne,  Donald,  W.S. 
Humble,  George,  of  Old  Graden. 
James,  James,  of  East  Samieston. 
Jardine,  James,  of  Larriston. 
Jardine,  John,  of  Thorlieshope. 
Karr,  Rev.  J.  S.,  of  Kippielaw. 
Karr,  George,  yr.,  Kippielaw. 
Keir,  William,  of  Whithaugh. 
Ker,  William,  of  Gateshaw. 
Ker,  Gilbert,  the  younger. 
Kerr,  Lord  Henry. 
Kerr,  Robert  D.,  Edinburgh. 
Kerr,  Thomas,  of  Craighouse. 
Kerr,  William  Scott,  of  Chatto. 
Laidlaw,  Thomas,  manufacturer, 

Hawick. 
Lang,  John,  of  Overwells. 
Lauderdale,  Lord. 
Lees,  Robert,  of  Fens. 
Lockhart,  Allan  Eliott,  of  Borth- 

wickbrae. 
Lockhart.  Allan  Eliott,  younger. 
Lothian,   Most    Noble    the  Mar- 
quis of. 
Maconochie,  R.  B.  of  Gattonside. 
Macdonald,  William,  of  Ormiston. 
Mein,  Andrew  W.,  of'HunthilL 
Mercer,  Adam,  ofBlainslie. 
Milne,  Nichol,  of  Whitehill. 
Milne,  Nicol,  of  Faldonside. 
Minto,  The  Right  Hon.  the  Earl  of. 
Mitchell,  Alexander,  of  Stow. 
Murray,  John  N.,  of  Philiphaugh. 
Nixon,     William,    manufacturer, 

Hawick. 
Ogilvie,  William,  of  Chesters. 
Ogilvie,     Thomas    E.,    younger, 

of  Chesters. 
Oliver,  George,  writer,  Hawick. 
Oliver,  John,  of  Bush. 
Oliver,  Robert,  of  Lochside. 
Oliver,  William,  of  Langraw. 
Ord,  John,  of  Muirhouselaw. 
Ormiston,  Wm.  T.,  of  Glenburn- 

hall 
Panton,  William,  of  Edenbank. 
Paton,  John,  of  Crailing. 
Paton,  James,  the  younger. 
Paterson,  Adam,  Whitelee. 
Pennycook,  Peter,  of  Bewlie. 
Plummer,  C.  S.,    of  Sunderland- 
hall. 


Polwarth,  Lord. 

Pott,  George,  of  Todrig. 

Pott,  Gideon,  of  Knowsouth. 

Pringle,  David,  of  Wilton  Lodge. 

Pringle,  William,  Edinburgh. 

Provost,  the,  of  Jedburgh,  for  the 

time  being. 
Pringle,  James,  of  Torwoodlee. 
Purves,  John,  of  Whitehouse. 
Rea,  Charles,  of  Halterbum. 
Richardson,  John,  of  Kirklands. 
Riddell,  George  H.,  of  Muselee. 
Robison,  Ebenezer,  thongrnaker, 

Hawick. 
Robson,  Charles,  Kelso,  factor  for 

John  Waldie  of  Hendersyde. 
Roxburghe,  His  Grace  the  Duke 

of. 
Roxburghshire,  Sheriff  or,  for  the 

time  being. 
Roxburghshire,  Sherin  -substitute 

of,  for  the  time  being. 
Rutherford,  G. ,  of  Sunnyside. 
Rutherford,  G.,  writer,  Jedburgh, 

factor  for  Lord  Somerville  and 

Lord  Stratheden. 
Rutherfurd,  Henry,   Faimingtou 
Rutherford,  Robert,  Honeyfield. 
Rutherfurd,    W.    O.,   of    Edger- 

ston. 
Rutherfurd,  W.  A.  O.,  yr.  of  Ed- 

gerston. 
Rutherford,  W.,  Crailing  Tofts. 
Sanderson,     H,,     manufacturer, 

Galashiels. 
Sanderson,  William,  Galashiels. 
Scott,  Archibald,  of  Howcleuch. 
Scott,  Admiral  Geo.,  of  Wooden. 
Scott,  Andrew,  of  Ettrickbank. 
Scott,  Charles,  Sinlatie,  factor  for 

the  Trustees  of  Mr.    Scott  of 

Waucbhope. 
Scott,  J.  S.  E.  of  Riccalton. 
Scott,  James  R.  Hope,   Abbots- 
ford. 
Scott,  James  R.,  of  Ashtrees. 
Scott,  John,  of  Upper  Samieston. 
Scott,  John  C,  of  Sin  ton. 
Scott,  Robert,  of  Raebura. 
Scott,  Thomas  R.,  of  Newton 
Scott,  Thomas,  of  Graden. 
Scott,  Sir  Wm.,  Bart.,  of  Ancrum. 
Scott,  W.  E.  of  Peel. 
Scott,  William,  yr.  of  Ancrum. 
Sime,  James,  manufacturer,  Gala- 
shiels. 
Simson,  Charles,  of  Threepwood. 


Simson,  Charles. 

St  Clair,  Hon.  J.,  of  Stonedge. 

St  Clair,  Chas.,  younger  of  Ston- 
edge. 

Smith,  James,  Edinburgh. 

Small,  W-,  Catshawhill. 

Somerville,  Lord. 

Somerville,  James,  of  Charlesfield. 

Sprot,  Mark,  of  Riddell. 

Sprot,  John,  the  younger. 

Stratheden  and  Campbell,  Lord, 
of  Hartrigge. 

Swan,  Robert,  Kelso,  factor  for 
the  Earl  of  Haddington ;  And. 
Wauchope  of  Niddrle ;  and  G. 
H.  Munro  Binning  Home. 

Tait,  William,  of  Priorbank. 

Tod,  Thomas,  of  Drygrange. 

Thomson,  John,  Edinburgh. 

Thomson,  James,  of  Merrick. 

Thomson,  Rev.  John,  Hawick. 

Thomson,  William,  of  Kaimflat. 

Treasurer,  the,  of  Jedburgh,  for 
the  time  being. 

Tulloh,  John,  of  Arthurshiel. 

Tulloh,  Capt.  Thomas,  of  Ellis- 
ton. 

TurnbulL  A.  O.,  Writer,  Jed- 
burgh, Factor  for  J.  G.  Hender- 
son of  Abbotrule. 

Turnbull,  William,  of  Merrylaw. 

Turnbull,  Robert,  yr.,  Merry- 
law. 

Turnbull,  Thomas,  of  Fenwick. 

Turnbull,  Robert,  Galalaw. 

Tweeddale,  Marquis  of. 

Waldie,  John,  of  Hendersyde. 

Walker,  James,  of  Fodderlie. 

Ward,  Lord. 

Warrender,  Sir  John,  Bart.,  of 
Lochend. 

Watson,  William,  of  Burnhead. 

Watson,  Wm.  S. ,  yr.  of  Burnhead. 

Wauchope,  Andrew,  of  Niddrie. 

Wilson,  Adam,  Farmer,  Mid- 
shiels. 

Wilson,  George,  manufacture!-, 
Hawick. 

Wilson,  John,  of  Otterburn. 

Wilson,  John,  manufacturer, 
Hawick. 

Wilson,  Walter,  manufacturer, 
Hawick. 

Williamson,  Wm.,  of  Larretburn. 

Williamson,  Robert,  of  Kerfield. 

Wilson,  John,  Buccleueh  Street, 
Hawick. 


63 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    COUNTY    INFORMATION. 


64 


Head  Court  of  Commission  of  Supply  held  first  Tuesday  of  Oct., 
at  Jedburgh.. 

Clerk  of  Supply — James  Stevenson,  solicitor,  Jedburgh. 
Collector  of  County  Rates — Gideon  Pott  of  Knowsouth. 


JUSTICES  IN  THE  COMMISSION  OF  THE  PEACE  FOR  THE 
COUNTY  OF  ROXBURGH. 


Walter   Francis,    Duke   of  Buc 
cleuch  and  Queensberry. 

James  H.,  Duke  of  Roxburghe. 

George,  Marquis  of  Tweeddale. 

Win.  S.  R.,  Marquis  of  Lothian. 

Henry  W.,  Earl  of  Dalkeith. 

Jas.  H.  R.,  Marquis  of  Bowmont. 

William,  Eaii  of  Minto. 

George,  Earl  of  Haddington. 

Anthony,  Earl  of  Lauderdale. 

George,  Earl  of  Gifford. 

Henry  Francis,  Lord  Polwarth. 

William  Fred.,  Lord  Campbell. 

Walter  H.,  Master  of  Polwarth. 

Lord  Henry  John  M.  D.  Scott. 

Lord  Walter  C.  M.  D.  Scott. 

George,  Lord  Binning. 

Lord  Schomberg  Henry  Ken*. 

Kenelin,  Lord  Somendlle. 

Charles,  Lord  Sinclair. 

James,  Master  of  Sinclair. 

The  Hon.  Francis  Scott. 

Sir  W.  F.  Eliott  of  Stobbs,  Bart. 

Sir  W.  Scott  of  Ancrum,  Bart. 

Sir  John  Pringle,  Bart. 

Sir  John  Warrender  of  Whitton, 
Bart. 

Sir  George  Henry  Scott  Douglas 
of  Springwood  Park,  Bart. 

Sir  Wm.  Dickson,  Bart,  of  Syden- 
ham. 

Sir  E.  Antrobus  of  Rutherford. 

Sir  William  G.   H.   T.,  Fairfax, 

Bart. 
Sir  David  Brewster  of  Allerly. 
Thomas  Eliott,  yr.  of  Redheugh. 
James  S.  E.  Fair  of  Langlee. 
Robert  S.  E.  Fair,  yr.  of  Langlee. 
William  Fairholme  of  Chapel. 
George  Fairholme  of  Old  Melrose. 
David  Henderson  of  Abbotrule. 
George  W.  Hay  of  Whiterig. 
George  H.  M.  B.  Home  of  Softlaw. 
James  James  of  Samieston. 
James  Jardine  of  Larriston. 
James  Johnstone  of  Alva. 


William  Ker  of  Gateshaw. 

William  Keir  of  Whithaugh. 

William  Scott  Kerr  of  Chatto. 

A.  E.  Lockhart  of  Borthwickbrae. 

William  E.  Lockhart,  yr.  of  Borth- 
wickbrae. 

William  Macdonald  of  Ormiston. 

Ed.  H,  Maxwell  of  Teviotbank. 

Nicol  Milne  of  Faldonside. 

Alexander  Mitchell  of  Stow. 

Andrew  W.  Mein  of  Huntill. 

John  Meiklam  of  Gladswood. 

John  Murray,  Kersknowe. 

John  Murray  of  Uplaw. 

John  N.  Murray  of  Whitmuir. 

Robert  B.  Maconochie  of  Gatton- 
side  House. 

William  Ogilvie  of  Chesters. 

Thomas  Ogilvie,  yr.  of  Chesters. 

Robert  Oliver  of  Blakelaw. 

John  Ord  of  Muirhouselaw. 

William  T.  Ormiston  of  Glenbum- 

hall. 
William  Paterson  of  Glendearg. 
Adam  Paterson  of  Whitelee. 
John  Paton  of  Craihng. 
Thomas  Paton,  yr.  of  Crailing. 
George  Pott  of  Todrig. 
Gideon  Pott  of  Knowsouth 
Chas.  S.  Plummer  of  Sunderland 

Hall. 
James  Pringle  of  Torwoodlee. 
James  Pringle,  yr.  of  Newhall. 
David  Pringle  of  Carrubber. 
George  Pringle  of  Buckholm. 
David  Pringle  of  Wilton  Lodge. 
John  Richardson  of  Kirklands. 
Major  Rowland  Richardson,  yr.  of 

Kirklands. 
Charles  Balfour  of  Newton-Don. 
George  Baird  of  Stitchell. 
John  B.  Boyd  of  Cheriytrees. 
Major-General  William  Carre  Rid- 

dell  of  Camieston. 
Walter  Robert  Carre  of  Caverse 
Carre. 


Thos.  Riddell  Carre,  yr.  of  Caverse 
Carre, 

Captain  Clark,  Commander,  R.  N. 

Jas.  A.  Clark,  yr.  of  Langhaugh. 

John  S.  Chisholme  of  Stirches. 

William  Currie  of  Linthill. 

Robert  Cotesworth  of  Sorrowless 
field. 

Robert  Cotesworth,  yr.  of  Sorrow - 
lessfield. 

George  Cleghorn  of  Weens. 

Alexander  Cochrane  of  Ashkirk. 

James  Connell  of  Conheath. 

James  Dahymple  of  Langlee. 

James  Dickson,  of  Nether  Chatto. 

Archibald  Dickson,  yr.  of  Nether 
Chatto. 

James  Douglas  of  Cavers. 

Christopher  Douglas  of  Chester- 
house. 

Robert  K.  Elliot  of  Harwoodand 
Clifton. 

William  C.  Elliot,  yr.  of  Clifton. 

Walter  Elliot  of  Wolnee. 

John  Elliot  of  Binks,  Burnmouth. 

William  F.  Elliot,  yr.  of  Stobs. 

Robert  Elliot  of  Redheugh. 

Geogre  W.  H.  Riddell  of  Muselee. 

W.  0.  Rutherfurd  of  Edgerston. 

William  Alex.  Oliver  Rutherfurd, 
yr.  of  Edgerston. 

Henry  Rutherfurd  of  Fairuington. 

Archibald  Scott  of  Howcleuch. 

William  Scott,  yr.  of  Ancrum. 

John  Corse  Scott  of  Sinton. 

Roar-Admiral   George   Scott  of 

Wooden. 
James  R.  H.  Scott  of  Abbotsford. 


Robert  Scott  of  Raeburn. 
Thomas  Scott  of  Graden. 
Thomas  Robson  Scott  of  Newton. 
James  Robson  Scott  of  Ashtrees. 
Charles  Simson  of  Threepwood. 
Mark  Sprot  of  Riddell: 
John  Sprot,  yr.  of  Riddell. 
Thomas  Tod  of  Drygrange. 
John  Tulloh  of  Arthurshiel. 
Thomas  Tulloh  of  Elliston. 
John  Waldie  of  Hendersyde. 
William  Watson  of  Burnhead. 
Wm.  S.  Watson,  yr.  of  Burnhead. 
John  Wilson  of  Otterburn. 
Walter  Wilson,  Hawick. 
George  Warrender,  yr.  of  Whitton. 
Andrew  Wauchope  of  Yetholm. 
William  J.  Wauchope,  yr.  of  Yet- 
holm. 
The  Sheriff-Depute  for  the  County 
of  Roxburgh,  for  the  time  being. 
The  Sheriff-Sub.  for  the  County  of 

Roxburgh,  for  the  time  being. 
The  Provost  of  Jedburgh,  for  the 

time  being. 
The  Provost  of  Hawick,  for  the 

time  being. 
The  Senior  Bailie  of  Hawick,  for 

the  time  being. 
The  Junior  Bailie  of  Hawick,  for 

the  time  being. 
The  Chief  Magistrate  of  Kelso,  for 

the  time  being. 
The  Chief  Magistrate  of  Galashiels, 

for  the  time  being. 
The  Senior  Bailie  of  Jedburgh,  for 

the  time  being. 
William  Tait  of  Priorbank . 


Hugh  Scott  of  Gala. 

Clerk  to  the  Justices — James  Stedman,  solicitor,  Jedburgh. 

DEPUTES. 

Hawick — C.  M.  Wilson,  solicitor.      Kelso — Wm.  Robson,  solicitor. 
Melrose— Thomas  J.  Dunn,  solicitor. 


Hawick — J.  Camiichael,  solicitor 
Jedburgh — Jas.  Stevenson,  soli 
citor. 


PRO  CURATOR-FISCALS. 

Kelso — Chas.  Robson,  solicitor. 
Melrose — Alexander     Ruther- 
ford, writer,  Galashiels. 


Quarter  Sessions  of  the  Justices  are  held  at  Jedburgh  first  Tuesdays 
of  March,  May,  and  August,  and  last  Tuesday  of  October.  The  Justice 
of  Peace  Court  for  the  District  of  Jedburgh,  is  held  there  on  the  first 
Tuesday  of  every  month ;  for  the  District  of  Kelso,  at  that  burgh,  on 
the  first  Friday  of  every  month ;  for  the  District  of  Hawick,  at  that 
burgh,  on  the  first  Thursday  of  every  month ;  for  the  District  of 
Melrose,  at  that  town,  on  the  first  Saturday  of  every  month. 


65 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    COUNTY    INFORMATION. 


66 


PROPERTY  AND  INCOME  TAX  COMMISSIONERS. 

GENERAL  COMMISSIONERS. 


The  Sheriff-Depute  of  the  County. 
The  Sheriff-Substitute. 
John  Ord  of  Muirhouselaw. 
Gideon  Pott  of  Knowsouth. 
Wm.    A.    Oliver  Rutherfurd,  yr. 

of  Edgerston. 
James  S.  E.  Fair  of  Lauglee. 
John  Paton  of  Crailing. 
Hon.  Walter  Elliot  of  Wolflee. 
R.  K.  Elliot  of  Clifton. 
John  B.  Boyd,  of  Cherrytrees. 
Archd.  Dickson,  yr.  of  Chatto. 
Robert  Darling,  Kelso. 
Bobert  Swan,  Kelso. 
Robt.  Oliver  of  Lochside. 


"Wm.  Clark  of  Langhaugh. 

James  Dalrymple  of  Langlee. 

James  Pringle  of  Torwoodlee 

Charles  Simsonof  Threepwood. 

Thomas  Tod  of  Drygrange. 

Alex.  Curie  of  East  Morriston. 

W.  Currie  of  Linthill. 

Wm.  Ogilvie  of  Chesters. 

George  Pott  of  Todrig. 

Allan  E.  Lockhart  of  Borthwick- 
brae. 

Wm.  Scott  Watson,  yr.  of  Burn- 
grove. 

W.  J.  Macdonald  of  Powderhall. 

J.  S.  Chisholme  of  Stirches. 


COMMISSIONER  FOR  SUPPLYING  VACANCIES. 

John  Wilson,  Esq.  of  Otterburn. 

ADDITIONAL  COMMISSIONERS. 


George  Rutherford  of  Sunnyside. 
William  Tait  of  Priorbank. 
William  Park,  Abbotsmeadow. 
W.  Grieve,  Branxholm  Park. 
Ephraim  Selby,  Hassendeanbank. 
T.  Usher,  Corn-thill. 


James  Stevenson,  Jedburgh. 

A.  W.  Mein  of  Hunthill. 

Ales.  F.  Douglass,  Jerdonfield. 

Andw.  Scott,  Glendouglas. 

John  Dudgeon,  Spylaw. 

James  Roberton,  Kelso. 

Js.  Tait  of  Langrigg,  W.S.,  Kelso. 

Clerk — James  Erskine,  solicitor,  Melrose. 

Assistant-Clerk — Alex.  Curie,  solicitor,  Melrose. 

Inspector — Alex.  Paterson,  Edinburgh. 

Surveyor — Edward  Henderson,  Melrose. 

ASSESSORS. 

Jedburgh — Walter  Clark.  I    Kelso — A.  Elliot,  Stamp  Office. 

Hawick— T.  Purdom,  solicitor.       |    Melrose— T.  J.  Dunn,  solicitor. 

The  Commissioners  of  Supply  are  Commissioners  under  the  Assessed 

Tax  Act  in  all  the  Counties. 


POLICE  COMMITTEE  OF  ROXBURGHSHIRE, 

Under  20  and  21  Vict.  cap.  72. 

Chairman — William  Oliver  Rutherfurd,  Esq.  of  Edgerston. 


TheLordLieutenantofthe  County, 

The  Sheriff-Depute  of  the  County, 
or  in  his  absence,  the  Sheriff- 
substitute. 

Sir  Wm.  Scott,  of  Ancrum,  Bart. 

John  Paton,  Esq.  of  Crailing. 

James  James,  Esq.  of  Samieston. 

John  Ord,  Esq.  of  Muirhouselaw. 

William  Ogilvie,  Esq.  of  Cheaters. 

J.  S.  Chisholme,  Esq.  of  Stirches. 

The  Provost  of  Jedburgh. 


William  Watson  of  Burnhead. 

W.  A.  0.  Rutherfurd,  yr.  of  Edger- 
ston. 

The  Right  Hon.  Lord  Polwarth. 

Robt.  Oliver,  Esq.  of  Lochside. 

William  Clark,  Esq.  of  Lang- 
haugh. 

Thomas  Tod,  Esq.  of  Drygrange. 

Sir  George  H.  S.  Douglas,  Bart,  of 
Springwood  Park, 

R.  K.  Elliot,  Esq.  of  Clifton. 


Clerk — James  Stevenson,  solicitor,  Jedburgh. 
Chief  Constable — James  M  'Master,  Jedburgh. 
Superintendent — Alexander  Porter,  Hawick. 

Sergeants  of  Constables. 
Jedburgh— Arch.  Hogarth  Hawick— John  Ainslie. 

Kelso — Robert  Ainslie.  Melrose — M.  Oliver. 


PRISON  BOARD. 

Chairman. 
William  Oliver  Rutherfurd  of  Edgerston. 


Robert  Kerr  Elliot  of  Clifton. 
Sir  Wm.  Scott,  Bart,  M.P. 
John  Ord  of  Muirhouselaw. 
Jas.  S.  E.  Fair  of  Langlee. 
The  Right  Hon.  Lord  Polwarth. 
John  Paton  of  Crailing. 


The  Right  Hon.  the  Earl  of  Mintu. 
Andrew  Scott,  Glendouglas. 
The  Provost  of  Jedburgh. 
The  Provost  of  Hawick. 
The  Senior  Magistrate  of  Kelso 
David  Pringle  of  Wilton  Lodge. 


The  Sheriff-Depute  of  the  County,  and  in  his  absence  the  Sheriff- 
Substitute  being  ex-officio  members  of  the  Board,  in  terms  of  the 
Prisons'  Administration  Act. 

Clerk  and  Treasurer— Archibald  Oliver  Turnbull,  writer,  Jedburgh. 
Governor  of  Jedburgh  Castle — Charles  Sprunt. 
„  Hawick  Prison — Michael  Anderson. 

„  Kelso  Prison— George  Lamb. 

Sheriff  Officer  at  Hawick — John  Guild. 

„  Jedburgh — Geo.  Robertson 

,,  Kelso — Alexander  Brown. 

„  Melrose — Angus  Sutherland. 


INLAND  REVENUE. 


Stamp  and  Tax  Department,  Distributor  of,  and  Collector — Archibald 
Jerdon,  Jedburgh. 

SUB-DISTRIBUTORS  AND  COLLECTORS  OF  TAXES. 

Hawick — Charles  Kirk,  solicitor. 
Kelso — Alex.  Elliot,  Stamp  and  Tax  Office. 
Melrose — Thomas  Murray. 
Surveyor  of  Taxes,  and  Land  Valuation  Assessor  for  the  County,  and 
for  the  Burgh  of  Jedburgh — Edward  Henderson,  Melrose. 

excise  department. 
Collector— J.  Luckie,  Haddington.       Supervisor— B.  F.  Dunn,  Kelso 
Officer  at  Jedburgh— W.  E.  Cheese. 
,(        Hawick-^John  Brett. 
Kelso— Wm.  Wight. 
Melrose— James  Deans. 


67 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    KELSO. — INTRODUCTORY   REMARKS. 


68 


The  following  explanations  are  necessary  for  the  accurate  un- 
derstanding of  the  statements  connected  with  the  Census 
in  the  following  lists : — 

Census  Definition  of  a  Family. 
"  Without  entering  into  the  question  of  what  constitutes  a 
Family,  it  may  be  mentioned  that  at  the  taking  of  the  Census 
it  was  directed  that  all  who  boarded  together  in  the  same  house 
should  be  considered  as  one  family ;  but  that  lodgers,  who  are 
not  boarders,  should  be  considered  as  separate  families." 

Definition  of  a  House. 

"  A  '  House'  is  defined  by  Johnson,  and  by  all  pure  English 
writers  and  scholars,  as  '  a  place  of  human  abode,'  '  a  place 
where  a  man  lives.'  And  in  conformity  with  this,  a  '  house- 
hold '  is  invariably  defined  as  a  '  Family  living  together ; '  and 
a  *  householder  '  as  'the  master  of  a  family.'  Conform  to 
this  definition  all  our  Acts  of  Parliament  are  drawn  up." 

"  Not  a  little  strange  is  it,  therefore,  to  find  that  in  taking 
the  Census  of  the  population,  where  for  social,  for  sanitary,  for 
political,  and  other  purposes,  it  was  deemed  necessary  that 
exact  information  of  the  number  of  Houses  should  be  procured, 
the  above  definition  has  been  departed  from." 

"The  definition  of  a  'house'  adopted  for  the  Census  of 
England,  was  'a  distinct  building  separated  from  others  by 
party  walls.'  This  definition  was  quite  unintelligible  in  Scot- 
land, where  the  whole  houses  of  a  street  or  square  are  built 
continuously,  on  an  uniform  plan,  and  in  flats,  so  that  from 
the  outside  it  would  be  difficult  to  say  where  one  house  begins 
and  another  ends." 

"  If,  therefore,  the  Returns  for  Scotland  on  this  subject  are 
utterly  worthless,  it  must  be  understood  that  the  blame  lies 
not  with  the  Scottish  officials,  for  they  were,  against  their 
better  convictions,  forced  to  accept  the  erroneous  definition  of 
a  '  house  '  which  had  been  adopted  for  England  in  1851,  and 
re-imposed  in  1861." 

Number  of  Rooms  with  Windows. 

"  Perhaps  one  of  the  most  important  facts  ascertained  at  the 
taking  of  the  Census  in  1861,  was  the  Number  of  Rooms  with 
Windows ;  to  the  facts  brought  out  by  this  inquiry,  Social  Re- 
formers will  look  with  the  greatest  eagerness  and  profit.  The 
mere  number  of  Houses,  or  even  the  number  of  Families  or  of 
Persons  inhabiting  them,  gives  no  idea  whatever  of  the  house 
accommodation  of  the  people." 

"  This  Return  was  specially  ordered  for  Scotland." 
In  the  lists  it  will  be  found  we  make  no  mention  of  the 
number  of  Houses  the  parishes  contain  (the  Return  in  this 
particular  being  valueless),  but  we  have  of  the  window  pri- 
vileges of  its  Families — a  Return  of  much  greater  importance, 
and  allowed  in  the  main  to  be  correct. 


KELSO. 


The  Parish  of  Kelso,  situated  in  the  north-eastern  division  of 
the  county,  is  bounded  on  the  north  by  Nenthorn  in  Berwick- 
shire ;  on  the  north-east  by  Ednam ;  on  the  east  by  Sprouston, 
which  intervenes  between  it  and  the  English  Border ;  on  the 
south-east  by  Eckford ;  on  the  south-west  by  Roxburgh  ;  and 
on  the  west  by  Makerstoun  and  Smailholm ;  and  is  beautifully 
placed  on  both  sides  of  the  river  Tweed,  which  divides  it  into 
nearly  two  equal  parts.  The  shape  of  the  parish  is  nearly 
triangular ;  its  greatest  length  is  about  5  miles,  and  its  greatest 
breadth  about  3  miles.  Its  area,  according  to  the  Ordnance 
Survey,  is  5542  acres,  sub-divided  as  follows : — 5227f  acres,  land ; 
158£  acres,  water ;  102J  acres,  nearly,  in  public,  and  19  acres, 
nearly,  in  private  roads;  34  J  acres  are  occupied  by  railway. 
"  Seen  from  the  eminences  at  a  short  distance,  the  parish  appears 
to  be  part  of  an  extensive  and  picturesque  strath,  but  when 
viewed  from  the  vicinity  of  the  river,  it  presents  the  appearance 
of  an  amphitheatre,  diversified  in  its  outlines,  intersected  by  two 
broad.and  noble  rivers,  and  circled  in  the  distance  by  a  boundary 
of  wooded  heights."  "  The  picturesque  scenery  about  Kelso  is 
too  well  known  to  require  any  description.  It  belongs,  indeed, 
to  the  class  of  the  beautiful  rather  than  the  romantic ;  and  its 
pleasing  effect  is  due,  not  so  much  to  the  commanding  character 
of  any  single  object,  as  to  the  blending,  combination,  and  har- 
mony of  the  whole."  In  the  country  part  of  the  parish  cultiva- 
tion is  carried  on  on  the  most  approved  principles,  and  the  surface 
is  ornamented  with  beautiful  plantations. 

The  Town  of  Kelso  occupies  a  beautiful  and  extensive  plain 
on  the  north  bank  of  the  Tweed,  opposite  the  confluence  of  the 
Teviot  with  that  river,  and  is  surrounded  on  all  sides  by  a  de- 
lightful amphitheatre  of  wood-clad  hills.  The  town  is  of  great 
antiquity,  and  has  been  the  scene  of  many  memorable  events, — 
its  border  situation  having  subjected  it  to  continued  warfare,  at- 
tacks, and  conflagrations.  Kelso  now  consists  of  a  spacious 
square  or  market  place,*  from  which  four  handsome  streets  di- 
verge in  different  directions ;  there  are  also  several  minor  streets 
and  two  other  squares,  smaller  than  the  former,  but  containing  a 
number  of  excellent  houses.  Being  situated  in  the  centre  of  a 
rich  and  fertile  district,  and  itself  the  residence  of  a  number  of 

*  In  Mitchell's  "  Newspaper  Press  Directory  for  1S64,"  Kelso  mar- 
ket place  is  stated  to  be  the  finest  in  Scotland. 


69 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    KELSO. INTRODUCTORY    REMARKS. 


70 


families  in  easy  circumstances,  who  live  in  a  style  of  consider- 
able elegance,  Kelso  is  a  sort  of  provincial  capital,*  possessing 
numerous  handsome  shops,  several  of  which  would  not  be  un- 
worthy of  the  metropolis.  There  is  a  daily  market  for  vege- 
tables; a  weekly  (Friday)  general  and  corn  market  (see  Corn 
Exchange  for  further  particulars),  and  during  the  winter  and 
spring  months  a  fortnightly  (Monday)  market  for  fat  cattle  and 
sheep  (see  Fairs),  where  a  very  extensive  business  is  transacted. 
There  are  also  very  extensive  fairs  for  the  sale  of  ewes  and 
cattle,  and  the  hire  and  sale  of  tups  in  September  (see  Fair  List 
for  that  month,  and  notices  of  the  Kelso  Fairs,  pp.  73-74). 

Kelso  was  one  of  the  first  provincial  towns  in  Scotland  to 
adopt  the  printing  press,  and  the  revival  of  the  art  of  printing  in 
Scotland  was  commenced  in  Kelso  under  James  Ballantyne, 
where  he  printed  the  first  edition  of  Sir  Walter  Scott's  "  Min- 
strelsy of  the  Scottish  Border." 

There  are  two  newspapers  published  in  the  town — viz.,  the 
"  Kelso  Mail,"  twice  a-week,  and  the  "  Kelso  Chronicle,"  once 
a-week.  There  are  two  subscription  libraries,  the  oldest  and 
most  extensive  of  which,  the  "  Kelso  Library,"  was  established 
in  1750,  and  now  contains  a  very  valuable  collection  of  about 
8000  volumes;  it  occupies  a  handsome  building  on  the  Terrace, 
overlooking  the  river,  and  commands  a  most  beautiful  and 
extensive  prospect.  The  other  library,  though  inferior  in  extent, 
possesses  a  considerable  collection  of  valuable  works,  in  the 
various  branches  of  literature.  Attached  to  Kelso  Library,  front- 
ing towards  Roxburgh  Street,  is  the  "  Tweedside  Physical  and 
Antiquarian  Society's  Museum,"  (see  lists),  an  edifice  of  two 
storeys,  of  tasteful  design  and  convenient  arrangement.  This 
society  dates  its  origin  in  1834,  its  object  being  "  to  promote  the 
study  of  the  natural  history  and  antiquities  of  the  district  tra- 
versed by  the  Tweed  and  its  tributaries,  and  to  cause  to  be  pre- 
served, in  a  museum  set  apart  for  the  purpose,  whatever  objects 
may  be  acquired,  illustrative  of  these  branches  of  science."  The 
collection  is  now  a  large  and  valuable  one,  and  is  shown 
gratuitously  on  Mondays,  Wednesdays,  and  Fridays. 

The  most  striking  object  in  Kelso  is  the  venerable  Abbey, 
founded  by  David  I.  in  1128 ;  it  is  a  noble  specimen  of  the  solid 
and  majestic  style  of  architecture  called  the  Saxon  or  Early 
Norman.  Admission  within  the  burying-ground  rails,  the  better 
to  view  the  interior  of  the  Abbey,  can  be  had  by  applying  to  the 
sexton.    A  broken  dangerous  stair  leads  to  the  Abbey  top,  a 


*  It  may  give  some  idea  of  the  central  position  of  Kelso  when  we 
state  that  its  radia  of  eight  miles  include  two  kingdoms,  three  coun- 
ties, and  twenty  parishes.  All  these  parishes  are  in  the  highest  state 
of  cultivation  ;  and  of  eighteen  of  them,  Kelso  may  be  considered  the 
market  town  and  natural  outlet. 


height  of  91  feet.  Near  to  the  Abbey,  and  its  fit  companion  for 
magnificence  and  beauty,  is  Kelso  Bridge,  built  in  1803 ;  it 
consists  of  five  noble  elliptical  arches,  each  72  feet  span.  The 
singular  elegance  of  this  bridge  is  the  more  fortunate,  as  its 
situation,  when  viewed  from  different  directions,  renders  it  the 
most  prominent  object  in  some  of  the  finest  landscapes  on  the 
Tweed.  Connecting  two  banks,  each  remarkable  for  beauty, 
it  forms  the  centre  of  a  vast  variety  of  pictures ;  and  it  affords 
a  striking  contrast  and  relief  to  the  dark  colour  of  the  wooded 
scenery  on  either  side.  Eennie  was  the  architect,  and  he  is  said 
to  have  made  it  his  model  for  Waterloo  Bridge  (of  which  he  was 
also  the  architect),  across  the  Thames  at  London.  The  prospect 
from  the  Bridge  is  exceedingly  beautiful,  but  perhaps  a  view 
still  more  admired  is  that  from  the  Terrace,  where  the  view  com- 
prehends the  junction  of  the  rivers  Tweed  and  Teviot,  with 
the  river  islet,  around  which  their  waters  flow.  Tradition,  in  its 
goblin  legend,  says,  that  the  long  mill  cauld  stretching  above 
and  below  the  islet,  was  built  by  Michael  Scott  the  wizard,  when 
"  he  bridled  the  Tweed  with  a  curb  of  stone."  The  islet  belongs 
to  the  town  of  Kelso,  and  in  the  summer  it  is  used  as  a  public 
bleaching  and  drying  ground.  But  a  scene  unique  in  the  dis- 
trict, is  the  walk,  on  a  dark  night,  from  Kelso  Bridge  along  the 
river  side  to  Maxwellheugh  Mill,  when  the  hoarse  roar  from 
Michael's  curh,  the  splash  from  the  neighbouring  mills,  and  the 
"dark  and  deathlike  flow"  of  the  broad  and  rapid  river,  have  a 
startling  effect— greatly  heightened  if  the  river  be  in  flood,  and 
its  darkness  made  visible,  at  intervals,  by  the  faint  lights  from 
the  Bridge  and  the  town. 

The  outskirts  of  the  town  are  dotted  over  with  beautiful  resi- 
dences, of  which  foremost  among  them  comes  Floors  Castle,* 
the  seat  of  the  Duke  of  Roxburghe,  on  the  north  bank  of  the 
Tweed,  about  a  mile  from  the  town.  The  grounds  surrounding 
the  house  are  finely  laid  out ;  and  the  gardens,  lately  finished, 
are  unrivalled  in  the  south  of  Scotland.  They  are  open  to  the 
public  every  Wednesday,  by  card,  procurable  from  Mr.  Darling 
of  the  Bank  of  Scotland.  Springwood  Park,  the  mansion  of 
Sir  George  H.  Scott  Douglas,  Bart.,  is  pleasantly  situated  on 
the  south  bank  of  the  Teviot,  where  that  river  sweeps  past  the 
ruins  of  the  ancient  castle  of  Roxburgh ;  the  gardens  and  woods 
here  are  beautifully  laid  out,  the  latter  abounding  with  wild 
flowers  to  a  more  than  ordinary  extent.  The  gateway  forming 
the  main  entrance  into  Springwood  Park  is  very  generally  ad- 

*  Floors  Castle,  a  stately  building  but  severely  plain,  was  erected  in 
1718;  the  architect  was  Sir  John  Vanbrugh,  the  dramatist.  Its  gran- 
deur was  greatly  enhanced  and  its  plainness  relieved  by  alterations 
under  the  direction  of  Mr.  Playfair  of  Edinburgh,  commenced  in  1849 
and  carried  on  for  some  years.  The  name  Floors  is  a  common  one 
in  various  parts  of  Scotland,  and  is  applied  to  the  flat  parts  of  vallevs. 


71 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    KELSO. INTRODUCTORY    REMARKS. 


72 


mired.  Ednam  House,  the  residence  of  Mrs.  Robertson,  stands 
conspicuously  a  little  above  Kelso  Bridge  on  the  north  side. 
Wooden  House,  the  residence  of  Admiral  Scott,  occupies  a 
conspicuous  position  on  the  south  side  of  the  Tweed,  below  the 
town.  Near  Wooden  House  is  a  romantic  glen,  in  which,  when 
there  is  water  sufficient,  a  very  pretty  waterfall  is  produced. 
Pinnaclehill  is  prettily  situated  on  the  summit  of  a  rock, 
overhanging  the  Tweed  (south  side),  a  little  below  the  Bridge. 
Through  openings  in  the  woods,  which  here  fringe  the  banks  of 
the  river,  some  of  the  finest  views  of  Kelso  and  the  Bridge  are 
to  be  had.  Rosebank,  a  little  beyond  the  town  to  the  east,  is 
celebrated  as  having  been  for  some  time  the  property  and  resi- 
dence of  Sir  Walter  Scott ;  and  the  tree  which  he  here  fitted  up 
as  an  agreeable  retreat  for  reading,  still  exists  in  a  flourishing 
condition ;  it  is  an  aged  elm  overhanging  the  Tweed. 

For  Hendersyde  Park  House — another  place  of  note,  within 
two  miles  of  Kelso — see  Ednam  parish ;  for  Newton-Don  and  the 
Falls  of  the  Eden — within  three  miles — see  Nenthorn  parish ;  and 
for  Stitchill  and  Stitchill  House,  see  Stitchill  parish. 

At  a  short  distance  from  the  town,  but  in  the  neighbouring 
parish  of  Roxburgh,  are  the  remains  of  Roxburgh  Castle,  already 
mentioned.  A  few  shapeless  pieces  of  wall,  some  of  them  of 
enormous  thickness,  bear  witness  to  the  former  strength  of  the 
castle,  and  are  all  that  remain  of  its  magnificence  and  regal 
grandeur.  From  the  old  walls  beautiful  views  of  the  vales 
of  the  Tweed  and  the  Teviot  are  to  be  had ;  and  from  the  high 
part  of  the  road  leading  to  the  ruins  from  Teviot  bridge  is  the 
best  view  of  Floors  Castle. 

A  great  addition  has  lately  been  made  to  the  beauty  and 
amenity  of  Kelso,  by  Shedden  Park,  a  gift  presented  by  Mrs. 
Robertson  of  Ednam  House,  to  the  inhabitants,  for  their  recrea- 
tion and  enjoyment;  it  is  situated  close  upon  the  town  to  the 
east.  The  inhabitants,  as  a  mark  of  their  gratitude  to  thefliberal 
and  kind-hearted  donor  of  the  Park,  have  erected  a  handsome 
entrance  gateway,  with  suitable  inscription. 

Besides  the  town  of  Kelso  there  is  also  in  the  parish  the 
hamlet  or  suburb  of  Maxwellheugh,  on  the  south  side  of 
the  river  and  on  the  road  to  the  Kelso  station  of  the  North 
British  Railway,  which  is  a  very  short  distance  beyond.  The 
station,  considering  the  amount  of  business  done  at  it,  is  a  very 
shabby  building,  and  its  distance  from  Kelso  is  a  great  incon- 
venience. A  mile  below  Kelso  the  North  British  line  from 
Edinburgh  and  the  west  joins  that  of  the  North-Eastern  from 
Berwick  and  the  south.  The  opposition  between  these  two  lines 
is  the  cause  of  considerable  delay  and  inconvenience  to  pas- 
sengers passing  Kelso,  but  their  competition  has  had  a  favour- 
able effect,  so  far  as  Kelso  and  its  neighbourhood  are  concerned, 
in  lessening  the  price  of  coal,  lime,  etc. 


Though,  upon  the  whole,  mild  and  genial,  the  climate  of  Kelso 
is  scarcely  so  salubrious  as  might  be  expected.  Hoar  frost  is 
prevalent  during  the  winter  months  ;  and  at  almost  all  seasons 
the  atmosphere  is  generally  in  an  unfavourable  condition  with 
regard  to  extent  of  humidity ;  under  ordinary  states  of  the  atmo- 
sphere, the  free  circulation  of  air  is  intercepted  by  the  hills  and 
woods  encircling  the  town,  while  the  gales  from  the  west  often 
sweep  with  great  violence  down  the  vale  of  the  Tweed,  hurting 
vegetation  and  damaging  house  property ;  and  easterly  winds 
are  also  common,  especially  in  the  spring  when  the  blighting 
liaur  is  by  no  means  unfrequent.  Still  the  comparatively  humid 
atmosphere  of  the  immediate  vicinity  agrees  with  many  invalids : 
thus  there  are  a  number  of  persons  living  in  Kelso,  and  enjoying 
a  fair  amount  of  good  health  throughout  the  year,  who  would 
have  been  much  less  comfortable  and  well  in  a  drier,  harder  atmos- 
phere. It  is  expected  that  the  thorough  system  of  sewerage,  and 
water  supply,  at  present  being  carried  into  execution,  will  have 
an  ameliorating  effect  on  the  climate  of  the  town. 

Having  said  so  much  against  and  for  the  salubrity  of  Kelso, 
we  now  go  out  of  our  way  a  little  to  repel  some  splenetic  accu- 
sations against  the  moral  character  of  its  inhabitants,  which 
appeared  in  Fullerton's  "Gazetteer  of  Scotland,"  a  work,  pub- 
lished in  1844,  and  ever  since  widely  circulated  by  means  of 
hawkers ;  and  as  it  is  the  only  Gazetteer  of  the  country  of  any 
account,  it  has  been,  and  is,  largely  employed  as  a  book  of  refe- 
rence. 

The  writer's  remarks,  which  are  written  in  an  ill-natured  spirit 
throughout,  are  especially  objectionable  when  he  refers  to  the 
Kelso  Theatre  (see  No.  10  Horse  Market),  and  to  the  residence 
of  the  French  prisoners  in  the  town  during  the  French  war.  He 
asserts  that  the  "  Kelsonians "  had  with  "  great  facility  im- 
bibed the  spirit  of  French  levity  and  dissipation,"  and  that  they 
had  "  become  innoculated  with  French  laxity  of  morals  and 
fashionable  follies."  As  a  proof  that  the  writer  in  the  Gazetteer 
was  both  ignorant  (wilfully  or  otherwise)  and  ill-natured  when 
he  penned  his  remarks  about  Kelso,  we  have  only  to  draw  atten- 
tion to  the  panegyric  of  Dr.  M'Culloch  (now  of  Greenock),  on 
the  town  and  its  inhabitants,  in  the  "  Statistical  Account  of  Scot- 
land," published  four  years  before  the  Gazetteer  appeared;  and 
to  state  that  at  the  date  these  remarks  were  published  the  Kelso 
Theatre  had  been  converted  to  other  uses  for  more  than  ten 
years,  and  from  that  time  up  till  now  even  a  strolling  player  has 
been  almost  unknown  in  the  town ;  and  of  all  the  towns  in  the 
district  Kelso  is  probably  one  in  which  dissijyated  amusements 
succeed  as  little  as  in  any,  and  where  the  means  of  intellectual 
improvement,  and  recreation,  and  manly  out-door  sports,  have 
been  in  most  request  and  most  steadily  carried  out. 

Without  doubt,  the  town,  like  all  other  towns,  had  and  has 


73 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    KELSO. FAIRS   AND    MARKETS. 


74 


its  vices  and  follies,  but  it  should  not  on  that  account  be  gib- 
beted as  a  little  Paris  and  have  its  worth  ignored ;  but  probably 
the  best  disproof  of  the  aspersions,  at  least  so  far  as  the  present 
standing  of  the  town  is  concerned,  is  to  be  found  in  the  number 
of  its  charitable,  humane,  and  provident  societies  in  the  lists  fol- 
lowing. 

The  Tweed  and  Teviot  abound  in  trout ;  and  salmon,  grilse, 
bull-trout,  etc.,  ascend  in  immense  numbers  to  spawn.  The 
linest  rod-fishings  for  salmon,  on  the  Tweed,  are  in  this  parish. 
They  belong  to  the  Duke  of  Roxburghe,  by  whom  they  are 
preserved ;  but  free  grants  to  fish  for  salmon  in  the  Teviot  can 
be  had  by  application  to  Mr.  Darling,  Broomlands,  chamberlain 
to  His  Grace,  or  to  Mr.  Darling,  banker,  Kelso. 

The  trout  fishing  in  the  Teviot  is  all  that  could  be  desired  by 
the  angler,  and  it  is  open  to  everybody — streams  plentiful  and 
good — trouts  ditto.  For  some  miles  above  Kelso  the  Tweed  is 
strictly  preserved  for  trout,  but  below  Kelso  it  is  open  as  far  as 
Carham :  trouts  plentiful  and  large. 

Besides  the  Tweed  and  the  Teviot,  there  are  -within  easy  dis- 
tances from  Kelso,  the  Eden  and  the  Kale,  first-rate  trouting 
streams — see  descriptive  accounts  of  the  parishes  of  Ednam,  Yet- 
holm  and  Morebattle. 

During  the  season  the  Duke  of  Buccleuch's  fox  hounds 
regularly  hunt  the  neighbourhood ;  and  foxes  are  occasionally 
drawn  in  Springwood  Park  policy,  in  close  proximity  to  Kelso, 
but  there  are  no  regular  fox  covers  in  the  parish.  Accom- 
modation can  readily  be  had  by  sportsmen  either  in  the  inns 
or  private  houses  of  Kelso. 

Kelso  General  Holidays — First  Wednesday  of  July,  and  New 
Year's  Day. 

Market  Days — Friday,  weekly  (general  and  corn) ;  Mondays, 
fortnightly  (fat  cattle,  sheep,  and  cows).  Buyers  attend  regularly 
from  as  far  south  as  Manchester  and  Leeds,  and  from  Edinburgh, 
and  occasionally  from  Glasgow :  the  market,  which  takes  place  in 
the  Square  for  cattle,  the  Knowes  for  sheep,  and  the  Wood  Mar- 
ket for  cows,  begins  about  9  a.m.,  and  is  generally  over  by  11. 
The  following  is  a  statement  of  the  quantity  of  fat  stock  de- 
spatched from  the  Kelso  Railway  Station,  north  and  south,  for 
the  three  months  ending  March  1864,  which  may  give  some  idea 
of  the  quantity  raised  and  sold  in  the  locality : — 

2719  cattle.  11,966  sheep.  224  pigs. 

Great  Hiring  Days — Hinds,  first  Friday  of  March;  Young 
Men  and  Women,  first  Fridays  of  May  and  November. 

Kelso  Horse  Fair — second  Friday  of  March ;  still  the  principal 
horse  fair  in  the  district,  although  greatly  fallen  off  in  impor- 
tance, and  at  which  a  good  show  of  valuable  work  horses  are 
exposed,  some  hacks  and  a  very  few  hunters,  besides  a  large 


quantity  of  inferior  animals.  The  animals  sold  are  mostly  draft — 
few  or  none  being  reared  in  the  locality  specially  for  sale ;  buyers 
attend  from  Edinburgh,  Newcastle,  and  Aberdeen.  A  prelimi- 
nary fair  takes  place  on  the  first  Friday  of  March,  and  a  supple- 
mentary one  on  the  third  Friday,  but  the  show  of  horses  on  both 
these  occasions  is  comparatively  small. 

Kelso  Wool  Fair — second  Friday  of  July.  This  fair,  which 
makes  so  little  stir  in  the  town  that  to  ordinary  observers  it 
would  pass  unnoticed,  is  one  of  great  importance;  at  it  the 
greater  part  of  the  Leicester  wool  grown  in  the  district  is  sold, 
principally  to  buyers  from  the  Yorkshire  and  other  Midland 
manufacturing  districts.  Business  generally  begins  in  front  of 
the  Cross  Keys  about  2  p.m.  and  terminates  about  4  (see  St. 
Boswells'  Fair). 

St.  James's  Fair  (on  the  Friars'  Haugh  on  the  Tweed,  opposite 
Floors  Castle,  and  situated  in  the  parish  of  Roxburgh) — Augnst 
5th,  or  the  Monday  following  if  the  5th  be  a  Sunday.  St. 
James's  is  now  almost  entirely  a  pleasure  fair,  where  a  crowd  of 
people  assemble  to  eat  gingerbread  and  drink  ale  and  whisky.  A 
little  real  business  is  done  in  hiring  shearers,  and  settling  wool 
and  manure  accounts :  a  few  old  cows  and  secondary  horses  are 
also  sold.  The  burgh  of  Jedburgh  shares  the  right  of  superiority 
over  the  fair ;  the  provost  of  Jedburgh  and  senior  bailie  of  Kel3o 
conjointly  hold  a  court  during  its  continuance,  and  take  cogni- 
zance of  offences.  Of  the  dues  drawn,  one-third  goes  to  the 
burgh  of  Jedburgh  and  two-thirds  to  the  Duke  of  Roxburghe. 
The  origin  of  St.  James's  Fair  is  lost  in  obscurity ;  and  although 
now  of  very  little  real  importance,  it,  till  the  beginning  of  the 
present  century,  had  for  an  indefinite  period  held  the  most 
important  place  as  &  general  fair  in  the  south  of  Scotland;  and 
it  is  still  recollected  as  a  great  place  for  the  sale  of  linen,  cheese, 
wool,  ready-made  clothes,  and  shoes,  and,  to  a  smaller  extent, 
of  hats,  and  of  books  by  auction ;  while  for  the  sale  of  sheep, 
cattle,  and  horses,  it  ranked  next  to  St.  Boswells.  The  only 
branch  of  its  general  trade  which  seems  to  have  kept  its  place 
is  the  sale  of  crockery  by  the  gipsies,  who,  by  use  and  wont, 
occupy  their  portion  of  the  fair  ground  for  some  days  both 
before  and  after  the  event.    (See  St.  Boswells  Fair.)    • 

The  September  Sale  of  Leicester  and  Half-Bred  Tups  is  the 
largest  of  its  kind  in  the  kingdom,  and  at  it  animals  are  purchased 
for  the  improvement  of  stock,  not  only  in  the  other  parts  of 
Great  Britain,  but  in  Ireland,  Australia,  New  Zealand,  and  the 
Continent.  (For  particulars  of  this  sale,  see  notice  of  the  "  Union 
Agricultural  Society  "  in  the  lists.) 

Lean  Cattle  and  Draft  Ewe  Market  (held  on  a  field  near  the 
railway  station,  generally  onSpylaw  farm)— 24th  September,  or 
the  Saturday  preceding  if  the  date  be  a  Sunday  [the  object  of 
this  being  to  keep  off  the  Jedburgh  Rood  Day  Fair,  which  falls 


75 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    KELSO. — COURTS — PUBLIC    OFFICES — ETC. 


76 


on  the  25th]  ;  established  by  the  Kelso  Farmers'  Club  (Mr.  R. 
Swan,  Kelso,  secretary)  so  lately  as  1854.  At  the  market  of 
1863  the  following  stock  was  exposed  for  sale  :— 

990  Cattle.  157  score  Sheep.  170  Calves. 

This  fair  is  found  to  be  of  great  convenience  to  the  locality  and 
its  importance  is  increasing. 


According  to  the  census  of  1861,  the  population  of  the  town 
of  Kelso  (within  the  burgh  boundaries,  which  include  Maxwell- 
heugh), was  4309 ;  of  the  parish  (including  the  town),  5192.  Ac- 
cording to  the  same  census  the  parish  contained  1264  families, 
one  of  whom  lived  in  a  house  without  windows;  369  in  houses 
of  one  window,  and  the  same  number  in  houses  of  two  windows ; 
leaving  525,  or  rather  more  than  two-fifths  (a  very  high  average 
compared  with  the  other  parishes  in  the  district  or  Scotland 
generally)  living  in  houses  of  three  or  more  windows. 

Assessed  property  in  the  parish  in  1863-4,  £32,848 :  14 : 4. 

The  largest  landed-proprietor  in  the  parish  is  His  Grace  the 
Duke  of  Roxburghe,  who  is  generally  resident  at  Floors.  The 
other  resident  landed-proprietors  are  Sir  George  H.  S.  Douglas, 
Bart.,  of  Springwood  Park,  and  Rear-Admiral  Scott  of  Wooden. 
The  principal  non-resident  proprietors  are: — "Walter  Macmillan 
Scott  of  Wauchope  (minor — see  Hobkirk  parish);  Admiral  Sir 
William  Dickson  of  Sydenham ;  John  Waldie,  Esq.,  of  Hender- 
3yde  Park  {see  Ednam  parish);  George  Home  Binning  Home,  of 
Softlaw  (Argaty,  Doune,  Perthshire);  Governors  of  George  Wat- 
tson's  Hospital  [Merchant  Company  Edinburgh],  of  Spylaw; 
Governors  of  Merchant  Maiden  Hospital  [Merchant  Company, 
Edinburgh]  of  Ladyrig. 

Superior  of  Kelso — Duke  of  Roxburghe. 


MAGISTRATES  AND  COUNCIL. 

The  Government  of  the  Town  is  under  the  New  Police  Act  of  25  and 

26  Victoria,  cap.  101. 

Jas.  Stormonth  Darling,  Esq..  Chief  Magistrate. 

George  Craig,  Esq.,  and  James  Johnston,  Esq.,  Junior  Magistrates. 

Commissioners  of  Police. 


Bridge  Street  Ward : — 
James  Tait  (Edenside). 
Richard  Porteous. 
James  Johnston. 

Horse  Market  Ward ; — 
George  Craig. 
John  Kennedy 
Robert  Rutherfurd  (Paradise. ) 


Wood  Market  Ward:— 
James  S.  Darling. 
Wm,  Mein. 
John  Bulman. 

Roxburgh  Street  Ward  :— 
A.  W.  Robson. 
Archibald  Hervey. 
Charles  Robson. 


Robert  Curry,  Clerk ;  John  Guthrie,  Treasurer  and  Collector ;  Wm. 
Robson,  Procurator-Fiscal ;  John  Moscrip,  Superintendent  of  Police. 
George  Lamb,  Jailor      George  Boag  and  James  Kerr,  Policemen. 


Police  rates,  which  include  charges  for  laying  down  an  extensive 
system  of  sewerage,  1b.  3d.  per  £. 
An  extensive  system  of  water  supply  is  at  present  being  laid  down. 


JUSTICES  OF  THE  PEACE. 

Those  marked  thus  (*)  are  Resident  in  the  Parish ;  the  others  are 

non-resident  but  attend  the  Courts  regularly. 

R.  K.  Elliot,  Esq.  of  Clifton. 


*His  Grace  the  Duke  of  Roxburghe 

John  B.  Boyd,  Esq.  of  Cherry- 
trees. 

*Sir  George  Henry  Scott  Douglas, 
Bart,  of  Springwood  Park. 

Jas.  Robson  Scott,  Esq.,  Belford. 


W.  S.  Kerr,  Esq.  of  Chatto. 
Dr  John  Murray,  Kersknowe. 
R.  Oliver,  Esq.,  of  Lochside. 
*  Admiral  Scott  of  "Wooden. 
James  S.  Darling,  Esq.,  Kelso. 


COURTS. 
Police  Courts  are  held  as  occasion  may  require. 
Justice  op  Peace  Courts  are  held  on  first  Wednesday  of  each  month. 
Sheriff  Small  Debt  Courts  are  held  on  the  second  Tuesdays  of  Feb- 
ruary, April,  June,  August,  October,  and  December. 


PUBLIC  OFFICES,  &c. 
Billet  Master — John  Moscrip,  28  Roxburgh  Street. 
Burial  Grounds,  Custodier  of— Thomas  Aatohison,  Bowmont  Street. 
Heritors'  Clerk — Thomas  Aitchison,  Bowmont  Street. 
Inland  Revenue  (Excise)  Office,  Cross  Keys,  Market  Place — W.  Wight, 

Roxburgh  Street,  Officer ;  Barclay  F.  Dunn,  Kelso,  Supervisor. 
Inland  Revenue,  Collector  of — Alex.  Elliot ;  Office,  Wood  Market. 
Justice  of  the  Peace  Clerk  Depute — William  Robson ;  Office,  Square. 
Medical  Officer  and  Public  Vaccinator — Dr.  Hamilton,  Roxburgh  St. 
Nuisances,  Inspector  of — Robert  Rutherford,  Bridge  Street. 
Police  Assessment,  Collector  of, — John  Guthrie,  Roxburgh  Street. 
Poor,  Inspector  of — Alexander  Morrison ;  Office,  Horse  Market. 
Poor,  Sub-Inspector — Thomas  Aitchison,  Bowmont  Street. 
Poor's  Rates,  Collector  and  Treasurer— Charles  Robson,  Bridge  St. 
Procurator-Fiscal  for  Kelso  District — Charles  Robson,  Bridge  Street. 
Property  and  Income  Tax,  Assessor  of — Alex.  Elliot,  Wood  Market. 
Road  Trustees'  Office,  Bridge  Street — Smiths  &  Robson,  Clerks. 
Registrar  of  Births,  Marriages,  and  Deaths — Walter  Hilson ;  Office, 

Maxwellheugh. 
Sub-Registrar  of  do.  do.  Thomas  Aitchison,  Kelso. 

Session  Clerk  and  Kirk  Treasurer — Walter  Hilson,  Maxwellheugh. 
Sexton,  Town-Crier,  and  Customs'  Collector — James  Allan,  Ragged 

School  Close,  Roxburgh  Street. 
Sheriff-Clerk  Depute — Adam  Woodman  Main,  Maxwell  Place. 
Sheriff-Officer — Alexander  Brown,  25  Bridge  Street. 
Stamps  and  Taxes,  Distributor  and  Collector  of— Alexander  Elliot, 

Wood  Market. 
Stamps  and  Taxes,  Surveyor  of— Edward  Henderson,  Melrose. 
Statute  Labour,  Collector  of— Charles  Robson,  Bridge  Street. 
Town  Treasurer — John  Guthrie,  Roxburgh  Street. 
Union  Agricultural  Society,  Bridge  Street — Robert  Curry,  Sec. 
Works,  Master  of— William  Clazy,  Knowes. 


77 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :  KELSO. — POST  OFFICE — CLERGY. 


POST  OFFICE  (Wood  Market). 

Postmaster — James  Lorimer  Romanes,  who  attests  this  List. 
Town  Deliverers — James  Allan,  James  Tait. 


Arrivals  and  Despatches  of  Mails,  Ac,  1864 

a  . 

«■£ 

°  p. 

pq 

■a 

> 

ll 

Si 

Sunday. 

Posts. 

MP 

Is 
> 

->< 

Edinburgh  and  North.       .        .  -j 

London,  England,  Berwick 
Do.            Do.          Do. 

Coldstream        .        .        .        .  \ 
Galashiels,  Melrose,  &  Hawick -j 

Jedburgh  .                 ...  -3 

St.  Boswells      .... 

Heiton,  Kirkbauk,  &  Crailing 

Makerstoun,  Smailholm,  Ednam 

Holeiield,  StitcheL  Sprouston,  ) 
Hume,  and  Hadden      .        .  f 

Yetholm,  Morebattle,  Hownam 

Nenthorn  and  Gordon 

9.40a 
2.65p 

6.50p 

2.30p 

6.30p 

9.20a 
6.30p 

7.15a 
2.55p 

7.15a 
2.55p 

2.55p 

5.45a 

5.45a 

10.0a 

10.0a 
10.0a 

9.37a 
6.5  p 

10.10a 

*8.25p 

10.10a 
8  25p 

9.37a 
6.5  p 

9.37a 
6.5  p 

6.5  p 

4.30p 

4.0  p 

4.0  p 

9.0  a 
9.0  a 

about 

10.45a 

6.30p 

10.45a 

8.40p 

10.45a 
8.40p 

10.45a 
6.30p 

10.45a 
6.30p 

6.30p 

6.30p 

6.30p 

6.30p 

10.45a 
10.45a 

U.55p 

U.SOp 
J6.30p 
1 6.55a 

1 6.55a 

4.55p 
5.45a 

.d 

O      rt 

'z    ft 

p 

12.30p 

10.26a 

6.0  p 
6.0  p 

10.26a 

10.26a 

10.26a 
12  n 

'd 
o  > 

< 

10.30a 

Birghani  Letters  are  sent  to  Coldstream. 

Letters  may  be  posted  in  the  late  letter  box  ten  minues  after  box 
closing  by  attaching  an  extra  stamp. 

Receiving  Pillar  Boxes. 
Roxburgh  Street— Collected  at  7  and  S.50  a.m  ,  2,  3.50,  and  5.50  p.m. 
Kelso  Ry.  Station  . .  8  a.m.,  3  and  5.30  p.m. 

On  Sunday  the  office  is  open  from  12.30  till  1.30  p.m.     A  delivery 
takes  place  over  the  town  between  half-past  12  and  2  o'clock  p.m. 
Money  Order  Office  open  every  day  from  9  a.m.  till  6  p.m. 


*  When  the  mail  arrives  at  the  Post  Office  at  8.25  p.m.,  the  delivery 
takes  place  the  same  evening. 


Post  Runners. 
Heiton,  Kirkbank,  and  Crailing — James  Tait,  jun. 
Smailholm  and  Makerstoun — John  Mather. 
Sprouston  and  Hadden — Ralph  Wright. 
Stitchel  and  Hume — George  Fairbairn. 
Holefield  and  Lurdenlaw — Philip  M'Leod. 
Ednam  and  Harpertoun — Alexander  Henderson. 
Nenthorn  and  Gordon — William  Allan. 

Morebattle  and  Hounam — Thomas  Edmondstone,  carrier. 
Yetholm — William  Watson,  carrier. 

The  Post  Runners  are  allowed  to  carry  small  parcels  on  their  own 
account,  but  no  letters  or  newspapers.  The  Carriers  can  take  goods 
of  any  weight. 


CLERGY. 

Kelso  is  the  seat  of  a  Presbytery,  in  the  Synod  of  Merse  and 
Teviotdale. 

Patron — The  Duke  of  Roxburghe. 

Established  Church — Rev.  James  Smith  (Inducted  1844).  Sittings. 
1314.  Sabbath  School  attendance:  Boys,  under  the  superin- 
tendence of  Mr  John  Kennedy,  85 ;  Girls,  under  the  superin- 
tendence nf  Mr  William  Smith,  95.  Maxwellheuoh  (Boys  and 
Girls),  under  the  superintendence  of  Mr  John  Tait,  teacher, 
Kelso,  50.  Precentor — Robert  Inglis,  13  Coal  Market ;  Church 
Officer — Edward  Ballantyne,  31  Butts.  Treasurer  of  Sabbath 
Schools — Mr  W.  Smith,  Kirk  Style.  Session  Clerk  and  Kirk 
Treasurer — Mr.  Walter  Hilson,  Maxwellheugh. 

North  Free  Church* — Rev.  Horatius  Bonar,  D.D.  (Inducted  1S37). 
Sittings,  750.  Sabbath  School  attendance  :  Boys,  under  tliL- 
superintendence  of  Mr.  Kirkland,  40 ;  Girls,  under  the  superin- 
tendence of  Mr.  Logan,  50.  Precentor — James  Cook,  14  Horse 
Market;  Church  Treasurer — Mr.  J.  B.  Ker;  Home  Missionaries 
—William  Stoddart,  29  Horse  Market,  and  Alexander  Murray. 
54  Roxburgh  Street. 

Free  East  Church  (Sprouston) — Rev.  George  Craig  (Inducted  1835). 
Sittings,  700.  Sabbath  School  attendance  (at  the  Church,  Sprou- 
ston, and  Wooden  Mills),  under  the  superintendence  of  Mr. 
James  Henderson,  Square,  134.  Precentor — John  Aimers,  31 
Bowmont  Street ;  Church  Treasurer— Mr.  James  Henderson. 

*  The  North  Parish  Church  is  at  present  occupied  as  the  North  Free 
Church,  but  it  has  been  claimed  by  the  Established  Presbytery  of  Kelso, 
and  is  to  be  opened  by  the  Presbytery  in  connection  with  the  Established 
Church  on  the  first  Sabbath  of  October.  A  new  North  Free  Church  is 
about  to  be  built  in  place  of  this,  on  a  fine  commanding  situation  in  Rox- 
burgh Street,  and  near  to  the  present  edifice ;  it  is  intended  to  accommo- 
date 700  sitters. 

Dr.  M'Culloch,  in  the  "  Statistical  Account  of  Scotland,"  'describes  the 
present  Free  Church  and  the  Town  Hall  as  the  only  buildings  in  Kelsu 
possessing  any  architectural  merit  (this  was  before  the  Corn  Exchange 
was  built — which  see).  The  Parish  Church  is  only  remarkable  for  its  out- 
side ugliness,  the  economical  arrangement  of  its  walls,  and  its  awkward 
area  passages. 


79 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    KELSO. — CONGREGATIONAL  SOCIETIES. 


80 


United  Presbyterian  (First) — Rev.  Henry  Ronton,  A.M.  (Inducted 
1830);  assistant  and  successor  Rev.  Robert  Whyte,  A.M.  (In- 
ducted 1864).  Sittings,  950.  Sabbath  School  attendance,  under 
the  superintendence  of  Mr.  William  Mein,  60 ;  attendance  at 
the  minister's  private  class,  30.  Precentor — Thomas  Slight,  14 
Wood  Market ;  Church  Treasurer — Mr  John  Scott,  21  "Wood  Mar- 
ket ;  Treasurer  for  Missionary  Purposes — Mr  J.  Forrest,  Square. 

United  Presbyterian  (East) — Rev.  James  Jarvie  (Inducted  1837). 
Sittings,  740.  Sabbath  School  attendance,  50.  Precentor — 
Robert  Purves,  34  Shedden  Park  Road;  Church  Treasurer — 
Mr  Thomas  Mitchell ;  Treasurer  for^  Missionary  Purposes— Mr 
"William  Rae ;  Treasurer  for  Sabbath  School — Mr  Arch.  Milne. 

Reformed  Presbyterian  Church — Rev.  John  Guy  (Inducted  1853). 
Sittings,  300.  Precentor — Alexander  Hall,  Ednam ;  Treasurer — 
Mr  Joseph  Middlemas,  grocer. 

Congregational  Church,"  no  regular  pastor.  Sittings,  150.  Trea- 
surer— Mr.  Robert  Rutherford,  25  Bridge  Street. 

St.  Andrew's  Episcopal  CmjRCH.t — Rev.  J.  H.  Scott  (Inducted  1862). 
Sittings,  214.  Sabbath  School  attendance,  30.  Managers — Mr. 
Vost,  Kelso,  and  Mr.  Smith,  Windywalls ;  Treasurer — Mr.  James 
Douglas,  banker;  Church  Officer  and  Clerk— Alex.  Robson,  4 
Shedden  Park  Road. 

Roman  Catholic  Chapel— Rev.  F.  M'Kerrell  (non-resident). 
Fast  Days — Wednesdays  before  first  Sundays  of  May  and  November. 


PAROCHIAL  MISSIONARY  ASSOCIATION, 

For  collecting  subscriptions  in  aid  of  the  Schemes  of  the  Established 
Church.    Average  annual  income  about  £50.    (This  sum  does  not  in- 
clude the  quarterly  collections  in  behalf  of  the  Schemes.) 
President — Rev.  Jas.  Smith.      Vice-President — Jas.  S.  Darling,  Esq. 
Treasurer — Mr  John  Kennedy.         Secretary — Mr  J.  Tunna. 


ASSOCIATION  FOR  FEMALE  EDUCATION  IN  INDIA 
(Estab.  in  connection  with  the  Established  Church  of  Scotland,  1838). 

President— Rev.  James  Smith. 
Treas. — Miss  Scott,  Wooden.       Secy. — Mrs.  Wm.  Smith,  Kirk  Style. 

Collectors. 
Mrs.  Thomson,  Maxwell  Cottage  |      Miss  Broomfield,  Square 
Miss  Roberton,  Harpertoim  j      Mrs.  William  Smith 

Amount  collected  1863-4,  £25,  5d. 


■  This  was  formerly  the  Quaker  Meeting-house. 

t  The  Episcopal  Church  is  a  pretty  little  building,  nestled  in  ivy,  finely 
situated  on  the  high  bank  of  the  river,  and  adjoining  the  grounds  of 
£dnnm  House. 


FIRST  UNITED  PRESBYTERIAN  CHURCH  MISSIONARY 

SOCIETY. 

President— Rev.  H.  Renton.     Treasurer — Mr  John  Forrest. 

Average  annual  income  about  £100. 

Treasurer  of  Tract  Society — Mr  G.  Gilray. 

Average  annual  income  of  Tract  Society  about  £12. 


SABBATH  SCHOOL  TEACHERS'  UNION. 

President— Mr  P.  Logan.        Vice-President— Mr  James  Kinghorn. 
Secretary  and  Treasurer — Mr  James  Smith,  Oven  Wynd. 


BIBLE  SOCIETY. 

The  object  of  this  Society  is  to  collect  funds  to  aid  in  the  work  of 
Bible  distribution  both  at  home  and  abroad.  Most  of  the  sum  col- 
lected annually  is  sent  to  the  National  Bible  Society  of  Scotland. 
Average  annual  income,  £45. 

President — Duke  of  Roxburghe. 

Vice-President — J.  S.  Darling,  Esq. 

Treasurer — Mr  John  Henderson.        Secretary — Mr  Peter  Logan. 


COLPORTAGE  SCHEME  (established  1859). 

Chairman  and  Treasurer — Robert  Oliver  of  Lochside. 
Convener  and  Secretary — Rev.  John  Guy,  Kelso. 


Rev.  H.  Renton,  Kelso 

Dr.  Bonar 

G.  Craig 

J.  Smith 

J.  Guy 

W.  Lee,  Roxburgh. 
J.  S.  Darling,  Kelso. 
Robert  Oliver,  Lochside. 
Convener— Rev.  John  Guy. 


Committee. 

William  Dunn,  Redden. 
William  Broad,  CliftonhilL 
Thomas  Scott,  Whitton. 
Walter  Arras,  Ormiston. 
George  Simson,  Courthill. 
John  Brough,  New  Smailholm. 
James  Tait,  Roxburgh  St.,  Kelso. 
James  Roberton,  Ladyrig. 
Treasurer — Robert  Oliver,  Esq. 


District  Collectors. 

For  Sprouston — Mr  Dunn. 
Nenthorn — Mr  Simson. 
Smailholm— Mr  Brough. 
Yetholm— Mr  Calder, 


For  Linton — Mr  Oliver. 

Roxburgh — Mr  Roberton. 
Ednam — Mr  Broad 
Morebattle — Mr  Scott. 
Eckford — Mr  Arras. 

The  following  have  been  the  Colporteur's  monthly  averages  of  sales 
of  books  and  periodicals  for  the  five  years  the  scheme  has  existed: 
—for  the  first  year,  £10  : 8  :  4  ;  for  the  second,  £11  :  16  :  2£ ;  for  the 
third,  £13  : 9  :  5£ ;  for  the  fourth,  £14  :  9  :  74  ;  and  for  the  fifth,  just 
closed,  £17  :  6  :  6^— the  total  for  the  five  years  being  £207 :  18  : 9. 


81 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    KELSO. EDUCATIONAL   AND    PAROCHIAL    INSTITUTIONS, 


S-2 


The  books  and  periodicals  sold  are  supplied  at  a  reduced  rate  by 
the  Tract  Society,  Edinburgh.  The  subscriptions  for  the  year  just 
closed  (February  1864),  amount  to  £28  :  14  :  6. 

Since  the  Colporteur  began  his  work  five  years  ago,  he  has  sold 
73,478  periodicals,  and  of  bibles  and  testaments  he  has  sold  1302 
copies  ;  which,  with  a  great  variety  of  books,  represent  a  money 
value  of  about  £802:  he  has  also  distributed  gratuitously  about  200 
tracts  monthly,  supplied  by  the  Edinburgh  Society. 

The  district  of  the  Colporteur  includes,  with  the  exception  of  the 
town  of  Kelso,  nearly  all  the  country  that  lies  between  Haddon  and 
Eckford,  Gateshaw  and  Mellerstain. 


EDUCATIONAL  INSTITUTIONS.* 

Bowmont  House  Boarding  Seminary  for  Young  Ladies — Misses  Pa- 
terson. 

Maitland  House  Boarding  Seminary  for  Young  Ladies — Misses  Watt 
and  Williams. 

Grammar  School  (Parochial),  and  Boarding  Establishment  for  Young 
Gentlemen — George  Duncan  Hunter,  Rector;  Assistant— James 
Henderson. 

English  School  (Parochial),  under  the  superintendence  of  the  Rector 
of  the  Grammar  School ;  Master — James  Henderson,  first-class 
certificated  teacher ;  William  H.  Cook,  assistant.  Average  at- 
tendance at  Grammar  and  English  Schools,- 150. 

Maxwellheugh  English   School  (endowed  to  a  small  extent  out  of 
Prater's  Trust)^— Walter  Hilson,  Master  ;  average  attendance,  140. 
The  school  and  house  accommodation,  and  garden  are  granted 
by  Sir  George  H.  S.  Douglas,  the  proprietor  of  the  hamlet. 

Educational  Establishment  for  Young  Gentlemen — Rev.  John  Guy, 
R.  P.  Manse. 

New  Academy,  West  Bowmont  Street — Master — John  Kirkland,  late 
of  the  Shedden  Park  Academy  (now  closed),  and  formerly  assis- 
tant to  the  late  Dr.  Fergusson  of  the  Kelso  Grammar  School, 

Girls'  School,  25  Horse  Market — Miss  Woodrow. 
Do.  58  Wood  Market— Miss  Knox. 

Roman  Catholic  School — Mary  Macman,  Teacher.  Average  atten- 
dance, 30.       

ROXBURGHE  SUBSCRIPTION  SCHOOLS  (estab.  1817). 
(With  which  was  combined  the  Friendly  School  in  1838.) 

Patroness — Her  Grace  the  Duchess  of  Roxburghe. 
Mr  J.  Henderson,  Secretary.         Mr  J.  Kennedy,  Treasurer. 
Wm.  Smith,  Teacher.     Average  attendance,  110. 
Girls'  Sewing  Class — Miss  Hambly,  Teacher. 
The  school  accommodation  is  granted  by  His  Grace  the  Duke  of 
Roxburghe ;  and  Her  Grace  the  Duchess  of  Roxburghe  is  the  prin- 
cipal subscriber  to  the  funds.     The  house  accommodation  was  built 
partly  by  His  Grace  and  partly  by  a  grant  from  the  Fergusson 

*  During  the  first  week  of  April  1861,  the  number  of  children  in  the 
parish,  from  5  to  14,  attending  school,  was  796;  of  all  ages  855. 


Fund.  The  fees  are  at  the  nominal  rate  of  one  penny  per  week. 
The  ordinary  branches  of  a  useful  English  education  are  taught ; 
besides  sewing,  knitting,  &c,  to  the  girls. 


INDUSTRIAL  RAGGED  SCHOOL. 

Supported  by  voluntary  subscriptions— the  property,  consisting  of 
ample  school,  house,  and  garden  accommodation,  was  purchased  in 
1858,  partly  by  subscription  and  partly  by  a  donation  of  £100  from 
the  Fergusson  Fund. 

Chairman  and  Treasurer— James  Roberton,  Esq.,  Ladyrig. 

Secretary — Rev.  John  Guy.        Teacher — John  Tait. 

Average  attendance,  30. 

The  children  are  partly  fed  in  the  school,  and  a  man  is  regularly 

employed  to  teach  shoemaking  to  the  older  boys,  and  superintend 

net-making,  etc.     The  girls  are  taught  sewing  by  Mrs.  Tait. 


PAROCHIAL  BOARD. 


Chairman — James  Tait,  Esq.  W.S. 
Acting  Committee. 
Messrs.  James  Tait  (Convener),  Robert  Darling,  Robert  Curry,  Rev. 
James  Smith,  Rev.  Henry  Renton,  George  Craig,  Charles  Rob- 
son,  Rev.  James  Jarvie. 

Elected  Members,  and  Members  of  Kirk  Session. 
Messrs.  Thomas  Crosbie,  Robert  Woodrow,  James  S.  Darling,  John 
Scott,  Jas.  Hogg,  Dr.  Hamilton,  John  Kennedy,  William  Smith, 
Robert  Rutherford,  Walter  Hilson,  Peter  Lugton,  Robert  Gray, 
John  Rule. 

Medical  Officer — Thomas  Hamilton,  M.D. 

Charles  Robson,  Collector  and  Treasurer  of  Poor  Rates. 

Alexander  Morrison,  Inspector.    T.  Aitchison,  Sub-Inspector. 

Average  No.  of  Poor  on  Roll,  100.     Assessment  for  the  year,  Is.  8d. 

per  £ — less  one-fourth  on  house  property  for  repairs. 

Total  Collection  1S63-4  from  all  sources,  £1987  :4  :  10. 

Office — Horse  Market. 


UNION  POORHOUSE. 


The  Parishes  forming  the  Combination  or  Union,  are — Kelso, 
Earlston,  Eccles,  Eckford,  Ednam,  Gordon,  Hounam,  Linton,  More 
battle,  Nenthorn,  Smailholm,  Sprouston,  Stitchel  and  Hume,  Rox- 
burgh, and  Yetholm. 

Committee  of  Management. 
Chairman — Robert  Swan,  Esq.,  Kelso. 


Rev.  James  Smith,  Kelso. 
Robert  Curry,  solicitor,  Kelso. 
Robert  Darling,  Broomlands. 
Charles  Robson,  solicitor,  Kelso. 
Rev.  Henry  Renton,  Kelso. 
Rev.  James  Jarvie,  Kelso. 
John  Hood  of  Stoneridge. 


James  S.  Darling,  W.S.,  Kelso. 
Jas.  Roberton,  Tenant  of  Lady- 

rig. 
John  B.  Boyd  of  Cherrytrees. 
F.   Calder,    Tenant   of  Yetholm 

Mains. 
Robert  Kerr  Elliot  of  Clifton. 

G 


83 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    KELSO. CHARITABLE    BEQUESTS. 


84 


Secretary  and  Treasurer— James  Tait,  W.S.,  Kelso. 

Governor  and  Matron — Mr  and  Mrs  Miller. 

Average  number  of  Inmates,  45. 


DISPENSARY  (Roxburgh  Street). 

Founded  1777,  for  the  benefit  of  the  sick  poor  of  the  town  and 
district,  principally  through  the  exertions  of  the  late  Hon.  Mrs. 
BaiUie  of  Mellerstain  and  Dr.  C.  Douglas  of  Kelso.  Supported  by 
voluntary  subscription. 

Amount  of  Accumulated  Funds,  October  1S63,  over  £5600. 
President— His  Grace  the  Duke  of  Roxburghe. 
Vice-Presidents. 
The  Right  Hon.  the  Earl  of  Haddington. 
The  Right  Hon.  Lord  Polwarth. 
John  Waldie,  Esq.  of  Hendersyde. 
Andrew  Wauchope,  Esq.  of  Niddrie  Marischall, 
Physician — Dr  John  Robertson. 
Surgeons— Dr  T.  Hamilton ;  Dr  "William  M.  Mackenzie. 
Apothecary— Mr  H.  Vost.       Treasurer  and  Secretary — Mr  R.  Swan. 
Housekeeper— Mrs  Janet  Stewart. 
Baths. 
There  is  one  Bath  kept  exclusively  for  the  Patients  of  the  Dispen- 
sary ;  another,  handsomely  fitted  up  with  marble,  for  the  accommo- 
dation of  the  Public,  and  may  be  had  at  an  hour's  notice,  on  applica- 
tion to  the  Housekeeper,  for  payment  of  Is.  Hot  Bath,  and  6d.  Cold  and 
Shower  Bath,  which  sums  go  towards  the  support  of  the  charity. 
(For  Public  Baths  and  Wash-Houses,  see  Directory,  Roxburgh  St. 


LADIES'  CLOTHING  SOCIETY  (established  1S19.) 

For  supplying  clothing  at  a  reduced  rate  to  the  poorer  and  more 
necessitous  inhabitants.  No  membership  subscription  is  required  ; 
the  society  works  by  the  sale  of  tickets. 

Patroness — Her  Grace  the  Duchess  of  Roxburghe. 
Secretary  and  Treasurer — Miss  Catherine  Stuart,  Roxburgh  Place. 


MERCHANT  COMPANY  (Date  of  present  Charter,  1757). 

Master — Thomas  Mitchell. 

Box  Masters— William  Brotherston  and  Peter  Hooper. 

Auditors — William  Torrie  and  John  Johnston. 

Annual  subscription,  Is. 

The  privileges  of  the  Merchant  Company  previous  to  the  passing 
of  the  Reform  Bill  were  extensive,  and  its  duties  of  considerable  im- 
portance. Its  proceedings  are  now  limited  to  assisting  the  widows, 
in  needful  circumstances,  of  deceased  merchants,  Late  members  of 
the  Company,  and  subscribing  occasionally  to  useful  objects  con- 
nected with  the  town.  The  Company,  which  has  some  accumulated 
funds,  is  nearly  defunct. 


CHARITABLE  BEQUESTS. 

James  Jamieson  of  Herdrig,  late  Surgeon  iu  Kelso,  by  his  will, 
dated  7th  July,  1760,  bequeathed  to  the  Heritors  and  Kirk  Session 
£200  Sterling,  the  Interest  to  be  annually  applied  for  behoof  of  poor 
householders  in  the  town  of  Kelso  who  are  not  on  the  pension  roll  of 
the  parish. 

John  Slone,  Kelso,  by  his  will,  dated  15th  June,  1775,  bequeathed 
£50  Sterling  to  the  Minister  and  Heritors,  for  the  use  and  behoof  of 
the  poor  of  the  town  of  Kelso,  as  they  should  see  best  to  apply  it : 
and  £50  Sterling,  for  the  use  and  behoof  of  the  poor,  as  the  Minister 
thinks  fit. 

Alexander  Douglas,  Kelso,  by  his  will,  dated  15th  August,  17S2, 
bequeathed  to  the  Minister  and  Kirk  Session  of  Kelso  £240  Sterling, 
the  Interest  to  be  applied  to  the  educating  of  poor  children  belong- 
ing to  the  parish. 

John  Samson,  Maxwellheugh,  by  will,  dated  10th  April,  178S,  be- 
queathed £100  Sterling  to  the  Minister  and  Kirk-Session  of  Kelso, 
the  Interest  to  be  applied  yearly  towards  maintaining,  clothing,  and 
educating  poor  orphans  in  the  said  parish. 

Mrs  Barbara  Scott  or  Curll,  Kelso  (widow  of  William  Curll,  farmer, 
Yetbyre,  in  the  county  of  Dumfries ;  and  aunt  of  Sir  Walter  Scott), 
who  died  in  1826,  bequeathed  to  the  Minister  and  Kirk  Session  of 
Kelso  £50,  the  Interest  to  be  applied  for  the  relief  of  poor  old  inhabi- 
tants of  the  parish,  chiefly  to  assist  them  in  paying  their  house  rents. 

Miss  Charlotte  Ann  Waldie  (afterwards  Mrs  Eaton),  by  deed  of  gift 
and  mortification,  dated  15th  August,  1822,  paid  over  and  mortified 
£200  to,  and  in  favour  of,  the  Minister  and  Kirk  Session  of  Kelso, 
the  Interest  to  be  applied  in  paying  school  wages,  and  for  relief  of 
poor  aged  or  infirm  inhabitants  of  the  parish  who  are  not  paupers 
on  the  ordinary  poors'  roll. 

John  Robertson,  Esq.  of  Ednam  House,  who  died  in  1842,  be- 
queathed £200  to  the  Kirk  Session,  for  behoof  of  the  poor  of  the 
parish  of  Kelso,  the  Interest  to  be  distributed  annually  as  the  Session 
thinks  fit. 

Miss  Alicia  Dickson  of  Paisley,  who  died  1845,  bequeathed  £150 
to  the  Kirk  Session  of  Kelso,  for  behoof  of  the  poor  and  needy  of  the 
parish,  whether  on  the  ordinary  poors'  roll  or  not,  to  be  distributed 
in  such  manner  as  the  Kirk  Session  may  think  proper,  so  as  not  to 
come  in  place  of,  or  lessen  the  allowance  of  the  Heritors  and 
Kirk  Session  to  the  regular  poor. 

Mr  John  Frater,  sometime  residing  at  Wooden,  by  deed  of  settle- 
ment, dated  2d  January,  1S32,  bequeathed  to  the  Minister  and  Kirk 
Session  of  Kelso  £100  Sterling,  the  Interest  to  be  applied  for  the 
support  or  clothing  of  old  deserving  men  in  the  parish — the  name  of 
Frater  or  Downie  to  be  preferred;  also  £100  Sterling,  the  Interest 
to  be  applied  for  educating  poor  children  at  the  parish  school,  in  the 
town  of  Kelso — the  name  of  Frater  or  Downie  to  be  preferred ;  Mr 
John  Frater  also,  by  his  deed  of  settlement,  bequeathed  the  residue 
of  his  estate,  which  consists  of  lands  in  the  parish  of  Kelso,  to  certain 
Trustees,  under  burden  of  certain  legacies,  to  be  disposed  of  by  them 
for  such  charitable  purposes  as  they  should  think  fit.— [See  Maxwell- 
heugh School.  ] 


85 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    KELSO. BENEVOLENT   SOCIETIES. 


86 


James  Leadbetter,  writer  in  Kelso,  by  his  settlement  and  codicil 
executed  in  1832,  bequeathed  in  Trust  to  the  Minister  of  Kelso,  the 
Ministers  of  the  United  Associate  Congregation,  the  Relief  Congrega- 
tion, the  Original  Seceding  Congregation,  and  the  Reformed  Presby- 
terian Congregation,  the  sum  of  £300,  the  Interest  thereof  to  be  ap- 
plied annually,  in  the  month  of  January,  for  behoof  of  the  poor  per- 
sons in  the  town  of  Kelso. 

The  late  George  Bruce,  Esq.  of  Slogarie,  tenant  in  Greenknowe, 
who  died  in  1S61,  directed  his  trustees  to  invest  in  name  of  thu 
Clergymen  of  the  different  religious  persuasions  in  Kelso  and  their 
successors,  a  tenth  part  of  his  estates,  the  amount  to  be  ascertained 
at  Whitsunday  1862  [over  £1000] ;  the  interest  of  said  tenth  to  be 
accumulated  until  the  price  of  oatmeal  in  Kelso  is  2s.  Sd.  per  stone, 
and  the  4  lbs  loaf  lid.  ;  when  the  accumulated  Interest  is  to  be 
divided  amongst  poor  persons,  members  of  the  different  congrega- 
tions in  the  parishes  of  Kelso,  Gordon,  Stow,  and  Balmaghie.  The 
lists  to  be  reduced  so  that  each  person  shall  receive  5s.  weekly  for 
six  weeks.  In  the  event  of  the  interest,  or  any  part  of  it,  not  being 
required  for  that  purpose,  it  is  to  be  septennially  applied  to  the  pro- 
motion of  education  in  India. 

[Some  difficulties  having  arisen  as  to  the  constitution  and  admini- 
stration of  this  charity,  the  matter  is  at  present  before  the  Court  of 
Session.  ] 

Miss  Janetta  Dods,  lately  residing  in  Kelso,  who  died  in  1862, 
by  a  codicil  to  her  settlement,  bequeathed  to  the  Session  and  Minister 
of  the  Kelso  Parish  Church,  in  connection  with  the  Established 
Church  of  Scotland,  the  sum  of  £100,  for  behoof  of  the  Kelso  Parish 
Sabbath  School. 


SHEDDEN  PARK. 

Presented  by  Mrs  Robertson  of  Ednam  House  to  the  inhabitants 
of  Kelso,  1851.    (Seep.  71  and  Seats— Ednam  House.) 

Mrs  Robertson  also  at  a  later  date  presented  to  the  trustees  of  the 
Park  a  large  number  of  dwelling  houses  and  gardens,  the  rents  of 
which  are  applicable  to  the  proper  maintenence  of  the  Park  or  other 
benevolent  purposes. 

The  size  of  the  Park  is  a  trifle  over  8  acres. 
Charles  Robson,  Secretary  and  Treasurer.    G.  "Welsh,  Park-Keeper. 


SICK  AND  BURIAL  YEARLY  SOCIETIES, 
Which  are  all  nearly  alike  in  principle. 

Each  member  pays  Is.  2d.  per  week,  and  is  entitled  to  receive,  while 
sick,  4s.  per  week  for  the  first  three  months,  2s.  per  week  for  the 
nest  three  months,  and  Is.  per  week  afterwards  to  the  end  of  the 
financial  year  of  the  Society,  when  it  breaks  up,  and  the  funds  are 
divided,  no  deduction  being  made  from  the  shares  of  members  on 
account  of  sick  money. 

In  addition  to  sick  money,  when  a  member  dies,  funeral  money  to 
the  amount  of  6d.  from  each  member  is  paid  from  the  funds  to  his 
widow  or  heirs  ;  at  the  death  of  a  member's  wife  he  receives  3d.  from 
each  member ;  and,  in  at  least  two  of  the  societies,  a  payment  is 
made  at  the  death  of  a  child  under  fifteen  years  of  age. 


These  payments  for  sick  and  funeral  money,  and  the  payments  for 
expenses  of  management,  are  expected  never  to  exceed  the  odd  2d. 
per  week  paid  by  each  member. 

All  these  societies  also  advance  small  sums  of  money  out  of  the 
funds  to  members,  on  security,  and  at  legal  interest. 

Brisbane  Place  Yearly  Benevolent  Society. 

Preses— Wm.  Wilson.    Clerk— W.  Watson.    Treas.— Wm.  Townley. 

Average  number  of  Members,  320. 

Brisbane  Place  Whitsun  Yearlt  Society. 

Preses— W.  Wilson.      Clerk — W.  Watson.       Treasurer— W.  Townley. 

Average  number  of  Members,  150. 

Bridge  Street  Yearly  Benefit  Society. 

Preses — T.  Aitchison.  Clerk — D.  Cook.        Treasurer — J.  Young. 

Average  number  of  Members,  220. 

Roxburgh  Street  Yearly  Benefit  Society. 

Preses — Jas.  Allan.      Secretary — W.  Currie.     Treasurer — J.  Aimers. 

Average  number  of  Members,  144. 

Bowmont  Street  Whitsctn  Benefit  Society. 

Preses — Geo.  M'Call.      Treasurer — T.  Brown.      Secretary — D.  Cook. 

Average  number  of  Members,  150. 


TWEED  LODGE  OF  FREEMASONS  (founded  1815). 

R.W.  Master — William  Crease,  druggist. 

Past  Master — George  Weddell.     Secretary — Robert  Scoon. 

Treasurer — John  Gow. 


INDEPENDENT  ORDER  OF  ODD  FELLOWS  (founded  1841). 
(Manchester  Unity.) 

Tweedside  Lodge,  No.  2619,  registered  under  the  Friendly  Society's 
Act,  meets  every  other  Monday  in  the  Cross  Keys  Hotel. 
Permanent  Secretary — James  Cook. 
Medical  Officer — W.  M.  Mackenzie,  M.D. 
Accumulated  Funds  in  January  1864,  £1640. 


ANCIENT  ORDER  OF  FORESTERS  (founded  1845). 

Court  Thistle  of  the  Forest  Friendly  Society,  No  1709,  registered 
under  the  Friendly  Society's  Act,  13  and  14  Victoria,  cap.  115,  meets 
every  other  Tuesday  in  the  Queen's  Head  Hotel. 

William  Mole,  Seci-etary.        John  Ledgerwood,  Treasurer. 

Medical  Officer — John  Bookless,  surgeon. 

Accumulated  Funds,  over  £920. 


87 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  I    KELSO. LITERARY   AND   RURAL    SOCIETIES. 


88 


TOTAL  ABSTINENCE  SOCIETY  (estab,  1862). 

President — James  Tait,  Esq.,  Editor  of  "  Kelso  Chronicle." 

Vice-Presidents — Alexander  Mollison  and  Robert  Rutherford. 

Secretary — W.  Robertson.    Treasurer — G.  Grieve, 


TWEEDSIDE  PHYSICAL  AND  ANTIQUARIAN  SOCIETY'S 
MUSEUM  (estab.  1834). 

Acknowledged  to  contain  one  of  the  best  and  most  varied  and  inte- 
teresting  collections  in  Scotland. 
Open  gratuitously  on  Mondays,  "Wednesdays,  and  Fridays,  from 
12  to  3  p.m. ;  and  during  the  summer  months,  on  Saturday  evenings, 
when  an  Instrumental  Band  attends  and  performs. 

Annual  Subscription,  10s.  6d.      Life  Membership,  £5,  5s. 

Patron — His  Grace  the  Duke  of  Roxburghe. 

President — Sir  George  H.  S.  Douglas,  Bart. 

Vice-Presidents. 

P.  J.  Selby,  Esq.  of  Twizel  House.  I  Mr  Stuart  of  Roxburgh  House, 

The  Right  Hon.  the  Earl  of  Home.  |      Kelso. 

Curators. 

Dr.  Hamilton,  Mr.  Tait  of  Langrigg  (Edenside),  Mr.  Robertson  of 

Neworth,  Dr.  Mackenzie,  and  Mr.  James  Douglas. 

Secretary — Mr.  J.  F.  S.  Darling.     Treasurer — Mr  J.  H.  Rutherfurd. 

Artist — Mr  Frain. 

Conservator —  Custodier — Mr  Scott. 


LIBRARIES. 

Kelso  Library*  (Terrace — estab.  1750). 

Open  on  Mondays,  Wednesdays,  and  Fridays. 

Annual  Subscription,  £1,  Is.     Nearly  8000  volumes. 

Preses — Thomas  Fair  Robertson,  Esq.  of  St  Foin  (Hermitage). 

Curators — Dr  Stuart,  Mr  Peter  Robertson,  Mr  James  Roberton, 

Rev.  D.  Swan,  and  Rev.  Wm.  Lamb. 

Librarian  and  Treasurer— James  Scott. 

United  Library  (Oven  Wynd). 

(An  Amalgamation  [1859]  of  the  "Kelso  New  Library,"  instituted 

in  1778,  and  the  "  Modern  Library,"  founded  in  1794.) 

Open  on  Tuesdays  and  Fridays  from  12  to  2  o'Clock, 

Annual  Subscription,  10s.     Nearly  3500  volumes. 

Preses — Thomas  Mitchell.     Treasurer — Thomas  Train. 

Secretary — John  Henderson,  plumber. 

Librarian — James  Purves. 

There  are  also  Congregational  Libraries  in  connection  with  the 
Parish,  North  Free,  First  United  Presbyterian,  and  East  United 
Presbyterian  Churches.    (For  Book  Club,  see  17  Square.) 

*  The  copy  of  "  Percy's  Reltyues  "  which  entranced  the  boyhood  of  Sir 
Walter  Scott,  and  which  is  said  to  have  made  him  a  poet,  still  existB  in 
this  library. 


BILLIARD  AND  READING  ROOM  CLUB  (Abbey-Row). 

Date  of  present  building  and  funding  of  the  stock  1855.  The  date 
of  the  origin  is  lost ;  but  it  is  known  to  have  existed  for  over  fifty 
years. 

James  Tait,  W.S.,  Secretary  and  Treasurer. 

Annual  Subscription  for  Town  Members,   £1,  5s. ;   Reading  Room 

only,  £1  ;  for  Country  Members,  10s. 

Amount  of  Stock,  £775.     Pays  5  per  cent. 


NEW  READING  ROOM  (16  Square.— Estab.  1852). 

President — Thomas  Crosbie. 

William  Milne,  Secretary.        William  Clazy,  Treasurer. 

Annual  Subscription,  10s.     Stock,  £40. 


YOUNG  MEN'S  MUTUAL  IMPROVEMENT  SOCIETY. 

Meets  in  the  First  U.  P.  Church  on  the  Monday  evenings  (those  of 
May,  June,  July,  August,  and  early  part  of  September  excepted),  ior 
the  purpose  of  reading  original  essays,  and  discussing  subjects  of 
religious,  moral,  and  intellectual  importance. 

President — Rev.  H.  Renton. 

Vice-Presidents — Thomas  Craig  and  George  M'Call. 

Secretary  and  Treasurer — John  Bower,  printer. 

Subscription,  Is.  per  annum. 


FERGUSSON  CLUB. 

(Instituted  1855,  by  the  Scholars  of  the  late  Dr.  Fergusson, 
Rector  of  Kelso). 

President — John  Munro,  Fairnington 

Secretary  and  Treasurer — A.  W.  Main,  Kelso. 

Honorary  Chaplain — The  Rev.  Robert  S,  Darling. 


HORTICULTURAL  SOCIETY. 

Patron— His  Grace  the  Duke  of  Roxburghe. 

President  (elected  annually)  for  1864— The  Hon.  George  Dalrymple 

of  Elliston. 

Convener— Fred.  L.  Roy,  Esq.,jun.  of  Nenthorn. 

Secretary— Mr  John  Allan.     Treasurer — Mr  Andrew  Roberton. 

The  principal  Exhibition  is  held  annually  on  a  Wednesday  in 
September;  the  prizes  awarded  in  1863  amounted  to  over  £70. 


89 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :     KELSO. SEPTEMBER    TUP    SALE — FARMERS     CLUB,    ETC. 


90 


POULTRY  EXHIBITION  (estab.  1S61). 

President — F.  L.  Roy,  yr.  of  Nenthorn. 

Secretary — James  Steel,  Bridge  Street. 

Treasurer — John  Gow,  Roxburgh.  Street. 

Annual  Exhibition  in  February. 
Amount  given  in  prizes  at  the  Exhibition  of  1S64,  £71 


10:6. 


UNION  AGRICULTURAL  SOCIETY. 

(Formerly  Border  Society.    Established  1S12 ;  amalgamated  with  the 
Tweedside  Society  in  1820.) 

President — Duke  of  Roxburghe. 

Vice-Presidents — Lord  Binning ;  Sir  H.  P.  H.  Campbell,  Bart.  ; 

Sir  G.  H.  S.  Douglas,  Bart.  ;  J.  Scott  Dudgeon,  Esq. 

Chaplain — Rev.  James  Smith. 

Joint  Treasurers — F.  L.  Roy  and  F.  L.  Roy,  jun. 

Secretary — Robert  Curry. 

Hon.  Seedsmen — Stuart  &  Mein. 

The  Ploughing  Competition  takes  place  in  February.  General 
Exhibition  of  Stock  in  March,  which  is  held  at  Kelso  and  Coldstream 
alternately.  At  the  Show  of  this  year  (1S64)  at  Kelso,  £198  was  given 
in  premiums.  Sheep  Show  and  Tup  Sale  in  September,  second 
Thursday  and  Friday. 

The  prizes  given  at  the  show  are  for  the  Border  breed  of  Leicestei-, 
and  Cheviot  sheep,  and  amount  to  £35. 

The  sale  consists  of  pure  bred  Border  Leicesters  principally,  and 
of  Half-Breds  and  Cheviots. 

The  number  of  Tups  put  up  to  auctiou,  September  1S63,  was  2300, 
the  market  being  topped  as  usual  by  Lord  Polwarth,  four  of  whose 
animals  brought  the  following  prices — £60,  £51,  £50,  and  £41.  His 
average  for  35  animals  was  £21 : 6  : 3.  The  next  highest  average — 
that  of  Mr.  Simson,  Courthill  (whose  Tup  took  the  head  prize  at  the 
Highland  Society's  Show  at  Kelso  in  August  1863,  and  where  Lord 
Polwarth  also  comoeted)  [we  mention  this  circumstance  to  show 
that  although  Lord  Polwarth  generally  tops  the  market,  others  in 
the  neighbourhood  may  have  equally  good  animals] — was,  for  30  ani- 
mals, £11 :  16  : 6.  The  next  highest  was  that  of  Mr.  William  Purves, 
Burnfoot,  100  animals,  £10  :  12  :  3. 

This  sale,  admitted  to  be  now  the  largest  of  its  kind  in  the  world 
\see  introductory  notes  on  the  Agriculture  of  Berwickshire  and  Rox- 
burghshire, page  47J,  has  sprung  into  existence  within  the  last 
twenty  years  :  the  first  sale  of  any  consequence  having  occurred  so 
lately  as  1850  ;  previously  the  animals  had  been  principally  brought 
for  luring  out  and  competition.  The  competition  still  exists,  but  it  is 
of  limited  interest  in  the  proceedings ;  and  the  hiring  has  gone  out 
of  practice. 

In  1845  the  number  of  Tups  put  up  to  auction  was  only  224,  which 
brought  in  prices  averaging  £4,  10s. — over  £9  being  the  highest 
price.  230  other  sheep  were  also  sold,  and  in  the  Kelso  papers  of 
the  date  these  numbers  and  prices  are  quoted  as  remarkably  large. 
In  1851  the  Tups  sold  had  more  than  doubled  in  number,  but  still 
they  only  summed  up  to  652,  and  other  descriptions  of  sheep  had 
fallen  off  to  about  50. 


Up  to,  and  including  the  sale,  etc.  of  1S63,  the  proceedings  wen- 
limited  to  one  day ;  but  for  some  years  this  having  been  found  to 
work  inconveniently — the  auctioneers  being  often  unable  to  get 
through  the  lots  entrusted  to  their  charge — a  new  system  is  to  begin 
with  the  sale  of  this  year  [1S64],  of  which  the  following  minute,  ex- 
tracted from  the  report  of  the  meeting  of  the  members  held  at  Kelso, 
11th  March  1864,  intimates  the  most  important  change — viz.,  "that 
taking  into  consideration  the  increasing  importance  and  extent  of 
the  business  connected  with  the  annual  show  of  sheep,  it  is  expedient 
that  it  should  be  extended  over  the  space  of  two  days.  .  .  .  The 
Show  and  allotment  of  premiums  should  take  place  on  the  first  day. 
with  the  sale  of  all  sheep  other  than  the  high-bred  Leicesters ;  while 
the  Friday  should  be  devoted  exclusively  to  the  sale  of  Leicester 
sheep."  It  was  also  agreed  that  the  entry-money  for  each  sheep  be 
raised  from  6d.  to  9d.,  and  that  the  auctioneers  begin  the  first  day's 
sale  at  noon,  after  the  awarding  of  the  premiums,  etc.,  for  the  animals 
brought  for  show ;  and  that  the  sale  of  the  second  day  begin  at  10 
a.m. 

In  previous  years  the  sale  had  begun  at  9  a.m.  At  that  of  1863, 
four  auction  rinks  had  been  required,  but  so  many  rinks  having  been 
found  to  work  badly  for  both  buyer  and  seller,  that  these  might  tie 
limited  to  two  or  three  was  one  of  the  principal  reasons  for  the  ex- 
tension of  time. 

The  Show  and  sale  ground  are  adjoining  the  Inch  Koad.  Admission 
to  the  public,  6d.  each  day. 

As  a  ride  the  animals  shewn  are  verv  fine,  and  splendid  specimens 
have  in  many  instances  been  brought  forward.  Berwickshire,  Rox- 
burghshire, and  Northumberland  are,  with  few  exceptions,  the 
localities  where  they  are  raised. 


FARMERS'  CLUB  (founded  1850). 

Meets  on  the  first  Friday  of  every  month  in  the  Cross  Keys  Hotel, 
for  the  discussion  of  questions  relating  to  the  improvement  of  agri- 
culture, breeding  and  management  of  stock,  etc. 

Entry-Money,  10s.        Annual  Subscription,  25s. 
Chairmen  and  Vice-Presidents  elected  in  January  1864,  for  the  year 
ensuing:— Mr  Purves,  Burnfoot;  Mr  Broad,  Cliftonhill;  Mr  Usher, 
Stodrig ;  Mr  Stuart,  Runningburn ;  Mr  Ross,  Newtonlees ;  Mr  Hen- 
derson, East  Gordon. 

Secretary  and  Treasurer — Mr  Swan,  Kelso. 
Keeper  of  Register  for  Farm  Servants— Daniel  Cook,  Forrest  Field. 


ASSOCIATION  FOR  ANALYSING  AND  TESTING  MANURES,  &c. 
This  Association  was  formed  in  1859  by  several  of  the  farmers  in 
the  neighbourhood  of  Kelsn,  for  the  purpose  of  preventing  the  adul- 
teration of  articles  used  by  them,  such  as  manures,  food  for  cattle, 
and  seeds,  by  getting  the  same  analysed  and  tested  by  competent 
persons.  From  the  large  number  of  members,  and  the  almost  cer- 
tain detection  of  adulterated  or  inferior  articles,  the  Association  has 
hitherto  been  very  successful.  The  subscription  payable  at  present 
is  at  the  rate  of  2s.  6d.  for  each  100  acres  of  arable  land  occupied  by 
each  member.    The  ordinary  business  of  the  Association  is  managed 


91 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    KELSO. — CORN    EXCHANGE,    ETC. COUNTRY   SPORTS. 


92 


by  a  Committee  of  not  less  than  five  members,  and  there  is  an  addi- 
tional Committee  of  twelve  members  to  whom  all  disputes  and  ques- 
tions of  difficulty  are  referred. 

ORDINARY  COMMITTEE  FOR  1SG4. 

John  Munro,  Fairnington,  Convener;  James  Ross,  Newtonlees: 
John  Ord,  of  Muirhouselaw ;  James  Elliot,  Galalaw ;  Andrew 
Scott,  Frogden  ;  the  Treasurer  ex  officio. 

Treasurer — James  Roberton,  British  Linen  Co.'s  Bank,  Kelso. 
Secretaries — Roberton  &  Broomfield,  solicitors,  Kelso. 

The  Analyses  are  made  by  Dr.  Stevenson  Macadam,  Edinburgh; 
and  the  seeds  are  tested  by  Mr.  Weinyss,  gardener,  Springwood 
Park. 


ASSOCIATION  FOR  REDUCING  THE  NUMBER  OF 
WOOD-PIGEONS. 

Committee  (who  are  appointed  by  the  Farmers'  Club) : — 

Convener — John  S.  Johnston,  Crailing  Hall. 

Members — Win.  Purves,  John  Usher,  Wm.  Broad,  James  Ross. 

Treasurer — Robert  Swan.         Secretary — Thomas  Hunter. 

Subsciiption,  2s.  6d.  per  100  acres. 


CORN  EXCHANGE  (opened  1S56). 

Jas.  Stormonth  Darling,  W.S.,  Secretary  and  Treasurer. 
Edward  Ballantyne,  Butts,  Officer. 
Contains  71  Stalls.     Net  Rental,  £158.     Rate  for  Exhibitions,  in- 
cluding gas— first  day,  £3  ;  second  day,  £1 ;  for  Sales,  £2,  2s. 
Amount  of  Stock,  £1980,  which  pays  5  per  cent.      There  is  some 
debt  on  the  building  which  is  gradually  being  cleared  off. 

It  has  been  stated  that  more  grain  is  sold  by  the  grower,  in  Kelso 
Corn  Exchange,  than  in  any  other  building  in  Great  Britain.  The 
grain  is  all  sold  by  sample  ;  business  begins  at  12  and  is  over  by  2  p.m. 

The  building,  situate  in  the  Wood  Market,  is  a  striking  edifice  in 
the  Tudor  style.  Its  interior  arrangements  are  very  appropriate 
for  the  business  of  the  Exchange ;  when  fitted  up  as  a  ball-room 
it  is  magnificent,  but  its  sii,e  makes  it  a  trying  concert  or  lecture 
room. 

As  a  rule,  the  stall  holders,  or  their  representatives,  will  be  found 
every  Friday  in  the  Exchange  during  business  hours.  A  list  of  them 
will  be  found  after  the  Kelso  non-resident  Registered  Voters. 


GAS  COMPANY  (established  1831). 

Treasurer — Robt.  Rutherfurd  (Paradise).       Secretary — Robt  Curry. 

Manager — William  Clazy. 

6s.  3d.  per  1000  feet. 

Amount  of  Stock,  £3000.     Annual  Dividend,  10  per  cent. 

Kelso  has  always  been  noted  for  the  excellent  quality  of  its  Gas. 


MUTUAL  PLATE  GLASS  SOCIETY  (established  1856). 

Originated  by  the  late  Mr  George  M'Dougal  (father  of  the  present 
president),  "  to  effect  Insurance  against  Loss  by  Accidental  Breakage 
of  Plate  Glass,  in  the  most  economical  manner,  by  the  following 
method  :— In  the  event  of  a  breakage  occurring  to  the  property  of 
any  member,  it  shall  bo  replaced  by  an  assessment  laid  on  in 
proportion  to  the  amount  of  feet  of  glass  possessed  by  each  mem- 
ber, he  paying  his  own  proportion  of  the  sum  necessary  to  replace 
the  same." 

This  method  of  insurance  has  been  found  to  effect  an  enormous 
saving  over  the  ordinary  method  of  insuring  in  proprietary  societies 
— many  years  the  members  having  had  no  call  on  them  whatever, 
and  in  other  years  Is.  or  Is.  6d.  paying  the  entire  risk  of  an  ordinary 
shop  front. 

Stock,  none.       Entry-Money,  6d. 
President — Mr.  James  M'Dougall.        Secretary — Mr.  Arch.  Milne. 


ANGLING  ASSOCIATION. 

Established  in  1859  for  the  Suppression  of  Poaching  and  the  en- 
couragement of  Fair  Angling.  Prizes  are  given  for  Trout  Angling 
in  June. 

President — Sir  George  H.  S.  Douglas,  Bart. 

Vice-President — James  Stormonth  Darling,  Esq. 

Secretary  and  Treasurer— John  F.  S.  Darling. 

Annual  Subscription,  Is. 


RACES. 

Stewards  (Elected  Annually). 

Judge — Mr  R.  Johnson,  of  York. 

Clerk  of  Course — Mr.  John  Usher,  Stodrig. 

Resident  Keeper  of  Grand  Stand— William  Dick. 

The  ordinary  Meetings  take  place  about  the  20th  October,  and  con- 
tinue for  two  days.  Admission  to  the  Course  2s.  each  day ;  to  the 
Grand  Stand,  5s. 

The  Caledonian  Meeting  is  held  every  fifth  year  about  the  begin- 
ning of  October,  and  continues  for  three  days.  The  last  Caledonian 
Meeting  was  held  in  1862 ;  the  next  will  be  held  in  1867. 

The  present  race  course,  about  a  mile  from  the  town  to  the  north- 
east, was  opened  in  1822 ;  previously  it  was  an  extensive  morass, 
known  as  the  Berrymoss,  and  was  a  great  breeding  place  for  sea- 
gulls and  a  resort  for  wild  ducks.  It  is  considered  to  be  the  best 
race  course  in  the  kingdom. 


THE  BORDER  RACING  CLUB  (established  1854). 

President — His  Grace  the  Duke  of  Roxburghe. 

Vice-Presidents — The  Earl  of  Dalkeith  and  the  Earl  of  Haddington. 

Honorary  Secretary  and  Treasurer — Jas  Tait,  W.S.,  Kelso. 

Annual  Subscription,  £3  3s. 


93 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    KELSO. RIFLE    CORPS BANK    AGENCIES. 


94 


BOWLING  CLUB  (established  1818). 

Mr.  Kennedy,  President.      Mr.  J.  F.  S.  Darling,  Vice-President. 

Mr.  C.  A.  Hutchinson,  Secretary  and  Treasurer. 

Committee — Messrs.  Allan,  Train,  and  Robertson. 

Annual  Subscription,  10s. 

2nd  ROXBURGHSHIRE  RIFLE  VOLUNTEERS— (Kelso). 

Barracks  and  Armoury  at  Mayfield. 

Major  Sir  George  H.  S.  Douglas,  Captain. 

James  Johnston,  Lieutenant.        John  Munro  (Fairnington),  Ensign. 

Hon.  Surgeon — W.  M.  Mackenzie.     Hon.  Chaplain — Rev.  Jas.  Smith. 

Secretary — A.  Roberton. 

CURLING  CLUB  (established  1790). 

Admitted  into  the  Royal  Caledonian  Curling  Club,  1853. 

Entry-Money,  20s.     Annual  Subscription,  6s. 

Patron — Charles  Balfour,  Esq.,  of  Newton  Don. 

President — Thomas  Fair  Robertson,  Esq.,  of  Saint  Foin. 

Vice-President — Charles  Robson,  Esq,,  of  Grove  Hill. 

Treasurer  and  Secretary — Mr  George  Craig,  Kelso. 

Chaplain — Rev.  M.  H.  Graham,  Nenthorn. 

The  Pond  is  situated  about  2  miles  from  Kelso  on  the  Stitchill 
road,  and  on  tbe  property  of  Mr.  Balfour,  the  patron. 

Drill  Sergeant — William  Horsburgh.        Bandmaster — James  Fraser. 

Annual  Subscription  for  Hon.  Members,  10s.  6d. 

Hon.  Members— 70.    Effective  Force— 123  (119  is  the  official  limit.) 

BANK  BRANCHES. 

Bank  of  Scotland  (estab.  1774) — James  S.  Darling  and  John  F.  S. 
Darling,  Agents;  James  Rutherford,  Teller;  Richard  Davidson, 
First  Clerk. 

This  branch  was  one  of  the  first  provincial  bank  branches  per- 
manently established  in  Scotland.* 

British  Linen  Company  (opened  1833) — James  &  Andrew  Roberton, 
Agents. 

Commercial  Bank  of  Scotland  (opened  1820) — Jas.  Douglas,  Agent ; 
James  B.  Ker,  Accountant. 

City  of  Glasgow  Bank  (opened  1857) — C.  &  W.  Robson,  Agents ; 
Robert  Knox,  Accountant. 

CRICKET  CLUB  (established  1S50). 

Patron  and  President — The  Marquis  of  Bowmont. 

Captain — Lord  Charles  Innes  Ker. 

Hon.  Secretary — Mr  "Wrn.  Laing.        Treasurer — Mr  J.  Aitken. 

The  Club  is  supported  by  voluntary  subscriptions  amongst  the 
members. 

*  "  In  the  present  month  (September  1774)  the  Bank  of  Scotland  estab- 
lished a  branch  at  Dumfries,  and  another  at  Kelso,  where  credits  are  given 
on  cash-accounts,  bills  of  exchange  are  purchased,  and  bills  payable  at 
those  places  and  at  Edinburgh  are  discounted.** — Scots  Magazine. 

For  a  long  period  of  years  this  branch  at  Kelso  was  the  only  bank  be- 
tween Edinburgh  and  Newcastle.  "  In  1731  branches  had  been  attempted 
at  Glasgow,  Aberdeen,  Dundee  (at  each  of  these  places  for  the  second 
time),  and  at  Berwick  ;  but  it  was  found  that  after  two  years*  trial,  the 
effort  was  as  yet  premature,  and  these  branches  were  all  recalled." — Robert 
Chambers. 

BORDER  CRICKET  CLUB  (established  1854). 

President — H.  F.  Beverley.        Captain — James  Rodgers. 

Secretary  and  Treasurer — John  Wood. 

Entry-Money,  2s.  6d.        Annual  Subscription,  -is  4d. 

QUOITING  CLUB  (instituted  1851, 

For  quoiting  practice  and  competition  amongst  the  Members). 

Meets  weekly  for  practice  during  the  season,  and  for  competitions 
on  the  annual  opening  day  in  April,  when  small  prizes  are  awarded  ; 
and  on  the  annual  field  day  in  September,  when  the  medal  is  played 
for,   the  following  prizes  are  awarded  :  four,  each  of  10s.,  5s.,  and 
2s.  Cd. — amounting  in  all  to  £3,  10s. 

Entry-Money,  Is.        Annual  Subscription,  2s. 

President-^Vacant).        Vice-President — George  Walker. 

Secretary  and  Treasurer — Thomas  Jeffrey. 

The  Scots  Magazine,  of  date  April  1776,  when  noticing  the  establish- 
ment of  another  branch  of  the  Bank  of  Scotland  at  Stirling,  Btates — "  So 
now  the  bank  has  six  branches:  at  Dumfries,  Kelso,  Inverness,  Kilmar- 
nock, Ayr,  and  Stirling.  (If  this  list  gives  them  in  their  order  of  date, 
Kelso,  contemporary  with  Dumfries,  was  the  first  branch  of  a  joint-stock 
bank  established  in  Scotland].  .  .  ,  Little  specie  is  needed  at  these 
branches,  for  the  Company*s  notes  are  only  payable  at  Edinburgh."  How 
many  of  those  who  daily  handle  noteB  know  that  they  are  still  only  pay- 
able at  the  head  offices  of  the  different  banks,  and  that  legally,  except  at 
the  head  offices,  they  are  no  better  than  waste  paper;  although,  in  fact, 
the  refusal  of  payment  for  these  notes  at  any  of  the  branches  is,  with  rare 
exceptions,  unknown. 

Although  of  so  old  a  date,  a  still  earlier  branch  of  a  bank  existed  in 
Kelso — a  branch  of  the  private  bank  of  Douglas,  Heron  &  Co. ;  having 
been  established  under  the  agency  of  a  Mr.  Scott,  and  that  bank  failing, 
he  left  Kelso,  and  returned  some  years  afterwards  (1774)  as  the  first  agent 
of  the  Bank  of  Scotland.  Mr.  Scott's  successor  was  Mr.  James  Potts,  who 
was  succeeded  (in  1809)  by  Mr.  Darling,  father  of  the  present  senior  agent. 
The  Bank  of  Scotland  agency  in  Kelso  is  thuB  one  of  the  oldest  banking 
establishments  in  the  country,  and  it  is  generally  understood  to  have  been 
one  of  the  most  successful. 

KELSO  BRASS  BAND. 

Head-Quarters — 15  Bowmont  Street. 

Bandmaster — James  Cook. 

95 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    KELSO. —  PROFESSIONAL    LISTS ETC. 


96 


National  Bank  of  Scotland  (opened  1833) — Jas.  Tait,  W.S.,  Agent; 
Thomas  E.  "Watson,  Accountant. 

Savings'  Bank  (estab.  1849}— Jas.  B.  Ker,  Actuary;  Jas.  Douglas, 
Treasurer.  Deposits  (20th  Nov.  1S63),  £20,518.  10s.  Sd.  ;  De- 
positors, 103S.    Interest  allowed,  £2 :  18  :  6  per  cent,  per  annum. 


INSURANCE  AGENTS. 

Accidental  Death John  F.  S.  Darling. 

British  Guarantee C.  A.  Hutchinson. 

„  I  "William  Archbald,  writer. 

Caledonian j  Thomas  Hunter,  writer. 

Edinburgh  Life Robert  Swan,  writer. 

English  and  Scottish  Law... Robert  Curry,  writer. 
Insurance  Co.  of  Scotland.  .James  Tait,  banker, 

T  „„  .  „ f  James  Tait,  banker. 

Life  Association ]  j  B  Ker  iccountant. 

Minerva  Life Stuart  &  Mein,  seedsmen. 

N«T.o^!;^ARANTEE  AND  [Eoberton  &  Broomfleld. 

oli  RET \  SHIP I 

North  British  &  Mercantile.  J.  Stormontli  Darling,  banker. 

Norwich  Union A.  W.  Main,  writer. 

Phcsnix  Fire C.  A.  Hutchinson,  writer. 

Provincial William  Robson,  banker. 

Rock  (Life) Alexander  Elliot,  Stamp  Office. 

Royal  Fire  and  Life James  Tait,  "  Kelso  Chronicle." 

Scottish  Amicable John  Kennedy,  draper. 

Scottish  Equitable Francis  Somner,  seed-merchant. 

Scottish  Industrial Ebenezer  Hardie,  cabinet-maker. 

„               ,T  |  Roberton  &  Broomfield,  writers. 

Scottish  National -s  James  Aatan> 

Scottish  Provident  Inst Roberton  &  Broomfleld,  writers. 

Scottish  Provincial  (Life).  .John  Henderson. 

( Charles  Robson,  writer. 
Scottish  Union I  James  Douglas,  banker. 

(  John  Pringle. 

c         ,~„  titw ™» -d™~         I  James  Douglas,  banker. 

Scottish  Widows  Fund.  . . .  ■[  Q  A  Hutchinson,  writer. 

Standard A.  "W.  Main,  writer. 

Sun Robert  Curry,  writer. 

United  Kingdom  Life J.  L.  Romanes,  postmaster. 

West  of  England John  Pringle. 


ASSOCIATION  FOR  THE  PROMOTION  OF  THE  FINE  ARTS 

IN  SCOTLAND. 

Alexander  Elliot,  Hon.  Secretary. 


EMIGRATION  AGENTS. 

Alexander  Elliot,  Stamp  Office. 
Andrew  Murray,  "  Chronicle  "  6ffi.-e. 


PROCURATORS,  NOTARIES  PUBLIC,  &c. 

Curry,  Robert,  Bridge  Street. 

Broorafield  David  (firm  of  Roberton  &  B.,  Square). 

Darling,  James  Stormonth,  W.S.,  N.P.,  Wood  Market. 

Hunter,  James,  Bowmont  Street. 

Hunter,  Thomas,  N.P.,  Wood  Market. 

Hutchinson,  Colin  A.,  Square. 

Main,  Adam  Woodman,  N.P.,  Maxwell  Place. 

Roberton,  Andrew,  (firm  of  R.  &  Broomfield,  Square). 

Robson,  Chas.,  N.P.,  (firm  of  Smiths  &  R.,  Bridge  Street). 

Smith,  William,  (firm  of  S.  &  Robson,  Bridge  Street). 

Swan,  Robert,  N.P.,  Wood  Market. 

Tait,  James,  W.S.,  N.P.,  Square. 


MEDICAL  PRACTITIONERS. 


John  Bookless,  Bowmont  Street ;  John  Robertson,  M.D.,  Belmount 

Place;  Thos.  Hamilton,  M.D.,  Roxburgh  Street;  W.  M.  Mackenzie 

M.D.,  Square;  John  Stuart,  Roxburgh  House ;  Henry  Vost,  Square 

Dentists — Vernon  &  Son,  114  Roxburgh  Street. 

Veterinary  Surgeon — William  Robertson,  Shedden  Park  Road. 


NEWSPAPERS,  &c. 
The  "Kelso  Mail"*  price  3d.,  stamped,  4d.  (established  1797,  in 
opposition  to  the  then  Kelso  Chronicle — see  note),  published  every 
Monday  and  Thursday.  Principles,  Conservative,  and  proceeding  on 
the  maxim,  "let  well  alone."  Office,  Bridge  Street.  Proprietor — 
William  Jerdan,  Abbey  Gardens  ;  Editor — John  Muir,  2S  Roxburgh 
Street. 

The  "Kelso  Chronicle,"t  price  3d.,  stamped,  4d.  (established  1832). 
published  every  Friday.  Principles,  Liberal ;  completely  identified 
with  the  popular  cause,  and  advocates  the  opinions  of  the  Voluntary 
church  party  in  politics.  Office,  27  Bowmont  Street.  Proprietress. 
— Mrs,  Dawson  of  Duncan  House  ;  Lessee — Andrew  Murray,  Goshen 
House  ;  Editor — James  Tait,  86  Roxburgh  Street. 

The  "Southern  Counties*  Register"  (established  1S56),  published 
annually.     Office,  17  Square.     Proprietor,  Jas.  H.  Rutherfurd. 

"  Rutherfurd's  Household  Almanac"  (established  1S62),  published 
annually.     Office,  17  Square.     Proprietor,  Jas.  H.  Rutherfurd. 

♦  Except  the  "Aberdeen  Journal"  (estab.  1748),  the  "  Kelso  Mail"  is 
the  oldest  provincial  newspaper  in  Scotland.  Jt  was  established  by  the 
celebrated  James  Ballantvne,  who,  after  his  removal  to  Edinburgh,  to 
become  publisher  for  Sir  Walter  Scott,  transferred  it  to  the  late  George 
Jerdan,  Esq.,  father  of  the  present  proprietor.  The  next  oldest  provincial 
newspaper  in  Scotland  is  the  "  Greenock  Advertiser  "  (estab.  1799). 

f  Another  Kelso  "  Chronicle"  existed  from  1783  to  1803,  when  (under 
the  name  of  the  "  British  Chronicle")  it  expired.  Its  principles,  like 
those  of  the  present  one,  were  Liberal — too  liberal  for  the  age  in  which  it 
existed.  Mr.  James  Palmer  was  the  proprietor,  and  his  publication  was 
nicknamed  the  "  Palmer-woom."  A  set  of  this  newspaper  (the  only  one 
known)  is  in  the  possession  of  J.  &  J.  H.  Rutherfurd. 


97 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    KELSO.- — MILLS STATUTE    LABOUR   ROADS CARRIERS. 


98 


MILLS. 

Kelso — Corn  and  Flour — Thomas  Crosbie  &  Co. 
Do.  — Steam  Saw — Mollison  &  M'Vitie. 
Maxwellheuch — Corn  and  Flour — Robert  Hogarth. 
"Wooden — Woollen — Alexander  Boyd. 

Medical  Inspector  of  Mills — John  Bookless,  surgeon,  Kelso. 


AUCTIONEERS. 

David  Broomfield,  32  Roxburgh  Street. 
John  Chambers  ;  house,  Maxwellheugh. 
Fairbaim  <fe  Penny ;  office,  52  Square. 
Williani  Boss  ;  house.  8  Roxburgh  Street. 


PORK-CUBING  ESTABLISHMENTS.* 

William  Broomfield,  Square. 
Smith  and  Son,  Oven  Wynd. 
James  Plumnier,  111  Roxburgh  Street. 


SKINNERIES,  &c.— see  Terrace  and  112  Roxburgh  Street. 


STATUTE  LABOUR  ROADS. 
District  of  Kelso, 


Embracing  the  Parishes  of  Eckford,  Ednam,  Hounam,  Kelso,  Maker- 
stoun,  Morebattle,  Roxburgh,  Smailholm,  Sprouston,  Stichill, 
Linton,  and  Yetholm. 

One  Meeting  annually,  on  the  first  Thursday  of  May. 

William  Brown,  Surveyor. 
Wm.  Smith  and  Chas.  Robson,  Clerks  and  Treasurers. 

*  Kelso  does  the  only  very  extensive  pork-cnring  business  in  the  district 
(see  p.  48).  The  carcases  are  collected  over  a  radius  of  above  30  miles  (taking 
in  Selkirk,  Stowe,  and  Eyemouth).  The  accounts  at  the  different 
establishments  not  having  been  kept  with  a  view  to  such  a  return, 
we  have  been  unable  to  procure  the  definite  number  of  the  carcaseB  re- 
ceived for  the  season  just  ended  ;  but  4000  is  supposed  to  be  near,  and 
under,  the  mark,  weighing  48,000  stones,  and  representing  a  value  of  at 
least  £16,000. 

The  following  statement  will  shew  the  position  of  Kelso  as  a  pork-curing 
locality  in  the  south  of  Scotland  :— 

Carcases.  Imp.  stones.  Value. 

Dumfries  7307             102,298  £34,9+9 

Kelso 4000              48,000  16,000 

Annan 3200               44,800  15,306 

Castle-Douglas,  &c 3200               44,800  14,933 

Lockerbie 2092              32,343  11,050 

(See  Hawick,  Jedburgh,  and  Yetholm.) 


CARRIERS. 

Berwick — Railway  Station,  daily  ;  Andrew  Mack,  Spread  Eagle, 
Tuesday  and  Friday. 

Coldstream,  Cornhill,  and  Ddnse — Railway  Station,  daily ;  An- 
drew Mack,  Spread  Eagle,  Tuesday  and  Friday. 

Dunse — John  Dick,  Commercial  Inn,  Friday. 

Earlstoun — Alex.  Simpson,  and  Thos.  Kerr,  Square,  Friday. 

Eccles — John  Grant,  Square,  Friday. 

Edinburgh  and  the  North — Railway  Station,  daily ;  Alex.  Simpson, 
Square,  Friday. 

Galashiels — Railway  Station,  daily. 

Glasgow  and  the  West — Railway  Station,  daily. 

Gordon — W.  Murray,  daily.  Coal  Market;  John  Frisken,  Friday;  R. 
Robinson,  Tuesday  and  Friday — both  Square. 

Greenlaw — John  Dick,  Commercial  Inn,  Friday. 

Hawick  and  Carlisle — Railway  Station,  daily. 

Hawick— Thomas  Robson,  Weigh-House,  Tuesday  and  Friday. 

Hassington — Robt.  Stark,  Square,  Friday. 

Hoselaw-Hill — Wm.  Davidson,  Square,  Friday. 

HowTEL--James  Wallace,  Square,  Friday. 

Hounam — T.  Edmonstone,  daily;  A.  Riddell,  Friday— both  Weigh- 
House. 

Hume — Charles  Lauder,  Square,  Friday. 

Jedburgh — Thomas  Robson,  Weigh-House,  Tuesday  and  Friday. 

Leitholm — Thomas  Brown,  Square ;  John  Gibb,  Salmon  Inn ;  Wm 
Fair ;  J.  Riddell — both  Square— all  Friday. 

Mertoun — Railway,  daily,  to  Maxton  Station. 

Morebattle — Wood,  Square,  Tuesday  and  Friday ;  Thomas  Edmon- 
stone, Weigh-House,  daily. 

Newcastle  and  the  South,  Railway  Station,  daily. 

Oxnam — James  Bruce,  Weigh-House,  Friday. 

Ploughlands — John  Grierson,  Square,  Friday. 

Roxburgh — John  Fair,  Square,  Friday. 

Roxburgh-Newtown — Robert  Inglis,  Square,  Friday. 

St  Boswell's  and  Bowden — Robert  Clark,  Commercial  Inn,  Friday. 

Smailholm — Thos,  Kinghom,  and  A.  Scott,  Square,  Friday. 

Sprouston — "William  Jamieson,  Weigh-House,  Friday. 

Stichill — James  Wood,  Square,  Friday. 

Wark — James  Brown,  Weigh-House,  Friday. 

Wooleh — Andrew  Mack,  Spread  Eagle,  Tuesday  and  Friday. 

Yetholm — W.  Watson,  Weigh-House,  daily;  J.  Cockburn,  Weigh- 
House,  Tuesday  and  Friday ;  Robt.  Walker,  and  James  Steel- 
both  Square — both  Friday. 


CONVEYANCE  BY  RAILWAY. 


To  Edinburgh,  Jedburgh,  Hawick,  and  all  parts  of  the  North-East 
and  West,  by  Kelso  Branch  of  North  British  line. 

To  Berwick,  Newcastle,  and  all  parts  of  the  South,  by  Kelso 
Branch  of  North-Eastern  line. 

(For  arrivals  and  departures,  see  Monthly  Time  Tables.) 

Omnibuses  fr;>m  the  Cross  Keys  and  Qxieen's  Head  Hotels  attend 
all  the  trains — Fares,  Od. 


99 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    KELSO. STREET   DIRECTORY. 


100 


DIRECTORY. 


TRADES,  RESIDENTS,  AND  PUBLIC  OFFICES. 

Those  marked  thus  (*)  are  Registered  Voters. 

Abbey  Court 

6  Aitken,  James,  cattle  dealer 

9  Brown,  William,  Belmount  Cottage,  road  survevor 
24  Haldane,  Mrs. 

20  Kydd,  John 

1  Paxton,  Mrs.,  dressmaker 
St.  Andrew's  Episcopal  Chapel  (Rev.  Hill  Scott's) — see  page 
79 
14*Wright,  George  (clerk  to  Smiths  &  Robson) 
(See  Belmount  Place) 

Abbey  Row 

Abbey  Parish  Church  (Rev.  James  Smith's)— Me  p.  78 
*Darling,  Jas  S.,  W.S.,  senior  magistrate  (agent,  Bank  of  S.) 

Henderson,  Misses,  Abbey  View  Cottage 

Kelso  Grammar  and  Parish  Schools. 

Kelso  Reading  Room,  Mary  Tennant,  housekeeper. 
*Robson,  Alexander  W.  (of  Robson  &  Son,  Bowmont  Street) 

Belmount  Place  (Abbey  Court) 

30  Pilkington,  Thomas 

28  Robertson,  John,  M.D. 

26  Roberton,  Mrs.  (late  of  Harpertoun) 

26  Walker,  Major  (late  E.I.C.S.) 

Bowmont  Street. 

39  Aimers,  John,  cooper  (house,  No.  38) 

*  Allan,  Richard,  of  Allanbank 
34  Aitchison,  Gilbert  (of  Henderson  &  Co.,  Roxburgh  Street) 

21  Aitchison,    Thomas,   sub-inspector  of  poor,   of   Bowmont 

Cottage 
52*Archbald,  William,  Orchard  Field 
14*Bookless,  John,  surgeon 


32  Broomfield,  Misses 

4  Bryce,  John,  shoemaker 
*Bulman,  John,  of  Pringle  Bank  (west) 

10  Commercial  Inn,  *John  Rodgers 
30  Dawson,  Mrs.,  sen. 

33  Dodds,  David,  builder 

26  Fearby,  John,  potatoe  merchant 

First  U.  P.  Church  (Rev.  H.  Renton's) — see  page  79 
Greenlaw,  Miss,  Allanbank 
37  Hume,  John,  joiner 
2  Hunter,  Mrs.  James 
■"'Hunter,  James,  writer,  of  Pringle  Bank  (east) 
40  Hutchison,  Colin,  writer  (office,  52  Square) 

16  Jarvie,  Rev.  James  {East  V.  P.  Manse) 
Johnston,  James,  (late  of  Rumbleton  Law) 

27  Kelso  Chronicle,  Andrew  Murray,  publisher  (house,  Edenside 

Road) 

Assistant—  Thomas  Craig 
Kelso  Jail,  George  Lamb,  keeper 
Kirkland,  John,  of  Bowmont  Street  Academy 
13  M'Kerron,  Rev.  Peter  (of  North  Church;  appointed  1864) 
50*Mein,  William  (of  Stuart  &  M.,  2  Square)  of  Croft  House 
37  Mollison  &  M'Vitie,  millwrights,  engineers,  and  machine 

makers. 
37  Mollison,  Alexander  (of  M.  &  M'Vitie) 
22  Paterson's,  Misses,  Boarding  Establishment 
40  Pound,  Miss,  Inch  Cottage 
42  Pringle,  Mrs.  (late  of  Gordon  Mid-Mill) 

40  Pyle,  Mrs.,  Inch  Cottage 

12  Rathie,  Kobert,  livery  stables 

Robertson  &  Son,  builders  and  joiners 
20  Robertson,  Mrs.  Dr. 

Robson  &  Son,  wool  merchants  and  tanners  (see  Abbey  Row) 

Roman  Catholic  Chapel 
30  Ross,  Mrs.  and  Misses 
7  Rutherford,  Miss 

11  Smith,  Mrs.  C,  rope  and  net  maker 

41  Stoddart,  Thomas  Tod,  advocate,  Bellevue  House 
36  Symington,  John,  slater 

17  Tunna,  John  (of  Henderson  &  Co.) 

5  Weatherston  &  Co.,  fleshers 

33  White,  Rev.  Robert  (of  First  UJP.  Church) 

Bowmont  Street  (East) 

*Chirnside,  Benjamin 
Reformed  Presbyterian,   Church  (Rev.   John   Guy's),  John 
Bennet,  56  Horse  Market,  custodier 


101 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    KELSO. STREET   DIRECTORY. 


102 


Hogarth,  Mrs.  John 

5  Kennedy,  Thomas,  coach-bnilder 

Foreman — Thomas  Brown 
*Robson,  Charles  (of  Smiths  &  R.,  Bridge  Street)  of  Grove 

Hill 
*Renton,  Rev.  Henry,  M.A.,  First  U.P.  Manse 
4  Wilson,  William,  joiner 

Butts 

1  Ballantyne,  Edward 

County  Police  Station— Sergeant  Robert  Ainslie. 

Hambly,  Misses 

Independent  Chapel  (see  page  79) 
3  Roxburghe  School-house 

Rutherford,  Thomas,  gardener 

Bridge  Street 

Abbey  of  Kelso,  Ruins  of 

6  Broomfield,  Misses,  bakers 
10*Brotherston,  William  (late  grocer) 

Croall,  P.,  &  Sons,  coachmakers  (of  Edinburgh),  Bridge-end 

26  Crosbie,  James  (of  Kelso  Mills) 
Dickson,  Miss,  dressmaker 

29*Fleming,  David 

31  Glaister,  William,  jobbing  smith  and  bell-hanger 

Hardie,  Alexander,  shoemaker,  Kelso  Bridge  House 
38  Hogarth,  Andrew,  painter  and  paper-hanger 
8* Jeffrey,  James 
8  Jeffrey,  John,  shoemaker 
* Jordan,  William  (of  Kelso  Mail),  Abbey  Gardens 
1  Johnston,  J.  &  J.,  saddlers,  iron  merchants,  and  rope  manu- 
facturers (see  Oven  Wynd) 
10  Kelso  Mail  Office,  William  Jerdau,  printer 

Foreman — John  Maclean 
18  Lauder,  Charles,  grocer 

5,  7  Lugton  &  Porteous,  general   drapers,   silk    mercers,  and 
clothiers 
Millinery  Department— Miss  Mitchell 
Cutter — Benjamin  Robertson 
7*Lugton,  Peter  (of  L.  &  Porteous) 

27  Mackintosh,  James,  carver  and  gilder 
34  Mitchell,  Misses,  milliners 

♦Porteous,  Richard  R.  (of  Lugton  &  P.)  5  Havannah  Close 
22  Queen's  Head  Hotel,  *Thomas  Hownam 
46  Reid,  Mrs.,  nurse 

Agent  for  Littlejohn's  Confectionery 

Servants'  Register 


25*Rutherford,  Robert,  grocer 

19  Scott,  George,  bootmaker 

15  Scott,  John,  grocer  and  spirit  dealer 

12  Seton,  Misses,  milliners. 

Smiths  &  Robson's  writing  chambers,  Abbey  House  (see 
Grove  Hill,  East  Bowmont  Street) 
Managing  Clerk — George  Wright. 
*Smith,  Rev.  James,  Manse  of  Kelso 
*Smith,  William  (of  S.  &  Robson),  of  Abbey  House 
30  Spread  Eagle  Inn,  Thomas  Hall 

11  Steel,  James,  licensed  dealer  in  game,  fishmonger,  and  poul- 
terer, &c. 
23  Strathearn  &  Cornwall,  china  merchants 
50  Taylor,  Andrew,  shoemaker 

3  Turnbull,  John,  flesher 
28  Walker,  James,  baker 

40  Watson,  George,  tobacconist 

13  Weigh  House  Inn,  James  Milne 
Wilson,  Miss  Margaret,  Abbey  Gardens 

Coal  Market 

4  Boyd,  William,  (of  C.  W.  &  W.  B.,  11  Wood  Market) 
13  Bulman's,  Johu.  joiner  works  (house,  Pringle  Bank,  east) 

Clerk — John  Gray 
Foreman — James  Henderson 

15  Crosbie,  Thomas,  baker 

2  Hume,  James,  cow-keeper 

3  Johnston,  James,  baker 
11  Kerr,  George,  grocer 

4  Laing,  George,  watchmaker 
9*Michie,  John,  architect  and  slater 

10*RiddelI,  John,  innkeeper 
4  Rutherford,  Mrs.  Thomas  (late  of  Jedburgh) 

16  Slight,  John,  meal-dealer 
1  Stuart,  George,  gardener 

(See  Simon  Square) 

Crawford  Street 

Maxwell,  D.,  &  Son,  coach-builders 
Red  Lion  Inn,  Alexander  Buddo 
Rickets,  James,  cabinet-maker 

Dunn's  Wynd 

6  Middlemas,  Andrew,  soda  water  manufacturer 

Cork  manufacturer,  and  ale  and  porter  merchant 
3  Young,  John,  innkeeper 


103 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    KELSO. STREET   DIRECTORY. 


104 


Edenside  Road 

Broomfield,  David  (of  Koberton  &  B.,  writers,  Square),  Go- 
shen Cottage 

Dunn,  Andrew,  corn  dealer  and  manure  agent 

Hogg,  William,  market  gardener 
* Logan,  Peter  (of  Redpath  and  Sons),  Goshen  Bank 

Milne,  William  (of  M.  Brothers,  8  Wood  Market) 
•Murray,  Andrew,  (of  Kelso  Chronicle),  Goshen  House 
*Rathie,  John,  farmer 

*  Redpath,  James  (of  R.  &  Sons),  of  Goshen  Bank 
'Robertson,  Peter,  of  Neworth 
*Rutherfurd,  Robert,  of  Paradise 

Rutherfurd,  Mrs.,  sen.,  Paradise 
""Williamson,  Robert,  of  Kerrfield 

Wilson,  Robert,  colporteur 

Forest  Field 

4  Allan,  James,  letter-carrier 

15  Balmer,  Robert,  joiner  at  Floors 

l*Bonar,  Rev.  H.,  D.D.,  North  Free  Church  Manse 

2  Brown,  Mrs. 

11  Brown,  Thomas,  foreman  coachmaker 
9  Cockburn,  James,  saddler 

7  Cook,  Daniel 

8  Cook,  James,  tinsmith 

10  Henderson,  John,  coachmaker 

6  Hume,  Thomas,  joiner 

10  Keith,  John,  hairdresser  (shop,  IS  Wood  Market) 

17  Ledgerwood,  John 

14  M'Call,  George,  printer 

18  Mills,  Miss 
13  Mitchell,  Mrs. 

North  Parish  (quoad  sacra)  Church  and  Schools  (Rev.  P. 
M'Kerron's ;  appointed  September  1864),  William  Dick- 
son, 11  Coal  Market,  custodier 

16  Park,  Miss 

7  Ridge,  Richard 

5  Tyce,  William,  joiner 

Union  Poor  House,  John  Millar,  governor 

3  Williamson,  James,  coachsmith 

12  Winchester,  John 


Forest  Field  Villas 


Aitchison,  Alexander 
Aitchison,  William 


Douglas,  Mrs.  G.  A. 
Hogarth,  Mrs.  and  Miss 
*Somner,  Francis 

Williams,  Miss,  Maitland  House  Boarding  Academy 
Wilson,  Misses  Margaret  and  Jane 

Horse  Market 
52  Allan,  Robert,  shoemaker 
23  Awburn,  Mrs.,  confectioner  and  refreshment  room  keeper 

5  Black  Swan  Inn,  Thomas  Irvine 
40  Bell,  Peter,  grocer  and  meal  dealer 

7  Bruce,  George,  shoemaker 

14  Cook,  James,  teacher  of  music 
12  Dods,  Mrs.  E.,  grocer 

Managing  Assistant — John  Cooper 
East  U.  P.  Church  (Rev.  James  Jarvie's),  John  Currie,  23 
Forest  Field,  custodier 
10*Ellis,  James,  tailor 
1  Gil  ray,  George,  ironmonger 

Kelso  Agent  for  Smith  &  Wellstood's  Cooking  Stoves  and 
Portable  Boilers 
Girls'  School,  Miss  Woodrow,  teacher 
70  Henderson  &  Son,  plumbers 
70  Henderson,  Mrs.  (of  H.  &  Son) 

Hogg,  William,  joiner 
57  Hope,  *James  &  "John,  smiths 

Infant  School,  Miss  Knox,  teacher 
10*Johnston,  Andrew  (late  of  the  E.  Chronicle) 

8  Kennedy,  John,  draper 
64  Kerr,  George,  shoemaker 
56  Liddell,  Robert,  fishmonger 

3*M'Dougall,  James  (late  shoemaker) 
62  Middlemas,  Joseph  (late  grocer) 

3  Milne  Brothers,  drapers.     (See  8  Wood  Market) 
34*Mitchell,  Thomas,  draper 
48  Nelson,  Thomas,  grocer  and  spirit  dealer 
10  Nichol,  William,  cabinet-maker  t 

6  Nicholson  &  Son,  clothiers 
4*Nicholson,  Alexander  (of  N.  &  Son) 

27  Office  of  Parochial  Board,  Alexander  Morrison,  inspector 

67  Oliver,  Frederick,  professor  of  music 

38  Ormston,  Jonathan,  shoemaker 

20*Pittillo,  Archibald,  horse  dealer,  Elliot's  Close 

29*Pringle,  John,  agricultural  implement  depot 


.  f  Mr.  Nichol's  premiBes  were  formerly  the  Kelso  Theatre,  erected  by 
the  French  prisoners,  who,  to  the  number  of  about  200,  resided  in  Kelso, 
on  parole,  from  1810  to  the  end  of  the  war  (Bee  introductory  notice,  p.  72). 


105 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  '.    KELSO. STREET   DIRECTORY. 


106 


36*Roraanes,  Simon,  iron-founder  ^house,  3  Simon  Square) 
17*Kule,  John,  watchmaker 
36*Smith,  Alexander,  currier 
60  Stewart,  Alexander,  grocer 
2  Watson,  William,  tailor 
16  Watt,  Margaret,  dealer  in  small  wares 
18  Weatherston,  John,  cattle  dealer,  Elliot's  Close 
15  Welsh,  William,  baker  (late  Mrs.  Scott's) 
25  Woodrow,  Robert,  basket  maker 
61*Young,  John,  wright 

Horse  Market  Foot 

1  Gray,  John,  grocer 
6*Middlemas,  Robert,  grocer 

*Rutherford,  William,  dairy  farmer 

2  Eutherfurd's,  J.  &  J.  H.,  printing  and  bookbinding  establish- 

ment + 
David  Cottam,  foreman,  printing  office 
William  Adams,  foreman,  bindery 

Knowes 

7  Clazy,  William,  manager  of  Gas  Works 
*Darling,  William,  of  Abbey  Bank 

Darling,  Misses,  of  Abbey  Bank 
•Humble,  John,  of  Waverley  Cottage  J 
"Hunter,  George  Duncan,  Hector,  Grammar  School 
6  Kelso  Gas  Works 
*Kerr,  James  B.,  of  Walton  Cottage 

8  Lawson,  Mrs. 

Miller,  John,  corn  dealer 

Maxwell  Lane 

Douglas,  Miss  Arabella,  of  St.  Leonards 
1  Jack,  Ralph,  gardener  and  contractor 

Lillie,  Andrew,  market  gardener 
5  Fair,  Miss  \ 

Dunlop,  Mrs.  I     Maxiwll 

4  Main,  Mrs.  (       Plate 

Main,  A.  W.,  writer      ; 


t  These  premises  were  formerly  the  Church  of  the  Original  Sece- 
ders,  who  have  long  ceased  to  exist  as  a  separate  community  in  Kelso. 

t  Sir  Walter  Scott,  when  a  boy,  and  attending  the  Kelso  Grammar 
School,  resided  in  this  house  (then  known  as  The  Cottage)  with  his 
aunts.    The  present  proprietor  has  greatly  enlarged  the  premises. 


Mill  Wynd 

*Crosbie,  Thomas  (of  C.  &  Co.,  Kelso  Mills) 

11  Hume,  Martha,  grocer 
24  Jeffrey,  Peter,  shoemaker 

*A'e/so  Flour  Mills,  Thomas  Crosbie  &  Co. 

12  Munro,  Mrs.,  china  merchant 
7  Nisbet,  William,  grocer 
4*Robson,  George,  grocer 

11  Sadler,  Miss,  dressmaker 
3  Salmon  Inn,  David  Robertson 
20  Scott,  Walter,  broker 

Scottish  Legal  Burial  Society,  George  Geddes,  agent 
22  Walker,  George,  grocer 
14  Wilson,  James,  tinsmith 

Mayfield  (suburb  of) 
(See  p.  113.) 

Oven  Wynd 

*Brown,  John,  (late  baker) 

*Elliot,  Alexander,  of  Ramsay  Lodge 

"Johnston,  John  (of  J.  &  J.  J.) 

"Johnston,  James,  jun.  magistrate  (of  J.  &  J.  J.) 

Kelso  United  Library 

Smith  &  Son,  pork  curers,  &c. 

Smith,  Mrs.,  (of  S.  &  Son) 
*Smith,  James  (of  S.  &  Son) 

Peat  Wynd 

Jack,  Andrew,  carter 
*Liddell,  James,  carter 

Pointfield  Lane  (Shedden  Park  Road) 

Gillie,  J.  F.,  of  Pointfield  (late  of  Jedburgh) 
Guy,  Rev.  John  (R.  P,  Manse) 
"Robertson,  Thoma3  Fair  (of  St.  Foin),  Hermitage. 
Rutherfurd,  Mrs.  John,  Prior  Bank 

Rose  Lane 

"Clark,  John  J.,  of  Victoria  Cottage,  horse  trainer 
Dodds,  Thomas,  street  contractor 
Nichol,  Robert,  Park  Cottage,  cattle  dealer 
Whitelaw,  George,  cow-keeper 


107 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    KELSO. STREET   DIRECTORY. 


108 


Roxburgh  Street 

75  Allan,  Mrs.,  grocer 
41  Archibald,  Miss  B. 
Arncil,  Mrs.,  nurse 
*Baird,  Alexander  (late  of  Parkend),  Gray's  Close 
Baird,  William,  carter,  do. 

30  Baths  and  Steam  Wasli-Houses,  A.  M'Kenzie,  Anna  Cottage, 

proprietor 
153*BowhilI,  James,  shoemaker 
155  Brooks,  James,  grocer 
151*Brooks,  John,  farmer,  carter,  and  contractor 
32  Broomfield,  David,  cabinet  maker  (house,  No.  81) 
153  Brunlees,  Robert,  rope,  twine,  and  sheep  net-manufacturer 
5  Bunyan,  James,  haircutter 
80*Calvert,  James,  hatter 

80  Calvert,  Miss,  dressmaker 
12*CIark,  John,  grocer 

13  Croim  Inn,  John  Speirs 
19  Dickinson,  Mrs. 
68  Dodds,  Alexander,  gardener 
175  Duncan,  Mrs.,  Elms 

30  Dunn,  William,  supervisor  of  Excise 
116*Elliot,  Thomas 

Floors  Castle— Principal  Entrance 
50  Frain,  Mr.,  artist,  Studio  of  (house,  15  Square) 

145  Gardiner,  Walter,  groom  of  the  chambers,  Floors  Castle 
62  Gibb,  William,  grocer 

119*Gow,  John,  grocer,  tea,  wine,  and  spirit  merchant 

l33*Guthrie,  John,  Town  Treasurer 

24  Hall,  James,  poulterer  and  fishmonger 

91  Hamilton,  Thomas,  M.D.,  Tweed  View  House 
2  Henderson  k  Co.,  drapers  and  clothiers 
Millinery  Department— Miss  Reynolds 
Cutter— James  Hastie 
(See  17  &  34  Boicmonl  Street) 

81  Henderson,  George,  cooper 
4*Henderson,  John  (late  draper) 

53  Hervey,  Archibald,  currier  and  exporter 

Manager — James  Kinghorn 
48*Hill,  Thomas,  smith  and  bell-hanger 

25  Honeyman,  John,  baker 
120  Hood,  Miss,  of  Walton  Hall 

31  Hooper  &  Miller,  ironmongers 

Working  Foreman — William  Laidlaw 
33*Hooper,  Peter  (of  H.  &  Miller) 
35  Hunter,  John,  plumber  and  gas-fitter 
55  Jack,  John,  baker 
52  Jack,  Mrs.,  meal  dealer 


11  Johnston,  Thomas,  grocer 

91*  Johnston,  James,  plasterer,  dealer  in  cements,  plaster  of 
Paris,  etc. 

84  Kelso  Dispensary,  Mrs.  Janet  Stewart,  housekeeper 

50  Kelso  Library,  James  Scott,  resident  custodier 
112  Kyle,  Peter,  tanner  and  skinner 

16  Laidlaw,  William,  grocer,  tea,  wine,  and  spirit  merchant 
126* Lamb,  James  shoemaker 

81  Lamb,  Mrs.  Alexander 

14  Lockie,  George,  flesher 

18  Millar,  J.  &  Co.,  watchmakers  and  photographers 
Mills,  Thomas,  gardener,  Gray's  Close 

38  Mitchell,  John  (of  M.  &  Balm'er,  16  Square) 

54  Murray,  Alexander,  missionarj',  North  Free  Church 

27  Murray,  Andrew,  clogger 

82  Murray,  John,  clogger 
82  Murray,  Mrs.,  grocer 

28  Moscrip,  John,  police  superintendent 
28  Muir,  John,  editor  of  Kelso  Mail 

North  Free  Church  (Rev.  Dr.  Bonar's),  in  course  of  erection 
125*Ormiston,  John,  farmer 

101  Plummer,  James,  grocer,  pork  curer,  and  rabbit  dealer 
66  Porteous,  Misses,  china  merchants 
6*Purves,  George,  R.  baker 

15  Rae,  William,  baker 

26  Redpath  &  Sons,  jewellers,  hardware  merchants,  and  general 

warehousemen.    (See  Goshen  House,  Edenside  Road) 

Manager  of  Retail  Department—  William  Brown 

Foreman  of  Wholesale  Department — Henry  Dick 

Commercial  Traveller — John  Thomson 

19  Renwick,  P.  A.,  china  merchant 

128  Reynolds,  Henry,  Floors'  head  groom 

79*Robertson,  Andrew,  builder  and  contractor 

45  Robertson,  James,  &  Son,  builders  and  joiners 

47*  Robertson,  James  (of  J.  R.  &  Son) 

99*Robertson,  Ninian,  cattle  dealer 
8  Ross,  William,  nail  manufacturer 
105  Rutherford,  Mrs.,  baker 

47  Sadler,  Gavan,  grocer 

21  Sadler,  William,  clothier 
1  Scoon,  Robert,  flesher 

16  Scott,  Mrs.  and  Miss 
23  Scott,  Robert,  pavier 

39  Sinclair,  Joseph,  baker 

143  Skeete,  H.  A.,  commission  agent 

*Stuart,  John  (late  surgeon)  of  Roxburgh  Place 
Stuart,  Misses  Ellen  and  Catharine,     do. 
86  Tait,  James,  editor  of  Kelso  Chronicle,  Falcon  Hall 


109 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    KELSO. STREET    DIRECTORY. 


110 


103  Tait,  Thomas,  pavier  and  thatcher 
75  Trotter,  Robert,  grocer 
Town  Water  Works 
147  Turton,  Mrs.  and  Miss 
51)  Tieeedside  Physical  and  Antiquarian  Society's  Museum,  Jas. 
Scott,  resident  custodier 
114  Vernon,  William  Frederick,  dentist  (of  V.  &  Son) 
139  Wakefield,  William,  hatter  and  clothes'  cleaner 
149  Waldie,  Mrs.  and  Miss 
43  Whitlock,  Misses  (late  of  Maisondieu) 
Wight,  William,  excise  officer 
7  Wood,  George,  bootmaker 

Sydenham  Road  (Roxburgh  Street). 
Lamb,  Robert,  &  Son,  gardeners 
Tait,  H.,  nurseryman  and  seedsman  (shop,  22  Wood  Market) 

Shedden  Park  Road 

45  Aitken,  James  (of  14  Square),  Lime  House 
38*Davidson,  Adam,  smith 

31  Dickison,  Benjamin,  builder 

5  Elliot,  William,  stocking-weaver 
33  Eskdale,  John,  cattle  salesman 
29*Henderson,  Francis,  gardener 

16  Hogarth,  Andrew,  millwright  and  engineer 
12  Huggan,  Robert,  grocer 
25  Miller,  James,  gardener 

46  Pirie,  Mrs.,  of  Lime  Cottage 
43  Purves,  Robert,  slater 

35  Robertson,  William,  v.-surgeon 
1  Romanes,  Miss,  dressmaker 
Shedden  Part  Academy,  Miss  Allan,  teacher 
21  Smith,  George,  cabinetmaker 

Sprouston  Free  Church  (Rev.  George  Craig's),  Walter  Mat- 

thewson,  35  Roxburgh  Street,  custodier 
Stewart,  Archibald,  Tweedbank  (late  of  Calcutta) 

6  Watson,  Mrs.,  grocer 

12  Wight,  James,  cow-keeper 
(See  Pointjield  Lane) 

Square 
14* Aitken,  James,  jeweller  and  watchmaker 

Hardware  and  fancy  goods,  fishing  tackle,  etc.  (house,  45 
Shedden  Park  Road) 
48  Allan,  James,  saddler 
28  Ballantyne,  George,  wine  merchant  and  grocer 

3  Balmer,  Mrs.  S.,  ironmonger. 
10  British  Linen  Co.'s  Bank,  Andrew  Roberton,  resident  agent 
29*Broornfield,  William,  provision  dealer 


51  Broomfield,  Miss,  confectioner 

Servants'  Register 
46  City  of  Glasgow  Bank,  William  Robson,  resident  agent 
8  Commercial  Bank,  *  James  Douglas,  resident  agent 
54*Craig,  George,  junior  magistrate,  shoemaker 
39  Cross  Keys  Hotel,  'George  Oliver,  jun. 
Robert  Forsyth,  head  waiter 
7  Douglas,  Charles,  M.D.  (late  H.M.  Bengal  Army) 

7  Douglas,  Mrs.  and  Misses 

52  Fairbairn  &  Penny's  office 

36  Forrest  &  Sons,  fishing  tackle  makers 
35*Forrest,  John  (of  F.  &  Sons) 
15  Frain,  Robert,  artist 
6*Gray,  Robert,  coppersmith 
18"Hardie.  Ebenezer,  cabinet-maker  and  upholsterer 
23*Henderson,  James,  draper  and  clothier 
Cutter — John  Cairns 

13  Hogg,  John  (successor  to  the  late  George  Watt),  grocer 

James  Wood,  clerk 
52  Hutchinson,  Colin  A.,  writing  chambers  (house  Inch  cottage) 

1  Mackenzie,  William  M.,  M.D. 

33  M'Gregor,  William,  house  painter 
19  Macpherson,  John  S.,  china  merchant 
49  Matthew,  Mrs.,  dressmaker 

15  Mein,  Mrs.  and  Miss 

16  Mitchell  &  Balmer,  drapers  and  clothiers  (see  38  Roxburgh  St.) 

Millinery  Department — Miss  Hardie 
12  National  Bank,  Thomas  E.  Watson,  resident  accountant 

8  N.  S.  Savings  Bank,  J.  B.  Kerr  of  Walton  Cottage,  actuary 
15  New  Reading  and  Billiard  Rooms 

39  Oliver,  George,  sen.,  farmer 
34*Pattison,  Joseph,  bookseller 
15  Purves,  Mrs.  and  Misses 

14  Receiving  Office  for  tlie  North  British  Railway  Company 
48  Receiving  Office  for  the  North- Eastern  Railway  Company 

9  Roberton  &  Broomfield,  writing  chambers 
15*Kutherfurd,  James  H.  (of  J.  &  J.  H.  R.) 

17  Rutherfurd,  J.  &  J.  H.,  booksellers,  stationers,  printers,  and 

bookbinders  (printing  ofilce,  etc.,  2  Horse  Market  Foot) 
21*Shiels,  James,  wine  merchant  and  grocer 
5   Smith,  William  (of  Roxburghe  School) 

2  Stuart  &  Mein,  seedsmen.    Nurseries — Rosebank  and  Croft 

House.      Nursery   Manager— George   Greig  (see  Croft 

House,  Boicmont  Street) 
12  Tait,  James,  W.S.  (of  Edenside),  writing  chambers 

Head  Clerk— Robert  Faulds 
51  Temperance  Hotel  and  Refreshment  Rooms,  Miss  Broomfield 
31  Torrie,  William,  grocer 


Ill 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    KELSO. STREET    DIRECTORY. 


112 


Town  Hall — James  Ker,  policeman,  Elliot's  Close,  custodier 
27*Train,  Thomas,  hatter 

26  Train,  Miss  B. 

45*Vost,  Henry,  chemist  and  druggist 
12  Watson,  Mr.,  sen.  (late  of  Dumfries) 
41*Weddell,  George,  plumber,  glazier,  and  gas  fitter 
50  Wight,  Mrs.  and  Misses 

43  Wilson,  Mrs.  Christopher,  stationer,  news-agent,  bookseller 
and  bookbinder 

Simon  Square 
1  Middlemiss,  James,  smith 
3*Romanes,  James  L.,  postmaster 
2*Young,  John,  livery  stables 

Susie's  Lane 
*Dunn,  Thomas,  of  Hempseed  Cottage 
Melrose,  Mrs.,  of  Rose  Cottage 
Robson,  James,  Maxwell  Cottage 
Thomson,  Mrs.,  Do. 

The  Terrace 

5  Allan,  Misses,  dressmaker 

1  Craig,  Rev.  George  (of  Sproueton  Free  Church),  Hilton  Mye 

2  Dawson  Mrs.,  of  Duncan  House 

6  Fairbairn,  Misses 

^Mackenzie,  A.,  of  Anna  Cottage,  Terrace  Foot 

1  Morrison,  Miss,   of  Hilton  Mye. 

Robson,  W.,  &  Son,  wool  merchants  and  tanners 
4*Scott,  James,  librarian  of  Kelso  Lihrary 

Union  Street 

2  Adams,  David,  draper 

8  Hall,  Mrs. 

6  Laing,  William  (late  china  merchant) 

l*Martin,  Peter,  painter 

4  Ragged  School,  E.  Naismith,  resident  teacher  (see  p.  119) 

9  Thomson,  Miss 

9  Thomson,  Robert  (late  of  Sucleridge) 

8  Wilson,  Miss  Elizabeth  (late  of  Abbey  Gardens) 

Wood  Market 
19  Aitken,  John,  flesher 

27  Bant  of  Scotland,  J.  S.  &  J.  Darling,  resident  agents 
22  Borgh,  Baroness  de 

9*Boyd,  Charles  W.  (of  C.  W.  &  W.  B.) 
11  Boyd,  C.  W.   &  W.,  grocers 
68  Bruce,  Robert,  grocer 

4  Brunlees,  Miss 


22  Christison,  John,  foreman  tailor 
44  Cleland,  William,  shoemaker 
3  Curry,  Miss  Phebe 

29  Darling's  J.  S.,  writing  chambers  and  house 

Bookkeeper — John  Robertson 
28*Davidson,  Thomas,  shoemaker 

40  Dippie,  Misses,  milliners 
26  Dodds  &  Co.,  druggists 
62  Ferguson,  W.  K.,  grocer 
62  Gillies,  Miss,  tea  merchant 

34  Guthrie,  John,  watchmaker 

3  Hastie,  David  (of  H.  &  Co.) 

5  Hastie,  D.   &  Co.,  grocers 

2  Henderson,  James,  tobacconist 
64  Hunter,  Mrs. 

42  Johnson,  Miss  Ellison  (late  of  Greenlaw) 
18  Keith,  John,  hairdresser 

31  Kelso  Com  Ex-change,  Edward  Ballantyne,  1  Butts,  custodier 
22  Ker,  Miss,  dressmaker 
37  Knox,  Mrs.,  dressmaker 
48*Mabon,  Robert,  cutler 
22  Mein,  Misses 

7  Medical  Hall,  George  F.  Dodds 
42  Melrose,  Miss,  grocer 

4  Melrose,  Mrs.,  dressmaker 

10  Milne,  Archibald  (of  M.  Brothers.     See  Edemide  Road) 

8  Milne  Brothers,  drapers.     (See  3  Horse  Market) 

Millinery  Department — Miss  I'axton 

41  Post  Office,  J.  L.  Romanes,  postmaster 
16  Rutherford,  George  baker 

21  Scott,  John,  shoemaker 
G2  Simpson,  Mrs. 

30  Somner,  Francis,  seedsman 

24  Stamp  and  Tax  Office,  Alexander  Elliot,  collector  and  dis- 
tributor (house,  Ramsay  Lodge,  Oven  Wynd) 
33*Swan,  Robert,  writer 

35  Swan's,  Robert  writing  chambers 

Thomas  Hunter,  N.P. 
20*Tait,  Henry,  seedsman.    Nursery — Sydenham 

6  Tait,  Peter,  tinsmith 

14  Temperance  Hotel,  Thomas  Slight 

9  White  Swan  Inn,  H.  F.  Beverley 

Winchester  Row 

*Davidson,  Peter,  mason 

5  Meikle,  Mrs. 

3*Stevenson,  Walter,  Floors'  fisherman 
Warren,  Mrs. 


113 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    KELSO. COUNTRY    RESIDENTS — SEATS. 


114 


Suburb  of  Mayfield 
A  rmoury,  Kelso  Volunteer  Rifle  Company 
Hospital  of  the  Kelso  Parochial  Board 
Mill,  Mrs.  and  Misses 
Public  Bleaching  and  Drying  Ground  * 

Village  of  Maxwellheugh 
Armstrong,  William,  mason. 
Bozman,  Hodgson  T.,  cattle  dealer. 
Briggs,  Hugh,  meal  dealer. 
Chambers,  John,  auctioneer. 
Glendinning,  Misses. 

Hogarth,  Robert  (of  Heiton  and  Maxwellheugh  Mills). 
Lillie,  Mrs. 

Maxicellheugh  School,  Misses  Hilson. 
Murray,  John,  smith. 
Scott,  Mrs.,  baker. 

Kelso  Railway  Station 
(Beyond  Maxwellheugh,  J  of  a  mile  distant  from  Kelso— a  good 

15  minutes'  -walk,  by  a  sloping  and  generally  muddy  road.) 

Resident  Station  Master,  Manager  of  Goods  Department,  and 

N.  B.  Railway  Company's  Coal  Agent — David  Trotter. 

OFFICES  AND  DEPOTS 

Armstrong,  Adam,  corn  merchant. 

Dunn,  Andrew,  do. 

Dunn,  Thomas,  do. 

Fearby,  John,  potatoe  and  commission  merchant. 

Gordon,  David,  weigher 

Johnson  &  Co.  (Berwick-on-Tweed),  of  Scremerston  and  Shores- 
wood  Collieries,  and  Lime  and  Manure  Agents — John  Hills, 
manager. 

Miller,  J.,  corn  merchant. 

Pringle,  John,  coal,  lime,  and  manure  agent. 

Refreshment  Rooms — John  Chambers. 

Skeete,  Henry,  Plashett's  coal  agent ;  Robt.  Low,  manager 

Stawart,  Robert,  coal  and  lime  agent. 

Railway  Receiving  Offices 

North  British  Railway  Company— James  Aitken,  14  Square. 
North  Eastern — James  Allan,  48  Square. 

*  At  page  70  we  state  that  the  Anna,  or  islet  in  the  Tweed  at  Kelso, 
belongs  to  the  town ;  we  find  it  really  belongs  to  the  Duke  of  Rox- 
burghe.  but  that  the  town  has  a  right  to  it  as  a  bleaching  and  drying 
ground. 


COUNTRY  RESIDENTS  IN  THE  PARISH. 

Aitchison,  George,  manager,  Pylestead  farm. 
*Bell,  Alexander,  farmer,  Oakfield. 

Black,  Alexander,  butler,  Floors  Castle. 

Blaickie,  Walter,  master  of  works,  Floors  estate 
•Boyd,  Alexander,  manufacturer,  Wooden  Mills. 
*Brodie,  Thomas,  farmer,  Easter  Muirdean. 

Cairns,  John,  manager,  Spylaw  farm. 
•Cockburn,  William,  superintendent,  Hendersyde  Park^estate, 
Westwood  Cottage. 

Dance,  Mrs.,  Moss  Cottage. 

Dryden,  William,  manager,  home  farm,  Springwood  Park. 
*Dunn,  David,  farmer,  Berryhill. 
*£lliot,  James  (of  Hermitage,  Kelso),  farmer,  Galalaw. 

Grogan,  Charles,  chef  de  cuisine,  Floors  Castle. 
*Kay,  John,  farmer,  ididdle  Softlaw. 

Lamb,  Mrs.,  housekeeper,  Floors  Castle. 
•Murray,  James,  farmer,  Wallace  Nick. 

Rose,  Hector,  head  gardener,  Floors  Gardens. 
•Scott,  James,  farmer,  Softlaw  Hill-head. 

Scott,  Andrew,  farmer  and  cattle  salesman,  Maisondieu. 

Scott,  Rev.  Hill  (of  St.  Andrew's  Chapel),  Bamff  Mill  Cottage. 

Swanston,  James,  manager,  home  farm,  Wooden. 

Trotter,  John,  agricultural  implement  maker,  Shepherd's  Bush. 

Turnbull,  Thomas,  Muserig  (formerly  of  Charleston  U.  S.) 

Turnbull,  J  ohn,  manager,  Floors  home  farm,  Muserig. 

Turnbull,  Thomas,  blacksmith,  Muserig. 

Waldie,  Mrs.,  Pinnaclehill  farm. 

Wood,  James,  bead  game-keeper,  Floors  kennels 

Wemyss,  George,  head  gardener,  Springwood  Park. 


SEATS  OF  COUNTY  FAMILIES,  SMALLER 
RESIDENCES,  &c. 
FLOORS  CASTLE  (see  p.  70). 
The  principal  residence  of  his  Grace  the  Duke  of  Roxbnrghe 
(James  Henry  Robert  Lines  Ker,  K.T.),  Marquis  of  Bowmont 
and  Cessford,  Earl  of  Roxburghe,  Earl  of  Kelso,  Viscount  Brox- 
mouth,  Baron  Ker  of  Cessford  and  Caverton,  in  the  peerage  of 
Scotland  ;  Earl  Innes,  in  that  of  the  United  Kingdom  ;  and  a 
Baronet  of  Nova  Scotia;  born  12th  July  1816  ;  succeeded  to  the 
Scottish  honours,  as  6th  Duke,  at  the  decease  of  his  father,  19th 
July  1823 ;  and  created  a   Peer  of  the   United   Kingdom,  as 
Earl  Innes,  in  1838;  married  29th  December  1836,  Susanna  Ste- 
phenia,  only  child  of  the  late  Lieut-General  Sir  Charles  Dal- 
biac,  K.C.  H.,  and  has  issue — 

James  Henry  Robert,  Marquis  of  Bowmont  and  Cessford, 
born  5th  September  1839. 


115 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    KELSO. SEATS    OP    COUNTY    FAMILIES. 


116 


Charles  John,  Lieutenant,  Scots  Fusilier  Guards,  born  31st 
December  1842;  married,  15th  January  1866,  Blanche-Mary, 
fourth  daughter  of  Lieutenant-Col.  Thomas  Peers  Williams,  of 
Temple  House,  Great  Marlow,  M.P. 

Susan  Harriet,  married  5th  August  1857,  to  James  Grant 
Suttie,  Esq.,  yr.  of  Balgone,  now  residing  at  Maines,  Chirnside 
parish,  Berwickshire  (which  see). 

Charlotte  Isabella,  married  28th  October  1862,  to  George 
Russell,  Esq.,  of  Curzou  Street,  London,  and  has  issue — a  son, 
born  28th  October  1864. 

Other  Seats  of  the  Roxburgbe  family — Broxmouth  Park, 
Haddingtonshire;  Greenhill,  in  Hounam  parish;  Byrecleugh, 
in  Longformacus,  Berwickshire.  London  Residence— Claren- 
don Hotel,  Albemarle  Street. 

bprlngwood  park  (see  p.  70). 
The  residence  of  Sir  George  Henry  Scott  Douglas,  bart.,  born 
19th  June  1826 ;  succeeded  his  father,  as  4th  baronet,  23d  Janu- 
ary 1836 ;  married  1st  November  1851,  Maria  Juna  Petronilla, 
eldest  daughter  of  Senor  Don  Francisco  Sanchez  de  Pina,  of 
Gibraltar,  and  has  issue — 

James  Henry,  born  27th  May  1853. 

George  Brisbane,  born  22d  December  1856. 

Francis  John,  born  27th  November  1858. 

Mary  Helena  Henrietta. 
Sir  George  was  formerly  a  Captain  in  the  34th  Regiment,  and 
is  now  Major  of  the  Roxburgh  and  Selkirkshire  Battalion  of 
Volunteers. 

BROOMLANDS. 

In  the  immediate  neighbourhood  of  Kelso — the  property  of  the 
Duke  of  Roxburghe.  Occupied  by  James  Brunton,  Esq., 
Chamberlain  to  His  Grace, 

EDENSIDE. 

At  Edenside  Road — the  property  and  residence  of  *  James  Tait, 
Esq.,  W.S.  (of  Langrigg,  Berwickshire). 

ednam  house  (see  pp.  71,  85). 
Originally  the  Savanna  House — the  residence  of  Mrs.  Robertson 
(Margaretta  Jane  Miller,  daughter  of  the  late  Commander  Wil- 
liam Miller,  R.N.),  widow  of  the  late  John  Robertson,  Esq.,  who 
purchased  the  property  in  1819. 

Mrs.  Robertson  was  maternal  aunt  of  the  late  Robert  Shedden, 
Esq.,  who  died  at  Mazatlan  in  1849,  from  exposure  and  fatigue 
endured  in  Bebririg's  Straits,  while  generously  searching  for  the 
missing  expedition  under  Sir  John  Franklin.  Mr.  Shedden  had 
previously,  in  his  pleasure  yacht  (the  celebrated  Royal  Thames 
schooner  Nancy  Dawson,  of  only  164  tons),  been  the  first  to  cir- 
cumnavigate the  globe  in  a  vessel  of  so  small  a  size ;  and  in  the 


same  vessel,  in  his  search  for  the  Franklin  Expedition,  he  reached 
Elson's  Bay,  in  long.  154°  W. — about  two  degrees  farther  to  the 
N  E.  than  any  sailing  vessel  had  hitherto  gone.  As  Mr.  Shedden 
died  unmarried,  and  was  the  last  of  his  family,  Mrs.  Robertson, 
to  perpetuate  the  name  of  her  nephew,  presented  the  town  of 
Kelso  with  the  Park,  described  at  p.  85. 

EDENBANK. 

A  newly  erected  house,  situated  about  2  miles  from  Kel  so  by 
the  race  course  road — the  property  and  summer  residence  of 
Patrick  Panton,  Esq.,  M.D.  (of  London  and  Rodmershaw,  Kent). 

PINNACLEHILL   (see  p.  71). 

The  property  of  Walter  Macmillan  Scott,  Esq.,  of  Wauchope. 
(see  Hobkirk  parish)  Henry  Kelsall,  Esq.,  occupier. 

bosebank  (see  p.  71). 
The  property  of  J.  J.  E.  Brown,  Esq.,  Penang,  who  purchased 
it  in  1863.     William  Younger,  Esq.  (of  15  Moray  Place,  Edin- 
burgh), occupier. 

SYDENHAM  HOUSE. 

Situated  two  miles  from  Kelso  on  the  Ednam  Road — the  pro- 
perty of  Sir  William  Dickson,  Bart.f  J.  B.  Parker,  Esq.  (of 
Manor  House,  Little  Cawthorpe,  Lincolnshire),  occupier, 

TWEEDBANK. 

In  the  immediate  neighbourhood  of  Kelso— the  property  and 
residence  of  *Edward  Johnson,  Esq.  (late  of  Calcutta),  of  Ad- 
derstone  Mains,  Northumberland. 

WALTON   HALL. 

Situated  at  the  kead  of  Roxburgh  Street,  on  a  pinnacle  over- 
hanging the  Tweed — the  residence  and  property  of  Miss  Hood, 
daughter  of  the  late  Thomas  Hood,  Esq.,  of  Hardacres. 

"Walton  Hall  was  originally  erected  in  1820  by  John  Ballantyne,  of 
"  Ballantyne  Press"  celebrity.  In  the  Life  of  Sir- Walter  Scott, 
Lockhart  describes  the  view  from  Walton  Hall  (over-looking  the 
Tweed] as  "extensive," and  "perhaps  the  most  beautiful  in  Scotland." 

wooden  (see  p.  71). 
The  residence  of  *Admiral   George  Scott  (who  succeeded  his 
brother,  the  late  Robert  Haldane  Scott,  Esq.,  in  1836),  and  of 
his  sisters,  the  Misses  Barbara  and  Jessie  Scott. 

t  Sir  William  Dickson,  Bart.,  of  Hardingham,  near  Norfolk,  eldest  son 
of  the  late  Admiral  Sir  Archibald  Colhnfrwood  Dickson;  born  1798; 
succeeded  as  third  baronet  1827;  married,  1850,  Lauretta  Emmeline, 
daughter  of  Colonel  L.  A.  Northey,  of  Llangwatban,  Pembrokeshire.  Has 
no  family.  Heir-presumptive,  his  brother  Colpovs,  Major  H.E.I.C.S.; 
born  1807 ;  married,  1831,  Emma,  daughter  of  William  Knyvett,  Esq.; 
and  lias  issue. 

Sir  William  Dickson  is  a  magistrate  for  Roxburghshire,  and  a  Rear- 
Admiral  reserved  ;  was  present  at  the  storming  of  Algiers.  London  Ad- 
dress—United Service  Club,  S.W. 


117 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  I    KELSO. NON-RESIDENT    VOTERS CORN    EXCHANGE    STALL    HOLDERS. 


118 


WOODSIDE. 


In  the  immediate  neighbourhood  of  Kelso — the  property  of  Lord 
Polwarth  (see  Mertoun  parish,  Berwickshire).  Misses  Paton, 
occupiers.  

REGISTERED  VOTERS  (Non-Resident). 


Aitchison,  Jasper,  Dunse 
Angus,  James,  Newcastle 
Balfour,  Chas.,  of  Newton  Don 
Brodie,  Francis,  Chrichtoudean 
Brown,  Rev.  William,  Perth 
Bruce,  Rev.  Jas.,  Manchester 
Davidson,  Thomas,  Sprouston 
Dove,  John,  Eccles  Newtown 
Elliot,  William,  London 
Falconer,  William  D.,  Glasgow 
Grainger,  John  Mair,  Yorkshire 
Gray,     George,    Middle    Heppel, 

Rothbury,  Northumberland 
Hall,  George,  Glendarvie,  Lanark 
Heckford,  Robert 
Home,  Geo.  H.  M.  B.,  of  Argaty. 

Perthshire 
Hood,  John,  of  Stoneridge 
Hume,  William,   farmer,   Baillie- 

knowe,  Stitchel 
Innes,  James,  Cairnmount 
Jack,   J.   R.,    manufacturer,    37 

Virginia  Street,  Glasgow 
Ker,  Rob.  D.,  St  Leonard's  House, 

Edinburgh 
Macdonald,    John,    gamekeeper, 

M  ell  ers  tain 
M'Dougall,  William,  Bigby  Street, 

Brigg,  Lincolnshire 
Main,  Adam,  mason,  Neweastle- 

on-Tyne 
Mason,  Rev.  Peter  (abroad) 


Mein,  Robert,  joiner,  Newcastle 
Mitchell,  Thos.,  Kirk-Tetholm 
Morrison,    Alexander,    Pengelly, 

Cheshunt,  Herts 
Morrison,  Joseph  R.,  11  Rutland 

Villas,  Hampstead 
Nimmo,  James,  Gourock 
Ormiston,  Samuel,  farmer,  Glen- 

dearg,  Melrose 
Ormiston,  Win.,  farmer,  Hardie's 

Mill  Place,  Greenlaw 
Pearson,  Adam,  Arniston  Place, 

Edinburgh 
Primrose,  James,  farmer,  Turnie- 

dykes,  Dalkeith 
Riddell,  James,  Mei*toun 
Robson,  Charles,  London 
Robson,  William,  London 
Rose,   James,  96  George  Street, 

Edinburgh 
Scott,  Thomas,  Edinburgh 
Scott,    Archibald,    architect.    10 

Teviot  Row,  Edinburgh 
Spottiswoode,  John,   of  Spottis- 

woode 
Stevenson,  A.,  writer,  Edinburgh 
Stewart,  B.,  Orchard  Dell,  Lanark 
Taylor,  Thomas,  21  Berners  St., 

London  (of  J.  Nisbet  &  Co.) 
Wight,  James 
Wilson,  Charles,  Earlston 
Young,  George,  writer,  Glasgow, 


CORN  EXCHANGE— LIST  OF  STALL  HOLDERS; 

Who,  as  a  general  rule,  will  be  found  at  their  stalls  every  Friday 
from  12  to  2  p.m. — seep,  91. 

[Since  the  paragraph  at  p.  69  was  printed  the  following  modifications 
of  rates  have  been  adopted  ;— Exhibitions  held  in  the  Exchange 
reduced  to  £2  2s.  Stall  Holders  not  required  to  take  out  the 
ordinary  admission  ticket  (4s.  a  year)— the  stall  rent  to  include 
that  charge.  J 

No. 

1  John  Usher,  fanner,  Stodrig  by  Kelso. 

2  Jas.  Johnston,  commission-agent,  Kelso. 

3  Robert  Stawart,  commission  agent,  Kelso. 

4  John  Burn,  farmer,  Ednam,  by  Kelso. 


5  Walter  Rutherford,  farmer,  Crailing  Tofts,  do. 

6  John  Munro,  do.,      Fairnington,     do. 

7  John  Ord  of  Muirhouselaw,  farmer,  Upper  Nisbet,  do. 

8  A.  Cunningham,  farmer,  Morebattle  Tofts,  do. 

9  Henry  A.  Skeete,  commission  agent,  Kelso. 

10  William  Hume,  farmer,  Baillieknowe,  by  Kelso. 

11  Alexander  Stuart,  Linseed  Oil  Mills,  Leith. 

12  Hogg  &  Wood,  nurserymen  and  seedsmen,  Coldstream. 

13  George  Watson,  farmer,  Easter  Softlaw,  by  Kelso. 

14  Adam  Arras  do.,      Ormiston,  do. 

15  M*Lean  &  Hope,  merchants,  Edinburgh. 

16  T.  &  J.  Hubback,  farmers,  Sunlawshill,  by  Kelso. 

17  Geoge  Ogilvie,  farmer,  Holefield,  do. 

18  J.  &  J.Cunningham,  merchants,  Edinburgh 

19  Roughead  &  Park,  merchants,  Haddington 

20  William  Purves,  farmer,  Linton  Burnfoot,  by  Kelso. 

21  William  Broad,       do.,      Clifton  Hill,  do. 

22  George  Dove,  farmer,  Wark,  by  Coldstream. 

23  John  Dove,         do.,      Eccles  Newtown,  do. 

25  William  Turnbull,  farmer,  Graden,  do. 

26  Francis  Calder,  do.,     Yetholm  Mains,  by  Kelso 

27  John  Kay,  do.,      Softlaw,  do. 

29  Patrick  Johnston,  farmer,  Kennetsideheads. 

30  Robert  Tait,  Lees  Flonr  Mill,  Coldstream. 

31  William  Scott,  farmer,  Spylaw,  &c. 

32  John  B.  Boyd,    do.,     of  Cherrytrees,  by  Kelso. 

33  Thomas  Penny,   do.,     Bartlehill 

34  Charles  Robson,  do.,     Lurdenlaw,  by  Kelso. 

35  John  Murray,       do.,      Kersknowe,       do. 

36  Robert  Hardie,    do.,      Harrietfield.      do. 

37  A.  Logan,  Caverton  Mill. 

38  George  Sholto  Douglas,  farmer,  Riddletonhill 

39  James  Elliot,  farmer,  Galalaw,  by  Kelso. 

40  R.  G.  Thomson,  do.,     Rutherford,  do. 

41  Andrew  Dunn,  corn  and  manure  dealer,  Kelso. 

42  Adam   Paterson   &   Co.,  timber   and   manure   merchants, 

Galashiels. 

43  James  Turnbull,  farmer,  Lempitlaw  Eastfield,  by  Kelso. 

45  John  Nisbet,  do.,      Rumbleton,  do. 

46  John  Roberton,      do.,      Harpertown,  do. 

47  James  Roberton,    do.,      Ladyrig,  do. 

48  John  Clay  &  Son,  corn  and  manure  merchants,  and  Gains- 

law  Flour  Mills,  Berwick. 

49  Thomas  Allan,  farmer,  Fogorig,  Dunse.* 

50  George  Logan,        do.,      Humehall,  by  Kelso. 

51  James,  Ross,  do.,     Newtonlees,      do. 


*  Present  address — East  Seymour,  Canada  W. 


119 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  i    ST.    BOSWELL'S. INTRODUCTORY    REMARKS. 


120 


52  William  Dunn,  farmer,  Redden,  by  Kelso. 

53  George  Simson,      do.,     Courthill,        do. 

54  George  Turnbull,  do.,     Homebyres  (Trustees). 

55  George  &  John  "Henderson,  farmers,  East  Gordon  and 

Middlethird. 

56  M.  Young,  linseed  cake  manufacturer,  Berwick. 

57  George  Thomson,  agent  for  grain,  manures,  &c,  12  London 

Street,  Edinburgh. 

58  Crossman  &  Paulin,  corn,  guano,  and  manure  merchants, 

Berwick. 

59  Adam  Darling  (of  Johnson  &  Co.),  Berwick  and  Shidlaw 

Tileworks. 

Agent  for  Scremerston  lime,  coal,  &c,  &c. 

60  David  Logan,  corn  merchant,  Berwick. 

01  John  Pringle,  Kelso. 

02  Henderson  &  Son,  corn  merchants,  and  manure  manufac- 

turers, Berwick. 

a3  Thomas  Ovens,  guano,  cake,  and  seed  merchant,  Gala- 
shiels. 

aA  Stuart  &  Mein,  nurserymen  and  seedsmen,  Kelso. 

ao  Walter  Anderson,  grain  merchant,  Edinburgh. 

«6  Robert  Hogarth,  Heiton  and  Maxwellheugh  Flour  Mills, 
Kelso. 

al  J.  &  G.  Pendreigh,  Catcune  Flour  Mills,  Fushie  Bridge, 
and  135  Constitution  Street,  Leith. 


NORTH  PARISH  CHURCH  TRUSTEES,  &0. 

Rev.  William  Lamb,  Ednam.       I     Rev.  James  Smith,  Kelso. 
Rev.  William  Lee,  Roxburgh.     |     James  Tait,  Esq.,  of  Edenside. 

North  Parish  Church  Schools — Boys  and  Girls — James  Hender- 
son (who  has  retired  from  the  rarochial  School),  C  T. 
Infant  School — Vacant. 

The  above  have  been  appointed  since  the  paragraph  in  reference  to  this 
church,  at  p.  78,  was  printed  off. 

Other  School  Changes. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Tait  have  resided  the  Ragged  'School,  Kelso,  and 
succeeded  to  the  Clarilaw  Side  School,  Wilton  parish,  resigned  by 
Mr.  Stewart. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Naismith  have  succeeded  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Tait,  Kelso 
Ragged  School. 


ST.  BOSWELL'S. 


This  i9  a  small  parish  lying  to  the  south  of  the  river  Tweed, 
which  forms  its  northern  boundary.  It  is  bounded  on  the  east 
by  Maxton  and  Ancrum,  on  the  south  by  Ancrum  and  Bowden, 
and  on  the  west  by  Bowden  and  Melrose.  The  general  outline 
is  oblong.  It  is  about  3  miles  in  length,  and  1J  in  breadth  ; 
and  according  to  the  Ordnance  Survey  its  area  is  3198}  acres 
— 43J  being  occupied  by  railway,  over  60£  by  roads,  public  and 
private,  and  about  43£  by  water. 

"  The  surface  of  the  upper  portion  of  the  parish  is  undulat- 
ing, rising  into  ridges,  or  small  eminences,  with  hollows  or 
flats  intervening.  The  lower  grounds,  however,  approaching 
the  Tweed  are  more  free  from  inequalities.  The  banks  of  the 
river,  with  the  exception  of  the  north-east  boundary,  are  bold, 
precipitous,  and  well  wooded."  The  climate  is  dry,  being 
sheltered  by  hills  both  on  the  north  and  south. 

The  Tweed  is  the  only  river  connected  with  the  parish.  In 
it  are  some  good  salmon  casts  and  trout  fishing.  Some  of  the 
water  is  free  for  trout  fishing,  but  salmon  fishing  is  preserved. 

The  head-quarters  of  the  Duke  of  Buccleuch's  fox-hounds 
are  near  the  village ;  and  foxes  are  drawn  occasionally  during 
the  season  at  the  neighbouring  fox-cover  on  the  Eildon  Hills. 
Very  good  hotel  accommodation  can  be  had  in  St.  Boswell's 
and  its  neigbourhood,  and  private  houses,  during  the  season. 
There  are  several  mansion  houses  in  the  parish,  among  which, 
near  to  the  village,  is  Lessudden  House,  "  the  small  but 
still  venerable  and  stately  abode  of  the  lairds  of  Raeburn  " 
(represented  by  the  present  proprietor,  Robert  Scott,  Esq., 
whose  grandfather  and  Sir  Walter  Scott  were  near  akin),  is 
the  only  one  possessing  more  than  ordinary  interest.  The 
Duke  of  Buccleuch's  fox-hound  kennels,  situated  at  the  end 
of  the  green,  possess  an  interest  of  a  peculiar  kind ;  but  except 
these  two  places  and  the  Fair  green  itself,  there  is  nothing 
in  the  parish  worthy  of  special  notice. 

In  the  northern  part  ot  the  parish,  and  close  to  the  river 
Tweed,  is  the  village  of  Lessudden,  better  known  out  of  the 
district  as  St.  Boswell's,  consisting  of  a  single  street,  contain- 
ing a  number  of  good  houses.  It  was  anciently  a  place  of  con- 
siderable importance,  for,  when  burned  by  the  English  in  1544, 
it  contained  "  sixteen  strong  hastile  houses.''  From  the 
"  Braeheads,"  behind  the  village,  a  beautiful  view  is  obtained 


121 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    ST.    BOSWELL  S. — PUBLIC    OFFICES — CLERGY — SCHOOL. 


122 


of  the  ruins  of  Dryburgh  Abbey,  with  the  Tweed  below  wind- 
ing round  the  peninsula  of  Dryburgh,  and  the  Eildon  Hills 
for  a  background  to  the  scene.  This  view  may  vie  with  any 
in  the  south  of  Scotland. 

The  village  of  St.  Boswell's,  from  which  the  parish  derives  its 
name,  stood  near  the  church,  and  extended  from  the  high  bank 
to  the  east  of  it  overlooking  the  Tweed,  to  a  considerable  dis- 
tance west  of  the  Kelso  turnpike  road  beyond  the  farm  onsteud 
of  '*  The  Temple."  In  many  gazetteers,  etc.,  it  is  said  that 
the  few  houses  near  St.  Boswell's  Green  are  all  that  remain  of 
the  village  of  St.  Boswell's;  but  this  is  a  mistake.  The  last 
house  of  this  village  stood  where  now  stands  Maxton  Cottage. 

Anniversaries. — On  the  12th  March,  or  Monday  after,  a 
hand-ball  match  is  played  on  the  green,  the  sides  being  com- 
posed of  the  inhabitants  of  the  district  lying  to  the  east  or 
west  of  that  locality.  Shooting  for  prizes  also  takes  place. 
The  Annual  Holidays  are  the  Fair  day  and  the  day  following, 
St.  Boswell's  Fair  takes  place  on  the  18th  of  July  (or  the 
Monday  following  if  the  date  be  a  SundRy).  As  a  general  fair 
this  has  long  been,  and  still  continues  to  be,  the  most  impor- 
tant in  the  south  of  Scotland,  and  till  within  the  last  twenty 
years  (till  Melrose  Lammas  Fair  overshadowed  it  in  this  par- 
ticular— which  see)  was  the  most  important  also  for  the  sale  of 
sheep  and  lambs,  and  it  is  still  the  second  in  the  district  for  the 
sale  of  that  kind  of  stock.  Soon  after  daylight  (by  which  time 
the  special  trains  have  commenced  to  arrive)  the  fair  begins 
with  the  sale  of  sheep  and  lambs,  many  of  which  had  arrived 
on  the  ground  the  previous  night,  consisting  principally  of 
full  bred  Leicesters,  three-parts  bred,  and  half-breds ;  a  large 
number  of  once-clipped  sheep  are  also  sold.  About  10  the  sale 
of  cattle  begins,  and  that  of  horses  about  12,  the  sale  of  both 
being  large,  particularly  the  horses,  in  which  St.  Boswell's 
ranks  next  to  the  Kelso  March  market  in  the  district.  About 
1  p.m.  the  sale  of  wool  commences,  when  nearly  all  the  diffe- 
rent kinds  of  Leicestfr  wool  left  over  from  Kelso  are  disposed 
of,  also  a  few  clips  of  Cheviot,  but  this  sort  is  principally  sold 
at  Jedburgh  and  Hawick — which  see.  St.  Boswell's  is  also 
the  great  settling  place  for  lime  and  manure  accounts.  To 
facilitate  business  the  agents  of  the  different  branches  of  the 
hanks  established  in  Melrose  attend  the  fair.  The  afternoon  of 
St.  Boswell's  is  pretty  much  like  that  of  St.  James's — devoted  to 
pleasure,  with  this  exception,  that  at  the  former  articles  of 
household  use  are  still  sold  to  some  extent,  especially  ready- 
made  shoes.  Both  fairs  are  alike  in  reference  to  crockery  sell- 
ing by  the  gipsies — see  p.  74. 

There  are  no  means  of  knowing  the  numbers  of  the  stock 
exposed  for  sale,  as  the  dues  belonging  to  the  Duke  of  Buc- 
cleuch  are  leased,  and  the  collector  keeps  no  statement  of  his 


drawings;  the  rent,  however,  to  be  paid  for  the  St.  Boswell's 
dues  for  1864  will  be  £32 ;  while  that  of  Melrose,  for  sheep 
and  lambs  only,  will  be  £36,  10s.  < 

The  nearest  market  town  is  Melrose,  about  4  miles  distant. 

Population  of  the  parish  in  1861,  865;  of  the  village  about 
600.  The  families  in  the  parish  at  the  same  date  numbered  189, 
one  of  whom  was  returned  as  living  in  a  house  of  no  windows, 
and  107  as  living  in  houses  of  one  and  two  windows. 

Assessed  property  in  1863-4,  £6403:12  :8. 

The  principal  landed-proprietors  in  the  parish  are — His  Grace 
the  Duke  of  Buccleuch,  who  is  Superior  of  the  village;  Lord 
Polwarth  ;  Sir  "William  Fairfax  of  St.  Boswell's  Bank  ;  Major- 
General  Riddell,  C.B.,  of  Camicston  (the  Anchorage,  Melrose) ; 
Robert  Lees,  Esq.,  of  Fens  (Lee  Brae,  Galashiels)  ;  Hon.  Mrs. 
John  B.  Bibor  Erskine  of  Dryburgh;  Mrs.  Mary  Ann  Mills  of 
Weirgate — all  non-resident ;  and  the  following,  who  are  resi- 
dent:— John  Boyd,  Esq,,  of  Maxpoffle ;  Hon.  George  Dal- 
rymple  of  Elliston ;  William  Elliot,  Esq.  of  Benrig ;  Robert 
Scott,  Esq.  of  Lessudden  House ;  Miss  Williamson  Ramsay 
of  Maxton  Cottage. 


Those  marked  thus  (*)  are  Voters  registered  in  the  parish 

Resident  Justice  of  the  Peace — Robert  Scott,  Esq.,  of  Raeburn. 

Police  Officer— James  Burnet. 

Post  Office — under  Newtowu  (which  see) — a  Money  Order  Office. 
Miss  M.  Paton,  postmistress.  Delivery  at  9-30  a.m.,  and  5-50  p.m. 
Bos  closes  for  Despatch  at  7-15  a.m.,  and  3-15  p.m. 

Public  Offices — Inspector  of  Poor,   Kirk  Treasurer,   Session  and 
Heritors' Clerk,  and  Registrar  of  Births,  Marriages,  and  Deaths 
— James  Dickson. 
Medical  Officers  and  Public  Vaccinators — Drs.  Brown  and  Smith 
Melrose. 

Clergy,  &c. — Presbytery  of  Selkirk,  Synod  of  Merse  and  Teviotdale 
Patron — Duke  of  Buccleuch. 
Established  Church — *Rev.  Robt.  Somnierville  ("Inducted  1S44) 

Sittings,  400. 
Free  Church — *Rev.  John  Duncan  (Inducted     ) ;  Rev.  Alexander 
Terras,  assistant  and  successor  (Inducted  1861).     Sittings, 
Average  attendance  at  Sabbath  School, 

Fast  Days — Thursday  before  the  last  Sunday  of  February  and  the 
first  Sunday  of  July. 

ScHooLf — Parochial — *  James  Dickson,  master;  average  attend.,  SO. 


t  Children  in  the  parish  "between  5  and  15,  attending  school  during  the 
first  week  of  April  1861, 123 ;  of  all  ages,  127. 


123 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    ST.    BOSWELL  S. TRADES RESIDENTS — SEATS. 


124 


Parochial  Board — Chairman — John  Brown,  Esq.,  of  Boswall  Cot- 
tage. Average  No.  of  Poor  on  Roll,  20.  Rate  of  Assessment,  4d. 
per  £.    Total  Assessment,  1863-4,  £200.    Inspector — J.  Dickson. 

Conveyance — Hawick  and  Kelso,  Jedburgh,  &c,  by  N.  B.  line  of 
Railway,  Station  at  Newtown,  about  a  mile  from  St.  Boswell's. 

Carriers — Galashiels  and  Melrose — Robert  Clark,  Tuesday ;  Kelso — 
Robert  Clark,  Friday. 


TRADES,  &o. 

"Adamson,  Walter,  mason 

Ballantyne,  Walter,  general  dealer 

Biiccleuch  Arms  Inn,  St.  Boswell's  Green,  John  Cochrane 

Clark,  Robert,  general  dealer 
"Cochrane,  James,  tailor 
"Common,  Robert,  plumber 

Fairbairn,  James,  baker 
"Hamilton,  George,  weaver 

Hogarth,  John,  Bpirit-dealer,  St.  Boswell's  Green 
"Hume,  George,  spirit-dealer 

Kerr,  George,  tailor 
"Lamb,  Charles,  slater 

Lawrie,  Robert  &  "James  H.,  blacksmith 
"Martinson,  John  N. 

Millar,  George  L.,  watchmaker 
"Paton,  John,  farmer  and  carter 

Paton,  Margaret,  seed  merchant 
"Quarry,  William,  shoemaker 

Rae,  Elizabeth,  general  dealer 

Rankin,  Robert,  shoemaker 

Rankin,  William,  general  dealer 
"Scott,  Robert,  flesher 

Scott,  William,  tailor. 

Scott,  William,  cutler 

Shiel,  George,  general  dealer 

Smith,  James,  flesher 

Stirling,  Stuart  E.,  general  dealer 

Thomson,  William,  joiner  and  house  agent 

Trotter,  Jessie,  grocer 
*Turnbull,  Robert,  saddler 
"Waugh,  Richard,  builder 

Wood  &  Dodds,  joiners 


RESIDENTS,  FARMERS,  &c. 
"Bain,  Alexander,  farmer,  Bankhead 
"Blaikie,  William  L.,  farmer,  Camieston 
"Brown,  John,  of  Boswall  Cottage 


"Davidson,  John,  farmer,  Weirgate  Mains 
"Graham,  Thomas,  farmer,  Whinfield 
"Jeffrey,  John,  of  Greycrook  Villa 
"Jeffrey,  James,  Lessudden 

Kyle,  Mark,  head-gardener,  Elliston 
"Marshall,  Adam,  farmer,  Fens 
"Murray,  John,  farmer,  Holmes 
"Rae,  Robert,  of  Temple,  farmer 

Shore,  William,  huntsman  to  His  Grace  the  Duke  of  Buc- 
cleuch,  Kennels 
"Somervaille,  James  of  Charlesfield,  farmer 

Stoddart,  William,  farm  steward,  Benrig 

Thomson,  Andrew  of  Mainhill,  farmer  (occasional) 
"Thomson,  James  of  Merrick,  farmer 
"Thomson,  James,  farmer,  Thornielaw  and  Whitelee 

Young,  Matthew,  gardener,  Maxpoffle 
"Williamson,  James,  farmer,  Laretburn 

"Williamson,  William,  (late  huntsman  to  His  Grace  the  Duke 
of  Buccleuch)  of  Laretburn 


SEATS  OF  COUNTY  FAMILIES  IN  THE  PARIS  H 


On  the  Tweed,  near  the  old  village  of  St.  Boswells  and  the 
church — the  residence  of  William  Brownrigg  Elliot,  Esq.  son 
of  the  late  Hon.  John  Edmund  Elliot,  late  M.P.  for  Roxburgh- 
shire ;  who  purchased  the  property  in  1862 ;  born  8th  October 
1820 ;  married,  2d  January  1858,  Mary  Geraldine,  5th  daughter 
of  Justin  MacCarthy,  Esq  of  Carrignavar,  and  widow  of  T. 
C.  Morton,  Esq.,  and  has  issue:  — 

William  Gerald,  born  9th  November  1858. 
Cyril  Herbert  John,  born  6th  October  1861. 


In  the  west  of  the  parish — the  residence  of  the  "Hon.  George 
Grey  Dalrymple,  second  son  of  the  present  Earl  of  Stair  ; 
who  purchased  the  property  in  1863 ;  born  22d  May  1832  ; 
married,  10th  Nov.  1853,  Ellinor  Alice,  5th  daughter  of  the 
late  Lord  Napier,  and  has  issue : — 

George  North,  born  14th  February  1856. 
Walter  Francis,  born  27th  July  1857. 
Hew  Norman,  born  27th  April  1864. 
Mary  Adelaide  Wilhemina  Elizabeth 

Mr.  Dalrymple  was  an  officer  in  the  Scots  Fusilier  Guards. 


125 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    MELROSE. INTRODUCTORY    REMARKS. 


126 


LESSDDDEN   HOUSE. 

The  residence  of  Robert  Scott,  Esq.  of  Raeburn  (couDty  of 
Dumfries)  and  Lessudden,  the  eldest  surviving  son  of  the  late 
William  Scott,  Esq.;  born  1817;  succeeded  his  father  1856; 
married,  1861,  Louisa,  eldest  daughter  of  William  Campbell, 
Esq.  of  Ederline,  Argyleshire,  and  has  issue,  two  daughters: — 

Matilda  Wishart,  born  13th  January  1863. 
Susan  Horsburgh,  born  18th  December  1883. 

MAXPOFFLE. 

Near  to  Bowden — the  property  and  summer  residence  of  John 
Boyd,  Esq.,  34  Albany  Street,  Edinburgh  ;  who  succeeded  to 
the  estate  on  the  death  of  his  father  (the  late  John  Boyd,  Esq.) 
in  1861 ;  is  married,  and  has  a  family. 

Mr.  Boyd  is  a  Justice  of  the  Peace  for  the  city  of  Edinburgh, 
and  is  Major  of  the  City  of  Edinburgh  Artillery  Volunteers. 

MAXTON    COTTAGE. 

At  the  Maxton  boundary  of  the  parish — the  property  and  resi- 
dence of  Miss  Williamson  Ramsay. 

ST.     BOSWELL'8   BANK, 

On  the  Kelso  road — the  property  of  Sir  William  G.  H.  T.  Fair- 
fax, Bart.t ;  occupied  by  T.  F.  Bolton,  Esq. 


REGISTERED  VOTERS  (Non-Resident). 

Ballantyne,  John,  Mumbie  Hirst,  Canonbie 

Crammond,  Andrew,  Chatto 

Edgecumbe,  James,  20  Orange  Grove,  Bath 

Erskine,  George  E.  B.,  Esq.,  London 

Henry,  William,  Nottingham  Place,  Edinburgh 

Jardine,  Sir  W.,  Bart,  of  Applegarth 

Lees,  Robert,  of  Lee  Brae,  Galashiels 

Menzies,  Rev.  George,  Glenshee,  Blairgowrie 

Milne,  Nichol,  Esq.,  Dryhope,  Yarrow 

Paton,  Adam,  gardener,  New  Berriet,  St.  Albans 


t  Sir  William  George  Herbert  Taylor  Fairfax,  Bart.,  born  1831 ;  suc- 
ceeded his  father  as  second  baronet,  3d  February  1860  ;  entered  the  army 
in  1851;  is  Captain  15th  foot,  and  Aide-de-Camp  to  the  governor  and 
commander-in-chief  at  Malta;  served  in  the  Crimea  1855-6,  and  obtained 
a  medal  and  clasp  at  the  siege  of  Sebastopol ;  he  alBO  received  a  Turkish 
medal.    London  Address — Army  and  Navy  Club. 


MELROSE. 


This  extensive  parish  forms  the  north -western  extremity  of  the 
county  of  Roxburgh.  Bowden,  St.  Boswells,  and  part  of  Gala- 
shiels bound  it  on  the  south;  Berwickshire  on  the  north  and 
east;  and  the  counties  of  Edinburgh  and  Selkirk,  on  the  west. 
It  stands  out  from  the  rest  of  the  county  like  a  promontory, 
whose  base  may  be  roughly  estimated  at  six  miles,  and  its  out- 
lines at  over  30;  and  it  is  the  only  instance  in  the  county  of  a 
boundary  not  naturally  defined. 

In  extent  it  is  the  fourth  in  the  county,  being  about  9  miles 
in  length,  and  6  broad.  The  area,  according  to  the  Ordnance 
Survey,  is  26,058-}-  acres — 114  1-oth  being  occupied  by  railways, 
324  2-3ds  by  roads,  and  264£  by  water.* 

The  vale  of  the  Tweed  which  flows  through  the  southern  part 
of  the  parish  and  cuts  off  about  a  fourth  of  it,  consists  of  fine  rich 
level  lands,  except  in  one  part  where  the  the  ground  ascends  to 
the  Eildon  Hills.  Along  the  banks  of  the  Leader,  which  bounds 
the  parish  for  a  considerable  distance  on  the  east,  the  lands  are 
level  and  fertile,  and  are  finely  cultivated.  The  rest  of  the 
parish  is  for  the  most  part  hilly,  a  large  portion  of  it  being  pas- 
ture land. 

The  whole  of  the  parish  is  well  watered,  the  Tweed  and  its 
tributaries,  the  Gala,  Alwyn,  and  Leader  waters  bound  or  intersect 
it.  They  are  all,  except  the  Alwyn,  excellent  trouting  streams, 
and  are  much  frequented  by  anglers.  The  Alwyn  is  poorish 
fishing.  There  are  some  excellent  salmon  fishings  on  the  Tweed 
in  this  parish.  The  salmon  fishings  belong  to  the  respective 
proprietors,  and  are  strictly  preserved,  but  permission  to  fish  is 
occasionally  given.  Trout  anglers,  within  the  bounds  of  the 
parish,  are  little  interfered  with.  A  large  fox  cover  exists  on 
the  south  side  of  the  eastern  Eildon  Hill;  and  during  the  hunt- 
ing season  foxes  are  frequently  drawn  there.  His  Grace  the 
Duke  of  Buccleuch's  fox-hounds  have  their  kennels  at  St.  Bos- 
well's,  within  three  miles  of  Melrose. 

A  large  number  of  mansion  houses  are  in  this  parish — especi- 
ally in  thejneigh  hour  hood  of  the  town — the  most  famous,  and  the 
only  one  which  can  be  accounted  a  show  place,  is  Abeotsford 
(open  to  the  public  daily),  famous  as  the  residence  of  Sir 
Walter  Scott,  now  the  residence  of  J.  R.  Hope  Scott,  Esq. 

*  Castleton  first,  Teviothead  second,  and  Southdean  third — being  the 
three  that  precede  Melrose. 


127 


ItOXBUKSHSHIRE  :    MELROSE. — HOLIDAYS — MARKET    DATS. 


128 


Not  far  from,  and  on  the  Abbotsford  estate,  lies  the  small 
mansion  of  Criefswood,  which  was  occupied  during  Sir  Walter 
Scott's  lifetime  by  his  son-in-law  and  daughter,  Mr.  and  Mrs. 
Lockhart.  In  the  same  neighbourhood  is  Huntly  Burn  House, 
the  seat  of  Lord  Henry  Kerr.  The  Huntly  Burn,  a  mountain 
brook,  from  which  the  house  is  named,  finds  its  way  from  Cauld- 
shiels  Loch,  through  the  Rhymers'  Glen,  one  of  Scott's  famous 
retreats,  and  worthy  a  visit  for  its  wild  scenery  and  its  associa- 
tions with  Thomas  of  Ercildoun,  and  Sir  Walter  Scott. 

In  the  south  of  the  parish,  conspicuously  situated  on  a  ledge 
of  the  Eildon  Hill,  is  Eildon  Hall,  the  intended  seat  of  the  Earl 
of  Dalkeith.  It  is  a  building  of  considerable  architectural  pre- 
tensions, in  the  Elizabethan  style,  and  is  a  very  marked  feature 
in  the  landscape. 

Lining  the  Tweed,  and  giving  beauty  to  the  scenery,  other 
mansions  and  their  grounds  follow  in  close  succession  the  entire 
extent  of  the  parish.  (See  seats  of  county  families  for  the  parish 
following  the  town  lists.) 

In  the  southern  part  of  the  parish  is  the  town  of  Melrose,  a 
burgh  of  barony,  delightfully  situated  on  the  south  bank  of  the 
Tweed,  at  the  base  of  the  Eildon  Hills.  Of  late  years  it  has 
been  much  improved  and  enlarged,  many  strangers  having  been 
attracted  to  it  by  the  salubrity  of  its  neighbourhood,  readiness  of 
access,  and  interesting  associations.  In  the  centre  of  the  Market 
Place  stands  the  Cross,  the  shaft  of  which  bears  marks  of  great 
antiquity.  It  is  about  20  feet  high,  with  a  carving  on  its  apex  of 
a  unicorn  sustaining  the  lioyal  arms  of  Scotland;  but  the  great 
attraction  and  ornament  of  Melrose  is  the  magnificent  Abbey, 
which,  from  the  beauty  of  its  architecture,  the  harmony  of  its 
parts,  and  the  extent  of  its  remains,  must  be  regarded  as  one  of 
the  greatest  objects  of  interest  of  which  this  country  can  boast. 
"Viewing  the  exterior  of  this  noble  building  from  the  south,  it 
has  a  most  imposing  effect;  but  on  entering  the  interior,  the 
lofty  Gothic  columns,  in  a  double  row,  supporting  the  arched 
majestic  roof,  the  elegance  and  variety  of  its  sculptures  and 
statues,  the  beauty  of  its  carving,  and  the  symmetry  of  the 
whole,  must  strike  every  observer  with  feelings  of  profound 
admiration.  The  custodier  lives  at  the  Abbey  gate,  and  admis- 
sion can  be  had  any  day  except  Sunday.  Several  modern  erec- 
tious  also  deserve  notice,  from  the  fine  appearance  they  present, 
especially  the  Railway  Station  and  the  Corn  Exchange,  both  of 
which  are  very  spacious  and  handsome ;  the  new  Free  Church, 
with  its  tapering  spire  of  elegant  proportions,  forming  a  beauti- 
ful object  in  the  landscape ;  while  further  to  the  west  of  the 
town,  on  the  high  road  to  Darnick,  stands  the  neat  Episcopal 
Church  and  its  handsome  parsonge.  Abbotsford  is  within  easy 
distance  of  the  town,  and  conveyances  can  always  be  had  to 
visit  this  picturesque  spot.     The  walks  about  Melrose  are  re- 


markably varied  and  interesting ;  one  of  the  finest  is  to  the  top 
of  the  Eildon  Hills— a  task  somewhat  trying  to  the  limbs,  but 
which  is  well  repaid  by  the  magnificent  prospects  obtained  in 
all  directions.  One,  the  Eastern  Hill,  and  close  above  the  fox 
cover,  is  the  site  of  a  Roman  camp,  the  remains  of  which  can  still 
be  distinctly  traced. 

Besides  the  town  of  Melrose  there  are  several  villages  in  the 
parish.  The  largest  is  Gattonside,  situated  on  the  nortli  side  of 
the  Tweed,  and  immediately  opposite  Melrose.  Access  from  Mel- 
rose to  this  village  is  obtained  by  a  chain  bridge  for  foot  pas- 
sengers, and  there  is  a  ford  about  200  yards  below  it.  It  occupies 
a  very  pretty  site  near  the  river,  and  is  surrounded  by  a  large 
number  of  villas  and  mansion-houses.  Gattonside,  which  is 
famous  for  the  extent  of  its  orchards  and  fruit,  is  a  delightful 
village  from  spring  to  autumn ;  but  in  winter,  with  its  twisted 
impracticable  roads,  it  is  rather  the  reverse  of  this.  The  village 
has  about  300  inhabitants. 

Darnick,  about  a  mile  to  the  west  of  Melrose,  and  on  the 
same  side  of  the  river.  Here  is  Darnick  Tower,  the  ancient 
stronghold  of  the  lairds  of  Darnick.  This  exquisite  bit  of  Border 
antiquity  was  the  chief  object  of  Sir  Walter  Scott's  passion  for 
acquisition,  and  so  well  known  was  this  foible  of  his,  that  he  soon 
obtained  the  name  of  the  "  Duke  of  Darnick."  Mr.  Heiton,  the 
proprietor,  though  inclined  to  dispose  of  a  portion  of  the  lands, 
was  unwilling  to  part  with  the  old  tower,  which  had  been  for 
hundreds  of  years  in  his  family.  It  is  well  worthy  a  visit  from 
the  tourist,  in  consequence  of  the  present  proprietor  having 
converted  it  into  a  repository  of  many  remarkable  relics  of 
Border  antiquities.  The  tower  is  at  all  times  open  to  visitors. 
Another  ancient  strong-hold  in  the  village  is  Fisher's  Tower, 
now  modernized  into  a  dwelling  house.  A  third,  designated  as 
the  Little  Peel,  occupied  the  site  of  Darnick  Cottage.  The  num- 
ber of  the  inhabitants  of  Darnick  is  also  nearly  300. 

Newstead  is  the  next  village  in  order,  about  a  mile  to  the 
east  of  Melrose.  It  consists  of  one  long  street,  and  contains 
about  240  inhabitants.  It  is  believed  by  some  antiquaries  that 
this  is  the  site  of  the  Roman  town  of  Trimontium.  At  Leader- 
foot  Bridge,  a  short  distance  below  Newstead,  a  splendid  rail- 
way bridge  is  now  in  course  of  erection.  This,  when  finished, 
will  be  a  most  imposing  structure,  and  will  be  the  highest  bridge 
on  the  river  Tweed — height  133  feet  ahove  water  level. 

Newtown  St  Boswell's,  the  junction  station  of  the  Kelso 
branch  of  the  N.  B.  Railway  with  the  Hawick  and  Carlisle 
branch  of  the  same  Company,  is  in  the  south-east  extremity  of 
the  parish,  about  3  miles  from  the  town  of  Melrose.  Newtown 
St  Boswell's  is  also  to  be  the  junction  for  the  Berwickshire  rail- 
way, now  fast  progressing.  There  are  some  commodious  houses 
in  this  village,  and  a  hotel. 


129 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    MELROSE. — HIRING   DAYS — PAIRS — POPULATION. 


130 


A  large  portion  of  the  town  of  Galashiels,  being  all  that  part 
of  it  on  the  north  side  of  the  Gala  water,  is  in  the  parish  of 
Melrose.  The  Directory  for  this  has  been  included  in  that  of 
Galashiels,  as  it  is  included  within  the  police  bounds  for  that 
town. 

Between  Melrose  and  Galashiels,  and  opposite  Lowood,  the 
Alwyn,  Elwand,  or  Allan  Waterfalls  into  the  Tweed.  About 
3  miles  up  the  Elwand  lies  Colmslie,  Hillslop,  and  Langshaw 
Towers,  a  leading  scene  in  the  "  Monastery." 


Annual  Holidays — New  Year's  Day  and  St.  Boswell's  Fair 
Day  (see  p.  121). 

Anniversary. — Fastreen's  E'en,  when  a  foot-ball  match  is 
played  between  the  married  and  unmarried,  in  the  streets  of  the 
town,  for  which  occasion  there  is  a  half  holiday.  (See  Yetholm 
parish). 

Market  Days — Monday  (weekly,  general  and  com).  The 
corn  is  sold  both  by  bulk  and  sample.  A  moderate  business  is 
done.  Mondays,  fortnightly  (fat  cattle  and  sheep),  at  half-past 
9  o'clock.  Originated  by  the  late  Mr.  Walter  Lillico,  and  now 
conducted  by  Mr.  Alexander  Davidson,  auctioneer  and  appraiser. 
Largely  attended. 

Great  Hiring  Days— First  Mondays  of  March,  for  Hinds : 
May  and  November  for  Young  Men  and  Women ;  first  Monday 
of  August,  for  Shearers. 

Fairs.— Sires  and  other  stock  (held  in  the  Green  Yards'  Park), 
Saturday  before  the  last  Tuesday  of  March. 

Cattle  (held  on  the  Green  Yards'  Park),  first  Wednesday  of 
June. 

Lammas,  Lamb  (held  on  the  slopes  of  the  Eildon  Hills,  on  the 
grounds  of  Dingleton  Mains,  and  close  above  Melrose),  on  the  12th 
August,  or  the  Tuesday  after,  if  the  date  fall  on  a  Saturday, 
Sunday,  or  Monday.  The  greatest  lamb  fair  in  the  Border  coun- 
ties. The  lambs  brought  to  this  fair  are  composed  generally  of 
three-parts  and  half-bred  Leicesters  and  Cheviots,  which  come 
from  the  rich  lowland  pastures,  and  the  celebrated  sheep  walks 
of  the  Tweed,  Teviot,  Ettrick,  Yarrow,  and  Gala;  and  every  year 
attracts  flock-masters  from  all  parts  of  the  united  kingdom.  A 
few  aged  sheep  are  also  sold.  The  Ml  bred  lambs  are  so  few  as  to 
be  exceptional— only  one  lot  of  them  is  quoted  as  being  sold  at 
the  fair  of  1863 ;  and  of  the  few  cows  and  kyloes  exposed,  most 
of  them  were  driven  away  unsold.  As  many  of  the  lambs 
arrive  on  the  fair  ground  the  previous  evening — and  the  hill 
side  is  then  an  attractive  and  pretty  sight— the  business  com- 
mences at  daylight,  and  is  over  by  noon.  In  the  afternoon, 
after  the  lambs  are  off  the  ground,  a  pleasure  fair  is  held— 
largely  attended  by  the  inhabitants  of  Melrose,  Galashiels,  and 
Selkirk.    Of  the  definite  number  of  lambs  sold  at  this  fair,  no 


note  has  ever  been  taken,  but  the  supposed  number  is  about 
70,000,  which  must  be  near  the  mark.  The  average  annual  let 
of  the  dues  of  this  fair,  by  the  Duke  of  Buccleuch,  is  £40,  and 
lambs  pay  4d.  per  score  (last  year  the  let  was  over  £40,  this 
year  it  is  under — see  St.  Boswell's  Fair,  p.  121).  The  Melrose 
bankers  attend  at  the  fair  ground.  Although  this  fair  is  of  old 
standing  it  is  only  within  the  last  20  years  it  has  arrived  at  any- 
thing like  its  present  importance ;  previously  it  was  held  on  the 
Green  Yards  where  the  other  Melrose  fairs  are  still  held. 

Draft  Ewes,  Shotls,  and  other  stock  (held  on  the  slopes  of  the 
Eildon  Hills),  first  Tuesday  of  October.  This  fair  is  supple- 
mentary to  that  of  Lammas. 

Cattle,  22d  November  (held  on  the  Green  Yards'  Park).  This 
fair  follows  the  rule  of  the  Lammas  Lamb  Fair  as  to  the  day  of 
holding  it,  and  they  are  the  only  ones  in  the  district  which  follow 
this  rule,  although  it  is  common  with  the  fairs  in  other  parts  of 
Scotland. 

The  population  of  the  whole  of  Melrose  parish,  including  part 
of  the  town  of  Galashiels,  was  7711  in  1861 ;  being  an  increase, 
since  the  previous  census,  of  346,  which  occurred  mostly  in 
Galashiels.  The  following  are  the  census  particulars  of  the 
parish  at  1st  April  1861 : — 

Males.  Females. 

Galashiels  (jiart  of) 1766  1865 

Landward    1417  1522 

Melrose  burgh 502  639 

These  figures  shew  the  very  large  proportion  of  the  female  popu- 
lation of  Melrose  burgh  over  the  males  to  be  more  than  27  per 
cent— by  much  the  highest  of  all  the  towns  in  the  district  (see 
note  on'the  population,  p.  51).  The  census  of  1861  returns  906 
as  the  number  of  families  in  the  Galashiels  district,  one  of  whom 
lived  in  a  house  having  no  windows,  382  in  houses  of  one  win- 
dow, and  330  in  houses  of  two  windows,  and  the  small  propor- 
tion of  193  living  in  houses  having  three  or  more  windows.  The 
Melrose  district  (town  and  landward)  had  783  families,  7  of 
whom  were  returned  as  living  in  houses  with  no  windows,  169 
in  houses  of  one  window,  and  210  in  houses  of  two  windows, 
and  the  large  proportion  of  397  (or  more  than  one-half)  in  houses 
of  three  or  more  windows  (see  note  on  the  housing  accommoda- 
tion of  the  population,  p.  (17). 

Assessed  property  in  the  parish  (including  part  of  the  town 
of  Galashiels),  £42,344 :  8  :  2— larger  by  nearly  £10,000  than  any 
other  parish  in  the  three  counties.* 

Melrose  is  distant  from  Edinburgh,  by  rail,  37  miles ;  from 
Kelso,  15  miles;  and  16  from  Hawick.    The  North  British  line 

•  The  compavativelv  small  parish  of  Kelso  (of  only  5542  acres)  is  the 
next  in  order,  at  £32,848 :  14 :  i. 

K 


131 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    MELROSE. COURTS PUBLIC    OFFICES POST    OFFICE. 


132 


of  Railway  passes  so  close  to  the  town  that  it  cuts  off  some  of 
the  outskirts.  The  Melrose  Station  is  most  conveniently  situ- 
ated, and  is  one  of  the  finest  on  the  line. 

Among  the  largest  landed-proprietors  in  the  parish  are — His 
Grace  the  Duke  of  Buccleuch ;  Robert  Cotesworth  of  Cowden- 
knowes;  *A.  Paterson  of  Whitelee;  the  Earl  of  Lauderdale; 
*Nicol  Milne  of  Faldonside ;  the  Earl  of  Haddington,  Alexander 
Mitchell  of  Stow,  Lord  Somerville  of  the  Pavilion,  James  Pringle 
of  Torwoodlee,  *James  Dalrymple  of  Langlee,  *R.  B.  Maconochie 
of  Gattonside,  *George  K.  E.  Fairholme  of  Ravenswood  and  Old 
Melrose,  William  Paterson  of  Glendearg,  *J.  R.  Hope  Scott, 
of  Abbotsford ;  *Thomas  Tod  of  Drygrange. 

Superior  of  Melrose — The  Duke  of  Buccleuch. 


MAGISTRATE. 

James  Erskine,  Esq.,  Baron  Bailie  (appointed  by  the  Duke  of 
Buccleuch). 


ACTING  JUSTICES  OF  THE  PEACE. 


The  Right  Hon.  Lord  Polwarth 
*Tkomas  Tod  of  Drygrange 
*R.  B.  Maconochie  of  Gattonside 
*Sir  David  Brewster  of  Allerly 

John  Meiklam  of  Gladswood 
^General  William  Riddell,  C.B.  of 
Catnieston  [The  Anchorage] 

R.  Cotesworth  of  Sorrowlessfield 
*John  Murray  of  Wooplaw 

Robert  Scott  of  Raeburn 
*  James  Dalrymple  of  Langlee 


*Adam  Paterson  of  "Whitelee 
The    Chief   Magistrate   of  Gala- 
shiels 
*G.  K.  E.  Fairholme  of  Ravens- 
wood  and  Old  Melrose 
"William  Paterson  of  Ettrickhall 
"^William  Clark  of  Langhaugh 
Mark  Sprot  of  Riddell 
Charles  Plummer  of  Sunderland- 

hall 
The  Right  Hon.  the  Earl  of  Minto 


Thomas  John  Dunn,  Depute-Clerk  of  the  Peace. 
Alexander  Rutherford,  Galashiels,  Procurator-Fiscal. 


COURTS. 

Justice  of  Peace  Courts  are  held  on  the  first  Wednesday  of  each 

month. 
Sheriff  Small  Debt  Courts  are  held  on  the  first  Fridays  of  February, 

May,  August,  and  November.     Freer  &  Dunn,  clerks. 
William  Miller,  baron-officer.       Michael  Oliver,  police-sergeant. 


PUBLIC  OFFICES. 

Billet  Master — James  Erskine. 

Government  Inspector  of  Drainage — T.  Mitchell. 


*  Those  marked  thus  (*)  are  resident  in  the  parish. 


Inland  Revenue — James  Deans,  Officer;  Office,  Dingleton. 

Inspector  of  Poor — Thomas  Murray ;  Office,  Corn  Exchange. 

Melrose  Abbey— Mrs  Tait,  Keeper,  Abbey  Gate. 

Registrar  of  Births,  Marriages,  and  Deaths — Thomas  Murray,  District 
of  Melrose. 

Register  of  Sasines — John  Murray,  Esq.  of  Wooplaw,  Keeper;  Office, 
Market  Place. 

Rifle  Volunteer  Battalion's  Office,  Corn  Exchange — Captain  Mac- 
pherson,  adjutant. 

Session  Clerk  and  Kirk  Treasurer — Thomas  Murray. 

Sheriff-Clerk  Deputes — Allan  Freer  and  Thomas  J.  Dunn. 

Sheriff-Officer — Angus  Sutherland,  High  Street. 

Stamps  and  Taxes — Thomas  Murray,  Sub-Distributor  and  Sub-Col- 
lector. Edward  Henderson,  Surveyor.  J.  Miller,  Clerk  ;  Office, 
Corn  Exchange. 

Town-Bellman — Simon  Paterson, 

Valuation  Act — Edward  Henderson,  Assessor  for  the  County  of  Rox- 
burgh and  Burgh  of  Jedburgh  ;  Office,  Corn  Exchange. 


INCOME  TAX. 

James  Erskine,  Clerk  to  the  Commissioners. 

James  Curie,  Assistant-Clerk  to  the  Commissioners. 

Thomas  J.  Dunn,  Assessor.        Edward  Henderson,  Surveyor. 


POST  OFFICE. 

Miss  Elltot,  Postmistress. 

William  Grant,  Town-Deliverer. 

Mails  Arrive  from. 

Edinburgh  and  Galashiels 8-25  a.m. 

London,  Carlisle,  Hawick,  London  and  North- Western  )    g_gg  a  m 
Railway  P.O.,  Kelso,  and  Jedburgh  j 

Berwick  and  Midland  Railway  P.0 11-8  a.m. 

Kelso,  Hawick,  Newtown,  and  Jedburgh  ....     4-19  p.m. 

Edinburgh,  Galashiels,  and  Selkirk 5-10  p.m. 

London  and  North  -West  era  Railway  P.O.,  and  London  \    8_2y  p  m 

and  Carlisle ) 

English  Letters  are  also  received  by  both  the  Edinburgh  Mails. 
Town  Deliveries  begin  at  9-10  a.m.,  5-30  and  8-50  p.m. 
A  window  delivery  (for  English  Letters)  at  11-15  a.m. 

Despatches.  Box  closes. 

Hawick,  Newtown,  Jedburgh,  and  Kelso  ....      8  a.m. 

Galashiels  and  Selkirk 8  a.m. 

Edinburgh 10-30  a.m. 

Edinburgh  and  Galashiels 3-45  p.m. 

Loudon,  Carlisle,  London  and  North-Western  Railway  \ 

P.O.,  Hawick,  Kelso,  Jedburgh,  Berwick,  and  Mid-  >  4-30  p.m. 

land  Railway  P.0 ) 

Edinburgh    .        .        .        .        .        ,        .  •        .     8  p.m. 


133 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    MELROSE. CLERGY RELIGIOUS    SOCIETIES. 


134 


Sundays. 
Edinburgh  and  the  North,  arrive  at  8-10  a.m. ;  Box  closes  6-30  p.m. 
Galashiels,  arrive  at  8-10  a.m. ;  Box  closes  7-40  a.m. 
London,  England  generally,  Berwick,  and  Carlisle,  arrive  at  9-40 

a.m.  ;  Box  closes  at  5-50  p  m. 
Kelso,  Hawick,  Newtown,  Jedburgh,  &c,  arrive  at  9-40  a.m.  ;  Box 
closes  at  7-30  a.m. 

A  Window  Delivery  from  9  till  11-30  a.m. 
Letter  Box  at  Weirhill.    Letters  collected  at  7  10  a.m. 
Sub-Offices. 
Despatches  for  Darnick  and  Earlston  at  9-10  a.m.,  and  6-30  p.m. 
Arrivals  from         do.  do.       at  8  a.m.  and  4-15  p.m. 

Despatch  for  Gattonside  at  9.10a.m.     Arrival  from  do.  at  4-15  p.m. 

Runners — Darnick,  Thomas  Emmond ;  Earlston,  David  Swanston  ; 
Gattonside,  Andrew  Johnston. 


CLERGY,  ifcc. 

Melrose  is  in  the  Presbytery  of  Selkirk,  and  Synod  of  Merse 

and  Teviotdale. 

Patron — Duke  of  Buccleuch. 

The  Established  and  Free  Church  Presbyteries  meet  at  Selkirk. 

The  U.  P.  Presbytery  at  Melrose,  the  first  Tuesday  of  every  other 

month,  beginning  with  February. 

Parish  Church— Rev.  (Inducted  1S65).     Sittings, 

1000.  Attendance  at  Sabbath  School,  120.  Superintendent  and 
Treasurer  of  Sabbath  School — Mr.  James  Fairbaim ;  Session 
Clerk  and  Kirk  Treasurer — Mr.  Thomas  Murray;  Precentor — 
Thomas  Emmond  ;  Church  Officer — William  Millar. 

Free  Church— Rev.  William  Cousin  (Inducted  1859).  Sittings,  550. 
Average  attendance  at  Sabbath  School,  50,  exclusive  ot  those 
attending  the  various  district  Sabbath  Schools,  taught  by  mem- 
bers of  the  congregation.  Precentor— Pringle  Murray,  Newstead ; 
Church  Treasurer— Wm.  M"Bean;  Church  Officer— Wm.  Cran- 
stoun,  Church  Place. 

United  Presbyterian  Church — Rev.  Hugh  Stevenson  (Inducted 
1S60).  Sittings,  450.  Av.  attend,  at  Sab.  School,  74.  Session 
Clerk— Thomas  J.  Dunn  ;  Treasurer— Allan  Freer ;  Precentor- 
John  Wood  ;  Church  Officer— Andrew  Newton,  Dingleton. 

U.  P.  Church  (Newtown) — Rev.  David  Lumgair  (Inducted  1844). 
Sittings,  500.     Average  attendance  at  Sabbath  School.  SO. 

Congregational  Church — Rev.  William  Crombie  (Inducted  1S51.) 
Sittings,  250.  Average  attendance  at  Sabbath  School,  Melrose, 
20  ;  at  other  schools,  45. 

Episcopalian  Chdrch— Rev.  John  G.  Ryde,  M.A.  (Inducted  1S55). 
Sittings,  200.  

Fast  Days— Thursdays  before  second  Sunday  of  May  and  November. 


SABBATH  SCHOOL  TEACHERS'  UNION. 
President — T.  J.  Dunn.        Vice-President — John  Broad 
Secretary — Wm.  Sinclair.     Treasurer — Adam  Milne. 
Meets  first  Friday  of  January,  April,  July,  and  October.     The 
office-bearers  are  chosen  annually. 


SCOTTISH  PROTESTANT  ASSOCIATION  (Branch). 

Rev.  William  Crombie,  President.      |      Francis  Tocher,    Secretary. 

Agent  for  the  Association's  Publications — William  Macbean. 


LONDON  CITY  MISSION  (Branch— estab.  1S60). 

An  annual  meeting  is  held  in  the  Corn  Exchange,  in  August,  at 
which  an  interesting  address  regarding  the  work  of  the  Mission,  is 
delivered  by  the  Rev.  Francis  Tyrrell,  B.A.  (of  London). 
President — Hon.  Major  Baillie,  Dryburgh. 
Chairman— John  Meiklam,  Esq.,  of  Gladswood. 
Local  Secy,  and  Treas.— T.  J.  Dunn. 
Committee — Clergymen  of  the  district. 
lady  collectors. 
Mrs.  Cousin  (F.  C.  Manse),  Mrs.  Murray  (Established  do.),    Mrs. 
M'Bean,  High'Street,  Mrs.  Thomson  (Eildon),  Miss  Dunn,  Miss 
Nichol  (Laurel  Bank),  Miss  Nicol  (Buccleuch  St. ),  Miss  Smith 
(Darnick). 

Average  collection,  remitted  to  London,  £20. 


BIBLE  SOCIETY. 
President— Hon.  R.  Baillie.        Vice-Pres.— The  Master  of  Polwarfh. 
Treasurer— Allan  Freer.     Secretaries— John  Broad  and  T.  J.  Dunn. 


LONDON  TRACT  SOCIETY  (Branch). 
Thomas  J.  Dunn,  Treasurer. 


COLPORTAGE  ASSOCIATION  (estab.  1857). 

President — The  Hon.  Robert  Baillie,  Dryburgh  Abbey. 
Secretary — John  Smith,  Leaderfoot.      Treasurer — T.  J.  Dunn. 

With  an  acting  Committee  of  Eleven  Members. 
The  district  of  the  Association  is  at  present  undefined.  The  total 
amount  of  value  of  religious  books  sold  during  the  past  year,  chiefly 
among  the  rural  population  of  the  district,  amounted  to  £194.  The 
number  of  religious  periodicals  sold  monthly  amounted  to  ]  300,  while 
the  amount  of  tracts  furnished  by  the  Edinburgh  Religious  Tract 
and  Book  Society  and  other  friends,  and  distributed  gratuitously  by 
the  colporteur,  amounted  to  19,000.  The  annual  income  of  the  So- 
ciety averages  £35. 


ASSOCIATION  FOR  CONDUCTING  POPULAR  LECTURES,  1865-6. 

(Held  in  the  Corn  Exchange  in  Winter.) 

Patron — The  Honourable  Major  Baillie. 

President— Rev.  Wm.  Stevenson.     Vice-President — John  Broad. 

Secretary — W.  M'Bean.        Treasurer — Thos.  Stevenson. 


135 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  I    MELROSE. SCHOOLS PAROCHIAL   BOARD — BENEVOLENT    SOCIETIES. 


136 


Committee  1365-66. 

Revs.  "William  Cousin  and  J.  G.  Hyde ;  Messrs  John  Smith  (Tower 
Cottage),  T.  J.  Dunn,  Allan  Freer,  Jas.  Curie,  Dr.  Brown,  Gen. 
Biddell,  J,  Pattison,  Wm.  Sinclair,  Walter  Hogg,  Thomas  Laurie, 
J.  M'Symou,  John  Freer,  and  Ralph  Dunn. 
Average  attendance,  200. 


EDUCATIONAL  INSTITUTIONS.* 

Parochial  School — Francis  Tocher,  master. 

Free  Church  School— Angus  Stewart,  master;  Miss  Thorburn,  female 

teacher ;  average  attendance,  60. 
Daraick  School — Robert  Robertson,  master. 
Episcopal  School — John  Barham,  master. 
Gattonside  School— Alex.  Hopkirk,  master. 
Newstead  School—  ,  master. 

Newtown  Subscription  School — Peter  Jack,  master. 
Female  School — Mrs  Houston,  Melrose. 
Girls*  School,  Newtown — Miss  Hardie. 

Boarding  Seminaries  for  Young  Ladies. 
Misses  Burn,  Rose  Bank.  |        Misses  Liston,  Laurel  Bank. 


PAROCHIAL  BOARD. 


182  Members. 

Chairman — Rev.  J.  G.  Ryde. 

Thomas  Murray,  Inspector  and  Collector  of  Poor  Rates. 

Thomas  H.  Paterson,  Sub-Inspector  for  Galashiels  district. 

Committee. 
Revs.  "William  Cousin  and  Hugh  Stevenson ;  Messrs.  Alex.  Curie, 
James  Erskine,  Allan  Freer,  Thos.  J.  Dunn,  Dr.  W.  N.  Brown, 
James  Curie,  William  M'Bean,  Mark  Turnbull,  Geo.  Rutherford 
of  Sunnyside,  John  Smith,  Rittyfield,  Captain  Clark,  ot  Lang- 
haugh ;  Thomas  S.  Hall,  and  W.  Sanderson,  Galashiels. 

Elected  Members  and  Members  of  Kikk  Session. 
Rev.  H.  Stevenson,  Messrs.  M.  Turnbull,  William  M'Bean,  Robert 
Tait,  William  Sinclair,  Gilbert  Amos ;  J.  Knox,  John  Broad,  and 
J.  Fairbairn. 

Medical  Officers  and  Public  Vaccinators — J.  B.  Clarkson  for  Melrose 
Distiict;  James  Brisbane,  M.D.,  for  Galashiels. 

Average  No.  of  Poor  on  Roll,  200 ;  Assessment  for  the  year.  lOd,  per 
£,  less  J  on  house  property  for  repairs,  and  £  on  land.  Total 
collection,  18634,  £1432  : 6 :  8. 

Poor  House.  Galashiels  Combination. 
Parochial  Representatives — Jas.  Erskine  and  Thomas  J.  Dunn. 

*  Children  in  the  pariBh  between  6  and  15  attending  school  during  the 
first  week  of  April  1861— GalaBhiels  district,  583 ;  Melrose  district,  668— 
Mai,  1251 ;  total  of  all  ages  in  both  districts,  1316. 


VAGRANT  RELIEF  SOCIETY. 

The  Hon.  Robert  Baillie,  President. 

James  Erskine,  Chairman.         Thomas  J.  Dunn,  Treasurer. 

Mrs.  Newton,  Relieving  Agent. 

Supported  by  private  subscriptions.     The  same  vagrant  not  re- 
lieved above  once  a  month,  and  a  register  kept. 


YEARLY  FRIENDLY  SOCIETY. 
Preses — "William  Ilart.      Secretary  and  Treasurer — John  Young. 

Number  of  Members,  140. 
This  Society  is  the  same  in  principle  as  those  of  Kelso  (see  p.  86) ; 
but  the  scale  of  payment  to  sick  members  is  more  liberal — viz.,  5s. 
n-week  for  the  first  three  months,  3s.  a-week  for  tho  second  three 
months,  and  2s.  a-week  till  the  close  of  the  financial  year. 


ST  JOHN'S  LODGE  OF  FREE  MASONS. 

The  Institution  of  this  lodge  is  said  to  be  as  far  back  as  the  build- 
ing of  Melrose  Abbey,  "John  Morow,  who  had  in  keeping  all  mason 
work"  at  the  building  of  that  celebrated  ruin,  having  been  the  first 
Grand  Master  of  the  Lodge.  It  does  not  hold  of  the  Grand  Lodge  of 
Scotland,  having  declined  when  that  scheme  was  organised  to  fall  in 
with  the  over-ruling  and  centralizing  system  which  was  then  passed, 
and  more  fully  carried  out  afterwards. 

John  Brown,  Halidean  Mill,  R.W.G.M. 

M.  Berry,  Earlston,  S.  Warden.      Wm.  Miles,  Newstead,  J.  Warden. 

Jas.  Fairbairn,  Secretary.      Wm.  Scott.  Drygrauge,  Treasurer. 

Robert  Tacket,  Tyler. 


TOTAL  ABSTINENCE  SOCIETY. 
Peter  Hunter,  President.        John  Howden,  Vice-President. 

Committee. 
Rev.  W.  Crombie,  Melrose.       I    James  Hart,  Gattonside. 
Barney  Harkness,  do.  |    George  Brockie,  Darnick. 


MUTUAL  .IMPROVEMENT  SOCIETY  (Instituted  1858). 

Offioe-Beareks. 

President — Robert  Tait.        Vice-President— Thomas  Laurie. 

Secretary — J.  L.  Muir.         Treasurer — Andrew  Smith. 

Journalist — A.  B.  Rodgers.     Assistant  Journalist — J.  G.  Taylor. 

Committee. 

Messrs.  William  Corson,  William  Hart,  and  David  D.  Deans. 

The  office-bearers,  etc.,  are  subject  to  election  quarterly. 

An  interesting  Annual  Meeting  of  this  Society  is  held,  attended 
by  the  different  clergymen  and  other  friends. 


137 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    MELROSE. — RURAL    SOCIETIES PUBLIC    COMPANIES ETC. 


138 


PUBLIC  LIBRARY. 
Parish  Library — W.  Macbean,  Librarian.     1300  vols.    Annual  Sub- 
scription, Is. 
Libraries  are  also  attached  to  the  Free  and  Melrose  U.  P.  churches, 
but  their  use  is  limited  to  the  members.     For  Book  Clubs,  see  Miss 
Elliot's  and  Miss  Cameron's. 


AGRICULTURAL  SOCIETY  (estab.  1840). 

President— Tho  Right  Hon.  Lord  Polwarth. 

Vice-Presidents— The  Right  Hon.  Lord  BinniMg,  and  T.  Tod,  Esq. 

Secretary  and  Treasurer — John  Freer. 

The  Judges  and-  Committee  are  elected  annually. 

An  Annual  Show  for  hunting  stock,  cattle,  sheep,  and  horses,  is 

held  in  the  Greenyards  about  the  end  of  March  or  beginning  of  April. 


HORTICULTURAL  AND  FLORAL  SOCIETY. 
Committee  of  Management. 


George  Hills,  Weirhill  Villa. 
George  Thorburn,  St  Cuthberts 
John  Richardson,  Dryburgh. 
David  Hunter,  Gladswood. 
George  Irvine,  Linthill. 
Treasurer— Wm.  Milton,  Parsonage.      Secretary — Wm.  Macbean 
Exhibitions  in  July  and  September. 


George  Baxter,  Fordell  Villa. 
William  Steubouse,  FriarshalL 
Mark  Kyle,  Elliston. 
James  Wilsher,  Caverse  Carre 


FARMERS'  CLUB  (estab.  1832). 
Consists  at  present  of  34  Members.      Annual  Subscription,  £1. 

John  Broad,  Secretary  and  Treasurer. 
Meetings  first  Monday  of  each  month,  with  exception  of  April, 
August,  and  September  ;  the  day  of  meeting  in  the  first-mentioned 
month  being  the  second  Monday,  and  the  last  two  months  blank. 


CORN  EXCHANGE  AND  NEW  TOWN  HALL. 
This  beautiful  public  building  was  added  to  the  advantages  of  the 
town  in  1863,  and  opened  iu  the  autumn  of  that  year.    The  architect 
was  Mr  David  Cousin,  and  the  cost  about  £3000. 

Directors. 
George  Mills,  Greenend  William  L.  Blaikie,  Camieston 


James  Simson,  Melrose 
T.  J.  Dunn  do. 

General  Riddell,  do. 
James  Erskine,    do. 

Secretary — James  Curie.  '      Treasurer— Allan  Freer. 
Rates. 


Mark  Turnbull,  Melrose 

Alexander  Curie,    do. 

William  Lockie,  West  Morriston 


Concert,  or  similar  purpose  £2  2 

Ladies'  Bazaar 2  2 

Evening  Dress  Assembly  . .    3  3 

Public  Dinner ,. 1  l 


Public  Meeting  or  Lecture. .  £1 
Promenade     Assembly    or 
Soiree  ._ 1 


GAS  COMPANY  (estab.  1836). 
Directors. 
James  Erskine,  Alex.  Curie,  Thomas  Murray,  J.  B.  ClarkBon,  Tho- 
mas Paterson,  Thomas  J.  Dunn,  James  Curie,  James  Simson, 
Thomas  Scott,  and  Allan  Freer. 
Sec.  and  Treas.— Thomas  Murray.         Manager — Walter  Hogg. 
10s.  per  1000  feet,  including  Town  Lighting  and  Service. 
Pays  4^  per  cent. 


WATER  COMPANY  (estab.  1838). 
Directors. 


James  Erskine. 
Thomas  J.  Dunn. 
Dr  Brown. 
Alexander  Curie. 


Thomas  Scott. 
Thomas  Paterson. 
James  Curie. 
James  B.  Clarkson. 


Thomas  Murray,  Secretary  and  Treasurer. 

Rate  6d.  per  £1  on  Rental. 
Amount  of  Stock,  £476.     Pays  4  per  cent. 


SUSPENSION  CHAIN  BRIDGE  BETWEEN  MELROSE  AND 

GATTONSIDE— (Erected  in  1826). 

Directors. 
Thomas  John  Dunn,  Melrose.     1    Thomas  Paterson,  Melrose. 
R.  Marr,  Gattonside.  ]    John  Smith,  Kittyfield. 

James  Curie,  Clerk,  Melrose. 
Amount  of  Stock,  £726.     Pays  6  per  cent. 


CURLING  CLUB  (estab.  1847). 

T.  Riddell  Carre  yr.  of  Cavers  Carre,  President. 

C  S.  Plummer  of  Sunderland  Hall,  Vice-President. 

John  Freer,  Fordell  Villa,  Secretary  and  Treasurer. 

Committee — George  Rutherford,  Thomas  Stevenson,  Robert  Easton, 

Richard  Stirling,  and  Gilbert  Amos. 

Representative  Member — George  Rutherford, 

Entry-Money,  5s.    Annual  Subscription,  2s.  6cL 

Curling'  Pond — Base  of  the  Eildon  Hills,  on  the  property  of  the  Duke 

of  Bucclcuch. 


CRICKET  CLUB  (estab.  1862). 

President — Thomas  Tod  of  Drygrange. 

Vice-President— James  Erskine  of  Shielfield, 

A.  B.  Rodgers,  Captain. 

Ralph  Dunn,  Secretary.         P.  H.  Patterson,  Treasurer. 

Committee — J.  Barham,  J.  Lees,  Ralph  Dunn,  A.  B.  Rodgers. 

Quarterly  Subscription,  Is.  6d. 

Cricket  Field— The  Greenyards. 


139 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    MELROSE. — PROFESSIONAL    LISTS,    ETC 


140 


3rd  ROXBURGHSHIRE  RIFLE  CORPS— (Melrose). 

Thos.  Tod  of  Drygrange,  Captain.     T.  Riddell  Carre,  yr.,  Lieutenant. 

John  Broad,  Ensign.        Allan  Freer,  Treasurer. 

Dr.  W.  N.  Brown,  Honorary  Surgeon. 

Edmond  "Walsh,  Drill  Sergeant.     Effective  Force,  71. 

Annual  Subscription  for  Honorary  Members,  £1,  Is. 

Head-quarters — Corn  Exchange. 


BANK  BRANCHES. 

British  Linen  Company's  Bank  — Curie,  Erskine,  &  Curie,  Agents ; 
Henry  Rae,  Accountant 

Royal  Bank — Freer  &  Dunn,  Agents ;  John  G.  Taylor,  Accountant. 


INSURANCE  AGENTS. 

Alliance  (Fire) Thomas  Laurie,  seedsman 

British  Guarantee Curie  &  Erskine,  writers. 

Briton  (Fire  and  Life) Angus  Sutherland,  auctioneer. 

City  of  Glasgow  Life Win.  Sinclair,  merchant. 

Edinburgh  Life Curie  &  Erskine.  writers. 

Home  and  Colonial R.  Yule,  merchant. 

Insurance  Coy.  of  Scotland Thomas  Mitchell,  C.E. 

Life  Association  of  Scotland.  .David  Manuel. 

London  and  Lancashire Angus  Sutherland,  auctioneer. 

Mutual  Life W.  Macbean,  bookseller. 

National  Guarantee Freer  &  Dunn,  writers. 

Northern Mrs  Walker,  druggist. 

North  British  &  Mercantile A.  Paterson,  merchant. 

Plate  Glass  Insurance  Coy Nichol  Dodds,  joiner  and  builder. 

Scottish  Amicable  Life W.  Macbean,  bookseller, 

Scottish  Union  (Fire) Alexander  Curie,  writer. 

(Fire  &  Life) Allan  Freer,  writer. 

Standard Thomas  John  Dunn,  writer. 

United  Kingdom  Provident George  Douglas,  seedsman. 

United  Kingdom   Temperance  \  „     Walker  druo-eist 
and  General  Provident..  )  Mrs  walKer*  aru0gist. 


ASSOCIATION  FOR  THE  PROMOTION  OF  THE  FINE  ARTS. 
IN  SCOTLAND. 

Archibald  Paterson,  Hon.  Secretary. 


&c. 


PROCURATORS,  NOTARIES  PUBLIC, 

Curie,  Alexander  (firm  of  C.  &  Erskine,  Market  Place). 
Curie,  James,  N.P..  do.  do. 

Dunn,  Thomas  John,  N.P.  (firm  of  Freer  &  D.,  High  Street). 
Erskine,  James,  N.P.  (firm  of  Curie  &  E.,  Market  Place). 
Freer,  Allan  (firm  of  F.  &  Dunn,  High  Street). 


MEDICAL  PRACTITIONERS. 

William  N.  Brown,  M.D. ;  James  B.  Clarkson,  surgeon;  Alexander 

Dewar,  M.D.  ;  and  J.  G.  Smith,  surgeou,  M.D. 


MILLS. 

Melrose — Corn — Mark  Tumbull. 

Gattonside — Saw — George  Scott  &  Sons,  bobbin  makers,  wood  tur- 
ners, and  wood  merchants. 
Newstead — Corn — John  Knox,  baker,  Melrose. 
Newtown — Corn — Thomas  Moffat. 
Leaderfoot — Corn — John  Wintrup. 


AUCTIONEERS. 

Alexander  Davidson,  St.  Dunstan's  Villa. 

Angus  Sutherland,  High  Street. 


STATUTE  LABOUR  ROADS. 
District  of  Melrose, 
Comprising  the  parishes  of  Melrose,  Bowden,  St  Boswell's,  Maxton. 
Lilliesleaf,  and  all  parts'  of  the  Parishes  of  Galashiels  and  Selkirk  in 
the  county  of  Roxburgh. 

Alexander  Curie,  Clerk  and  Collector.      Thomas  Mitchell,  Surveyor. 
Meets  at  Melrose  on  or  about  28th  March. 


CARRIERS. 

Ancrttm— J.  Davidson,  Ship  Inn,  Thursday. 

Earlston — Robert  Simson,  Station,  daily. 

Edinburgh  and  Glasgow,  and  all  parts  of  the  North  and  West — 

Railway  Station,  daily. 
Galashiels — Robert  Clark,  Mr  Paterson's  Shop,  Tuesday. 
Galashiels,  Hawick,  Jedburgh,  Kelso,  Berwick,  and  all  parts  of 

the  South — Railway  Station,  daily. 
St  Boswell's — Robert  Clark,  Mr  Paterson's,  Tuesday. 
Selkirk — D.  Chisholm,  Ship  Inn,  Thursday. 


CONVEYANCE  BY  RAILWAY. 


To  Galashiels,  Edinburgh,  and  all  parts  of  the  North  and  West. 
To  Hawick,  Kelso,  Berwick,  and  all  parts  of  the  South.   (For  Arrival 
and  Departure  of  the  Trains,  see  Monthly  Time  Tables.) 

Omnibuses  from  the  George  and  Commercial  Hotels  attend  all  the 
Trains— fares,  6d. 


141 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    MELROSE. —  GENERAL   DIRECTORY. 


142 


GENERAL  DIRECTORY. 

Those  marked  thus  (*)  are  Registered  Voters. 

Abbey  Street 

Abbey  Hotel,  *Hamilton,  Archibald 

Bell,  Archibald,  watchmaker 
*Bell,  John,  stocking-maker 

Boston,  Mrs.,  Abbey  Place 
*Collier,  Gideon,  carter 

Curie,  James  (of  Evelaw),  St.  Cuthbert's 

Davidson,  Miss 

Dodds,  Alexander,  Abbey  Gate 

Easton  &  Mather,  Misses,  dress  makers 

Edington,  Mrs. 

Gibson  Misses 

Hamilton,  Archibald,  wood  merchant 

Hamilton,  Isabella,  grocer 

Henderson,  Miss,  Abbey  Cottage 

Manse,  Murray,  Rev.  William 

M'Bean,  William,  bookseller,  stationer,  and  printer 

Mercer,  Robert,  gardener 

Mercer,  George,  painter  and  glazier 

Musgrove,  Miss 

Ormiston,  Walter 

Paterson,  James,  tinsmith 
*Simson,  James,  brewer,  View  Field 

Tait,  Mrs.,  Abbey  Gate 

Tocher,  Francis,  schoolmaster 

Waterson,  William,  colporteur 

Buccleuch  Street 

*Clarkson,  J.  B.,  surgeon 
*Dodds,  Nichol,  joiner  and  builder 

Jardine,  John,  plumber 
*M'Donald,  David,  cabinet-maker  and  upholsterer 

Carver  and  gilder 
•Mitchell  Thomas,  civil  engineer,  surveyor,  etc. 

Nicol,  Misses,  milliners 

Patterson,  Misses  and  Mr.  P.  H. 

Young,  John,  grocer  and  wine  merchant 


East  Port 


Baptie,  Robert,  tailor 
Brown,  Thomas,  joiner 


Brydone,  Misses 
Riddell,  John,  flesher 
Riddell,  Robert,  farmer 
Scoon,  William,  flesher 
Scott,  George,  labourer 
*Scott,  James,  blacksmith. 
Scott,  Mrs.,  grocer 

Market  Place  and  High  Street 

Aikman,  John,  warehouseman,  West  Port 
Amos,  Gilbert,  draper 
Anderson,  Alexander 
*Anderson,  Alexander  mason, 
Anderson,  Mrs. 
Bird,  Robert,  grocer 
Cameron,  Misses,  stationers,  small  ware  dealers,  &c. 

Branch  of  Edmonstone  &  Douglas'  Booh  Club  (Edinburgh) 
Cavers,  Mrs. 
Clark,  Miss,  confectioner 
Com  Exchange  Buildings — 
Inland  Revenue  Office 

Inspector  of  Poor's  Office—  Thomas  Murray 
Battalion  of  the  Roxburgh  and  Selkirk  Rifle  Volunteers' 
Office — Captain  Macpherson,  adjutant  (see  p.  54) 
Curie  &  Erskine's  writing  chambers 

Managing  Clerk — John  C.  Munro 
Dawson,  Michael,  china  merchant,  The  Wilderness 
Don,  Munro,  coachbuilder,  do. 

Douglas,  George,  ironmonger,  seed  and  guano  merchant 
Manager — Thomas  Laurie 
*Drysdale,  Alexander,  draper 
Dunn,  Mrs.,  sen. 
*Easton,  George,  joiner 
Elliot,  Miss,  stationer  and  small  ware  dealer 

Branch  of  J.  <$■  /.  H.  PaUhnrfurd's  Book  Club  (Kelso) 
Fiddes,  G.  &  W.,  blacksmiths 
*Fiddes,  George  (of  G.  &  W.  F.) 
*Fiddes,  William  (of  G.  &  W.  F.) 
George  Hotel,  *Menzies,  James 
Greig,  William,  bootmaker 
Freer  &  Dunn's  writing  chambers 

Managing  Clerk,  John  Macrae 
Hogg,  Walter,  cabinet-maker  and  upholsterer 
Hunter,  Miss 

Hunter,  Robert,  shoemaker 
King's  Arms  Inn,  *Cleaver,  William 
Knox,  John,  baker  and  miller 
Lees,  Alexander,  upholsterer,  West  Port 


143 


ROXBURGHSHIRE:    MELROSE. SUBURBS   AND    VILLAGES. 


144 


Lillico,  Mrs. 
*Manuel,  David 

*Ormiston,  Archibald,  nurseryman  and  seedsman 
*Paterson,  Thomas,  grocer  and  wine  merchant 
*Pattison,  John,   of  Victoria  Cottage 

Post.  Office,  Elliot,  Miss,  postmistress. 

Railway  Hotel,  Easton,  Robert 

Registrar  ofSasines'  Office — John  Murray 

Robertson,  Mrs.,  St.  Dunstan's 

Sanderson,  Thomas,  flesher 

Scott,  Misses,  of  Raeburn  {Number  6) 

Scott,  Walter,  tailor  and  clothier 

Scott,  Thomas,  baker 

Ship  Inn,  Muckersie,  Michael 

Simpson,  Walter,  saddler 
*Sinciair,  William,  draper 

Slater,  Walter,  grocer  and  wine  merchant 

Stewart,  Misses,  dress  makers,  St  Cuthbert's  Cot 

Sutherland,  Angus,  Furniture  Salerooms 

Tait,  Robert,  boot  and  shoemaker 

Telfer,  George,  slater 

Walker,  James,  druggist 

Walker,  Mrs. 

Wield  &  Corson,  druggists 
*Wishart,  John,  v.  surgeon 

Wood,  Mrs. 
♦Wilson,  Philip,  painter 

Tule,  Robert,  clothier 

Melrose  Railway  Station 

Resident  Station  Master,  General  Manager,  and  K.  B.  R.  Com- 
pany's Coal  Agent — Henry  O'Hagan. 

OFFICES 

George  Mann,  coal  agent. 
Robert  Cairns,        do. 
Refreshment  Rooms — John  Hogarth 

Residences  between  Melrose  and  the  Weirhill 

Barham,  John,  teacher,  Booklaws  Cottages 

Butler,  Mrs.,  Madras  Cottage 

Dewar,  Alexander,  M.D.,  Douglas  Cottage 

Gasworks — Walter  Hogg,  manager 

Gray,  Adam,  accountant.  Bishopflat 

Hepburn,  Miss,  Merchiston 

Murray,  Thomas,  Inspector  of  Poor,  of  Abbotsknowe 

M'Millan,  Mrs.,  Douglas  Cottage 


Police  Station,  Oliver,  sergeant 
Stewart,  James,  gardener,  Church  Place 
Stewart,  A.,  teacher,  do. 

Stewart,  John,  tailor,  do. 

Turnbull,  John,  builder,  do. 


SUBURBS  AND  VILLAGES. 

Dingleton. 

[Lying  on  a  slope  of  the  Eildons,  close  above  Melrose,  and  reached 
by  a  road  passing  the  Railway  Station]. 

Burn,  Misses,  Boarding  School,  Rosebank  House 
Cowan,  Mrs. 
*Crombie,  Rev.  William,  View  Bank 
Falla,  Mrs. 
Gibson,  Adam 
Grant,  John,  forester 
Harkness,  Barney 

Henderson,  Edward,  surveyor  of  taxes,  Mavis  Bank 
Phin,  Miss,  of  St  Mary's 
Shiel,  John 
Whitehead,  Mrs. 

The  Weirhill,  &c. 

|  The  "Weirhill,  lying  in  the  direction  of  Darnick,  is  a  new  western 
suburb  of  villas,  rather  than  a  street,  of  Melrose.  It  is  here  the 
newly  erected  Free  and  Episcopal  Churches  are  situated.  High 
Cross  is  a  continuation  of  "Weirhill,  beyond  the  Episcopal  Church. 
Between  "Weirhill  Place  and  Melrose,  and  surrounded  by  the  public 
green  of  the  Weirhill,  is  the  Parish  Church.] 

Arras,  Mrs.,  Trinity  Villa 
*Brown,  William  N.,  M.D.,  of  St  John's 

Campbell,  Misses,  Torwood  Lodge 

Carmichael,  Mrs.,  Meadowbank  House 

Free  Church  Manse,  ""Cousin,  Rev.  William 

Douglas,  Misses,  The  Elms 
*Dunn,  Thomas  J.  (of  Freer  &  D.)  of  Weirhill  Villa 

Fairbairn  Brothers,  joiners,  Weirhill  Place 
*Freer,  Allan  (of  F.  &  Dunn)  of  Fordell  Villa 
*Freer,  John,  Fordell  Villa 

Fyall,  Captain,  of  The  Elms 
*Glen,  Andrew,  Elmbank 

Hastie,  Mrs.,  Weirhill  Place 

Hay,  Miss,  do. 

Isaac,  Mrs.,  do. 

Liston,  Misses,  Boarding  School,  Laurel  Bank 


145 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    MELROSE. — SUBURBS    AND    VILLAGES. 


146 


Mem,  Miss,  Weirhill  Place 

Millar,  John,  clerk,  do. 

Milton,  William       do. 

Murray,  Misses,  High  Cross 

M'Innes,  Archibald,  warehouseman,  Trinity  Cottage 
*M'Lachlan,  William  E.,  cabinet-maker,  of  Waverley  Cottage 

M'Symon,  John,  of  Avenel,  High  Cross 

Nisbet,  Mrs.,  Tweed  Cottage 

Ogilvie,  Miss,  High  Cross 

Pott,  Miss,  of  Weirbank 

Reid,  Peter,  M.D.,  Weirhill  Place 

Kodger,  Miss,  Eildon  Bank 
*Rvde,  Rev.  J.  G.,  The  Parsonage 
♦Riddell,  Archibald,  High  Cross 

•  Riddell,  Mrs.,  do. 

*Shiell,  John  (late  of  3  East  Newington  Place,  Edinburgh),  Re- 
treat Cottage 

Sloan,  Mrs.,  of  Piccadilly  House 

Smith,  John  G.,  M.D.,  St.  John's 
*Stevenson,  Rev.  Hugh,  XT.  P.  Manse 
♦Stevenson,  Thomas,  Bleachfield 

Stuart,  Darnley,  warehouseman 

Sutherland,  Angus,  Bleachfield 

Thomson,  Mrs.,  Weirhill  Place 

Thomson,  Mrs.,  Weirhill 

Turnbull,  Miss,  of  The  Knowe,  High  Cross 

Gattonside  (see  p.  128) 

Mortification — Sibeald's  Bequest. — This  Bequest,  the  net  pro- 
ceeds of  which  amounted  to  £3G0,  was  bequeathed  by  the  late 
William  Sibbald,  Esq.,  architect  in  Edinburgh,  and  a  native  of 
Gattonside,  to  the  poor  of  Melrose  parish,  after  the  decease  of 
certain  heirs,  and  which  came  into  operation  in  January  1862, 
and  is  dispensed  by  a  committee  of  the  Parochial  Board  The 
yearly  interest  amounts  to  £14,  8s.,  which  is  distributed  among 
upwards  of  sixty  poor  persons,  and  proves  a  great  boon  to  the 
poor  of  the  parish. 

*  Allan,  James 
Boston,  Thomas,  farmer 
Burnet,  James,  joiner 
Clapperton,  Mrs.,  Springbank 
Clapperton,  Robert,  gardener 

Dance,  Mrs.,  and  Miss  Elizabeth  Trotter  (late  of  Hendersyde 
Park),  Castle  Cottage 

Dodds,  John,  blacksmith 

Dickenson,  Robert 

Hewat,  John 
*Hopkirk,  Alexander,  teacher 
*Hopkirk,  Robert,  shoemaker 


Knox,  Andrew,  farmer 
*  Johnston,  John,  plasterer 
*Maconochie,  R.  B.  of  Gattonside  House 
*Marr,  Robert,  portioner 

Post  Office,  Eliza  Halliburton— (see  Melrose,  p.  133) 
*Pringle,  John,  farmer 

Pringle,  Robert 

Renwick,  Mrs. 
*Scott,  George  (of  S.  &  Sons),  Saw  Mills 
*Spottiswood,  Joseph 
*Stewart,  George 
*Tait,  Walter,  farmer 

Turnbull,  Joseph 

Villas  at  Gattonside 

Gattonside  Villa,  the   property  and  residence  of  Richard 

Parnell,  Esq ,  M.D. 
Abbotsmeadow,  occupied  by  *William  Park,  Esq.,  of  Blegbie 
Friars  Hall,  occupied  by  W.  0.  Dickinson,  Esq. 

Darnick  (see  p.  128) 

Brodie  &  Wayness 
*Brodie,  George,  joiner 

Chisholm,  James,  shoemaker 
*Currie,  Andrew  (of  Fisher's  Tower),  sculptor 

Elliot,  David,  manure  manufacturer 
*Gardiner,  Robert,  farmer. 

Hunter,  Peter,  blacksmith 

Kitchen,  Miss,  grocer 

Mann,  Charles,  coal-agent,  Darnick  Vale 

Mann,  George,  Darnick  Vale 

Manuel,  William,  blacksmith 

Matthewson,  William,  grocer 

Nichol,  Rev.  W.  M. 
*Nichol,  Thomas,  farmer,  Broomilees 

Post  Office,  William  Matthewson  (see  Melrose,  p.  133) 

Rutherford,  Mrs.,  innkeeper 

Robertson,  Robert,  teacher 
*Smith,  John,  sen.,  architect 

Smith,  Mrs.  Thomas 

Tait,  Mrs.  W. 
*Waugh,  John,  fanner 

Wight,  Thomas 
*Young,  Adam 

Villas  at  Darnick. 
Bridge-End  House,  occupied  by  the  Misses  Clephane. 

L 


147 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    MELROSE. — VILLAGES. 


148 


Darnick  Cottage,  occupied  by  Mrs.  Elliot. 

Darnicr  Tower,  the  property  of  John  Heiton,  Esq.  (see  p.  128) ; 
occupied  by  *Adam  Murray,  Esq. 

Darnlee,  the  property  of  John  Alexander  Smith,  Esq.,  M.D., 
Edinburgh ;  occupied  by  Mrs.  J .  Lawton. 

Tower  Cottage,  the  property  of  John  Heiton,  Esq.,  Accoun- 
tant, Edinburgh;  occupied  by  John  Smith,  Esq.,  jun.,  late  of 
Australia. 

Newstead  (see  p.  128) 

Post  Office  Bos — Letters  collected  at  7-30  a.m.  and  3-55  p.m.,  by 
the  Earlstou  runner. 

Blake,  Archibald,  thatcher 
*Bunzie,  Andrew 
*Burnet,  Francis,  joiner 

Cairns  &  Blyth,  coal-agents 

Davidson,  Joseph 
*Hart,  George,  mason 

Kerr,  Mrs.  George 

Miles,  Mrs.,  innkeeper 
*Pringle,  Andrew,  builder 
*Pringle,  Thomas,  builder 

Redpath,  William,  farmer 

Scott,  James,  artist 

Simson,  James,  miller 
*3rnith,  Charles,  carter 
*Vair,  James,  farmer 

Williamson,  Miss 

Villas  at  Newstead 

Oakendean,  the  property  and  residence  of  Alexander  Mitchell, 
Esq.,  of  the  Exchequer,  Edinburgh. 

Oaicendean  Cottage,  the  property  and  residence  of  Captain 
Smith,  H.N. 

Newtown  (see  p.  1 28) 

Post  Office — Walter  Paton,  Postmaster.  The  Post  Office  of  New- 
town is  now  made  the  District  Post  Office.  Sub-Offices — St. 
Boswell's,  Bowden,  and  Mertoun. 

Newtown — Delivery  at  S-50  a.m.,  and  5-30  p.m.    Box  closes  for 
the  North  at  8-20  a.m.,  and  4  p.m.  ;  for  the  South  at  5-10  p.m. 

St.  Boswell's  and  Mertoun — Despatch,  9  a.m. ;  Arrival,  2-50  p.m. 
Messengers — James  Thomson  and  William  Younger. 

Bowden— Despatch,  9  am.  and  5-30  p  m. ;  Arrival,  S  a.m.  and  3-50 
p.m.    Messenger — William  Rutherford. 


Aldcorn,  James,  blacksmith 

Balmer,  Samuel,  grocer 

Borthwick,  Walter,  cattle-agent  and  innkeeper 

Bowman,  James 

Brodie,  Robert,  grain  and  manure  dealer 

Clark,  Peter,  tailor 

Cochrane,  John  and  Nichol,  masons 

Douglas,  James,  coal  agent 
*Galbraith,  Thomas,  road  contractor 

Grant,  Robert,  joiner 

Grieve,  Mrs. 

Hardie,  Miss,  girls'  school 

Jack,  Peter,  schoolmaster 
""Jeffrey,  Thomas,  farmer 

Johnston,  George,  mason 
*Kerr,  Andrew,  grocer 

Laing,  John,  flesher 

Lillico,  John,  cattle  dealer 
*Lockie,  William,  mason 

M'Gregor,  Allan,  railway  superintendant 

Moffat,  Thomas,  farmer  and  miller 

Newtomi  U.  P.  Manse,  *Lumgair,  Rev.  D.  (see  p.  128) 

Park,  Thomas,  shoemaker 

Railway  Hotel,  Rodger,  Mrs. 

Stenhouse,  Miss 

Stirling,  Archibald 

Walker,  Alexander,  coal  agent 

Newtown  Railway  Station 
Resident  Station-master,  General  Manager,  and  N.  B.  R.  Coal 

Agent — Walter  Riddell. 
Goods'  Clerk— David  Fairbairn 
Refreshment  Rooms— Miss  Steel 

Villa  at  Newtown. 
Tweedbasic  House,  the  property  and  residence  of  Thomas 
Waters. 

Hamlet  of  Langshaw 
Situated  near  Glendearg,  in  the  Galashiels  or  Ladhope  district. 

Post  Office  by  Galashiels — which  see. 

School — Francis  Kerr,  master.     Average  attendance,  34. 

Mortification — Langshaw  Side  School,  adopted  in  November  1862 
as  a  Parochial  Side  School  by  the  heritors  of  Melrose  parish, 
with  a  salary  of  £15  per  annum,  for  the  benefit  of  the  northern 
part  of  the  parish.  This  School  besides  enjoys  the  annual  inte- 
rest of  a  mortification  of  £62,  bequeathed  by  William  Moffat,  a 
former  proprietor  of  Threepwood,  and  George  Ailley,  in  17S5. 

Saw  Mill — William  Turnbull,  joiner. 

Blacksmith— David  Hope. 


149 


ROXBURGHSHIRE:    MELROSE. COUNTRY    RESIDENTS SEATS    OF    COUNTY    FAMILIES. 


150 


COUNTRY  RESIDENTS  IN  THE  PARISH. 


'Anderson,    J.,    farmer,    Friars 

Haugh 
Arnott,  James,  manager  of  home 

farm,  Drygrange 
•Brown,    David,    farmer,    Easter 

Housebyres 
*Bruce,  J.,  farmer,  Easter  Langlee 
*Cossar,  Thos.,  do.,  Mossbouses 
*Currie,    G.,   shepherd,    Threep- 

wood 
*Dalgleish,  Js.,  do.,  So.  Blainslie 
"Davidson,  "W.,  farmer,  Colmslie 
Dickson,  Alex.,    head -gardener, 

Old  Melrose 
*Dodds,  Jas.,  farmer,  Hawksnest 
*Fortune,  George,  Eildon 
" Fleming,  John,  farmer,  Craigs- 

ford  Mains 

Ford,  farmer,  Hawkslee 

"Gladstone,   John,    farmer,   Old 

Town  Langlee 
'Halliday,  F.,  Bridgehangh  Mill 
Hately,    Arch. ,    superintendant , 

Eildon  Hall 
*Hewat,  J.,  farmer,  Langlee  Hill 
"Hogg,  W.,    do.,  Clackmae 
*Hunter,  A.,  farmer,  Allanshaws 
*Hume,  Nath.,  do.,  Bluecairn 
Marnieson,  J.,  do.,  Whitelee 
"Leitch,  J.,  farmer.  New  Blainslie 
Lidster,  George,  Eildon 
*Lun,  Walter,  fanner.  Roan 
*Macdougal,  Geo., farmer,  Sorrow- 

lessfield  Mains 
^Macdougal,  W.,  farmer,  Sorrow- 

lessfield  Mains 


*Mack,  John,  Eildon 
Mackay,     Murdoch,     head  -  gar- 
dener, Ravenswood. 

^Murray,  John,  farmer,  Wester- 
housebyres 

*Mercer,  George,  Coatgreen 

"Oliver,  John,  farmer,  Bridge  End 
Mains 
Ormston,  S.,  farmer,  Glendearg. 

'Ovens,  Thomas  of  Lynwood 
Pin*ves,  John,  Kittyfiold 

*Renwick,  R.,  farmer,  of  Hawk- 
burn 

-Richardson,  Thomas,  sen.,  far- 
mer, Gattonside  Mains 

*Riddell,  Turnbull,  farmer,  Berry- 
hall 

^Robertson,  J.  of  Nether  Blainslie 

*Robertson,  T.,  mason,  Blainslie 

*3cott,  J.  S.  E.,  fanner,  Buckholm 

*Shiels,  Jas.,  farmer  Colmslichill 

*Sibbald,  Win.,  do.,  Eildon  Mains 

''Simson,  Thos.,  farmer,  Blainslie 
Smith,  John,  farmer,  Leaderfoot 

*Taylor,  J.,  farmer,  Newhouses 

*Tod,  Walter,  Cleuchfoot 

^Turnbull,  Mark,  farmer  and  mil- 
ler, Danielton  Mains 
Walker,   Thos.,  Appletx-eeleaves 
House 
Watson,  Richd.,  farmer,  Plumb- 
tree  Hall 

*Wilson,  James,  farmer,  Carolside 
Mains 
Waugh,  Jn.,  farmer,  Langshaw 

*Wintrup,  John,  Leaderfoot  Mills 


SEATS,  &o.(  OF  COUNTY  FAMIILES  AND  SMALLER 
RESIDENCES  IN  THE  PARISH. 

ABBEY  PARK. 

Villa  at  Weirhill  Road,  Melrose — the  property  of  Mrs.  Stedman 
of  Kame,  and  the  residence  of  Alexander  Curie,  Esq.  (of  Curie 
&  Erskine,  Melrose),  of  West  Morriston,  Berwickshire,  eldest 
son  of  the  late  James  Curie,  Esq.,  of  Evelaw;  married,  1860, 
Christian,  daughter  of  the  late  Sir  James  Anderson  of  Blair- 
vadoch,  Dumbartonshire,  M.P. 

abbotsford  (see  p.  126). 
The  seat  and   occasional  residence  of  "Mames    Robert   Hope 
Scott,  Esq ,  third  son  of  the  late  General  Sir  Alexander  Hope 


(who  was  a  son  of  the  second  Earl  of  Hopetoun);  born  1812; 
married  (first)  1847,  Charlotte  Harriet  Jane,  only  child  of  the 
late  J.  G.  Lockhart,  Esq.,  and  grand- daughter  of  Sir  Walter 
Scott,  Bart.,  whose  name  he  assumed  in  1853,  and  by  whom  he 
has  a  daughter — Mary  Monica  Scott.  Married  (second),  1861, 
Lady  Victoria  Fitzallan  Howard,  eldest  daughter  of  Henry 
Granville,  7th  Duke  of  Norfolk,  and  has  issue. 

Mr.  Hope  Scott  became  a  Queen's  Counsel  in  1850;  he  is  a 
Justice  of  Peace  and  Deputy-Lieutenant  for  the  county  of  In- 
verness, and  Lord  of  the  Barony  of  Abbotsford. 

Custodier  of  Abbotsford — Edward  Geffney. 


Near  Gattonside — the  seat  of  *Sir  David  Brewster,  K.H.,  F.R.S., 
etc.,  second  son  of  the  late  Mr.  James  Brewster,  Hector  of  the 
Grammar  School  of  Jedburgh;  born  1781;  married  (first),  Juliet 
second  daughter  of  the  late  James  Macpherson,  Esq.  (the  trans- 
lator of  Ossian),  of  Bellville,  M.P.,  and  has  issue: — 

David  Edward,  Lieut-Col.  in  the  Indian  Army;  born  1815; 
married,  1849  .Lydia  Julia,  eldest  daughter  of  the  late  Henry 
James  Blunt,  Esq.,  of  the  Bengal  Army. 

Sir  David  married  (second),  1857,  Jane  Kirk,  second  daughter 
of  the  late  1  homas  Purnell,  Esq.,  of  Scarborough,  by  whom  he 
has  issue,  one  daughter 

Sir  David  was  appointed  Principal  of  the  United  Colleges  of 
St.  Salvator,  St.  Leonard,  and  St.  Andrews,  iml837;  Principal 
and  Vice-Chancellor  of  Edinburgh  University,  in  1859 ;  is  a 
Magistrate  for  the  county  of  Roxburgh;  Vice-President  of  the 
Royal  Society  of  Edinburgh ;  Hon.  D.C.L.  of  Oxford  and  Dur- 
ham; Hon.  M.A.  of  Cambridge  and  Edinburgh;  L.L.D.  of 
King's  College,  Aberdeen ;  an  Officer  of  the  Legion  of  Honour ; 
Chevalier  of  the  Prussian  order  of  Merit;  one  of  the  eight  Foreign 
Associates  of  the  Imperial  Institute  of  France ;  and  a  Member  of 
various  foreign  learned  societies ;  is  well  known  as  the  inventor 
of  the  Kaleidoscope,  Lenticular  Stereoscope,  the  Bude  and  Diop- 
tric Lights;  author  of  "More  Worlds  than  One,"  "Martyrs  of 
Science,1'  "Memoirs  of  Sir  Isaac  Newton,''  Treatises  on  Optics, 
Natural  Magic,  the  Kaleidoscope  and  Stereoscope,  and  other 
works;  was  editor  of  the  "Edinburgh  Philosophical  Journal," 
"Edinburgh  Journal  of  Science,"  and  the  "Edinburgh  Ency- 
clopaedia ;"  received  the  honour  of  Knighthood  in  1831,  and  also 
the  Guelphic  order  of  Knighthood,  and  several  prizes  for  his 
scientific  discoveries  from  the  Royal  Societies  of  Edinburgh  and 
London,  and  the  Imperial  Institute  of  France. 

Edinburgh  address— the  College.  London  address — Athe- 
naeum Club,  S.W. 

THE  ANCHORAGE. 

Villa  at  Weirhill,  Melrose— the  property  and  residence  of  Major- 


151 


ROXBURGHSHIRE :    MELROSE. SEATS   OE    COUNTY    FAMILIES. 


152 


General  William  Eiddell  of  Camieston,  C.B.,  eldest  son  of  the 
late  Thomas  Riddell,  younger  of  Camieston. 

Major-General  Riddell  entered  the  Bengal  Army  in  1823,  and 
retired  on  full  pay  in  1862. 

CHIEFSWOOD. 

A  part  of  the  Abbotsford  property-  *  John  Broad,  Esq.,  occupier. 

DKYGRANGE. 

At  the  junction  of  the  Tweed  and  Leader— the  property  and  resi- 
dence of  *Thomas  Tod,  Esq. ;  born  1810 ;  succeeded  his  father, 
the  late  Archibald  Tod,  Esq.,  1817 ;  married,  1837,  Eliza,  only 
daughter  of  the  late  Charles  Small  wood  Featherstonhaugh,  Esq., 
of  College,  Kirkoswald,  and  has  issue : — 

Eliza  Caroline,  who  was  married  in  1861  to  Captain  Sir 
George  H.  Leith,  Bart.,  of  Burgh  St.  Peters,  Norfolk;  and  has 
issue  a  daughter. 

Mr.  Tod  is  a  Justice  of  Peace  and  Deputy- Lieutenant  tor  the 
county  of  Roxburgh,  and  a  Magistrate  for  the  county  of  Ber- 
wick; was  formerly  in  the  1st  Dragoon  Guards.  Edinburgh 
address — New  Club. 

eildon  hall  (see  p.  127). 

The  property  of  the  Duke  of  Buccleuch,  and  preparing  for  the 
residence  of  William  Henry  Walter,  Earl  of  Dalkeith,  the  eldest 
son  of  His  Grace,  born  9th  September  1831 ;  married,  22d  Nov- 
ember 1859,  Louisa,  third  daughter  of  the  Marquis  of  Abercorn, 
and  has  a  son,  Walter  Francis,  Lord  Eskdale,  born  17th  June 
1861. 

The  Earl  of  Dalkeith  is  M.P.  for  the  county  of  Edinburgh  and 
Lord-Lieut,  for  the  county  of  Dumfries.  London  Residence — 
Hamilton  Place. 

GATTONSIDE  HOUSE. 

The  property  and  residence  of  *Robert  Blair  Maconochie,  Esq. 
(son  of  the  late  Lord  Meadowbank,  one  of  the  Lords  of  Session) ; 
born  1814 ;  married,  1846,  Charlotte  Joanna,  daughter  of  John 
Tod,  Esq.  of  Kirkhiii,  and  has  issue  three  sons  and  one  daughter. 

HUNTLY   BORN   HOUSE  (see  p.  127). 

The  residence  of  Lord  Henry  Schomberg  Kerr  (brother  of  the 
present  Marquis,  and  second  son  of  the  late  Marquis  of  Lothian), 
born  2d  December  1833. 

LADHOPE  HOUSE. 

Near  Galashiels— the  property  and  residence  of  Wm.  Brunton, 
Esq.,  eldest  son  of  the  late  James  Brunton,  Esq.  of  Hilton's  Hill. 


LANGHAUGH. 

Near  Galashiels — the  property  and  residence  of  *Capt.  William 
Clark,  R.N. ;  married,  17th  February  1829,  Janet  Alston,  second 
daughter  of  Major  James  Alston  of  Urrard,  Perthshire ;  and  has 
issue : — 

James  Alston,  born  March  1832,  Captain  15th  King's  Hussars. 
Bouverie  Francis,  born  19th  March  1842,  Lieutenant  R.N. 
Charlotte  Jane  Christina  Janet  Charles. 

Captain  Clark  is  a  Justice  of  Peace  for  Roxburgh  and  Selkirk 
shires,  and  is  Captain  of  the  1st  Selkirkshire  Rifle  Volunteers. 


On  the  south  side  of  the  Tweed,  midway  between  Melrose  and 
Abbotsford  —  the  property  and  residence  of  Robert  Charles 
Kidd,  Esq. 

Mr.  Kidd,  who  was  formerly  in  the  9th  Lancers,  married,  in 
1856,  Mary  Jane,  the  younger  daughter  of  the  late  Rev.  George 
Mason,  M.A.  of  Norton-Cuckney,  Notts,  and  has  issue — two 
sons  and  two  daughters. 

London  residence — Hyde  Park  Gate,  W. 


On  the  north  side  of  the  Tweed,  near  the  junction  of  the  Allan 
— the  property  of  Lord  Somerville,  and  the  summer  occasional 
residence  of  *Henry  Fowler  Broadwood,  Esq. ;  born  1811;  mar- 
ried, 1840,  Juliana  Maria,  daughter  of  Wyrley  Birch,  Esq.  of 
Wreatham  Hall,  Norfolk;  and  has,  with  other  issue,  a  son, 
James  Henry  Tschudi,  born  1854. 

Other  seats — Lyne,  in  Surrey.     London  residence,  46  Bryan- 
ston  Square,  W. 

PRIOR    BANK. 

In  the  immediate  neighbourhood  of  Melrose — the  property  and 
residence  of  *William  Tait,  Esq.  (late  publisher,  Edinburgh), 
brother-in-law  of  Adam  Black,  Esq.,  M.P.  for  Edinburgh. 

THE   PRIORY. 

Near  the  Abbey — the  property  of  the  Duke  of  Buccleuch,  and 
the  residence  of  *James  Erskine,  Esq.  (of  Curie  &  E.,  Melrose), 
of  Shielfield,  Berwickshire;  married,  1841,  Barbara,  second 
daughter  of  George  Pott,  Esq.,  of  Todrig  and  Borthwickshiels, 
and  has  issue  one  son,  Charles. 

RAVENSWOOD. 

On  the  south  side  of  the  Tweed,  opposite  its  junction  with  the 
Leader— the  property  and  residence  of  *George  K.  E.  Fairholme, 


153 


UOXBURGHSHIRE  :    MELROSE. VOTERS    REGISTERED    IN"    THE    PARISH. 


154 


Esq.  of  Old  Melrose  and  Ludgate,  Galashiels.  Ravenswood  was 
built  in  3827 ;  in  1859-60  an  addition  was  made  to  it  on  the  east 
end,  and  another  addition  is  now  in  course  of  erection  on  the 
west  end. 

ST.  CUTHBERTS. 

Villa  near  the  Abbey— the  residence  of  Mrs.  Curie,  widow  of  the 
late  James  Curie,  Esq.,  of  Evelaw. 

ST.  HELENS. 

Villa  near  Melrose — (lately  the  property  of  Francis  Blaikie 
Esq.,  long  factor  to  and  coadjutor  with  the  Earl  of  Leicester, 
the  celebrated  agricultural  improver) — at  present  vacant. 

SUNNYSIDE. 

Near  Darnick — the  residence  and  property  of  *George  Ruther- 
ford, Esq.,  of  Sunnyside  and  Lochend. 

THREEPWOOD. 

In  the  upper  district  of  the  parish,  near  the  sources  of  the  Alwyn 
—the  property  and  residence  of  *Charles  Simson,  Esq 

WESTER  LANGLEE. 

Near  Galashiels — the  property  and  residence  of  *Jas.  Dairy  mple, 
Esq.,  (of  the  Indian  House  of  R.  Watson,  &  Co.,  Indigo  and  Silk 
Merchants)  of  Wester  Langlee  and  Greenknowe  [Berwickshire]. 
Issue,  two  daughters. 

WHITELEE. 

At  the  south-west  corner  of  the  parish,  near  the  Gala,  3  miles 
from  Galashiels  —  the  property  and  occasional  residence  of 
*Adam  Paterson,  Esq.,  W.S.,  Edinburgh. 

WOOPLAW. 

In  the  upper  district  of  the  parish,  6  miles  from  Melrose,  and 
near  the  sources  of  the  Alwyn,  or  Allan  Water — the  property 
and  residence  of  John  Murray,  Esq. 

Mr.  Murray  is  Registrar  of  Sasines  for  the  counties  of  Rox- 
burgh, Selkirk,  and  Peebles.  Appointed  in  1857.  Office,  Mel- 
rose. 

VOTERS  REGISTERED  IN  MELROSE  PARISH 

RESIDENT   IN   GALASHIELS. 


Anderson,  Thomas,  millwright, 
Channel  Street 

Brodie,  Walter,  3  Wilderhaugh 

Brown,  Adam,  roadman,  Buck- 
holmside 

Brown,  Ad.,  manufacturer,  Buck- 
holm  Mill 


Brown,     George,     manufacturer, 

Comely  Bank 
Brown,  George,   do.,  8  King  St. 
Brown,  Henry,     do.,    Buckkolm 

Mill 
Brown,  William,  do.  do. 

Brown,  William,  45  Island  St. 


Cairns,  R,  High  Buckholmside 

Carruthers,  W.,  grocer,  Bridge  St. 

Clapperton,  Geo.,  manufacturer 
4  Bridge  St. 

Clapperton,  W. ,  Darling's  haugh 

Cochrane,  John,  manufacturer 

Coldwell  Peter 

Darling,  Adam,  Buckholmside 

Dickson,  T.,  weaver,  Island  St. 

Dickson,  T.,     do.,     Wilderhaugh 

Dixon,  Rt.,  draper,  16  High  St. 

Drummond,  Robert,  weaver 

Dun,  J.,  seed  mercht.,  Island  St. 

Fettes,  Rev.  Js.,  of  Ladhope  F.C. 

Galbraith,  J.,  roadmaker,  Buck- 
holmside 

Gibb,  William,  slater 

Graham  William,  IS  King  St. 

Gray,  Ed.,  painter,  51  High  St. 

Grieve,  Adam,  Roxburgh  St. 

Haldane,  Richd.,  writer,  Bank  St 

Haldane,  Wm.,  writer,  Bank  St. 

Haldane,  William,  farmer,  Buck- 
holm  Crofts 

Haldane,  W.,  Galashiels  Brewery 

Hall,  James,  14  Slitrig  St. 

Hall,  Thomas  S.,  builder 

Herbertson,  And. ,  builder,  Ab- 
botsford  Road 

Hill,  Andrew,  Buckholmside 

Hislop,  Andrew,  hosiery  manu- 
facturer, 14  Bridge  St. 

Hood,  John,  plasterer 

Hood,  John,  jun.,  plasterer 

Hunter,  W.,  grocer,  Island  St. 

Jamieson,  James,  grocer,  High 
Buckholmside 

Kemp,  William,  Bridge  St. 

Laidlaw,  T.,  sawyer,  Island  St. 

Lees,  George,  Wilderburn 

Lees,  Thos.,  weaver,  Channel  St. 

Leithead,  James,  farmer,  Buck- 
holm  Crofts 

Melrose,  Robert,  flesher 

Mercer,  G.,  mason,  Wilderhaugh 

Mercer,  John,  slubber 

Mackay,  J.,  chemist,  High  St. 

M'Dougall,  Henry,  joiner,  Buck- 
holmside 


Maxwell,  Robert 

Maxwell,  Sam.,  Commercial  Inn 
Bridge  St. 

Melville,  Alexander,  86  High  St. 

Murray,  John,  wool  merchant, 
Longhaugh 

Paisley,  Peter,  baker,  67  High  St. 

Paterson,  Thos.  H.,  teacher,  Lad- 
hope  Bank 

Patterson,  William,  tanner,  Chan- 
nel St. 

Quin,  E.,  china  mercht.,  High  St. 

Rankine,  William 

Richardson,  Robert,  carrier 

Roberts,  Henry,  manufacturer, 
Victoria  Mill 

Roberts,  Hugh,        do.        do. 

Roberts,  Wm.,  jun.  do.        do. 

Roberts,  John,  manufacturer 

Ronald,  John,  painter,  Roxburgh 
St. 

Sanderson,  D.,  joiner,  High  St. 

Sanderson,  Henry,  Bridge  St. 

Sanderson,  Thomas,  shoemaker 

Sanderson,  Thos.,  mason,  Buck- 
holmside 

Sanderson,  Thomas 

Sanderson,  W.,  timber  merchant 

Sanderson,  William,  Channel  St. 

Scott,  Hugh,  Esq.,  of  Gala 

Scott,  John,  joiner,  Buckholmside 

Sinie,  James,  manufacturer,  Sime 
Place 

Stewart,  Robert  (of  Lees  &  Stew- 
art), SS  High  Street 

Stirling  Adam,  builder,  Green  St. 

Symington,  Robert,  joiner 

Tait,  James,  baker 

Thomson,  Adam,  grocer 

Tiuline  William,  mason 

Toward,  John,  Abbotsford  Arms 
Hotel 

Walker,  Alexander,  weaver 

Walker,  Thomas,  tailor 

Watson,  William,  21  Channel  St. 

Wilson,  George,  shoemaker 

Wilson,  Joseph,  Buckholmside 

Young,  William 


RESIDENT  AT  A   DISTANCE. 


Ainslie,  John,  farmer,  Bemersyde 

West  End 
Binning,  Lord,  Mellerstain 
Birch,  Wyrley,  of  Wreatham  Hall, 

Norfolk 
Brown,  H.,  Ormiston,  Tranent 


Blaikie,  John,  4  West  Princes  St.. 

Glasgow 
Blythe,  David,  gardener,  Telling, 

Newcastle-on-Tyne 
Bogue,  Thomas,  merchant,  Ber- 

wick-on-Tweed 


155 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    YETHOLM. — INTRODUCTORY    REMARKS. 


156 


Brydone,  James  M.,  Petworth 
Carmicliael,  Jas.,  banker,  Hawick 
Cleaver,  Fred.   S.,  wholesale  per- 
fumer, 32  Red  Lion  Sq.,  London 
Cochrane,  James,  late  11  Canning 

Place,  Edinburgh 
Coldwell,  Andw.,  mason,  Lauder 
Coldwell,  Win.,  mason,  Lauder 
Cotesworth,  R.  of  Cowdenknowes 
Dods,     William,     cabinet-maker, 

Edinburgh 
Dennell,  James,  Edinburgh 
Dickinson,  W.,  Longcroft,  Lauder 
Drummond,  George,  Woolwich 
Dun,  George,  Laidlawsteel 
Elliot,   James,   Torwoodlee,    Sel- 
kirk 
Erskine,  George  Pott 
Fairbolme,  Wilham,  of  Chapel 
Geddes,  Robert,  Boldside  Ferry 
Gibson,  J.,  jun.,  W.S.,  Edinburgh 
Goodfellow,   James,  H.M.  Dock- 
yard, Devonport 
Gladstone,  Thomas,  Canada 
Heiton,  John  of  Darnick  Tower, 

Edinburgh 
Hewitson,  Robert,  Auchenbinzie, 

Thornhill 
Hogg,  Walter,  30  Dundas  Street, 

Edinburgh 
Jamieson,  Peter,  6  Nicholson  Sq., 

Edinburgh 
Johnston,  J.,  Cattleshiel,  Dunse 
Kennedy,  John  of  Kirklands 
Jje«Ue,  John,  514  Gallowgate  St., 


Matthewson,  John,  Williamhope 

Miller,  Hew,  land-steward,  Och- 
tertyre  estate,  Crieff 

Miller,  John,  merchant,  13  York 
Place,  Edinburgh 

Mitchell,  Alexander,  of  Stow 

Mitchell,    Alex.,  of  Oakendean, 
Edinburgh 

Moffat,  John,  Maxton 

Morton,   Bobert,    engineer,    240 
Wapping,  London 

Oliver,  James,  surgeon,  10  Rox- 
burgh Place,  Edinburgh 

Oliver,  Jas.,  late  of  Grove  House, 
Roehampton,  Surrey 

Ormand,  William,  London 

Paton,  Robert,  writer,  Selkirk 


Pearce,  Robt.  F.,  21  Westminster 

Terrace,  Glasgow 
Pringle,  G.,  Torwoodlee,  Selkirk 
Pringle,  J.  T.,  of  Torwoodlee 
Purdie,  Adam,  Ettrick  Bank 
Purdie,  John,  Craigover 
Ramsay,  R.  B.  W.,  of  Whitehill 
Robson,  Rev.  George,  Lauder 
Scott,  George,  baker,   Warriston 

Place,  Edinburgh 
Scott,  John,  blacksmith,  Clarilaw 

Burn 
Scott,  John,  cooper,  Hawick 
Scott,  Rev.  W  of  Abbotsmeadow, 

Glasgow 
Shiels,  William,  wine  merchant, 

Leith 
Sibbald,  Alex.,  Pathhead,  Edin- 
burgh 
Sibbald,     William,     Fairneyside, 

Edinburgh 
Simson,   John,   farmer,    Bassen- 

dean.  Gordon 
Sives,  John,  late  Arnotdale,  Fal- 
kirk 
Smith,  Adam,  Eallarat,  Australia 
Smith,  James,  Ballarat,  Austra- 
lia 
Smith,  John  Alex.,  M.D.,  7  West 

Maitland  Street,  Edinburgh 
Somerville,  James,  S.S.C.,  Edin- 
burgh 
Spence,  George,  Stoneyford  Toll, 

Lauder 
Stevenson,  Alex.,  writer,  Lang- 
holm 
Stewart,  Thos.,  Bowhill,  Selkirk 
Tait,  J.  D  ,  Badminton,  Wilts 
Taylor,  A.,  merchant,  Edinburgh 
Thomson,  Rev.  John,  Hawick 
Tumbull,  Robert,  Midlem 
Turnbull,  Robt.,  builder,  Nisbet 
TurnbulL  T.,  Spadeslee,  Mertoun 
Turnbull,  Wm.,  Major,  69  Corn- 
lull,  I jondon 
Usher,  Thomas,  Byrecleuch 
Weatherston,  Hugh,  Howe  Street, 

Edinburgh 
Welsh,  Aitken,  shepherd,  Nether- 

bams 
Woodger,  John,  coachman,  Riddell 
Wood,  George,  gas  manufacturer, 
Earlston 


YETHOLM. 


The  parish  of  Yetholm  is  situated  on  the  east  side  of  the 
county,  bordering  on  Northumberland  for  nearly  six  miles. 
Linton  and  Morebattle  bound  it  on  the  north-west,  west,  and 
south.  It  is  about  4  miles  long  and  2  miles  broad  ;  and  the 
area,  according  to  the  Ordnance  Survey,  is  6036  acres,  38  of 
which  are  in  roads  and  76£  under  water. 

11  The  general  aspect  and  outline  of  the  parish  is  hilly,  and 
some  of  the  hills  attain  a  great  elevation :  Starough,  or  Sturoich, 
has  an  elevation  of  1629  feet,  Latchley  Hill,  1322  feet,  White- 
law,  1263  feet,  and  Wild  Goose  Hill,  1097  feet.  The  lower  hills 
are  cultivated,  and  the  higher,  which  are  a  portion  of  the  Che- 
viot range,  are  clothed  with  a  rich  green  sward  to  their  sum- 
mits, affording  excellent  pasture  to  many  thousands  of  sheep. 
Several  peaceful  and  romantic  little  valleys  lie  embosomed 
amid  these  hills ;  and  the  vale  of  the  Bowmont  itself,  in  which 
nine-tenths  of  the  inhabitants  of  the  parish  reside,  is  only  a 
larger  vale  of  the  same  description."* 

The  climate  is  clear,  healthy,  and  milder  than,  from  its  ele- 
vation, might  be  supposed,  and  has  become  noted  in  the  dis- 
trict as  a  rural  sanatarium;    and  considering  the  size  of  the 


*  Although  the  Cheviot  hills  present,  as  a  whole,  a  somewhat  smooth 
surface,  thev  shew  to  the  pedestrian  a  number  of  rugged  glens,  of  which 
the  wildest  Is  Henhole,  situated  on  the  northern  side  of  the  Great  Cheviot. 
On  the  top  of  the  Great  Cheviot  there  is  a  waste  table-land  of  some  five 
or  Bix  square  miles,  from  the  mossy  surface  of  which  a  pretty  large 
quantitv  of  water  flows  into  Henhole;  and  the  glen  from  this  circum- 
stance shews  deep  rocky  banks  to  within  a  mile  or  so  of  the  highest  point 
of  the  mountain.  Within  a  space  of  about  three-quarters  of  a  mile  the 
water— in  a  succession  of  cascades: of  from  six  or  eight  to  thirty  feet  in 
height — falls  three  hundred  feet.  It  is  called  Colledge  Water,  and  falls 
into  the  Bowmont.  The  cliffs  at  one  part  near  the  head  of  the  glen 
stand  like  walls  on  each  side  to  the  height  of  nearly  three  hundred  feet : 
and  on  ledges  and  crevices  about  their  summits  the  hunting  falcon  and 
the  raven  breed.  This  is  the  only  place  among  the  eastern  division  of  the 
hills  on  the  Borders  in  which  the  raven,  so  far  as  we  know,  still  resides. 
There  is  a  small  cavern  in  the  face  of  the  highest  cliff  on  the  right  bank 

still  accessible,  though  dangerously  so,  to  the  venturous— into  which  it 

is  said  one  of  the  early  hunting  Percys,  along  with  some  of  his  hounds 
went,  and  never  returned;  and  that  he  and  the  hounds  lie  Bpell-bound, 
and  can  only  be  released  by  the  blast  of  a  hunting  horn  within  thecavern. 
The  Great  Cheviot,  which  is  2676  feet  above  the  level  of  the  sea,  lies  in 
Northumberland,  but  is  within  pleasant  excursion  distance  from  Yetholm, 
and  during  the  summer  is  occasionally  the  scene  of  pic-nics.  By  one  of 
the  routes  carriages  can  be  driven  to  within  an  easy  walk  of  the  summit. 


157 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    YETHOLM. POST   OFFICE — PUBLIC    OFFICES. 


158 


village  a  considerable  amount  of  accommodation  can  be  had  in 
it  by  visitors. 

The  Bowmont  water,  which  intersects  the  parish  Irom  south- 
west to  north-east,  abounds  with  trout  of  very  fine  quality — 
fishing  unrestricted.  Yetholm  Loch,  a  sheet  of  water  about 
a  mile  and  a  half  in  circumference — half  of  it  being  in  this 
parish — abounds  with  pike  and  perch  (see  Morebattle  parish), 
and  is  the  resort  of  water-fowl  in  great  variety  and  numbers. 

There  are  remains  of  several  British  and  Roman  camps  on 
the  various  hills ;  and  there  were  formerly  two  towers — Thirle- 
stane  and  Lochtower — both  of  which  are  demolished. 

The  principal  landed-proprietors  in  the  parish  are — Andrew 
Wauchope, Esq.,  of  Niddrie  Marischall  [Niddrie,  Edinburgh]; 
the  Marquis  of  Tweeddale;  John  B.  Boyd,  Esq.,  of  Cherry- 
trees;  John  Waldie,  Esq.,  of  Hendersyde  ;  and  Charles  Rea, 
Esq.,  of  Halterburnhead  [Doddington,  Wooler].  J.  B.  Boyd, 
Esq.,  is  the  only  resident  proprietor. 

A  little  to  the  south-west  from  the  centre  of  the  parish  are  the 
village9of  Town-  and  Kirk- Yetholm.  They  are  separated  from 
each  other  by  the  Bowmont  merely,  so  that  perhaps  they  may 
be  considered  as  one  village.  Town-Yetholm  stands  on  the 
west  and  Kirk-Yetholm  on  the  east  side  of  the  stream.  The 
latter  has  long  been  the  head-quarters  of  a  tribe  of  gipsies — a 
singular  race,  formerly  remarkable  for  their  disorderly  lives 
and  dangerous  characters,  and  still  distinguished  to  some 
extent  by  peculiarity  of  habit  from  the  general  body  of  the 
community. 

Anniversaries — Fastren's  E'en*  foot-ball  match  and  athletic 
games  (held  on  the  haugh  at  Town-Yetholm),  once  of  some 
celebrity,  and  attracting  visitors  from  a  distance  ;  but  the  in- 
terest of  the  event  is  now  confined  to  the  inhabitants  of  the 
village  and  the  shepherds  from  the  hills.  In  the  evening  balls 
take  place  in  the  villages,  and  a  general  feasting  on  currant 
dumplings,  to  cook  which,  most  of  the  kail  pots  have  been  in 
requisition  during  the  day.  Drinking  tents  are  now  prohibited 
on  the  match  ground. 

Kirk-Yetholm  Sheep  Fair  (held  on  the  hill  side  above  the 
church)— June  27,  or  the  Monday  after  if  the  date  be  a  Sun- 
day. The  class  of  sheep  exposed  for  sale  are  Cheviot  aud  half- 
bred  hogs;  while,  on  the  occasion,  a  few  grazing  cattle  are 
shewn  in  the  village  of  Kirk-Yetholm. 

v  Fastrens  E'en — Shrove  Tuesday — a  moveable  date,  which  occurs 
between  the  2d  February  and  Sth  March,  and  is  thus  fixed  according 
to  a  Border  rhyme — 

"  First  comes  Candlemas, 
Then  the  new  moon, 
The  first  Tuesday  after 
Ib  Fastren's  e'en." 
(See  Melrose,  p.  129). 


The  sheep  shewn  at  the  fair  of  1S6'4  were  64  score,  a  larger 
number  than  had  been  shewn  for  some  years  previously.  This 
fair  (as  are  also  the  others  connected  with  Yetholm)  is  only  of 
local  importance. 

Sheep  Fair  (held  as  above)  24th  October ;  on  this  occasion 
the  business  is  confined  to  the  sale  of  a  few  shotts. 

Town-  Yetholm  FairforLambs,  etc.  (on  the  haugh) — 2d  Wed- 
nesday of  July — may  now  be  considered  as  defunct;  those  of 
Cornhill  on  the  6th,  and  St.  Boswell's  on  the  18th  (which  see) 
having  swamped  it. 

Yetholm  is  distant  from  Kelso  7J  miles,  where  is  also  the 
nearest  railway  station. 

Population  of  the  parish  in  1861,  1207  ;  of  Town-Yetholm, 
544;  of  Kirk-Yetholm,  358.  Total  number  of  families  in  the 
parish,  293  ;  97  of  whom  were  returned  as  living  in  houses  of 
one  window,  and  84  in  houses  of  two  windows.  Assessed  pro- 
perty in  1863-4,  £8,080  :  12  :  3. 

Superior  of  Town-Yetholm — Andrew  Wauchope,  Esq.  of 
Niddrie  Marischall;  Kirk-Yetholm — Marquis  of  Tweeddale. 


Those  marked  thus  (*)  are  Registered  Voters  in  the  parish. 

MAGISTRATES. 
Baron  Bailie  of  Town-Yetholm — Robert  Swan,  Esq.,  Kelso. 


Do. 


of  Kirk-Yetkolm- 


Resident  Justice  of  the  Peace — J.  B.  Boyd,  Esq.  of  Cherrytrees. 
Police  Officer — James  Jackson,  Yetholm. 


POST  OFFICE. 

Money  Order  Office  and  Savings  Bank. 

Postmaster — James  Shiell  Laidlaw.     Messenger — "William  Watson. 

Daily  post  to  and  from  Kelso — Arrives  at  1.30p  m. ;  departs  at  7  a.m. 

Town  delivery  on  arrival. 


PUBLIC  OFFICES. 
Heritors'  Clerk — "William  Henderson. 
Inspector  of  Poor — Robert  M'Morran. 
Kirk-Treasurer — Rev.  Adam  Davidson. 
Registrar  of  Births,  Marriages,   arid  Deaths,  and  Session  Clerk — 

Thomas  H.  Tait. 
Medical  Officer  and  Public  Vaccinator— Vacant. 


159 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    YETHOLM. — CLERGY — SCHOOLS — SOCIETIES — DIRECTORY. 


160 


CLERGY. 

Presbytery  of  Kelso,  Synod  of  Merse  and  Teviotdale. 
Patron — Andrew  Wauchope  of  Niddrie. 

Established  CHUROHf  (Kirk-Yetholm) — *Rev.  Adam  Davidson,  M.A. 
(Inducted  1S62).    Sittings,  700.  Sabbath  School  attendance,  140. 

Free  Church  (Town-Yetholm) — Rev.  John  Coventry  (Inducted  1862). 
Sittings,  400.     Sabbath  School  attendance,  90. 

United  Presbyterian  Church  (Town-Yetholm) — Vacant.    Sittings, 
450.     Sabbath  School  attendance,  SO. 

Fast  Days — Generally  an  early  Wednesday  in  January  and  July — 
unfixed. 


SCHOOLS.} 

Parochial  (Town-Yetholm) — Robert  M'Morran,  master.  Average 
attendance,  76. 

General  Assembly  (Kirk-Yetholm) — Thomas  H.  Tait,  teacher.  Ave- 
rage attendance,  52. 

Private  School  (Town-Yetholm) — Adam  Hunter,  teacher. 

Girls'  School  (Town-Yetholm) — Miss  Gardiner,  teacher.  Average 
attendance,  55. 


PAROCHIAL  BOARD. 


Chairman — John  B.  Boyd,  Esq.,  of  Cherrytrees. 
Rate  of  Assessment,  7d.  per  £.     Total  collection  1863-4,  £518  : 4  :  { 
No.  of  Poor  on  Roll — 40,  of  whom  29  live  in  the  parish. 
Poor  House — Kelso  Union. 


SOCIETIES,  &c. 


Pond 


Curling  Club — Secretary — Adam  Calder,  Esq.  Yetholm  Mains. 

at  Thirlestane  on  Mi-.  Boyd's  property. 
Horticultural  Society— Secretary — Mr.  W.  Henderson.  Yetholm, 


CARRIERS. 

Edinburgh — John  Fairbairn,  Tuesday. 

Kelso — W.  Watson,  daily  ;  G.  Cockburn,  Tuesday  and  Friday ;  Ro- 
bert Walker,  Friday ;  John  Steel,  Friday. 


+  The  parish  church  situated  in  Kirk-Yetholm,  a  turreted  structure 
built  of  squared  blue  whinstone  pricked  out  with  white  cement,  is  in  a 
style  of  excellent  taste  and  keeping  with  its  surrounding  scenery. 

t  Children  in  the  parish  between  5  and  15,  attending  school  during  the 
first  week  of  April  1861,  204 ;  of  all  ages,  219. 


MILLS. 

Blunties — Woollen — *Peter  Govenlock,  manufacturer,  proprietor. 
Duncanhaugh — Corn  and  Flour — *Jn.  Govenlock,  miller  and  farmer. 
Yetholm — Corn — George  Whitelaw,  farmer. 
Yetholm — Co-operative  Saw  Mill — Georgo  Hogg  &  Co. 


TRADES. 

Town-  Telholm 

Ainslie,  Adam,  flesher 

Allan,  John,  saddler 

Black,  George,  joiner 
*Christie,  "William,  joiner 
*Cockburn,  William,  blacksmith 

Davidson,  Henry  T.,  grocer 

Davidson,  Mary,  dressmaker 

Dixon,  Archibald,  grocer 
*Dodds,  George,  farmer 

Dodds,  James,  mason 

Fairbairn,  John,  egg  dealer  and  carrier 

Fleming,  Mary,  straw-hat  maker 

Fox,  Mrs.,  dressmaker 
*Gladstone,  George,  blacksmith 

Grahamslaw,  William,  farmer 

Herbert,  Andrew,  mason 

Hindmarsh,  Helen,  straw-hat  maker 

Hogg,  Andrew,  tailor 
*Hogg,  George,  joiner 
*Kennedy,  John,  millwright 
*Kerr,  George,  farmer 

Kerr,  Helen,  dressmaker 
*Kerr,  John,  saddler 
•*Ker,  Thomas,  joiner 

Kerr,  Thomas,  skinner 
*Kerr,  Walter,  farmer 

Kirkwood,  George,  baker 
*Laidlaw,  J.  S.,  grocer,  general  merchant,  and  pork-curerf 

Lees,  George,  cooper 
*Leitch,  Andrew,  blacksmith 

Leitch,  Margaret,  dressmaker 

Lyon,  Thomas,  shoemaker 

Lyon,  John,  tailor 

Nag's  Head  (Temperance)  Inn,  John  Scott,  baker 

Oliver,  Adam,  shoemaker 

t  The  business  done  in  the  pork-curing  trade  at  Yetholm  is  small— the 
collection  of  carcases  being  confined  to  the  locality. 


161 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :   YETHOLH. — DIRECTORY — SEATS — REGISTERED   VOTERS. 


162 


Outerstone,  John,  grocer 

Plough  Inn,  James  M'Callum 

Rutherford,  William,  shoemaker 

Smith,  John,  farmer 

Swan  Inn,  Thomas  Inglis 

Turnbull,  Andrew,  shoemaker 

Turnbull,  Thomas,  shoemaker 

Watson,  Andrew,  clothier 

Waddell,  John  B.,  watchmaker 
*White,  Andrew,  grocer  and  farmer 
*White,  John,  farmer 

Wood,  James,  tailor 

Young,  George,  flesher 
*Young,  Thomas,  mason 
*Young,  William,  mason 

Yule,  Mary,  dressmaker 

Kirk-  Yetholm 

Chalmers,  Andrew,  grocer 

Cross  Keys  Inn,  Alexander  Purves 

Fleming,  William,  grocer 

Gladstone,  James,  tailor 

Gray  Horse  Inn,  Helen  Govenlock,  innkeeper  and  grocer 

Hindmarsh,  Walter,  flesher 

Plough  Inn,  Janet  Richardson 

Shepherd's  Arms,  Patrick  Milligan,  grocer 

Strachan,  John,  thatcher 

Telfer,  Robert,  wool  merchant  and  skinner,  Bowmont  Crescent 

Thomson,  Helen,  grocer 

Walker,  Robert,  grocer  and  carrier 

Wilson,  Alexander,  baker 

Country 

Bennett,  John,  blacksmith,  Thirlstane 
Cockburn,  Adam,  blacksmith,  Primside  Mill 


RESIDENTS,  FARMERS,  &c. 

"Calder,  Francis,  farmer,  Yetholm  Mains 

*Clark,  John,  do.      Lochtower 

*Glass,  Thomas,       do.      Hayhope 

*Glass,  William,      do.      Hayhope 
Grieve,  George,       do.      Kirk- Yetholm 
Henderson,  William,  Yetholm  (late  schoolmaster) 

*Tait,  William,  farmer,  Venchen 

*Turner,  Robert,  do.      Town-Yetholm 


SEATS  OF  COUNTY  FAMILIES  IN  THE  PARISH. 

CHERRYTREE3 . 

The  residence  of  John  Brack  Boyd,  Esq. ;  born  1818 ;  suc- 
ceeded his  father,  the  late  Adam  Brack  Boyd,  Esq.,  1862. 

YETHOLM  HALL. 

In  the  outskirts  of  Town-Yetholm — the  property  of  Andrew 
Wauchope,  Esq.f  ofNiddrie  and  Yetholm — at  present  occupied 
by  the  Rev.  John  Coventry,  of  Yetholm  Free  Church. 


REGISTERED  VOTERS  (Non-Resident) . 

Dodds,  John,  schoolmaster,  Roseneath 
Elliot,  James,  Garrah  Wells 
Gibb,  George  S.,  of  Cults  House,  Aberdeen 
Lynn,  Francis  P.,  farmer,  Mindrum  Mill 
Oliver,  Andrew,  carter,  Howtel 
Rea,  Charles,  of  Halterburnhead 
Wauchope,  Andrew,  of  Niddrie  Marischall 
Weir,  William,  of  Langlands,  Govan 


■(■  Andrew  Wauchope,  Esq.,  of  Niddrie-Marischall,  eldest  son  of  the 
late  Colonel  Wauchope ;  born  1818 ;  succeeded  1S25 ;  married,  1840, 
Frances  Mary,  daughter  of  Henry  Lloyd,  Esq.  of  Farinrory,  county 
of  Tipperary ;  and  has,  with  other  issue,  William  John,  born  1S41. 

Mr.  Wauchope  is  a  Justice  of  Peace  and  Deputy-Lieutenant  for  the 
county  of  Edinburgh,  and  is  Lord  of  the  Barony  of  Yetholm. 

Principal  residence — Niddrie-Marischall,  near  Libberton. 


163 


ROXBURGHSHIRE:    MOREBATTLE. —  INTRODUCTORY    REMARKS PUBLIC    OFFICES,   ETC. 


164 


MOREBATTLE. 


The  parish  of  Morebattle  is  situated  in  the  north-eastern  part 
of  the  county,  bordering  on  Northumberland,  which  bounds  it 
on  the  east  and  south.  Its  other  boundaries  are  Yetholm  and 
Linton  on  the  north,  and  Eckford  and  Hounam  on  the  west. 
Its  extreme  length  is  about  9  miles,  and  its  greatest  breadth 
about  6§  miles.  The  area,  according  to  the  Ordnance  Survey, 
is  22,518  acres ;  nearly  70  of  which  are  public  roads,  and  1S34 
are  under  water. 

"  The  parish  extends  to  the  summit  of  the  Cheviot  ranges 
and,  with  the  exception  of  a  small  portion  of  the  north  and 
west  sides,  consists  almost  entirely  of  hills,  and  the  intervening 
valleys.  The  hills  are  verdant  and  beautiful ;  the  low  grounds 
are  under  cultivation,  as  also  the  sides  of  several  of  the  hills  to 
a  considerable  height,  and  some  of  them  to  the  summits.  The 
principal  vales  are  those  of  the  Kale  and  Bowmont,  neither  of 
them  of  great  breadth,  but  extending  in  length,  the  former 
about  four,  and  the  latter  about  six  miles."  The  principal 
hills  in  the  parish  are — the  Curr,  the  Schell,  Cocklaw,  White- 
law,  Percy  Hill,  Woodside  Hill,  and  Clifton  Hill;  the  last,  a 
beautiful  hill,  rising  from  the  east  side  of  the  Bowmont  in  the 
form  of  a  dome.  Between  the  Bowmont  and  Kale,  are  Swindon, 
Belford,  and  Grubit  Hills ;  and  on  the  west  of  the  Kale  Gate- 
shaw  and  Morebattle  hills.  These  vary  in  height  from  500  to 
2000  feet. 

"  The  climate  is  dry  and  healthy.  In  the  lower  part  of  the 
parish  it  is  mild  and  temperate,  but  in  the  higher  districts  the 
winters  are  severe  and  stormy." 

Yetholm  loch  is  partly  in  this  parish,  and  contains  perch  of 
excellent  quality  and  a  few  pike — fishing  free,  or  may  be  had 
by  application.  There  are  two  small  rivers  in  the  parish,  both 
of  which  take  their  rise  in  the  Cheviot  hills,  and  are  fed  by 
numerous  burns — the  Kale  and  the  Bowmont — both  of  them 
excellent  trouting  streams ;  and  in  the  Kale  fish  of  the  salmon 
kind  are  occasionally  caught.  The  former  joins  the  Teviot  in 
the  adjoining  parish  a  short  way  to  the  west ;  and  its  whole 
course  is  through  a  district  of  great  beauty :  take  it  all  in  all, 
perhaps  there  does  not  exist  a  sweeter  stream  in  the  south  of 
Scotland.     The  Bowmont  enters  the  Till  in  Northumberland. 

Throughout  the  parish  are  many  remains  of  ancient  camps. 
There  are  also  the  remains  of  two  towers — Corbet  House,  on 


Gateshaw  estate,  and  Whitton  Tower,  the  property  of  Sir 
John  Warrender. 

The  village  of  Morebattle  is  prettily  situated  in  the  north- 
western part  of  the  parish,  on  an  eminence  overlooking  the 
Kale.  It  is  entirely  agricultural.  Morebattle  is  4  miles  from 
Yetholm,  and  74  from  Kelso,  which  is  its  market  town.  The 
nearest  railway  station  is  at  Old  Ormiston,  on  the  Jedburgh 
line,  5J  miles,  but  that  of  Kelso  (7  miles)  is  more  convenient. 
Population  of  the  village  in  1861,  341 ;  of  the  parish,  1031. 
Total  number  of  families,  213  ;  one  of  whom  was  returned  as 
residing  in  a  house  with  no  windows,  and  135  in  houses  of  one 
and  two  windows. 

Besides  Morebattle,  there  is  the  very  small  hamlet,  or  rather 
farm-steading  of  Gateshaw  Brae,  situated  on  the  side  of  the 
Kale,  near  to  the  boundary  of  Hounam  parish,  and  memor- 
able as  having  been  the  site  of  the  first  Secession  church 
in  the  south  of  Scotland.  Mr.  Hunter,  their  first  minister, 
was  ordained  in  1739.  The  church  was  many  years  ago  re- 
moved to  the  village.  Situated  in  the  upper  or  hilly  part  of 
the  parish  was  the  separate  parish  of  Mow.  The  village  of 
Mow  has  long  been  extinct.  A  farm-steading  and  a  lately 
erected  side  school  now  occupy  the  site,  and  the  name  has 
been  transformed  into  Mowhaugh. 

Assessed  property  in  1863-4,  £13,013  :  18  :  11. 

The  principal  landed-proprietors  in  the  parish  are — the  Duke 
of  Roxburghe ;  the  Marquis  of  Tweeddale ;  William  Ker, 
Esq.,  of  Gateshaw;  Robert  Oliver,  Esq.,  of  iochside ;  John 
Wilson,  Esq.,  of  Otterburn  ;  R.  K.  Elliot,  Esq.,  of  Clifton; 
and  Sir  John  Warrender  of  Lochend,  Bart. 

Superior  of  the  village — Marquis  of  Tweeddale. 


Those  marked  thus  (*)  are  Registered  Voters. 

RESIDENT  JUSTICES  OP  THE  PEACE. 

Robert  Oliver,  Esq.  of  Lochside.        Dr.  Robson  Scott,  Belford. 

Police  Officer— Alexander  Douglas,  Morebattle. 


PUBLIC  OFFICES. 


Heritors'  Clerk,  Inspector  of  Poor,  Registrar  of  Births,  Marriages. 

aud  Deaths,  Kirk -Treasurer,  and  Session  Clerk — John  Swanston. 

Medical  Officer  and  Public  Vaccinator — Henry  Vost,  surgeon,  Kelso. 


POST  OFFICE. 

Violet  Thomson,  postmistress.    Thomas  Edmondstone,  messenger. 

Daily  post  to  and  from  Kelso.    Despatch,  6-30  a.m.    Arrival  1-40  p.m. 


165 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    MOREBATTLE. CLERGY SCHOOLS,    ETC. DIRECTORY. 


166 


CLERGY,  &c. 

Presbytery  of  Kelso,  Synod  of  Merse  and  Teviotdale. 

Patron — Duke  of  Roxburghe. 

Established  Church — *Rev.  John  Glen  (Inducted  1856).    Sittings, 

450.     Average  attendance  at  Sabbath  School,  25. 

Free  Church— Rev.  Peter  Charles  Purves  (Inducted  1855).    Sittings, 
.     Average  attendance  at  Sabbath  School,  60. 

U.  P.  Church — Rev.  Robert  Cranston  (Inducted  1S15);  assistant  and 
successor,  Rev.  Mungo  Giffen  (Inducted  1864).      Sittings, 
Average  attendance  at  Sabbath  School,  30. 

Fast  Days— Thursday  before  the  last  Sundays  of  February  and  July. 

TRADES. 

•Aitken,  George,  baker 

Craig,  George,  shoemaker 

Currie,  J.  &  G.,  fleshers 

Davidson,  Henry,  spirit  dealer 

Entwistle,  Jacob,  tailor 
*Fox,  Robert,  joiner 

Hall,  Ralph,  tailor 

Jack,  Thomas,  shoemaker 

Laidlaw  &  Son,  William,  shoemakers 
*Mills,  Thomas,  general  dealer 

Moscript,  Grace,  dressmaker 

Moscript,  Richard,  mason 

SCHOOLS,  t 

Parochial  (Morebattle)— 'John  Swanston,  master.    Average  attend- 
ance, 100. 

Auxiliary  (Mowhaugh}— Robert  Carter,  master.      Average  attend- 
ance, 

Ovens,  William,  shoemaker 
Purves,  John,  blacksmith 
Renwick,  Francis,  joiner 
Rodger,  James,  mason 
Scott,  George,  tailor 
Smail,  Walter,  labourer 

PAROCHIAL  BOARD. 

Chairman — Robert  Darling,  Esq.,  factor  to  the  Duke  of  Roxburghe. 

No.  of  Poor  on  Roll, 
Rate  of  Assessment,  3d.  per  £.     Total  Assessment  for  1863-4,  £319. 
Poor-House — Kelso  Combination. 

Thomson,  Mary,  dressmaker 
Thomson,  Violet,  postmistress 
Whelans,  Andrew,  shoemaker 
Young,  Andrew,  builder 

RESIDENTS    FARMERS    &c     IN  THE  PARISH 

HOUNAM  AND  MOREBATTLE  ANGLING  CLUB  (estab.  1857). 

Having  for  its  object  a  refinement  in  the  mode  of  fishing,  the  sup- 
pression of  poaching,  and  the  encouragement  of  fair  angling.    Prices 
are  given  to  be  competed  for  by  members  of  the  club  annually. 
President — Mr  Gray,  Sharplaw. 
Vice-President — Mr  Borthwick,  Cowbog. 
Secretary  and  Treasurer — Mr  George  Aitken. 
Entry-Money,  Is.  6d.     Annual  Subscription,  Is. 

•Borthwick,  Gilbert,  farmer,  Cowbog 

*Cunningham,  Alexander,  farmer,  Morebattle  Tofts 

*Elliot,  Thomas,  farmer,  Clifton  Cote 

•Johnston,  Alexander,  farmer,  Primside 

•Lillie,  John,  farmer,  Clifton 

*Rutherford,  George,  farmer,  Heughhead 

*Scott,  James  Robson  (of  Ashtrees) ,  farmer,  Belford 

•Scott,  Thomas,  farmer,  Whitton 

*Shiell,  Robert,  farmer,  Sourhope 

*Shiell,  Thomas,  farmer,  Sourhope 

*Shortreed,  Mrs.,  Attonburn 

*Shortreed,  Robert,  farmer,  Attonburn 

*Young,  William,  farmer,  Woodside 

SUNDRIES. 

Mortification— A  Mr.  Moir  of  Otterburn,  by  his  will,  bequeathed  to 
the  Heritors  the  sum  of  £1500,  the  interest  of  which  to  be  applied 
to  the  Education  of  Poor  and  Indigent  Orphans. 

Library — R.  Fox,  librarian.     800  vols.     Annual  Subscription,  3s.  9d. 

Conveyance — Post  runner  to  Kelso,  daily :  Kelso  Carriers  (see  p.  98). 

SEATS  &c,  OF  COUNTY  FAMILIES  IN  THE  PARISH- 

CORN  MILLS. 

Dean — *Robert  Govenlock.         Grubbit — Mohn  Short,  miller. 
Primside — "William  Young. 

LOCHSIDE. 

The  residence  of  *Robert  Oliver,  Esq.  of  Lochside;  born  1818; 
succeeded  his  uncle  in  1831;  married,  1858,  Margaret,  daughter 

t  Children  in  the  pariBh  between  5  and  15,  attending  school  during  the 
first  week  of  April  1861,  193 ;  of  all  ages,  201. 

of  William  James  Strickland,  Esq.,  Dublin ;  and  has  issue- 
Robert,  born  in  1859  ;  and  other  sons. 

167 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    ECKFORD. INTRODUCTORY    REMARKS. 


168 


GATESHAW. 
The  property  and  occasional  residence  of  *  William  Ker,  Esq., 
Torquay,  Devonshire ;  born  1775;  married  his  cousin-german, 
Jane,  daughter  of  the  late  Ellis  Martin,  Esq.  ;  and  has  issue- 
Gilbert,  in  Liverpool 
Ellis  Martin,  resident  at  Gateshaw 
and   several  daughters,   one    of  whom,    Georgina,  married, 
1849,  William  Scoresby.D.D.,  F.R.S.,  L.  and  E.  (the celebrated 
navigator),  who  died  at  Torquay,  1859. 

OTTEEBUEN. 

The  property  of  *John  Wilson,  Esq.  of  Otterbum  and  Yet, 
and  the  residence  of  himself  and  his  aunt,  Miss  Milne. 


REGISTERED  VOTERS  (Non-Resident) . 
Burnet,  James,  Leith 

Crosbie,  Peter,  late  steward  at  Morebattle  Tofts 
Davidson,  HeDry,  weaver,  Sprouston 
Gorham,  Robert,  writer,  Edinburgh 
Hogg,  Thomas,  Roxburgh  Boathouse 
Hogg,  John,  joiner,  Roxburgh 
Miller,  Andrew,  Roxburgh 
Macknight,  Alexander  E.,  advocate,  Edinburgh 
Scott,  John,  W.S.,  Edinburgh 
Warrender,  Sir  John,  Bart,  of  Lochend 
Wilson,  George,  mason,  Sprouston 


ECKFORD. 


This  is  an  entirely  agricultural  parish,  intersected  by  the  Kale 
water.  It  is  about  6  miles  long  and  from  4  to  5  miles  broad. 
It  is  bounded  on  the  north  by  Roxburgh  and  Kelso,  on  the 
east  by  Linton  and  Morebattle,  on  the  south  by  Jedburgh,  and 
on  the  west  by  Crailing.  The  total  area  of  the  parish,  accord- 
ing to  the  Ordnance  Survey,  is  10,0971,  acres,  divided  as  fol- 
lows : — 9897  acres  are  lands  under  cultivation  or  wood,  100  are 
water,  92  are  public  roads,  and  the  railway  occupies  the  re- 
maining 8J  acres. 

The  general  appearance  of  the  parish  is  undulating,  gradu- 
ally rising  towards  the  south,  and  occasionally  into  consider- 
able elevations,  which  command  extensive  views  of  the  sur- 
rounding country.  The  climate  is  mild  and  healthy,  and  the 
prevailing  winds  are  westerly. 

There  is  the  small  village  of  Eckford  in  the  parish,  and  the 
hamlets  of  Cesspoed  and  Caveeton — all  of  them  consisting 
almost  entirely  of  the  houses  of  the  farm-labourers.  The 
church*  and  manse  are  situated  on  the  Kelso  and  Jedburgh 
road,  which  crosses  the  western  extremity  of  the  parish,  a  short 
distance  from  the  village  of  Eckford.  At  Kale  mouth  a  hand- 
some chain  bridge  crosses  the  Teviot. 

In  the  southern  part  of  the  parish  are  the  remains  of  the  once 
famous  Cessford  Castle,  the  ancient  manorial  residence  of  Sir 
Robert  Ker  (better  known  as  Habbie  Ker),  warden  of  the  Scot- 
tish midland  marches — of  whom  the  Dukes  of  Roxburghe  are 
lineal  descendants. 

The  only  mansion  in  the  parish  is  Kiekbanu,  a  small  house 
prettily  situated  on  the  banks  of  the  Teviot ;  for  many  years 
the  hunting  residence  of  the  late  Lord  John  Scott. 


*  "  Close  to  the  eastern  door  of  the  church  iB  appended  an  iron  collar, 
which  iB  in  a  state  of  great  preservation,  and  which  is  commonly  known 
by  the  name  of  the  jugs  (or  jougs).  In  former  times,  church  offenders 
were  sometimes  sentenced  by  kirk  sessions  to  stand  with  it  fastened 
round  their  neck,  and  clothed  in  sackcloth,  for  several  sabbaths,  in  pre- 
sence of  the  congregation,  in  token  of  their  repentance  and  humiliation." 
This  is  the  only  instance  in  the  district  of  the  preservation  of  this  old 
instrument  of  torture  in  its  original  state  and  position :  that  hung  up  at 
Abbotsford  was  merely  one  of  the  curiosities  collected  by  Sir  Walter  Scott, 
and  was  brought  from  Threeve  Castle  in  Galloway,  the  ancient  seat  of 
the  Douglasses. 


169 


ROXBURGHSHIRE:    ECKFORD. — PUBLIC    OFFICES,    ETC. DIRECTORY SEAT. 


170 


"The  Kale  runs  through  the  parish  in  a  north-easterly 
direction,  and  divides  it  into  nearly  two  equal  parts.  In  Borne 
places  its  banks  are  bold  and  romantic  in  a  high  degree,  and 
beautifully  overhung  with  wood."  The  Teviot  aho  crosses  the 
parish,  cutting  off  a  small  portion  of  it  to  the  west,  and  receives 
the  waters  of  the  Kale  somewhat  to  the  north  of  the  church. 
In  both  rivers  the  trout  fishing  is  excellent,  but  restricted. 
In  the  Teviot  salmon  are  occasionally  caught,  bull-trout  are 
common,  and  whitelings  frequent  the  Kale  {see  Morebattle  and 
Hounam  parishes).  Near  the  village  of  Eckford  is  a  small 
loch  of  about  7  acres,  which  was  plentifully  stocked  with  tench, 
perch,  and  trout,  by  the  Jate  Lord  John  Scott.  It  also  contains 
splendid  eels.  Otters  numerously  frequent  the  mouth  of  the 
Kale. 

The  village  of  Eckford  is  about  5  miles  from  both  Jedburgh 
and  Kelso,  the  latter  being  the  post  town.  Old  Ormiston 
Station  on  the  Jedburgh  Railway  is  about  1£  miles  distant. 

The  population  of  the  parish  in  1861  was  957,  who  com- 
prised 194  families,  one  of  whom  was  returned  as  living  in  a 
house  having  no  windows,  106  in  houses  of  one  window,  52  in 
houses  of  two  windows,  and  35  in  houses  of  three  and  more 
windows. 

Assessed  property  1863-4,  £10,751 :  i  :  11. 

The  Duke  of  Buccleuch  and  the  Duke  of  Roxburghe  are  the 
principal  landed-proprietors  in  the  parish — about  four-fifths  of 
the  whole  parish  belonging  to  them. 


Those  marked  thus  (*)  are  Registered  Voters. 

Resident  Justice  of  the  Peace — "John  Murray,  M.D.,  Kersknowe. 

Police  Officer — Allan  Mitchell,  Crailing. 

Poblic  Offices — Registrar  of  Births,  Marriages,  and  Deaths,  In- 
spector of  Poor,  and  Session  Clerk — H.  R.  Lawrie. 
Kirk  Treasurer — William  Turnbull. 

Post  Office  (Kirkbank) — William  Turnbull,  postmaster.  Daily  Post 
to  Kelso.  Arrival,  7-40  a.m.  ;  Departure,  2-45  p.m.  John  Wal- 
die,  rural  messenger,  leaves  Kirkbank  daily  at  8  a.m.,  and  goes 
as  far  as  Nisbet  Mill,  returning  again  in  time  for  the  Kelso  post. 

Clergy,  &c. — Eckford  is  in  the  Presbytery  of  Jedburgh,  and  Synod 
of  Merse  and  Teviotdale.     Patron — the  Crown. 
Established  Church— Rev.  Joseph  Yair,  A.M.  (Inducted  1S29). 
Sittings,  300.    Average  attendance  at  Sabbath  School,  20. 

Fast  Days — Thursday  before  the  second  Sabbaths  of  May  and  No- 
vember. 

ScHOOLSf — Parochial  (Eckford)— Henry  R.  Lawrie,  master ;  average 
attendance,  70. 


f  Children  in  the  pariBh  from  4  to  15,  attending  school  during  the  first 
week  of  April  1861, 174 ;  of  all  ages,  183. 


Parochial  Side  School  (Caverton) — John  Murray,  teacher ;  ave- 
rage attendance,  50. 

Parochial  Board — Robert  Darling,  Esq.,  Broomlands,  Chairman. 
No.  of  Poor  on  Roll,  23.  Poor  House — Kelso  Union.  Assess- 
ment, 2Jd.  per  £,.     Total  Assessment  1S63-4,  £216  :  12  :  4 J. 

Mills:  Eckford — Corn— William  Hart.  Ormiston— Corn — Thomas 
Geggie,  Bowmont  Forest— Saw  Mills— George  Hall.  Teviot  Foot 
—Saw  Mills — *George  Charters. 


TRADES  IN  ECKFORD  VILLAGE. 


Dalgleish,  Fanny,  grocer 
M'Laren,  Christian,  dressmaker 
Potts,  Andrew,  farmer 
Rutherford,  Thomas,  tailor 
Tait,  Peter,  joiner. 
Tail,  Thomas,  tailor 
Tait,  William,  hook  dresser 
Wood,  Mary,  grocer 
Wood,  John,  blacksmith 
Wood,  William,  tailor 


RESIDENTS,  FARMERS,  &c,  IN  THE  PARISH. 

Arras,  Adam,  farmer,  Ormiston. 
*Bell,  John,       do.,     Marchcleuch 
*Bell,  Robert,   do.,     Censford 

Clinkscales,  J  as  ,  forester  to  the  Duke  of  Buccleuch,  Eckfor  1 

Craike.  Mrs.,  Upper  Wooden  Villa 
♦Cunningham,  Charles,  farmer,  Grahamslaw 

Handyside,  Alexander,  Eckford  Moss 
♦Johnston,  George,  do.,     Marlfleld. 

Johnston,  Miss,  Marlfleld 

Johnston,  Walter,  baron  officer  to  the  Duke  of  Buccleuch 
*Logan,  A.,  farmer,  Caverton 

.vlacnish,  Richard,  station-master,  Ormiston 

Moffat,  John,  gamekeeper,  Ormiston 

Moffat,  Mrs.,  Marlfleld 
*Park,  Alexander  B.,  farmer,  Wester  Wooden 
*Purdom,  Walter,         do.,     Easter  Wooden 

Rutherford,  James,      do.,      Eckford  Mosb 

Telfer,  Alexander,  gamekeeper  to  the  Duke  of  Buccleuch 

Wilson,  Robert,  superintendant,  Kirkbank 


SEAT,  &c,,OF  COUNTY  FAMILY  IN  THE  PARISH. 

KIRKBANK. 

The  occasional  residence  of  Lady  John  Douglas  Montagu  Soott 


171 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    LINTON. INTRODUCTORY    REMARKS. 


172 


Alicia  Anne),  eldest  daughter  of  John.Spottiswoode,  Esq.,  of 
Spottiswoode,  in  Berwickshire  (see  p.  612);  married,  1836, 
Lord  John  Douglas  Montagu  Scott  (youngir  brother  of  the 
present  Duke  of  Buccleuch),  a  Deputy-Lieutenant  and  Jus- 
tice of  Peace  for  Warwickshire,  andjsometime  a  Captain  in  the 
Grenadier  Guards,  and  M.P.  for  .Roxburghshire  (he  died  Janu- 
ary 3,  I860).* 
English  residence — Causton  Lodge,  Dunchurch,  near  Eugby. 

MAINHOUSE. 

Situated  abont  i  miles  from  Kelso,  on  the  Morebattle  road — 
the  property  of  Alexander  Cameron,  Esq.,  solicitor,  Elgin  ; 
occasionally  occupied. 

Mr,  Cameron,  after  the  Dukes  of  Buccleuch  and  Eosburgbe, 
is  the  only  proprietor  in  the  parish  of  consequence. 


REGISTEEED  VOTERS  (Non-Eesident). 

Dalkeith,  Earl  of,  M.P.  for  Edinburghshire  {see  p.  151) 
Scott,  Lord  Henry  J.  Douglas  Montagu,  M.E.  for  Selkirk- 
shire (see  p.  395) 


*  Lady  John  Scott  ia  the  composer,  &c,  of  the  following  popular  ballads: 

"Annie  Lawrie,"  music  and  last  verse  of  the  words — the  first  verses  are 
by  Allan  Cunningham ;  "  Douglas,  tender  and  true,"  music  only;  "They 
shot  Mm  on  the  nine  stane  rig,"  music  only— words  from  Scott's  Min- 
strelsy; "Durrisdeer,"  words  and  music;  "Shame  on  you,  Gallants"- 
"The  Bounds  o'  Cheviot;"  "The  Foul  Fords;"  • ' Lammermoor  ; " 
"  Ettrick,  oh  !  murmuring  waters  ;  "  etc. 

Whenever  Lady  John  Scott  published  any  of  her  compositions,  it  has 
been  for  a  charity.  Some  of  them  have  attained  an  established  popu- 
larity and  large  circulation. 


171. 


LINTON. 


This  parish  is  situated  in  the  north-eastern  part  of  the  county 
and  borders  upon  Northumberland.  Its  length  is  about  6 
miles,  and  2  miles  in  breadth.  Its  boundaries  are— on  the 
north,  Sprouston ;  on  the  east,  Northumberland  and  Yetholm ; 
on  the  south,  Morebattle ;  and  on  the  west,  Eckford.  The  area 
of  the  parish,  according  to  the  Ordnance  Survey,  is  nearly 
6428  acres,  of  -which  34£  are  under  water,  67£  are  occupied  by 
roads ;  the  remainder  being  land,  nearly  all  of  which  is  under 
cultivation. 

"  The  western  extremity  of  the  parish  forms  part  of  a  beautiful 
valley  watered  by  the  Kale,  which  here  forms  the  boundary 
of  the  parish.  From  this  valley  the  land  rises  in  a  somewhat 
undulating  ascent  till  it  reaches  its  highest  elevation  on  the 
summit  of  Linton  Hill.  Its  surface  eastward  is  varied  and 
uneven,  and  sometimes  intersected  by  small  hills,  which  con- 
nect those  of  the  Cheviots  with  the  fertile  plain  which  extends 
along  the  southern  bank  of  the  Tweed.'*  The  principal  hills 
in  the  parish  are  Linton  Hill,  in  the  south-east;  Blakelaw, 
Hoselaw,  and  Kiplaw,  in  the  north-west.  With  the  exception 
of  the  first  mentioned,  they  are  all  cultivated  to  the  summits. 
There  is  a  loch  in  the  parish  at  Hoselaw  which  covers  33  acres, 
and  abounds  in  perch  and  eels.  The  loch  is  free  to  the  angler. 
The  parish  church*  and  school-house  are  situated  near  the 
western  boundary  of  the  parish. 

*  The  pretty  little  church  and  churchyard  of  Linton  occupy  a  situation 
on  the  summit  of  a  circular  hill.  This  eminence  is  generally  believed  to 
be  artificial,  and  tradition  reports  it  to  have  been  the  work  of  two  sisters, 
who,  to  expiate  a  heinous  sin  perpetrated  by  their  brother,  removed  the 
soil  from  a  hollow  still  shown  in  the  vicinity. 

Above  the  porch  ofjthe  church  ia  an  ancient  stone  with  a  carving 
of  a  man  on  horseback,  having  a  long  spear  in  Mb  hand,  which  is  thrust 
into  the  mouth  of  an  animal  resembling  a  dragon.     This  stone  is  said, 
also,  at  one  time,  to  have  borne  the  following  inscription  : — 
11  The  wode  Laird  of  Larieston, 
Slew  the  worm  of  Wormieston, 
And  won  all  Linton  paroohine." 

This  refers  to  a  monstrous  serpent,  wolf,  or  bear,  which  infested  the 
neighbourhood  and  committed  great  devastation  ;  itB  den  is  8t  ill  pointed 
out,  under  the  name  of  "  The  Worm's  Hole ;"  and  the  field  in  which  it  is 
situated^  receives  the  name  of  "  Wormington."  The  animal  was  killed 
by  William  de  Somerville,  ancestor  of  Lord  Somerville,  who  obtained 
Linton  as  his  reward, 'and  the  memorial  of  this  event  is  still  preserved 
on  the  crest  of  hia  arms,  which  retains,  among  other  allusions  to  it,  the 
following  inscription—"  The  Wode  Laird." 


173 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    LINTON. PUBLIC    OFFICES — CLERGY DIRECTORY. 


174 


Thomas  Pringle,  a  poet  of  some  note,  and  the  first  editor  of 
Blackwood's  Magazine,  was  a  native  of  this  parish. 

The  nearest  post  and  market  town  is  Kelso,  about  6  miles 
distant  from  the  parish  church. 

Population  of  the  pariah  in  1S61,  608  ;  who  comprised  104 
families,  3  of  whom  were  returned  as  living  in  houses  of  one 
window,  67  in  houses  of  two  windows,  and  44 — a  large  propor- 
tion— as  living  in  houses  of  three  and  more  windows. 

Assessed  property  in  1863-4,  £7717  :  12  :  3. 

Formerly  there  were  two  villages  in  this  parish — Hoselaw 
and  Linton,  but  both  have  entirely  disappeared,  and  the  parish 
is  now  without  one.  The  principal  proprietors  are — R.  K. 
Elliot,  Esq.,  of  Clifton,  who  owns  nearly  a  half  of  the  whole 
parish;  Robert  Oliver,  Esq.,  of  Blakelaw  (Lochside) ;  Thomas 
Scott,  Esq.,  of  Graden  ;  Andrew  Wauchope,  Esq.,  of  Niddrie- 
Marischall ;  and  G.  Humble,  Esq.,  of  Old  Graden.  Clifton 
Park,  the  seat  of  R.  K.  Elliot,  is  the  only  mansion  house  in 
the  parish. 

Those  marked  thus  (*)  are  Registered  Voters. 

i 
Resident  Justice  of  the  Peace — Robert  K.  Elliot,  Esq.,  of  Clifton. 

Post  Office — There  is  no  Post  Office  at  Linton  parish,  but  the  post 
between  Morebattle  and  Kelso  passes  daily. 

Public  Offices — Registrar  of  Births,  Marriages,  and  Deaths,  Inspec- 
tor of  Poor,  Session  Clerk  and  Kirk  Treasurer — Robert  Hen- 
derson. 
Medical  Officer  and  Public  Vaccinator — Vacant. 

Clergy — Presbytery  of  Kelso,  Synod  of  Merse  and  Teviotdale.    Pa- 
tron—R.  K.  Elliot,  Esq..  of  Clifton. 
Established  Church — *Rev.  Thomas  Leishman  (Inducted  1S55). 
Sittings.  160. 

Fast  Days— Wednesday  preceding  the  last  Sabbaths  of  June  and  De- 
cember. 

Schoolt — Parochial — *Robert  Henderson,  master.    Aver,  attend.  60. 

Parochial  Board — Robert  K.  Elliot,  Esq.,  Chairman.  No.  of  Poor 
on  Roll,  18.  Assessment,  4^d.  per  £.  Total  Assessment  for 
1S83-4,  £148  :  16  :  10.     Poor  House— Kelso  Combination. 

Corn  Mill — George  Smith. 

Conveyance — Morebattle  carriers  and  postrunner  (which  see) ;  N. 
B.  Railway,  Kelso  Station,  distant  about  5$  miles  from  the  centre 
of  the  parish. 

t  Children  in  the  parish  from  S  to  15,  attending  school  during  the  first     I 
week  of  April  1861,  147;  of  all  ages,  154.  ' 


RESIDENTS,  FARMERS,  &o.  IN  THE  PARISH. 

*Burn,  George,  farmer,  Bankhead 

*Bell,  Alexander,  do.,    Linton 

*Borthwick,  John,  do.,   Greenlees 

*Humble,  Geo.  (of  13  Brisbane  Place,  Kelso),  of  Old  Graden 

Purves,  William,  do.,   Burnfoot 

Roberton,  Andrew,  do.,  Hoselaw 

Stavert,  George,  blacksmith,  Hoselaw 
*Scott,  Andrew,  farmer,  Frogdenf 
*Turnbull,  William  J.,  farmer,  Graden 

Walker,  Andrew,  farm-steward,  Clifton  Park 

Wintei,  Robert,  joiner,  Dryburn 

Young,  JohD,  blacksmith,  de. 


SEAT,  &c,  OF  COUNTY  FAMILY  IN  THE  PARISH. 

CLIFTON   PAKK. 

The  residence  of  Robert  Kerr  Elliot,  Esq.  of  Clifton  and  Har- 
wood,  eldest  son  of  the  late  William  Elliot,  Esq.,  of  Harwood 
(in  Hobkirk  parish);  born  1805;  succeeded  to  Harwood  on  the 
death  of  his  father  in  1835,  and  to  Clifton,  as  heir  of  entail, 
in  1843;  married,  1833,  Mary  Anne,  daughter  of  Charles  Claude 
Clifton,  Esq.,  of  Tymaur;  and  has  issue — 

William  Claude,  born  1835;  and  other  sons  and  daughters, 
including  Mary  Ann  Frances,  who  married,  1859,  Sir  Edward 
Claude  Cockburn,  Bart,  of  Downton,  Herefordshire,  and  has 
issue — a  son,  Robert,  born  1861. 

Mr.  Elliot  is  a  Deputy-Lieutenant  and  Justice  of  Peace  for 
the  county  of  Roxburgh,  and  was  formerly  an  officer  in  the 
army. 

REGISTERED  VOTERS  (Non-Resident) 
Roberton,  John,  farmer,  Harpertown 

Scott,  Thomas,  Esq.,  of  Graden,  Broom  House,  Beale,  North- 
umberland 


t  Mr.  Dawson,  who  rendered  essential  services  to  the  agriculture  of 
Scotland,  by  the  introduction  of  turnip  husbandry,  etc.,  farmed  Frogdeit 
while  introducing  many  of  his  improvements. 


175 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    SPROUSTON.—  INTRODUCTORY   REMARKS CLERGY SCHOOLS ETC. 


176 


SPROUSTON. 


The  parish  of  Sprouston  is  situated  in  the  north-eastern  part 
of  the  county,  and  on  the  south  bank  of  the  river  Tweed. 
Its  boundaries  are  —  Tweed  on  the  north,  Carham  on  the 
east,  Linton  on  the  south,  and  Eckford  and  Kelso  on  the 
west.  In  shape  it  is  nearly  square,  being  about  4  miles  each 
way.  The  area,  according  to  the  Ordnance  Survey,  is  a  little 
over  8731$  acres,  of  which  33$  are  occupied  by  the  North- 
Eastern  Railway,  134J  by  roads,  public  and  private,  and  96 
by  water.  Two  elevations  of  gradual  ascent  cress  from  north- 
east to  south-west.  The  soil  is  rich,  especially  near  the  river ; 
indeed  this  parish  is  famous  for  its  fertility,  and  is  everywhere 
highly  cultivated. 

The  salmon  fishings  in  the  Tweed  along  this  parish  are  very 
productive,  and  are  much  resorted  to  by  anglers  from  all 
quarters.     Trout  fishing  is  free. 

The  climate  varies  with  the  elevation,  being  bracing  on 
Lempitlaw, — the  highest  point — bleak  on  Haddenrig,  and  mild 
and  salubrious  along  the  river. 

Hadden  Stank  and  Redden  Burn,  in  this  parish,  were  fre- 
quently chosen  as  meeting  places  betwixt  the  Scotch  and 
Enelish  commissioners  for  settling  disputes. 

There  are  two  villages  in  the  parish — Sprouston  and  Lem- 
pitlaw— the  former  being  the  larger  of  the  two.  Sprouston  is 
situated  in  the  north-western  part  of  the  parish,  near  the  river. 
It  is  almost  entirely  agricultural.  Good  accommodation  can 
be  got  here  for  strangers  who  come  to  fish.  And  here  are  the 
parish  church  and  school. 

The  hamlet  of  Lempitlaw  is  a  very  small  one.  in  the  south- 
eastern extremity  of  the  parish  ;  and  is  also  entirely  agricultural. 
At  one  time  it  was  a  separate  parish.  Its  churchyard  still 
continues  to  be  used  as  a  burial  place,  but  its  church  has  utterly 
disappeared. 

Kelso  is  the  nearest  market  and  post  town — about  2}  miles 
distant  from  the  village  of  Sprouston.  There  is  a  station  of 
the  North-Eastern  Railway  close  to  this  village. 

Population  of  the  parish  in  1861,  1295 ;  of  the  village  of 
Sprouston  only,  379.  Number  of  families  in  the  parish  at  the 
same  date,  274 ;  of  whom  99  were  returned  as  living  in  houses 
of  one  window,  and  110  in  houses  of  two  windows.  Assessed 
property  in  1863-4,  £13,064 : 1 :  5. 


Superior  of  Sprouston  and  principal  proprietor — Duke  of 
Eoxburghe.  The  other  principal  proprietors  are— the  Duke 
of  Buccleuch,  Sir  William  Eliott  of  Stobs,  and  Sir  George 
H.  S.  Douglas,  Bart,  of  Springwood  Park — all  of  whom  are 
non-resident. 


Those  marked  thus  (*)  are  Registered  Voters. 

Police  Officer — Andrew  Cook,  Lempitlaw. 

Post  Office — John  Bruce,  postmaster.  Daily  Post  to  and  froro 
Kelso.  Arrival,  12-10  a.m. ;  Departure,  3-10  p.m.  Ralph  Wright, 
messenger. 

Post  Runner  to  Lempitlaw — Philip  MTeod,  who  arrives  about 
1  p.m.,  and  returns  for  Kelso  about  2. 

Public  Offices — Heritors'  Clerk,  Registrar  of  Births,  Marriages,  and 
Deaths,  Session  Clerk  and  Ku-k  Treasurer,  and  Inspector  of 
Poor — James  Brown. 
Medical  Officer  and  Public  Vaccinator — Dr.  Hamilton,  Kelso. 

Clergy — Presbytery  of  Kelso,  Synod  of  Merse  and  Teviotdale.   Patron 

— Duke  of  Roxburghe. 
Established  Church — *Rev.  Robert  Orange  Bromfield  (Inducted 

1843).    Sittings,  420.    Average  attend,  at  Sabbath  School,  120. 
Free  Church  (Sprouston)  see  Kelso. 

Fast  Days — Wednesday  before  the  first  Sabbaths  of  May  and  Nov. 

Schools  t — Parochial — *  James  Brown,  master;  average  attend.,  SO. 
Private  School  (Sprouston)^-Miss  Gray. 
Subscription  School  (Lempitlaw) — John  Lyle,  teacher;  average 

attendance,  75. 
Subscription  School  (Hadden) — George  Patterson,  teacher ;  ave- 
rage attendance,  60. 

Parochial  Board — Robert  Darling,  Esq.,  Broomlands,  Chairman. 
Rate  of  Assessment,  9d.  per  £.  Total  Assessment,  1863-4,  over 
£500.    No.  of  Poor  on  Roll,  50.    Poor  House— Kelso  Union. 

Conveyance — North  British  and  North-Eastern  Railways.  Stations : 
Sprouston  ;  Carham,  distant  2  miles  ;  Maxwellheugh,  distant  2$ 
miles.  The  junction  of  these  railways  is  in  the  parish,  about  a 
mile  west  from  the  village. 

Corn  Mill — Banff  Mill — *  James  Lindsay,  farmer,  Whitmuirhaugh. 


TRADES. 

Sprouston. 

Bruce,  John,  (Post  Office),  general  merchant 

Brown,  John,  clothier 

Jamieson,  William,  grocer  and  spirit  dealer 

t  Children  in  the  parish  attending  school  between  5  and  15,  during  the 
first  week  of  April  1861,  232 ;  of  all  ages,  243. 


177 


ROXBUKGHSHIKE  :    EDNAM. INTRODUCTORY    REMARKS. 


178 


Johnston,  Alexander,  contractor 

Melrose,  Richard,  contractor,  grocer,  and  meal-dealer 

Turnbull,  James,  joiner 

Walker,  Andrew,  blacksmith 

Young,  George,  baker  and  grocer 

Lempitlaw 

Cairos,  George,  blacksmith 
Sheriff,  David,  joiner 


RESIDENTS,  FARMERS,  &c, 

*Clay,  John,  farmer,  Kerchesters 
*Culberson,  John,  farmer,  Sprouston 
*Culberson,  William,  do.,         do. 

Dunn,  William,         do.,     Redden 
*Howie,  Thomas,        do.,     Haddon 
*Jamieson,  George,     do.,     Nottylees 
*Kerss,  Thomas,  fisherman,  Sprouston  water 
*Ogilvie,  George,    do.,     Holefield 
*R.obson,  Charles,   do-,      Lurdenlaw 
*Scott,  John,  do.,     Lempitlaw 

*Smith,  Robert,  do.,  Kersquarter 
*Smith,  William,  do.,  Windywalls 
*Stark,  Thomas,     do.,      Mellendean 

Stark,  John,  Mellendean 

Stark,  William,    do. 

Stark,  Miss,         do. 

*Turnbull,  James,  farmer,  Lempitlaw  EastHeld- 
*Turnbull,  Mark,       do.,      Lempitlaw 
*  Watson,  George,      do.,      Easter  Softlaw 


REGISTERED  VOTER  (Non- Resident). 
Douglas,  Sir  G.  H.  S.,  Bart,  of  Springwood  Park,  Kelso. 


EDNAM. 


The  small  pariah  of  Ednam  is  situated  on  both  sides  of  the 
river  Eden,  from  which  it  takes  its  name.  In  shape  it  ap- 
proaches a  square,  being  about  3£  miles  long  and  about  3 
broad.  It  is  bounded  on  the  north  by  Eccles,  in  Berwickshire, 
on  the  east  by  Eccles  and  Sprouston,  on  the  south  by  Kelso 
and  Sprouston,  and  on  the  west  by  Stichill  and  Nenthorn. 
The  area  of  the  parish,  according  to  the  Ordnance  Survey,  is 
3,919.724  acres — comprising  3784  acres  of  land,  all  either 
under  cultivation  or  laid  out  in  wood;  70.263  of  water;  and 
65. 772  of  roads,  public  and  private.  The  soil  varies,  but  is  for 
the  most  part  rich  ;  and  the  farm  of  Edenmouth,  in  this  parish, 
is  considered  the  earliest  in  the  locality.  "  The  district  is 
embellished  with  plantations,  which  cover  the  chief  elevation 
in  the  parish,  on  which  stands  the  elegant  mansion  of  Hender- 
syde  Park  (J.  Waldie,  Esq.)  Hendersyde  Park  lies  near 
the  Kelso  and  Coldstream  road,  and  is  about  2  miles  from  the 
former  place.  The  grounds  in  which  it  is  situated  are  finely 
laid  out — the  house  itself  is  a  large  four-fronted  building, 
planned  by  the  present  proprietor,  and  built  at  different 
periods,  from  1S03  to  1841.  The  interior  contains  a  fine  col- 
lection of  pictures,  mosaics,  and  classical  antiquities  ;  besides  a 
library,*  which,  as  a  general  collection,  is  "  the  most  extensive 

*Sir  Walter  Scott  (in  Lockhart's  Life)  describes  himself  as  having  been 
greatly  indebted  to  the  Waldie  Library  in  the  time  of  the  present  pro- 
prietor's grandmother,  who,  when  he  was  attending  the  school  at  Kelso, 
generously  allowed  him  its  free  use — hisaunts,  with  whom  Sir  Walter  then 
resided  at  the  Cottage  {see  p.  110),  being  intimate  friends  of  Mrs.  Waldie ; 
a  strong  intimacy  having  existed  between  the  families  for  several  genera- 
tions. Charles  Ormiston,  jun.  (quaker),  maternal  great-grandfather  of 
the  present  proprietor  was  the  originator  of  the  Library,  and  the  pur- 
chaser of  the  Hendersyde  estate,  in  1715  ;  and  although  now  so  beautifully 
wooded,  fertile,  and  renting  higher  than  any  other  estate  of  equal  size  in 
the  county,  was  then  such  a  waste  of  moor  and  morass,  that  in  the  '45, 
when  Prince  Charles  passed  through  Kelso,  the  only  plunder  which 
his  Highland  followers  procured  from  the  then  small  holdings  on  the 
estate,  was  a  few  half-starved  sheep,  oats,  and  oatmeal.  They  shot  the 
sheep,  drank  the  warm  blood,  skinned  and  carried  off  the  carcases ;  the 
oatmeal  they  compelled  the  women  of  the  farms  to  make  into  cakes,  which 
they  ate  half-baked  off  the  fire  as  made ;  and  tradition  states  that  some 
of  the  plunderers  were  lost  in  the  extensive  moss,  which  then  existed 
in  the  neighbourhood,  and  which  was  subsequently  drained  to  form  the 
present  KeUo  race  course  {see  p.  92). 

*'  Mrs.  Waldie  belonged  to  her  father's  community,  and  the  style  of  life 

N 


179 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    EDNAM. PUBLIC   OFFICES,    ETC. DIRECTORY 


180 


and  best  preserved  in  the  county ; "  while,  as  a  Fine  Art 
collection  and  Private  Library,  it  is  perhaps  unequalled  in 
Scotland.  Orders  for  admission  to  see  the  interior  of  the  house 
can  be  procured  from  Messrs.  Smiths  and  Robson,  Kelso. 

The  village  of  Ednam— the  only  one  in  the  parish — a  pretty 
and  clean  little  place,  is  pleasantly  situated  on  the  river  Eden. 
This  village  is  celebrated  as  being  the  birth-place  of  the  poet 
Thomson,  whose  father*  wasministerof  the  parish.  A  stumpy 
looking  obelisk,  52  feet  in  height,  has  been  erected  to  the 
poet's  memory,  on  a  hill  about  a  mile  from  the  village  in  the 
Kelso  direction.  The  village  also  claims  to  be  the  birth-place 
of  the  father  of  James  Cook,  the  famous  circumnavigator. 

The  Eden  is  an  excellent  trouting  stream,  and  from  Ednam 
to  its  mouth,  a  distance  of  over  two  miles,  is  free  to  anglers; 
above  Ednam  it  is  mostly  preserved — {see  p.  73). 

The  village  is  about  2j  miles  north-east  from  Kelso,  which 
is  the  nearest  railway  station,  and  which  is  also  the  post 
town. 

Population  of  the  parish  in  1861,599;  who  comprised  125 
families,  46  of  whom  were  returned  as  living  in  houses  of  one 
window,  52  in  houses  of  two  windows,  and  27  in  houses  of 
three  and  more  windows. 

Assessed  property  in  1863-4,  £8,136 :  19  :  5. 

Principal  proprietors — John  Waldie,  Esq.,  of  Hendersyde 

Park — resident;  Douglas   Moffat,  Esq.,  of  Harpertoun, 

Admiral  Sir  William  Dickson  of  Sydenham,  Lord  Dudley 
and  Ward— non-resident. 

Superior  of  the  village — Lord  Dudley  and  Ward. 

and  manners  depicted  in  the  household  of  Joshua  Geddes  of  Mount  Sharon , 
and  his  amiable  sister,  in  some  of  the  sweetest  chapters  of  "  Redgauntlct** 
is  a  slightly  decorated  edition  of  what  he  [Sir  Walter  as  a  boy]  witnessed 
under  her  hospitable  roof."— LockJiart's  Life. 

A  century  Bince  the  community  of  Quakers  was  a  comparatively 
numerous  and  highly  respectable  one  in  the  locality  of  Kelso;  it  has 
since  become  extinct,  and  their  meeting-house  at  Kelso,  after  having 
been  used  as  a  Bchool  of  arts,  mechanics'  institute,  &c,  is  now  the  church 
of  the  small  community  of  Congregationalists  (see  p.  79).  In  the  little 
burial  ground  attached  lie  several  generations  of  the  Ormistons,  including 
Mrs.  Waldie.  The  property  belongs  to  Mr.  Waldie,  of  Hendersyde  Park, 
the  present  representative. 

*  A  recent  writer  in  the  ephemeral  publication,  the  "Border  Maga- 
zine," states  that  the  house  in  which  Thomson  was  born  still  exists  as 
the  outhouse  of  a  farm-steading,  after  having  been  used  for  several  years 
as  the  village  school.  Of  the  poet,  the  parish  cannot  be  expected  to  furnish 
any  traditionary  recollections;  when  he  was  only  nine  or  ten  weeks  old 
hia  father  was  transferred  to  Southdean  parish,  and  it  is  most  improbable 
that  Thomson  had  any  subsequent  connection  with  Ednam.  For  many 
years  the  anniversary  of  Thomson's  birth  used  to  be  celebrated  by  a  number 
of  gentlemen  (the  Ednam  Club)  dining  in  the  village  inn.  The  laBt 
meeting  was  held  September  1819.  A  miniature  of  the  poet,  presented 
to  the  club  by  the  then  Earl  of  Buchan,  is  kept  in  the  manse,  and  handed 
down  from  one  incumbent  to  another.  This  miniature  is  from  a  large 
portrait  of  the  poet  by  Slaughter,  in  the  possession  of  the  Buchan  family. 


Those  marked  thus  (*)  are  Registered  Voters  in  the  parish. 

Clergy— Presbytery  of  Kelso,  Synodof  Merse  and  Teviotdale.  Patron 
— the  Crown. 
Established  Church—  *Rev.  Wm.  Lamb  (Inducted  1844).   Sittings, 
260.     Average  attendance  at  Sabbath  School,  30. 

Fast  Days— Wednesday  before  the  first  Sabbaths  of  May  and  No- 
vember. 

ScHOOLf  (Parish) — John  Brown,  interim  master. 

Public  Offices — Heritors'  Clerk,  Session  Clerk,  Kirk  Treasurer,  In- 
spector of  Poor,  and  Registrar  of  Births,  Marriages,  and  Deaths 
— John  Brown,  interim. 
Medical  Officer  and  Public  Vaccinator — John  Bookless,  surgeon, 
Kelso. 

Parochial  Board — James  Robertou,  Esq  ,  Ladyrig,  Chairman. 
No.  of  Poor  on  Roll,  29.  Poor  House — Kelso  Union.  Average 
Assessment,  about  3d.  per  £.     Total  ditto,  1S63-4,  £192  :  15  :  5. 

Post  Office — Daily  Post  to  Kelso.  Arrival,  8-30  a.m.  Departure, 
2  p.m.     Alexander  Henderson,  messenger. 

Mills— East  Mill — Corn — Andrew  Rutherford.  "West  Mill — Corn— 
"Robert  Broomfield.    Sharpitlaw — Saw  Mill — Hay  &  Rutherford. 

Brewery — John  Stenhouse. 


TRADES,  &c. 


Brotherston,  James,  spirit  dealer 
Fairbairn,  Edward,  blacksmith 
Hall,  Alexander,  tailor 
Main,  James,  shoemaker 
Ovens,  Robert,  joiner 


RESIDENTS,  FARMERS,  &c. 

*Broad,  William,  farmer,  Clifton  Hill 

•Bum,  John,  do.,      Ednam  West  Mains  I 

*(xlass,  James,  farmer,  Hendersyde 

*Pringle,  Mrs.,    do.,      Springhall 

*R.oss,  James,      do.,     Newtonlees 

*Rannie,  M.  G.,  do.,     Edenmouth 
Roberton,  John,  farmer.  Harpertoun 
Smail,  John,  head-gardener,  Hendersyde  Park 


t  Children  in  the  parish  between  5  and  15,  attending  school  during  the 
first  week  of  April  1861,  122 ;  of  all  ages,  127. 

X  The  old  mansion  of  the  EdmonBtunes,— a  family  who  held  the  estate 
of  Ednam  for  many  centuries— is  now  convorted  into  the  thrashing  mill 
of  this  farm. 


181 


BOXBUnGDSHIEE  :    STICHILI/    AND    IICJIE. IKTBODUCTOUT    HEMAEKS. 


182 


•Thompson,  Thomas  H.,  farmer,  Highridgehall 

*Tully,  Thomas,  farmer,  Femeyhill 

*  Whitehead,  William,  farmer,  Houndridge 


SEAT,  &c  ,  OF  COUNTY  FAMILY  IN  THE  PARISH. 

HENDEKSYDE  PARK. 

The  residence  of  John  Waldie,  Esq.,  of  Hendersyde  and  Hay- 
hope;  born  1st  May  1781;  succeeded  his  father,  the  late 
George  Waldie,  Esq.,  in  1826.  Mr.  Waldie  is  a  Deputy-Lieut, 
for  the  county  of  Roxburgh.  Heir  Pres. — his  nephew,  George 
Richard  Griffith,  Esq.,  of  Pencraig,  Anglesea,  and  of  Burnhall 
in  Berwickshire. 

Mr.  Griffith  is  the  son  of  Sir  Richard-John  Griffith,  Bart, 
nf  Munster,  Grillagh,  County  Londondi  rry,  and  Maria  Jane, 
Mr.  Waldie's  eldest  sister.  Mr.  Griffith  was  born  January 
1820;  married,  April  1849,  Eliza,  youngest  daughter  of  Nicholas 
P.  Leader,  Esq.,  M.P.,  Dromagh  Castle,  county  Cork,  and  has 
issue— a  son,  Richard-John,  born  24th  April  1850;  and  a 
daugter,  Moria-Mona. 


REGISTERED  VOTER  (Non- Resident) 
Thomson,  William  (late  of  Glasgow),  China 


STICHILL  AND  HUME. 


Of  the  united  parishes  of  Stichill  and  Hume,  the  former  is  in 
Roxburghshire  and  the  latter  in  Berwickshire.  The  united 
parish  is  bounded  on  the  north  by  Greenlaw  and  Gordon,  on 
the  east  by  Eccles,  on  the  south  by  Ednam  and  Nenthorn,  and 
on  the  west  by  Nenthorn  and  Earlston.  It  extends  to  about 
5.j  miles  in  length,  and  has  an  average  breadth  of  about  4J. 
The  surface  is  for  the  most  part  elevated,  averaging  nearly  500 
feet  above  the  level  of  the  sea ;  from  this  height  it  gradually 
declines  to  the  south.  The  areas,  according  to  the  Ordnance 
Survey  are — Hume  (including  a  small  detached  portion  in  the 
parish  of  Earlston,  which  measures  nearly  39.J  acres), 4103  acres 
—  of  which  60  acres  are  in  public  and  private  roads,  and  about 
3f  in  water  ;  Stichill,  nearly  2804  acre6- — of  which  nearly  45J 
are  in  roads,  and  5  in  water.  Nearly  the  whole  of  the  parish 
is  under  cultivation.  Near  the  southern  boundary  of  the  pa- 
rish is  the  village  of  Stichill.  It  consists  of  one  street,  and 
has  a  rather  decayed  appearance  ;  but  its  situation  is  beautiful 
and  could  scarcely  be  better  placed  for  health ;  and  yet, 
curiously,  it  was  the  first  place  in  the  county  visited  by  cho- 
lera in  1832,  when  two  fatal  cases  suddenly  occurred  ;  since 
then  the  epidemic  has  not  visited  the  parish; — Hume  it  has 
never  \isited.  For  its  size  the  village  of  Stichill  has  always 
had  a  large  proportion  of  very  old  inhabitants. 

Stichill  has  greatly  decreased  in  population  and  importance 
since  the  end  of  last  century,  when  it  had  double  its  present 
population  and  twice  its  present  extent.  It  was  long  cele- 
brated for  its  open-air  preachings  or  "  Holy  fairs"  in  con- 
nection with  the  Secession  Church.  These  used  to  be  held  on 
the  hill  near  to  the  present  church,  which  was  well  suited  for 
the  purpose  (it  being  then  unplanted),  and  formed  on  the  south 
side  a  sort  of  amphitheatre.  While  the  religious  services  went 
on  at  the  hill,  a  sort  of  secular  fair  was  being  held  at  the  public 
house  in  the  village.  [For  an  exaggerated  account  of  similar 
proceedings,  see  Burn's  Holy  Fair.]  A  relic  of  these  proceed- 
ings existed  to  within  the  last  thirty-five  years  in  the  tent 
preachings  held  on  the  green  at  the  Stichill  U.  P.  Church  on 
sacramental  occasions. 

At  the  west  end  of  the  village  is  the  entrance  to  Stichill 
House.  The  latter,  on  a  beautiful  eminence,  is  a  grand  build- 
ing in  course  of  erection,  on  the  site  of  the  old  Stichill  House, 
long  the  seat  of  the  Pringles,  baronets  of  Stichill,  the  former 


183 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    STICHILL    AND    HUME. INTRODUCTORY    REMARKS PUBLIC    OFFICES. 


184 


proprietors  of  Stichill  parish,  and  also  lands  in  Hume,  as  at 
present  possessed  by  George  Baird,  Esq.  The  new  building  is 
intended  to  have  a  tower  of  above  100  feet  in  height,  from  the 
top  of  which  the  view  will  be  grand  and  varied,  commanding 
a  radius  of  over  30  miles. 

The  Eden,  which  forms  the  southern  boundary  of  the  parish, 
is  an  excellent  trouting  stream,  but  in  which  fishing  is  restricted. 
In  its  course  it  forms  the  beautiful  cascade  of  Stichill  Linn  ; 
which  has  a  height  of  about  40  ft.,  and  a  situation  highly  romantic. 
This  and  the  adjacent  grounds  of  Newton  Don  (see  Nenthorn 
parish)  are  often  visited  by  sight-seers  from  Kelso,  from  which 
they  are  distant  about  3  miles,  and  may  either  be  approached 
by  walks  through  the  fields  or  by  the  public  roads.  Above  the 
Linn  the  trouts  of  the  Eden  are  considered  to  be  of  a  better 
quality  than  the}7  are  below  it,  or  in  any  of  the  neighbouring 
streams;  and  their  flesh  has  a  redness  of  colour  nearly  ap- 
proaching that  of  the  salmon.  No  fish  of  the  salmon  genus  sur- 
mount the  fall,  but  eels  make  their  way  up  by  the  help  of  the 
damp  moss  which  covers  the  rocks  at  the  edge  of  the  falling 
water;  and  during  the  season,  at  the  expense  of  a  drenching  by 
the  spray,  small  specimens  may  be  picked  out  by  the  hand  in 
any  quantity.  The  effect  of  the  Linn  depends  very  much  on 
the  state  of  the  river;  it  is  always  picturesque  and  beautiful, 
but  when  the  river  is  in  flood,  it  has  a  considerable  degree  of 
sublimity. 

It  may  be  of  interest  to  the  naturalist  to  state  that  the  bul- 
finch,  a  somewhat  rare  bird  in  Scotland,  is  found  in  considerable 
numbers  in  the  woods  of  Stichill.  In  spring  this  bird  is  exceed- 
ingly destructive  in  gardens,  the  flower  buds  of  fruit  trees  being 
its  favourite  food  at  that  season;  and  it  often  completely  strips 
the  apple,  plum,  and  other  trees,  and  small  fruit  bushes. 

The  hamlet  of  Hume  is  situated  in  the  centre  of  its  parish, 
at  the  foot  of  the  rocky  eminence  on  which  Hume  Castle 
stands.  The  castle  was  the  residence  of  the  Earls  of  Home; 
and  was  for  long  a  very  important  fortress.  There  is  nothing 
of  it  now  but  the  walls,  which  are  modern  and  built  upon  the 
old  foundations,  to  resemble  the  old  castle  ;  they  form  one  of 
the  most  prominent  features  in  the  county,  being  seen  from 
all  points. 

Each  parish  has  its  own  parochial  board,  and  in  each  village 
there  is  a  parish  school.  The  church  stands  in  the  village  of 
Stichill,  which  is  over  2  miles  from  the  hamlet  of  Hume. 

Kelso  is  the  nearest  market  and  post  town,  being  about  3  miles 
from  Stichill.  Population  of  the  parish  of  Stichill*  in  1861, 
425;  of  the  parish  of  Hume,  420;  total,  845 — who  composed  169 

*  Wallace  and  Hislop  who  were  unjustly  executed  at  Jedburgh,  at 
the  end  of  the  last  century,  were  natives  of  Stichill ;  various  traditions 
respecting  their  execution  are  still  current  in  the  district. 


families,  1  of  whom  was  returned  as  living  in  a  house  having 
no  windows,  87  in  houses  of  one  window,  50  in  houses  of  two 
windows,  and  31  in  houses  of  three  and  more  windows. 

Assessed  property  in  1863-4,  Stichill,  £4196:5:6;  Hume, 
£5000:7:6. 

Sole  proprietor  of  the  parish  of  Stichill,  George  Baird,  Esq. 
of  Stichill  and  Strichen.  Proprietors  of  Hume  parish — the 
Earl  of  Haddington;  Sir  Hugh  H.  Campbell,  Bart,  of  March- 
mont ;  and  George  Baird,  Esq.  of  Stichill. 


Those  marked  thus  (*)  are  Electors  Registered  in  the  parish  for 
Roxburghshire,  and  those  marked  thus  (t)  for  Berwickshire. 

Police  Officer — "William  Hunter,  Stichill. 

Post  Office — Daily  Post  to  and  from  Kelso.  Arrival  at  Stichill,  1 
p.m.  ;  Arrival  at  Hume,  every  other  day,  2  p.m.  Departure 
from  Hume,  every  other  day,  2  p.m.  ;  Departure  from  Stichill, 
3  p.m.     Messenger — George  Fairbairn. 

Public  Offices  (Stichill) — Kirk  Treasurer,  Inspector  of  Poor,  Re- 
gistrar of  Births,  Marriages,  and  Deaths,  and  Session  Clerk — 
Adam  Douglas.  (Hume)— Inspector  of  Poor  and  Registrar — 
James  Cook. 
Medical  Officer  and  Public  Vaccinator  for  Stichill — Dr.  Mackenzie , 
Kelso.     Hume — Dr.  Robertson,  Greenlaw. 

Clergy,  &c. — Presbytery  of  Kelso,  Synod  of  Merse  and  Teviotdale. 
Patrons — Crown  aud  Sir  H.  H.  Campbell,  Bart,  of  Marchmont. 

Established  Church  1  (Stichill)— t^Rev.  Dugald  Macalister  (In- 
ducted 1S46).  Sittings,  320.  Average  attendance  at  Sabbato 
School,  25. 

U.  P.  Church  (Stichill)— "Rev.  David  Cairns  (Inducted  1855). 
Sittings,        .     Average  attendance  at  Sabbath  School, 

Fast  Days — Thursdays  before  second  Sabbaths  of  February  and  July. 

Schools  § — Parochial  (Stichill) — *Adam   Douglas,  master;  average 
attendance,  75. 
Parochial  (Hume)—  t James  Cook,  master;  average  attend.,  65. 

Mortification — (Stichill) — The  late  Mrs.  Col.  Robertson  (sister  ot 
the  present  Sir  John  Pringle,  Bart.)  left  the  sum  of  £150,  the 
interest  of  which  is  to  be  distributed  among  poor  persons 
above  50  years  of  age  in  the  village. 

Do.  (Hume) — The  late  Sir  William  Campbell  of  Marchmont,  by 
settlement,  left  the  sum  of  £25  annually  for  behoof  of  the  poor 
of  the  parish  of  Hume ;  the  distribution  of  which  is  at  the  dis- 

X  Red  path,  the  author  of  the  "  Border  History,"  was  minister  of  Stichill 
for  many  years;  he  died  there  31st  January  1772,  leaving  behind  him  a 
county  history  of  Berwickshire  in  MS.,  which  has  never  been  published. 

§  Children  in  Stichill  parish  between  5  and  15,  attending  school  during 
the  first  week  of  April  1861,  76 ;  of  all  ages,  78 ;  in  Hume,  56 ;  of  all  ages, 
62. 


185 


ROXBUE&DSHIRE  :    STICHILL    AND    IIU51E. DIRECTORY. 


186 


cretion  of  the  proprietors  of  Marclimont  and  the  Minister  of 
the  parish  for  the  time  being. 
There  is  also  a  Bequest  of  £100,  by  a  Captain  Home  in  1743,  the 
interest  of  which  is  annually  divided  between  the  poor  of  the 
village  of  Hume,  and  the  parish  schoolmaster  for  the  teaching 
of  poor  scholars. 

Parochial  Board  (Stichill) — James  S.  Darling,  Esq.,  Kelso,  factor 
for  George  Baird,  Esq.  ;  Rev.  D.  Macalister.  No.  of  Poor  on 
Roll,  4.  Poor  Rate,  2d.  per  £.  Total  Assessment  1863-4,  £57. 
Poor  House — Kelso  Union. 
Do.  (Hume) — James  Low,  Esq,  Berrywell,  factor  for  Sir  H.  H. 
Campbell ;  James  Darling,  Esq.,  factor  for  George  Baird,  Esq.  ; 
Robert  Swan,  Esq.,  factor  for  the  Earl  of  Haddington;  and 
Rev.  D.  Macalister.  No.  of  Poor  on  Roll,  14.  Poor  Rate,  G^d. 
per  £.     Total  Assessment  1SG3,  £136. 

Libraries  of  limited  extent  are  attached  to  both  the  Stichill  con- 
gregations. 

Conveyance — (see  Kelso  carriers). 

Corn  Mill — Stichill — "Mark  and  *  James  Hallowell,  millers. 

Insurance  Agent — Scottish  Union  Fire  and  Life — William  Hume, 
Baillieknowe. 


PROFESSIONS,  TRADES,  &c. 

Stichill  Parish 

*  Douglas,  Adam,  schoolmaster,  Stichill 
*Gray,  Charles,  farmer,  Stichill  Mains 

Gray,  William,  wright,  Stichill 

Hermiston,  George,  blacksmith,  Stichill 

Kinghorn,  Alexander,  mason,  Stichill 
*Lillie,  John,  farmer,  Queenscairn 

Paterson,  Robert,  shoemaker,  Stichill 
t*Shiel,  Rutherford,  farmer,  Sweethope 
*Stuart,  Gilbert,  do.,      Runningburn 

Hume,  William,  farmer,  Baillieknowe 

Rae,  John,  farmer,  Caldronbrae 

Wilson,  William,  manager,  Stichill  home  farm 

Hume  Parish 

Brownlees,  James,  joiner,  Hume 

Clark,  Robert,  blacksmith,    do. 
+ Johnston,  Alexander,  farmer,  Todn'g 

Leitch,  James,  joiner,  Hume 
f  Logan,  George,  farmer,  Humehall 
fLithgow,  John,    do.,      Coldside 
fOrmiston,  Henry  R.,  farmer,  Hardies  Mill  Place 


fOrmiston,  William,  farmer,  Hardies  Mill  Place 
f  Rankin,  Richard,  do.,        Stenmuir 

fRoberton,  John, jun.,    do.,       Fallsidehill 
fTumbulI,  George,         do.,       Homebyrea 


SEAT,  &c,  OF  COUNTY  FAMILY  IN  THE  PARISH. 

STICHILL    HOUSE. 

The  intended  residence  of  *George  Baird,  Esq.    (son  of  the 
late  Alexander  Baird,  Esq.  of  Lockwood,  county  of  Lanark). 
Mr.  Baird  succeeded  to  the  Stichill  estates  on  the  death  of 
his  brother  David  in  1860. 


REGISTERED  VOTERS  (Non-Resident). 
Stichill  Parish 
*  Black,  John,  farmer,  Burnbrae,  Nenthorn 

Hume  Parish 

fRoberton,  John,  sen.,  farmer,  Harpertoun 


187 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    SMAILHOLM. INTRODUCTORY    REMARKS — PUBLIC   OFFICES — ETC. 


188 


SMAILHOLM. 


A  small  agricultural  parish  situated  in  the  north-eastern  part 
of  the  county.  It  is  bounded  partly  on  the  <ast  and  south  by 
Kelso,  and  partly  on  the  south  by  Makerstoun  ;  the  county  of 
Berwick  forms  the  remainder  of  its  boundary  on  all  sides. 
The  parish  extends  in  length  to  about  4  miles,  and  its  greatest 
breadth  is  Zh  miles.  Its  area,  according  to  the  Ordnance  Sur- 
vey, is  rather  over  4202  acres,  of  which  Dearly  62  are  occupied  by 
public  and  private  roads,  and  about  8  by  water ;  of  the  re- 
mainder nearly  the  whole  is  either  under  cultivation  or  consists 
of  plantations.  The  surface  of  the  parish  consists  of  a  variety 
of  high  and  low  grounds.  The  greatest  height  to  which  it 
attains  is  about  600  feet  above  the  sea.  The  climate  of  the 
parish  is  peculiarly  healthy  ;  but  it  has  no  accommodation  for 
visitors. 

Nearly  in  the  centre  of  the  parish  is  the  small  ancient  strag- 
gline  village  of  Smailholm,  consisting  of  three  separate  parts 
—East-Third,  West-Third,  and  Overtown, 

The  parish  enjoys  ample  communication  in  all  directions  by 
means  of  its  excellent  turnpike  and  branch  roads.  Kelso,  6 
miles  distant,  is  the  nearest  market  and  post  town.  The  near- 
est railway  station  is  at  Fans  Loanend,  nearly  4  miles  from  the 
village,  on  the  Earlston  and  Dunse  line 

The  river  Eden,  a  first-rate  trouting  stream,  but  in  which 
angling  is  restricted  (see  p.  183),  bounds  the  parish  a  consider- 
able distance  on  the  north-east.  In  the  south-west  corner  of 
the  parish,  perched  on,  and  in  the  midst  of  a  cluster  of  rocks, 
stands  Sandyknowe,  or  Smailholm  Tower.  This  place  was  the 
scene  of  Sir  Walter  Scott's  **  Eve  of  St.  John,"  which  he  has 
also  beautifully  described  in  "  Marmion,"  and  whrre  the  great 
bard  and  novelist  resided  when  a  child  with  his  grandfather, 
who  was  the  farmer  of  Sandyknowe.  It  is  the  property  of 
Lord  Polwarth,  and  has  recently  been  repaired,  so  that  easy 
access  may  be  had  to  the  top,  from  which  an  extensive  and 
delightful  view  may  be  had  on  all  sides. 

Population  of  the  parish  in  1861,554;  who  composed  110 
families,  63  of  whom  were  returned  as  living  in  houses  of 
one  window,  26  in  houses  of  two  windows,  and  21  in  houses 
of  three  and  more  windows. 

Assessed  property  in  1863  4,  £5492  :  3  :  11. 

Lord  Polwarth  is  proprietor  of  most  of  the  west  portion  of 


the  parish,  the  Earl  of  Haddington  most  of  the  east  portion. 
The  Duke  of  Roxburghe  is  also  a  proprietor,  but  to  a  small 
extent.     None  of  these  proprietors  are  resident  in  the  parish. f 


Daily  Post  to  Kelso.    Ar- 
John  Mather,  Kelso,  mes- 


Those  marked  thus  (*)  are  Registered  Voters  in  the  parish. 

Police  Officer — Alexander  Turner. 

Public  Offices — Inspector  of  Poor,  Collector  of  Rates,  and  Registrar 
of  Births,  Marriages,  and  Deaths — Thomas  "Wood. 
Kirk  Treasurer  and  Interim  Heritors'  Clerk — Rev.  David  Swan. 
Public  Vaccinator — Dr.  Robertson,  Kelso. 

Post  Office — James  Ord,  postmaster, 
rival,  8-35  a.m. ;  Departure,  2  p.m. 
senger. 

Clergy,  &c. — Presbytery  of  Lauder,  Synod  of  Merse  and  Teviotdale. 
Patron — Earl  of  Haddington. 
Established  ChurchJ— *Rev.  David  Swan  (Inducted  1843).    Sit- 
tings, 282. 

Fast  Day — "Wednesday  before  the  first  Sunday  in  May. 

School  § — Parochial — *Thomas  Wood,  master ;  average  attend.,  SO. 

Parochial  Board — Robert  Swan,  Esq.,  Kelso.  Chairman.  Com- 
mittee— Messrs  Curie  &  Erskine,  Melrose,  and  Robert  Darling, 
Esq.,  Broomlands,  Kelso.  No.  of  Poor  on  Roll,  12.  Rate  of 
Assessment,  4d.  to  6d.  per£.  ;  Total  Assessment  1863-1,  £105. 
Poor  House — Kelso  Union. 

Societies — Total  Abstinence — George  Melrose,   President;    Robert 
Grieve,  jun.,  Secretary. 

Smailholm  and  Whitrig  Mutual  Improvement  Association — Hon. 
Walter  H.  Scott  of  Humbie,  President ;  Mr.  John  Brough,  New 
Smailholm.  Vice-President;  Mr.  Robert  Grieve,  jun.,  West 
Third,  Smailholm,  Secretary. 

Library — An  excellent  library,  free  to  all  the  parishioners,  was  lately 
presented  to  the  village  by  the  Countess  of  Haddington.  Mr 
Thomas  Wood,  Librarian. 

Carriers — Kelso,  Adam  Scott  and  Thomas  Kinghorn,  Friday. 


+  The  manor  houEe  of  Smailholm,  built  by  the  Dons  in  the  seventeenth 
century,  is  now  occupied  by  Mr.  Thomson,  the  tenant  of  the  town-farm  of 
Smailholm. 

X  The  very  ancient  church  of  Smailholm,  dating  its  orign  in  Catholic 
times,  is  ivy  covered,  and  otherwise  one  of  the  neatest  in  the  district,  and 
one  of  the  most  comfortably  seated. 

§  Number  of  children  from  5  to  15,  attending  school  during  the  first 
week  of  April  1861, 103 ;  of  all  ages,  106. 


189 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    MAKERSTOUN. INTRODUCTORY    REMARKS. 


190 


TRADES. 

Grieve,  Roberr,  sen  ,  road  contractor 
Hogg,  John,  blacksmith,  Bast-Third 
Hunter,  George,  wright,         do. 
Luke,  George,  wright,  Westfitll 
Melrose,  George,  tailor 
Purvey  James,  manure  agent,  carter,  &c. 
Vallance,  John,  corn  dealer  and  road  contractor 
*VVhillans  Aaron,  corn  merchant,  Smailholm 
Whillans,  James,  dyke  contractor 
Wilkie,  William,  blacksmith,  Westfiel  1 


RESIDENTS,  FARMERS,  &c. 

Brockie,  James,  manager  of  the  farm  of  Bettyfield,  for 
Mr.  Broad,  lessee 
*Brough,  John,  farmer,  New  Smailholm 
*Dickie,  Samuel,  feuar  West  Third 
*Heweit,  James,  farmer,  Sandyknowe 
*Mann,  Andrew,  do.,      Easter  Girnick 
*Ord,  James,         do.,      Smailholm 
*Smith,  George,  portioner,  Smailholm 
*Smith,  Peter,  do.  do. 

*Tait,  James,  farmer,  Smailholm  Mains 

Thomson,  Thomas,  Smailholm  House 
MVotherspoon,  Archibald,  farmer,  Spotsmains 


REGISTERED  VOTERS  (Non-Resident). 
Cockburn,  Henry,  farmer,  Fans  Loanecd 
Dickie,  Henry,  Whitehouses,  Cumberland 
Dickie,  William,  joiner,  Yetholm 
Dunlop,  James,  farmer,  Rachelheld 
Robeson,  Robert,  farmer,  Springwells 
Roy,  Frederick  Lewis,  Esq.  of  Nenthorn 
Scott,  Henry  F.,  of  Harden  [Lord  Polwarth] 
Simson,  George,  farmer,  Courthill 


MAKERSTOUN. 


A  small  agricultural  parish  on  the  north,  bank  of  the  river 
Tweed.  It  is  bounded  on  the  north  by  Smailholm,  on  the  east 
by  Kelso,  on  the  south  by  the  river  Tweed,  and  on  the  west 
by  Mertoun.  Its  length  Irom  east  to  west  is  about  4  miles,  and 
its  breadth  from  2  to  3  miles.  Its  area,  according  to  the  Ord- 
nance Survey,  is  nearly  2913  acres,  of  which  46£  are  in  roads, 
and  48  under  water.  The  land  gradually  ascends  from  the 
banks  of  the  river.  It  is  all  in  a  high  state  of  cultivation. 
About  3|  miles  of  the  Tweed  belong  to  this  parish,  and  within 
this  is  contained  some  of  the  finest  salmon  casts  on  that  river. 
Trow  Crags,  the  wildest  part  of  all  Tweed,  is  near  the  foot 
of  Makerstoun  water;  "here  the  water  way;  in  all  ordinary 
states,  is  entirely  within  four  splits  or  gullets  through  the  great 
mass  of  trap  rock  ;  and  the  river  for  a  short  distance  splits, 
chafes,  and  roars,  in  a  manner  similar  to  some  of  the  wild  iron- 
bound  streams  of  the  Highlands."* 

The  church  and  school-house  are  near  the  centre  of  the  pa- 
rish; it  contains  no  village,  and  there  is  only  one  mansion- 
house — Makerstoun  House — a  seat  of  the  late  Lady  Mak- 
dougall  Brisbane.  It  occupies  a  beautiful  and  commanding 
position  on  the  banks  of  the  Tweed.  The  woods  around  it  are 
finely  laid  out.  The  observatory  erected  by  Sir  Thomas,  but 
now  dismantled  of  its  valuable  apparatus,  is  close  to  the  house. 

Nearest  post  and  market  town,  Kelso,  5  miles  distant.  The 
nearest  railway  stations  to  the  parish  are  Rutherford  and  Rox- 
burgh,— access  can  be  had  readily  to  the  former  by  the  ferry- 
boat at  Rutherford ,  but  that  of  Roxburgh  is  not  very  accessible  ; 
and  although  at  a  greater  distance,  that  of  Kelso  is  more 
convenient  than  either. 

Population  of  the  parish,  1st  April  1861,  380;  who  com- 
posed 68  families,  1  of  whom  was  returned  as  living  in  a  house 
uf  no  windows, f  23  in  houses  of  one  window,  21  in  houses  of 
two  windows,  and  the  others  in  houses  of  three  or  more  windows. 

Assessed  property  in  1863-4,  £5001,  Is. 

The  greater  part  of  the  parish  is  owned  by  Miss  Scott  Mak- 
douffall,  and  thp  rpma'nrlpr  by  the  Duke  nf  Rnxhurt-hp 

*  To  step  across  the  river  at  these  gullies  used  to  be  a  frequent  although 
hazardous  feat.  A  poor  woman  having  been  drowned  in  the  attempt,  the 
late  Sir  Thomas  Brisbane,  to  prevent  similar  accidents,  caused  one  of  the 
steps  to  be  blown  up.  The  gullies  can  still  be  crossed  by  a  good  and  dar- 
ing leaper,  and  were  thus  occasionally  crossed  by  old  Rob  Kerss,  lony 
the  favourite  resident  fisherman  on  the  Makerstoun  water.  The  upward 
leap  from  the  north  is  the  most  difficult,  but  Rob  could  accomplish  it 
both  ways. 

t  A  vagrant  family  who  slept  that  night  in  an  outhouse. 


191 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    ROXBURGH. INTRODUCTORY    REMARKS. 


192 


Those  marked  thus  (*)  are  Registered  Voters  in  the  parish. 
Police  Officer — Alexander  Turnbull,  Smailholm. 
Public  Offices — Inspector  of  Poor,  Session  Clerk,  and  Registrar  of 
Births,  Marriages,  and  Deaths — David  Dodds. 
Kirk  Treasurer — Rev.  Andrew  Mackie. 

Medical  Officer  and  Public  Vaccinator — Dr.  Robertson,  Kelso. 
Post  Office — David  Dodds,    postmaster — Daily  post  to  and  from 
Kelso.     Arrival,  S  a.m. ;  Despatch,  2-30  p.m.    J.  Mather,  runner. 
Clergy,  &c. — Presbytery  of  Kelso,  Synod  of  Merse  and  Teviotdale, 
Patron — Duke  of  Roxburghe. 
Established  Church — *Rev.  Andrew  Mackie  (Inducted  1S44).    Sit- 
tings, 150.     Average  attendance  at  Sabbath  School,  35. 
Free  Churchf— *Rev.  David  Dobbie  (Inducted  1848).      Sittings, 
250.     Average  attendance  at  Sabbath  School,  45. 
Fast  Days— Thursday  before  second  Sabbath  of  May,  and  Wednes- 
day before  first  Sabbath  of  November. 
SchoolJ;— Parochial — *David  Dodds,  master;  average  attend.,  75. 
Female  School — The  girls  attending  the  Parochial  School  are 
taught  sewing  and  knitting  without  any  extra  charge.     Miss 
Isabella  H.  Dodds,  sewing  mistress.    Average  attendance,  15. 
Parochial  Board — Chairman,  R.  Swan,  Esq.,  Kelso,  factor  for  Miss 
Scott  Makdougall    No.  of  Poor  on  Roll,  8.    Rate  of  Assessment, 
3£d.  to  5d.  per  £,.  ;  total  Assessment  1S63,  £92. 


TRADES. 
Rutherford,  William,  blacksmith 
Stoddart,  William,  mason 
Whitehead,  John,  joiner 


RESIDENTS,  FARMERS,  &c. 
Bruce,  ^Alexander  and  *James,  farmers,  Wester  Muirdean 
Fife,  Mrs.,  Greatridgehall  farm 
Gray,  George,  gai  dener,  Makerstoun  House 

*  Murray,  William,  farmer,  Charterhouse 

*Usher,  John,  do.,      Stodrig 

*Wilson,  Thomas,       do.,     Haymount 


SEAT,  &c,  OF  COUNTY  FAMILY  IN  THE  PARISH. 

MAKERSTOUN    HOUSE. 

The  property  and  residence  of  Miss  Maria  Scott  Makdougall, 
Lady  of  the  Barony  of  Makerstoun  ;  who  succeeded,  1864,  her 
cousin,  the  late  Miss  Henrietta  Hay  Makdougall. 

t  This  church,  along  with  an  excellent  manse,  was  erected  by  the  late 
Misa  Elizabeth  Makdougall,  of  Makerstoun,  who  also  at  her  decease,  in 
1852,  bequeathed  £1500  sterling  for  its  partial  endowment. 

X  Children  in  the  parish  between  5  and  15,  attending  school  during  the 
first  week  of  April  1861,  74 ;  of  all  ages,  77. 


ROXBURGH. 


A  very  irregularly  shaped  parish  lying  on  the  south  side  of 
the  Tweed.  It  is  bounded  by  Makerstoun  and  Kelso  on  the 
north,  Maxton  on  the  -west,  Ancrum  on  the  south,  and  Crailing 
and  Eckford  on  the  east.  The  extreme  length  of  the  parish  is 
about  8  miles,  and  its  breadth  varies  from  1  to  5  miles.  The 
area ,  according  to  the  Ordnance  Survey,  is  7924f  acres,  of  which 
53$  are  occupied  by  the  railway,  99§  in  public  and  private  roads, 
and  143f  are  under  water.  The  surface  of  the  parish  is  gene- 
rally flat,  and  has  a  gentle  Blope  to  the  Tweed  on  the  north, 
with  the  Teviot  intersecting  it  from  north  to  south.  In  the 
south-west  is  Dunse  or  Doune  Law,  a  hill  about  500  feet  high. 
Around  this  height  the  ground  is  moorish,  but  with  this  excep- 
tion the  parish  has  a  rich  soil  and  is  well  cultivated. 

Near  the  centre  of  the  parish  and  close  to  the  Teviot  is  the 
village  of  Roxburgh.  Here  there  is  a  station  on  the  N.  B. 
Railway,  and  a  junction  is  here  formed  with  the  Jedburgh 
branch,  which  here  strikes  off  along  the  north  side  of  the 
Teviot.  On  the  opposite  side  of  the  river,  at  the  distance  of 
about  a  mile,  is  the  village  of  Heiton.  Both  villages  are  en- 
tirely agricultural,  and  both  are  small.  Close  to  the  village  of 
Roxburgh  a  magnificent  and  lofty  viaduct  of  fourteen  arches 
carries  the  railway  across  the  Teviot.  Attached  to  the  viaduct 
and  near  the  water  level  is  a  free  foot  bridge,  which  has  su- 
perseded the  old  ferry  of  Roxburgh. 

The  only  mansion  houses  in  the  parish  are — Sunlaws,  near 
the  centre  of  the  parish,  a  handsome  Tudor  edifice  with  a 
lofty  tower,  the  residence  of  W.  Scott  Kerr,  Esq. ;  and  Fair- 
nington,  near  the  eastern  boundary,  the  residence  of  Henry 
Rutherfurd,  Esq.  The  gardens  and  grounds  of  Sunlaws  are 
laid  out  with  great  taste. 

At  the  north-eastern  extremity  of  the  parish  are  the  ruins 
of  Roxburgh  Castle,  once  the  most  important  stronghold  in 
the  south  of  Scotland  (see  p.  71).*    Close  to  the  village  of  Rox- 


*  A  beautiful  walk  by  the  eide  of  the  river  Teviot  leads  from  the  ancient 
caBtle  of  Roxburgh  to  the  village  which  now  bears  that  name.  The  distance 
is  about  two  miles;  and  in  summer  a  more  delightful  stroll  could  not 
be  found.  In  the  churchyard  of  the  village  is  the  grave  of  Andrew  Gem- 
mels,  the  original  of  Edie  Ochiltree,  the  "  Blue  gown"  of  Sir  "Walter 
Scott's  "  Antiquary."  The  place  is  marked  by  a  tombstone  bearing 
the  following  inscription: — Andrew  Gemmels,  alias  Edie  Ochiltree,  was 
interred  here ;  he  died  at  Roxburgh  Newtown  in  1793,  aged  106  years. 


193 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    ROXBURGH. PUBLIC    OFFICES,   ETC. TRADES — RESIDENTS. 


194 


burgh  are  the  remains  of  an  old  keep,  which  has  received  the 
name  of  Wallace's  Tower,  but  from  what  circumstance  is  not 
known.    Within  the  policy  of  Sunlaws,  overlooking  the  Teviot, 
are  several  artificial  caves,  supposed  to  be  over  1000  years  old. 

A  fine  stretch  of  the  Tweed  for  salmon  fishing  is  in  this 
parish,  the  greater  part  of  it  running  through  the  Duke  of 
Roxburghe's  property.     [See  paragraph  about  permission  to 
fish  in  the  Teviot  for  salmon  at  p.  73,  which  applies  to  this 
parish,  as  also  do  the  remarks  there  made  about  trout  fishing.] 

Kelso  is  the  nearest  market  towD,  and  is  distant  about  3 
miles  from  the  village  of  Roxburgh  and  2  from  Heiton, 

The  population  of  the  parish  in  1S61  was  1178,  consisting  of 
244  families,  205  of  whom  were  returned  as  living  in  houses  of 
one  and  two  windows. 

Assessed  property  in  1863-4,  £10,441 :  3 ;  8. 

The  principal  landed-proprietors  in  the  parish  are — the  Duke 
of  Roxburghe,  Sir  George  S.  Douglas,  Bart.,  W.  Scott  Kerr, 
Esq.  of  Sunlaws,  Henry  Rutherfurd,  Esq.  of  Fairnington,  the 
Merchant  Maiden   Hospital,   Edinburgh,   and   Sir  Edmund 
Antrobus,  bart.,  of  Stockstruther. 

Parochial  Board — Jas.  Roberton,  Esq.,  Ladyrig,  Chairman.  No. 
of  Poor  on  Roll,  37.  Rate  of  Assessment,  3£d.  per  £  ;  total  Col- 
lection for  1S<33,  £367.     Poor  House — Kelso  Union. 

Libraries — Roxburgh  —  Robert  C.  Maxwell,  Librarian.  Heiton — 
Miss  Sloan,  Librarian.     Fairuington — Mr.  Marshall,  Librarian. 

Work  Society — Mrs.  Lee,  Patroness. 

Conveyance — North  British  and  Jedburgh  Railways  at  Roxburgh — 
Station-master — John  Trotter. 

Carriers — Roxburgh  to  Kelso,  John  Fair,  Friday ;  Heiton  to  Kelso, 
Eckford,  and  Jedburgh,  Carriers  twice  a  week,  and  the  Post- 
Runner  daily. 

Corn  Mills— Heiton — «Robert  Hogarth.  Sunlaws — *Michael  Turn- 
bull. 

TRADES. 
Village  of  Roxburgh 
Aitken,  George,  smith 
Bell,  Kobert,  tailor 
Campbell,  John,  builder 
Hay,  James,  shoemaker 
Hogg,  Henry,  joiner 
Scott,  Alexander,  grocer 

Village  of  Heiton 
Affleck,  Robert,  tailor 
*Bruce,  Robert,  farmer 
Hay,  Thomas,  mason 
HerroD,  William,  tailor 
Quarry,  James,  smith 
Logan,  Peter,  grocer 
Med  Lion  Inn,  Alexander  Waugh 
Scott,  James,  grocer 
Sinclair,  John,  meal-dealer  and  grocer 
Tait,  William,  sen  ,  joiner 
Tait,  William,  jun.,  joiner 

Those  marked  thus  (*)  are  Registered  Voters. 

Resident  Justice  of  the  Peace— Wm.  Seott  Kerr,  Esq.  of  Sunlaws. 

Police  Offioer — William  Barnes,  Heiton. 

Post  Office— Heiton— John  Sinclair,  Postmaster.     Daily  Post  from 
Kelso  at  7  a.  m.  ;  despatch,  3. 30  p.  m.    Letters  are  delivered  daily  in 
Roxburgh,  Fairnington,  Rutherford,  etc.,  by  Michael  M'Ghee, 
rural  messenger.     Letters  should  be  addressed  by  Kelso  ;  goods 
to  Roxburgh  Station. 

Poblio  Offices — Registrar  of  Births,  Marriages,  and  Deaths — "Wil- 
liam Laidlaw,  Roxburgh. 

Heritors'  Clerk,  Kirk  Treasurer,  Inspector  of  Poor,  and  Session 
Clerk— Robert  C.  Maxwell,  Roxburgh. 

Medical  Officer  and  Public  Vaccinator — Dr.  Hamilton,  Kelso. 

Cleeot— Presbytery  of  Kelso,  Synod  of  Merse  and  Teviotdale.     Pa- 
tron— Duke  of  Roxburghe. 
Established  Church— «Rev.  William  Lee  (Inducted  1843).      Sit- 
tings, 400.     Average  attendance  at  Sabbath  Schools,  200. 

Fast  Days— Wednesday  before  the  first  Sunday  of  May  and  Nov. 

ScHOoLSt— Parochial  (Roxburgh)—  Robert  C.  Maxwell,  master ;  Miss 
Stuart,  teacher  of  sewing.     Average  attendance,  90. 
Heiton  Side  School — Miss  Sloan,  teacher.     Average  attend.,  95. 
General    Assembly's    School  (Fairnington)  — Patrick  Marshall, 
teacher.     Average  attendance,  43. 

RESIDENTS,  FARMERS,  &c,  IN  THE  PARISH. 

*Buckham,  George,  farmer,  Kersmains 

*Burn,  James,              do.,      Roxburgh  Newtown 

Dunlop,  Mrs.,  Roxburgh  Rig 
*Hubback,  Thomas,   do.,      Sunlawshill 

Innes,  James,  Cairnmount 

Logan,  Miss,  Roxburgh  Mill  House 

M'Lean,  Jas.,  factor  for  Sir  E.  Antrobus,  Stockstruther 
"Mein,  Benjamin,  farmer,  Roxburgh  Barns 

Moffat,  John  (late  tutor),  Heiton 

Noble,  Thomas,  Floors  fisherman,  Daniel's  Den 

t  Number  of  children  in  the  parish  between  5  and  15  years  of  age  at- 
tending school  during  the  first  week  of  April  1861,  199  ;  of  all  ages,  222. 

195 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    ROXBURGH. — COUNTY    FAMILIES,   ETC  — ANCRUM. 


196 


*Roberton,  James,  farmer,  Ladyrig 
*Simson,  James,       do.,      Trows 
•Thomson,  Jas.  S.    do.,      Over  Roxburgh 
•Thomson,  Willm.,  do.,  do. 

•Thomson,  And.,      do.,      Whitehillfoot 
Wemyss,  Alexander,  land-steward,  S unlaws 


REGISTERED  VOTERS  (Non-Resident). 

Dickson,  Sir  William,  of  Sydenham,  Bart. 
Dunn,  William,  Redden 
Hubback,  Joseph,  merchant,  Liverpool 
Logan,  Abraham,  farmer,  Hassington  Mains 
Waugh,  John,  Langshaw 


SEATS,  &o.  OF  COUNTY  FAMILIES  IN  THE  PARISH. 

8UNLAWS. 
The  residence  of  William  Scott  Kerr,  Esq.,  of  Chatto  and 
Sunlaws,  only  son  of  the  late  Robert  Scott  Kerr,  Esq.;  born 
1807;  succeeded  1831;  married  (first),  1837,  Hannah  Char- 
lotte, only  daughter  and  heiress  of  Henry  Scott,  Esq.,  and 
widow  of  Sir  John  James  Douglas,  Bart,  of  Springwood  ;  and 
had  issue  a  daughter  (now  Mrs.  Ramsay).  Lady  Douglas  died 
1850.  Mr.  Scott  Kerr  married  (second),  1855,  Frances  Louisa, 
daughter  of  Robert  Fennessy,  Esq.,  of  Belford,  and  has,  with 
other  issue,  Robert,  born  1859. 

Mr.  Scott  Kerr,  who  is  a  Justice  of  the  Peace  and  Deputy- 
Lieutenant  for  Roxburghshire,  is  descended  from  the  Scotts  of 
Thirleston, 

PAIRNINGTON. 

The  property  of  Henry  Rutherfurd,  Esq.,  Bamster-at-Law,  of 
the  Middle  Temple,  London ;  born  19th  January  1831 ;  suc- 
ceeded his  father,  the  late  Thomas  Rutherfurd,  Esq.,  in  1863. 
Occupied  by  *John  Munro,  farmer. 

Mr.  Rutherfurd,  who  is  a  Justice  of  Peace  for  Roxburgh- 
shire, is  descended  in  the  male  line  from  the  Rutherfurds  of 
that  Ilk  and  Edgerston — of  which  family  he  is  now  the  repre- 
sentative. 

FAIRNINGTON   COTTAGE. 
On  the  Fairnington  estate — the  residence  of  Mrs.  Rutherfurd 
(widow  of  the  late  Thomas  Rutherfurd,  Esq.),  and  the  Misses 
Rutherfurd ;  and  the  occasional  residence  of  Henry  Ruther- 
furd, Esq  ,  the  proprietor. 


ANCRUM. 


This  is  an  entirely  agricultural  parish,  delightfully  situated  on 
the  north  bank  of  the  river  Teviot,  and  completely  intersected 
by  Ale  water.  It  is  about  six  miles  in  length,  and  four  in 
breadth ;  and  contains,  according  to  the  Ordnance  Surve 
measurements,  10,389  acres,  of  which  10,102  are  land,  93  water, 
131  public  roads,  25  private  roads,  and  37  occupied  by  railway. 

The  appearance  of  the  parish  is  romantic  and  picturesque  in 
a  very  high  degree.  Although  there  are  no  hills  the  surface 
is  very  irregular,  breaking  out  into  considerable  eminences.  In 
the  southern  part  of  the  parish  the  soil  is  very  rich ;  and  gene- 
rally throughout  the  parish  it  is  good.  The  Teviot  and  Ale 
afford  capital  sport  to  the  angler,  both  for  salmon  and  trout. 
Angling  accommodation  can  be  had  in  the  village,  for  which 
it  affords  a  good  centre.  Otters  numerously  frequent  the 
streams  of  the  parish,  and  are  often  hunted. 

The  somewhat  decayed  looking  village  of  Ancrum,  from 
which  the  parish  takes  its  name,  is  pleasantly  situated  on  the 
south  side  of  Ale  water,  about  a  mile  from  its  confluence  with 
the  Teviot.  In  the  middle  of  the  village  green  stands  the  ruins 
of  the  Cross — supposed  to  have  been  originally  surmounted  by 
the  Arms  of  Scotland.  There  are  three  mansions  in  the  parish 
— all  worthy  of  special  notice — the  proprietors  of  which  are 
all  resident. 

Ancrum  House,  the  seat  of  Sir  William  Scott,  Bart.,  M.P., 
is  a  fine  old  baronial  looking  mansion,  standing  in  the  midst  of 
an  extensive  park, ' '  attractive  with  spots  of  verdant  lawn,  craggy 
knolls,  and  scattered  trees,  some  of  which  are  the  finest  in  the 
south  of  Scotland,  and  whose  picturesque  effect  is  much  in- 
creased by  the  additional  beauty  of  a  numerous  herd  of  deer." 
Chesters,  the  residence  of  William  Ogilvie,  Esq.,  is  a  large 
and  handsome  building,  erected  over  sixty  years  ago,  and  de- 
lightfully situated  on  the  banks  of  the  Teviot.  Kirklands, 
the  seat  of  John  Richardson,  Esq.,  occupies  a  most  romantic 
position  on  a  wooded  height  over  the  water  of  Ale.  This 
is  a  modern  house  in  the  Tudor  style  of  architecture. 

On  the  grounds  opposite  to  Ancrum  House,  and  for  a  con- 
siderable way  up  the  Ale,  are  to  be  seen  various  caves,  amount- 
ing in  all  to  fifteen,  hewn  out  of  the  rocky  banks  of  the  river; 
many  of  them  must  have  been  used  as  places  of  concealment, 
being  not  only  extremely  difficult  of  discovery  and  access,  but 


197 


.ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    ANCRUM. POST    OFFICE PUBLIC    OFFICES — CLERGY ETC. 


198 


having  been  provided  with  fire  places,  with  apertures  in  the 
roof  to  carry  off  the  smoke,  and  commanding  a  plentiful  supply 
of  water  ;  one  of  them  is  known  as  Thomson's  cave,  from  its 
having  been  a  favourite  retreat  of  the  author  of  the  "  Seasons," 
when,  he  was  a  frequent  inmate  at  the  manse  of  Ancrum  during 
the  incumbency  of  his  friend  Mr.  Cranston.  About  a  mile  and 
half  to  the  north  of  the  village  is  the  scene  of  the  battle  of 
Ancrum  Moor,  now  best  remembered  in  connection  with  the 
death  of  "Maid  Lilliard  ;"  there,  in  honour  of  her  memory, 
and  marking  the  spot  where  she  fought  and  fell,  has  been 
raised  a  monument.*  The  locality  is  known  also  by  the  name 
of  Lilliard's  Edge. 

The  nearest  market  and  post  town  is  Jedburgh ,  about  4  miles 
distant  from  the  village  ;  and  the  nearest  railway  stations  are 
Nisbet  and  Jedfoot,  each  about  2  miles  off,  on  the  Jedburgh 
branch  of  the  North  British  Railway.  The  Hawick  line  of  the 
North  British  intersects  the  western  portion  of  the  parish,  and 
has  a  Btation  at  New  Belses,  over  three  miles  from  the  village. 

In  the  north-western  part  of  the  parish  is  the  hamlet 
of  LoNGNEWTON,f  which  once  formed  a  chapelry  for  the 
barony  of  Longnewton.  Of  the  church  there  are  now  no  re- 
mains, but  the  burying  ground  is  still  made  use  of  by  some  of 
the  inhabitants  of  the  locality. 

Population  of  the  village  in  1861,  538;  of  the  entire  parish, 
1511,  who  composed  322  separate  families;  7  of  whom  were 
returned  as  living  in  houses  having  no  windows,  153  in  houses 
of  one  window,  and  86  in  houses  of  two  windows. 

Assessed  property  in  1863-4,  £12,498  :  17. 

The  principal  proprietors  non-resident  are  Sir  George  H.  S. 
Douglas,  Bart,  of  Sprin%wood  Park  (proprietor  of  the  Long- 
newton barony),  the  Duke  of  Eoxburghe,  the  Earl  of  Minto, 
the  Trustees  of  the  late  Honourable  John  Elliot  of  Belses, 
Marquis  of  Lothian,  and  the  Trustees  of  the  late  Roderick 
M'Kenzie,  Esq.  of  Pinnacle. 


Those  marked  thus  (*)  are  Registered  Voters. 

RESIDENT  JUSTICES  OF  THE  PEACE. 

Sir  William  Scott,  Bart,  of  Ancrum;  William  Ogilvie,  Esq.  of 

Chesters  ;  and  John  Richardson,  Esq.  of  The  KirklaDds. 

Police  Officer — James  Ross,  Ancrum. 

*  The  monument  bears  the  following  inscription : — 

Fair  Maiden  Lilliard  lies  under  this  stane, 

Little  waB  her  stature,  but  great  was  her  fame ; 

Upon  the  English  loons  Bhe  laid  mony  thumps, 

And  when  her  legs  were  cutten  off  she  fought  upon  her  stumps, 
t  John  Younger,  the  celebrated  angler  of  St  Boswell's,  was  a  native 
of  Longnewton. 


POST  OFFICE. 

Robert  Turnbull,  postmaster 

Arrivals  from  Jedburgh,  7-30  a.m.  and  12-20  p.m.  Departures  to,  8-15 
a.m.  and  2-35  p.m.  Alexander  Grierson,  messenger;  William 
Riddell,  country  messenger. 

Letters  for  the  locality  of  Longnewton  are  forwarded  by  Newtown 
St  Boswell's  (see  p.  147).  Arrival  and  despatch  about  noon.  James 
Thomson,  messenger. 


PUBLIC  OFFICES. 

Heritors'  Clerk,  Inspector  of  Poor,  and  Registrar  of  Births,  Mar- 
riages, and  Deaths — Alexander  Gr.  Catto. 

Medical  Officer  and  Public  Vaccinator — Jas.  Falla,  surgeon,  Jedburgh. 


CLERGY,  &c. 

Presbytery  of  Jedburgh,  Synod  of  Merse  and  Teviotdale. 
Patron— Sir  William  Scott,  Bart. 

Established  Church— *Rev.  John  Paton  (inducted  1832).    Sittings, 
$20.     Average  attendance  at  Sabbath  School,  50. 

Free  Church — Rev.   Mr.   Rattary  (Inducted  1864).     Sittings,  330. 
Average  attendance  at  Sabbath  School,  40. 

Fast  Days — Thursday  before  last  Sabbaths  of  January  and  July. 


SCHOOLS,  t 

Parish — *  Alexander  G.  Catto,  master.    Average  attendance,  120. 
Auxiliary  (Longnewton) — Supported  by  Sir  G.  H.  S.  Douglas,  Bart. 

William  Readman,  teacher.     Average  attendance,  75. 
Private  School — Mrs.  Phaup,  Ancrum. 


PAROCHIAL  BOARD. 


Chairman Otto,  Esq.,  factor  to  the  Marquis  of  Lothian. 

No.  of  Poor  on  Roll  33. 

Rate  of  Assessment,  3£d.  per  £ ;  total  Assessment  for  1863-4,  £320. 

Poor-House — Jedburgh  Union. 


f  Children  in  the  parish  attending  Bchool  from  5  to  15,  during  the  first 
week  of  April  1861,  291 ;  of  all  ages,  325. 


199 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    ANCRUM. SOCIETIES,    ETC. — TRADES RESIDENTS. 


200 


MORTIFICATION. 

Mr.  James  Craig,  schoolmaster  of  Thrybergh,  in  the  West  Riding 
of  the  county  of  York,  by  his  will  and  testament  dated  30th  Novem- 
ber 1799,  and  subsequently  on  the  18th  April  1811,  bequeathed  the 
sum  of  £160  for  the  education  of  eight  poor  legitimate  boys  at  the 
parish  school  established  at  Nether  Ancrum,  for  the  term  of  three 
years,  each  commencing  at  the  age  of  seven  years  ;  such  children  to 
be  nominated  from  time  to  time  by  the  minister  of  the  parish  for 
the  time  being. 

Learmonth,  James,  flesher 
Mabon,  William,  blacksmith 
Oliver,  Jane,  grocer 
Scott,  Thomas,  joiner 
Scott,  William,  joiner 
Smith,  Peter,  tailor 
Temple,  George,  grocer 
■"Thomson,  James,  portioner  aDd  church  officer 
Turnbull,  Archibald,  grocer 

SOCIETIES,  &c. 

Mechanics'  Institute — H.  W.  Scott,  Esq.,  President;  John  Clark, 
Secretary;  "Win.  Mabon,  Treasurer;  Robt.  Turnbull,  Librarian. 
400  vols.     Subscription,  2s.  per  annum. 

Horticultural  Society — Henry  Scott  (Saw  Mills),  Preses.     Com- 
petitions, first  Saturdays  of  July  and  September. 

Total  Abstinence  Society — George  Fiddes,  Secretary. 

Crow  Clue — Sir' "William  Scott  of  Ancrum,  Bart.,    M.P.,   Patron; 
William  Scott,  yr.  of  Ancrum,  President;  James  Dodd,  Moss- 
burnford,  Vice-President ;  James  Cumming,  Banker,  Jedburgh, 
Secretary  and  Treasurer. 

Insurance  Agent — Life  Association  of  Scotland,  and  Scottish  Union 
Fire— Alex.  G.  Catto. 

Carriers — Jedburgh,  Belscs,  Melrose,  and  Selkirk — James  David- 
son, Tuesday,  Thursday,  Friday,  and  Saturday ;  Jedburgh  and 
Jedfoot — Alexander  Grierson,  post-runner,  twice  a  day. 

Corn  Mills — Ancrum — "Andrew  Purves.    Belses — T,  Oliver.    Long- 
newton — David  Porter.    Nether  Ancrum — Robert  Scott. 

Ancrum  Saw  Mill — Henry  Scott,  wood  merchant. 

Turnbull,  James,  tailor 
Turnbull,  Robert,  shoemaker 
*Turnbull,  Walter,  mason 
"Turner,  Thomas,  flesher 

Longnewton. 

Mill,  John,  blacksmith 
White,  John,  joiner 

RESIDENTS,  FARMERS,  &c. 

Elythe,  James,  farmer 
"Carmichuel,  George  R.,  farmer,  Longnewton  Place 
"Church,  Alexander,            do.,      Pinnacle 

Clephane,  Peter,  gardener,  Kirklands 

Davidson,  J.  S.,  M.D  ,  R.N.,  of  Aln  Bank 
"Davidson,  Thomas,  farmer,  Ancrum  West  Mains 
"Davidson,  W.  S.,  Victoria  Cottage 
"Faickney,  James,  Ancrum 
"Gladstone,  Andrew,  Bloomfield 

Gowanlock,              Standhills 
"Horsburgh,  John,  farmer,  Chesters  Grange 
"Hume,  John,             do.,     Broom 
"Ingram,  William,      do.,     Copland 
"Little,  John,              do.,     Old  Belses 
"Mills,  George,             do.,      Greenend 
"Mills,  William,           do.,      Herrietsfield 

M'Queen,  Peter,  gardener,  Chesters 
"Murdie,  Andrew,  farmer,  Whitehouse 
"Porter,  David,           do.,     Longnewton  Mill 
"Pringle,  Thomas,     do.,     Belses  Muir. 

Rae,  Andrew,  Chesters  Craig 

Renton,  William,  farmer,  Palacehill 
"Robson,  Archibald,  of  Ashieburn 
"Rutherford,  Andrew,  farmer,  Barnhills 
"Rutherford,  Thomas,  farmer,  Sandystanes 
"Rutherford,  William,   do.,            do. 

Rutherford,  Walter,  of  Ancrum  Crag 

TRADES. 
Ancrum. 

Aimers,  Anthony,  cooper. 

*Bearhope,  Andrew,  joiner. 
Bell  &  Co.,  shoemakers 
Black,  Georse,  grocer 
Commercial  Inn,  Jessie  Ford 
Cross  Keys  Inn — John  Gray 
Fiddes,  George,  blacksmith 
Gordon,  Douglas,  tailor 
Hardie,  George,  shoemaker 
Hogg,  George,  baker  and  grocer 

"Kennedy,  James,  tailor 

201 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    ANCROf. SEATS — ETC. 


20-2 


Scott,  James,  farmer,  Lilliard's  Edge 

Scott,  John,      do.,      Howden 
♦Scott,  Thomas,  do.,      Furlongs 

Stewart,  Alexander  F.,  Rawflat 
♦Stodart,  Thomas,  farmer,  Ancrum  Woodhead 
*Thomson,  George,  farmer,  Hopton 

*  rurnbull,  James,        do,    Chesterhall 

Weaver,  James,  forrester  to  the  Marquis  of  Lothian,  Bridge- 
End. 

*  Wilson,  James,  farmer,  Belses  Quarry 
Wyld,  John,        do.,      New  Btlses 


SEATS,  &c.  OF  COUNTY  FAMILIES  IN  THE  PARISH. 

ANCK.C5I   HOUSE. 

The  residence  of  Sir  William  Scott,  Bart.;  born  26th  July 
1803;  succeeded  as  6th  baronet  18H;  married,  1826,  Elizabeth, 
daughter  of  David  Anderson,  Esq.  of  Balgay,  Forfarshire,  and 
has  issue : — 

William  Monteith,  born  1S29,  who  married,  1861,  Amelia 
Murray,  eldest  daughter  of  General  Monteith  Douglas  of  Stone- 
byres,  in  Lanarkshire. 

John,  captain,  Scots  Fusilier  Guards,  who  died  10th  Feb. 
1859. 

♦Henry  Warren,  horn  1S33. 

♦Arthur,  born  1835. 

Three  daughters — Elizabeth,  Harriet,  and  Louisa. 

Sir  William  Scott  is  a  Justice  of  Peace  and  Dep. -Lieutenant 
for  Roxburghshire,  and  is  Member  of  Parliament  for  the  same 
county,  a  Magistrate  for  Forfarshire ;  and  was  formerly  an 
officer  in  the  2d  Life  Guards. 

William  Monteith  Scott,  younger,  is  Captain  of  the  Jed- 
burgh Corps  of  Rifle  Volunteers. 

Other  residences — Balgay,  near  Dundee  (occupied  by  Henry 
W.  Scott,  Esq.).  London  address— Brooks'  and  Travellers' 
Club,  S.W. 

KIRKLANDS. 

The  property  of  the  Trustees  of  the  late  John  Richardson,  Esq., 
of  Kirklands  (who  died  1864);  factor  for  the  estate — George 
Rutherford,  Esq.,  The  Scaurs,  Jedburgh.— See  next  column. 


CHESTEE9. 

The  residence   of  *  William  Ogilvie,  Esq.;  born  1785;   suc- 
ceeded 1831,  his  father,  the  late  Thomas  Elliot  Ogilvie,  Esq. ; 


married,  1818,  Alexina,  daugter  of  Alexander  Falconar,  Esq. 
of  Woodcot  Park,  East  Lothian,  and  has,  with  other  issue — 

♦Thomas  Elliot,  yr.  of  Chesters,  born  1821. 
♦William  Falconer,  late  captain  69th  Regiment  B.N. I.,  33 
Chepstow  Place,  London. 
♦Alexander,  resident  at  Chesters. 
George,  resident  at  Holefield. 
P'rancis  Dashwood,  in  India. 
And  a  daughter — Alexina. 

Mr.  Ogilvie  was  called  to  the  Scottish  bar  in  1808,  is  a  Justice 
of  Peace  and  Deputy-Lieutenant  for  Roxburghshire,  Lord  of 
the  Manor  of  Chesters,  and  Chamberlain  to  the  Duke  of  Buc- 
cleuch,  for  the  estates  of  His  Grace  in  the  district — that  office 
having  been  in  Mr.  Ogilvie's  family  for  over  one  hundred 
years.  Mr.  Ogilvie  was  formerly  Myor  of  the  Dumfries 
Militia. 

Chamberlain's  residence — Branxholm,  near  Hawick. 


REGISTERED  VOTERS  (Non-Resident). 


Hay,  Sir  Adam,  of  Haystone 
Hay,  Lieut.-Gen.  C.  Murray 
Home,  Donald,  Athole  Crescent, 

Edinburgh 
Ogilvie,  Alexander,  Chesters 
Potts,     William,     merchant,     17 

Downie  Place,  Edinburgh 
Pm-ves,John,  Kittyfield,  Melrose 


Romanes,  Robert,  writer,  Lander 
Scott,  Geo.,  wright,  Bonjedward 
Scott,  Aurthur,  Major  5th  foot 
Scott,  Captain  "W.  Monteith 
Scott,  H.  W.,  Balgay 
Smith,  P.,  land-steward,  England 
Thomson,  Andrew,  late  70  Abbey 
Hill,  Edinburgh 


KIRKLANDS. 

[See  preceding  column.)  Presently  occupied  by  William  Mon- 
;teith  Scott,  Esq.,  yr.  of  Ancrum;  married,  1861,  AmelialMur- 
ray,  eldest  daughter  of  General  Sir  Thomas  Monteith  Douglas, 
of  Stonebyres,  Lanarkshire,  K.C.B.  ;  and  has  issue — 

William  Michael  Augustus,  bora  July  1865  ;*  and  a.daughter, 
Constance-Emily. 


Lineal  descendant  of  Michael  Scott  the  Wizard— see  pp.  70,  374,  SDK. 
202. 


203 


EOXBURGHSHIEE  :    SOUTHDEAN. — INTRODUCTORY   REMARKS — PUBLIC   OFFICES — ETC. 


204 


SOUTHDEAN. 


A  large  irregularly  shaped  parish  in  the  southern  part  of 
Teviotdale.*  Its  boundaries  are  Jedburgh  on  the  north,  Oxnam 
and  Jedburgh  on  the  east,  Castleton  and  the  county  of  North- 
umberland on  the  south,  and  Hobkirk  on  the  west.  The  area, 
according  to  the  Ordnance  Survey,  is  27,983J  acres,  of  which 
nearly  104  are  in  roads — the  turnpike  roads  irom  Hawick  and 
Jedburgh  for  the  south,  traversing  the  parish — and  55  are 
under  water. 

The  southern  and  south-eastern  parts  of  the  parish  are  wild 
and  mountainous,  including  some  of  the  Cheviot  range  of  hills. 
The  principal  heights  are — Carter  Fell,  1815  feet;  Carlintooth 
Fell,  1802  feet;  Peel  Fell,  1964  feet;  and  Wolflee  Hill,  1250 
feet.  The  more  northern  part  of  the  parish  is  also  hilly,  but 
in  the  centre  the  ground  is  more  level.  A  considerable  part 
is  under  cultivation,  but  the  bulk  of  the  parish  is  pastoral. 
From  the  Carter  and  one  or  two  more  of  the  high  fells  in  this 
locality  rise  the  rivers  Tyne,  Liddal,  Jed,  Rule,  and  Reed. 

The  Jed  and  several  of  its  tributaries  take  their  rise  among 
the  hills  in  the  southern  district,  and  the  Rule  bounds  the  pa- 
rish to  the  west,  and  some  of  its  sources  are  also  in  the  parish. 
The  trouting  in  both  is  good  and  unrestricted,  and  is  best  with 
the  worm  ;  the  scenery  of  both  streams  is  romantic,  and  they 
have  interesting  associations — (see  Hopekirk). 

Both  the  Jed  and  the  Rule  in  this  locality  are  much  fre- 
quented by  otters.  In  many  of  the  districts  of  Teviotdale  this 
species  of  game  has  greatly  increased  of  late  years. 

There  are  still  in  existence  the  ruins  of  several  towers,  or 
peels  ;  and  also  traces  of  ancient  encampments. 

A  little  north  of  the  middle  of  the  parish  is  the  hamlet  of 
Chesters,  in  which  the  parish  church  and  school  are  situated. 
Several  of  the  residents  occupy  small  farms,  held  of  the  Countess 
of  Home;  but  the  village  has  greatly  decreased  in  popula- 
tion within  the  last  twenty  years.  In  the  manse  of  South- 
dean,  situated  on  the  banks  of  the  Jed,  nearly  a  mile  from  the 
village,  the  poet  Thomson  spent  most  of  his  youthful  days : 
and  underneath  a  thruch-stone  in  the  churchyard  at  Chesters, 
the  inscription  on  which  is  almost  wholly  obliterated   [but 

*  Soutbdean  follows  Castleton  and  Teviothead  as  the  third  largest 
parish  in  the  county. 


which  the  heritors  are  about  to  renew  in  a  marble  tablet],  rest 
the  ashes  of  the  poet's  father,  who  was  minister  of  the  parish — 
(see  Ednam  parish,  p.  178).  Chesters  is  the  only  village  in  the 
parish.  The  ruins  of  two  old  churches  exist — one  at  Southdean, 
whence  the  name  of  the  parish,  the  other  at  Abbotrule;  and 
there  is  a  churchyard  attached  to  each. 

The  nearest  market  town  is  Jedburgh,  about  8  miles  distant 
from  the  hamlet. 

Population  of  the  parish  in  1861,  687  (in  1851  it  was  845)  ; 
the  number  of  families  at  the  census  was  128 — one  of  whom 
lived  in  a  house  with  no  windows,  and  63  in  houses  of  one  and 
two  windows.     Assessed  property  in  1863-4,  £8922 :  3 : 3. 

The  principal  landed-proprietors  in  the  parish  are — Walter 
Elliot,  Esq.,  of  Wolflee ;  and  David  Henderson,  Esq.,  of 
Abbotrule — resident;  the  Countess  of  Home  (Hirsel,  Cold- 
stream), and  James  Robson  Scott  of  Ashtrees  (Belford,  More- 
battled — non-resident. 


Those  marked  thus  (*)  are  Registered  Voters. 

Resident  Justices  of  the  Peace — David  Henderson,  Esq.  of  Abbot- 
rule  ;  Walter  Elliot,  Esq.  of  Wolflee. 

Post  Office  —  School-house,  Chesters  —  Neil  Taylor,  postmaster. 
Letters  for  Glendouglas,  Baimkine,  Woodhouse,  Cleethaugh, 
Mervinslaw,  Wooplaw,  and  Letham,  should  be  addressed  by 
Jedburgh ;  all  others  by  Bonchester,  Hawick,  where  they  are 
taken  up  by  the  respective  runners. 

Publio  Offices — Registrar  of  Births,  Marriages,  and  Deaths,  Session 
Clerk  and  Kirk  Treasurer,  Heritors'  Clerk,  and  Inspector  of 
Poor — Neil  Taylor. 
Medical  Officer  and  Public  Vaccinator — Mr.  James  Falla,  surgeon, 
Jedburgh. 

Clergy — Presbytery  of  Jedburgh,  Synod  of  Merse  and  Teviotdale. 
Patrons — Crown,  and  Countess  of  Home. 
Established  Church — "Rev.  John  Mair  (Inducted  1847).     Sittings, 
200.    Average  attendance  at  Sabbath  School,  50. 
Wolflee  Free  Church — see  Hopekirk  parish. 
Fast  Day — Thursday  before  the  second  Sabbath  of  June. 

Schools! — Parochial — "Neil  Taylor,  master  ;  average  attend.,  65. 
Subscription— (Glendouglas) — Thos.  Turnbull,  teacher;  average 
attendance,  80. 
Parochial  Board— Walter  Elliot,  Esq.  of  Wolflee,  Chairman.    No. 
of  Poor  on  Roll,  5.    Rate  of  Assessment,  Id.  per  £  ;  total  Assess- 
ment, 1S63-4,  £73,  4s.    Poor  House — Jedburgh  Union. 


+  The  number  of  children  in  the  parish  between  5  and  15,  attending 
school  during  the  first  week  of  April  1861,  was  139 ;  of  all  ages,  142. 


205 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    SOUTHDEAN. TRADES RESIDENTS SEATS. 


206 


Library — Parish — School-room,  Chesters.    450  vols. 
Conveyance — North  British  Railway,  per  Hawick  and  Jedburgh. 
Carriers — Once  a  week  to  Jedburgh — see  Jedburgh  lists. 
Corn  Mill — *George  Bell,  miller  and  farmer. 

ABBOTRULE. 
Situated  on  a  tributary  of  the  Rule  Water,  toward  the  western 
boundary  of  the  parish  to  the  north — the  residence  of  *David 
Henderson,  Esq.,  and  of  his  brother  Charles. 

GLENDOr/GLA8. 

TRADES. 
Amos,  Gilbert,  joiner,  Chesters 

At  the  extreme  north  of  the  parish,  on  the  Jed — the  property 
of  the  Countess  of  Home ;  occupied  by  ♦Andrew  Scott,  Esq., 
factor  for  her  ladyship. 

Waugh,  John,  blacksmith,  do. 

Yule,  William  D.,  blacksmith,  Smailcleugh 

REGISTERED  VOTERS  (Non-Resident). 
Elliot,  Henry,  farmer,  Greenriver 

RESIDENTS,  FARMERS,  &c. 

♦Brown,  Thomas,  farmer,  Ruletownhead 
♦Common,  Andrew,  do.,    West  Shiels 
♦Davidson, Douglas,  do.,    Wooplaw 
♦Hymers,  Edward     do.,    Ashtrees 
*Mein,  Thomas,        do.,    BroomhiU 
♦Pringle,  Robt.  B.,    do.,     Bairnkine 
♦Pringle,  Jas.  H.,      do.,    Hyndleef 
♦Scott,  James,           do.,    Southdean  Glebe 
♦Scott,  Thomas,        do.,     Mervinslaw 
♦Telfer,  William,      do.,    Roundabouts 

Elliot,  Rev.  J.  E.,  rector  of  Whalton,  Northumberland 
Scott,  Charles,  farmer,  Wauehope 
Scott,  James  Robson,  of  Ashtrees,  Belford 
Tod,  Thomas,  advocate,  Edinburgh 

SEATS,  &c,  OF  COUNTY  FAMILIES  IN  THE  FARISH. 

■WOIFLEE. 

Situated  on  the  Rule  Water,  on  the  western  boundary  of  the 
parish  to  the  north,  and  opposite  to  Wauehope,  in   Hobkirk 

• 

parish — the  residence  of  ♦Walter  Elliot,  Esq. ;  born  1803;  suc- 
ceeded his  father,  the  late  James  Elliot,  Esq. ,  1855 ;  married, 
1839,  Maria  Dorothea,  eldest  daughter  of  Sir  David  Hunter 
Blair,  Bart,  of  Blairquhan,  Ayrshire,  and  has  issue : — 

James  Thomas  Spencer,  born  1845 ;  and  others. 

Mr.  Elliot  was  formerly  in  the  civil  service  of  the  H.E.I.C., 
and  senior  member  of  the  Council  of  Madras. 
London  address — Travellers'  Club,  S.W. 

t  In  Hyndlee  long  reBided  Mr.  James  Davidson,  supposed  to  be  one  of  the 
originals  of  Sir  Walter  Scott's  "  Dandy  Dinmont,"  and  the  proprietor  of 
the  famous  "  Mustard  "  and  "  Pepper  "  terriers.    To  this  day  foxes  are 
hunted  in  the  parish  as  described  in  the  fox-hunting  scene  in  "  Guy 
Mannering." — See  introductory  account  of  Castleton  parish. 

207 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    LILLIESLEAP. INTRODUCTORY   REMARKS — PUBLIC    OFFICES ETC. 


208 


LILLIESLEAF. 


This  parish  ia  situated  in  the  north-western  part  of  the  county, 
and  ia  about  6^  milea  in  length  and  2J  in  breadth.  It  is 
bounded  on  the  north  by  the  parishes  of  Selkirk  and  Bowden, 
on  the  east  by  Ancrum,  on  the  south  by  Minto,  and  on  the 
west  by  Ashkirk  and  Wilton.  The  total  area,  according  to 
the  Ordnance  Survey,  ia  nearly  G707§  acres,  4}  of  which  are 
occupied  by  the  railway,  61  by  roads,  and  nearly  35  by  water. 

"  There  are  several  elongated  eminencea  in  the  parish,  which 
generally  run  from  east  to  west  a  considerable  distance,  in  the 
form  of  ridge^  the  highest  rising  to  about  600  feet  above  the 
level  of  the  sea.  The  declivities  on  the  sides  of  these  ridgy  emi- 
nences are  fertile  and  well  cultivated.  There  are  also  rich 
valleys  and  gently  sloping  banks,  interspersed  with  thriving 
plantations  and  hedge  rows;"  but  beyond  its  agricultural 
beauty  the  parish  possesses  little  of  interest. 

The  Ale  water,  after  intersecting  the  parish,  forms  its  north- 
ern boundary  for  about  two  miles.  The  angling  in  this  river 
is  good,  and  the  trouts  are  of  a  good  size.  The  climate  of  the 
parish  generally  is  good. 

There  are  traces  throughout  the  parish,  but  more  especially 
in  the  village,  of  many  fortresses  or  peels,  some  of  them  of  con- 
siderable strength.  From  its  retired  situation,  Lilsly  (or  Lil- 
liesleaf)  Moor  was  the  resort  of  numerous  conventicles. 

In  the  northern  part  of  the  parish,  on  the  banks  of  the  Ale, 
is  the  thriving  agricultural  village  of  Lilliesleaf  ("  with  much 
taste  for  floriculture  "),  the  only  one  in  the  parish.  It  consists 
of  one  street,  which  coutains  some  very  handsome  houses  and 
shops.  There  are  no  markets  here  ;  the  nearest  market  towns 
from  the  village  are  Hawick  (8  miles),  Melrose  (7  miles),  and 
Selkirk  (6  miles).  The  nearest  railway  station  is  at  Belses,  3 
miles  distant  from  the  village  on  the  Hawick  line.  Goods  sent 
by  rail  should  be  addressed  to  Belses  station,  and  letters  by 
Selkirk. 

Population  of  the  village  in  1861,  325 ;  of  the  entire  parish, 
772,  who  compoaed  177  families;  65  of  whom  were  returned 
as  living  in  houses  of  one  window,  and  59  in  houses  of  two 
windows,  the  others  in  houses  of  three  and  more  windows. 

Assessed  property  in  1863-4,  £6923  :  16  :  3. 

The  principal  landed-proprietors  are — Mark  Sprot,  Esq.  of 
Riddell,  who  is  Superior  of  part  of  the  village ;   the  Earl  of 


Minto;  Lord  Polwarth  ;  William  Currie,  Esq.  (Linthill,  Bow- 
den) ;-G.  Hutton  Riddell,  Esq.;  Pettr  Pennycook,  Esq.; 
Trustees  of  the  late  John  G.  Stewart",  Esq.  (of  Hermiston), 
Cotfield;  John  C.  Scott,  Esq  ,  of  Satchels  (Sinton,  by  Hawick)  ; 
and  Archibald  Dickson,  Esq  ,  of  Greenhouse  (Bughtrig,  Ber- 
wickshire).    Except  Mr.  Sprot  all  are  non-resident. 


Those  marked  thus  (*)  are  Registered  Voters. 
Resident  Justice  op  the  Peace— Mark  Sprot,  Esq.,  of  Riddell. 
Police  Officer — James  Oliphant,  Lilliesleaf. 

Public  Offices — Registrar  of  Births,  Marriages,  and  Deaths,  Ses- 
sion Clerk,  Heritors'  Clerk,  and  Inspector  of  Poor — James  W. 
Mack  ay. 
Medical  Officer  and  Public  Vaccinator— H.  S.  Anderson,  M.D. 
Selkirk. 
Post  Office — Thomas Turnbull,  Postmaster.    Daily  Post  to  Selkirk. 
Arrival,  12  noon ;  Departure,  6.45  am.     Joseph  M'Gregor,  Mes- 
senger. 
Clergy — Presbytery  of  Selkirk,  Synod  of  Merse  and  Teviotdale.    Pa- 
tron— Duke  of  Roxburghe.f 
Established  Church— *Rev.  Adam  Gourlay  (Inducted  1842).    Sit- 
tings, 320.     Average  attendance  at  Sabbath  School,  28. 
United  Presbyterian  Church — *Rev.  William  Young  (Inducted 
1857).     Sittings,  350.     Average  attend,  at  Sabbath  School, 
Fast  Days — Wednesday  before  the  last  Sabbath  of  April  and  first 

Sabbath  of  November. 
Schools! — (Parochial)  *Jas.  West  Mackay,  master.    Av.  attend.,  105. 
Currie  Female  Sehool|| — Miss  Wilson,  teacher.     Av.  attend.,  55. 
Parochial  Board — Mark  Sprot,  Esq.,  Chairman.     No.  of  Poor  on 
Roll,  23.     Rate  of  Assessment,  3£d.  per  £ ;  total  Collection  for 
1863,  £161  :  5s.     Poor  Houses — Hawick  Combination. 
Libraries — The  Lilliesleaf  Library,  open  Wednesdays  and  Saturdays. 
T.  Turnbull,  Librarian.     1500  vols.     Annual  Subscription,  4s. 
Parish  Library— The  Minisfier,  Librarian.     600  vols.     Free. 
Total  Abstinence  Society — Joseph  Park,  President;  T.  Turnbull, 

Secretary  ;  William  Turnbull,  Treasurer. 
Conveyance — North  British  Railway,  Belses  station,  3  miles  distant. 


t  This  is  the  only  interest  the  Roxburghe  family  has  now  in  the  parish  ; 
formerly  they  were  a  large  landed-proprietors,  and  still  retain  the  church 
patronage. 

J  Children  in  the  parish  from  5  to  15  attending  school  during  the  first 
week  of  April  1861,  118 ;  of  all  ages,  125. 

II  William  Currie,  Esq.  of  Linthill,  who  died  in  1858,  bequeathed  a 
house  in  the  village,  and  money  to  put  it  in  proper  order  for  a  school  for 
girls,  a  house  for  the  teacher,  and  an  apartment  for  a  public  library. 
The  house  not  being  considered  worthy  of  repairs  was  taken  down  and  a 
neat,  substantial,  and  commodious  set  of  buildings  were  erected  for  these 
purposes— attached  to  which  are  a  play-ground  for  the  children,  and  a 
garden  for  the  teacher. 


209 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    LILLIESLEAF. — TRADES RESIDENTS ETC. 


210 


Insurance  Agent — Edinburgh  Life — Thomas  Turubull. 

Auctioneer — Robert  Scott. 

Corn  Mill— Riddell — Alexander  Lauder,  farmer. 

Carriers — Newtown,  James  Henry,  Monday  and  Thursday ;  Hawick, 
Thomas  Davidson,  Thursday ;  Selkirk,  Ancrum,  and  Jedburgh, 
James  Davidson,  Wednesday. 


TRADES  AND  RESIDENTS. 

Brown,  Robert,  tailor 

Burns,  William,  blacksmith 

Cavers,  William,  shoemaker 

Carrie,  George,  millwright 

Cross  Keys  Inn,  William  Maclvor 

Davidson,  Thomas,  grocer 

Fairgrieve,  John,  grocer 

Falla,  Mary,  grocer 

Goodfellow,  James,  grocer 

Graham,  David,  grocer 
*Gray,  Andrew,  portioner 
"Henry,  James,  grocer 

Irvine,  George,  gardener,  Linthill 

Ring,  Andrew,  joiner 

Law,  Ann,  grocer 
"Lunn,  John,  draper 

Manuel,  John,  blacksmith 
"Minto,  Andrew,  farmer 

Moodie,  William,  millwright 

Murray,  Alexander,  cattle  dealer 

Nichol,  William,  factor  for  Riddell  estate 

Oliver,  John,  flesher 

Ormiston,  Archibald,  shoemaker 
"Park,  Joseph,  shoemaker 

Plough  Inn,  Mrs.  Robson 
*Redford,  James,  farmer 

Redford,  William,  clothier 
"Riddell,  James,  carter 
"Riddell,  William,  joiner 
'Robinson,  Walter,  mole-catcher 
"Robson,  George 

Scott,  George,  cattle-dealer 

Steele,  Thomas,  mason 

Stirling,  Peter,  tailor 
"Turnbull,  Thomas,  saddler  and  ironmonger 

Walker,  George,  mason 

Wilson,  James  D.,  baker 


COUNTRY  RESIDENTS,  FARMERS,  &c. 

*Aitken,  William,  farmer,  Friershaw 

"Alexander,  George,  do.  Easter  Lilliesleaf 

"Brown,  Archibald,  do.  Craggs 

"Drummond,  Alex.,   do.  Bewlie 

*Dryden,  John,  do.  Firth 

*Dryden,  Robert,       do.  Firth 

*Elliot,  Andrew,     .   do.  Boose  Mill 

"Gourlay,  David  B.,  do.  Bewlie  Hill 

Gray,  John,  do.  Harlaw 

"Hislop,  Robert,        do.  Catshaw  Hill 

"Hislop,  William,      do.  Raperlaw 

"Henderson,  James,  do.  Netherraw 

"Horsburgh,  Alex.,    do.  Greenhouse 

Johnstone,  Willm.,  do.  Hillhead 

*Lambert,  Andrew,   do.  Clerklands 

"Lambert,  William,  do.  Clerklands 

"Oliver,  Andrew,       do.  Chapel 

"Oliver,  Thomas,       do.  Chapel 

"Orr,  Thomas,  do.  West  Riddell 

"Preston,  John,  do.  Middles 

"Redford,  John,         do.  Greenhill 

"Stewart  Francis,       do.  Hermiston 

Stewart,  John,  do.  Hermiston 

"Thomson,  Wm.,        do.  Bewlie  Mains 

Turner,  James,  gardener,  Riddell 
"Young,  Adam,  farmer,  Dunstone 


REGISTERED  VOTERS  (Non-Resident). 

Boyd,  Edward,  Esq.,  of  Merton  Hall 

Cathcart,  David,  Esq.,  Alloway 

Dodds,  Rev.  Andrew,  Avon  Bridge,  Falkirk 

Falla,  Robert,  builder,  Hassendean  Common 

Gray,  Peter,  farmer,  Hilton's  Hill,  St.  Boswell's 

Hogarth,  Robert,  Esq.,  Edinburgh 

Law,  Archibald,  St.  Boswell's 

Law,  Robert,  Gloster  House,  Banagher,  Ireland 

Martin,  John,  Ireland  Island,  Bermuda 

Matthewson,  John,  v. -surgeon,  Ashkirk 

Miller,  Boyd,  Esq.,  of  Clapham  Common 

Minto,  Andrew,  jun.,  Childknowe 

Scott,  Hon.  Francis  (late  M.P.  for  Berwickshire),  Sandhurst, 

Ripley,  Surrey 
Scott,  John  Corse,  Esq.,  of  Sinton,  Ashkirk 
Spott,  JameB,  Esq.,  Dunbar 


211 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    BOWDEN. — INTRODUCTORY    REMARKS. 


212 


Stoddart,  Captain  Pringle,  R.  N. 
Young,  William,  Lasswade 

BOWDEN. 

SEATS  OF  COUNTY  FAMILIES  IN  THE  PARISH. 

KIDDELL. 

Situated  a  mile  to  the  west  of  the  Tillage — the  property  and 
residence  of  *Mark  Sprot,  Esq.,  eldest  son  of  the  late  John 
Sprot,  Esq.,  who  purchased  the  estate  about  1820 ;  born  1802 ; 
married,   1829,  Elizabeth,  daughter  of  John  Shewell,  Esq. ; 
and  has,  with  other  issue,  a  son — John,  Captain  83d  Foot; 
born  1830. 

Mr.  Sprot  is  a  Deputy-Lieutenant  for  Roxburghshire,  a  Jus- 
tice of  the  Peace  for  Selkirk  and  Roxburgh  shires,  Lord  of 
the  Manor  of  Riddel],  and  Vice-President  of  the  North  Brit- 
ish Railway  Company. 

COTEFIELD 

At  the  southern  boundary  of  the  parish  on  the  Hassendean 
road — the  property  of  Mrs.  J.  G.  Stewart,  5  Arniston  Place, 
Newington,  Edinburgh;  present  occupant,  J.  C.  Macintosh, 
Esq.,  of  Manchester. 

A  highly  cultivated  and  very  fertile  agricultural  parish,  situ- 
ated to  the  south  of  the  Eildon  Hills,  one  of  them  being  in 
the  parish.  Bowden  is  bounded  on  the  north  by  Melrose,  on 
the  east  by  St.  Boswell's,  on  the  south  by  Lilliesleaf,  and  on  the 
west  by  Selkirk.  The  total  area,  according  to  the  Ordnance 
Survey,  is  over  7682  acres  ;  consisting  of  7588J  acrea  land,  15$ 
acres  water,  and  79  acres  public  roads. 

"  The  general  surface  of  the  parish  may  be  well  described  a9 
consisting  of  a  series  of  parallel  ridges,  lying  from  west  to  east, 
and  from  the  parallel  elevations  from  which  the  Eildon  Hills 
arise,  lessening  in  height  towards  the  south, — with  intermediate 
valleys  more  or  less  wide,  each  having  its  own  rill,  which  runs 
eastward  to  the  Tweed,  about  two  miles  distant  from  the 
middle  of  the  parish."  The  Eildon  hill  lying  within  the  pa- 
rish has  an  elevation  of  1216  feet.* 

The  climate  from  the  general  elevation  of  the  parish  is  cold, 
but  healthy.  The  height  of  the  village  of  Bowden  above  the 
level  of  the  sea  is  nearly  600  feet,  and  Bowden  Moor  over  900. 

There  are  two  villages  in  the  parish — Bowden,  close  to  the 
eastern  boundary  of  the  parish,  and  Midlem  (originally 
Midholm),  situated  more  in  the  centre.  Near  the  former 
village,  which  is  the  larger  of  the  two,  is  the  parish  church 
and  school.  In  the  centre  of  this  village  there  is  a  stone  cross 
— when  erected  is  unknown ;  and  a  handsome  fountain  with  a 
good  supply  of  water  has  lately  been  erected  for  the  convenience 
of  the  inhabitants.  The  church  of  Bowden  is  extremely  pret- 
tily placed.  Part  of  it  is  very  ancient,  but  a  new  front  wall, 
erected  last  century  with  common  windows,  mars  its  appear- 

ance. A  vault,  beneath  what  may  have  been  the  chancel, 
contains  the  remains  of  many  members  of  the  ducal  house  of 
Roxburghe,  one  of  whose  ancestors  acquired,  about  the  begin- 
ning of  the  sixteenth  century,  Holydean  in  this  parish,  where 
the  family  no  doubt  once  resided.  The  old  building,  which 
was  strongly  fortified,  is  now  in  ruins.  Some  remains  of  the 
stone  dike  of  the  great  deer  park  of  Holydean,  enclosing  about 
500  acres,  built  about  300  years  ago,  still  exist.  The  Cavers 
gallery  pew  in  the  church  is  a  curious  canopied  seat  of  a  very 

*  The  centre  and  east  hills  lying  within  Melrose  parish  have  eleva- 
tions of  1385  and  1327  feet. 

213 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    BOWDEN. PUBLIC    OFFICES,    ETC. TRADES. 


214 


antique  character,  with  the  family  arms  and  some  quaint  lines 
on  a  beam  underneath.  The  three  immense  ash  trees  which 
grew  in  the  churchyard  have  all  yielded  (the  last  only  lately) 
to  the  storms  which  for  ages  they  must  have  been  exposed  to. 
The  roots  and  small  portions  of  the  trunks  still,  however,  re- 
main, f 

The  nearest  market  towns  are' — Melrose,  about  3J  miles  dis- 
tant from  Bowden  by  the  turnpike  road  (a  nearer  road  to 
Melrose  for  foot-passengers  is  by  the  Eildon  Hills),  and  Sel- 
kirk, about  3  miles  from  Midlem. 

The  population  of  the  parish,  including  the  villages  of  Bowden 
and  Midlem,  in  1861,  was  864,  who  composed  206  families,  14 
of  whom  were  returned  as  living  in  houses  having  no  windows,! 
and  147  in  houses  of  one  and  two  windows. 

Assessed  property  in  1863-4,  £7543 :  17s. 

The  principal  landed-proprietors  in  the  parish  are — The 
Duke  of  Roxburghe,  the  Duke  of  Buccleuch,  Thomas  Kerr, 
Esq.,  of  Millrighall  (of  Craighouse,  EarMon),  Nicol  Milne, 
Esq.,  of  Faldonside,  Captain  Riddell,  of  Prieston,  John  Boyd, 
Esq.,  of  Maxpoffle,  George  ffm.  Hay,  Esq.,  of  Whiterigg, 
Mark  Sprot,  Esq.,  of  Riddell,  P.  Pennycook,  Esq.  of  Newhal], 
(Hallrule,  Hobkirk),  Walter  Riddell  Carre,  Esq.  of  Cavers 
Carre,  Rev.  John  Seton  Karr,  of  Kippilaw,  William  Currie, 
Esq.  of  Linthill,  William  Brunton,  Esq.  ol  Eastfield  (Ladhope 
House,  Galashiels),  Robert  G.  Thomson,  Esq.  of  Templehall 
(Rutherford,  Maxton). 

Superior  of  Bowden  and  Midlem— Duke  of  Roxburghe. 


Those  marked  thus  (*)  are  Registered  Voters. 

Resident  Justices  of  Peace — W.  Riddell  Carre,  Esq.,  of  Cavers 
Carre;  Thomas  Alexander  Riddell  Carre,  yr.,  of  Cavers  Carre. 

Police  Officer— James  Burnet,  St.  Boswell's. 

Public  Offices — Heritors'  Clerk,  Inspector  of  Poor,  and  Registrar  of 
Births,  Marriages,  and  Deaths — John  Dodds. 
Session  Clerk  and  Kirk  Treasurer — Thomas  Keen. 
Medical  Officers  and  Public  Vaccinators — Drs.   Anderson  and 
Ballantyne,  Selkirk. 

Post  Offioe  (Bowden,  by  Newtown,  for  the  northern  localities)— 

t  There  is  also  a  burial  place  in  the  churchyard  belonging  to  the 
estate  of  Midlem  Mill,  once  the  property  of  the  Elliots  of  Midlem 
Mill,  from  which  family  the  noble  house  of  Minto  springs.  It  is  now 
a  corn  mill  with  a  small  farm  attached.  In  former  times  it  was  a 
considerable  estate,  and  combined  with  what  was  then  called  "Union- 
hall,"  now  forms  the  modern  estate  of  Linthill. 

t  Railway  labourers  then  living  in  huts,  but  who  have  all  now  left 
the  palish. 


Mrs.  Grant,  postmistress.  Runner  (William  Rutherford)  twice 
a  day  to  Newtown,  St.  Boswell's.  Arrivals,  10-30  a.m.  and  6 
p.m. ;  Departures,  6-30  a.m.  and  3-15  p.m. 
Pillar  Box  (Midlem,  by  Selkirk,  for  the  southern  localities) — 
Letters  are  delivered  and  taken  up  daily  by  the  Runner 
(Joseph  M'Gregor)  to  Lilliesleaf  in  the  forenoon,  and  on  his 
return  to  Selkirk  in  the  afternoon. 

Clergy,  &c. — Presbytery  of  Selkirk,  Synod  of  Merse  and  Teviotdale. 
Patron — Duke  of  Roxburghe. 

Established  Church — "Rev.  James  M.  Allardyce,  M.A.  (Inducted 
1844).    Sittings,  400.    Average  attend,  at  Sabbath  School,  40. 

Free  Church — *Rev.  James  Pirie,  A.M.  (Inducted  1853).  Sit- 
tings,       .     Average  attendance  at  Sabbath  School, 

Original  Secession  Church  (Midlem) — Rev.  W.  F.  Aitken  (In- 
ducted 1S54).     Sittings,  100. 

Fast  Days — Thursday  before  last  Sabbath  in  June,  and  Thursday 
before  third  Sabbath  in  December. 

SoHOOLSf — Parochial  (Bowden) — "John  Dodds,  master ;  average  at- 
tendance, 70. 
Parochial  (Midlem) — Robt.  Nisbet,  teacher;  average  attend.,  55. 

Pahochial  Board — Hon.  Major  Baillie,  Dryburgh,  Chairman.  Ave- 
rage Rate  of  Assessment,  about  4d.  per  £ ;  total  Assessment 
1863,  £238  :  15s.    No.  of  Poor  on  Roll,  29. 

Mortifications — There  are  two  Mortifications  connected  with  this 
parish — one  of  £500,  for  the  poor,  known  as  "Mr.  Brunton's  Be- 
quest ; "  the  other  of  £75,  for  educational  purposes  :  the  origin 
of  this  latter  bequest  is  not  known. 

Conveyance — North  British  Railway  from  Newtown  Station,  li 
miles  distant  from  the  village  of  Bowden,  and  Selkirk,  3  miles 
from  Midlem. 

Carriers— George  Scott,  from  Bowden  to  Newtown  Station,  every 
lawful  day  except  Saturday,  when  he  goes  to  Selkirk.  John 
Aitchison,  from  Midlem  to  Selkirk,  Wednesday  and  Saturday. 

Corn  Mills — Bowden — William  Dodds,  farmer;  Midlem — Thomas 
Weir,  fanner. 


TRADES  AND  RESIDENTS. 
Bowden 


Bonnington  &  Wallace,  joiners 
Burn,  James,  blacksmith 
Grant,  Mrs.,  grocer 
^Grieve,  Robert,  mason 
Nicol,  James,  shoemaker 


t  Number  of  children  in  the  parish,  between  5  and  15  years  of  age 
attending  school  during  first  week  of  April  1861, 137 ;  of  all  ages,  138'. 


215 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    BOWDEN. — TRADES — RESIDENTS — SEATS. 


216 


*Scott,  Andrew,  portioner 

♦Suddens,  John,      do. 
Thomson,  Jean,  grocer 
Thomson,  Thomas,  tailor 

♦Wallace,  William,  joiner 
Wood,  Mrs.  C,  grocer 

Midhm 

Beattie,  Janet,  innkeeper 

Cochrane,  George,  farmer 
♦Dove,  James,  portioner 

Dove,  John,  shoemaker 

Gray,  William,  farmer 
♦Haldane,  William,  do. 

Harvie,  Andrew,  joiner 

Hume,  Walter,  tailor 
*Mabon,  John,  portioner 

Muir,  Mrs.,  do. 

♦Murray,  Andrew,  do. 

Ormiston,  James,  blacksmith 
♦Stenhouse,  John,  portioner 
*3word,  George,         do. 
*Sword,  James,  do. 


COUNTRY  RESIDENTS,  FARMERS,  &c. 

♦Ainslie,  James,  farmer,  Curling 
'Blaikie,  Andrew,  do.,     Holydean 
*  Brack,  George,      do.,     Houdshall 
♦Brack,  James,       do.,     Clarilaw  Moor 
♦Brodie,  Patrick,    do.,     Clarilaw 

Brunton,  John  (of  Hilton's  Hill,  St.  Boswell's),  Eastfield 

Dalgleish,  Walter,  farmer,  Bowden  Moor 

Dodds,  William,        do.,      Bowden  Mill 
♦Henderson,  John,     do.,       Millrighall 
♦Hislop,  John,  do.,      Friarshaw  Moor 

♦Jeffrey,  T.,  do.,       Shawburn 

Knox,  Mrs.  Chesterhall 
♦Little,  Andrew,  farmer,  Langside 

Lambert,  Miss,  Toftbarns 
♦Madder,  James,  farmer,  Faughhill 
♦Murray,  James,  Midlemburn 
♦Scott,  John,  farmer,  Newhall 

Scott,  Thomas,  do.,  Kersknowe 

Scott,  William,  blacksmith,  Clarilaw  Burn 
-Turnbull,  James,  farmer,  Prieston 
♦Turnbull,  William,  do.,        do. 


SEATS  OF  COUNTY  FAMILIES  IN  THE  PARISH. 

CAVEBS  CAEEE.f 

Situated  in  the  southern  part  of  the  parish — the  residence  of 
*  Walter  Riddell  Carre,  Esq.,  who  succeeded  to  the  property 
on  the  death  of  his  uncle,  Vice-Admiral  Carre  in  1860. 

Mr.  Riddell  Carre  married,  in  1830,  Elizabeth  Riddell,  only 
surviving  child  of  Lieut. -Col.  M'Lachlan,  of  the  10th  Regiment 
of  Foot,  descended  from  the  M'Lauchlans  of  FasBiefern,  and 
has  one  son — Thomas  Alexander,  late  H. EI. C.S.,  now  Captain 
and  Instructor  of  Musketry,  Ayrshire  and  Wigtonshire  Militia, 
and  Lieutenant  3rd  Roxburghshire  Volunteers. 

The  founder  of  the  family  (1524)  was  Ralph  Ker,  brotherjof 
Thomas,  abbot  of  Kelso,  and  the  renowned  Sir  Andrew  of 
Fernieherst,  whose  descendant,  Lord  Jedburgh,  changed  the 
orthography  to  Carre,  which  this  branch  adopted — one  of  its 
members  having  married  his  kinswoman,  Jane,  second  daugh- 
ter of  the  second  Lord  Jedburgh ;  and  her  son,  John  Carre  of 
Cavers,  became  heir  of  line  of  his  uncle  the  third  Lord  Jed- 
burgh, who  died  without  issue. 

Edinburgh  Address — New  Club. 


In  the  southern  portion  of  the  parish  and  near  to  the  village  of 
Lilliesleaf — the  property  of  William  Currie,J  Esq.,  of  Lintbill; 
at  present  occupied  by  Major  J.  P.  Briggs  and  family,  of  Her 
Majesty's  Army  of  India  (formerly  of  Fifeshire,  and  the 
author  of  "  Heathen  and  Holy  Lands,"  published  in  1859.) 

E.IPPILAW. 

Situated  in  the  centre  of  the  parish  towards  the  east — the  pro- 
perty of  the  Rev.  John  Seton  Karr|| ;  at  present  occupied  by 
♦Charles  Murray  Barstow,  Esq. 

f  The  postal  address  for  Cavers  Carre,  Linthill,  and  that  locality,  is— 
Lilliesleaf,  Selkirk. 

%  William  Currie,  Esq.,  only  surviving  son  of  the  late  William  Currie, 
EBq.  of  Linthill ;  horn  1831 ;  succeeded  1858.  Mr.  Currie  is  a  Justice  of 
Peace  for  Roxburghshire,  and  Lieutenant  in  the  Edinburgh  Queen's  Light 
Infantry  Militia.  Town  Addresses — United  Service  Club,  Edinburgh, 
and  Oriental  Club,  London. 

[|  Rev.  John  Seton  Karr  of  Kippilaw,  Roxburghshire,  eldest  son  of  the 
late  Andrew  Seton  Karr,  Esq.;  born  1813;  succeeded  1832;  married,  1S55, 
Anna,  daughter  of  Archibald  Douglas,  Esq.  of  Glenfinert,  Argyleshire, 
and  widow  of  Richard  Campbell,  Esq. 

Mr.  S.  Karr  is  a  Magistrate  for  the  county  of  Gloucester,  and  Vicar  of 
Berkeley,  in  the  same  county. 

Heir  Pres. — his  nephew  Andrew,  born  1849,  eldest  son  of  the  late 
George  Seton  Karr,  Esq.  of  the  Indian  Civil  Service. 


217 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    JIAXTON. INTRODUCTORY    REMARKS. 


218 


■\VHITERIGG. 


The  property  of  George  W.  Hay,  Esq.,  factor  for  Lord  Vernon, 
Sudbury;  occupied  by  *Richard  Stirling,  Esq.,  and  family 
(formerly  of  Australia). 


REGISTERED  VOTERS  (Non-Resident). 

Anderson,  Robert,  herd,  Old  Faldonside 

Cowan,  James,  farmer,  Whitmuir 

Currie,  'William,  of  Linthill,  Edinburgh 

Dalgleish,  John,  Scremerston,  Berwick 

Elliot,  James,  mason,  Riddell  Mill 

Falconer,  George,  Esq.,  yr.  of  Carlowrie 

Hay,  Geo.  W.,  Esq.,  Sudbury,  Derby 

Karr,  Rev.  John  Seton,  of  Kippilaw 

Ker,  Thomas  of  Craighouse,  Earlston 

Murray,  Rev.  William,  Melrose 

Paterson,  Robert,  merchant,  Edinburgh 

Pennycook,  Peter,  Esq.,  Hallrule,  Hobkirk 

Riddell,  G.  W.  Hutton,  Esq.  of  Muselee,  Capt.  16th  Lancers 

Robertson,  John,  forester,  Humbie 

Scott,  Gideon,  Singlee,  Selkirk 

Scott,  James  Mitchell,  tweed  merchant,  Galashiels 

Wight,  Rev.  George,  Whampray 


MAXTON. 


A  parish  entirely  agricultural,  and  situated  on  the  south 
bank  of  the  river  Tweed,  which  forms  its  northern  boundary 
throughout  its  entire  length.  Its  other  boundaries  are — St. 
Boswell's  and  Arcrum  on  the  west,  and  Roxburgh  on  the 
south  and  east.  It  is  of  an  oblong  figure,  and  is  about  4  miles 
long  and  If  broad.  Its  area,  according  to  the  Ordnance  Sur- 
vey, is  nearly  4494J  acres.  Of  this  about  36  are  occupied  by 
the  North  British  Railway,  71^  are  in  public  and  private  roads, 
and  72|  are  in  water. 

In  the  southern  part  of  the  parish  the  soil  is  thin,  but  pos- 
sesses at  Muirhouselaw  a  clay  of  excellent  quality  for  the 
manufacture  of  tiles  and  bricks.  In  the  northern  part  where 
it  gradually  slopes  down  to  the  Tweed,  the  soil  is  rich  and  well 
cultivated. 

The  salmon  fishings  on  the  Tweed  in  this  parish  are  very 
valuable.  They  belong  to  Lord  Polwarth  of  Mertoun,  Miss 
Ramsay  of  Maxton  Cottage,  and  Sir  Edmund  Antrobus  of 
Rutherford.  The  Rutherford  salmon  fishings  contain  some  ex- 
cellent casts.  Trout  fishing  is  restricted  in  some  parts  of  the 
parish. 

The  village  of  Maxton,  situated  on  the  turnpike  road  from 
Melrose  to  Kelso,  is  the  only  one  in  the  parish.  Although  at 
one  time  the  village  seems  to  have  been  a  very  considerable 
place,  it  now  possesses  no  features  of  interest,  except  the 
remains  of  a  cross  standing  in  front  of  the  smithy.  A  short 
distance  from  the  village  there  is  a  station  on  the  North  British 
Railway,  and  at  Rutherford,  in  the  north-eastern  extremity  of 
the  parish,  is  another. 

The  school-house  is  situated  about  a  mile  below  the  village, 
as  being  more  central  for  the  parish  generally  Near  to  it  is 
the  ruin  of  Littledean  Tower,  formerly  a  place  of  note,  and 
long  possessed  by  the  Kers  of  Littledean  and  Nenthorn — a 
branch  of  the  Roxburghe  family.  The  situation  is  very  pretty, 
and  near  to  the  river ;  it  is  now  the  property  of  Lord  Polwarth. 
There  is  also  a  circular  camp,  almost  entire,  defended  by  a 
triple  rampart,  on  the  bank  of  the  Tweed,  at  the  north-east 
extremity  of  the  parish — an  outpost  probably  of  a  larger  camp 
which  existed  in  the  large  field  opposite,  and  now  entirely 
obliterated  by  the  plough ;  but  the  tower  is  the  only  place  of 
real  interest  in  the  parish. 


219 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    MAXTON. rUBLIC    OFFICES CLERGY,    ETC. DIRECTORY. 


220 


The  nearest  market  towns  are — Kelso,  Jedburgh,  and  Mel- 
rose— all  about  7  miles  from  the  centre  of  the  parish.   The  post 
town  for  the  village  of  Maxton  is  Newtown,  St.  Boswell's ; 
for  Rutherford  Mains  and  that  locality — K.el60.      Goods  for 
the  village  should  be  addressed  by  Maxton  station. 

Population  of  the  parish  in  1861,  497,  comprising  95  separate 
families,  53  of  whom  were  returned  as  living  in  houses  of  one 
and  two  windows. 

Assessed  property  in  1863-4,  £5431 :  4s,  exclusive  of  the  North 
British  Railway. 

The  principal  landed-proprietors  in  the  parish  are — the  Duke 
of  Roxburghe,   Lord   Polwarth,    Sir    Edmund  Antrobus   of 

Mortification — The  Rev.  Robert  Edgar,  a  former  minister  of  the 
parish,  bequeathed,  in  1714,  the  sum  of  £70,  which,  with  some 
addition  by  the  kirk-session,  is  invested  in  the  stock  of  the  Na- 
tional Bank  of  Scotland.     The  dividend  (amounting  last  year  to 
£4 : 6 : 8)  is  for  the  benefit  of  the  "Godly  puir,  etc." 

Conveyance — By  North  British  Railway,  Maxton  Station ;  George 
Anderson,  station-master.      Rutherford  Station — John  Pagan, 
station-master. 

Carrier — Robert  Clark,  St.  Boswell's,  passes  every  Friday  for  Kelso. 

Mill,  &c. — Rutherford — Corn — "Adam  Ormiston,  miller  and  cattle 
dealer.    Muirhouselaw  Tileworks — William  Dodds. 

Rutherford  (146  Piccadilly,  London),  John  Ord,  Esq.  of  Muir- 
houselaw   (Upper  Nisbet),  and  Miss  'Williamson  Ramsay  of 
Maxton  Cottage  (St.  Boswell's  parish) — none  of  whom  are 
resident. 

TRADES  IN  THE  VILLAGE. 

Davidson,  Walter,  grocer 
Davidson,  Walter  &  Robert,  wrights 

Those  marked  thus  (*)  are  Registered  Voters. 

*Fairbairn,  Charles,  blacksmith  and  farrier 
Moffat,  John,  grocer  and  innkeeper 

Public  Offices — Heritors'  Clerk,  Session  Clerk,  Kirk  Treasurer,  In- 
spector of  Poor,  Registrar  of  Births,  Marriages,  aud  Deaths — 
William  Chishohn. 
Medical  Officers  and  Public  Vaccinators— Drs.  Brown  and  Smith, 
St.  Johns,  Melrose. 

Post — The  Runner  from  St    Boswell's  (James  Thomson)  arrives  at 
Maxton  and  departs  in  the  forenoon  ;  and  in  the  neighbourhood 
of  Rutherford,  by  way  of  Roxburgh  (Michael  M  'Ghee),  also  in 
the  forenoou.     Both  the  runners  deliver  and  collect  letters. 

Olergy,  &e. — Presbytery  of  Selkirk,  Synod  of  Merse  and  Teviotdale. 
Patron — Charles  Balfour,  Esq.,  Newton-Don.* 
Established  Church— "Rev  John  Thomson  (Inducted  1810).    Sit- 
tings, 150. 

Fast  Dav — Thursday  before  second  Sabbath  of  July. 

ScaooLf — Parochial — *William  Chishohn,  master;  aver,  attend.,  60. 
Female  School  (Rutherford)— Agnes  Brotherston,  teacher ;  aver. 

RESIDENTS,  FARMERS,  &c,  IN  THE  PARISH. 

Aitken,  John,  Rutherford  Boat-House 

Bookless,  John,   farmer,  Morridgehall 

Currie,  George,  forester,  Maxton  Cottage 
*Dodds,  William,  farmer,  Muirhouselaw 

Dodds,  William,  jun.,  commission  agent,  Muirhouselaw 

Douglas,  George,  farmer,  Riddleton  Hill 

Robertson,  Mrs.,  Maxton  West  End  Farm 
*Thomson,  Robert  G.  (of  Templehall,  Bowden),  farmer, 

Rutherford 
"Thomson,  George,  farmer,  Ploughlands 
"Thomson,  John,      do.,       Maxton  East  End 
"Thomson,  Walter,  do.,            do. 
"Wight,  Walter,       do.,       Maxton 

attendance,  30. 

Parochial  Board — Chairman — John  Ord,  Esq.,  of  Muirhouselaw. 
No.  of  Poor  on  Roll,  18.     Rate  of  Assessment,  2£d.  per  £. ;  total 
Assessment  1863-4,  £150 : 8 :  8J.    Poor  House — Kelso  Union. 

REGISTERED  VOTERS  (Non  Resident). 

Antrobus,  Sir  E.  Bart,  of  Rutherford 
Ord,  John,  Esq.  of  Muirhouselaw,  Nisbet 

*  The  patronage  belonged  to  the  Dons,  formerly  proprietors  of 
Rutherford.      When  the  late  Sir  Alexander  sold   the   Rutherford 
estate  about  the  beginning  of  the  century,  he  retained  the  patronage, 
and  thus  it  came  to  be  sold  along  with  the  estate  of  Newton-Ddn 
n  1847,  when  it  was  bought  by  Mr.  Balfour.     Mr.  Balfour  has  no 
other  interest  in  the  parish. 

J  Number  of  children  between  5  and  15  years  of  age  attending 
school  during  the  first  week  of  April  1861,  90 ;  of  all  ages,  95. 

Scott,  Hon.  W.  H.,  Master  of  Polwarth,  Humbie  House 

221 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    CRAILING. —  INTRODUCTORY    REMARKS PUBLIC    OFFICES ETC. 


222 


CRAILING. 


The  parish  of  Crailing  occupies  a  delightful  situation  on  both 
sides  of  the  river  Teviot,  which  divides  it  into  two  nearly  equal 
portions.  The  parish  is  bounded  on  the  north  by  Roxburgh, 
on  the  east  by  Eckford,  on  the  south  by  Jedburgh,  and  on  the 
west  by  Ancrum.  Its  length  is  about  4  miles,  and  its  breadth 
3f  miles ;  and  its  area,  according  to  the  Ordnance  Survey,  is 
60134.  acres,  of  which  5903J  are  land,  78  are  water,  51£  are 
public  roads,  and  10J  are  occupied  by  railway. 

The  parish  is  fertile  and  highly  cultivated,  and  is  well 
watered  both  by  the  Teviot  and  the  Oxnam  waters.  The 
trout  fishing  in  the  parish  is  very  good,  but  is  restricted 
within  the  policies  of  Mounteviot  and  Crailing  House.  The 
general  appearance  of  the  parish  is  that  of  a  wide  basin,  slop- 
ing gently  up  on  either  side  of  the  Teviot,  and  terminating  in 
11  three  considerable  eminences,  on  the  top  of  one  of  which, 
called  Pinielheugh,  a  monument  of  cylindrical  form,  with  a 
spiral  staircase,  was  erected  by  the  late  Marquis  of  Lothian 
and  his  tenantry,  to  commemorate  the  Battle  of  Waterloo." 
In  height  it  is  150  feet,  and  this  altitude,  taken  with  that  of 
the  hill,  which  is  774  feet  above  the  level  of  the  sea,  enables 
the  spectator  from  the  summit  to  command  a  magnificent 
view  in  every  direction,  and  embracing  some  of  the  loveliest 
portions  of  Teviotdale.* 

There,  are  two  very  small  villages  in  the  parish — Crailing, 
cm  the  south  side  of  the  Teviot,  where  are  the  church,  manse, 
and  school-house;  and  Nisbet  on  the  north  side,  where  is  the 
railway  station,  and  where  a  bridge  has  lately  been  built,  re- 
placing a  previous  ferry,  for  the  accommodation  of  the  district. 
11  Nisbet  was  formerly  a  place  of  some  importance,  and  a  sepa- 
rate parish.  Of  the  church  scarce  a  trace  remains,  but  the 
churchyard  is  still  used  as  a  burying  ground  by  the  inhabitants 

*  The  nionmument  bears  the  following  inscription :  "To  the  Duke 
of  Wellington  and  the  British  Army.  William  Kerr  VI.  Marquis  of 
Lothian  and  his  tenantry  dedicate  this  monument,  xxx  June, 
mdcccxv."  This  is  the  date  ou  which  the  foundation  of  the  first 
monument  was  laid,  and  which,  owing  to  faulty  construction,  fell, 
when  nearly  completed,  with  the  noise  and  force  nearly  resembling 
that  of  an  earthquake.  As  the  accident  occurred  during  the  night 
nobody  was  injured.  The  construction  of  the  present  monument 
was  then  immediately  commenced,  and  to  this  date  has  never  been 
thoroughly  finished. 


on  that  side  of  the  river ;  it  was  the  scene  of  the  ministry  of 
Calderwood,  the  church  historian,  and  the  birth-place  of  the 
celebrated  Samuel  Rutherfoord  whose  religious  writings  \  his 
'  Letters'  especially]  still  continue  to  be  praised." 

The  parish  contains  nothing  memorable  in  the  way  of  anti- 
quities. Near  Nisbet,  to  the  west,  on  the  Teviot,  is  Moun- 
teviot, a  seat  of  the  Marquis  of  Lothian  who  possesses  the 
entire  north  side  of  the  parish.  Near  to  Crailing  is  Crailing 
House,  the  residence  of  John  Paton,  Esq.,  who  possesses  nearly 
the  entire  south  side  of  the  parish.  Crailing  House  is  a  plain 
modern  building,  and  stands  beautifully  on  a  rising  ground, 
with  the  Oxnam  winding  below  ;  and  the  interest  and  beauty 
of  the  pleasure-grounds  is  much  increased  by  the  course  of  this 
mountain  stream,  which  forms  a  sweet  little  glen,  having  its 
banks  thickly  covered  with  wood. 

On  the  opposite  side  of  the  Oxnam,  over  against  Crailing 
House,  remains  of  caves  have  lately  been  discovered ;  the 
greater  part  of  them  appear  to  have  been  destroyed  by  slips 
from  the  cliff,  caused  by  the  action  of  the  Oxnam  at  its  base. 
There  are  indications  of  some  of  them  having  been  used  for 
cattle,  and  one  for  cooking.  The  cliff  has  not  yet  been  fully 
explored. 

The  branch  line  of  the  North  British  Railway  to  Jedburgh 
intersects  the  parish  by  the  north  side  of  the  Teviot. 

The  nearest  market  town  is  Jedburgh,  about  4  miles  off. 
Kelso  is  the  post  town,  6  miles  off. 

The  population  of  the  parish  in  1861  was  673,  who  com- 
posed 134  families,  2  of  whom  were  returned  as  living  in  houses 
having  no  windows,  and  99  in  houses  of  one  and  two  windows. 

Assessed  property  in  1863-4,  £7994  :  17s. 

Besides  the  Marquis  of  Lothian  and  Mr.  Paton,  the  Earl  of 
Minto  owns  a  small  portion  of  the  parish  ;  and  Thomas  Turn- 
bull,  Esq.  (of  Briery  Yards  by  Hawick)  owns  the  property  of 
Palace. 


Those  marked  thus  (*)  are  Registered  Voters. 

Resident  Justices  of  the  Peace— John  Paton,  Esq.  of  Crailing,  and 
John  Ord,  Esq,  Upper  Nisbet. 


Police  Officer- 


Brown,  Crailing. 


Public  Offices — Kirk  Treasurer,  Session  Clerk,  Inspector  of  Poor, 
Registrar  of  Births,  Marriages,  and  Deaths — Richard  Amour. 

Medical  Officer  and  Public  Vaccinator — Dr.  Falla,  Jedburgh. 

Post  Office — Mrs  Bell,  postmistress.    Arrival,  8-30  a.m.  ;  Departure, 
2-10  p.m.  ;  Sundays,  9  and  9-40  a.m.     Messeuger — James  Tait. 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    CRAILING. CLERGY SCHOOLS,    ETC. DIRECTORY. 


224 


Clergy,  &c. — Crailing  is  in  the  Presbytery  of  Jedburgh,  and  Synod 

of  Merse  and  Teviotdale.    Patrons — The  Crown  and  Marquis 

of  Lothian. 
Established  Church — *Rev.  Adam  Cunningham  (Inducted  1S43). 

Sittings,  300.    Average  attendance  at  Sabbath  School, 
Free  Church— Rev.  T.  S.  Anderson  (Inducted  ISM).    Sittings, 

262.    Average  attendance  at  Sabbath  School,  55. 

Fast  Days — Thursday  before  the  last  Sabbath  of  April  and  first 

Sabbath  of  November. 
SCHOOLSf  (Parish) — ^Richard  Amour,  master.     Average  attend,  90. 
Industrial  (in  connection  with  the  Parish  School)— Mrs.  Amour, 

teacher.     Average  attendance,  18. 
Nisbet  (supported  by  the  Marquis  of  Lothian) — William  Gray 
limes,  teacher.    Average  attendance,  45. 

Parochial  Board — John  Paton,  Esq.,  Chairman.  No.  of  Poor  on 
Roll.  11.  Rate  of  Assessment,  2£d.  per  £  ;  total  Assessment  1S63, 
£9G  :  15s.     Poor  House — Jedburgh  Combination. 

Mototeviot  Curling  Club — Secretary  and  Treasurer,  John  Munro, 
Fairnington.  Entry-Money,  5s.  Annual  Subscription,  5s.  Cur- 
ling Pond  at  Nisbet. 

Corn  Mills — Crailing — Richard  Frater,  miller;  Nisbet  Mill — Corn 
and  Bone — *Francis  Walker,  farmer. 

Conveyance — Railway  Station  at  Nisbet.    Station-master— W.  Hill. 

Carriers — Thomas  Richardson,  occasionally  to  Edinburgh  ;  Thomas 
Robson,  to  Jedburgh  and  Kelso,  Tuesdays  and  Fridays. 


TRADES,  &c. 
Brown,  James,  joiner,  Nisbet 
Dodds,  John,  blacksmith,  Crailing 
Edmonds,  William,  tailor,    do. 
Fox,  Andrew,  cattle  dealer,  do. 
Huggan,  Andrew,  joiner,      do. 
Ormiston,  John,  shoemaker,  Crailing 
Purves,  Agnes,  dressmaker,  Nisbet 
Paton,  Nichol,  carter,  Crailing 
♦Richardson,  Thomas,  grocer,  Crailing 
Scott,  Janet,  grocer,  Nisbet 
Turnbull,  Robert,  builder,  Old  Nisbet  Cottage 
Young,  Adam,  blacksmith,  Nisbet 


RESIDENTS,  FARMERS,  &c. 
Burnet,  Miss,  Crailing  Manse 
Dodd,  Mrs.  and  Miss,  West  Nisbet 
Dodd,  Nicholas,  farmer,  West  Nisbet 

t  Children  in  the  parish  from  5  to  15,  attending  school  during  the  first 
week  of  April  18U1,  102;  of  all  ages,  106. 


Innes,  WiUiam,  head  gardener  to  the  Marquis  of  Lothian, 

Mounteviot 
Kerse,  Robert  and  James,  gamekeepers  do.,  do. 

Ord,  John,  Esq.^(of  Muirhouselaw,  Maxton  parish),  farmer, 
Upper  Nisbet 
♦Pringle,  John,  farmer,  East  Nisbet 
Richardson,  *John,  and  *Robert,  farmers,  Crailing  Nook 
"Robson,  George,  farmer,  Crailingbraeheads 


♦Rutherford,  Wr., 
*Scott,  James, 
"Thomson, 
♦Turnbull,  John, 
*Wood,  Alexander, 


do.  and  oil-cake  mercht. 
do.       Ploughlands 
do.      Palace 
do.      Kirkmains 
do.       Littledonlees 


Crailing  Tofts 


Wilson,  John,  gardener,  Crailing  Orchard 


SEATS,  &c,  OF  COUNTY  FAMILIES  IN  THE  PARISH. 

MOTJNTEVIOT. 

The  occasional  residence  of  William-Schomberg-Robert  Kerr, 
Marquis  of  Lothian,  Earl  of  Ancrum  and  Earl  of  Lothian, 
Viscount  of  Briene,  Baron  Newbattle,  and  Baron  Jedburgh, 
iu  the  peerage  of  Scotland  ;  Baron  Kerr  of  Kerrshengh,  Rox- 
burghshire, in  the  peerage  of  the  United  Kingdom  ;  born  12th 
August  1832 ;  married,  12th  August  1857,  Lady  Constance 
Talbot,  daughter  of  the  Earl  of  Shrewsbury;  succeeded  his 
father  as  8th  Marquis,  14th  November  1841.  Heir  Pres. — 
Lord  Schomberg  Kerr — (see  Bonjedward  House,  Jedburgh 
parish). 

Other  Seats — Newbattle,  in  Mid-Lothian  ;  Blicking  Hall,  in 
Norfolk.    London  Residence — 16  Upper  Grosvenor  Street. 

CB.AILING  HOUSE, 

The  property  and  residence  of  *John  Paton,  Esq. 


REGISTERED  VOTERS  (Non-Resident) . 

Jones,  Edward,  merchant,  Liverpool 

Paton,  George,  Sandkeye,  Liverpool 

Paton,  James,  Captain  4th  Foot,  Malta 

Paton,  WiUiam  J.,  36  Inverness  Terrace,  London. 

Turnbull,  Thomas,  Esq.,  of  Briery  Yards 


225 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    HOUNAM. — CLERGY — SCHOOLS — ETC. 


226 


HOUNAM. 


The  parish  of  Hounam,  Bituated  amongst  the  Cheviot  Hills, 
is  bounded  on  the  north  and  east  by  Morebattle,  on  the  Bouth 
by  the  county  of  Northumberland,  and  on  the  west  by  the 
parishes  of  Oxnam,  Jedburgh,  and  Eckford.  In  length  it  is 
about  8  miles,  and  in  breadth  about  6.  Its  area,  according 
to  the  Ordnanoe  Survey,  is  15,1071  acres,  of  which  15.042J  acres 
are  land,  33j  water,  and  31:1  roads. 

"The  appearance  of  the  parish  exhibits,  in  general,  little 
else  than  an  assemblage  of  hills,  chiefly  appropriated  to  pasture ; 
and  forming  part  of  the  range  of  Cheviot  Hills."  The  propor- 
tion of  land  fit  for  cultivation  is  very  small.  The  hills  are 
very  beautiful  and  the  pastarage  on  tbem  is  both  extensive  and 
valuable ;  some  of  the  best  grazing  farms  in  the  district  are 
to  be  found  in  this  parish.  Hounam  Law,  partly  in  More- 
battle  and  partly  in  this  parish,  attains  an  elevation  of  1472 
feet.  Cranshawlaw,  near  the  centre  of  the]  parish,  is  1152 
feet ;  and  Humblemoor  Hill,  more  to  the  south,  is  1191  feet ; 
Beefstand  Hill,  partly  in  Northumberland,  is  1191  feet  The 
parish  is  traversed  by  good  roads,  kept  in  repair  by  the  statute 
labour  fund.  The  parish  is  intersected  by  numerous  burns, 
"  romantio  in  scenery  and  abounding  in  trout,"  which  take 
their  rise  among  the  hills  ;  but  the  only  stream  worth  mention 
is  the  Kale,  flowing  in  a  northerly  direction,  and  cutting 
the  parish  into  nearly  equal  halves.  It  abounds  in  trout,  and 
is  an  unrestricted  resort  for  anglers  [see  Morebattle  parish). 
"A  little  to  the  westward  of  the  village  the  Kale  forms  a 
cascade,  called  'the  Salmon  leap,'  and  which,  when  the  stream 
is  flooded,  becomes  an  object  of  interest.  An  excellent  road 
pursues  nearly  the  whole  line  of  the  stream."  In  no  parish 
in  the  south  of  Scotland  does  the  remains  of  so  many  old 
camps — British  and  Roman— exist,  as  in  that  of  Hounam. 
One  of  them,  especially,  on'  Bughtrig  farm,  is  entire.  The 
Roman  road  bounds  tbe  parish  its  entire  length,  on  the  east. 

The  village,  or  rather  hamlet  of  Hounam,  is  the  only  one 
in  the  parish  ;  it  occupies  a  very  pleasant  and  healthy  site  on 
the  east  side  of  the  Kale.  Here  tbe  parish  church  and  sehool 
are  situated.  Near  tbe  village  is  Gkeenhill,  a  favourite  re- 
treat of  His  Grace  the  Duke  of  Roxburghe.  There  are  no  mar- 
kets or  fairs  held  either  in  the  village  or  parish.  At  Penny- 
muir,  in  tbe  south- western  part  of  the  parish,  but  on  the  Oxnam 
side  of  the  boundary  line,  two  trysts  are  held  [see  Oxnam). 

The  nearest  market  towns  are'  Jedburgh,  about  9  miles  dis- 


tant, and  Kelso  about  12  miles.  The  latter  is  the  most  con- 
venient for  the  hamlet  either  as  a  market  town  or  railway 
station,  and  is  the  post  town. 

Population  of  the  parish  in  1861,  289;  who  composed  50 
families,  34  of  whom  were  returned  as  living  in  houses  of  one 
and  two  windows. 

Assessed  property  in  1863-4,  £6907 :  12 : 9. 

The  principal  landed-proprietors  in  the  parish  are — His  Grace 
the  Duke  of  Roxburghe;  James  Dickson,  BBq.,  of  Chatto 
(Bughtrig,  Berwickshire);  William  Soott  Kerr,  Esq.,  of  Over 
Chatto  (Sunlaws) ;  Christopher  Douglas,  Esq., -of  Chesterhouse 
(Drummond  Place,  Edinburgh);  Sir  John  Warrender,  of 
Whitton  (of  Lochend,  Bart.) ;  John  Ord,  Esq.,  of  Over  Whitton 
(Nisbet,  Kirkbank) ;  Mrs.  John  Stavert,  of  Philogar  (Melville 
Street,  Edinburgh);  and  John  Wilson,  Esq.,  of  Bughtrig 
(Otterburn,  Morebattle) — all  non-reBidont, 


Those  marked  thus  (*)  are  Registered  Voters  in  the  parish. 
District  Police  Officer — Alexander  Douglas,  Morebattle. 

Public  Offices — Inspector  of  Poor,  Registrar  of  Births,  Marriages, 

and  Deaths,  and  Kirk  Treasurer — Alexander  Davidson. 

Medical  Officer  and  Public  Vaccinator — Dr.  Falla,  Jedburgh. 

Post  Office — Post  Town,  Kelso ;  from  which  letters  are  forwarded 
by  runner,  via  Morebattle,  three  times  a  week. 

Clergy,  &c.t — Presbytery  of  Jedburgh,  and  Synod  of  Merse  and 
Teviotdale.     Patron — J.  B.  Kidston,  Esq.  of  50  West  Regent 
Street,  Glasgow. 
Established  Church — Vacant.    Sittings,  about  200. 
Fast  Day— Second  Thursday  of  July. 

School  ||  (Parochial) — *Alex.   Davidson,  master;  aver,  attend.,  59. 
Towford  School — Supported  by  the  proprietors  of  Hounam  and 
Oxnam,  for  the  benefit  of  the  upper  districts  of  the  two  parishes 
— (see  Oxnam). 

Parochial  Board — John  Ord,  Esq.,  Chairman.  No.  of  Poor 
on  Roll,  4.  Rate  of  Assessment,  about  l$d.  per  £  ;  total  Assess- 
ment, £63.    Poor  House — Kelso  Combination. 

Conveyance — To  and  from  Kelso  and  Jedburgh,  weekly,  by  Carrier. 

Carriers — Kelso,  thrice  a  week,  Thomas  Edmonston ;  A.  Riddell, 
Friday  ;  Jedburgh,  A.-  Riddell,  Tuesday. 

}  While  this  sheet  of  the  "Register"  was  at  press  (October  30,  1864), 
there  died  the  Rev.  George  B.  Rutherford,  who  had  been  minister 
of  Hounam  since  the  year  1818.  Last  year  the  patronage  was  sold 
to  Mr.  Kidston  by  Sir  John  Warrender.  Except  the  patronage,  Mr. 
Kidston  possesses  no  interest  in  the  parish. 

||  Children  in  the  parish  from  5  to  15  attending  school  during  the 
first  week  of  April  1S61,  59 ;  of  all  ages,  61, 


227 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :   OXNAM. — INTRODUCTORY   REMARKS. 


228 


TRADES  IN  THE  HAMLET. 

*Hall,  Samuel,  blacksmith 
*Meikle,  William,  labourer 
Shepherd's  Inn,  *William  Paton 


RESIDENTS  IN  THE  PARISH. 
*Douglas,  George  S.,  farmer,  Hounam  Mains 


Gray,  William, 
'Phillips,  George, 
*Soott,  George, 
*Shiel,  George, 
*Shiel,  James, 


do. 
do, 
do. 
do. 
do. 


Sharplaw 
West  Grange 
Nether  Chatto 
Over  Whitton 
Beerhope 


REGISTERED  VOTERS  (Non-Resident). 

Douglas,  Christopher,  W.S.,  Edinburgh 
Dickson,  Archibald,  yr.  of  Bughtrig,  Eccles 
Kerr,  W.  Scott,  of  Sunlaws,  Kelso 
Warrender,  Sir  John,  Bart.,  of  LochenJ,  Edinburgh 
Warrender,  George,  yr.  do.  do. 


OXNAM. 


A  LONG  irregularly  Bhaped  parish,  bordering  on  Northumber- 
land, from  which  it  stretches  for  nearly  10  miles  in  a  north- 
westerly direction.  Its  breadth  varies  from  3  to  5  miles  It  is 
bounded  on  the  north  by  Jedburgh,  on  the  east  by  Hounam, 
on  the  south  by  Northumberland  and  parish  of  Jedburgh,  and 
on  the  west  by  Jedburgh  and  Southdean.  The  area,  according 
to  the  Ordnance  Survey,  is  about  21,2234;  acres,  of  which  109 
are  in  roads,  and  33}  under  water. 

The  southern  part  of  the  parish  is  mountainous,  part  of  the 
Cheviot  range  extending  into  it.  To  the  northward  and  in 
the  centre  of  the  parish  the  ground  is  very  much  diversified, 
sometimes  rising  into  considerable  eminences,  which  are  inter- 
sected by  numerous  narrow  ravines.  The  principal  of  these 
eminences  are  Hindhopehill,  1394  feet;  Grindstonelaw,  1535 
feet;  and  Brownhart,  1664  feet.  The  soil  varies,  but  the  pre- 
vailing kinds  are  of  a  loamy,  clayey,  and  gravelly  nature.  The 
northern  portion  of  the  parish,  wherever  the  surface  admits  it, 
is  highly  cultivated — principally  in  the  valleys  of  the  Jed  and 
Oxnam ;  but  the  southern,  and  by  much  the  larger  portion, 
is  entirely  pastoral.  The  breed  of  Cheviot  sheep  receives  great 
attention  in  the  parish,  and  is  probably  brought  to  as  great 
perfection  within  its  limits,  as  it  is  in  any  other  parish  in  the 
district. 

There  are  the  remains  of  some  Druidical  circles  and  old  camps 
in  the  parish,  but  its  principal  antiquarian  object  of  interest  is 
the  remains  of  the  Roman  road  which  bounds  the  parish  to 
the  north-east  for  its  entire  length,  and  dividing  it  from  the 
parishes  of  Hounam  and  Jedburgh.  Within  the  limits  of 
the  parish  this  spacious  road  is  in  many  parts  in  good  order, 
and  is  still  used  as  a  drove  road. 

The  parish  has  no  particular  feature  of  beauty  to  recommend 
it.  The  upper  waters  of  the  Kale  {see  Hounam  parish),  which 
rise  among  the  hills  in  the  southern  part  of  this  parish  are 
pretty,  and  so  are  many  parts  of  the  Oxnam  which  flows 
through  the  parish  almost  its  entire  length.  The  Jed  forms 
part  of  its  western  boundary.  They  all  abound  in  trout,  and 
are  free  to  the  angler  (see  Jedburgh). 

In  the  northern  extremity  of  the  parish,  on  the  Oxnam 
water,  is  the  hamlet  of  Oxnam,  the  only  one  in  the  parish. 

The  nearest  market  and  post  town  is  Jedburgh,  about  4  miles 
distant  from  the  hamlet.  Jedburgh  is  also  the  nearest  railway 
station. 


229 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    OXNAM. — FAIKS — PUBLIC   OFFICES,   ETC. — TRADES — FARMERS. 


230 


Fairs. — Pennymuir  Lambs  and  Wool  (held  at  Pennymuir, 
alongside  of  the  old  Roman  road,  and  on  the  confines  of  Hou- 
nam  parish) — 31st  July,  or  the  Monday  after,  if  the  date  falls 
on  a  Sunday.  The  wool  sold  is  very  trifling  ;  but  for  lambs 
the  fair  is  of  great  local  importance,  and  has  supei-seded  that  at 
the  Rink  {see  Jedburgh),  The  description  of  lambs  princi- 
pally shewn  is  Cheviots  and  three-parts  and  half-bred  Leices- 
ters  ;  the  Cheviot  stock  have  lately  shewn  a  falling  off.  This 
fair  was  established  about  thirty-three  years  ago  on  account 
of  the  want  of  room  and  the  inconvenience  attending  the  Rink 
Fair.  The  ground  is  granted  by  the  Duke  of  Roxburghe,  free 
of  all  dues  for  stock;  and  for  the  accommodation  ofvisitorshehas 
lately  expended  a  considerable  sum  of  money  in  improving  the 
accommodation  and  stabling  at  the  Inn.  The  railway  station 
nearest  to  the  fair  ground,  by  the  direct  route  of  the  Roman 
road,  is  that  of  Jedfoot  on  the  Jedburgh  branch  line,  over  10 
miles  distant.  The  Jedburgh  station,  by  way  of  Oxnam  village, 
is  about  the  same  distance.  For  the  convenience  of  business, 
the  Jedburgh  bank  agents  attend  at  the  fair  ground. 

Pennymuir  Sheep  and  Cattle  (held  as  above)— 15th  October, 
or  the  Monday  after.  Cheviots,  draft  ewes,  and  wethers  are 
the  stock  shewn.  The  cattle  exposed  are  so  few  as  to  be  un- 
worthy of  notice.  As  a  local  fair  this  of  the  sheep  is  of  equal 
importance  to  that  of  the  lambs. 

Population  of  the  parish  in  1861,  592,  who  composed  107 
families,  29  of  whom  were  returned  as  living  in  houses  of  one 
window,  and  41  in  houses  of  two  windows  leaving  37  (or  one- 
third)  living  in  houses  of  three  or  more  windows. 

Assessed  property  in  1863-4,  £10,526  :  0  :  8. 

The  principal  landed-proprietors  in  the  parish  are — the  Duke 
of  Roxburghe,  the  Marquis  of  Lothian,  W.  0.  Rutherfurd, 
Esq.,  of  Edgerston ;  A.  Scott,  Esq. ;  Miss  Scott,  of  Fala ;  John 
Scott,  Esq.,  of  Riccalton  ;  Mrs.  John  Stavert.  of  Cunzierton; 
and  John  Oliver,  Esq.,  Hardacres — none  of  whom  are  resident. 


Those  marked  thus  (*)  are  Electors  Registered  in  the  parish. 
District  Police  Officer — Allan  Mitchell,  Oxnam. 

Post  Office — W.  Hogg,  messeDger    Daily  to  and  from  Jedburgh. 
Arrives  about  11-50  a.m. ;  leaves  about  1  p.m. 

Public  Offices — Heritors'  Clerk,  Kirk  Treasurer,  Inspector  of  Poor, 
Registrar  of  Births,  Marriages,  and  Deaths,  and  Session  Clerk 
— Matthew  Little. 
Medical  Officer  aud  Public  Vaccinator — Dr.  Falla,  Jedburgh. 

Clergy,  &e. — Presbytery  of  Jedburgh,  Synod  of  Merse  and  Teviot- 
dale.     Patron,  the  Crown. 
Established    Church— *Rev.  William  Burnie,   (Inducted  1859). 
Sittings,  250.    Average  attendance  at  Sabbath  School,  54. 


Fast  Days— Thursdays  beforo  the  first  Sabbath  of  April  and  last 
Sabbath  of  October. 

ScHOOLf  (Parochial)— Matthew  Little,  master.    Aver,  attend.,  70. 
Towford  School  (Non-Parochial)  f  —  Peter  Carruthers,  master. 
Average  attendance,  30. 

Parochial  Board— W.  E.  Otto,  Esq.,  factor  for  the  Marquis  of 
Lothian,  Chairman.  No.  of  Poor  on  Roll,  16.  Rate  of  Assess- 
ment, ljd.  per  £ ;  total  Assessment,  1S63-4,  £182 :  12 :  7.  Poor 
House— Jeburgh  Union. 

Mortification — Lady  Tester,  according  to  her  letters  of  Mortifica- 
tion, dated  4th  November  1630,  and  14th  March  1638,  bequeathed 
for  behoof  of  the  poor,  one  cottage,  called  the  Alms'  house,  and  the 
sum  of  £1000  Scots  ;  the  annual  rent  and  interest  of  which,  £4, 
3s.  4d.,  is  distributed  in  small  portions  among  such  indigent 
individuals  as  have  not  been  admitted  permanently  to  the  bene- 
fit of  the  assessment. 

Library  (Parish) — Open  monthly, 
vols.    G.  White,  Librarian. 


Annual  Subscription,  2s.    530 


Conveyance— North  British  Railway,  Jedburgh  Station,  distant  6 
miles  from  the  village. 

Carrier— James  Bruce,  Jedburgh,  Tuesday  and  Saturday;  Kelso, 
Friday. 

Corn  Mill— Sw inside — James  Davidson,  farmer. 


TRADES  IN  THE  HAMLET. 
Bennet,  John,  shoemaker 
Huggan,  Robert,  joiner 
Pateson,  Robert,  tailor 
Story,  John,  blacksmith 

FARMERS,  &c,  RESIDENT  IN  THE  PARISH. 
Barrie  James,  farmer,  Harden  Mains 


"Bell,  John, 
*Dickison,  William, 
*Douglas,  Andrew, 
*Douglas,  James, 
*Douglas,  Thomas, 
*EUiot,  Thomas, 
*Hall,  Robert, 
Hall,  James  D., 


do.,  Oxnam,  Millheugh 
do.,  Cleucbside 
do.,  Swinside  Hall 
do.,  Swinside  Townfoot 
do.,  Swinside  Townhead 
do.,  Easter  Hyndhope 
do.,  Newbigging  Birks 
do.,  do. 


t  Children  in  the  parish  from  5  to  15,  attending  school  during  tha 
first  week  of  April  1861,  91 ;  of  all  ages,  95. 

t  Erected  in  1862  near  Pennymuir  Inn,  at  the  joint  expense  of 
the  owners  and  occupiers  of  the  parishes  of  Oxnam  and  Hounam 
for  the  accommodation  of  the  upper  districts  of  the  two  parishes.     ' 


231 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    CASTLETON. — INTRODUCTORY   REMARKS. 


232 


Pennymuir  Inn,  Walter  Tinline 
*Riddell,   James,   farmer,   Cappuck 


•Riddell,  ThomaB, 
*Simson,  David, 
*Simson,  Robert, 
*Swan,  Samuel, 
*Wyllie,  James, 
*Wyllie,  Robert, 


do., 
do., 
do., 
do., 
do., 
do., 


Oxnam  Nook 
Oxnam  Row 
Newbigging  Bush 
Overton  Bush 
Newbigging 
do. 


REGISTERED  VOTERS  (Non-Resident) . 

Dodd,  Nicholas,  farmer,  West  Nisbet 
Douglas,  George,  farmer,  Riddletonhill 
Oliver,  John,  Esq.,  of  Overton  Bush  (Hardaeres,  Ber- 
wickshire) 
Scott,  Alexander,  Hopetoun  House,  South  Queensferry 


CASTLETON. 


This  is  the  largest  parish  in  the  south  of  Scotland,  being  18 
miles  long,  14  broad,  and  occupying  fully  a  seventh  of  the  map 
of  Roxburghshire.  It  is  bounded  on  the  north  by  the  parishes 
of  Teviothead,  Hobkirk,  and  Southdean ;  on  the  east  by  Nor- 
thumberland, on  the  south  by  Cumberland,  and  on  the  west 
by  Dumfriesshire.  In  shape  it  is  an  irregular  triangle.  The 
total  area  of  the  parish,  according  to  the  Ordnance  Survey 
measurements,  is  nearly  68,152J  acres,  of  which  there  are  294 
acres  water,  177f  acres  of  public  roads.  The  remaining  part 
(about  67,680^  acres)  is  mostly  mountainous  and  hilly,  saturated 
with  superfluous  moisture,  and  nearly  all  affording,  as  yet,  only 
excellent  pasturage  for  sheep. 

"  The  parish  has  yet  to  be  brought  under  the  action  of  the 
plough.  Here  is  abundance  of  lime,  and  plenty  of  coal  to  burn 
it,  and  a  strong  clay-soil,  interspersed,  no  doubt,  with  patches 
of  moss — everything,  indeed,  that  the  most  sanguine  reclaimer 
might  wish  for — yet  wide  pastoral  ranges  and  lonely  shepherds' 
cots  attest  that  the  footprints  of  the  reclaimer  are  in  Liddesdale 
yet  unknown.  The  amount  of  rain-fall  in  Liddesdale  would 
doubtless,  in  some  degree,  be  a  barrier  to  cereal  cultivation ; 
but  a  thorough  drainage  would  mitigate  this  evil ;  and  as  it  is, 
turnips  and  grasses — crops  most  luxuriant  in  a  moist  climate — 
are  now  the  most  profitable  crops  to  cultivate.  The  latter 
mode — viz.,  an  alternate  system  of  grass  and  turnip  husbandry 
— has  indeed  been  most  successfully  carried  out  in  some  upland 
districts,  and  holds  out  to  the  land-improver  surer  and  richer 
rewards  for  outlay  than  can  be  obtained  in  the  wide  range  of 
pastoral  farming."* 

Four  years  ago  Mr.  Brackenridge,  Yorkshire,  before  a  com- 
mittee of  the  House  of  Commons,  gave  an  opinion  that  the 
parish  contained  35,000  acres  capable,  with  little  expense,  of 
being  made  fit  for  any  agricultural  purpose,  and  that  mueh 
land  had  already  yielded  to  the  influence  of  the  plough,  bearing 
corn  in  some  instances  to  the  extent  of  60  imperial  bushels  per 
acre. 

Some  of  the  hills  rise  to  a  considerable  elevation — the  prin- 
cipal of  them  are— Tudhope  Fell,  of  1830  feet,  Millenwood  Fell 
and  Windhead,  both  nearly  2000  feet  high ;  Larriston  Fells, 

*  Sanderson's  Prize  Essay  on  the  Agriculture  of  Roxburghshire  and  Ber- 
wickshire. 


233 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    CASTLETON. ANTIQUITIES,  ETC. 


234 


1524  to  1679  feet ;  Din  Fell,  1735  feet ;  Hartsgarth  Fell,  1806 
feet;  Saughtree  Fell,  1421  feet;  Greatmoor  Hill,  1964  feet; 
Hermitage  Hill,  1321  feet;  and  Peel  Fell,  1964  feet. 

The  climate  ib  damp,  but  mild ;  and  except  on  such  hills 
as  Peel  Fell  and  Greatmoor  snow  9torms  are  less  severe  than 
on  the  Cheviots  and  the  Selkirkshire  hills. 

For  romantic  and  interesting  associations,  the  parish  of 
Castleton  (not  even  excepting  the  more  frequented  and  better 
known  parish  of  Yarrow)  excels  any  other  in  the  south  of 
Scotland.  The  remains  of  antiquity  are  very  numerous,  and 
the  halo  of  romance  which  lingers  around  many  of  them  has 
been  perpetuated  by  the  ballads  gathered  up  and  placed  on 
permanent  record,  particularly  by  Sir  Walter  Scott.  Chief 
among  these  antiquarian  remains  is  the  Castle  of  Hermitage, 
founded  in  the  year  1244,  long  a  notable  Border  fortress,  and 
still  one  of  the  finest  specimens  extant  of  ancient  baronial 
architecture.  The  castle  is  pleasantly  situated  on  the  left  bank 
of  the  Hermitage  water,  and  is  surrounded  by  strong  ramparts 
and  ditches.  About  two  hundred  yards  to  the  westward,  is  an 
old  cemetery  with  the  remains  of  a  chapel,  in  which  once  wor- 
shipped the  Lords  of  the  Hermitage  with  their  retainers.  Out- 
side the  wall  of  the  churchyard  is  a  mound  ten  or  twelve  feet 
long,  said  to  be  the  grave  of  the  Cout  of  Keildar,  who  was 
treacherously  murdered  by  Soulis  of  Hermitage ;  and  near  it 
is  the  pool  where  tradition  says  "  the  Cout"  who  was  charmed 
against  steel,  was  borne  down  and  drowned.  Hermitage  is 
five  miles  from  Newcastleton,  and  two  from  Steele  Road  Sta- 
tion, on  the  Border  Union  Railway,  from  which  there  is  a 
good  road.  About  two  miles  from  Hermitage  to  the  north- 
east, on  a  ridge,  designated  "  the  nine-stane-rig,"  is  a  circle  of 
standing  stones,  obviously  Druidical ;  but  on  which,  according 
to  the  ballad,  Lord  Soulis,  the  notorious  chief  of  Hermitage, 
was  boiled  in  a  sheet  of  lead.  The  view  from  this  point  south- 
ward into  Cumberland  and  Westmoreland  is  magnificent. 
Near  Hermitage,  there  lately  stood  the  old  farm-house  of 
Millburnholm,  the  first  Liddesdale  house  that  Sir  Walter 
Scott  entered,  and  in  which  then  lived  Willie  Elliot,  sup- 
posed by  many  to  have  been  at  least  one  ot  the  prototypes  of 
Dandie  Dinmont.  The  farm  is  now  a  part  of  Hermitage,  and 
the  old  house  has  been  replaced  by  a  couple  of  new  houses  for 
farm  servants.  But  the  vale  of  the  Liddell,  even  more  than 
that  of  the  Hermitage,  abounds  in  antiquarian  remains.  Near 
its  source  are  the  ruins  of  the  Wheel  Church.  Farther  down 
stood  Clintwood,  a  residence  of  the  Soulises,  but  of  which 
nothing  now  remains.  Dinlabyre,  an  old-fashioned  mansion, 
now  a  farm  house,  was  the  site  of  another  chapel ;  and  at  the 
junction  of  the  Hermitage  and  Liddell  is  the  parish  church. 
Here  also  was  "the  Castle  of  the  Liddell,"  and  the  "  town" 
which  has  given  its  name  to  the  parish.    The  churchyard  is 


on  an  eminence  about  a  mile  up  the  river.*  Two  miles  farther 
down  the  river  is  the  village  of  Newcastleton.  South  of  the  vil- 
lage is  Caerby  Hill,  on  the  top  of  which  is  a  remarkably  com- 
plete and  extensive  ancient  encampment.  Near  the  village, 
also,  are  the  ruins  of  Mangerton  tower,  the  ancient  fortress  of 
the  Armstrongs ;  and  near  the  road-side  at  Milnholm  is  a  stone 
cross,  eight  feet  four  inches  high,  with  a  sword  and  several 
letters  carved  on  the  south  Bide.  Tradition  says  that  this 
cross  marks  the  spot  where  the  corpse  of  one  of  the  Armstrongs 
of  Mangerton,  who  had  been  murdered  at  Hermitage,  was 
rested  on  its  way  to  be  buried  at  Ettleton,  while  the  re- 
tainers went  for  refreshments  to  the  "  Tower.' '  On  the  hill-side 
above  is  the  churchyard  of  Ettleton,  a  very  old  cemetery, 
and  on  the  tomb-stones  one  observes  the  names  of  Elliots, 
Armstrongs,  Nixons,  Jardines,  and  others  famous  in  the  dis- 
trict. The  salubrity  of  the  climate  is  proved  from  the  fact 
that  some  of  the  dead  have  considerably  passed  100  years  of 
age,  one  reaching  the  extraordinary  age  of  114.  Farther  to 
the  westward  is  the  dwelling-place  of  John  Armstrong,  cele- 
brated in  the  ballad  as  "  Jock  o'  the  Side,"  and  in  the  glen 
beyond  are  the  remains  of  Puddingburn  Ha',  the  scene  of 
another  ballad  called  "  Dick  o'  the  Cow." 

Cut  off  from  Teviotdale  by  a  high  and  stormy  ridge  of  hills, 
and  sloping  gradually  but  uninterruptedly  down  toward  the 
Solway,  Liddesdale  is  naturally  connected  with  England  rather 
than  Scotland,  as  a  consequence  of  which  we  find  an  approxi- 
mation to  the  English  dialect  spoken  in  the  district.  Over 
"  the  edge,"  as  it  is  called,  into  Teviotdale,  there  are  now  two 
main  roads — one  leading  towards  Jedburgh  ;  the  other  towards 
Hawick,  besides  the  railway  opened  in  the  summer  of  1S62,  so 
that  travelling  is  easy  and  comfortable.  But  till  a  compara- 
tively recent  period  there  were  no  roads,  and  persons  little  past 
middle  age  can  remember  since  the  Plashetts  coal  was  carried 
to  Hawick  on  the  backs  of  ponies.  Sir  Walter  Scott  made 
seven  annual  raids  into  Liddesdale,  commencing  with  1792, 
and  on  the  last  occasion  he  drove  a  gig  part  of  the  way,  which 

*  In  the  churchyard  are  some  rather  nice  monuments,  amongst 
which  is  one  to  the  memory  of  Dr.  John  Armstrong  (who  was  a 
native  of  the  parish),  author  of  ' '  The  Art  of  Preserving  Health  ;"  a 
poem  of  considerable  merit  and  celebrated  in  its  day,  but  now  en- 
tombed in  the  voluminous  collections  of  poetry  in  fashion  about  the 
beginning  of  the  century.  William  Scott,  author  of  "Border  Ex- 
ploits," etc.,  is  also  buried  here.  On  the  opposite  side  of  the  road 
from  this  churchyard,  in  a  pasture  field,  is  still  to  be  seen  the  base 
of  an  old  stone  cross,  it  being  the  place  where  the  people  in  the  dis- 
trict used  to  meet  to  hire  their  servants  and  transact  their  public 
affairs,  in  times  long  before  the  village  of  Newcastleton  had  a  be- 
ginning, and  where  many  a  bloody  fight  used  to  be  among  the 
stalwart  lads  of  Liddesdale. 


235 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    CASTLETON. RIVERS — PISHING HIRING   DATS. 


236 


is  stated  to  have  been  the  first  wheeled  carriage  seen  in  the 
district.  On  the  first  of  these  -visits  Scott  started  from  Abbot- 
rule,  along  with  Mr.  Robert  Shortreed,  sheriff-substitute  of 
the  county,  who  knew  the  locality  thoroughly ;  and  the  primi- 
tive condition  of  the  inhabitants  is  obvious  from  the  sensation 
which  Scott's  biographer  describes  as  having  occurred  at  Mill- 
burnholm,  the  first  farm-house  that  the  couple  visited.  "When 
informed  that  Scott  was  an  advocate,  the  iarmer  received  him 
with  great  ceremony  and  insisted  on  himself  leading  his  horse 
to  the  stable.  Shortreed  accompanied  Willie,  however,  and 
the  latter,  after  taking  a  deliberate  peep  at  Scott,  "  out-by  the 
edge  of  the  door-cheek,"  whispered,  "  Weel,  Robin,  I  say  deil 
hae  me  if  I'se  be  a  bit  feared  for  him  now ;  he's  just  a  chield 
like  ourselves,  1  think."  Of  this  decent  man  Lockhart  says  : 
"  According  to  Mr.  Shortreed,  this  good  man  of  Millburnholm 
was  the  great  original  of  Dandie  Dinmont.  As  he  seems  to  have 
been  the  first  of  these  sheep  farmers  that  Scott  ever  visited, 
there  can  be  little  doubt  that  he  sat  for  some  parts  of  that  in- 
imitable portraiture;  and  it  is  certain  that  the  James  David- 
son, who  carried  the  name  of  Dandie  to  his  grave  with  him, 
whose  thoroughbred  death-bed  scene  iB  told  in  the  Notes  to 
'  Guy  Mannering,'  was  first  pointed  out  to  Scott  by  Shortreed 
himself,  several  years  after  the  novel  had  established  the  man's 
celebrity  all  over  the  Border ;  some  accidental  report  about  his 
terriers  and  their  odd  names  having  alone  been  turned  to  ac- 
count in  the  original  composition  of  the  tale." 

But  Liddesdale  and  its  neople  have  changed  for  the  better 
since  Scott  and  his  companion  lingered  over  the  punch-bowl 
with  Willie  of  Milburnholtn  till  they  were  "  half-glowrin'." 
Now  there  are  good  roads  and  handsome  conveyances.  The 
farm-houses  are  generally  comfortable  and  elegant,  with  tidy 
well-trimmed  gardens  attached,  and  the  inhabitants  are  not  a 
whit  behind  others  of  the  same  class  in  point  of  intelligence, 
refinement,  and  attention  to  the  comforts  and  amenities  of  life. 
The  working  classes  are  honest,  industrious  and  well  conducted, 
and  young  women  from  Liddesdale  who  come  "  ower  the  edge" 
to  serve,  are  generally  very  highly  esteemed. 

The  principal  rivers  in  the  parish  are  the  Liddell  and  Her- 
mitage, the  former  of  which  gives  to  the  district  the  popular 
name  of  Liddesdale.  The  Hermitage  joins  the  Liddell  in  the 
lower  part  of  the  parish,  at  the  junction  of  which,  and  between 
them,  on  the  banks  of  the  Liddell,  stands  the  Established 
Church.  Besides  the  Liddell  and  the  Hermitage,  the  parish 
contains  the  following  streams — the  Kershope  (which  divides 
the  two  kingdoms),  the  Tweedon,  the  Tinnes,  and  the  Black- 
burn. Till  within  the  last  few  years  these  rivers  were  plenti- 
fully stored  with  trout,  but  from  some  cause  or  other  their 
numbers  have  recently  diminished.  An  association  of  pro- 
prietors of  fishings  in  the  Esk  and  Liddell,  having  its  head- 


quarters at  Langholm,  has  undertaken  to  protect  the  waters, 
and  no  one  above  fourteen  years  of  age  is  allowed  to  fish  with 
rod  and  line  without  leave  granted.  A  small  charge  is  made 
for  the  season.  To  enforce  this  law  a  policeman  is  stationed 
at  Newcastleton.  On  the  Tweedon,  and  Blackburn,  both  of 
which  fall  into  the  Liddell  near  to  Castleton,  are  several 
beautiful  waterfalls — especially  on  the  Blackburn  The  valleys 
of  the  Liddell,  and  the  Hermitage  are  very  beautiful,  and  con- 
tain materials  of  great  interest  to  the  antiquary  and  geologist. 

The  parish  has  long  been  celebrated  for  its  sulphurous 
springs.  The  Dead  water  near  the  head  of  the  Liddell,  and 
"  unfortunately  situated  in  the  middle  of  a  vast  morass,"  used 
to  be  much  frequented  by  persons  affected  by  cutaneous  and 
scrofulous  complaints,  who  received  great  benefit ;  but  for  some 
years  it  has  been  shut  up  by  the  proprietor.  Another  very 
powerful  one,  famous  for  its  petrifying  qualities,  is  on  the 
Tweedon,  and  a  third  is  at  Lawstown;  besides  these  there  are 
others  of  inferior  note  dispersed  over  the  parish. 

The  North  British  Railway  Company  having  completed 
their  Hawick  line  to  Carlisle,  via  Liddesdale  (Waverley  route), 
this  important  district,  rich  in  minerals,  and  capable  of  high 
cultivation,  will  be  opened  up,  and  through  traffic  secured 
between  the  north  of  Scotland  and  the  English  markets.  A 
connection  with  the  Border  Counties'  Railway  has  also  been 
formed  in  this  parish,  by  which  the  valley  of  North  Tyne,  rich 
in  coal  and  iron,  is  available,  and  a  way  opened  up  to  New- 
castle and  other  important  towns  in  the  north  of  England. 
There  are  three  railway  stations  in  the  parish — Riccarton, 
Steel  Road,  and  Newcastleton;  the  first  is  the  junction  of  the 
Border  counties'  with  the  Waverley  route. 

In  the  centre  of  the  lower  part  of  the  parish  is  the  modern 
village  of  Newcastleton,  with  a  population  of  1124.  It  was 
commenced  in  1793  by  Henry  Duke  of  Buccleuch,  is  very 
regularly  built,  and  consists  of  one  principal  street  nearly  a 
mile  long,  in  which,  at  equal  distances,  the  houses  form  three 
squares,  of  which  the  centre  one,  Douglas  Square,  occupies  2 
acres.* 

Newcastleton  by  road  is  26  miles  from  Jedburgh,  20  from 
Hawick,  10  from  Langholm,  and  9  from  Canonbie.  Good 
turnpike  roads  communicate  with  all  these  places.  By  rail  it 
is  24  miles  from  Carlisle,  21  from  Hawick,  17  from  Langholm, 
10  from  Canonbie,  and  50  from  Jedburgh. 

Great  Hiring  Days — Men,  second  Friday  of  April;  Women, 
Fridays  before  the  17th  of  May  and  8th  of  November. 

Fairs. — Lambs  (held  on  the  hill  behind  the  town),  Friday 

*  The  first  feuars  who  commenced  building  were.  Mr.  William 
Nichol,  father  of  the  late  Dr.  Walter  NichoL  Edinburgh,  and  Mr. 
Robert  Murray,  blacksmith. 


237 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    CASTLETON. FAIRS — PUBLIC    OFFICES — CLERGY SCHOOLS ETC. 


238 


before  the  second  Wednesday  of  September :  at  which  from 
14,000  to  15,000  of  the  stock  of  the  district  aregenerally  shewn. 

Eioes  and  Lambs  (held  on  the  hill),  Thursday  before  second 
Tuesday  of  October. 

Cattle  and  small  Lambs  (held  in  the  square  of  the  town), 
third  Friday  of  November. 

The  population  of  the  parish  in  1861  was  3688,  being  an  in- 
crease since  1851  of  1558 ;  but  this  is  greatly  accounted  for  by 
the  influx  of  railway  labourers  into  the  parish  when  the  census 
of  1861  was  taken — 1250  of  the  increase  being  males  (see  remarks 
on  the  population  of  the  district,  p.  52).  The  total  population 
of  the  parish  for  1861,  was  returned  as  constituting  735  families, 
162  of  whom  lived  in  houses  of  no  windows  (labourers'  huts), 
154  in  houses  of  one  window,  and  294  in  houses  of  two  windows, 
which  leaves  125  living  in  houses  of  three  and  more  windows 
— a  small  proportion  compared  to  some  other  parishes,  even 
after  deducting  the  162  huts,  which  may  be  considered  an  ex- 
ceptional incident. 

Assessed  property  1863-4,  £17,218. 

Superior  of  the  Village — His  Grace  the  Duke  of  Buccleuch, 
who  is  the  principal  landed-proprietor  in  the  parish ;  the  other 
principal  proprietors  are — William  O.  Rutherfurd,  Esq.  of 
Dinlabyre  (Edgerston,  by  Jedburgh);  William  Keir,  Esq.  of 
Whithaugh;  John  Jardine,  Esq.  of  Thorlieshope;  William 
Elliot  Scott,  Esq.  of  Peel ;  Robert  Elliot,  Esq.  of  Redheugh ; 
James  Jardine,  Esq.  of  Larriston ;  Robert  Jordan,  Esq.  of 
Liddell  Bank. 


Resident  Justice  of  the  Peace — None. 

Police  Officers — John  Gordon ;  James  Reid,  Newcastleton. 


POST  OFFICE. 
Margaret  Murray,  postmistress 
Despatches. 


To  Hawick,  9  a.m. 
To  Carlisle,  0-10  p.m. 


Arrivals. 
From  Hawick,  0-2S  p.m. 
From  Carlisle,  9-19  a.m. 


Robert  Armstrong,  Langholm  Street,  town-deliverer. 
James  Nichol,  A  Street,  messenger  to  Dinlay  and  Saughtree. 


PUBLIC  OFFICES. 

Town  Committee  of  Management — Mr.  Thomas  Wilkie,  farmer  ;  Mr. 
Andrew  Mitchelhill,  farmer,  and  Mr.  James  Murray,  farmer. 

Registrar  of  Births,  Marriages,  and  Deaths,  Inspector  of  Poor,  Col- 
lector of  Poor  Rates,  Heritors'  and  Session  Clerk — John  Brown. 

Town  Clerk— John  Nichol. 

Inspector  of  Nuisances— John  Elliot. 


CLERGY,  &c, 

Castleton  is  in  the  Presbytery  of  Langholm,  and  Synod  of  Dumfries. 

Patron — Duke  of  Buccleuch. 


Established  CHURCHf—  Rev.  James  Noble  (Inducted  1SG1).    Sittings, 
820.    Average  attendance  at  Sabbath  School,  80. 

Free  Church— Rev.  Neil  Shaw  Ure   Inducted  1S01).     Sittings,  250. 
Average  attendance  at  Sabbath  School,  85. 

U.  P.  Church— Rev.  John  Black  (Inducted  1829).    Sittings,  000. 
Average  attend,  at  Sabbath  School  (including  private  class),  100. 
A  class  for  the  young,  in  connection  with  the  U.  P.  Church, 
held  every  Friday  evening.     Average  attendance,  60. 

Congregational  Church— Vacant.    Sittings,  148.    Average  attend- 
ance at  Sabbath  School,  12. 

Fast  Days— Fridays  before  the  second  Sabbaths  of  June  and  Nov. 


SCHOOLS,  t 
Parochial    (Newcastleton) — John    Brown, 


Female 


C.T.,    master; 
Teacher,  Miss  M.  Lithgow.     Average  attendance,  140. 

Auxiliary  (Burnmouth) — John  Hardie,  teacher;  average  attend.,  32. 

Auxiliary  (Saughtree)— Alexander  M'Gregor,  teacher;  average  at- 
tendance, 40. 

Auxiliary  (Hermitage) — James  Scott,  teacher;  average  attend.,  35. 

Female  School  (Castleton  Church) — Miss  Telfer,  teacher. 


SUNDRIES. 

Parochial  Boabd— William  Keir,  Esq.,  of  Whithaugh,  Chairman' 
No.  of  Poor  on  Roll,  40.  Rate  of  Assessment,  6d.  per  £. ;  total 
collection  1S03-4,  £700.     Poor  House; — Jedburgh  Union. 

Libraries — Castleton  Library,  containing  1469  vols.  ;  Annual  Sub- 
scription, 10s. — John  Brown,  librarian.  Juvenile  Library,  con- 
taining upwards  of  1240  vols. — Anne  Oliver,  librarian.  U.  P. 
Sabbath  School  Library,  containing  several  hundred  volumes— 
Rev.  J.  Black,  librarian. 

Liddesdale  Curling  Club  (admitted  into  the  R.C.C.C.  1S63) — An- 
nual subscription,  2s.  Patron — Lord  Henry  Scott,  M.P.  ;  Presi- 
dent— William  Keir,  Esq.,  of  Whithaugh ;  Vice-President— Ro- 
bert Elliot,  Esq.,  of  Redheugh;  Treasurer  and  Secretary— Mr. 
John  Scott,  Newcastleton  ;  Chaplain — Rev.  Jas.  Noble,  Castleton. 

Medical  Practitioners— William  Murray  and  Thomas  C.  Taylor, 
surgeons. 

Insurance  Agent— Edinburgh  Life— John  Brown. 

Liddesdale  Turnpike  Trust,  extending  from  Limekilnedge  and 
Not-of-the-Gate  to  Forge  Bridge,  parishes  of  Castleton  and 
Canonbie— Qualification,  £100  Scots— Messrs.  Oliver,  Hawick, 
Clerks  ;  Andrew  Wilson,  Hawick,  Surveyor. 

t  The  parish  church  and  manse  are  Bituated  about  2  miles  to  the  north 
of  the  village  of  Castleton,  at  the  junction  of  the  Liddell  and  Hermitage ; 
all  the  other  churches  are  in  the  village. 

t  The  children  in  the  parish  from  5  to  15,  attending  school  during  the 
first  week  of  April  1801,  was  334 ;  of  all  ages,  368. 


239 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    CASTLETON. — DIRECTORY. 


240 


Liddesdale  Statute  Labour  Trust — Qualification  of  Trustees,  £100 
Scots  ;  comprehends  the  parish  of  Castleton  only — George  and 
James  Oliver,  Hawick,  Clerks ;  Andrew  Wilson,  Hawick,  Sur- 
veyor. 

Bank — A  Branch  of  the  British  Linen  Company's  Bank  is  open  at 
Castleton  every  Monday  for  public  business,  by  Thomas  Steven- 
son, Agent,  Langholm. 

Fishing  Association  (Langholm) — President,  His  Grace  the  Duke  of 
Buccleuch ;  Secretary  and  Treasurer — H.  Dobie,  Esq.,  Langholm. 

Carriers — Hawick,  "Wednesday,  William  Scott;  Langholm,  Tuesday 
and  Friday,  James  Nichol ;  Jedburgh,  Thursday,  John  Martin. 


TRADES,  RESIDENTS,  &c. 

Those  marked  thus  (*)  arc  Registered  Voters  in  the  parish. 

Doncaster  Street 
Pringle,  John,  grocer 

Douglas  Square 

Armstrong,  Robert,  shoemaker 

Beattie,  William,  road-contractor 

Benson,  William,  general  merchant 
*Brown,  John,  schoolmaster 

Parochial  Board  and  Registrar's  Office 

Commercial  hm,  John  Scott 

County  Police  Station 

Crown  Inn,  *Richard  Murray 
*Dodd,  William  of  Greenholm 

Edgar,  James,  merchant 

Elliot,  John,  inspector  of  nuisances 

Elliot,  Ninian,  road-contractor 

Grapes  Inn,  John  Elliot 

Hall,  George,  cattle  dealer 
*Little,  John,  blacksmith 

Mackay,  William,  saddler 

Nichol,  Thomas,  baker 

Scott,  James,  draper,  clothier,  grocer,  etc- 
Cutter— James  Forster 

Scott,  James,  gardener 

Scott,  Miss  Jane,  grocer 

Simpson,  Thomas,  shoemaker 

Taylor,  Thomas  C,  surgeon 

Telfer,  Mark,  meal-dealer 

TJre,  Rev.  Neil  Shaw 

Wilkie,  Thomas  {bailie),  farmer 


Hermitage  Street  (North) 

Armstrong,  Mrs.,  merchant 

Armstrong,  William,  flesher 

Black  Bull  Inn,  Jane  Mitchellhill 

Crozier,  Mrs.,  draper 

Elliot,  Robert,  late  carrier 

Hall,  Mrs.  Thomas 
*I>ittle,  Robert,  stone-dyker 

Little,  William,  flesher 

Mitchellhill,  Andrew  (bailie),  farmer 
*Murray,  James  (bailie),  farmer 
*Nichol,  Adam,  mason 

Nichol,  John,  mason 

Nichol,  Robert,  grocer 

Oliver,  Adam,  joiner 
*Pott,  Robert,  f'euar 

Smith,  John,  gardener 

Turnbull,  Margaret,  grocer 

Hermitage  Street  (South) 

Armstrong,  Hugh,  cattle  dealer 

Beattie,  Walter,  builder 

Blaikie,  Robert,  saddler 

Crozier,  Robert,  dogger 
*Elliot,  Adam,  mason 

Elliot,  Thomas,  grocer 

Inglis,  Frank,  builder 

Inglis,  James,  grocer 

Murray,  Margaret,  draper 

Murray,  William,  surgeon 

Nichol,  John,  toicn-clerk 

Oliver,  Murray,  tailor 

Post  Office,  M.  Murray,  postmistress 
*Robson,  Adam,  feuar 
*Scott,  Francis 

Scott,  Andrew,  shoemaker 

Scott,  Archibald,  joiner 

Scott,  John,  builder 

Storie,  Thomas,  blacksmith 

Underwood,  Arthur,  butcher 

Langholm  Street 

Elliot,  Henry,  joiner 
Nichol,  James,  carrier 
Nichol,  William,  sheep-dealer 


241 


ROXBURGHSHIRE:    CASTLETON. —  RESIDENTS — REGISTERED    VOTERS — SEATS. 


242 


Liddel  Street 

Armstrong,  John,  mason 

Dickson,  John,  blacksmith 

V.  P.  Manse,  *Rev.  John  Black 

Montague  Street 

Cowan.  James,  lime  and  coal  agent 
Kerr,  Robert,  tailor 

Stafford  Street 
Nichol,  William,  blacksmith 

Whitchester  Street 

*Scott,  Walter,  feuar  (late  of  Hawick) 
VivenB,  Robert,  joiner 

Railway  Stations 

Newcastleton — J.  Singleton,  station-master 
Steel  Road — Alexander  Aitken,     do. 
Riccarton  Junction — John  Elwes,do. 

*Mason,  Thomas,  farmer,  Milnholm 
♦Mark,  Joseph,      do.,     North  Greenholm 

Moflat,  Arthur,     do.,      Cottage 
*Murray,  James,     do.,      Whisgills 
•Murray,  John,       do.,      Burnmouth 
*Murray,  Robert,    do.,      Castleton 
•Routledge,  John,  do.,     South  Greenholm 
*Scott,  Thomas,      do.,      Demainholm 
*Scott,  William  Elliot,  of  Peel,  Kirndean 
*Snowdon,  William,  farmer,  Mains 
*3tavert,  Andrew,         do.,     Dykecrofts 
*Stavert,  Archibald,      do.,      Saughtree 

Thomson,  James,  forester,  Sandholm 
*Wilson,  JohD,  quarrier,  Fairloans 

REGISTERED  VOTERS  (Non-Resident). 

Elliot,  Thomas,  yr.,  of  Redhaugh,  Dumfriesshire 
Irvine,  John,  of  Newbie 

Jardine,  John,  of  Thorlieshope,  Arkleton,  Ewes 
Jardine,  Robert,  of  Liddelbank,  Castle  Milk,  Lockerby 
Murray,  George,  Bedlington,  Northumberland 
Oliver,  John,  farmer,  Carlenrigg 
Rutherfurd,  William  Oliver,  of  Edgerston 
Smith,  James,  draper,  Newcastle-on-Tyne 

RESIDENTS  IN  THE  PARISH. 

Armstrong,  Mrs.,  Sorbietrers  Farm 
Armstrong,  James,  farmer,  Riccarton  Mill 

*  Armstrong,  James,     do.,      Yethouse 
*8allantyne,  John  G.,  do.,      Shaws. 
*Barrie,  John,               do.,      Hartsgarth 

*  Dickson,  Robert,         do.,      Dinley 
*Douglas,  James,         do.,      Roan 

Elliot,  Mrs.,  The  Flatt 

*  Elliot,  John,        farmer,  Flatt 

*  Elliot,  Andrew,     do.,      Twislehope 

*Elliot,  John  (of  Binks,  by  Hawick),  farmer,  Burnmouth 
*Elliot,  Robert,  farmer,  Powisholm 

*  Elliot,  Thomas,    do.,     Mangerton 
» Elliot,  Walter,      do.,     Hermitage 

*  Elliot,  John,  shepherd,  Newcastleton 
*Graham,  James,  farmer,  Braidlee 
*Hislop,  William,  do.,     Gorrenberry 
•Jardine,  Charles,  do.,     Riccarton 

Johnston,  Hugh,  gamekeeper,  Newlands 
*Kyle,  William,  farmer,  Leehaugh 

Wilson,  Andrew,  surveyor,  Hawick 

SEATS,  &o.  OF  COUNTY  FAMILIES  AND  SMALLER 
RESIDENCES. 

D1NLABYRE. 

A  house  of  considerable  size  but  antiquated  appearance,  situ- 
ated by  the  side  of  the  Jedburah  road,  near  the  left  bank  of 
the  Liddell,  and_ about  four  miles  from  Newcastleton — the  origi- 
nal seat  of  the  Rutherfurds  of  Edgerston,  now  occupied  by 
♦Robert  Douglas  &  Sons  (* James  and  *George),  farmers,  Din- 
labyre  and  Bridge  House. 

LARRISTON. 

The  property  of  *Jas.  Jardine,  Esq.  (of  Dryfeholm,  Lockerby), 
is  situated  on  the  south  of  the  Liddell,  about  two  miles  above 
Dinlabyre.    Mr.  Jardine  and  family  are  occasionally  resident. 

THORLIESHOPE. 

The  property  of  John  Jardine,  Esq.  (of  Arkleton,  Ewes),  is  also 

243 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  !    JEDBURGH. INTRODUCTORY    REMARKS. 


244 


on  the  south  side  of  the  Liddell,  about  a  mile  above  Larriston. 
The  proprietor  is  non-resident. 

REDHEUOH 

Is  pleasantly  situated  on  the  right  bank  of  the  Hermitage 
water,  a  short  distance  above  its  confluence  with  the  Liddell — 
the  property  and  residence  of  *Robert  Elliot,  Esq. 

WHITHAUGH. 

Situated  on  the  south  side  of  the  Liddell,  opposite  to  the  vil- 
lage of  Newcastleton — the  property  and  residence  of  *  William 
Keir,  Esq. 

LIDDELL  BANK. 

The  property  of  Robt.  Jardine,  Esq.  (of  Castle  Milk,  Lockerby) , 
acquired  by  purchase  from  the  Trustees  of  the  late  Archibald 
Maxwell,  Esq. — situated  among  woods  on  the  north  side  of  the 
Liddell,  about  four  miles  below  Newcastleton,  one  of  the  finest 
situations  in  Liddesdale.  Here  the  vale  begins  to  expand,  and 
a  little  farther  on  it  opens  into  the  magnificent  scenery  of 
Canonbie  on  the  one  side  and  Netherby  on  the  other.  The 
estate  is  occupied  by  *  William  Brakenridge,  Esq.,  who  rents 
the  whole  of  the  estate,  including  the  shootings. 


LIDDESDALE  COURSING  CLUB  (Instituted  1864). 

The  first  meeting  of  this  Club  took  place  near  Newcastleton,  in 
December  1S64  [after  the  first  part  of  the  Castletou  lists  had  been 
printedj,  when  16  Dogs  were  entered  and  run. 

Secretary — Mr.  John  Scott,  Newcastleton. 
Judge — Mr.  Jamieson,  jun.,  Nottylees,  Kelso. 


JEDBURGH. 


The  parish  of  Jedburgh  consists  of  two  parts,  detached  by 
intervening  portions  of  the  parishes  of  Oxnam  and  South- 
dean.  The  larger  part,  in  which  the  burgh  of  Jedburgh  is 
situated,  is  bounded  on  the  north  by  Ancrum,  Crailing,  and 
Eckford;  on  the  east  by  Oxnam  and  Hounam;  on  the  south 
by  Oxnam  and  Southdean ;  and  on  the  west  by  Bedrule.  The 
smaller  portion,  lately  converted  into  a  quoad  sacra  parish,  to 
which  small  portions  of  the  adjacent  parishes  of  Oxnam  and 
Southdean  have  been  attached,  lies  to  the  south.  In  this  por- 
tion the  hamlet  of  Edgerston  is  situated,  and  gives  the  name 
to  the  new  parish.  Its  boundaries  are — north  and  east,  Ox- 
nam ;  west  and  south,  Southdean  and  England.  The  general 
figure  of  the  parish  is  exceedingly  irregular — the  largest  piece 
is  about  7  miles  long,  and  5  miles  broad ;  the  upper  part  is 
about  5  miles  long  and  4  broad.  The  total  area  of  the  civil 
parish  of  Jedburgh,  according  to  the  Ordnance  Survey,  is 
22,670}  acres ;  of  which  22,300  are  land,  arable,  and  moor,  135J 
are  water;  221}  are  public  roads;  and  131  are  occupied  by  the 
railway.  The  surface  is  much  diversified — the  southern  part 
extending  to  the  Cheviot  Hills  is  mountainous,  and  includes  the 
following  hills — Greenknowes,  955  feet;  Hareshaw  Knowe, 
965  feet;  Browndean  Laws,  1309  feet;  Lumlair  Edge,  1341 
feet;  Hoplaw  Nip  (or  Hophills  Nob),  1173  feet;  Knock  Hill, 
1176  feet;  Ark's  Edge,  1468  feet;  and  Leap  Hill,  1542  feet. 
This  part  of  the  parish  gradually  descends  with  a  fine  undulating 
surface,  rising  sometimes  into  beautiful  green  hills.  The  northern 
portion  has  the  same  undulating  hilly  surface,  but  has  nothing 
mountainous  in  its  character,  with  the  exception  of  Lanton 
Hill  (923  feet),  lying  on  its  western  boundary  and  encroaching 
on  Bedrule  parish.  The  Dunion,  on  the  north-east  base  of  which 
the  burgh  of  Jedburgh  is  built,  has  its  peak  and  most  of  its 
base  in  Bedrule  parish,  and  is  1095  feet  high.  Almost  the 
whole  of  the  parish,  except  the  most  southerly  part,  is  under  a 
high  state  of  cultivation. 

The  Jed  which  rises  in  the  neighbouring  parish  of  Southdean, 
flows  through  nearly  the  whole  length  of  the  parish.  It  is  a 
tributary  of  the  Teviot,  which  it  joins  about  2  miles  below  the 
town.  The  Oxnam  water,  another  tributary  of  Teviot,  bounds 
the  eastern  portion  of  the  parish.  In  both  these  streams  the 
fishing  is  best  after  a  flood,  and  both  improve  the  nearer  the 
angler  gets  to  their  sources.  In  the  burns  which  flow  into  the 
Jed,  the  fishing  is  very  good. 


245 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    JEDBURGH. INTRODUCTORY    REMARKS. 


246 


Occupying  a  beautiful  situation  on  the  Jed,  is  the  royal  burgh 
of  Jedburgh,*  situated  in  55°  26'  north  lat,  and  2"  31'  west  long. 
It  is  a  place  of  great  antiquity.  It  was  originally  built  by  Ecgred 
or  Egred,  Bishop  of  Lindisfarne,  in  the  early  part  of  the  ninth 
century :  its  castle  being  mentioned  in  the  earliest  Scottish  annals. 
In  1523,  the  Earl  of  Surrey,  laid  siege  to  the  town,  and  met  with 
a  desperate  resistance.  He  describes  it  as  "  well  builded,  with 
many  honest  and  fair  houses  in  garrison,  and  six  good  towers 
therein."f  During  the  time  of  the  Border  wars  it  was  repeatedly 
assaulted.  Jedburgh  was  a  place  of  considerable  importance, 
from  its  situation  on  the  borders  of  England,  the  strength  of  its 
castle,  the  richness  of  its  abbey,  the  safe  retreat  afforded  to  its 
friends  and  foes  by  its  vast  and  impenetrable  forest ;  but  since 
these  were  destroyed  and  the  changes  that  have  taken  place 
since  the  Union,  it  has  been  reduced  in  importance  to  a  respect- 
able county  town.  The  town  is  in  general  well  built,  and  from 
being  partly  situated  on  the  hillside  possesses  great  diversity 
of  levels.  The  height  above  the  sea  level  at  the  outer  jail  gate 
is  388  feet,  276  feet  at  the  Market  Place,  253  feet  at  the  Town- 
foot  Bridge,  and  219  feet  at  the  Railway  Station.  The  four 
principal  streets  cross  at  right  angles  and  meet  in  a  market  place, 
of  limited  extent,  where  is  situated  the  County  Buildings.'con- 
taining  the  Council  House  and  the  Justiciary  and  Sheriff  Court 
Rooms.  Jedburgh  is  the  county  town  of  Roxburghshire; 
and  the  Circuit  Court  of  Justiciary  for  the  south-east  of  Scot- 
land (which  includes  the  counties  of  Roxburgh,  Berwick,  Selkirk, 
and  Peebles)  is  held  here  twice  a-year.  The  principal  branch 
of  industry  is  the  manufacture  of  woollens,  Cheviot  and  Saxony 
Tweeds,  etc.,  which  are  here  produced  to  a  considerable  extent. 
An  extensive  trade  is  also  carried  on  in  the  buying  in  of  wool 
clips  for  the  Bradford  market. 

Jedburgh,  as  is  well  known,  was  the  place  where  James 
Thomson,  author  of  "  The  Seasons,*'  received  a  considerable 
part  of  his  education  when  a  youth.  The  place  in  which  he 
received  his  first  instalment  of  classical  education  is  said  to 
have  been  the  small  aisle  within  the  abbey,  in  which  Dr. 
Sommerville  now  lies  buried,  it  being  then  used  as  the  "Latin 
School."  It  is  a  fact  also,  that  the  town-councils  of  Dumfries 
and  Jedburgh  were  the  only  two  public  bodies  which  appre- 
ciated the  genius  of  Robert  Burns  during  his  life,  so  far  as 


*  For  Parliamentary  particulars  of  the  Burgh,  see  p.  60. 

t  Amongst  the  relics  preserved  by  the  Burgh  is  a  standard  taken 
from  the  English  at  the  Battle  of  Bannockburn.  This  was  preserved 
by  the  Weavers'  Corporation  till  that  body  became  defunct,  arid  it  is 
now  deposited  in  the  Museum.  The  Burgh  also  possessed  an  ancient 
corporation  standard,  but  about  eighteen  years  ago  it  was  unfortu- 
nately lost  by  the  town  officer  on  his  return  from  St.  James's  Fair, 
where  it  used  to  be  regularly  displayed  when  the  Fair  was  proclaimed. 


to  bestow  municipal  honours  upon  him.  This  the  Jedburgh 
town-council  did  on  the  occasion  of  the  poet's  visit  in  1787, 
when  he  was  invited  to  an  entertainment,  and  appeared  in  all 
his  eminently  social  and  convivial  qualities.  We  may  mention 
that  the  justly  celebrated  Mrs.  Mary  Sommerville  was  born  in 
the  manse  of  Jedburgh,  and  that  Sir  David  Brewster,  whose 
father  was  rector  of  the  grammar  school,  was  born  in  the  house 
No.  40  Canongate.  The  town-council  recently  conferred  on 
Sir  David  the  freedom  of  the  burgh. 

The  climate  of  the  parish  varies  considerably.  In  Jedburgh 
and  the  valley,  which  are  sheltered  by  the  banks  of  the  river, 
it  is  mild  and  temperate;  whilst  in  the  higher  and  more  ex- 
posed parts  it  is  colder.  The  town  of  Jedburgh  might  he  re* 
markably  healthy  :  the  soil  on  which  it  stands  is  fine  and  dry, 
and  the  situation,  on  the  Bides  and  haughland  of  a  narrow 
valley,  gives  it  the  full  ventilation  of  fresh  south-west  breezes 
from  the  Border  hills.  Ten  years  ago  the  town  was  laid  with 
a  complete  system  of  sewerage  pipes,  at  a  cost  of  £1400.  The 
cholera,  which  in  the  year  1832  severely  visited  both  Kelso  and 
Hawick,  did  not  then  enter  the  parish  ;  but  on  the  two  sub- 
sequent occasions,  when  it  visited  the  locality,  Jedburgh  did  not 
escape,  although  the  visitations  were  mild  compared  with  the 
neighbouring  towns.  As  might  be  expected  from  the  natural 
salubrity  of  the  climate,  numerous  instances  of  longevity  have 
occurred  in  the  parish.  It  must  be  confessed,  however,  that 
the  town  has  not  kept  the  position  in  sanitary  arrangements 
which  might  have  been  expected.  Naturally  the  declivity  of 
the  situation  is  remarkably  well  adapted  for  the  outflow  of 
sewage  impurities;  yet  public  health  has  not  improved.  Disease 
in  several  offensive  forms  has  been  frequent  of  late  years.  By 
the  ordinary  laws  of  health  and  disease  this  must  be  owing 
to  a  laxity  of  police  rule.  The  state  of  the  lodging  houses  ib  bad, 
and  manure  is  allowed  to  accumulate  in  the  closes.  Houses  are 
allowed  to  remain  disconnected  with  the  sewerage  drains, 
thereby  revealing  an  improper  want  of  water-closet  conveni- 
ences ;  and,  above  all,  water  is  quite  insufficiently  supplied. 

A  great  desideratum  is  a  public  park.  This  has  been  oc- 
casionally hinted  at  as  an  object  of  Jedburgh  ambition,  and 
no  more  worthy  object  of  public  good  could  be  aimed  at ;  and 
that  the  inhabitants  could  raise  the  funds  to  purchase  with 
liberality  and  promptness,  is  shown  by  instances  of  their  recent 
surpassing  liberality  in  church  matters. 

The  soil  and  situation  of  the  town  are  particularly  congenial 
to  the  growth  of  fruit  trees,  and  many  old  and  celebrated  or- 
chards exist  in  and  aronnd  it.  The  pears  are  the  most  es- 
teemed. It  must  be  admitted,  however,  that  the  fruit  crop  is 
much  more  uncertain  than  it  used  to  be ;  and  the  district  shares 
in  the  supply  of  foreign  fruit  so  liberally  provided  by  the  trad- 
ing facilities  with  fruit  growing  countries  of  late  years. 


247 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    JEDBURGH. ANTIQUITIES FAIRS. 


243 


The  principal  object  of  attraction  in  the  town  is  the  fine  Abbey, 
of  which  the  best  general  view  is  obtained  from  the  banks  of  the 
river.  It  was  founded  by  David  I.,  and,  though  a  considerable 
part  of  it  is  in  a  ruinous  condition,  it  still  exhibits  an  outline  of 
its  original  magnitude  and  magnificence.  The  nave  has  been 
fitted  up  as  the  parish  church,  or  rather  the  parish  church  has 
been  fitted  up  in  the  nave,  a  combination  which  has  been  much 
condemned  by  critical  visitors.  Still,  however,  this  part  of  the 
ruins  makes  a  most  imposing  place  of  worship,  such  as  is  rarely 
to  be  seen  in  Scotland ;  and  it  is  possible  that  the  abbey  has 
its  present  state  of  careful  preservation  from  the  fact  of  its  con- 
taining the  church. 

In  the  Backdate,  which  runs  parallel  to  the  High  Street, 
there  is  an  object  of  interest  to  the  visitor,  being  no  less  than 
the  mansion  occupied  by  Queen  Mary,  during  an  illness  of 
several  weeks,  in  October  1565,  occasioned  by  fatigue  in  conse- 
quence of  her  visit  to  Bothwell  at  Hermitage  Castle  in  Liddes- 
dale.  The  house  is  of  considerable  size,  and  is  still  in  good 
repair.  It  is  altogether  a  curious  survivor  of  old  times,  and 
has  an  antique  and  venerable  air.* 

To  the  south  the  scenery  of  the  Jed  is  picturesque  in  the 
extreme  ;  the  road  winding  from  side  to  side  of  the  river  for 
several  miles,  sometimes  overhung  with  spreading  boughs,  and 
at  other  times  leading  through  open  haughs.  On  the  south 
side  of  the  town,  and  near  to  it,  opposite  Allars  Factory,  and 
close  on  the  bed  of  the  river,  is  exposed  a  fine  section  of  rock, 
highly  interesting  to  geologists,  as  shewing  the  junction  of  the 
greywaeke  formation  with  the  old  red  sandstone.  It  is  one  of 
the  most  perfect  instances  of  the  combination  to  be  met  with, 
and  was  first  pointed  out  by  Dr.  Hutton  in  1769.  About  a  mile 
on  the  Jedwater  road  stands  the  Capon  Tree  (an  oak),  one  of 
the  largest  and  most  venerable  trees  in  the  district.  Its  age 
has  been  computed  at  more  than  a  thousand  yearB.-)*  About 
a  mile  above  the  Capon  Tree  is  Ferniehirst  Castle,  which 
occupies  a  sequestered  position,  and  is  reached  by  a  road  lead- 
ing off  a  little  to  the  east  of  the  fourth  bridge.  It  was  long 
the  seat  of  the  Kerrs,  ancestors  of  the  Marquis  of  Lothian. 
The  present  pile,  built  in  1598,  presents  a  massive  appearance, 
lifting  its  grey  turrets  above  the  tops  of  the  tall  venerable  trees 
by  which  it  is  surrounded.  It  has  been  long  used  as  a  farm 
house.  Neir  to  Fernieherst  is  another  celebrated  tree  (also 
an  oak),  known  as  the  King  of  the  Wood.  A  short  distance 
below  the  fourth  bridge  is  the  glen  of  Lintalee  Burn,  which,  for 
fine  woodland  scenery  on  a  limited  scale,  is  not  surpassed  by 
any  glen  in  the  district.     Immediately  above  the  fourth  bridge 

*  The  proprietor  is  Lieut. -General  Robert  Lindsay  Armstrong,  Di- 
rector of  the  Imperial  Mint  at  St.  Petersburg, 
t  It  is  specially  noticed  in  "  Gilpin's  Forest  Scenery." 


Blackburn,  a  Bmall  rivulet,  falls  into  the  Jed.  The  scenery  in 
this  glen  is  exceedingly  rich,  and  of  quite  a  different  character 
from  that  of  Lintalee  Burn.  Burns,  when  on  his  Border 
tour,  visited  this  glen ;  and  when  he  afterwards  wrote  of 

"Eden  scenes  on  crystal  Jed," 

there  can  be  little  doubt  that  the  charming  scenery  of  Black- 
burn would  rise  before  bis  memory.  The  Hundalee  Caves  are 
likewise  objects  of  interest,  and  are  supposed  to  have  been  used 
as  hiding-places  in  ancient  warfare.  The  principal  one  is  acces- 
sible from  the  edge  of  the  cliff;  and  although  now  much  ex- 
posed to  view,  it  can  be  observed  how  complete  a  place  of  con- 
cealment it  must  have  been  when  the  rock  was  less  broken  and 
the  quantity  of  brushwood  greater. 

There  are  several  mansions  in  the  parish,  the  principal  of 
whifch  is  Hartkigge,  near  Jedburgh,  approached  by  a  fine 
avenue  of  stately  trees  ;  it  is  a  fine  specimen  of  the  Old  Scotch 
Baronial  style,  formed  out  of  an  older  mansion  of  a  plainer 
style,  by  tasteful  and  extensive  additions.  For  several  years  it 
was  the  residence  of  its  proprietor,  the  late  Lord  Chancellor 
Campbell,  whose  son  now  owns  the  property.  His  lordship 
does  not  reside  at  Hartrigge.  The  next  in  importance  is 
Edgeeston  Hocse,  about  6  miles  from  Jedburgh,  and  in 
the  detached  portion  of  the  parish,  the  seat  of  William  Oliver 
Rutherfurd.  Esq.,  the  sheriff  of  the  county. 

The  burgh  is  governed  by  a  provost,  three  bailies,  a  dean  of 
guild,  a  treasurer,  and  a  council,  elected  by  the  parliamentary 
electors. 

There  are  two  villages  in  the  larger  portion  of  the  parish : 
Bonjedward,  near  the  junction  of  the  Jed  with  Teviot,  and 
Lanton  in  the  western  extremity  of  the  parish.  The  latter  has 
over  200  inhabitants. 


General  Holidays — New  Year's  Day,  and  Wednesday  after 
hiring  day  in  May. 

Handball  Match — Fastern's  E'en  Tuesday.  This  match 
takes  place  in  the  town,  the  opposing  sides  being  those  who 
have  been  born  to  the  west  of  the  cross,  and  those  who  have 
been  born  to  the  east  of  it.  On  this  occasion  there  is  a  half- 
holiday. 

Marhet  Days — Tuesday,  weekly  (corn  and  general) ;  month- 
ly (fat  cattle  and  sheep),  third  Thursday  during  the  season  (No- 
vember to  May).  Jedburgh  does  but  a  small  corn  trade  (sales 
by  sample),  and  its  Corn  Exchange  is  of  importance  principally 
as  a  place  tor  meetings,  exhibitions,  and  sales — see  lists,  Corn 
Exchange. 

Great  Hiring  Days — Hinds,  first  Tuesday  of  March;  Girls 
and  Young  Men,  first  Tuesdays  of  May  and  November.    These 


249 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    JEDBURGH. — FAIRS — POPULATION — MAGISTRATES. 


250 


hiring  days  rank  in  importance  with  those  of  Kelso,  as  the 
principal  hirine  markets  in  the  district. 

Cattle  and  Horse  Fair  (held  in  the  town) — first  Tuesday 
after  the  26rh  of  May — not  important. 

Cattle,  Horses,  and  Shearers  (held  in  the  town) — 20th 
August,  if  a  Tuesday  ;  if  not,  the  Tuesday  before. 

St.  James'  Fair  (at  Kelso) — 5th  August,  of  which  the  burgh 
of  Jedburgh  shares  the  right  of  superiority — see  p.  74.* 

Rink  Wool  Fair — held  two  days  after  St.  Boswell's  (see  p. 
121).  Much  of  the  Cheviot  wool  left  over  from  St.  Boswell's 
is  here  disposed  of.  The  Rink  Sheep  Fair,  formerly  of  great 
importance,  is  now  extinct — see  Pennymuir  fair,  p.  229. 

Rood  Day,  Cattle  and  Horses — Sept.  25.  This  old  and  impor- 
tant tryst,  like  the  other  Jedburgh  fairs,  is  held  in  the  streets, 
which,  owing  to  the  throng,  form  an  uncomfortable  place  for 
the  transaction  of  business.  The  mai  ket  causes  much  annoyance 
to  shopkeepers  and  others,  who  have  to  keep  on  their  shutters 
the  whole  forenoon.  The  stock  shown  are  principally  feeding 
cattle  belonging  in  the  majority  of  instances  to  farmers  in  the 
hill  district.  A  few  cows  are  al*o  shown — generally  farrow. 
The  show  of  horses  has  fallen  off  greatly  ;  the  few  still  brought 
forward  are  mostly  young  and  ordinary  work  horses.  It  is  the 
very  general  opinion  amongst  those  interested,  that  it  would 
he  a  great  advantage  if  this  fair  and  the  Ktlso  Lean  Cattle 
Market,  held  the  day  previous,  were  joined  into  one  impor- 
tant tryst,  and  held  in  some  spacious  convenient  locality— such 
as  St.  Boswell's  G-reen. 

Cattle  and  Horses  (held  in  the  town") — first  Tuesday  of  No- 
vember (hiriDg  day).     Not  important. 


Population  of  the  Burgh  (by  the  census  of  1861),  2450 ;  of 
the  Parliamentary  bounds  beyond,  978;  of  the  landward  dis- 
trict (not  including  Edgerston),  1835 — total, 4911;  Edgerston, 
225— grand  total  of  the  civil  parish,  5263.  The  portions  of 
Southdean  and  Oxnam,  added  to  Edgerston,  to  form  a  separate 
parish,  contain  107  inhabitants ;  making  a  total  for  Edger- 
ston of  332.  When  the  census  was  taken,  the  parish  (exclusive 
of  Edgerston)  contained  1157  separate  families,  3  of  whom 
were  returned  as  living  in  houses  without  windows,  523  in 
houses  with  one  window,  294  in  houses  of  2  windows,  and  the 
remainder  (337,  or  less  than  one-third)  in  houses  of  three  or 
more  windows.  Edgerston  contained  70  separate  families,  30 
of  whom  lived  in  houses  of  one  window,  24  in  houses  of  two 
windows,  and  the  remainder  (16,  or  less  than  one*fourth)  in 
houses  of  three  or  more  windows. 

The  annual  value  of  real  property  within  the  Parliamentary 

*  Since  the  sheet  containing  page  74  was  printed,  an  endeavour 
i8  being  made  to  revive  St.  James's  as  a  sheep  and  lamb  fair. 


burgh,  for  the  year  to  Whitsunday  1865,  was  £9855  :  0  :  2.  The 
amount  of  assessed  property  in  the  parish  for  the  vear  1863-4, 
is  £22,168  :  15  :  10. 

Jedburgh  is  46  miles  direct  S.E.  from  Edinburgh,  10  miles  S.W. 
from  Kelso,  and  the  same  distance  N.E.  from  Hawick,  with  all 
of  which  there  is  now  roundabout  railway  communication  by 
way  of  Roxburgh,  where  a  single  line  for  Jedburgh  joins  the 
Kelso  branch  of  the  N.  B.  line.  By  railway  the  distances  are- 
Edinburgh  56^  miles,  Kelso  lOf,  and  Hawick  18J.  To  Carlisle 
by  rail  the  distance  is  64  miles,  to  Newcastle  (by  Hawick)  126 
miles  do.  (by  Berwick)  116  miles,  Berwick  34^,  Newtown  15f, 
Glasgow  104^  miles.  The  Jedburgh  station  is  small  and  in- 
conveniently placed  in  the  outskirts,  beyond  Bongate,  and  over 
half  a  mile  from  the  market  place.  It  is  a  matter  of  regret 
that  the  line  has  not  been  completed  by  being  carried  into  the 
town. 

The  following  principal  landed-proprietors  are  resident  in  the 
parish  : — William  T.  Ormiston,  Esq.  of  Glenburnhall  ;  James  S. 
E.  Fair,  Esq.,  of  Langlee;  James  James,  Esq.,  of  Samieston  ; 
A.  W.  Mein,  Esq  ,  of  Hunthill. 

The  Earl  of  Minto,  the  Marquis  of  Lothian,  and  the  Coun- 
tess of  Home  (non-resident)  are  also  large  proprietors. 


MAGISTRATES  AND  COUNCIL. 

The  Town  Council  administer  the  General  Police  Act  of  1S50,  which 
has  been  adopted  in  the  Town  for  several  years. 

Provost — William  Deans,  Esq. 
Bailies — William  Elliot,  saddler;  William  Millar,  solicitor;    Andrew 

Easton,  bookseller. 

Dean  of  Guild — J.  S.  Turnbull,  banker.    Treas. — W.  Brown,  mercht. 

Councillors. 


James  Thomson,  cabinetmaker 
Adam  Hope,  ironmonger 
Peter  Paterson,  blacksmith 
Robert  Story,  surveyor 
William  Elliot,  solicitor 

James  Stedman,  Town  Clerk.        John  Lee,  Procurator- Fiscal. 

Police  Rates,  Is.  2d.  per  £.,  exclusive  of  Water — see  Water  Company. 

Collector  of  Police  Rates — Juhn  Lee. 


G.  Chisholm,  manufacturer 
John  D.  Storry,  grocer 
Alexander  Guthrie,  currier 
James  Turnbull,  joiner 


COURTS. 

Justiciary — Generally  held  in  April  and  September ;  the  days  are 
fixed  by  the  Judges  who  are  to  preside. 

Justice  of  Peace  Courts  are  held  on  the  last  Tuesday  of  each  month. 

Police  Courts  are  held  as  occasion  requires. 


251 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    JEDBURGH. PUBLIC    OFFICES POST   OFFICE. 


252 


Sheriff  and  Commissary  Courts  are  held  during  Sessions,!  viz., — on 

Monday  and  Thursday. 
Sheriff  Small  Debt  Courts  are  held  every  Thursday  during  Session. 


ACTING  JUSTICES  OF  THE  PEACE. 
Those  marked  thus  (*)  are  Resident  in  the  parish. 
Sir  "William  Scott  of  Ancrum,  M.P. ;  William  Ogilvie  of  Chesters ; 
*A.  W.  Mein  of  Hunthill ;  J.  Paton  of  Crailing ;  J.  Ord  of  Muir- 
houselaw  ;  *W.  T.  Ormiston  of  Glenburnhall ;  Mas.  S.  E.  Pair  of 
Langlee;  *Sheriffof  the  County ;  ^Sheriff-Substitute  ;  *R.  S.  E. 
Fair,  yr.  of  Lauglee  ;  *Jas.  James  of  Samieston ;  the  *Provost  of 
Jedburgh  ;  the  *Senior  Bailie  of  Jedburgh. 


PUBLIC  OFFICES. 

Billet  Master — James  Stedman,  County  Buildings. 

County  Rates,  Collector  of— Gideon  Pott,  County  Buildings. 

Heritor's  Clerk— William  Millar,  24  High  Street. 

Inland  Revenue  Excise  Office  (Harrow  Inn),  Officer,  William  Edward 
Cheese. 
Do.  Collector  of,  Archibald  Jerdon,  High  Street. 

Income  Tax,  Assessor  of — Walter  Clark,  High  Street. 

Justice  of  Peace  Clerk — James  Stedman,  County  Buildings. 

Jedburgh  Abbey,  Custodier  of — Andrew  Watson,  Abbey  Close. 

Lieutenancy,  General  Clerk  of— William  Millar,  24  High  Street. 

Medical  Officer  and  Public  Vaccinator — James  Falla,  surgeon,  4  High 
Street. 

Police  and  Prison   Assessment,    Collector  of  —  John   Lee,    County 
Buil  dings. 

Police  Treasurer — William  Veitch,  Paradise  Vale. 

Poor,  Inspector  of — James  Sloan,  33  High  Street. 

Poor  Rates,  Collector  of— William  Scott.     Office,  27  High  Street. 

Prison  Board,  Clerk  to — A.  0.  Turnbull,  Exchange  Buildings. 

Prison,  Governor  of — Charles  Sprunt. 

Procurator- Fiscal  for  Burgh — John  Lee.     Office,  County  Buildings. 

Procurator-Fiscal  for  County — Jas.  Stevensoa,  and  Jas.  C.  Steven- 
son, County  Buildings. 

Registrar  of  Births,  Marriages,  and  Deaths — Thos.  Grieve,  Kenmuir. 

Session  Clerk — A.  C.  Mounsey,  Abbeybridge-end. 

Sexton — William  Henshelwood,  Abbey  Place. 

Sheriff- Clerk— George  Rutherford,  County  Buildings. 

Sheriff-Clerk  Depute — John  M'Dougall,  County  Buildings. 

Sheriff-Officers — Thomas  Wight,  19  Castlegate ;  George  Robertson, 
34  Castlegate ;  Henry  Hewat,  41  High  Street. 

Stamps  and  Taxes,  Distributor  and  Collector  of — Archibald  Jerdon, 
High  Street. 

Do.  Surveyor  of — Edward  Henderson,  Melrose. 

Town  Clerk — James  Stedman,  County  Buildings. 

Town  Crier — John  Hope,  Castlewood. 

t  "During  Sessions"— viz.,  First  Session  commences  -i5tb  January 
and  ends  15th  March;  Second  Session  commences  3d  or  4th  April, 
and  ends  31st  July;  Third  Session  commences  1st  Oetobar  and  ends[ 
15th  December. 

251. 


POST  OFFICE  (18  High  Street). 
Andrew  Easton,  Postmaster. 

Departures.  Despatched  at.     Box  Closes. 

Hawick,   Denholm,   Galashiels,   Selkirk,  )    7K„„  «7  «  ™ 

Kelso,  Coldstream,  &c.  .        .        .        j"    {'Xi>  a'm'  '  a'm' 

Edinburgh  and  the  North,  Melrose,  &c.      .     9-40  a.m.      9-30  a.m. 

Berwick 12-45  p.m.     12-35  p.m. 

Edinburgh  and  the  North  and  Melrose       .     2-55  p.m.       2-40  p.m. 

Berwick,  London  and  the  South,  Hawick  1    ,,  in  „  „,        ,««»« 

Kelso,  Crailing,  Coldstream,  &c.    .       /  4"IU  p'm-       6~bi>  pm* 

Edinburgh  and  the  North    ....     6-50  p.m.       6-35  p.m. 

On  Sundays,  bags  for  Hawick,  Kelso,  and  Melrose,  will  be  de- 
spatched at  7-5  a.m.,  and  for  Edinbui'gh  and  the  North,  Melrose, 
Berwick,  Carlisle,  London,  and  North-Western  Railway  and  Midland 
Railway  Post-Offices,  will  be  despatched  at  5  p.m.  Letters  must 
be  posted  at  4-45  p.m. 

Arrivals. 
Edinburgh  and  the  North,  Hawick,  Mel-  'l    Arrival         Delivery 
rose,  Kelso,  Coldstream,  Berwick,  and  V  "  begins 

Railway  Post-Office  )    9-45  a.m.     10-15  a.m. 

Berwick,  and  Midland  Railway  Post-Office  12-5  p.m.       6-40  p.m. 
Edinburgh  and  the  North,  Hawick,  Mel- )    6.2Q  ^ 

rose,  and  Kelso  j  y  F 

London,   Carlisle,    Midland    and    North- )    Q.n  » 

Western  Railway  Post  Offices  .  )  y~*°  p'm'  '  a,m- 
Thomas  Armstrong,  Letter- Carrier. 
On  Sundays  bags  from  London,  Edinburgh,  Melrose,  Hawick, 
Kelso,  Berwick,  London  and  North-Western,  and  Midland  Railway 
Post-Offices  will  be  received  at  10.35  a.m.,  and  bags  from  Berwick, 
<fec,  will  be  received  at  7-50  p.m.  A  delivery  by  letter-carrier  will  be 
made,  beginning  at  2-30  p.m.,  and  the  office  window  will  be  open 
from  10  to  11  a.m.,  and  2  till  3  p.m. 

The  Jedwater  Messenger  is  despatched  at  10-15  a  m.,  and  returns 
at  3-45  p.m.     Anthony  Temple,  Messenger. 

The  Oxnam-water  Messenger  is  despatched  at  10-15  a.m.,  and  re- 
turns at  5-45  p.m.    W.  Hogg,  Messenger. 

The  Ancrum  and  Belses  Messenger  is  despatched  at  6  a.m. ,  and  re- 
turns at  10  a.m.  ;  and  is  again  despatched  at  10-15  a.m.,  returning 
at  3-45  p.m.     A.  Greirson,  Messenger. 

The  Wells  Messenger,  via  Lanton,  Newton,  SpittaL  Bedrule, 
Wells,  &c,  arrives  at  9-30  a.m.,  and  is  despatched  at  10-15  a.m. 
Thomas  Best,  Messenger. 


CLERGY,  &c. 

Jedburgh  is  the  Seat  of  a  Presbytery,  in  the  Synod  of  Merse  and 

Teviotdale.     Patron — The  Crown. 

Parish  Church — Rev.   George  Ritchie  (Inducted  1S43).     Sittings, 

1000.     Average  attend,  at  Sabbath  School,  100;  Superintendent 

— Rev.  Mr.  Ritchie  ;  Church  Treasurer — Chas.  Anderson,  banker; 

Session  Clerk — A.  C.  Mounsey ;  Church  Officer — Andw.  Watson. 

Quoad  Sacra  Church — At  Edgerston  (see  Edgerston). 

Free  Church — Rev.  John  Purves  (Inducted  1832).    Sittings,  650. 


253 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    JEDBURGH. CLERGY EDUCATIONAL    INSTITUTIONS. 


254 


Average  attendance  at  Sabbath  School,  70.  Precentor — Thomas 
Wight,  19  Castlegate ;  Treasurer  Local  and  Foreign  Missions — 
Mr.  J.  R  Stewart,  1  Burnwynd  ;  Treasurer  Sustentation  Fund — 
Mr.  A.  Easton,  bookseller  ;  Superintendent  of  Sabbath  School — 
Mr.  William  Elliot,  saddler ;  Church  Officer — Thomas  Grieve. 

United  Presbyterian  Church  (Blackfriars) — Rev.  J.  Poison  (In- 
ducted 1S56).  Sittings.  1108.  Average  attendance  at  Sabbath 
School,  town  classes,  60;  country  classes,  30;  Bible  Class  by 
Mr  Poison,  33.  Precentor — George  Brown,  shoemaker,  Bon- 
gate  ;  Church  Treasurer,  general  and  local — Mr.  William  Hope, 
5  Bridge  Street ;  President  of  Managers — Mr.  Win.  Deans,  S.S.  ; 
Church  Officer — Henry  Twig. 

United  Presbyterian  Church  (High  Street) — Rev.  William  Ban* 
(Inducted  1841).  Sittings,  1050.  Average  attendance  at  Sab- 
bath School,  00;  Bible  Class  by  Mr  Barr,  average  attend.,  30; 
Superintendent  of  Sabbath  School  and  Session  Clerk — Mr.  Robert 
Oliver ;  Precentor,  George  Maclean,  shoemaker,  Abbey  Place  ; 
Treasurer — Mr.  George  Hilson,  solicitor ;  Treasurer  for  Missionary 
purposes — Mr.  W.  Fergrieve,  ironmonger;  Chairman  of  Managers 
— Mr.  James  Thomson,  cabinetmaker;  Church  Officer  —  John 
Rutherford. 

Episcopal  Church — Rev.  John  Moir  (Inducted  1361).  Sittings,  250. 
Average  attendance  at  Sabbath  School, 

Congregational  Church — Rev.  George  Peel  (Inducted  1863).  Sit- 
tings, 300.  Average  attendance  at  Sabbath  School,  100.  Church 
Treasurer — Mi'.  John  Boyd,  26  Canongate. 

Roman  Catholic  Chapel — Rev.  Francis  M'Kerrel  (Inducted  1856). 

Fast  Days — Thursday  before  first  Sunday  of  July,  and  regulated  by 
best  moonlight  in  December. 


UNITED  PRESBYTERIAN  CHURCH  (Blackfriars) 
MISSIONARY  ASSOCIATION. 

President — Rev.  John  Poison     Treasurer — Mr.  William  Hope. 
Average  Annual  Subscriptions,  £100. 


COLPORTAGE  SCHEME  (estab.  1863). 

Secretary  and  Treasurer — Archibald  Jerdon,  Esq.,  Jadfoot  House. 

John  Henderson,  Bongate,  Colporteur. 

The  parishes  visited  by  the  Jedburgh  Colporteur  are  those  of  Jed- 
burgh, Ancrum,  Bedrule,  Hopkirk,  Oxnam,  Southdeau,  and  part  of 
CraUing  ;  a  portion  of  the  last  parish  having  been  previously  occupied 
by  the  Kelso  Colporteur  It  is  contemplated  also  to  extend  his 
operations  to  the  parish  of  Hounam.  The  income  of  the  society  for 
the  year  it  has  been  in  existence  was  £31,  13s.  The  Colporteur  has 
sold  215  bibles  and  loS  testaments  since  the  commencement  of  the 
scheme ;  besides  books,  and  periodicals  ;  and  tracts,  supplied  by 
the  Religious  Tract  and  Book  Society  of  Scotland,  to  the  extent  of 
200  per  month,  have  been  distributed. 


EDUCATIONAL  INSTITUTIONS.* 

Grammar  Schools — Mr  A.  Mounsey,  Rector  ;  Henry  Telfer,  assistant ; 
average  attendance,  110. 

Sessional   School,  (established  1851) — Mr  Muckersie,  master;  ave- 
rage attendance,  100. 

Side  Schools  (see  Lanton  and  Edgerston). 

"The  Nest  Acadamy,"  (established  1842)  for  Board  and  Education  of 
Young  Gentlemeu — Proprietors,  Miss  Millar,  and  Mr  Fyfe  ;  Assist- 
ants, Mr  Rutherford  and  Herr  Schmit. 

St.  John's    Episcopal  Church    School — Mr  Walter  Scott,    master ; 
Edward  Robinson,  assistant ;  average  attendance,  130. 

Private  School,  and  Boarding  EstabUshment  for  Young  Ladies — Miss 
Kennedy,  Canongate. 

Day  School  for  Young  Ladies — Miss  Clarkson. 

Infant  School — Mrs.  Muckersie,  Teacher ;  Misses  Veitch  and  Waldie, 


PAROCHIAL  BOARD. 
Chairman — Andrew  W.  Mein  of  Hunthill. 
Committees. 
General— Provost  Deans  ;  A.  W.  Mein  of  Hunthill ;  William  E,  Otto, 
Jerdonneld;  Andrew  Scott,  Glendouglas ;  J.  S.  E.  Fair  of  Lang- 
lee;  William  T.  Ormiston  of  Glenburnball ;  George  Rutherford, 
Sheriff-Clerk ;  William  Millar,  solicitor ;  George  Balfour,  grocer. 

Control  of  Nuisances — Bailie  Elliot;  William  E.  Otto,  Jerdonneld  ;  J. 
S.  E.  Fair,  of  Langlee ;  George   Balfour,  grocer ;  Robt.  Oliver, 
grocer ;  Andrew  Easton,  bookseller ;  Alexander  Jeffrey,  solicitor. 
Clerk — James  Sloan.         Convener — Bailie  Elliot 

Number  of  Poor  on  Roll,  .  Rate  of  Assessment — A  somewhat  in- 
tricate method  of  assessment  is  followed  in  this  parish,  but  the 
usual  half,  amounting  to  5£d.  per  £.  is  charged  against  the  pro- 
prietors at  an  average  rate  throughout  the  assessment  roll ;  the 
other  half  is  charged  against  tenants  and  occupants,  according 
to  the  following  scale,  which,  we  presume,  averages  5£d.  per  £.  on 
the  whole — 

Tenants  and  Occupants  of  Dwelling- houses,  Is.  Id.  per  £. 
Places  of  Business  . .  . .  . .        S£d.     ,, 

Agricultural  subjects     ..  ..  ..        3£d.    ,, 

For  some  years  the  assessment  was  rated  by  the  income,  but  it 
was  found  not  to  work  smoothly. 

Total  Assessment,  1863-4,  £1300. 
The  Board  retains  the  management  of  Edgerston  poor. 


*  Total  number  of  children  in  the  civil  parish,  between  the  ages  of 
5  and  15,  attending  school  during  the  first  week  of  April  1861,-  852  : 
of  all  ages,  1029. 


255 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    JEDBURGH. — BENEVOLENT  SOCIETIES. 


256 


UNION"  POORHOUSE. 

The  Poorhouse  was  erected  in  1851  by  the  Parochial  Board  of 
Jedburgh,  aud  has  since  been  formed  into  a  Union  Poorhouse  for 
the  Parishes  of  Ancrum,  Bedrule,  Castleton,  Grading,  Jedburgh,  Ox- 
nani,  and  Southdean.     It  is  fitted  up  to  hold  at  least  72  inmates. 

Committee  of  Management. 
Chairman — J.  S.  E.  Fair  of  Langlee.     Vice -Chairman — Provost  Deans. 
And.  Scott,  factor,  Glendouglas.    |  Robert  Young,  shoemaker. 


\.  0.  Turn  bull,  solicitor. 
Rev.  John  Purves,  Jedburgh. 
William  Millar,  solicitor. 
Rev.  William  Burnie,  Oxnam. 


"Win.  E.  Otto,  factor  Jerdonficld, 
W.  T.  Orcuiston  of  Glenburiihall 
A.  W.  Mein  of  Hunthill. 
William  Elliot,  solicitor. 
John  Paton  of  Crailing. 

Secretary  aud  Treasurer — William  Millar,  solicitor. 

Governor — John  M'Robbie.        Matron — Mrs  M 'Robbie 

Medical  Officer— Dr  Falla.     Chaplain— Rev.  W.  Scott. 

Average  No.  of  Inmates,  45. 


CASTLEWOOD  CEMETERY  GROUND. 
(Parochial,  not  subject  to  the  Act.) 

Purchased  in  1854,  by  the  Heritors  of  the  Parish  of  Jedburgh,  Land- 
ward and  Burghal.  It  is  under  the  charge  of  the  following  Com- 
mittee : — 

J.  S.  E.  Fair  of  Langlee ;  W.  T.  Ormiston  of  Glenburiihall ;  Andrew 
Scott,  Glendouglas;  William  Millar,  solicitor;  Provost  Deans. 
Secretary  and  Treasurer— William  Millar,  solicitor. 
Price  of  Layer  in  the  reserved  ground,  10s,  ;  common  gi'ound,  2s.  6d. 


DISPENSARY  (estab.  1807). 

President  and  Patron— The  Most  Noblo  the  Marquis  of  Lothian. 

Vice-Presidents. 

His  Grace  the  Duke  of  Buccleuch ;  the  Right  Honourable  the  Earl 

of  Minto;  Sir  William  Scott  of  Ancrum,  Bart.,  M.P. ;  William 

Oliver  Rutherford,  Esq.  of  Edgerston. 

Committee  of  Management. 

Andrew  Scott,  Glendouglas,  fac- 
tor to  the  Earl  of  Home. 
G.  Rutherford,  sheriff-clerk. 


W.  O.  Ruthcrfurd  of  Edgerston. 
William  E.  Otto,  Jerdonfield. 
J.  Shortreed  E.  Fair  of  Langlee. 
Rev.  George  Ritchie,  Jedburgh. 
James  Stevenson,  solicitor. 


Archd.  Jerdon,  Jedfoot  House. 
James  Cumming,  banker. 


Treasurer  and  Secretary— A.  O.  Tumbull,  solicitor. 

Medical  Officer— James  Falla,  surgeon. 

Average  number  of  patients  treated  at  the  Dispensary,  120;  at  their 

homes,  240. 

Accumulated  funds,  £350  and  the  Dispensary  property. 


CHARITABLE  BEQUEST 

Mortification  of  Two  Hundred  Pounds  Scots,  founded  by  Dame 
Margaret  Kerr,  Lady  Yester,  and  others,  so  far  back  as  the  17th 
century,  for  the  use  and  behoof  of  the  Schoolmaster  of  Jedburgh 
and  his  successors,  "for  learning  and  instructing  of  12  bairns  of 
such  persons  as  were  not  able  to  pay  for  their  bairns*  learning 
within  the  burgh  of  Jedburgh ;  and  for  helping  to  sustain  the  poor 
within  the  said  burgh."  The  administration  of  this  fund  is  claimed 
by  the  session  of  the  Parish  Church  of  Jedburgh. 


JEDBURGH  SOUP  KITCHEN. 


President — William  Deans,  Esq.,  Provost. 

Lady  Patronesses —The  Most  Noble  Cecil  Marchioness  of  Lothian, 

and  lady  Scott  of  Ancrum. 

Secretary — George  Hilson,  jun.     Treasurer — J.  R.  Stewart. 

Average  Annual  Income,  £27,  10s. 


MUTUAL  BENEFIT  SOCIETIES. 


Average 


First  Yearly — Walter  Clark,  Secretary  and  Treasurer. 

number  of  members,  220. 
Third  Yearly — R.  O.  Edmonstone,  Secretary  and  Treasurer.  Ave- 
rage number  of  members,  70. 
These  societies  are  the  same  in  principle  as  those  of  Kelso  and 
Melrose  (tee  pp.  86,  135),  but  differ  in  the  details  of  payments. 
Thus,  the  Jedburgh  members  pay  from  t>d.  to  2s.  per  week  to  the 
general  funds,  and  the  usual  2d.  per  week  for  sick  and  funeral 
money ;  while  the  payments  to  members  on  the  sick  list  are,  6s. 
per  week  for  the  first  six  weeks,  followed  by  3s.  per  week  to  the  end 
of  the  society's  financial  year.  For  funerals  at  the  death  of  a  mem- 
ber the  definite  sum  of  £2  is  paid,  and  £1  on  the  death  of  a  member's 
wife,  but  no  payments  are  made  in  the  event  of  a  member's  child 
dying.  When  money  is  advanced  to  members  from  the  society's 
general  fund,  Id.  per  £.  per  month  is  the  rate  of  interest  charged. 


ST.  JOHN'S  LODGE  OF  FREEMASONS,  No.  104  (estab.  1767). 

R.  W.  Master — Robert  Simpson. 

Fast-Master — George  Mearns,  Lisburn,  Ireland. 

Secretary — W.  E.  Cheese.     Treasurer— Robert  Lauder. 


TOTAL  ABSTINENCE  SOCIETY  (estab.  1848). 

President — Rev.  John  Poison. 

Vice-Presidents— Rev.  George  Peel ;  Thomas  Oliver,  clothier. 

Secretary— Sam.  Crosbie.     Treasurer— R.  Young,  leather  merchant. 


257 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    JEDBURGH.- — MUSEUM LIBRARIES AGRICULTURAL  SOCIETY. 


258 


MUSEUM  (Instituted  March  1857). 

President— The  Most  Noble  the  Marquis  of  Lothian. 

Vice-Presidents— Sir  Win.  Scott  of  Ancrum,  Bart. ;  William  O.  Ruther- 

furd  of  Edgerston. 

Council. 
The  Sheriff-Sub.  of  the  County. 
The  Provost  of  Jedburgh. 
Hon.  H.  Campbell. 
John  Ord,  Esq.  of  Muirhouselaw. 
A.  Jerdon,  Esq.,  Jedfoot  House. 


G.  Rutherford, Esq, , Sheriff-Clerk. 


Jas.  James,  Esq.  of  Samieston. 
Andw.  Scott,  Esq.,  Glendouglas. 
William  Oliver.  Esq.  of  Langraw. 
Rev.  T.  S.  Anderson,  Crailing. 
Mr.  John  K.  Stewart,  draper 


Treasurer — Charles  Anderson,  banker. 

Secretary — John  S.  Turnbull,  banker. 

Curator — Adam  Matthewson,  50  High  Street. 

Open  gratuitously  on  Tuesdays  and  Saturdays. 


LIBRARIES. 
Blackfriars  United  Presbyterian  Church  Library,  established  ]  832. 

Contains  2500  vols.     Annual  subscription  2s.  for  seat-holders,  3s. 

for  others.     T.  Telfer,  Boundaries,  Librarian. 
T.  Smail's  Select  Library,  established  1853.     Contains  1500  vols  of 

modern  literature.      Annual   subscription,  21s.  ;   Second  Class, 

7s.  (jd. ;  Magazine  Club,  7s.  6d. 
Mechanics'  Library,   established  1841.      Annual  subscription,  3s.  ; 

Apprentices,   2s.     Thomas  Grieve,  Librarian.     (See  Mechanics' 

Institute.) 
London  Library  Company  (limited). — Agents— A.  &  W.  Easton. 


NEW  READING  ROOM  (Instituted  1864). 

President — George  Rutherford,  Esq. 

Vice-Presidents— A.  C.  Mounsey,  rector  ;  J.  Fidden,  cabinet  maker. 

Secy. — Jas.  Lawrie,  clerk.     Treas. — J.  R.  Stewart,  draper. 
Annual  subscription,  10s.,  4s.,  and  2s. — at  the  option  of  subscribers. 


MECHANICS'  INSTITUTE. 
Established  in  1S41  for  the  instruction  of  the  Members  in  literature, 
science,  and  general  useful  knowledge,  the  rational  amusement  of 
the  members,  and  the  cultivation  of  their  tastes.  The  Library,  which 
is  an  excellent  one,  has  recently  been  re-arranged.  The  payment  of 
2s.  by  apprentices,  and  3s.  by  others,  constitutes  membership.    " 

President — John  Hilson,  manufacturer 

Vice-Presidents— James  Boyd  and  John  R.  Stewart. 

Auditors — Walter  Clark  and  John  D.  Story. 

Secretary — John  Lee,  burgh  procurator  fiscal. 

Librarian  and  Treasurer — Thomas  Grieve. 


YOUNG  MENS'  MUTUAL  IMPROVEMENT  SOCIETY  (Inst.  1861). 

Meets  every  Tuesday  evening  at  8-30  in  the  Sessional  School. 
Objects  much  the  same  as  the  Kelso  Society — see  p.  88. 

President — Jas.  Manson.     Vice-President — Wm.  H.  Elliot. 

Secy,  and  Treas. — Mr.  T.  Hastie.    Journalist: — Robert  Gentles. 

In  connection  with  this  Society,  an  interesting  Annual  Meeting 

takes  place  generally  in  November,  in  the  Corn  Exchange ;  intended 

as  a  wind-up  of  its  season's  proceedings,  and  as  a  preliminary  to  the 

excellent  annual  Course  of  Lectures,  to  which  the  public  are  admitted. 


UNITED  ROXBURGHSHIRE  AND  JEDBURGH  AMATEUR 

HORTICULTURAL  SOCIETY  (estab.  1815). 

Marquis  of  Lothian,  Patron". 

Provost  William  Deans,  President  and  Treasurer. 

George  Maclean  and  James  Scott,  Secretaries. 

Exhibitions  (in  the  Corn  Exchange)  take  place  in  May,  July, 
September,  and  November.  Average  annual  amount  of  prizes,  £40! 
This  society  was  the  first  in  this  district  to  give  prizes  for  bouquets 
of  native  wild  flowers. 


AGRICULTURAL  SOCIETY  (estab.  1862). 

President — Marquis  of  Lothian. 

Vice-Presidents— The  Earl  of  Minto  ;  Sir  William  Seott  of  Ancrum, 

Bart.,  M.P. ;  Walter  Elliot,  Esq.,  of  Wolfelee. 

Secretaiy — James  Stedman.        Treasurer— James  Cumming. 

The  third  exhibition  of  this  Society  took  place  on  Tuesday  the  6th 

September  1S64,  in  a  field  near  the  railway  station,  granted  for  the 

occasion  by  Mr.  Stedman,  when  prizes  for  the  usual  classes  of  stock 

were  given.     One  peculiarity  of  this  show  is  the  prizes  it  gives  for 

shepherd's  stock  and  cottager's  pigs.  * 


BORDER  COUNTIES'  SOCIETY  FOR  IMPROVEMENT  OP 
DOMESTIC  POULTRY,  PIGEONS  AND  CANARIES. 
Chairman— W.  T.  Ormiston,  Esq  ,  of  Glenburnhall. 
Patron— His  Grace  the  Duke  of  Buccleuch. 
Committee. 
J.  S.  E.  Fair  of  Gilliestongues  William  Veitch,  millwright. 

Samuel  Swan,  farmer,  Bush.  John  Thomson,  cabinet  maker 

J.  R.  Stewart,  draper.  T.  E.  Boog,  farmer,  Lanton 

Secretary— J.  Craw,  merchant.      Treasurer — J.  U.  Somner,  brewer. 
Auditor — George  Rutherford,  The  Scaurs. 
The  Annual  Exhibition  takes  place  on  the  third  Wednesday  and 
Thursday  of  January,  when  the  average  amount  of  prizes  given 

*  See  foot-note,  Hmcick  Farmer's  Club,  in  the  Hawick  lists. 

S 


2.59 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    JEDBURGH. — CORN"    EXCHANGE — GAS    AND    WATER   COMPANIES ETC. 


260 


amounts  to  nearly  £100  for  Poultry,  £10  for  Pigeons,  and  £7  for 
Canaries. 

This  is  the  most  important  Poultry  Show  in  Scotland,  and  attracts 
specimens  for  competition  from  the  most  celebrated  exhibitors  and 
breeders  in  the  kingdom. 


CORN  EXCHANGE  COMPANY— (Limited). 
Established  1860. 


Directors. 


John  Ord  of  Muirhouselaw,  Chair- 
man. 

John  Usher  Somner,  brewer,  Jed- 
burgh. 

William  Riddell,  Hundalee. 


A.  W.  Mem  of  Hunthill. 
George  Simson,  Bcdrulo. 
William     Deans,    Provost, 
burgh. 


Jed- 


Secretary — A.  O.  Turubull.     Custodier — John  Rutherford. 
Rates  foe,  Sales  of  Furniture  or  Goods  by  Auction. 


Not  exceeding  £25 

0  10 

6 

Exceeding  £25  but  not 

exceeding 

£50 

1     1 

0 

50 

75 

1  11 

6 

75 

100 

2    2 

0 

100 

200 

2  12 

6 

200 

3     3 

0 

Rent  of  Stalls  (13  of  which  are  let),  5s.  per  annum. 

Use  of  the  Exchange  for  Concerts,  £2,  2s.  for  the  first  night,  and 
£1,  Is.  for  every  other,  or  £3,  3s.  for  a  morning  and  evening  concert ; 
for  Balls,  £2,  2s.  ;  for  Sales  of  heritable  properties  by  auction,  5s.  ; 
for  Public  Meetings  where  any  company  or  individual  interest  is 
involved,  £2,  2s.  ;  where  no  pecuniary  interest  is  involved,  10s.  Use 
of  the  Small  Hall  for  Mestings,  5s.  ;  besides  fire  and  gas. 

The  amount  of  corn  business  done  in  Jedburgh  Exchange  is  small. 
The  building  is  of  most  importance  as  a  place  for  meetings,  exhibi- 
tions, and  concerts — see  p.  248. 

Amount  of  Stock,  £2500. 


GAS  COMPANY  (estab.  1834). 
Chairman — Provost  "William  Deans. 


James  Stevenson,  solicitor. 
A.  W.  Mein  of  Hunthill. 
William  Millar,  solicitor. 
Andrew  Easton,  bookseller. 


Directors. 

William  Brown,  grocer. 
James  Thomson,  cabinet  maker. 
Charles  Anderson  ,  solicitor. 
William  Elliot,  saddler. 


Charles  Anderson,  Secretary.        William  Millar,  Treasurer. 

Manager — John  Alston. 

Price  7s.  per  1000  feet.     Amount  of  Stock,  £1500.     Pays  10  per  cent 


WATER  COMPANY  (estab.  1845). 
Directors. 


George  Hilson,  jun.,  solicitor. 
Geo.  Chisbolm,  manufacturer. 
Andrew  Easton,  bookseller. 
William  Millar,  solicitor. 
George  Balfour,  merchant. 
John  Sinton,  cooper. 

George  Hilson,  jun.,  solicitor,  Secretary  and  Treasurer. 
William  Veitch,  millwright,  Master  of  Works. 

Amount  of  Stock,  £1000  (nominal).        Pays  4  per  cent. 


Alexander  Rutherfurd,  saddler. 
William  Brown,  merchant. 
Archibald  Hobkirk,  grocer. 
James  Stevenson,  solicitor. 
Jas.  Thomson,  cabinet  maker. 


MUTUAL  PLATE  GLASS  SOCIETY. 

Originated  in  1S57,  on  the  same  principles  as  the  Kelso  Society  (see 
p.  92). 

President — Thomas  Smail,  bookseller. 
Secretary  and  Treasurer — Robert  Lauder. 

Entry  Money — A  deposit  of  4  per  cent,  on  the  value  of  Ms  glass  is 
taken  from  each  member  as  security  and  returned  when  he  leaves. 


JED  FOREST  COURSING  CLUB. 

President — Lord  Binning. 

Judge — Mr.  M.  Charlton,  jun,,  Brundenlaws. 

Hon.  Secretary — Thomas  Elliot,  Esq.,  Hindhope. 

Corresponding  Secy,  and  Treas.— J.  S.  Turnbull,  banker,  Jedburgh. 


BOWLING  CLUB  (estab.  I860). 

Patron — The  Marquis  of  Lothian.      Vice-Patron — Sir  W.  Scott,  Bart. 

President — William  Veitch.  millwright. 

Vice  President — Archibald  C.  Mounsey,  Rector  of  Grammar  SchoJi. 

Secretary — Adam  Turnbull,  solicitor. 

Treasure!- — John  S.  Turnbull,  banker. 

And  Eight  Directors. 

Entry  Money,  £1.     Ordinary  Subscription,  10s.  ;  Subscription  of 

yearly  members,  15s. ;  Subscription  of  members  residing  two  miles 

from  the  Green,  5s. 


CURLING  CLUB. 

Sir  William  Scott,  Bart,  of  Ancrum,  M.P.,  Patron, 

W.  T.  Ormiston,  President.        Dr  Falla,  Vice-President. 

J.  U.  Somner  and  James  Brown,  joiner,  Castlegate,  Representative 

Members. 

Adam  Turnbull,  Treasurer.        James  Brown,  Secretary. 

Entry  Money,  5s.     Annual  Subscription,  5s. 

The  Pond  is  on  the  Lanton  road,  behind  Tudhope  plantations,  on  the 

property  of  the  Marquis  of  Lothian. 


261 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  I    JEDBURGH  — BANK    AND    INSURANCE    AGENTS ETC. 


262 


JED  FOREST  ANGLING  ASSOCIATION. 
Treasurer— James  Cumming,  B.  L.  Coy.'s  Bank. 

Cumming,  Treasurer ;  A.  0.  Turnbull,  Secretary ;  Adam  Turn- 
bull,  Auditor ;   Henry  Thomson,  paid  official ;  Amount  of  De- 
posits,  Nov.  1S63,   £41,477:13:8.      Depositors,  1453.      Interest 
allowed,  £2  :  IS  :  0  per  cunt,  per  annum. 

JED  FOREST  CRICKET  CLUB  (estab.  1S63). 

Captain — John  Turnbull,  tailor.     Lieutenant — Walter  Easton. 

Treasurer — Janies  Brown,  clerk.      Secretary — William  Oliver,  clerk. 

Auditor — William  Shiel,  accountant. 

INSURANCE  AGENTS. 

A*™  D~™ {  £3  SS  Street. 

Alliance James  Stedman,  solicitor. 

JED-FOREST  INSTRUMENTAL  BAND. 

Head-Quarters — Nag's  Head. 

rresideut — Bailie  Elliot.     Vice-Pres.fand  Conductor — G.  Maclean. 
Honoi-ary  Secretary — John  R.  Stewart. 

Caledonian 4  &  °,  Turnbull  solicitor. 

(  W.  Millar,  sohcitor. 

City  of  Glasgow W.  Clark,  Inland  Revenue  Office. 

Commercial  Union John  S.  Turnbull,  banker. 

English  and  Scottish  Life  As-  )  t           01                     , 
Qr.PTATinTj                                    [-James  Sloan,  inspector. 

1st  ROXBURGHSHIRE  RIFLE  CORPS. 

Head- Quarters — Dean's  Close,  Canongate. 

Captain — William  Scott,  yr.  of  Ancrum. 

Lieutenant — J.   S.   E.    Fair,    Gilliestongues. 

Ensign — John  Turnbull,  The  Brae. 

Secretary  and  Treasurer — William  Millar,  Solicitor. 

Drill  Instructor — Myles  Bam  ford.     Bandmaster — George  Maclean. 

Honorary  Members  36.        Enrolled  Strength  107. 

Insurance  Co.  of  Scotland.  . .  i  £j™es  st^m? n-  solicitor. 
1  William  l'.lhot,  solicitor. 

North  British Charles  Anderson,  banker. 

Norwich  and  London  Accident  )  T  ,-,  o*                   ,.  .. 

and  Casualty  Office f J'  C'  Stevenson,  solicitor. 

Railway  Passengers'    Assur-  >  T  .     ~  m       ,    „  ,      , 

ance  Company |  John  S-  Turnbull,  banker. 

Royal  Liverpool J  George  Balfour,  grocer. 

t  Alexander  Jeffrey,  solicitor. 

Scottish  Fire  Insurance  Co James  Sloan,  inspector. 

BANK  BRANCHES. 

Bank  of  Scotland  (established  1864) — A.  0.  &  A.  Turnbull,  Agents ; 
George  Crabb,  teller. 

Royal  Bank  of  Scotland  (established  1S57) — Charles  Anderson, 
Agent ;  Thomas  Douglas,  Accountant. 

Scottish  Union i  w-  Sc0";  ?.  S.  Savings  Bank. 

(  George  Rutherford,  banker. 

British  Linen  Company  (established        )— James  Cumming,  Agent ; 
Archibald  M.  Yair,  Accountant. 

National  Bank  of  Scotland  (established  1S25) — George  Rutherford, 
Agent ;  William  Mason,  Assistant  Agent. 

City  of  Glasgow   Bank  (established  1855) — George  Hilson,  jun., 
Agent  ;  Thos.  Hastie,  Accountant. 

London  and  Scottish    Bank — Limited — (opened    1S64) — John    S. 
Turnbull,  Agent ;  William  Shiells,  Accountant. 

National  Security  Savings'  Bank* — William  Scott,  Actuary ;  James 

Scottish  Widows'  Fund William  Mason,  banker. 

PROCURATORS,  NOTARIES  PUBLIC,  &c. 
Anderson,  Charles,  N.P.,  office  and  house,  38  High  Street. 
Hilson,  George,  jun.,  N.P.,  High  Street;  house,  Sunnyside. 
Elliot,  William,  39  High  Street ;  house,  Mount  Ulston. 
Jeffrey,  Alexander,  office  and  house,  24  Castlegate. 
Millar,  William,  24  High  Street ;  house,  Bellevue. 

•Originally  established  in  IS] 5  as  a  District  Savings'  Bank — the 
first  of  the  kind  in  the  south  of  Scotland.     In  1836  it  was  handed 
over,  with  the  concurrence  of  the  depositors,  to  the  Commissioners 
for  the  Reduction  of  the  National  Debt,  and  established  as  a  National 
Securities  Savings'  Bank.     Its  accumulated  deposits  far  exceed  any 
other  Bank  of  the  kind  in  the  district. 

Rutherford,  George,  N.P„  County  Buildings ;  house,  The  Scaurs. 
Stedman,  James,  N.P.,  County  Buildings ;  house,  Bankhead. 
Stevenson,  James,  N.P.,  County  Buildings ;  house,  Friar  Bank. 
Turnbull,  Archibald  0.,  N.P.,  Com  Exchange  ;  house,  Allertou. 
Stevenson,  James  Charles,  County  Buildings  ;  house,  Friar  Bank. 
Turnbull,  Adam,  Corn  Exchange  ;  house,  2  Canongate. 

263 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    JEDBURGH. MILLS CARRIERS STATUTE    LABOUR    ROADS. 


264 


MEDICAL  PRACTITIONERS. 

Robert  Ballantyne,  M.D.,  Glenfriars  ;  James  Falla.  Surgeon, 
4  High  Street;  John  Hume,  Surgeon,  24  High  Street;  William 
Jeffrey,  M.D.,  Glenfriars;  William  Logan,  Surgeon,  Canongate. 


NEWSPAPER. 

The  "Teviotdale  Record  and  Jedburgh  Advertiser,"  price  lid., 
stamped  2£d.  (established  1S55),  published  every  Saturday ;  Office,  18 
High  Street.  Proprietor  and  Publisher,  William  Easton,  6  Abbey 
Place. 


PUBLIC  BATHS  AND  WASH-HOUSES  (Old  Bridewell). 

These  Baths  were  erected  by  the  Marquis  of  Lothian.     The  Wash- 

Houses  are  much  used  by  all  classes. 

Rates. 

One  Penny  per  Hour  for  Washing. 

Cold  Shower  Bath,  3d.  :  Warm  Bath,  4d. 


WOOLLEN  MANUFACTURERS,  MILLS,  &c. 


i  Son. 


Canongate  Mill— Cheviot  and  Saxony  Tweeds — George  Hilson  i 
Kenmore  Lodge  Dye  Works— James  Boyd. 
Bon^ate  Mills— Cheviot  and  Saxony  Tweeds— John  &  William  Hilson. 
Allars  Mill  do.  do.  Chisholm  &  Elliot 

Abbey  Bridge-end    do.  do.  Alexander  Spence. 

Medical  Inspector — William  Logan,  surgeon,  Canongate. 

Abbey  Mill — Corn  and  Flour — fJames  Andison. 

Bonjedward  Flour  Mill— *  William  Young. 

Bongate  Flour  and  Saw  Mills— William  Dodd  (11  Abbey  Place). 


EMIGRATION  AGENTS. 
Andrew  Easton,  18  High  Street;  Thomas  Small,  16  High  Street 


AUCTIONEER. 
James  Brown,  2  Blackhill's  Close,  Canongate. 


PORK:  CURING  ESTABLISHMENT,  &c. 

William  Dodd,  pork  curer,  11  Abbey  Place. 

Canongate  Skinnery — Richard  Allan,  farmer  (of  10  Crown  Lane). 


CARRIERS. 
Ancrdm — Alex.  Greirson,  daily ;  and  G.  Black,  Tuesday,  Mr  Noble's. 
Anchum  and  Selkirk — J.  Davidson,  Tuesday  and  Friday,  T.  Young, 
bakei*,  10  High  Street. 

Birkhill,  Reed  Water,  and  Otterburn — J.  Herdman,  Tuesdays 
and  Fridays,  Market  Place. 

Bonchester  Bridge  and  Rule  Water— Archibald  Scott,  Tuesday, 
Market  Place. 


Camptown,  Rink,  Re- 
place. 


-J.  Herdman,  Tuesdays  and  Fridays,  Market 


Coquet  and  Reed  Water — Walter  Laurie,  alternate  Mondays,  Mr 
Balfour's,  merchant,  High  Street. 

Hawick  and  Denholm — T.  Robson,  Wednesday  and  Saturday. 

Hobkihk— William  Tait,  Tuesday,  Mr  Wallace's,  10  High  Street. 

Hownam  Kirk — Adam  Riddell,  Tuesday,  H.  Oliver,  Nag's  Head. 

Kelso — Thomas  Robson,  Tuesday  and  Friday. 

Lanton — Geo.  Davidson,  Mondays,  Wednesdays,  and  Fridays. 

Oxnam — Jas.  Bruce,  Tuesday  and  Saturday,  Mr  Young's,  Baker. 

Reed  Water — John  Herbertson,  Monday. 

Southdean  and  Ch esters— Thomas  Douglas,  Mr  Brown's ;  Arch. 
Scott,  Market  Place — both  Monday ;  Andrew  Short,  Mr  Craw's, 
Tuesday. 


CONVEYANCE  BY  RAILWAY. 


By  N.  B.  Railway  to  Edinburgh,  Glasgow,  and  all  parts  of  Scotland 
and  England  daily.     Station  Master — William  Hartley. 

Omnibuses  from  the  Eagle  and  Harrow  Inns  attend  all  the  trains. 
Fares,  6d.  and  3d. 


STATUTE  LABOUR  ROADS  OF  THE  DISTRICT  OF  JEDBURGH 

Comprehending  the  parishes  of  Jedburgh,  Ancrum,  Minto,  Bedrule 
Hubkirk,  Southdean,  Oxnam,  and  Crailing. 

J.  M'Conuell,  Surveyor,  Penrith,  Cumberland. 

William  Fiulay,  26  Castlegate,  Jedburgh,  Assistant. 

William  Elliot,  39  High  Street,  Jedburgh,  Clerk. 


2G5 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    JEDBURGH. STREET    DIRECTORY. 


26G 


DIRECTORY. 


TRADES,  RESIDENTS,  AND  PUBLIC  OFFICES. 

Those  marked  thus  (t)  are  Registered  Voters  for  the  Burgh,   and 

those  marked  thus  (*)  are  Registered  Voters  for  the  County. 

Abbey  Place 

A  hbey  Com  M  ill,  + James  Andison 
Anderson,  Mrs.,  Abbey  Green 

7  Clark,  Mrs. 

9  Dodds,  Henry,  blacksmith 
llfDodd,  William,  corn  merchant 
6  Easton,  Mrs.,  sen. 

7+Forrest  &  Sons,  gunmakers  and  fishing-rod  and  tackle  makers 
3+Goudie,  Thomas,  watchmaker 
Grammar  School,  Archibald  C.  Mounsey,  rector 

5  Halliburton,  Mrs. 

t  Hilson,  John  (of  J.  &  W.  H),  of  Lady's  Yards 
■j-Hilson,  William  (of  J.  &  W.  H.),  of  Abbey  Grove 
2  Jedburgh  Arms  Inn,  Agnes  Thomson 
10*fLaurie,  Walter,  carrier 
10*  Laurie,  James,  clerk 

8  Lowther,  Miss 
5+Lunn,  John,  grocer 

1-f  Maclean,  George,  shoemaker 

6  Scott,  John,  watchmaker 

Abbey  Bridge  End 

Abbey  and  Parish  Church  (Rev.  George  Ritchie's,  seep.  252) 
5f  Adams,  George,  joiner 
4-fElliot,  Thomas  (of  Chisholm  &  E.,  manufacturers) 

Lowe,  John,  traveller  to  John  &  William  Hilson 
8fMounsey,  Archibald  C,  Hector  of  Grammar  Sc/iool 
10+Spence,  Alexander,  manufacturer 

Abbey  Close 

12tFj'fe,  George  (of  "  The  Nest") 

Millar,  Miss  (of  "  The  Nest  ") 
13  Ritchie,  Rev.  George,  The  Manse 

The  Nest  Academy — Mr.  Fyfe  and  Miss  Millar. 

Young,  Miss,  dressmaker 


Bridge  Street 

Gas-Works,  John  Alston,  resident  manager 
ofHope,  Robert,  corn  dealer 
4fSimson,  Robert,  mason 
GfTurnbull,  John,  grocer 

Burnwynd 

Bank  of  Scotland,  A.  0.  &  A.  Turnbull,  agents. 
15fBurns,  John,  coal  merchant 
8  Cannon  Inn,  + Robert  Jack 
21fCharters,  George,  plumber  and  slater 
23  Cheese,  William  E.,  officer  of  Inland  Revenue 
7-0  Corn  Exchange,  J.  A.  Rutherford,  custodier 
12  Laidlaw,  John,  mason 
11  London  and  Scottish  Banlc,  *fJohn  S.,  Turnbull,  resident 

agent 
4fMiller,  Jasper,  confectioner 

Museum,  Adam  Matthewson,  conservator 
1  Stewart,  J.  R.,  &  Co.,  drapers 

Heid-shopman— John  Borthwick 
1  +  Stewart,  John  R.  (of  J.  R.  S.  &  Co.) 
10  Turnbull,  A.  0.  &  A.,  solicitors,  writing  chambers  (see  Aller- 
ton  and  2  Canongate) 
Head-Clerk — Andrew  Newlands 
Turnbull,  William,  tailor 
6+ Veitch,  James,  baker 
15  Wangh,  William,  slater 
llfWright,  John,  shoemaker 

Bongate 

Alexander,  George  (late  farmer) 
Bongate  Corn  and  San-  Mill,  William  Dodd 
Bongate  Woollen  Mills,  John  &  William  Hilson 
Mill  Foreman — James  Herbertson 
Machineman — James  Thorburn 
Catholic  Chapel  and  School 
Davidson,  Jonathan,  dairyman,  Bankend 
25-(-EUiot,  John,  grocer 
10  Halliburton,  Mrs. 
20fJohnston,  John,  joiner 
2-j-M'Kerrel,  Rev.  Francis 
30-j-M'Master,  James,  chief-constable 

Oahrale  Nursery 
29  Oliver,  Miss 
1+Scott,  Thomas,  labourer 
15tStory,  Robert,  surveyor 


267 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    JEDBURGH. STREET    DIRECTORY. 


268 


14+Tait,  Andrew,  gardener 
2l+Tait,  George,  joiner 

-|-Turnbull,  James,  joiner 
27  Veitch,  Misses 

Boundaries  (suburb  of) — see  p.  Ill 

Castlegate 

*  +  Brown,  William,  merchant 
+Brown,  James,  cabinet  maker,  Blaclhill's  Close 
40+Brunton,  William,  grocer 

Chief  Constable's  Office,  James  M 'Master,  chief  constable 
Alexander  Porter,  superintendent 

Count)/  Buildinqs 
48+Craw*,  John  (of  10  Market  Place) 
37+Currie,  Thomas,  labourer 

Dunn,  Misses,  dressmakers 
■fFairbairn,  John,  innkeeper,  Cornelius  Close 
26   Finlay,  William,  road  surveyor 
46  Gentles,  Mrs. 

53+Goudie,  Thomas,  watchmaker 
65  Hamilton,  Miss 

Hardl',  William,  hairdresser,  Cornelius  Close 
E7+Harvev,  James,  shoemaker 
23+ Hobkirk,  Archibald  spirit  dealer 
36+Hollands,  William,  baker 
22  Hush,  Robert,  flesher 

Jedburgh  Castle,  Charles  Sprunt,  keeper 
24  Jeffrey's  Alexander,  writing  chambers  and  house 
31  Jones,  Charles,  china  merchant 

Justice  of  Peace  Cleric's  Office,  James  Stedman 
66"t"Lee,  John,  Burgh  Procurator-Fiscal 
97+Mabon,  William,  jun.,  gardener 
61  Mabon,  George,  tailor 

Manson,  James,  cutter 
61  Middlemas,  James,  basket  maker 
45+Muckersie,  David,  teacher 
44+Murdie,  John,  fanner 
15  JYag's  Head  Inn,  Janet  Turnbull 
63  Ormiston,  Mrs. 

Procurator-Fi seal's  Office,fJ ames  Stevenson 
34  Robertson,  George,  sheriff-officer 
71+Robson,  William,  shoemaker 

Rutherford,  Robert,  shoemaker 
10  Rutherford,  Samuel,  shoemaker 
12  Rutherford,  Walter,  flesher 
29-31  Rutherford,  George,  joiner 
5  Scott,  Mrs.  coffee  rooms 


11  Scott,  James,  painter 
65+Scott,  William  (of  Savings  Bank) 

Sessional  and  Infant  School 

Sheriff  Cleric's  Office,  George  Rutherford  (house,  the  Scaurs) 

Smith,  A.  &  R.,  plasterers,  Blackhill's  Close  (house,  Paradise 

Cottage) 
Stevenson,  James,  solicitor,  writing  chambers  (house,  Friar 

_  Hank) 
Stevenson,  James   C.,   solicitor,   writing    chambers  (house 
Friar  Bank) 

12  Thomson,  Mrs. 

55  Thomson,  Miss,  of  Glenbank 

1   Tou'ii-C/erl's  Office,  James  Stedman  (House,  Bankhead 
33tTurnbull,  William,  cabinetmaker 
90  Turnbull,  John 
38  Turnbull,  Mrs.  (late  of  Harden) 
26+Watson,  James,  grocer 

7+Weatherstone,  John,  baker 

35  Webb,  John,  shoemaker 
19+ Wight,  Thomas,  baker 

Vanhegan,  Misses,  staymakers 
fVeitch,  William,  millwright,  Paradise  Vale 
45  Young,  Mrs. 

Canongate 

39+Aitken,  Andrew,  shoemaker 

Allan,  Richard,  wool  merchant  (farmer,  Howden) 
16+Baird,  Alexander,  tailor  and  clothier 
11+Beattie,  George,  draper 

Head-shopman — Francis  Dickson 
13+Black,  John  &  fThomas,  nurserymen 

BlacJ;  Bull  Inn,  +James  Minto 
2C+Boyd,  John,  candle  maker 
1  Brown,  Margaret,  china  merchant 
Servant's  Register 
57  Brown,  Mrs. 

Canongate  Woollen  Mill,  George  Hilson  &  Son 

6  Dick,  Mrs.,  grocer 

8  Edmonstone,  Robert,  tailor 
28+Fiddes,  William,  baker 

36  Halliburton,  Graham,  watchmaker 
21-23  Harrow  Inn,  Mrs.  A.  Horsburgh 
25  Henderson,  Adam,  shoemaker 
55+Hilson,  George,  sen.  (of  G.  H.  &  Son) 
55+HiIson,  John  G.  (of  G.  H.  &  Son) 

4+Hope,  Adam,  ironmonger  and  ironfounder 

7  Horsburgh,  Miss,  grocer 
Horsburgh's  Hotel,  Mrs.  Horsburgh 


269 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    JEDBURGH. STREET   DIRECTORY. 


270 


20  Johnston,  E.,  repository 
65  Kennedy,  Miss,  Boarding  Establishment 
27+Laidlaw,  Walter,  spirit  dealer 
53"j~Little,  James,  mason 
38  Logan,  William,  surgeon,  Canongate  House 
10  Minto,  James,  grocer 
80+Murray,  William,  brewer 
12  Noble,  Kobert,  grocer 
Public  Reading  Room 
42   Robertson,  Miss 
14+Rutb.erford,  Walter,  watchmaker 
57  Scott,  Mrs.,  grocer 
30fScott,  George,  commercial  traveller  (of  G.  Hilson  &  Son) 

2  Turnbull,  Adam,  writer 
53  Turnbull,  Mrs. 
19fYoung,  William,  baker 

Crown  Lane 

10  Allan,  Misses  (Howden) 

10  Charlton,  Misses  (Brundenlaws) 

llfWahlie,  Edward,  v.  surgeon 

Duck  Row 

2  Elliot,  Mrs. 
5tRennilsou,  Robert,  grocer 

Friargate 

10+Ballantvne,  Robert,  M.D.,  Glenfriars  Villa 
6fBarr,  Rev.  William  (High  Street  U.  P.  Manse),  Friars  Vale 

Congregational  Church  (Rev.  George  Peel's,  see  p.  253)  ' 
7  Guthrie,  Mrs.,  Friars  Cottage 
■[■Guthrie,  Alexander  (of  G.  &  Sons) 
■(■Guthrie,  James  G.  (do.) 

Hume,  Mrs,   sen.  (late  of  Yetholm),  Friars  Lane 
fMoir,  Rev.  John,  The  Parsonage  (see  foot-note,  p.  272) 

4  Nicol,  Mrs. 

5  Robson,  Miss,  Friars  Mount 

Scott,  Walter,  teacher,  St.  John's  School 
2fStevenson,  James,  Procurator-Fiscal,  Friar  Bank 

Stevenson,  James  C,  solicitor 
8fStory,  Robert,  sen.,  gardener 

High  Street 

38+Anderson,  Charles,  solicitor,  writing  chambers 

51+Balfour,  Alexander,  baker 

lofBalfour,  George,  tea,  wine,  and  spirit  merchant 


30tBell,  William,  druggist  and  photographer 

30  Bennett,  Mrs. 

42  Blackfriars  U.  P.  Church  (Rev.  J.  Poison's,  see  p.  253) 

40  British  Linen  Company's  Bank,  -(-James  Cumming,  resident 

agent 
1  City  of  Glasgow  Bank,  George  Hilson,  jun.,  agent 
71+Clark,  Walter,  accountant 
3tDavidsou,  John,  flesher 
Donaldson,  Peter,  blacksmith 
18  Easton,  A.  &  W.,  booksellers,  &c. 
18fEaston,  Andrew  (of  A.  &  W.  E.) 
21-fElliot,  William,  saddler 

39  Elliot's,  William,  writing  chambers  (house,  Mount  Ulston) 
Head-Clerk — James  Laurie 
4fFalla,  James,  surgeon 
13tFeigrieve,  William,  ironmonger 

Friars  Bum  Brewer//,  +John  U.  Somner 
Foreman  Maltster — Walter  Swanston 
29-31  Guthrie  &  Sons,  curriers  (house,  Friars  Cottage) 

9  Halliburton,  Thomas  C,  grocer 
28fHarkness,  John,  cabinet  maker  and  upholsterer 
41f  Henderson,  Kobert,  shoemaker 

41  Hewat,  Henry,  messenger-at-arms 

High  Street  U.  P.  Church  (Rev.  W.  Barr's,  see  p.  253) 

3  Hilson,  George,  solicitor,  writing  chambers  (house,  Sunny- 

side) 
8  Hislop  &  Oliver,  drapers  and  clothiers 
Head-Shopman— W.  H   Elliot 
Cutter —  Johnstone 

24  Hume,  Dr. 

27  Inland  Revenue  Office  (Stamps  and  Taxes),  Archibald  Jer- 
don,  distributor  and  collector  (house,  Jedfoot  House) 
6  Irving,  Mrs.,  tobacconist 
37  Jackson,  Miss 

4  Jedburgh  Dispensary,  J.  F.  Peters,  manager 
S'fJohnston,  William,  smith 

22  Lauder,  Elizabeth,  milliner 

Agent  for  Littlejohn's  confectionery 
22+Lauder,  Robert 

50+Matthewson,  Adam,  Curator  of  Museum 
24^Millar,  William,  solicitor,  writing  chambers  (house,  Bellevue) 

Head-Clerk— William  Oliver 

26  National  Bank  of  Scotland,  William  Mason,  resident  agent 

27  National  Security  Savings'  Bank,  William  Scott,  actuary 
32  Neil,  James,  gardener 

27   Office  of  Collector  of  Poor's  Rate,  William  Scott,  collector 

5-(-0liver,  Robert,  grocer 
12  Oliver,  fJ.  &  fT.,  clothiers 


271 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    JEDEURGII. STREET    DIRECTORY. 


272 


8+Oliver,  William  (of  Hislop  &  O.) 

+Peters,  Alexander  (of  J.  R.  Stewart  &  Co.),  3  Smith's  M'gnd. 
42+ Poison,  Rev.  John,  First  C.P.  Manse 
18  Post  Office,  +Andrew  Eastou,  postmaster 
49  Purves,  Agnes,  plumber 
52  Railway  tavern.,  T.  Oliver 

38  Royal  Bank  of  Scotland,  Charles  Anderson,  resident  agent 
14+Rule,  Walter,  watchmaker 
17+Rutherfurd,  Alexander,  saddler 
11+Scott,  William,  flesher 

Scott,  J.  &  T.,  gardeners  and  game-dealers 
33+Sinton,  John,  cooper 
33  Sloan,  James,  Insjnetor  of  Poor 
16+Smail,  Thos.,  bookseller,  stationer,  bookbinder,  librarian,  &c. 

Smith,  Jane,  grocer 
20  Spread  Eagle  Hotel,  +Adam  Scott 
18   Teviotdale  Record  Office,  W.  Easton,  proprietor 
34+Thomson,  John,  cabinetmaker 
iO+Thomsnn,  James,  cabinetmaker 
45  Thomson,  Mrs.,  milliner 
2+Turnbnll,  John,  draper  and  clothier' (house,  The  Brae) 

Head-Shopman  —Robert  Grieve 

Cutter — James  Manson 

Millinery  Department— Miss  Hunter 
18   U  K.  Electric  Telegraph  OJfice,  A.  &  W.  Easton,  agents 
19+Wallace,  John,  baker 
4G+Wark,  Adam,  grocer 
31+Wiglit,  Andrew,  flesher 
27  Wilson,  Miss 
55+Wright,  James,  painter 
23+Wood,  Alexander,  shoemaker 
7+Young,  Robert,  shoemaker  and  wool-dealer 
10+- Young,  Thomas,  baker 

Market  Place 

8  Cowan,  Mrs. 

10+Craw,   John,   ten,   wine,   and   spirit  merchant   (house,   43 
Castlegate) 

Head-Shopman — William  Murdoch 
12+*Deans,  William,  seedsman.     Nurseries — Oakva'eand  Hill- 
side, Bongate  (house,  Anna  Cottatre) 
Nursery  Manager— Benjamin  M'Garrie 
Book-Keeper— James  Gray 
8+F.lliot,  William,  gunsmith,  and  lishing-rod  and  tackle  maker 
5+Knox,  Archibald,  china  merchant 
7+Kawdin,  Joseph,  chemist 
1+Robertson,  James  ironmonger 
G+Robson,  James  &  Sjiis,  shoemakers 


9  Storrie,  R.,  &  Son,  grocers  (see  farmers) 
9+Storrie,  John  D.  (of  R.  S.  &  Sons) 

Pleasants 

Gas-  Works — John  Alston,  manager 
+*Deans,  William,  S.S.  (of  12  Market  Place),  Anna  House 
Episcopal  Chapel,  (Rev.  J.  Moir's — see  foot-note)t 
Episcopal  School 
+Robson,  Thomas,  Hawick  and  Kelso  Carrie 
Rutherfurd,  Miss 

Queen  Street 

3  Armstrong,  Miss  (Queen  Mary's  House — see  p.  247) 
6+Barton,  James,  roper 

15  Caverhill,  Mrs. 

16  Henderson,  Robert,  shoemaker 
8+Learmond,  Adam,  gardener 

+Spence,  Peter,  roadman 

Richmond  Row 

Laidlaw,  John,  coal  agent 
Nicol,  Miss  Ann 

Suburb  of  Boundaries  [or  Bourlrees'] 

Bell,  Mrs.  Dr.,  Boundary  Bank 
+Boyd,  James,  dyer,  Keumuir  Lodge 
5  Cranston,  Mrs. 

Free  Church  (Rev.  John  Purves',  see  p.  252) 
3+Herbertson,  Andrew,  mason 
+  Huggan,  William,  millwright,  AUerly  Brae 

l'vine,  Misses,  Allerlv  Brae 
+Paterson,  Peter,  smith,  Old  Bridge  End 
+Purves,  Rev.  John,  Free  Church  Manse 

Registrar's  Office,  Thomas  Grieve 

Thomson,  Mrs.,  Kenmuirbank 

Thorburn,  Mrs.,  Allerly  Brae 


t  The  following  information,  in  connection  with  St  John's  Church 
was  received  after  the  Lists  at  p.  252  had  been  printed  ofl  .- 

Rit+inira  200  ■  attendance  at  Sabbath  School.  40,  under  the  super- 

Slt  fence  of  Rev"  oL  Mpir ;  Organist-TValter  Scott,  teacher  ; 

Managers-Mr.  Gordon,  Mr  J  C.  *™w"^rMl  Que  u 

Treasurer- J.  C.  Stevenson ;  Church  Oihcer— \\  altei  Hall,  yuecn 

Street. 


273 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    JEDBURGH. STREET   DIRECTORY COUNTRY   RESIDENTS. 


274 


Turnbull,  Miss,  Boundary  Place 
fTurnbull,  John  (of  2  High  Street),  The  Brae 
Turnbull,  A.  O.,  solicitor,  Allerton 
Wood,  John,  thatcher,  Old  Bridge-end 
Young,  Andrew,  3  Old  Bridge-end 

Railway  Station 

(Beyond  Bongate  Bridge — over  half  a  mile  from  the  Market  Place — 
a  good  fifteen  minutes'  walk  ;   road  level  and  good.) 

Resident  Station-Master,  Manager  of  Goods'  Department,  and 
N.  B.  Railway  Company's  Coal  Agent — William  Hartley 

OFFICES   AND  DEPOTS. 

Burns,  John,  coal,  lime,  and  tile  agent,  and  contractor  for  de- 
livery of  railway  goods  in  Jedburgh 
Johnston    &   Co.    (Berwick-on-Tweed),    of    Scremerston   and 
Shoreswood  collieries,  and  lime  and  manur  eagents — Thomas 
Wylie,  agent 
Laidlaw,  John,  coal  agent 

Turnbull,  J.  S.,  agent  for  the  Marquis  of  Lothism's  coal,  lime, 
tiles,  &c. 

Village  of  Lanton 

(2J  miles  from  Jedburgh  by  a  very  hilly  road,  4  miles  from  Ancrum, 
and  o  miles  from  Denholm.) 

School  (Parochial,  Side) — Thomas  Scott,  {  schoolmaster.     Average 
attendance,  50. 

*Bell,  David,  wright 
*Rell,  John,  joiner 

Boog,  T.  E.,  farmer 

Davidson,  George,  grocer 
*Davidson,  John,  portioner 

Furoess,  Robert,  joiner 
*Hally  Jobo,  portioner 

Huggao,  William,  grocer 
*Storrie,  George,  smith 

*Storrie,  William,  agricultural  implement  maker 
*Scott,  Adam,  portioner 
*Siott,  James,    do. 

Smail,  Thomas,  grocer 
*Turnbull,  William,  farmer,  Lanton  Mill 

Veitch,  Miss 


X  Mr.  Scott  is  Inspector  of  Poor,  Collector  of  Poor  Rates,  and 
Heritors'  Clerk,  forBedrule  parish,  and  Collector  of  Minister's  Stipend 
for  Jedburgh  parish. 


Hamlet  of  Bonjedward 
(2  miles  from  Jedburgh  on  the  Kelso  turnpike  road.) 
Brown,  George,  joiner 

Borthwiok,  David,  station-master  at  Jedfoot 
Dodds,  John,  smith 
Douglas.  William,  catter 
Flour  Mill,  *William  Young 


COUNTRY  RESIDENTS,  FARMERS,  &C. 
Parish  of  Jedburgh — larger  portion 

*  Allan,  Richard,  farmer  and  wool  merchant,  Howden 
Altars  Factory  (opposite  Inchbonny) 

*Black,  William,  of  Netherwells 

fChisholm,  George  (of  C.  &  Elliot),  Allars 

*'Dodds,  Andrew,  farmer,  Hardenpeel 

*Dodd,  James,  do.,      Mossburnford 

tElliot,  William  (solicitor,  Jedburgh),  Mount  Ulston 

*Fair,  James  A.,  yr.  of  GillieBtongues 
^Gladstone,  James,  farmer,  Rennieston. 

*Haldane,  William,       do.,  Roundhaugh 

*Handyside,  John  B.,  do.,  Fernieherst 

*Berbertson,  Thomas,  do,,  Hundalee  Braehead 

*Herriot,  William,       do.,  Easter  TJlston 
*+HilBon,  George,  jun.  (banker,  Jedburgh),  of  Sunnyside 

*Hope,  Andrew,  do  ,  New  Mill 

fllume,  William,  steward,  Harestanes 

fHunter,  Robert,  farmer,  Hiudhouseneld 

•Johnston   John,      do.,     Crailinghall 

*Lockie,  Jas.,  sen.,  do  ,     Camphouse 

*Mein,  Alexander,    do.,     Tudhope 

'('Middlemas,  George,  Inchbonny 
*+Millar,  William  (solicitor,  Jedburgh),  Bellevae 
*"t*Millar,  Robert,  farmer,  Todlaw 

*Rathie,  Walter,    do  ,      Thickside 
•PRiddell,  William,  do.,  Hundalee 

*Ricbardson,  John, do.,   Lanton  Craig 

*Richardson,  Geo  ,  do.,  Upper  Samieston 

*Rutherford,  Robert,  of  Pleasance 

*Rutherford,  Wm..  farmer,  Fernieherst  Mill 

*Scott,  John  (of  Upper  Samieston),  Dolphinston 

*Scott,  John,  farmer,  Howden 

*Scott,  William,  do.,  Timpendean 

*Sinton,  Willm.,  do.,  Monklaw 

*Story,  Robert,  do.,  (of  R  S.  &  Sons,  grocers,  Jedburgh) 
farmer,  Netherwells 

*S '.oilman,  Js.  (town-olerk,  Jedburgh),  Bankhead,  Sharplaw 


275 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    JEDBURGH. — SEATS    OF    COUNTT    FAMILIES. 


276 


*Story,  John  D.  (of  R.  S.  &  Sons)— see  9  Market  Place 
*Story,  Thomas,  Lanton  Hill 
+Turnbull,  A.  Oliver  (solicitor,  Jedburgh),  Allerton 
+Veitch,  William,  millwright,  Inchbouny 
*Wyllie,  Thomas,  farmer,  Lochend 
*Young,  John,         do.,         Woodend 
Toung,  Walter,  blacksmith,  Mossburnford 


SEATS  OF  COUNTY  FAMILIES  AND  SMALLER  RESI- 
DENCES IN  LARGER  PORTION  OF  PARISH. 

BONJEDWARD  HOUSE. 

(Formerly  the  property  of  the  late  Archibald  Jerdon,  Esq.)  on 
the  Kelso  road,  near  the  northern  extremity  of  the  parish — the 
dowery  house  of  the  Dowager  Marchioness  of  Lothian  ;t  at 
present  unoccupied. 

GILLIESTONGUES. 

Situated  about  2  miles  south  from  Jedburgh,  on  the  Blackburn 
(see  p.  248) — the  property  and  residence  of  *fJas.  Shortreed  E. 
Fair,  Esq. 

GLENBURN  HALL. 

In  the  immediate  neighbourhood  of  Jedburgh — the  property 
and  residence  of  +*  William  T.  Ormiston,  Esq. 

HUNDALEE    COTTAGE. 

On  the  high  banks  of  the  Jed,  about  2  miles  above  Jedburgh — 
the  residence  of  Mrs  Kerr  (widow  of  the  late  Charles  Kerr, 
Esq.,  Merchant,  London). 

HUNTH1LL. 

Situated  about  2  miles  to  the  south-east  of  Jedburgh — the 
residence  of  Mrs.  Mein  (widow  of  the  late  James  Mein,  Esq.) 
and  family,  and  Andrew  Whitelock  Mein,  Esq.,  joint-proprie- 
tors of  the  estate. 

JEDBANK. 

Situated  on  the  high  ground  beyond  the  Episcopal  Church — 
the  property  of  John  M.  Craigie,  Esq.,  formerly  Sheriff-Sub- 
stitute for  the  county,  and  now  occupied  by  Francis  Russell, 
Esq.,  the  present  Sheriff-Substitute  for  the  county  ;  appointed 
1861. 


t  Lady  Cecil  Chetwynd  Talbot,  only  daughter  of  Earl  Talbot ;  mar- 
ried, 10th  July  1831,  John- William-Robert,  7th  Marquis  of  Lothian, 
who  died  14th  November  1841. — See  Crailing  parish,  p,  221. 


HARTRIGGE. 


The  property  of  Lord  Stratheden  and  Campbell, J  occupied  by 
Thomas  Gordon,  Esq.  (formerly  of  India). 


JEDFOOT   HOUSE. 


Situated  on  the  Jed,  near  to  Jedfoot  station — the  property  of 
the  Marquis  of  Lothian,  and  the  residence  of  Archibald  Jerdon, 
Esq.  (son  of  the  late  Archibald  Jerdon,  Esq.,  of  Bonjedward), 
Distributor  of  Stamps  and  Collector  of  Taxes  for  the  county. 


JERDOKFIELD. 


Near  Jedfoot — the  property  of  the  Marquis  of  Lothian,  and  the 
occasional  residence  of  Wm.  E.  Otto,  Esq.,  factor  to  his  Grace. 


Situated  about  3  miles  south  from  Jedburgh,  on  a  bank  over- 
hanging the  Jed — the  property  of  Jamef  Shortreed  Elliot  Fair, 
Esq.  of  Gilliestongues ;  occupied  by  *Godfrey  H.  Baker,  Esq. 

LINTALEE. 

On  the  Lintalee  Burn  (see  p.  247),  about  2  miles  above  Jed- 
burgh— the  property  of  the  Countess  of  Home,  and  the  resi- 
dence of  Mrs.  Scott,  widow  of  the  late  Walter  Scott,  Esq. 
of  Wauchope,  who  died  in  1857  (grandfather  of  Mr.  Walter 
Macmillan  Scott,  the  present  proprietor  of  Wauchope  — see  p. 
286),  and  Charles  Scott  Esq.,  fourth  son  of  Mrs.  Scott  and  the 
late  Walter  Scott  of  Wauchope  ;  born  1819  ;  married  1863, 
Margaret- Amelia,  daughter  of  the  late  Brown  Roberts,  Esq. 

samieston  (Easter). 
Situated  at  the  source  of  the  Ceasford  burn  in  the  eastern  corner 
of  the  parish — the  property  and  residence  of  *  James  James, 
Esq.,  M.D.,  of  Samieston  and  Rennieston.  Mr.  James  pur- 
chased Samieston  in  1852  from  the  late  Robert  Selby,  Esq. ; 
married,  1856,  the  eldest  daughter  of  John  Edward  Broad- 
hurst,  Esq.,  of  Crow  Hill,  Nottinghamshire,  and  has  issue — 
one  son,  William  Lancelot,  and  two  daughters  Susan- Eleanor 
and  Ethel-Elizabeth. 

Mr.  James  was  formerly  in  the  F.I.C.  Service. 

X  William  Frederick  Campbell,  Baron  Stratheden  of  Cupar,  Fifeshire, 
Baron  Campbell  of  St.  Andrews,  Fifeshire,  succeeded  to  hismother'stitleof 
Stratheden,  25th  March  1860,  and  his  father  as  2nd  Lord  Campbell,  23d 
June  1861.  London  Residence — Stratheden  House,  Knightsbridge,  W. 
The  first  Lord  Campbell  (born  15th  September  1781)  waa  successively  So- 
licitor-General, Attorney-General,  Lord  Chancellor  of  Ireland,  Chancel- 
lor of  the  Duchy  of  Lancaster  Chief- Justice  of  the  Queen's  Bench,  and 
Lord  Chancellor  of  Great  Britain.  He  was  descended  from  a  younger 
branch  of  the  ducal  house  of  Argyll. 


277 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    (EDGERSTON)   JEDBURGH. BURGH   AND    COUNTY   VOTERS. 


278 


THE  SCAURS. 

Situated  on  the  Jed,  a  mile  above  Jedburgh,  a  recently  erected 
villa  in  tbe  Elizabethan  style — the  property  and  residence  of 
fGeorge  Rutherford,  Esq.,  Sberiff-Clerk  of  the  county. 

Family  Residence, 

EDGERSTON   HOU8E. 

Situated  on  the  Edgerston  burn,  about  7  miles  from  Jedburgh 
— the  property  and  residence  of  William  Oliver  Rutherfurd, 
Esq.  of  Dinlaybyre  (in  Castleton)  and  Edgerston,  and  nephew 
of  the  late  John  Rutherfurd,  Esq.,  whom  he  succeeded  and 
whose  surname  he  assumed;  born  1781 ;  succeeded  his  father 
in  1830,  and  his  uncle  in  1834;  married,  1804,  Agnes,  daughter 
of  Alexander  Chatto  Esq.  of  Mainhouse,  and  by  her,  (who 
died  in  1859)  has,  with  other  issue — 

*f  William  Alexander,  born  1818;  married,  1861,  Margaret 
Jane,  only  daughter  of  the  late  Edward  Young,  Esq.,  and  has, 
issue,  a  son — William  Edward  Oliver  Rutherfurd,  born  1863, 
and  a  daughter,  Katherine  Violet 

Archibald  John,  Major,  70th  Regiment;  born  11th  Decem- 
ber 1820;  married,  1860,  Catherine  Jane  Rawlinson,  and  has 
issue,  two  daughters — Alice  and  Edith. 

Mr.  Oliver  Rutherfurd   was  appointed   Sheriff-Depute   for 
Roxburghshire  in  1807,  and  he  is  now  the  oldest  sheriff  on  the 
Scottish  Bench.     He  is  a  Justice  of  the  Peace  and  Deputy- 
Lieutenant  for  Roxburghshire,  and  is  Convener  for  the  same 
county. 

Quoad  Sacra  Parish,  of  Edgerston. 

Principal  Landed-Proprietor— W.  0.  Rutberfurd,  Esq.,  of  Edger- 
ston 

Resident  Justices  of  the  Peace — W.  0.  Rutherfurd,  Esq.  of  Edger- 
ston  ;  W.  A.  0.  Rutherfurd  yr.  of  Edgerston. 

Public  Offices — Mostly  retained  by  tbe  civil  parish  of  Jedburgh. 

Kirk  Treasurer,  Session  Clerk,  and  District  Registrar  of  Births, 
Marriages,  and  Deaths — Thomas  Oliver. 

Post  Office — Messenger  from  Jedburgh  (Anthony  Temple)  daily — 
arrives  at  1.30  p.m. ;  departs  at  4  p.m. 

Clergy,  i-c—  Presbytery  of  Jedburgh.      Patrons— the  three  chief 
heritors  in  Edgerston,  viz, — W.  0  .Rutherfurd,  Esq.  of  Edger- 
ston, Marquis  of  Lothian,  aud  Countess  of  Home. 

Quoad  Sacra  Church — *Rev.  John  Fergusson  (Inducted  1855).  Sit- 
tings, 200.     Average  attendance  at  Sabbath  School,  40. 

Parochial  School  (Rink)— Thomas  Oliver,  Teacher. 

Saw  Mill  (Edgerston) — James  Hill,  joiner. 

REGISTERED  VOTERS  FOR  THE  BURGH, 

Living  within  the  voting  bruits. 
Elliot,   Hon.   Charles   Gilbert  John   Brydon,  Minto  (Rear- 
Admiral,  R.N.,  now  Commander-in-Chief  on  S.  A.  station) 
Ewen,  Rev.  John,  Hobkirk 
Fiddes,  George,  smith,  Ancrum 
Mack,  John,  mason,  Denholm 
Mills,  George,  farmer,  Greenend 
Pringle,  Robert,  Bairnkine 
Rutherfurd,  William  A.  O.,  of  Edgerston 
Scott,  Sir  W.,  Bart,  of  Ancrum,  M.P. 
Selby,  Ephraim,  Hassendeanbank 
Stephenson,  William,  joiner,  Cessford 
Turnbull,  William,  groom,  Minto 

Farmers,  Trades,  fyc,  in  the  Quoad  Sacra  Parish. 

Amos,  George,  joiner,  Dovesford 
*0harlton,  Matthew,  farmer,  Brundenlaws 
*DavidBon,  John,           do.,      Arks 

Greirson,  John,  blacksmith,  Rink 
*Hall,  John,  farmer,  Earlsheugh 

Hood,  Mrs.         do.,  Edgerston  Rig 

Pringle,  James,  do.,  Cleethaugh 
*Scott,  Thomas,  do  ,   Old  Jedward 
*Scott,  Walter,    do ,  Edgerston  Tofta 
Scott,  Thomas,  do.,  Mervinslaw 
Swan,  Samuel,    do.,  Bush 
Turnbull,  William,  blacksmith,  Dovesford 
Wbeelans,  A.,  weaver,  Camptown 
Yule,  John,  blacksmith,  Smailcleuchfoot 

COUNTY  VOTERS  (Non-Resident).I 
Registered  in  Jedburgh  Parish. 
Dodds,  Anthony,  schoolmaster,  Hawick 
Elliot,  Hon.  Charles  G.  J.  B.,  Rear- Admiral,  S.  A.  station 

X  County  Voters  are  not  disquaUfied  by  any  distance  of  residence. 

279 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    BEDRTJLE  !    INTRODUCTORY    REMARKS. 


280 


Elliot,  Hon.  Henry  George,  British  Minister  in  Italy 

Elliot,  Hon.  Gilbert,  lieut-colonel,  at  present  stationed  at 
Buttevant  in  Ireland. 

Elliot,  Hon.,  George  F.  Stewart,  private  secretary  to 
Earl  Russell,  Minto  House  and  London 

ForbeB,  Sir  John  Hepburn,  of  Pitsligo,  Bart.,  of  Fetter- 
cairn  Houbo,  Fettercairn 

Gray,  William,  farmer,  Sharplaw,  Hounam 

JackBon,  John,  farmer,  Ewes,  Langholm 

Jerdan,  David,  bookseller,  Dalkeith 

Kerr,  Lord  H.  F.  C,  Huntly  Burn,  Melrose 

Kerr,   Lord  Charles 

Kerss,  Robert,  gamekeeper,  Mounteviot 

Lang,  John  (of  Overwells),  sheriff-clerk,  Selkirk 

Oliver,  George,  writer,  Hawick 

Oliver,  George,  sen  ,  Cross  Keys,  Kelso 

Fringle,  William,  Esq.,  Edinburgh 

Scott,  Thomas  Rennie,  Castlemains,  Lanarkshire 

Talbot,  Hon.  G.  C. 

Veitch,  William,  7  North-west  Circus  Place,  Edinburgh 


BEDRULE 


Is  situated  nearly  in  the  centre  of  the  county,  along  the  banks 
of  Rule  water  and  the  Teviot ;  by  these  streams  the  parish 
is  sui  rounded  to  the  extent  of  nearly  one-half  on  the  west 
and  north- west.  It  is  bounded  on  the  north  by  Alinto  and 
Aocrum,  on  the  east  by  Jedburgh,  on  the  south  by  Hobkirk, 
and  on  the  west  by  Hobkirk  and  Cavers.  The  length  of  the 
parish  from  north  to  south  is  about  4  miles,  and  its  breadth 
about  2  miles.  The  total  area  of  the  parish,  according  to  the 
Ordnance  Survey,  is  3952J  acres  ;  of  which  3875j  are  land, 
nearly  35  water,  and  41J  public  roads.  In  the  lower  grounds 
the  land  is  fertile  and  well  cultivated ;  the  higher  consist 
mostly  of  pasture  and  moorland.  The  climate  is  in  general  dry 
and  healthy. 

The  antiquities  of  the  parish  are  the  site  of  the  Casile  of  Bed- 
rule  near  the  Church,  formerly  the  residence  of  the  Turnbulls, 
and  the  head  quarters  of  the  family,  a  strong  border  clan,  famous 
for  their  predatory  habits  in  ancient  times  ;  and  Fulton-Peel, 
towards  the  south  side  of  Bedrule  farm.  The  Peel  is  situated 
on  a  grassy  slope  which  gently  descends  to  the  Rule,  on  the 
other  side  of  which  "dark  Ruberslaw"  rears  its  shaggy  crest  : 
the  walls  are  still  tolerably  complete.  The  prospect  of  the 
surrounding  country  is  very  extensive,  and  exhibits  a  com- 
bination of  mountain  and  glen  scarcely  to  be  equalled  in  the 
district.  In  the  parish,  and  also  worthy  of  notice,  are  the  re- 
mains of  a  very  fine  avenue  on  the  property  of  Mr.  Robson 
Scott  of  Newton,  of  very  old  ash  and  elm  trees,  which  are  now 
carefully  preserved. 

The  Dunion,  the  best  known  hill  in  the  parish,  situated 
in  its  eastern  boundary  where  it  joins  the  parish  of  Jedburgh, 
rises  1095  feet  above  the  level  of  the  sea.  The  appearance 
of  this  hill  is  very  striking.  Of  a  round  symmetrical  shape, 
and  apparently  stuck  on  to  the  end  of  a  lofty  ridge,  it  suggests 
the  idea  of  a  huge  mole-hill  that  had  been  burrowed  up  in  some 
early  age  of  our  world's  history.  When  visited  the  hill  is  seen 
to  be  very  rocky,  the  trap  being  covered  only  with  a  thiu  cast- 
ing of  earth,  on  which  grows  a  scanty  herbage.  Till  lately  it 
stood  in  an  extensive  moor,  but  the  enterprise  of  modern 
farming  has  now  carried  cultivation  close  up  to  its  ba6e  on  all 
sides.  The  view  from  its  summit  is  one  of  the  most  magnifi- 
cent in  the  Border  counties,  and  will  amply  repay  a  walk  from 
Jedburgh  in  the  immediate  proximity  of  which  it  is  situated. 
The  resting  of  the  clouds  on  the  Dunion  and  Ruberslaw  in 


281 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  \    BEDRULE  — PUBLIC    OFFICES,    ETC — RESIDENTS SEATS. 


282 


moist  weather,  has  suggested  to  the  inhabitants  of  the  district 
the  following  rhyme  : — 

"  "When  Ruberslaw  puts  on  its  hat, 
And  Dunion  on  its  head, 
All  the  old  wives  of  Rule  water 
May  expect  a  flood  " 

There  are  no  villages  in  the  parish.  Bedrule  is  merely  a 
hamlet  consisting  of  the  parish  church,  school  house,  smithy, 
and  a  farm-house,  with  the  attached  cottages.  Jedburgh, 
which  is  over  3  miles  distant  from  the  hamlet,  is  the  nearest 
market,  and  the  post  town.  Jedfoot  is  the  nearest  railway 
station  for  the  east  side  of  the  parish,  and  Hassendean  on  the 
Hawick  line  is  the  nearest  for  the  west  side  of  the  parish. 

Population  of  the  pariah  in  1861,  222;  who  composed  41 
families,  35  of  whom  were  returned  as  living  in  houses  of  one 
and  two  windows. 

Aasesaed  property  in  1864-5,  £3732,  10s. 

The  principal  landed-proprietors  in  the  parish  are — Sir 
William  Francis  A.  Eliott  of  Stoba  and  Wells,  Bart. ;  Thomas 
Robson  Scott,  Esq.  of  Newton;  Gideon  Pott,  Esq.  of  Knowe- 
south  ;  Thomas  Cockburn,  hsq.,  of  Menalaws;  and  William 
Oliver  Rutherfurd,  Esq.  of  Edgerston. 


Those  marked  thus  ("')  are  Registered  Voters  in  the  parish. 

Resident  Justices  of  the  Peace — Gideon  Pott,  Esq.  of  Kuowesouth ; 

Thomas  Robson  Scott,  Esq.  of  Newton. 
District  Police  Officer — John  Buglass,  Denholm. 
Post  Office — Daily  Runner  from  Jedburgh,  who  leaves  and  takes 

up  letters  throughout  the  parish. 
Public  Offices — Heritors'  Clerk  and  Inspector  of  Poor — Thomas 
Scott,  Lanton,  Jedburgh. 
Kirk  Treasurer — Rev.  Archibald  Craig. 
Session   Clerk,    Registrar  of  Births,    Deaths,   and  Marriages — 

William  M'Neill. 
Medical  Officer  and   Public  Vaccinator — William  Blair,    M.D., 
Denholm. 
Clergy,  &c. — Presbytery  of  Jedburgh,  Synod  of  Merse  and  Teviot- 
dale.     Patron — James  Ross  Hume  (minor),  of  Ninewells.J: 
Established  Church— *Rev.    Archibald  Craig  (Inducted  1832). 
Sittings,  150. 
Fast  Day — Thursday  before  first  Sunday  of  July. 

J  Who  represents  a  former  proprietor  (one  of  the  Carres  of  Capers) 
of  Bedrule  estate,  but  by  an  oversight  the  patrunage  was  overlooked 
when  the  estate  was  sold  to  the  Hon.  William  Eliott  (who  died  in 
1818,  and  was  succeeded  by  the  late  Sir  William  Eliott  of  Stobs,  in 
the  Bedrule  and  Wells  estates.) 


School  (Parish) — *William  M  'Neill,  master;  average  attendance,  4S.1 
Parochial  Board — Gideon  Pott,  Esq.,  Chairman.     No.  of  Poor  on 

Roll,  6.    Rate  of  Assessment,  2d.  per  £ ;  total  Assessment  1863, 

£60.    Poor  House,  Jedburgh  Union. 

Conveyance— North  British  Railway— Jedburgh  Station,  distant  3 
miles  ;  Hassendean  Station,   distant  4  miles. 


RESIDENTS,  FARMERS,  &c  ,  IN  THE  PARISH. 

Armstrong,  William,  farmer,  Bedrule  Mill 
*Murdie,  Henry,  do  ,     Lanton  Mains 

Oliver,  W.,  blacksmith,  Bedrule 
*Sirjison,  George,  farmer,      do. 


SEATS,  &c.  OF  COUNTY  FAMILIES  IN  THE  PARISH. 

KNOWESOTJTH. 

Near  the  extreme  north — the  property  and  residence  of  ^Gideon 
Pott,  E  q.,  of  Dod  (in  Teviothead  parish),  collector  of  county 
Rates  for  the  county. 

MENSLAWS. 

On  the  Teviot,  at  the  western  extremity— the  property  and 
residence  of  "Thomas  Cockburn,  Esq.,  who  purchased  the  pro- 
perty in  I860. 

NEWTON. 

Tbe  property  and  principal  residence  of  *Thomas  RobBon  Scott, 
E*q.  of  Newton;  succeeded  to  the  estate  in  1858,  on  the  death 
of  his  uncle,  the  late  John  Scott  Esq.  of  Ri  ccalton  and  A^trees, 
and  whose  surname  he  assumed. 


REGISTERED  VOTER  (Non-Resident). 
Scott,  William,  portioner,  Lanton 


X  Children  in  the  parish  from  5  to  15  attending  school  during  the 
first  week  of  April  18C1,  41 ;  of  all  ages,  43. 

X  James  Robson  Scott,  Esq.,  Belford  (Morebattle),  succeeding  to 
Ashtrees,  and  John  Elliot  Scott,  Esq.,  Buckholm  (Galashiels),  suc- 
ceeding to  Riccalton. 


283 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    HOBKIIiK. —  PUBLIC    OFFICES,    ETC. 


284 


HOBKIRK. 


This  parish  is  bounded  on  the  north  by  Bedrule  and  Cavers, 
on  the  east  by  Southdean,  on  the  south  by  Castleton,  and  on 
the  west  by  Cavers.  Its  length  is  about  11  miles,  and  its 
breadth  averages  3  miles.  Its  area,  according  to  the  Ordnance 
Survey,  is  Hi, 242  acres.  This  is  sub-divided  into  16,113j  acres 
of  land,  49  acres  under  water,  and  79  acres  in  roads.  The  gene- 
ral appearance  of  the  parish  is  billy,  especially  in  the  southern 
part,  where  Windbrugh  Fell  rises  to  a  height  of  1662  feet,  and 
Fauna  to  a  height  of  1643  feet.  Near  the  northern  extremity 
is  "darkRuberslaw"— partlv  in  tbis  parish  and  partly  in  Cavers 
— rising  to  an  altitude  of  1392  feet.  Bonchester  Hill,  a  beauti- 
ful grassy,  round-shouldered  emineoce,  near  the  centre  of  the 
parish,  has  an  altitude  of  1059  feet ;  and  near  its  summit  are 
numerous  remains  of  ancient  encampments.  The  larger  portion 
of  the  parish  is  pastoral,  but  in  the  valley  of  the  Rule  the  soil 
is  deep  and  fertile.  A  great  extent  of  pasture  land  has  lately 
been  brought  under  cultivation  with  good  results,  particularly 
on  the  Wolfelee  eBtate  and  on  the  farms  of  Gatebousecote  and. 
Hallrule.  In  all  these  cases  the  hill  sides  are  now  waving  with 
grain,  where  formerly  there  was  only  rough  heather  or  benty 
grass.  Rule  water,  formed  by  the  junction,  in  the  parish,  of 
the  Catlee  and  Harrot  burns,  flows  northward  through  its 
entire  length,  and  some  of  its  scenery  is  very  beautiful.  {See 
Southdean  parish,  p.  203). 

There  is  no  village  deserving  the  name  in  the  parish — the 
only  approach  to  it  being  a  very  small  collection  of  houses  at 
Bonchester  Bridge,  at  a  distance  uf  three-quarters  of  a  mile 
from  which  are  the  church,  manse,  and  achool-bouae,  where 
Thomson  spent  part  of  his  early  life  with  his  friend  the  Rev. 
Robert  Riccalton,  then  minister  of  the  parish  ;  and  he  is 
Baid  to  have  drawn  from  the  neighbourhood  much  of  the 
pcenery  of  his  "Seasons."  Foxes  are  plentiful  in  the  parish, 
and  otters  are  known  to  exist;  and  a  heronry  (the  only  one 
in  the  district)  exists  at  Wells,  on  the  property  of  Sir  William 
F.  A.  Eliott.  As  a  whole,  the  climate  of  the  parish  is  damp, 
the  heights  swampy  and  often  overhung  with  mists. 

Hawick  and  Jedburgh  are  the  nearest  market  towns.  The 
nearest  railway  stations  are — Shankend,  on  the  Border  Union 
line  within  6  miles  of  Bonchester  Bridge  and  close  upon  the 
south-western  extremity  of  the  parish,  and  Hassendean  on  the 
N.  B.  line  is  about  4  miles  from  its  northern  point. 

Population  of  the  parish  in  1861,  771 ;  who  composed  137 


families,  6  of  whom  were  returned  as  living  in  houses  of  one 
window,  and  53  in  bouBes  of  two  windows,  leaving  the  high 
average  of  more  than  a  half  living  in  houses  of  three  or  more 
windows. 

Assessed  property  in  1863-4,  £900S:14:9. 

The  principal  landed-proprietors  in  the  parish  are — Walter 
Elliot,  Esq.  of  Wolfelee;  the  Hon.  Lord  Sinclair  of  Stonedge 
and  Greenriver  (Nisbet  House,  Donse);  R.  K.  Elliot,  Esq.  of 
Harwood  ;  William  Oliver,  Esq.  of  Langraw  ;  W.  M.  Scott, 
Esq.  of  Waucbope  ;  Sir  William  F.  A.  Eliott  of  Stobs  and 
Wells;  David  Henderson,  Esq.  Abbotrule ;  and  Captain  Cleg- 
horn,  of  Weens. 

Those  marked  thus  (*)  are  Registered  "Voters  in  the  parish. 

Justice  of  the  Peace — Captain  Cleghorn  of  Weens. 

Police  Officer — James  Rankin,  Forkins,  by  Bonchester  Bridge. 

Public  Offices — Heritors' -Clerk,  Registrar  of  Births,  Marriages,  and 
Deaths,  Inspector  of  Poor — William  Sibbald. 
Medical  Officer  and  Public  Vaccinator — Dr.  M'Leod,  Hawick. 

Post  Office  (at  Bonchester  Bridge) — Thomas  Renwick,  postmaster. 
Arrival,  1  p.m.  ;  Despatch,  7  a.m.  Post  town,  Hawick.  Mes- 
senger, James  "Watson.  The  post  town  for  Wells  and  the 
northern  districts  of  the  parish  is  Jedburgh.  Messenger — 
Thomas  Best. 

Clergy,  &c. — Presbytery  of  Jedburgh,  Synod  of  Merse  and  Teviot- 
dale.     Patron — the  Crown. 
Established  Church — *Rev.  John  Ewen  (Inducted  1S34).     Sit- 
tings, 360.     Sabbath  School  attendance,  20. 
Free  Church  (Wolfelee)— Rev.  Robert  Milligan  (Inducted  1S63). 
Sittings,  about  200.    Average  attend,  at  Sabbath  School,  25. 

Fast  Days — Wednesdays  before  the  longest  and  shortest  Sundays  of 
the  year. 

School! — Parochial — *John  Malcolm,  master.     Average  attend.,  85. 
Girls'  School — Cleughhead  (established  under  the  auspices  of  Mrs. 
Elliot  of  Wolfelee) — Miss  Gibson,  teacher. 

Parochial  Board — Wm.  Oliver,  Esq.,  Chairman.  Rate  of  Assess- 
ment, about  2£d.  per  £ ;  total  Assessment  1863-4,  £167:0:4. 
No.  of  Poor  on  RoU\  17.     Poor  House — Hawick  Combination. 

Library — William  Sibbald,  librarian.  1500  Vols.  Annual  Subscrip- 
tion, 3s.  by  members,  and  4s.  by  occasional  readers. 

Carriers  (calling  at  Bonchester  Bridge) — Jedburgh,  Tuesday,  and 
Hawick  Thursday — William  Tait,  Langhaugbwalls;  Hawick, 
Thursday — Archibald  Scott,  Chesters. 

Corn  Mills — Hallrule — *William  Bell.    Hartshaugh — *Jas.  Laidlaw. 

Saw  Mills — Harwood — *James  Smith,  farmer,  Templehall.  Wells — 
David  Davidson. 


f  Children  in  the  parish  from  5  to  15  attending  school  during  the  first 
week  of  April  1861, 133;  of  all  ages,  138. 


285 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    HOBKIRK. TRADES RESIDENTS SEATS. 


286 


TRADES,  &c,  IN  THE  PARISH. 
Amos,  Robert,  joiner,  Blackley 
Bel],  William,  maBon,  Wolflee  Glen 
Brunton,  Jono,  do.,      Doveshaugh  Cottage 
Deans,  Walter,  mason  and  grocer,  Hobkirk 
Henderson,  Daniel,  grocer,  Boocbester  Bridge 
Pow,  William,  blacksmith,  Blacklee 
Rutherford,  Thomas,  do,      Bonchester  Bridge 
Scott,  David,  mason,  do. 

Tait,  William,  grocer  and  carrier,  Langhaughwalls 
Taylor,  Douglas,  joiner  and  wire-fence  contractor,  Bon- 
chester Bridge 


RESIDENTS,  FARMERS,  &o. 

Armstrong,  John,  farmer,  Westleea 
*Barrie,  Bobert,  do.,      Hawthornside 

*Barrie,  Walter,  do.,  do. 

Boog,  Thomas  E.,     do.,      Tythe  House 

Christie,  William,  head  gardener,  Wells 

Dickson,  Robert,  farmer,  Weensmoor 
*Elliot,  Henry,         do.,       Greenriver 
*Fairbaim,  James,  do.,       Easter  Fodderlie 
*Laidlaw,  William,  do.,       Bonchester 

Mabon,  William,     do..       Town  o'  Rule 
*Mather,    Daniel  (of  Falty  Park,    Ballinasloe,    Ireland), 
farmer,  Hallrule 

Morrison,  James,  head  gardener,  Wauchope 

Morrison,  John,  do.,  Weens 

*Taylor,  Walter,  farmer,  Howahill 
*Telfer,  David,        do.,      Braidbaugh 
*Tbomson,  Andw.,  do.,      Billerwell 
*Thorburn,  lieo.,     de.,      Stonedge 
*Turnbull,  Jas.,      do.,       Wester  Fodderlie 
*Turnboll,  T..         do.,      Midburn 
*Usher,  John,  Jan.,  do.,      Gatehousecote 
*Wilaon,  James,      do.,      Cleughhead 


SEATS  OF  COUNTY  FAMILIES  IN  THE  PARISH. 

WELLS. 
Situated  on  the  Ru'e  near  the  northern  point  of  the  parish, 
in  the  midst  of  beautiful  scenery  and  magnificent  wood — the 
Beat  of  Sir  William  Francis  Augustus  Eliott,  Bart.,  of  Stobs 
and  Wells  ;  born  1827  ;  succeeded  his  father  the  late  Sir  Wm. 
Francis  Eliott,  F.R.S.,  in  September  1864,  as  8th  baronet; 
married  Charlotte  Maria,  daughter  of  Robert  Wood,  Esq., 
Canada. 


Sir  William,  who  held  a  commission  in  the  93d  Highlanders, 
is  Chief  of  the  ancient  familv  of  Elliot,  from  a  younger  branch 
of  which  the  celebrated  General  Elliot,  the  gallant  defender 
of  Gibraltar,  was  descended.  This  branch  became  extinct  in 
Sir  William's  cousin-german  the  Right  Hon.  William  Elliot, 
M.P.,  in  1818,  when  tbe  late  Sir  William  FranciB  Eliott  suc- 
ceeded to  the  estates  of  Wells  and  Bedrule. — See  note,  p.  281. 


Near  to  Bonchester  Bridge — the  property  and  occasional  resi- 
dence of  *George  Clegborn,  Esq. ;  born  1831 ;  succeeded  his 
father,  the  late  George  Cleghorn,  Esq.,  in  1855;  married, 
1862,  Mary  Ann  Hay,  third  daughter  of  Col.  Lumsden,  C.B., 
of  Belhelvie  Lodge,  near  Aberdeen  ;  and  has  issue — George 
Harry  Lumsden,  born  1863  ;  and  another  son,  born  1864. 

Mr.  Cleghorn  is  a  captain  in  the  Scots  Greys,  and  formerly 
held  a  commission  in  the  17th  Lancers. 

London  address — East  India  United  Service  Club,  S.  W. 


Situated  on  the  Rule,  two  miles  from  Bonchester — the  pro- 
perty of  Sir  William  F.  A.  Eliott,  and  residence  of  Peter 
Pennycook,  Esq.  (of  Newhall,  Bowden). 

GREBNKIVER. 

Situated  on  the  Rule  near  BoncheBter — the  property  of  thj 
Right  Hon.  Lord  Sinclair  of  Stonedge ;  occupied  by  *Henry 
Elliot,  farmer. 

HARWOOD. 

Situated  on  the  Harrot  burn  near  its  source — the  property  and 
occasional  Rummer  residence  of  Robert  Kerr  Elliot,  Esq.,  of 
Clifton  Park  and  Harwood  (see  Linton  parish,  p.  147). 

LANGRAW. 

Situated  on  the  Rule  above  Bonchester,  and  near  to  the  church 
— the  property  and  residence  of  *William  Oliver,  Esq.,  factor 
for  the  Wolfelee  estate. 

■wauchope. 
Situated  on  the  Wauchope  burn — the  property  of  Walter  Mac- 
millan  Scott,  of  Wauchope,  and  Piunaclebill  (nearKelBo)  eldest 
son  of  the  late  Thomas  Macmillan  Scott ;   born  1848 ;   suc- 
ceeded 1862. 


REGISTERED  VOTER  (Non-Resident). 
Elliot,  Robert,  Esq.,  Wolfelee  (Southdean  parish) 


287 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    KIRKTON. PUBLIO    OFFICES,    ETC RESIDENTS — FARMERS. 


288 


KIRKTON. 


The  parish  of  Kirkton  is  a  long  narrow  irregular  stripe  ex- 
tending to  about  8  miles  in  length  from  north-east  to  south- 
west, and  having  an  average  breadth  of  2  miles.  It  is  bounded 
in  all  directions,  except  for  about  4  miles  on  the  south-west,  by 
the  parish  of  Cavers,  in  which  it  is  nearly  embedded ;  Hawick 
and  Teviothead  parishes  forming  the  remainder  of  its  boundary 
Its  area,  according  to  the  Ordnance  Survey,  is  Deariy  6223  acres. 
This  is  divided  into  33}  acres  in  public  roads,  21j  under 
water,  the  remainder,  6168,  being  land,  arable  and  pastoral. 
The  surface  of  the  parish  is  undulating,  and  in  the  south- 
eastern part  of  the  parish  there  are  some  hills  rising  to  nearly 
1000  feet. 

There  is  no  village  or  town  in  the  parish.  The  church  and 
school  are  situated  near  the  north-eastern  extremity.  Dr. 
Leyden  received  most  of  the  rudiments  of  his  education  in 
Kirkton  scboel.  The  lonely  cottage  at  Henlawshiel,  on  the 
farm  of  Nether  Tofts,  where  he  spent  his  childhood  and  youth 
in  poverty,  is  now  extinct. 

Nearest  market  town,  Hawick,  3J  miles  distant  from  the 
church.     Hawick  is  also  the  post  town. 

Population  of  tbe  parish  in  1861,  421,  who  composed  69 
families,  50  of  whom  were  returned  as  living  in  houses  of  one 
and  two  windows. 

Assessed  property  in  1863-4,  £3065  :  13  :  3. 

The  principal  landed-proprietors  in  the  parish  are— James 
Douglas,  Esq.  of  Cavers;  Sir  William  F.  A.  Eliott  of  Stobs  ; 
Mrs.  Pringle  Douglas  of  Haining,  and  William  B.  Dickson, 
Esq.  of  Alton. 


Those  marked  thus  (*)  are  Registered  Voters  in  the  parish. 

District  Police  Officer — John  Buglass,  Deubolm. 

Post  Office — The  messenger  (James  "Watson)  from  Hawick  delivers 
letters  as  he  passes  for  Hobkirk  parish,  &c.,  about  11-30  a.m., 
and  takes  up  letters  on  his  return  the  following  morning. 

Public  Offices — Heritor -'Clerk,  Session  Clerk,  Kirk  Treasurer,  and 
Registrar  of  Births,  Marriages,  and  Deaths — Thomas  Little. 

Cleroy,  &c. — Presbytery  of  Jedburgh,  Synod  of  Merse  and  Teviot- 
dale.     Patron — the  Crown. 
Established  Church— *Rov.  George  Hunter  (Inducted  1857).    Sit- 
tings, ISO. 


Fast  Days — Friday  before  second  Sabbath  of  April,  and  third  Sab- 
bath of  October. 

School! — Parochial — ^Thomas  Little,  master  ;  average  attend.,  38. 

Parochial  Board — George  Oliver,  Esq.,  Hawick,  Chairman.  Ave- 
rage number  of  Poor  on  Roll,  8.  Average  rate  of  Assessment, 
4d.  per  .£.  Total  Assessment  1864,  £9S  :  5s.  Poor  House,  Hawick 
Combination. 

Conveyance: — Nearest  Railway  Stations  :  Hawick  for  the  church ; 
Shankend,  near  Stobs  Castle,  for  the  southern  localities.  Station 
Master  at  Stobs — James  Todd. 

Corn  Mul — New  Mill — ^Thomas  Tornbull,  farmer. 
Carrier — James  Mabel,  Smithfieldhaugh  and  by  the  head  of  North 
Tyne  to  Hawick,  once  a  fortnight. 


EESIDENTS,  FARMERS,  &c. 

*Aitchison,  Alexander,  farmer,  Winningtonrig 
*Aitchison,  George,  do.  do. 

Blyth,  Thomas  and  William,  farmers,  Whitrigs  [see  Cavers) 
*Bulman,  Robert,  farmer,  Nether  Tofts 
*Davidson,  Wm.,     do.,      Adderstone  Shiels 

Deans,  George  and  Robert,  farmers.  Tofts 
*Grierson,  Thomas,  farmer,  Effledge 

Hogg,  George  and  Robt.,  farmers,  Cavers  Knowes  [see  Cavers) 
*01iver,  William,  farmer,  Barns 

Turnbull,  Thomas,  do.     East  Middle  [see  Cavers) 
*Turnbull,  Walter,    do.     Acreknows 
*Welsh,  John,  do.     Kirkton 


REGISTERED  VOTER  (Non-Resident). 
Dickson,  W.  R.,  of  Alton 


t  Number  of  children  in  the  parish  of  all  ages  attending  school  during 
the  first  week  uf  April  1861,  49. 


289 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    CAVERS. — INTRODUCTORY   REMARKS. 


290 


CAVERS. 


CAVER3  is  a  very  long  and  irregularly  shaped  parish ;  its  length 
being  nearly  12  miles,  while  in  some  parts  it  is  not  much  over 
2  miles  in  breadth.  It  is  bounded  on  the  north  by  Mioto 
and  Bedrule,  on  the  east  by  Hobkirk,  on  the  south  by 
Castleton,  and  on  the  west  by  Hawick,  Wilton,  Teviotbead, 
and  Kirkton  parishes.  The  last  named  parish  it  nearly  sur- 
rounds aud  by  it  it  is  nearly  cut  in  two.  Previous  to  1850, 
Cavers  included  much  more  than  it  does  at  present;  but  in 
that  year  a  large  piece  of  it  wa3  disjoined  and,  along  with  the 
adjoining  portion  of  Hawick  paiisb,  formed  into  the  separate 
parish  of  Teviotbead.  The  parish  consists  in  its  north  part  of 
rich  arable  and  well  cultivated  lands;  but  in  the  southern 
part,  where  it  marches  with  Castleton  it  is  bleak  and  moorish. 
The  principal  hills  scattered  throughout  the  parish  are — 
"Dark  Ruberslaw,"  with  its  south  side  partly  in  the  adjoining 
parish  of  Hobkirk,  1392  feat  in  height,  Maiden's  Paps  1677 
feet,  Penchrise  1018  feet,  Brunt  Craig  1253  feet,  Shankend 
1219  feet,  and  Leap  Hill  1544  feeet.  The  conical  form,  and 
the  "dark"  aspect  of  Ruberslaw,  as  well  as  its  isolation,  give 
it  altogether  a  peculiar  appearance.  It  is,  unlike  any  other 
hill  in  the  district,  entirely  covered  with  heath,  except  where 
it  has  fallen  under  the  plough ;  and  the  heath,  so  different  from 
the  green  grass  on  other  hills  around,  causes  the  dark  shade  of 
the  hill.  Near  the  summit  are  some  splendid  crags,  one  of 
which  bears  the  name  of  ''Peden's  Pulpit;"  and  from  this 
peculiar  elevation  the  noted  covenanter,  Alexander  Peden,  is 
said  to  have  harangued  the  crowds  collected  on  a  green  grassy 
platform,  nearly  surrounded  by  the  beetling  cliffs.  Hardly 
any  place  could  be  more  suitable  for  such  a  purpose  in  troublous 
times,  as  a  coming  enemy  could  be  seen  at  a  great  distance. 

The  area  of  the  parish,  according  to  the  Ordnance  Survey,  iB 
nearly  18,353  acres,  comprising  18,171  acreB  land,  arable  and 
moor,  98f  acres  water,  and  83j  acres  nearly  of  public  roads, 
which  are  kept  in  good  repair. 

The  river  Teviot  divides  this  parish  for  a  considerable  dis- 
tance from  where  it  leaves  Hawick  parish  ;  the  Slitrig  also 
forms  its  boundary  for  a  short  distance — in  both  of  which  are 
good  trout  angling,  and  unrestricted. 

The  only  village  in  the  parish  is  Denholm,  situated  near  its 
southern  boundary,  and  remarkable  alike  for  the  beauty  of  its 
situation,  aud  the  associations  connected  with  it  as  being  the 
birth-place  of  the  far-famed  Dr.  John  Leyden.     The  village  is 


airily  situated  on  an  eminence,  which  is  terminated  abruptly  on 
the  north  by  the  Teviot  and  on  the  west  by  the  streamlet  which 
meanders  down  the  romantic  glen  known  as  Denholm  Dean. 
The  form  of  the  village  is  quadrangular.  Most  of  the  houses, 
are  generally  well  built,  and  face  the  village  green — a  com- 
mon of  considerable  size,  neatly  fenced  with  an  iron  railing, 
in  the  centre  of  which  a  monument  has  been  erected  to  the 
memory  of  Dr.  Leyden.  Through  the  kindness  of  James 
Douglas,  Esq.,  of  Cavers,  a  piece  of  garden  ground  has  recently 
been  allotted  to  each  cottage,  and  every  facility  is  now  afforded 
for  promoting  the  health  and  comfort  of  the  inhabitants. 

But  the  chief  attraction  of  Denholm  to  the  stranger  will 
ever  consist  in  its  fame  as  the  birth-place  of  Dr.  John  Leyden, 
whose  singular  genius  and  melancholy  fate  have  raised  bim  to 
a  niche  among  the  minstrels  of  the  Border.  The  humble  house 
in  which  he  first  saw  the  light  still  existB  on  the  north  side  of 
the  village;  and  the  handsome  obelisk  in  the  green,  with  its 
suitable  inscription  will  keep  hia  name  and  memory  fresh  in 
the  district. 

Terminating  near  the  village,  but  extending  up  to  the  south- 
westward,  is  Denholm  Dean,  a  glen  of  great  beauty,  finely 
overhung  with  hazel,  birch,  and  bramble,  and  known  to  bota- 
nists for  its  fine  specimens  of  fern. 

Two  miles  to  the  west  of  Denholm  is  Cavees  House,  the  resi- 
dence of  James  Douglas,  Esq.,  who  owns  the  greater  part  of 
the  parish.  This  is  a  singular  looking  baronial  residence,  con- 
sisting of  a  large  square  mass  of  buildings,  facing  the  north- 
east, with  enormously  thick  walls  and  small  old-fashioned 
windows.  This  remarkable  old  mansion  virtually  embodies 
the  history  of  the  family  for  centuries,  having  been  altered  and 
enlarged  to  suit  tbe  requirements  of  different  ages,  the  oldest 
portion  being  a  square  tower  erected  about  the  year  1400  by 
Sir  Archibald  Douglas,  then  warden  of  the  marches.  This, 
however,  was  built  on  the  ruins  of  a  still  older  castle,  in 
which  dwelt  during  the  twelfth  and  thirteenth  centuries  some 
generations  of  the  Baliols,  one  of  whom  afterwards  ascended, 
for  a  short  time,  the  Scottish  throne.  In  the  mansion  are 
preserved  the  banner  carried  before  Douglas  at  the  battle  of 
Otterburn,  and  the  trophies  then  captured  from  Percy,  con- 
sisting of  what  seems  to  be  a  pair  of  lady's  gauntletB,  bearing 
the  white  lion  of  the  Percies,  embroidered  in  pearls,  and 
fringed  with  filagree  work  of  silver.  These  gauntlets  seem  to 
have  been  attached  to  the  handle  of  Percy's  spear,  which  was 
won  by  Earl  Douglas,  and  the  attempt  to  retake  which  brought 
on  the  fatal  fray.  In  the  old  square  tower  iB  a  double  staircase 
11  an  architectural  curiosity  so  contrived  that,  two  parties  may 
pass  up  and  down  at  the  same  time  without  meeting  or  scarcely 
even  Beeing  each  other." 

U 


291 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    CAVER«. PUBLIC    OFFICES,    ETC. TRADES. 


292 


At  a  little  distance  to  the  north-west  of  the  mansion  is  the 
old  church  of  Cavers,  supposed  to  have  existed  before  the  Re- 
formation, in  which  John  Leyden  studied ;  and  adjoining 
which  is  the  churchyard,  where  the  paternal  t-omb-stone  com- 
memorates the  learned  Doctor  whose  dust  reposes  in  Java.  A 
new  church  and  manse  have  been  erected  about  half-a-mile  to 
the  westward. 

The  nearest  market  towns  are  Hawick,  about  5  miles  from 
Denholm,  and  Jedburgh  about  the  same  distance.  The  com- 
munication with  the  western  part  of  the  country  has  always 
been  much  retarded  by  the  want  of  bridge  accommodation, 
and  the  badness  of  the  fords  across  the  Teviot ;  but  this  has 
now  been  remedied  by  a  handsome  bridge  at  Denbolm,  and, 
in  connection  with  it,  a  direct  road  has  been  made  to  Hassen- 
dean  station,  the  expense  of  which  has  been  raised  chiefly  by 
local  subscription. 

By  the  census  of  1861  the  population  of  the  village  of  Den- 
holm was  766;  of  the  entire  parish,  1824;  who  composed  340 
families,  J3  of  whom  were  returned  as  living  in  houses  of  no 
windows,!  112  in  houses  of  one  window,  and  145  in  houses  of 
two  windows,  leaving  a  balance  of  70  living  in  houses  of  three 
and  more  windows. 

Assessed  property  in  1863-4,  £11,428  :  2  :2. 

The  principal  landed-proprietors  in  the  parish  are — James 
Douglas,  Esq.  of  Cavers — resident;  Col.  William  Macdonald, 
ofOrmifcton;  and  Miss  Macdonald— occasionally  resident ;  and 
Sir  William  A.  F.  Eliott  of  Stobs  and  Wells;  William  Scott 
Watson,  Esq.  of  Bucklands  ;  and  the  Duke  of  Buccleuch. 

Superior  of  Denholm — James  Douglas,  Esq.,  of  Cavers. 


Those  marked  thus  (*)  are  Registered  Voters  in  the  parish. 

Resident  Justice  of  the  Peace — "Walter  Wilson,  Esq.,  Orchard. 
Police  Officer — John  Buglass,  Denholm. 

Post  Office — Jaue  Turnbull,  Postmistress.  Daily  Post  to  Hawick — 
Arrival,  1  p.m.  ;  Despatch,  3-5  p.m.  Messenger— Archibald 
Douglas.  Letters  for  the  entire  parish  should  be  addressed  by 
Hawick. 

Public  Offices— Heritors'  Clerk,  Inspector  of  Poor,  and  Registrar  of 
Births,  Marriages,  and  Deaths — *George  Moodie,  Denholm. 
Kirk  Treasurer  and  Session  Clerk — J.  Greenfield. 
Medical  Officer  and  Public  Vanciuator — William  Blair,  M.D. 

Clergy.  Sic. — Cavers  is  in  the  Presbytery  of  Jedburgh,  and  Synod  of 
Merse  and  Teviotdale.     Patron— James  Douglas,  Esq.  of  Cavers. 

t  Railway  constructors  employed  at  the  time  on  the  Hawick  and  Car- 
lisle line,  and  living  in  huts, 


Established  Church  (Cavers) — *Rev.  Alexander  Munn  M'Coll  (In- 
ducted 1S54).    Sittings,  500.    Av.  attend,  at  Sabbath  School,  56. 

Free  Church  (Denholm) — "Rev.  Jas.  M'Clymont  (Inducted  1847). 
Sittings,  364.     Average  attendance  at  Sabbath  School,  65. 

Independent  Church  (Denholm) — Rev.  J.   M'Robert  (Inducted 
1846).     Sittings,  230. 
Fast  Days— First  Wednesday  of  May,  and  last  "Wednesday  of  Oct. 
Schools!  :   Parish  (Denholm)— *  John  Greenfield,  master ;  av.  at.  145. 

Auxiliary  (Cog's  Mill) — James  W.  Scott,  teacher;  av.  attend.  60. 

Female  (Cavers, supported  by  James  Douglas,  Esq. ) — Miss  Telfer, 
teacher  ;  average  attendance,  55. 
Parochial  Board — Robert  Thomson,  Esq.,  Hawick  (factor  for  James 

Douglas.  Esq.,  Cavers),  Chairmau.    No.  of  Poor  ou  Roll,  47.    Rate 

of  Assessment,  Sd.  per  £ ;  total  Assessment  1803,  £544.     Poor 

House,  Hawick  Union.     (See  Teviothead  parish.) 

Library— Denholm  Subscription  (about  1000  vols.).  Annual  Sub- 
scription, 5s.    Thomas  Barrie,  Librarian. 

Denholm  Horticultural  Society — Competitions,  third  Saturday 
of  July,  and  second  Saturday  of  September,  when  a  variety 
of  prizes  are  given.  A  flourishing  Society.  Ebenezer  Olivor, 
secretary ;  William  Oliver,  tailor,  treasurer.  Annual  Subscrip- 
tion, Is. 

Carriers — Jedburgh  to  Hawick,  Thomas  Robson,  Wednesday  and 
Saturday  (see  Hawick  Carriers). 

Conveyance — North  British  Railway — Hassendean  station  on  the 
Hawick  line,  in  Minto  parish,  and  the  one  most  frequented— dis- 
tant 2  miles  from  Denholm— Robert  Watson,  station-master; 
and  Sbankend  station  in  the  parish,  near  Stobs  Castle,  on  the 
Border  Union  line,  James  Todd,  station-master. 

Medical  Practitioner — William  Blair,  M.D.,  Denholm. 

Corn  Mills— Denholm— *Thonias  Tait ;  Spittal— James  Inglis. 


TRADES,  &o. 

Denholm 

Beattie,  "William,  baker 

Beattie,  Andrew,  flehher 

Borthwick,  William,  tailor 

Brown,  Isabella,  grocer,  &c.  - 
*Bulman.  Robert,  bod.,  farmer 

Crown  Inn,  James  Elliot 

Davidson,  John,  joiner 

Elliot,  James,  grocer,  &c. 
*Fergusson,  Alexander,  innkeeper 

Fox  and  Hound's  Inn,  *William  Leyden 


t  The  number  of  children  in  the  parish  from  5  to  15,  attending  school 
during  the  first  week  of  April  1861,  was  306 ;  of  all  ages,  318. 


293 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    CAVERS. RESIDENTS FARMERS SEATS. 


294 


Furness,  Nicholas,  joiner 
*Hall,  Thomas,  carter 

Hall,  J.  &  G.,  grocers 

Hope,  William,  draper 

Hume,  Robert,  shoemaker 

Jamieaon,  James,  Nhoemaker 

Laidlaw,  Robert,  flesher 
•Little,  James  mason 
*Little,  William,  builder 
*Mack,  John,  grocer,  &c. 
*Messer,  William,  cooper 
*Miller,  Jiimes,  joiner 
*Moodie,  Rohert  and  George,  millwrights 
*Nichol,  Robert,  hosier 
^Oliver,  James,  stocking-maker 

Oliver,  William,  tailor 

Park,  James,  shoemaker 
*Riddell,  Thomas,  stocking-maker 

Rohson,  John,  blacksmith 

Robson,  William,  do. 
*Scott,  William,  qnarryman 

Sinton,  Andrew,  road-contractor 

Smail,  George,  blacksmith 
*"Smitb,  John,  baker 
*Tait,  John,  stone-cutter 

Turnbull,  John,  joiner 

Turnbull,  Jane,  spirit  dealer 
*Thomson,  William,  mason 


RESIDENTS,  FARMERS,  &c.  IN  THE  PARISH. 


*Amos,    Thomas,       farmer, 

*Ashcroft,  Alexander,  do. 

Ballantyne,  Henry,  do. 

*Barry,  Robert,  do. 

*Blyth,  William,  do. 

*Blyth,  Thomas,  do. 

*Bruuton,  James,  do. 


EarlBide 
South  Berryfell 
Dean  brae 
Spittal  Tower 
Whitriga 

do. 
North  Berryfell 


^Davidson,  James,  Locbeod 

Elliot,  Robert,  farm-steward,  &o.,  Cavers 
*Forsyth,  George,  farmer,  Ashybank 
*Goodfellow,  Hugh,  do.      Trow  Mill 
*Gray,  William,         do.      Ormiston 

Grieve,  Robert,  manager,  Stobs 
*Haddon,  Andrew,  farmer,  Honeybnrn 
*Hogg,  George,  do.     Cavers  Knowes 

*Irvine,  William,       do.     Cavers  East  Mains 
*Jobson,  George,         do.     and  coal  agent,  Hnmmelknowes 


*Laing,  Walter,  quarry  master,  Den  holm  hill 

Riddell,  John,  farmer,  Ormiston  Mains 
*Scott,  James,         do.     Colliforthill 

Scott,  Robert,       do.     Kaingend 
*Sc<>tt,  Robert,       do.     Kinninghall  and  Little  Cote 

Tait,  John,  gardener,  Cavers 

Turnbull,  James,  forester,  Cavers 

Turnbull,  James,  farmer,  Spittal 
•Turnbull.  Thomas,  do.      East  Middle 
*Veitoh,  William,      do.      Dykes 
*Young,  James,  do.      Teviotbaugh 


REGISTERED  VOTERS  (Non-Reaident). 

Eckford,  John,  grocer,  Hawick 

King,  James,  Dimpleknowe,  Ashkirk 

Little,  James,  Ashieburn,  Ancrum 

Smith,  William,  farmer,  Learmouth,  Cornhill 

Turnbull,  William,  groom,  Minto 

Riddell,  John,  farmer,  North  Sinton 


SEATS,  &o.  OF  COUNTY  FAMILIES  AND  SMALLER 
RESIDENCES  IN  THE  PARISH. 

OAVERS  (see  p.  290). 

The  property  and  residence  of  James  Douglas,  Esq.,  eldest  son 
of  the  late  James  Douglas,  Esq.,  of  Cavers  (author  of  "  The 
Advancement  of  Society,"  &n) ;  born  1822;  succeeded  1861; 
married,  1858,  Mary,  youngest  daughter  of  the  late  Sir  Andw. 
Agnew,  Bart,  of  Lochnaw,  Wigtonshire. 

This  family  is  descended  from  Archibald  Douglas,  natural 
son  of  James  second  Earl  of  Douglas,  who  was  killed  at  Otter  - 
burn,  1388,  on  which  occasion  Archibald  carried  his  father's 
banner,  still  preserved  at  Cavers,  together  with  the  trophy*  cap- 
tured from  Earl  Percv.  He  was  infeft  in  the  Barony  of  Cavers 
and  appointed  hereditary  Sheriff  of  Teviotdale,  which  office 
{and  sometimes  that  of  Warden  of  the  Marches)  was  held 
with  only  one  short  interruption  by  his  successors  till  1745, 
when  hereditary  jurisdictions  were  abolished.  The  present 
proprietor  is  the  20th  in  regular  hereditary  descent  from  the 
founder. 


*  Called  a  Pennon  by  various  writers.     Sir  Walter  Scott  committed 
this  mistake  in  some  of  his  books,  but  corrected  it  in  others. 


295 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  I    MINTO. INTRODUCTORY    REMARKS. 


296 


ORCHARD  HOUSE. 


The  property  of  James  Douglas,  Esq.  of  Cavers;  at  present 
occupied  by  Walter  Wilson,  Esq.,  J, P.  (of  Teviot  Mills,  and 
7  Allars  Crescent,  Hawick),  and  N.  B.  Railway  Director. 


ORMISTON. 


The  property  and  autumn  residence  of  *Col.  Macdonald  of 
Powder  Hall,  near  Edinburgh ;  and  temporarily  occupied  by 
Provost  Wilson  of  Hawick,  during  the  rest  of  the  year. 


8TOB8   CASTLE. 


A  fine  mansion  in  the  vale  of  the  Slitrig,  about  4J  miles  south 
of  Hawick — the  property  and  once  the  residence  of  Sir  Wm. 
Eliott.  Now  occupied  as  a  summer  residence  by  Nicholas 
Wood,  Esq.,  M.  &  C.E.,  Newcastle  •on-Tyne. 


MINTO. 


The  parish  of  Minto  is  situated  on  the  left  bank  of  the  river 
Teviot,  and  extends  to  about  -U  mileu  in  length,  and  3£  in 
breadth.  It  is  bounded  on  the  north  by  Lilliesleaf,  on  the 
east  by  Ancrom,  on  the  south  by  Cavers,  and  on  tbe  west  by 
Wilton.  Its  area,  according  to  tbe  Ordnance  Survey,  is  5620J 
acres,  nearly — 30^  of  which  are  occupied  by  the  North  British 
Railway,  55  by  public  roads,  and  194  by  water. 

*'  A  stripe  of  hangh  in  the  southern  extremity  forms  the  only 
level  ground.  The  surface  in  other  places  rises  in  frequent 
undulations,  with  a  blunt  outline  presenting  considerable 
variety.  The  general  appearance  of  the  country  is  chiefly 
diversified  by  two  green  bills,  tbe  highest  of  which  attains  an 
elevation  of  905  feet ;  and  to  the  east  of  them  by  Minto  Crags, 
a  bold  and  ragged  eminence  721  feet  above  tbe  level  of  the  sea, 
overhanging  the  valley  of  the  Teviot.  These  heights  form  a 
ridge  running  lengthways  east  and  west  through  the  greater 
part  of  the  parish.  To  the  south  the  ground  slopes  to  the 
river,  and  is  further  diversified  by  some  small  glens  or  deans 
watered  by  rivulets."  Minto  Crags,  the  most  conspicuous 
object  in  the  parish,  commands  from  its  summit  a  most  ex- 
tensive view  on  all  sides. 

In  the  centre  of  the  parish,  situated  on  a  pleasant  rising 
ground,  is  the  small  but  beautiful  village  of  Minto — the  only 
one  in  the  parish.  The  nearest  market  towns  are  Hawick 
and  Jedburgh,  from  which  it  is  equally  distant  about  5  miles* 
There  is  a  railway  station  at  Hassendean,  about  1  mile  from 
the  village. 

The  parish  possesses  no  antiquities,  except  the  castlo  of 
Fatljps,  which  the  late  Earl  had  repaired  and  heightened  in 
a  becoming  manner,  romantically  situated  on  the  eastern  and 
most  picturesque  of  the  Minto  Crags ;  and  the  ruins  of  Barn- 
hills  Castle  in  a  glen  to  the  east  of  the  Crags.  The  only  man- 
sion of  any  note  is  Minto  House,  situated  near  the  village, 
tbe  seat  of  the  Earl  of  Minto,  a  fine  building  erected  at  the 
beginning  of  the  century,  but  better  known  to  fame  through 
the  talent  of  its  family  than  from  its  own  peculiar  grandeur 
or  beauty.  Tbe  House  is  four  stories  in  height,  and  the 
uppermost  room  is  fitted  up  as  a  sort  of  museum,  where  many 
interesting  family  relics  are  preserved.  From  the  windows  of 
thiu  room  the  view  is  most  extensive,  and  it  is  doubtful  if 


297 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    MINTO. PUBLIC    OFFICES,    ETC. RESIDENTS SEATS. 


298 


there  ia  in  aDy  part  of  Scotland  a  more  varied  and  extensive 
prospect.  The  house  ia  beautifully  surrounded  by  grounds, 
-woods,  and  crags,  including  the  site  of  an  old  burial  place, 
which,  instead  of  being  left  to  desolation  after  it  had  ceased 
to  be  used  as  a  place  of  sepulture,  has  been  tended  with  the 
most  religious  care  ;  and  the  finest  taste,  as  well  as  floricultural 
skill,  haB  contributed  to  make  it  a  most  lovely  retreat.  The 
library  of  Mmto  House  ranks  as  one  of  the  most  valuable 
private  collections  in  the  south  of  Scotland. 

Population  of  the  parish  in  1861,  430  ;  who  composed  83 
families,  one  of  whom  was  returned  as  living  in  a  house  with 
do  window,  7  in  houses  of  one  window,  and  54  in  houses  of 
two  windows. 

Assessed  property  in  1863-4,  £4667 :  13 : 8. 

The  principal  landed-proprietors  in  the  pariah  are — the  Earl 
of  Minto  ;  Edward  Heron  Maxwell,  E-q.  of  Teviot  Bank  ;  and 
Miss  Dickson,  Hassendeanburn — resident;  and  the  Duke  of 
Buccleuch — non-resident. 


Those  marked  thus  (*)  are  Registered  Voters  in  tbe  parish. 

Resibent  Justices  op  the  Peace — Earl  of  Minto,  and  Edward  Heron 
Maxwell,  Esq. 

District  Police  Officer — John  Buglass,  Denholm. 

Post  Office — Daily  Post  from  Hawick.  Arrival,  12-15  p,m.  ;  De- 
parture, 12  30  p.m.  Also  from  Hawick,  via  Denholrn.  Arrival 
2  p.m.  Letters  should  be  addressed  by  Hawick.  Messenger — 
Joseph  Turnbull. 

Public  Offices — Heritors*  Clerk,  Inspector  of  Poor,  Kirk  Treasurer, 
Registrar  of  Births,  Marriages,  and  Deaths,  and  Session  Clerk 
— John  Rankine  Hamilton,  schoolmaster. 
Medical  Officer  and  Public  Vaccinator— William  Blair,    M.D., 
Den  holm. 

Clergy,  &c. — Minto  is  in  the  Presbytery  of  Jedburgh,  and  Synod  of 
Merse  and  Teviotdale.     Patron— Earl  of  Minto. 
Established    Church  — Rev.    Mr.    M'Morland   (Inducted    1864). 

Sittings,  350,  exclusive  of  the  Minto  private  gallery.    Average 

attendance  at  Sabbath  School,  24. 

Fast  Day — Wednesday  before  the  last  Sabbath  of  April. 

Schools t— Parochial — "John  R.  Hamilton,  master;  aver,  attend.  45. 
Female — Miss  Renwick,  teacher  ;  average  attendance,  20. 

Parochial  Board — Angus  Mackintosh,  Esq.,  factor  for  the  Earl  of 
Minto,  Chairman.  No.  of  Poor  on  Roll,  8.  Rate  of  Assessment, 
2£d.  per  £  ;  total  Assessment,  1863,  £119  :  11  :  6.  Poor  House 
■ — Hawick  Combination. 

X  Number  of  children  in  the  parish  attending  school  during  the  first 
week  of  April  1861,  60 ;  of  all  ages,  67. 


Mortification — In  1751  the  Rev.  George  Bruce,  then  minister  of  the 
parish,  mortified  £50  for  the  behoof  of  the  poor  of  the  parish ; 
and  in  1795,  after  he  had  been  translated  to  Dunbar,  he  left,  or 
moi'tified  (for  he  died  that  year)  a  further  sum  of  £100  for  the 
behoof  of  the  schoolmaster. 

Library — There  is  one  in  connection  with  the  Parish  Church. 

Conveyance — North  British  Railway,  Hassendean  Station.  Station- 
master — Robert  Watson. 

Carriers — Hawick,  Thomas  Davidson,  Saturday  ;  Selkirk  and  Lil- 
liesleaf,  John  Aitchison,  Friday. 


RESIDENTS,  FARMERS,  &c. 

AinBlie,  Thomau,  blacksmith,  Minto 
*Amos,  JameB,  farmer,  Mioto  Deanfoot 
*Brockie,  David,  do.      Minto  Kaims 

Deans,  Gideon,  joiner,  Horsleyhill 
*Drawhill,  Thomas,  farmer,  Huntlaw 
*Hall,  Andrew,  farmer,  Horsleyhill 

Mackintosh,  Angus,  factor,  Cloughhead 
*Mark,  George,  farmer,  Hassendeanbura 
*Nicol,  William,   do.      Newlanda 
*Selby,  Robert,  Hassendeanbank 

Selby,  Ephraim,  factor  for  Twizel  Estate,  Hassendeanbank 
*Shiell,  John,   farmer,    HasBendean 
*Shiell,  Andrew,   do.  do. 

*Shiell,  James,       do.  do. 

*Tumbull,  Wm.,    do.     Minto  Townhead 

Turnbullj  William,  head  groom,  Minto  House 

Williamson,  George,  gardener,  do. 


SEATS,  &c.  OF  COUNTY  FAMILIES  IN  THE  PARISH 

MINTO    HOUSE, 

The  principal  residence  of  the  Earl  of  Minto  (Sir  William 
Hugh  Elliot  Murray  KynyDmound),  Viscount  Melgund  of  Mel- 
gund,  Forfarshire,  Baron  Minto  of  Minto,  and  a  Baronet  of 
Nova  Scotia,  eldest  surviving  son  of  Gilbert  Becoud  Earl  of 
Minto,  by  Mary,  eldest  daughter  of  the  late  Patrick  Brydone, 
Esq.  (the  celebrated  author)  ;  born  19th  March  1814  ;  succeeded 
his  late  father,  as  third  Earl,  31st  July  1859;  married,  20th 
May  1844,  Emma  Eleanor  Elizabeth,  only  daughter  of  the  late 
General  Sir  Thomas  Hislop,  Bart.,  G.C.B.,  and  has  issue  : — 

Gilbert  John,  Viscount  Melgnnd,  born  9th  Julv  1845. 
Arthur  Rnlpn  DouglaB,  born  17th  December  1846. 
Hugh  Frederick  Hislop,  born  23d  February  1848. 
William  Fitzwilliam,  born  14th  September  1849. 


299 


ItOXBURGHSIIIRE  :    HAWICK    AND    WILTON. INTRODUCTORY    EEMAEK9. 


300 


London  addiesses — Brooks'  and  Traveller's  Clubs,  S.W.,  and 
48  Eaton  Square. 

The  Earl  is  Deputv-Lieutenant  for  Roxburghshire,  and  was 
M.P.  for  Hythe  1837-41.  for  Greenock  1847-52,  and  for  Clack- 
mannan and  Kinross  1857-59, 

TEVIOTBANK. 

A  handsome  Elizabethan  villa,  situated  on  the  Teviot,  about 
one  mile  farther  up  the  river,  and  on  the  opposite  side  from 
the  village  of  Denholm — the  residence  of  *Edward  Heron  Max- 
well, Esq.  (who  purchased  the  property  id  1800),  seveuth  son 
of  the  late  Sir  John  Shaw  Heron  Maxwell  of  Sprinkell,  Dum- 
friesshire;  born  1821;  married,  1847,  Elizabeth  Ellen,  only 
daughter  of  Colonel  Stopford  Blair,  of  Penninghame,  Wigton- 
shire;  and  has,  with  other  issue,  a  sou- — John  Shaw,  born  1850. 
Mr.  Maxwell  is  a  Deputy-Lieutenant  for  Dumfriesshire. 

HASSF.NDEANBtlRN.  f 

Situated  on  the  Teviot  at  the  south  point  of  the  parish — the 
property  and  residence  of  Miss  Dickson.  Heir-Pres.,  Archibald 
Dickson,  Esq.,  yr.,  of  Bughtrig,  Berwickshire  [which  see]. 


REGISTERED  VOTER  (Non-Resident). 
Dr.  Aitken,  late  minister  of  the  parish 


t  It  was  here  that  the  first  nursery  in  Scotland  was  established, 
aud  from  which  the  celebrated  firms  of  the  Dicksons  of  Hawick, 
Edinburgh,  Chester,  and  Perth,  derived  their  origin. 


HAWICK  (and  wilto^). 


The  parish  of  Hawick  is  (as  now  constituted — see  introductory 
account  of  Teviothead)  bounded  on  the  north  by  Wilton  and 
Roberton,  on  the  south  by  Kirkton  and  Cavers,  on  the  west 
by  Teviothead,  and  on  the  east  by  Woberton.  It  is  about  6 
miles  in  length,  aod  from  2  to  3  miles  in  breadth.  The  area, 
according  to  the  Ordnance  Survey,  is  G203£  acres,  of  which 
6017f  are  land,  90|  are  water,  and  94^  are  public  roads.  The 
surface  of  the  parish  is  billy,  rising  to  over  800  feet  in  one  in- 
stance ;  the  banks  of  the  Teviot,  are  more  level,  and  the  soil 
generally  is  rich  and  well  cultivated. 

Situated  near  the  northern  extremity  of  the  parish,  and  partly 
within  the  adjacent  parish  of  Wilton,  is  the  burgh  of  Hawick, 
seated  at  the  confluence  of  the  Slitrig  with  the  Teviot;  by  the 
former  river  the  town  is  divided  into  nearly  equal  parts.  From 
its  proximity  to  the  borders  of  England  and  Scotland,  Hawick 
suffered  severely  in  times  of  ancient  feud,  and  was  thrice  burned. 
The  town  now  consists  chiefly  of  four  long  streets,  on  the  right 
bank  of  the  Teviot,  with  a  number  of  minor  thoroughfares  on 
both  sides  of  the  river,  well  paved  and  lighted. 

At  the  beginning  of  the  present  century  Hawick  consisted 
of  but  one  parish,  parochial  burghal,  its  population  was  under 
3000,  and  it  was  a  place  of  comparatively  small  importance. 
So  lately  as  1778  its  corn  market  was  established  by  the  Far- 
mer's Club  (founded  two  years  previously — see  lists).  About 
the  same  time  the  town  had  no  post  office.  Previously  "  the 
letters  which  were  brought  from  Jedburgh  by  a  common  hawker, 
once  a  month,  were  exposed  on  a  stall  in  the  streets  on  the 
market,  like  so  many  cakes  of  gingerbread,  and  the  people  used 
to  look  at  them  with  as  much  curiosity  as  the  botai  ists  do  at  a 
few  exotic  plants  from  Van  Dieman's  Land.*"  It  is  now  the 
most  important  town  in  the  district,  consisting  of  the  three 
burghal  parishes  of  Hawick  (parochial),  St.  Man's  (quoad 
sacra),  and  Wilton  (parochial),  with  a  burgh  population  close 
upon  10,500,  and  is  one  of  the  most  eminent  manufacturing  seats 
in  Scotland.  Its  staple  trade  is  lambs'  wool  hosiery  and  Tweeds, 
but  the  manufacture  of  shawls,  plaids,  blankets,  etc.,  is  also  very 
extensive. 

The  environs  of  Hawick  are  much  admired,  the  banks  of  the 
Teviot  being  extremely  picturesque ;  and  there  are  also  many 
beautiful,  wild,  and  romantic  scenes,  and  places  of  historical 
interest. 

Situated  at  the  upper  extremity  of  the  town,  and  overlooking 

*  Wilson's  "History  of  Hawick." 


301 


ROXBURGHSHIRE:    HAWICK    AND    TVILTON. ANTIQUITIES CLIMATE. 


302 


the  main  street,  is  a  relic  of  great  antiquity,  which  is  usually 
denominated  the  Moat.  This  consists  of  au  artificial  mound  of 
earth ;  it  is  circular  at  the  base,  it  rises  in  a  conical  form 
to  the  height  of  30  feet,  the  circumference  being  117  feet  at 
the  top  and  312  at  the  base;  it  contains  about  4060  cubic 
yards,  and  is  almost  flat  upon  the  top.  From  the  examination 
of  similar  remains  it  is  believed  to  have  been  originally  formed 
as  a  place  of  sepulture  by  the  early  occupiers  of  the  country, 
and  in  subsequent  times,  courts  for  the  administration  of  justice 
were  held  upon  it.  Sir  Alexander  Ramsay,  while  acting  in  a 
judicial  capacity  upon  its  summit  in  1342,  was  taken  prisoner 
by  the  Knight  of  Liddesdale,  carried  to  Hermitage,  and  there 
starved  to  death. 

The  vestiges  of  several  towers  or  Border  peels,  and  numerous 
earthworks  and  encampments,  are  still  remaining  in  different 
parts  of  the  parish;  one  of  the  most  ancient  of  these  places  of 
strength  now  forms  a  part  of  the  Tower  Inn,  celebrated  as  the 
residence  in  former  times  of  the  Bamns  of  Drumlanrig,  and  at 
a  later  period  of  Anne  Duchess  of  Buccleuch  and  Monmouth, 
whose  husband  was  beheaded  in  1685.  This  tower,  which  was 
anciently  surrounded  with  a  deep  moat  drawn  from  the  Slitrig, 
was  the  only  building  in  the  town  which  escaped  the  devasta- 
tion in  1570.  Another  of  these  peels  is  at  present  attached  to 
the  castle  of  Branxholm,  celebrated  as  the  ancieut  residence  of 
the  family  of  Buccleuch,  and  invested  with  additional  interest  of 
late  in  consequence  of  the  prominent  place  which  it  occupies  in 
the  "  Lay  of  the  Last  Minstrel"  (see  Goldiebinds). 

Probably  no  provincial  town  in  Hcotland  has  undergone  such 
a  change  in  appearance  and  limits  as  Hawick  of  late  years.  It 
has  extended  its  bounds  on  all  sides,  while  internally,  the  new 
erections  which  have  replaced  the  previous  thatched  and  mean- 
looking  houses,  have  so  transformed  and  renovated  the  ancient 
burgh  as  to  give  it — in  its  main  thoroughfares  at  least— much  of 
a  metropolitian  aspect.  The*new  banks  erected,  or  in  course  of 
erection,  and  many  of  the  shops  would  be  a  credit  to  the  principal 
streets  of  any  city  ,•  while  the  well-kept  streets  themselves,  pos- 
sess a  bustle,  never  seen  but  in  large  commercial  marts. 

One  of  the  nearest  tests  of  the  commercial  prosperity  of 
Hawick  is  to  be  found  in  the  rapid  increase  in  the  annual  rental 
of  the  parish,  as  disclosed  by  the  valuation  roll.  Thus  at 
Whitsunday  1843,  the  valuation  was  £12,922:14:3;  while 
at  Whitsunday  1863,  in  the  short  space  of  twenty  years,  it  was 
£29,346 :  16 :  5* 


1  The  roll  for  1S03  was  made  up  as  follows  : — 

Lands £8,235  14 

Factories,  &c.  4,005    6 

Houses,  &c 17,055  15 


Total 


£29,346  1G     5 


No  two  towns  in  the  district  present  such  contrasts  as  Kelso 
and  Hawick — each  the  representative  of  its  class:  Kelso  of  pros- 
perous country  trade  and  comfortable  social  leisure,  with  energy 
enough,  but  of  a  very  undemonstrative  kind,  and  scarcely  seen 
out  of  doors.  The  very  streets,  public  buildings,  and  shops, 
partake  of  this  character— the  former  systematical  I y  arranged, 
open  and  airy,  but  with  a  pavement  so  rough  as  to  betray  no 
anxiety  for  the  expedition  of  traffic,  and  except  on  extra  occa- 
sions, sparingly  frequented  by  either  town  or  country  people; 
the  houses  and  public  buildings,  as  a  rule,  substantial  but  heavy 
looking;*  the  shops  wealthy,  but  making  no  outside  show  of  it. 
Hawick — of  energetic,  wealth  accumulating,  business  activity — 
features  apparent  in  the  very  thoroughfares,  and  the  bustling 
traffic  frequenting  them.  The  thoroughfares  twisted  and  cut  up 
to  suit  the  exigencies  of  the  day,  and  showing  no  system  of 
arrangement,  but  m.icademized  to  the  smoothness  of  a  bowling 
green;  its  public  establishments,  airy  elegant  structures,  and  its 
shops  outwardly  attractive;  and,  while  Kelso  is  the  head-quarters 
for  corn  Hawick  is  that  for  meal.  In  only  one  feature  do  they 
resemble  each  other — both  towns  hav.e  an  inspector  of  nuisances, 
and  both  are  alike  cleanly  kept— that  is,  apparently,  and  as  seen 
by  a  stranger;  but  it  is  quite  possible  that  in  the  back  slums  of 
both  places  cleanliness  is  not  so  strictly  carried  out  as  it  might  be. 

Being  situated  partly  on  the  haugh  lands  in  the  valleys  of 
the  Teviot  and  Slitrig,  and  partly  on  the  sloping  hill  sides, 
Hawick  is  admirably  well  ventilated  by  the  cool  and  refresh- 
ing breezes  from  the  mountain  ranges  of  the  western  Border. 
The  Boil  is  dry  ;  and  since  the  draining  of  land  became  so 
universal,  the  same  may  be  said  in  a  general  wav  of  the 
atmosphere.  It  is  an  average  healthy  town.  Cholera  visited 
it  pretty  severely  in  1832,  and  very  fatally  in  1S49,  when  a 
great  many  cases  occurred,  about  one-half  becoming  fatal. 
No  epidemic  has  since  assumed  what  may  be  termed  an  alarm- 
ing form,  but  like  all  large  communities,  the  town  has  occa- 
sional visits  of  typhus,  gastric  fever,  and  small  pox  ;  the  latter 
almost  invariably  of  a  mild  type.     Tiie  great  bulk  of  the  popu- 

*  The  Corn  Exchange  and  Town  Hall  are  exceptions ;  but  take, 
for  instance,  the  five  bank  branches  at  present  established.  Three 
of  these  are  old  houses  cobbled  up  in  as  substantial  and  gloomy  look- 
ing a  style  as  possible — and  probably  not  much  more  could  have  been 
made  of  them;  still  they  could  have  been  better;  but  for  the  other 
two,  being  modern  erections,  there  is  no  excuse.  The  Bank  of  Scot- 
land especially,  lately  completed,  is  to  the  spectator  an  offence  both 
against  taste  and  arrangement — the  style  towards  the  street  (the 
bank  department^  being  that  of  a  prison,  plus  windows,  combined 
with  a  great  waste  of  ground  aud  well-built  walls  ;  while  the  style  of 
dwelling-house  seems  the  result  of  an  idea  of  a  modern  dwelling- 
house,  combined  with  some  architectural  features  borrowed  from 
Kelso  Abbey,  towards  which  it  looks. 


303 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    HAWICK    AND    WTLTON. MARKETS ANNIVERSARIES HOLIDAYS. 


304 


latiua  is  connected  with  the  woollen  factories,  and  the  work 
is  of  a  healthy  character;  it  having  been  proved,  beyond 
doubt,  that  weakly  cbildren  thrive  and  grow  stout  shortly  after 
entering  the  factories.  The  water  supply  bas  for  some  years 
back  been  far  short  of  the  necessities  of  the  population,  and 
the  drainage  is  totally  insufficient;  but  the  new  water  works, 
wbich  are  in  course  of  construction,  will  thoroughly  remedy 
the  first  evil,  and  a  complete  system  of  sewerage  will  follow — 
the  estimated  cost  of  which  is  above  £9000.  Wben  these  are 
carried  out,  the  health  of  the  town  will  no  doubt  be  much 
improved.  The  dwelling  houses  of  the  working  classes  are,  in 
many  of  the  poorer  parts  of  the  town,  much  over-crowded; 
and  tbougn  rents  are  high,  house  property  uf  this  description 
is  not  so  remunerative  as  to  make  building  a  favourite  invest- 
ment for  capital.  There  is  now  plenty  of  ground  in  the  market, 
but  there  seemB  little  disposition  to  purchase  it  fur  building 
purposes.  A  working  men's  building  society — the  object  of 
which  is  to  provide  self  contained  houses,  with  proper  conveni- 
ences and  gardens  for  the  members—  has  been  lately  started, 
and  is  likely  to  prove  successful.  The  health  and  coin  fur  t  of 
the  population  will  be  much  enhanced  when  better  dwellings 
are  put  within  the  reach  of  the  operatives. 

Although  situated  partly  on  slopes  of  the  surrounding  hills, 
Hawick  possesses  in  reality  little  variety  of  levels,  as  the 
following  heights,  snpplied  from  the  Ordnance  Survey  Office, 
will  show  ;  the  heights  given  are  above  mean  water  : — 

Bolt  in  Hawick  Old  Parish  Church   383  feet 

Bench  Mark  on  Town  Hall    352$  ,, 

Bench  Mark  on  Hawick  Bridge,  Tower  Knowe     . .   34fi|  „ 
Bolt  in  north  side  of  Buccleuch  Church  Tower  ......  339    ,, 

In  this  respect  however,  for  sanatory  purposes,  it  possesses  a 
great  advantage  over  Kelso,  which  is  nearly  a  dead  level — with 
oue  inconvenient  exception,  where  a  tunnel  was  required.* 


*  The  Kelso  sewerage  having  been  completed  and  fairly  into  opera- 
tion since  our  Kelso  pages  were  printed,  we  may  state  that,  as  yet, 
notwithstanding  the  almost  dead  level,  the  drains  are  working  per- 
fectly, and  some  of  them  have  now  been  in  operation  for  three  years. 

The  following  statement  shows  the  levels  of  the  main  di*ains,  and 
may  be  of  interest  to  other  towns  where  a  system  of  sewerage  is 
about  to  be  carried  out :— The  outflow  into  the  river,  for  nearly  200 
feet,  is  a  fall  of  1  foot  in  40  ;  from  the  outskirts  of  the  town  to  the 
outflow,  it  is  1  in  250 ;  in  the  principal  streets  and  square,  it  varies 
from  1  in  156  to  200 — these  all  consist  of  egg-shaped  brick  culverts 
placed  at  an  average  of  11  feet  below  the  surface.  The  tunnel  under 
the  rise  in  Roxburgh  Street,  is  24  feet  helow  the  surface,  at  its  deepest. 
The  branch  lines  (fire-clay  pipes)  vary  in  their  level  and  depth  accord- 
ing to  circumstances. 

The  entire  cost  of  the  sewerage  was  about  £4000.  To  Mr.  Brunlees, 
C.E.,  London,  a  native  of  the  town,  Kelso  is  indebted,  at  the  cost 


Dr.  Grant's  otter  hounds  regularly  hunt  the  streams  in  the 
district  during  the  season.  The  trout  fishing  in  the  Teviot  and 
Slitrig  is  free ;  the  sport  is  good,  but  the  fishing  is  sometimes 
spoiled  by  netters. 

Anniversary—  Hawick  Common  Riding.  The  common  rid- 
ing and  races  constitute  the  great  annual  festival  of  Hawick. 
It  commences  on  the  last  Friday  of  May  (old  style)*,  and  lasts 
over  two  days;  and  consists  of  the  ceremony  of  riding  the 
marches,  horse  and  foot  races,  leaping,  wrestling,  and  other 
athletic  games.  The  days  are  observed  as  a  holiday  in  the 
burgh.  The  origin  of  the  festival  is  ascribed  to  a  victory 
obtained  by  a  gallant  band  of  Hawick  youths  over  a  marauding 
party  of  English,  the  year  after  the  battle  of  Flodden.  Tradi- 
tion says  the  fight  took  place  by  the  side  of  the  Teviot,  two 
miles  below  the  town,  and  the  youths  resisted  the  marauders 
and  captured  their  standard.  An  unmarried  man  is  chosen 
annually  by  the  town  council  to  carry  a  fac-simile  of  this  stand- 
ard round  the  marches  of  the  town's  lands,  and  is  escorted  by 
a  troop  of  young  men  on  horse-back.  The  burgh  lands,  which 
were  granted  hy  Sir  James  Douglas  of  Drumlanrig,  being  now 
enclosed,  the  riding  of  the  marches  is  a  mere  form  ;  but  the  in- 
habitants take  great  delight  in  having  it  observed  with  all  the 
pomp  and  pageantry  of  by-gone  times.  The  first  mention  of 
races  in  connection  with  the  common  riding  is  in  1723;  in  1725 
the  town  council  voted  a  sum  for  the  racing  plate,  and  in  1727 
a  cup  was  run  for.  Hawick  race  meeting  is  consequently  one 
of  the  oldest  in  the  three  kingdoms. 

Holidays — New  Year's  Day,  and  the  days  following  the  May 
and  November  hiring  fairs  (see following  paragraph);  the  Old 
Year's  Day  is  also  held  by  some  classes,  but  it  is  not  a  close 
holiday. 

Markets. — Thursday,  weekly  (corn,  etc.).  The  corn  is  sold  by 
sample,  and  the  business  done  in  it  is  nest  in  importance  to 
Kelso  in  the  county,  and  next  to  Dunse  in  the  district;  while  as 
a  meal  and  flour  market,  it  is  the  principal  in  the  district.  A  hand- 
some Exchange  is  at  present  in  course  of  erection,  for  the  accom- 
modation of  farmers  and  dealers.  No  established  winter  markets 
for  the  sale  of  fat  cattle  occur,  but  the  energy  of  Messrs.  Oliver, 
auctioneers,  has  raised  Hawick  to  the  highest  rank  in  the  district 
as  an  auction  mart  for  this  class  of  produce.  Their  sales  of  fat 
stock,  milch  cows,  &c,  now  take  place  weekly,  on  Monday,  in  a 
handsome  new  auction  market,  their  own  property,  laid  out  and 

of  mere  outlay,  for  the  plans  and  specifications  ;  and  the  results  prove 
them  to  have  been  carefully  compiled  and  excellently  carried  out. 

The  water  system,  just  completed,  at  an  expense  of  £3000,  the  plans 
for  which  were  also  furnished  by  Mr.  Brunlees,  has  been  in  operation 
too  short  a  time  to  furnish  data  for  general  conclusions. 

*  That  is,  the  Friday  on  or  previous  to  the  26th. 


305 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    HAWICK. HIRING   DAYS — FAIRS TOWN    COUNCIL. 


306 


built  for  the  purpose.  Besides  the  ordinary  weekly  sales,  Messrs. 
Oliver  hold  three  sales  specially  for  lambs  in  August,  and  one 
in  September ;  two  sales  for  draft  ewes  in  October ;  and  sales 
specially  for  feeding  and  store  cattle  in  May,  October,  and  No- 
vember. At  each  of  these  lamb  sales  from  five  to  ten  thousand 
Cheviot  and  half  and  three-parts  bred  lambs  are  shown ;  in 
fact,  at  the  sale  on  the  25th  August  1864,  the  large  number  of 
11,257  were  disposed  off.  The  draft  ewe  and  cattle  sales  are 
equally  important  in  extent,  from  4000  to  6000  ewes,  and  300  to 
400  cattle  being  sold  at  each.  Messrs.  Oliver's  mart  has  now 
become  the  greatest  market  in  the  south  of  Scotland  for  milch 
cows ;  in  the  spring  months  from  40  to  60,  and  sometimes  100, 
are  sold  weekly.  Buyers  regularly  attend  Messrs.  Oliver's  sales 
from  all  the  towns  in  the  locality,  and  from  Edinburgh  and  the 
south. 

Great  Hiring  Days — Servants  and  Young  Men,  17th  May  and 
8th  November  (when  on  a  Saturday,  Sunday,  or  Monday — the 
Tuesday  after)  ;  Shearers,  first  Thursday  after  26th  July. 

Wool  .Fas')-— first  Thursday  after  St.  Boswell's  (the  18th  of 
July).  At  this  fair  much  of  the  Cheviot  wool  grown  in  the 
locality  is  sold.  Buyers  attend  from  the  Midland  manufacturing 
districts,  and  here  and  at  Jedburgh  (which  see,  p.  249)  the 
manufacturers  of  the  district  buy  in  their  principal  stocks. 

Tup  and  Lamb  Fair  (held  in  the  Brewery  Haugh) — 21st  Sep- 
tember (when  on  a  Saturday,  Sunday,  or  Monday — the  Tues- 
day after).  This  is  one  of  the  oldest  fairs  for  tups  in  Scotland, 
and  one  long  celebrated  for  Cheviots.  Of  late  years  a  good  num- 
ber of  Leicester*  have  been  shown ;  and  these  being  generally  not 
extra  fed,  are  much  sought  after  for  hill  use.  The  late  Mr.  A. 
Oliver,  about  twenty-five  years  ago,  introduced  the  mode  of 
selling  by  auction,  which  has  gradually  got  into  favour,  and 
now  the  greater  portion  are  sold  in  the  auction  ring.  There  are 
also  a  few  lots  of  lambs  shown  at  this  market,  but  Messrs. 
Oliver's  auction,  which  is  held  the  previous  week,  has  curtailed 
the  show  of  these  materially.  The  day  previous  to  this  fair  the 
Tup  Show  of  the  West  Teviotdale  Agricultural  Society  takes 
place — see  lists,  p.  318. 

Tryst  (Horses  and  Cattle)  held  on  North  British  Bailway 
Company's  ground  off  the  Wellgate,  where  a  suitable  siding  for 
trucking  cattle  and  sheep  has  been  erected — third  Tuesday  of 
October. 

Cattle — 8th  November. 


By  rail,  Hawick  has  great  facilities  of  communication  in  all 
directions.  The  main  branch  of  the  North  British  line  here 
joins  that  of  the  Border  Union  (now  jointly  called  the  "  Waver- 
ley  Route") ;  by  the  former  passengers  and  goods  are  conveyed 
to  Edinburgh,  Glasgow,  and  all  parts  of  the  north ;  while  the 


branch  lines  striking  off  at  Newtown,  convey  to  Berwick- 
shire, Kelso,  and  the  east  coast — by  the  latter  to  Carlisle,  the 
south  generally,  and  Dumfriesshire ;  while  the  Border  Counties' 
line,  striking  off  at  Riccarton,  conveys  to  Hexham,  Newcastle, 
the  Midland  districts,  and  south-eastern  coast. 

The  following  are  the  principal  distances  by  rail : — Edinburgh 
53  miles,  Glasgow  99,  Kelso  24£,  Berwick  48,  Carlisle  45J,  Hex- 
ham 55,  Newcastle  97^. 

The  Hawick  station,  situated  in  Wilton,  is  one  of  the  shabbiest 
and  most  incommodious  on  the  "route."  It  also  lies  at  an  incon- 
venient distance  from  the  centre  of  traffic;  but  in  this  respect 
it  is  well  off  compared  with  Kelso  or  Jedburgh. 

According  to  the  census  of  1861  the  population  of  the  town  of 
Hawick  (not  including  the  Wilton  district)  was  8138,  of  the 
burghal  district  of  Wilton  2210,  and  of  that  very  small  part  of 
Hawick  proper  which  lies  within  Wilton,  53  ;  total  of  the  burgh 
of  Hawick  as  at  present  constituted,  10,401.  Population  of  the 
parish  as  parochially  constituted  (Hawick  and  landward),  8,726. 

At  the  census  the  population  of  Hawick  parish  constituted 
1787  separate  families,  3  of  whom  were  returned  as  living  in 
houses  having  no  window,  868  in  houses  having  one  window, 
510  in  houses  of  two  windows,  406  (or  rather  less  than  one- 
fourth)  in  houses  of  three  and  more  windows. 

Assessed  property  in  the  parish  in  1863-4,  £25,115,  18s. 

The  largest  landed-proprietor  in  the  parish  is  His  Grace  the 
Duke  of  Buccleuch.  The  other  principal  proprietors  are — the 
Burgh  of  Hawick ;  James  Douglas,  Esq.  of  Cavers ;  B.  T.  G. 
Anderson,  Esq.  of  Tushielaw;  A.  K.  Lockhart,  Esq.  of  Borth- 
wickbrae ;  and  Thomas  Tunibull,  Esq.  of  Fenwick. 

Superior  of  Hawick — His  Grace  the  Duke  of  Buccleuch. 
Superior  of  Wilton — Mrs.  Pringle  of  Wilton  Lodge.  Hawick 
is  a  burgh  of  barony  independent  of  its  Superior. 

Wilton  Parish.- — For  Parochial  Board,  &c,  belonging  to 
Wilton  as  a  parish,  and  not  as  part  of  the  burgh  of  Hawick, 
see  Wilton  lists,  which  immediately  follow  those  of  Hawick. 


TOWN  COUNCIL. 

(Incorporated  and  remodelled  by  Statute  24  and  25  Vict.,  July  1861.) 

Statute  Meeting  of  Council,  first  Tuesday  of  each  month,  at  7  p.m 

Provost — George  Wilson,  Esq. 

Bailies — George  H.  Fraser  and  Andrew  Waugh. 

Councillors. 

(1)  North  High  Street  Ward— George  Wilson,  provost;  George  H. 

Fraser,  bailie  ;  Thomas  Laidlaw. 

(2)  South  High  Street  Ward — Andrew  Waugh,  bailie  ;  James  Hark- 

nesa ;  Robert  MUMgan. 


307 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    HAWICK COURTS PUBLIC    OFFICES POST    OFFICE. 


308 


(3)  Slitrig  "Ward — "William  Turnbull,  town  treasurer ;  John  Melrose  ; 

John  Scott. 

(4)  Teviot  "Ward — Jas.  Oliver,  solicitor  ;  P.  Laidlaw ;  J.  D.  Kennedy. 

(5)  Wilton  Ward — Walter  Laing,  John  Wilson,  Adam  Laidlaw. 

Committees  of  Council. 
1.  Farm.     2.  Sanitary.    3.  Police.     4.  Law  and  Finances. 

Thomas  Purdorn,  Town  Clerk.      William  Turnbull,  Town  Treasurer. 

Daniel  Munro,  Superintendent  of  Police,  Procurator-FiscaL  and 

Billet  Master. 

James  Smith  and  Michael  Wintrup,  Burgh  Officers. 


COMMISSIONERS  OF  POLICE. 


The  Provost,  Bailies,  and  Town  Council. 

Chairman — The  Provost.         Clerk — Thomas  Purdom. 

Treasurer  and  Collector — Walter  Hadd on,  of  Kirk  &  Haddon,  writers. 

Superintendent — Daniel  Munro. 

Police  Rates,  lid.  per  £.,  made  up  as  follows : — Watching,  4d. ; 
Cleaning,  3d.  ;  Lighting,  3d.  ;  Sinking  Fund,  Id- 

Water  Rates  (see  p.  303) — Special  Domestic,  6d.  per  £.  ;  General 
Domestic,  2d.  ;  Business,  Id.  ;  Owners,  Id.  ;  and  Land,  £d. 


LOCAL  JUSTICES  OF  THE  PEACE. 


Those  marked  thus  (*)  are  resident 

others  act 

*William  Ogilvie,  Esq.,  of  Chcs- 

ters. 
*  Walter  Wilson,  Esq.,  Orchard. 
*William  S.  Watson,  Esq.,  yr    of 
Bucklands 
A.  E.  Lockhart,  Esq.,  of  Bortk- 

wickbrae,  Roberton. 
"David  Pringle,   Esq.,  of  Wilton 

Lodge. 
Edward  Heron  Maxwell,  Esq.  of 
Teviot  Bank,  Minto. 


in  Hawick  or  Wilton  parishes;  the 
regu'arly. 
The  Earl  of  Minto. 
*J.  S.  Chisholme,  Esq.  of  Stirches. 
Wm.  Elliot  Lockhart,  Esq.  yr.  of 

Borthwickbrae 
*Thonias  Elliot  Ogilvie,  Esq.,  yr. 

of  Chesters. 
Geerge  Pott,  Esq.  of  Todrig. 
*The  Provost  of  Hawick  for  the 

time  being. 
*The  Senior  and  Junior  Bailies  of 
Hawick  for  the  time  being. 


COURTS. 

Police  Courts  are  held  in  the  Town  Hall  every  lawful  day  when  there 
is  business.  Judges — the  Provost  and  Bailies.  Assessor — the 
Town  Clerk. 

The  Burgh  Civil  Court  sits  when  required.  Judges — the  Provost 
and  Magistrates.  Assessor — the  Town  Clerk.  Jurisdiction — the 
same  as  of  Royal  Burghs. 

Justice  of  Peace  Courts  are  held  on  third  Thursday  of  each  month. 

Sheriff  Small  Debt  Courts  are  held  on  first  Tuesdays  of  February, 
April,  June,  August,  October,  and  December. 


PUBLIC  OFFICES. 

(Burghal  and  Parochial  Parish  of  Hawick). 

County  Police  Station,  Slitrig  Crescent — Sergt.  John  Ainslie,  Officer. 

Fire  Engine  House — Town  Hall. 

Heritors'  Clerk — Andrew  Irvine,  26  High  Street. 

Income  Tax,  Assessor  of — Thomas  Purdom,  31  High  Street. 

Inland  Revenue  Officer  (Excise) — John  C.  Hawkins,  Slitrig  Crescent. 

Inspector  of  Nuisances — Daniel  Munro,  Police  Office. 

International  Telegraph  Company's  Agent — Thomas  Cathrae,  Buc- 

cleuch  Street. 
Justice  of  Peace  Clerk  Depute — C.  M.  Wilson,  S.S.C. 
Medical  Inspector  of  Factories  for  the  Burgh — D.  M'Leod,  Buccleuch 

Street. 
Medical  Officer  and  Public  Vaccinator  for  the  Parish — D.  M'Leod. 
Police  Office— Town  Hall. 

Poor,  Inspector  of— W.  N.  Kennedy  (Office,  G  Kirkstyle  Place). 
Prison,  Crosswyndhead — Michael  Anderson,  Governor. 
Procurator-Fiscal  Justice  of  Peace  Court — James  Carmichael. 
Registrar  of  Births,  Marriages,  and  Deaths — Anthony  Dodds  (Office, 

Buccleuch  Street). 
Session  Clerk  and  Kirk  Treasurer — Anthony  Dodds,  Buccleuch  St. 
Sextons — See  Parochial  Burial  Grounds. 
Sheriff-Clerk  Depute — Walter  Haddon,  3  Buccleuch  Street, 

Do.    Officer — John  Guild,  Teviot  Crescent. 
Stamps  and  Taxes — Walter  Haddon,  Collector  and  Sub-Distributor, 

3  Buccleuch  Street. 
Town  Clerk— Thomas  Purdom,  31  High  Street. 
Town  Crier — Michael  Wintrup,  2  Manse  Lane. 
Town  Treasurer — William  Turnbull,  3  Howgate. 
Valuation  Act — Assessor  for  the  Hawick  District  of  County — Edward 

Henderson,  Melrcse. 
Works,  Master  of — Daniel  Munro,  Police  Office 

For  Public  Offices  belonging  exclusively  to  Wilton  as  an  independent 
parish,  sec  Wilton  lists. 


POST  OFFICE  (25  High  Street). 

Francis  Deans,  Postmaster,  who  attests  this  list. 

Arrivals. 

From  London,  Carlisle,  and  the  Suuth,  at  S-13  a.m.     Delivered  at 

9-45  a.m. 

,,      Ediuburgh,  Galashiels,  Melrose,  Kelso,  and  Jedburgh,  at  9-18 

a.m.     Delivered  at  9-45  a.m 
„      Langholm,  Canobie,  and  Newcastleton,  at  10-33  a.m.     De- 
livered at  10-43  a.m.,  to  callers 
,,      Edinburgh,  Galashiels,  Melrose,  Kelso,  St.  Boswell's,  and  Jed- 
burgh, at  5-53  p.m.     Delivered  at  6-15  p  m. 
,,      London,  Carlisle  and  Loudon,  and  North-western  Railway  P. 
O.,  at  S-10  p.m.     Delivered  at  S-20  p.m. 

Despatches. 
To  Galashiels,  Melrose,  Kelso,  and  Jedburgh,  at  7-3S  a.m. 
,,  Edinburgh  and  the  North,  &c,  at  9-47  a.m. 

,,  Edinburgh,  Galashiels,  Melrose,  St.  Boswell's,  Berwick,  Midland 
Railway,  Kelso,  and  Jedburgh,  at  3-9  p.m. 


309 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :  HAWICK. CLERGY. 


310 


To  Carlisle,  London,  Langholm,  Newcastleton,  and  Canobie,  5-5  p.m. 
.,  Edinburgh  and  the  North,  <Src.,  at  7-30  p.m. 

Arrivals  on  Sunday. 
From  Carlisle,  London,  Newcastleton,  Edinburgh,  Galashiels,  Mel- 
rose, Jedburgh,  Kelso,  and  St.  BosweU's.  at  9  a.m. 

Despatches  on  Sundays. 
To  Jedburgh  Kelso,  Galashiels,  and  Melrose,  at  8-12  a.m. 
,,  Edinburgh,  St  Boswells,  Berwick,  and  Midland  Railway,  5-30  p.m. 
„  Carlisle,  London,  and  Newcastleton,  at  6-15  p.m. 

Receiving  Office,  Albion  Place,  Wilton — James  Shiel,  postmaster ; 
and  Pillar  Letter  Box,  Railway  Station.  Collections  made  at 
9-15  a.m.  and  4-45  p.m. 

Letters  can  bo  posted  by  any  of  the  above  Mails  10  minutes  later 
than  the  time  specified,  with  au  additional  Stamp. 

On  Sundays  the  office  is  open  from  9-45  till  10-45  a.m.  A  delivery 
takes  place  over  the  town,  commencing  at  9-45  a.m. 

Money  Order  Office  open  every  week-day  from  9  a.m.  to  6  p.m. 

Town  Deliverers. 

Robert  Bryce,  Melguud  Place  ;  Jas.  Paterson,  Green  Wynd. 

Post  Runners. 

Ashkirk  James  Amos 

Bonchester  Bridge James  Watson 

Burnfoot  and  Minto Joseph  Turnbull 

Commonside  and  Teviothead William  Adarason 

Deanburnhaugh David  Lyon 

Denholm Archibald  Douglas 

Stobs George  Scott 

The  Post  R  unners  are  allowed  to  carry  small  parcels  on  their  own 
account,  but  no  letters  or  newspapers. 

The  Ashkirk,  Bonchester  Bridge,  and  Deanburnhaugh  Messengers, 
are  despatched  at  9-45  a.m.,  and  return  the  following  morning 
at  9-30  in  time  for  the  first  despatch  to  Edinburgh  and  North,  &c. 

The  Messengers  to  Denholm,  Minto,  Stobs,  and  Teviothead  are  de- 
spatched at  9-45  a.m.,  and  return  the  same  afternoon  in  time 
for  the  despatch  to  the  South. 


CLERGY,  &c. 

Presbytery  of  Jedburgh,  Synod  of  Merse  and  Teviotdale. 

Patron  of  the  Parish  of  Hawick — Duke  of  Buccleuch. 

Parish  Church,  Hawick— Rev.  John  MacRae,  D.D.  (Inducted  1S43). 
Sittings,  1400,  Sabbath  School  attendance,  120  ;  superintendent 
of  do. — John  Y.  Scott,  Hawick  Mills  ;  Precentor — James  H. 
Anderson,  High  Street.  Church  Officers  —  James  Pringle, 
O'Connell  Street  ;  and  Peter  Young,  Buccleuch  Street.  Church 
Treasurer  and  Session  Clerk — Anthony  Dodds,  Buccleuch  Street. 

Parish  Church,  Wilton — see  Wilton  lists. 

8t  Mart's  Church  (Quoad  Sacra) — Rev.  John  Thomson  (Inducted 
1860).    Sittings,  700.    Sabbath  School  attendance,  130. ;  Super- 


intendent of  do.— Minister.  Precentor— Robert  Elder,  High 
Street.  Church  Officer— Michael  Wintrup,  2  Manse  Lane.  Ses- 
sion Clerk  and  Church  Treasurer — George  Scott,  11  Sandbed. 
Tree  Church  — Rev.  J.  A.  Wallace  (Inducted  1S33);  Rev.  John 
M'Gregor,  colleague  and  successor  (Inducted  1864).  Sittings 
1000.  Sabbath  School  attendance,  350. ;  suoerintendent  of  do  — 
George  Bliikie,  46  High  Street.  Precentor— James  Ross  Cross 
Wynd.    Church  Treasurer— Andrew  Borthwick,  Allars  Crescent 

Church  Officer — James  Hood,  Sandbed.     Session  Clerk George 

Blaikio,  46  High  Street.     Clerk  to  Sustentation  Fund— William 
Kedic,  Old  Manse. 

Free  Church  Mission  (West  Port  Territorial)— vacant— in  charge  of 
the  Mission  Church  (formed  into  a  Mission  Church  1S63)  Sit- 
tings, 150.  Sabbath  School  attend.,  65  ;  Superintendent  of  do  — 
Andrew  Cochrane,  Orrock  Place.  Precentor— James  March- 
banks,  Roimd  Close.  Church  Treasurer— William  Kedie  Old 
Manse.  ' 

U.  P.  Church  (Allars)— Rev.  Robert  Muir,  M.  A.  (Inducted  1864) 
Sittings,  750.  Sabbath  School  attendance,  120;  Superintendent 
of  do— James  Ovens,  Silver  Street.  Precentor— William  Wilson 
Teviot  Crescent.  Church  Officer— Joseph  TumbuLL  Mekrund 
Place.  Church  Treasurer— Bailie  Waugh,  High  Street.  Session 
Clerk  and  Treasurer  for  Missionaiy  purposes— Bailie  Waugh. 

U.  P.  Church  (East  Bank)— Rev.  James  M'Ewen  (Inducted  1S62) 
Sittings,  800.  Sabbath  School  attendance,  230 ;  Superintendent 
of  do. -Mungo  Wilson,  Silver  Street.  Precentor-^Iames  Stainton 
Melgund  Place.  Church  Officer— Andrew  Armstrong  Bridtre 
Street.  Church  Treasurer,  Session  Clerk,  and  Treasurer  for 
Mission  Purposes— James  TurubulL  High  Street.  Secretary  for 
Mission  Purposes— James  Brydon,  High  Street.  Town  Mis 
attS!^  Fairgrieve,  Bourtree  Bank.-East  Bank  Mission 
Sabbath  School  attendance,  80.    Superintendent— Mr.  Fah-grieve. 

U.P.  Church  (West)— Rev.  James  Parlane,  A.M.  (Inducted  1857) 
Sittings,  599.  Church  Treasurers— Andrew  Irvine  and  John 
Ballantyne ;  Session  Clerk— Andrew  Irvine,  26  High  Street  • 
Sabbath  School  attendance,  60;  Superintendent  of  do— John 
Ballantyne,  Wilton  Crescent.  '     """" 

Congreoationalist— Rev.  William  Munro  (Inducted  1836)  Sittintrs 
300.  Sabbath  School  attendance,  70.  ;  Superintendent  of  do  — 
Adam  Scott,  Bourtree  Place.  Precentor— a  Lady.  Treasurer  ibr 
Missions— Alexander  Michie,  6  O'Connell  Street 

Baptist— Vacant.  Sittings,  100.  Sabbath  School  attendance  28- 
Superintendent  of  do.  and  Church  Treasurer-J  C  Hawkins  2 
Slitrig  Crescent.  '  ' 

Evinoelical  Union— Rev.  David  Hislop  (Inducted  1864)  Sit- 
tings, 400.  Sabbath  School  attendance,  100  ;  Superintendent  oi 
do. -Richard  Purdom  7  Kirkstyle.  Precentor-Thomas  Brown 
High  Street.  Church  Treasurer— Richard  Purdom.  Church 
Officer— Andrew  Byres,  Howegate. 

St.  Cuthbert's  Episcopalian— Rev.  John  Rose  Dakers  (Inducted 
1S54).  Sittmgs,  320.  Sabbath  School  attendance,  100  Secretary 
and  Treasurer  to  Church  Society— Charles  M.  Wilson,  solicitor 
Church  Officer— Francis  Cavers,  Slitrig  Crescent.  *»"«». 


311 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    HAWICK. EDUCATIONAL    AND    PAROCHIAL    INSTITUTIONS. 


312 


Roman  Catholic — Rev.  Patrick  Taggart  (Inducted  1S47).  Sittings. 
400.  Sabbath  School  attendance,  80;  Superintendent  of  do. — 
Minister. 

Fast  Days— Wednesday  before  last  Sunday  of  June  and  second 
Sunday  of  December. 


NATIONAL  BIBLE  SOCIETY  (Branch). 

President — James  Douglas,  Esq.  of  Cavers. 

Secretary — Rev.  James  Parlane. 

Treasurer  and  Depositarian — James  Dalgleish,  bookseller. 

Committee — Messrs  George  Blaikie.  Jas.  Turnbull,  Andrew  Waugb, 
Mungo  "Wilson.  Andrew  Irvine,  Thos.  Purdom,  John  Armstrong  ; 
together  with  all  Ministers  and  Missionaries  who  are  subscribers. 


COLPORTEUR  MISSION  (estab.  1857). 

COMMITTEE. 

Rev.  John  Thomson,  St.   Mary's,   Hawick ;    Rev.  "William  Munro, 

Bourtree  Place. 

Secretary  and  Treasurer — Rev.  James  Stewart,  Wilton. 

Colporteur — John  Gordon,  Howdenburn,  Wilton. 

Subscriptions  for  the  year  1S63,  £20  :  19  :  6  (which  includes  £10 

from  James  Douglas,  Esq,,  of  Cavers). 

The  Colporteur's  sales  of  books  and  periodicals  for  the  year  1863 
numbered  97  bibles  and  testaments,  1747  books,  12,402  periodicals  ; 
representing  a  value  of  £159  :  14  :  6.  The  books,  etc.,  for  sale,  and 
a  quantity  of  tracts  for  gratis  distribution,  are  supplied  by  the 
Edinburgh  society.  The  Colporteur's  district  is  confined  to  Hawick, 
Wilton,  and  the  surrounding  locality. 


YOUNG  MEN'S  CHRISTIAN  ASSOCIATION. 

Meets  in  the  Old  Parish  School  (Orrock  Place)  for  the  purpose  of 
reading  original  essays,  and  discussing  subjects  of  religious,  moral, 
and  intellectual  importance. 

President — John  Goodfellow.        Vice-President — Adam  Scott. 

Secretary — R.  B.  Wilson.        Treasurer — George  Deans. 

Recording  Secretary — George  Mathieson. 


AUXILIARY  TO  THE    UNITED  KINGDOM   ALLIANCE    AND 
TEMPERANCE  ASSOCIATION. 

President — David  Dundas  Scott,  Esq. 

Vice-Presidents — John  Hogg  and  John  Goodfellow. 

Treasurer — John  Laing.      Corresponding  Secretary — John  Rule. 

Recording  Secretary— James  Borthwick. 


EDUCATIONAL  INSTITUTIONS.* 

PARISH  AND  BURGH. 

Grammar  School  (Parochial)  Buccleuch  Street  —  Anthony  Dodds, 
Rector ;  John  M'Callum,  Thomas  Wilson,  and  Miss  Wilson,  assis- 
tants.    Average  attendance,  300. 

St.  Mary's  Parish,  Brougham  Place — William  Murray,  Master. 

St.  Cuthbert's  School,  Lynnwood — Jacob  Jay,  CM.,  teacher;  average 
attendance,  150. 

High  School  and  Boarding  Establishment  for  Young  Gentlemen — 
James  C.  Mudie,  13  Buccleuch  Street,  Head-Master ;  Jas.  Mor- 
rison and  Miss  Ferrall,  assistants. 

Episcopal  School,  Hope  Park  (in  Wilton) — Miss  Jessie  Hart,  CM. 
Average  attendance,  60. 

Roman  Catholic  School —  ,  Teacher  ;  average  attend.,  50. 

Ladies'  Schools. 

Miss  Cumming,  Melgund  Place. 

Miss  Davidson,  Slitrig  Bank. 

Misses  M'Caskie,  Bourtree  Place  Seminary  and  Boarding  Establish- 
ment for  Young  Ladies. 

Mrs.  and  the  Mieses  Dumbreck's  Boarding  Establishment  and  Day 
School  for  Young  Ladies,  North  Bridge  Street, 

Misses  Rodgers'  Seminary  for  Young  Ladies,  Hope  Park,  Wilton. 

Miss  Watt's,  East  Bank  U.P.  Mission  House,  off  Dickson  St.,  Wilton. 


INDUSTRIAL  RAGGED  SCHOOL. 

Supported  by  voluntary  subscriptions.  The  property,  consisting 
of  boys'  and  girls'  schoolrooms,  house,  and  garden  accommodation, 
was  built  in  1858,  one-half  by  local  subscription,  and  partly  by  a 
donation  of  £150  from  the  Fergusson  Fund,  and  the  other  half  by 
Government  grant ;  the  ground  was  given  by  His  Grace  the  Duke  of 
Buccleuch,  gratis. 

William  Ogilvie,  Esq.,  of  Chesters,  President. 
Rev.  Dr.  MacRae,  Secretary.    Thos.  Purdom,  writer,  Treasurer. 
James  Ker,  Teacher.  Average  attendance,  100. 


PAROCHIAL  BOARDt— (Office,  Kirkstyle  Place). 

Committee. 

William  Munro,  Esq.  of  Bourtree  Plaue,  Chairman. 


Rev.  J.  Rose  Dakers. 
Walter  Laurie. 
Thomas  Young. 
Robert  Milligan. 
William  Burnet. 
James  Sharp. 
William  Young. 


George  Oliver. 
Robert  Thomson. 
Alexander  M.  Wilson. 
Andrew  Robison. 
William  Elliot,  Loan. 
George  Fraser. 
George  T.  Pringle. 


*  Children  in  the  parish  of  Hawick,  from  5  to  15.  attending  school 
during  the  1st  week  of  April  1864,  1275  ;  of  all  ages,  1318. 

t  The  Parochial  parishes  of  Hawick  and  Cavers  retain  the  manage- 
ment of  the  poor  of  tbe  parish  of  Teviothead  (see  Teviothead). 


313 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    HAWICK. BENEVOLENT    SOCIETIES. 


314 


William  Norman  Kennedy,  Inspector  and  Collector. 
Medical  Officer  and  Public  Vaccinator — D.  M'Leod,  surgeon. 
Inspector  of  Lodging  Houses  and  Nuisances — Daniel  Munro,  Super- 
intendent of  Police. 
Average  No.  of  Poor  on  Roll,  320. 
Rate  of  Assessment,  lid.  per  £  on  owner  and  occupier,  less  25  per 
cent,  off  house  property,  27£  off  mills,  and  12£  off  lands.     Total 
Assessment  for  1863-4,  £2020  :  5  :  4. 

George  Turnbull,  accountant,  Auditor. 
(For  Parochial  Board,  Wilton,  see  Wilton  lists.) 


COMBINATION  POORHOUSB. 

The  Poorhouse  was  opened  for  the  reception  of  Paupers  at  Whit- 
Bunday  1857.  The  Combination  consists  of  the  parishes  of  Hawick, 
Hobkirk,  Wilton,  Roberton,  Cavers,  Ashkirk,  Minto,  Lilliesleaf,  Kirk- 
hope,  and  Kirkton. 

Chairman— William  Munro,  Esq.    Vice-Chairman,  George  Oliver,  Esq. 

Medical  Officer — D.  M'Leod,  Surgeon. 

Governor — Mr  J.  Smeaton.        Matron — Mrs  Smeaton. 

Secretary  and  Treasurer— William  Norman  Kennedy. 

The  Committee  consists  of  delegates  from  each  of  the  parishes 

forming  the  combination. 

Average  Number  of  Inmates,  60. 


PAROCHIAL  BURIAL  ffROUND  (Hawick),  WELLGATE. 

Provided  in  1S63,  under  the  Burial  Ground  (Scotland)  Act  1855,  at 
a  cost  of  over  £2500.  Under  the  Act  half  oi  the  ground  is  free. 
Layers  in  the  saleable  half  are  disposed  of  at  £2,  £1,  10s.,  and 
7s.  6d.  each. 

Committee. 

William  Munro,  Chairman. 


Robert  Thomson. 
Rev.  J.  Rose  Dakers. 
Robert  Milligan. 
George  Oliver. 
Adam  Melrose. 
G.  T.  Pringle. 
William  Norman  Kennedy,  Clerk, 
(For  Parochial  Burial  Ground,  Wilton,  see  Wilton  lists). 


William  Young. 
Walter  Laurie. 
William  Burnet. 
A.  M.  Wilson. 
Thomas  Young. 
Walter  Laidlaw. 
Adam  Scott,  Sexton. 


SLAUGHTER  HOUSE  (Burgh). 

Site  obtained  ;  buildings  not  yet  erected. 

Convener  of  the  Committee— John  Melrose. 


HOUSE  OF  REFUGE— (Loan). 

Supported  by  voluntary  contribution. 

Committee. 

Provost  and  the  Bailies. 


Messrs  William  Nixon. 
John  Wilson. 
Robert  Thomson. 


Messrs  William  Munro. 
David  Pringle. 
William  M'Kie. 


William  Turnbull,  Treasurer.      Managers — Mr.  and  Mrs.  Smith. 
Average  Annual  Income,  £40. 


FEMALE  CLOTHING  SOCIETY. 

For  supplying  clothes  gratis  to  the  Ragged  and  West  Port  Mission 
Schools. 

President— Mrs  Pringle  of  Wilton  Lodge. 

Inspectresses. 


Miss  Mary  Douglas. 
Mrs  James  Oliver. 


Miss  Ewen. 

Miss  Margaret  Moncrieff. 

Miss  Douglass. 

Collectors. 
Miss  Margaret  Ewen.  Miss  Douglas. 

Miss  Margaret  Moncrieff.  Miss  Mary  Douglas. 

Mrs  R.  Armstrong,  Secretary.        Mrs  Harkness,  Treasurer. 
Mrs  Grieve,  17  High  Street,  Storekeeper. 


DORCAS  SOCIETY. 
Members. 
Mrs  Walter  Wilson,  Orchard ;  Mrs  Watson,  Wilton  Bank ;  Miss  Wat- 
son, Wilton  Bank ;  Mrs  George  Hobkirk,  Slitrig  Cottage ;  Mrs 
Charles  Kirk,  Buccleuch Street ;  Miss  M'Leod,  Buccleuch  Street; 
Mrs  John  Wilson,  Ladylaw  House;    Mrs  John  Laing,  Slitrig 
Crescent. 
Treas.,  Sec,  and  Store  Keeper — Mrs.  John  Laing,  Slitrig  Crescent. 


CHARITABLE  BEQUEST. 


Orrock's  Mortification  (1711) — Interest  of  P000  Merks  to  Rector 
and  Mathematical  Master  of  Grammar  School. 

Trustees  (elected  1S53). 
Rev.  Dr.  MacRae,  and  George  Oliver,  Esq.,  Banker. 


SICK  AND  BURIAL  SOCIETIES. 

Several  of  these  exist,  and  although  most  of  them  bear  the  name  of 
special  factories,  they  are  not  confined  in  their  operations.  All  are  con- 
ducted on  nearly  the  same  principles.    The  following  are  those  of  the 


315 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    HAWICK  — BENEVOLENT   AND   LITERARY   SOCIETIES. 


316 


Foresters'  Annual  Benefit  Society, 

the  most  important  and  strongest  general  society  in  the  town.  Every 
member  must  pay  2d.  weekly  to  the  sick  fund,  and  may  deposit  6d. 
or  more,  weekly,  if  convenient.  Every  member  when  sick  shall 
receive  six  shillings  weekly  for  the  first  eight  weeks,  five  shillings 
weekly  for  the  six  succeeding  weeks,  and  to  continue  at  three  shil- 
lings weekly  up  to  the  10th  of  May.  Any  member  having  re- 
ceived the  sick  allowance  for  these  two  first  periods  cannot  claim 
them  a  second  time,  whether  he  may  have  received  these  sums  in 
succession  or  at  intervals.  If  a  member  dies,  the  sum  of  £2  shall  be 
given  as  funeral  money,  and  his  heirs  shall  receive  the  full  amount 
of  his  deposits,  exclusive  of  sick  money,  paid  to  the  time  of  his 
decease.  The  funds  of  the  society  shall  be  divided  on  the  16th  day 
of  May,  when  every  member  shall  receive  the  full  amount  of  his 
deposits,  together  with  the  share  of  sick  money  which  may  be  in  the 
fluids,  with  the  exception  of  4d.  to  the  clerk  aud  2d.  to  the  stewards, 
from  each  member.  No.  of  members,  235.  Under  the  management 
of  this  society  there  is  a 

Young  Womans'  Yearly  Deposit  and  Sick  Society, 

conducted  on  the  same  principles,  but  having  a  smaller  class  of 
payments.     151  members. 

William  Richardson,  North  Bridge  Street,  Clerk  and  Treasurer. 

William  Wilson  &  Sons'  Society. 

No.  of  Members  at  last  division,  100.     Secretary — John  Rule,  Back 
Damgate. 

No.  1  Society. 

No.  of  Members  at  last  division,  139.     Secretary — John  Scott,  Teviot 
Crescent. 

Nixon  &  M'Kie's  Society. 

No.   of  Members  at  last  division,   126.    Secretary — Robert  Scott, 
Langlands  Placo. 

W.  Elliot's  Factory. 

No.  of  Members  at  last  division,  192.    Secretary— John  Turnbull. 

Wm.  Watson  &  Sons'  Society. 
No.  of  Members  at  last  division,  95.    Secretary — Andrew  Wallace. 


MASON  LODGES. 
St  James'  Border  Union  Royal  Arch,  424  (estab.  1863). 

R.W.M. — Walter  Lawrie,  baker. 

D.M. — Daniel  Munro,  superintendent  of  police. 

Secretary — George  Brown.        Treasurer — William  Telfer. 

St  John's,  111  (estab.  1763). 

R.W.M.— John  G.  Wilson,  painter. 

D.M.-^John  Nichol. 

Secretary— William  Middlemas.       Treasurer — John  Kyle. 


TOTAL  ABSTINENCE  SOCIETY  (Instituted  1838). 

President— William  Inglis,  Back  Damgate. 

Vice-President — Robert  Tough. 

Recording  Secretary — Andrew  Borthwick. 

Corresponding  Secretary — James  Renwick. 

Treasurer — James  Hardie. 


ARCHAEOLOGICAL  SOCIETY  (Orrock  Place— estab.  1856). 
Open  on  Saturdays— Admittance,  2d. 

Patron — His  Grace  the  Duke  of  Buccleuch  aud  Queensberry. 

President — W.  N.  Kennedy. 

Vice-Presidents — Robert  Michie  and  James  Hogg. 

Secy. — David  Watson.      Treas. — John  Guthrie,  Bridge  Street. 

Curator  of  Museum — John  Turnbull,  Melgund  Place. 

James  Bunyan,  Conservator. 

Annual  Subscription,  2s.  6d. ;  Life,  £1. 


LIBRARY  (Silver  Street— estab.  1762). 

Committee — J.  S.  Chisholme  of  Stirches  ;  D.  Pringle  of  Wilton  Lodge  ; 
Rev.  Dr.  MacRae  ;  William  Watson  of  Bucklands,  W.  Nixon,  and 
Wm.  M'Kie,  Esqs. 

Librarian — Mrs  Armstrong.        Number  of  Vols.  6000. 
Yearly  Subscriptions  for  Proprietors,  10s. ;  Annual  Readers,  15s. 


READING  ROOM  (Tower  Hotel— estab.  1S35). 

Thomas  Cathrae,  Secretary  and  Treasurer. 

Annual  Subscription,  £1,  Is. 


ECLECTIC  BOOK  CLUB  (Instituted  1st  Nov.  1858)t 

Treasurer — James  Hogg. 

Secretary  and  Librarian — David  Watson,  Teviot  Crescent. 

Number  of  Members  limited  to  25.      Annual  Subscription,  4s. 

Entry  Money,  2s. 


HORTICULTURAL  SOCIETY. 

Patron— Sir  William  Scott,  Bart.,  M.P. 

President — John  Turnbull.        Vice-President — A.  Kennedy. 

Secretary  and  Treasurer — Peter  Patterson. 

Meetings  for  Exhibition  are  held  in  July  and  September. 

Amount  of  Prizes  given  in  1S64,  £25. 


317 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  ;    HAWICK. — FARMERS     CLUBS. 


318 


FARMERS'  CLUB  (estab.  1776). 

Meets  in  Tower  Hotel  first  Thursday  of  each  month. 

Dr  Elliot,  Goldielands,  Secretary. 

Annual  Subscription  (which  includes  all  expenses),  £2. 

"This  Club  [the  oldest  existing  club  of  the  kind  in  the  district — 
probably  in  the  kingdom]  has  contributed  in  no  small  degree  to  the 
furtherance  of  the  agricultural  interests."  It  established  the  Hawick 
Corn  Market  in  177S ;  the  Rink  Fair  (in  Jedburgh  parish,  now  ex- 
tinct) in  the  following  year ;  in  1S26  the  Hawick  May  Market  for 
cattle  and  horses ;  and  in  1780,  the  market  for  hiring  hinds.  For 
some  years  it  held  ploughing  matches — "the  first  was  held  on  the 
farm  of  Ashiebank,  15th  April  1786,  when  ten  ploughs  started ;  at 
the  following  year's  match  held  25th  January,  the  second  premium 
was  gained  by  a  servant  of  Sir  Gilbert  Elliot  of  Minto,  who  ploughed 
with  two  oxen  without  a  driver."*  Previous  to  the  establishment 
of  this  Club  the  town  seems  to  have  had  no  market  whatever. 


*  It  was  customary,  when  ploughing  with  oxen,  to  have  a  driving 
boy  to  "goad"  them  on  with  a  pointed  stick. 

We  incidentally  notice  in  a  Berwick  publication  of  the  period 
(January  17S6),  that  the  Jedburgh  Fanners'  Society  were  to  have  a 
ploughing  match  on  the  haugh  lands  of  Mountholy,  on  the  first  Wed- 
nesday of  March  17S6,  when  silver  medals  of  different  values  were  to 
be  given  to  the  first,  second,  and  third,  best  ploughmen,  "bearing  a 
eharacteristical  device  and  the  name  of  the  winner." 

By  a  notice  in  the  British  Chronicle  [Kelso  paper]  of  the  following 
10th  March,  we  find  that  the  Jedburgh  match  had  been  delayed 
owing  to  the  severity  of  the  season,  "the  rivers  Tweed  and  Teviot 
both  being  frozen  over,  and  the  winter  amusements  of  skating, 
curling,  etc.,  being  carried  on  upon  them"  (this  must  have  been  one 
of  the  old-fashioned  winters,  about  which  the  old  folks  talk  so  much 
about) ;  but  the  match  eventually  came  off  on  the  22d  March,  "upon 
Commodore  Elliot's  haugh  lands  at  Mountholy,  when  15  ploughs  and 
ploughmen  contended  for  victory,  by  ploughing  each  several  ridges, 
which  took  up  great  part  of  the  day.  After  they  had  all  finished 
their  tasks,  and  their  work  accurately  examined  by  the  judges 
appointed  by  the  Society,  assisted  by  other  gentlemen,  distinguished 
for  their  knowledge  in  agriculture,  the  preferences  were  decided  as 
follow,  viz. — the  first  prize  or  medal  to  Andrew  M'Lean,  ploughman 
to  Mr.  Alexander  Roberton,  tenant  of  Nisbet ;  the  second  to  Andrew 
Walker,  ploughman  to  Mr.  George  Cranston,  tenant  of  Plowland ; 
and  the  third  to  William  Mills,  ploughman  to  Mr.  Thomas  Scott, 
tenant  of  Nisbet.  The  judges,  as  well  as  the  very  numerous  and 
respectable  spectators,  expressed  the  highest  approbation  of  the 
periorniances  in  general,  many  of  which  were  remarkably  well  done, 
and  treated  the  whole  competitors  in  so  proper  and  genteel  a  manner, 
as  gives  reason  to  believe  tins  first  essay  [the  italics  are  our  own]  will 
be  productive  of  others,  and  tend  to  promote  an  useful  spirit  of  emu- 
lation among  the  ploughmen  of  the  country ;  profitable  to  themselves, 
their  masters,  and  society. 

To  Jedburgh,  therefore,  belongs  the  credit  of  having  initiated 
ploughing  raatcnes  in  the  district.  As  a  commentary  on  the  prevalent 
opinion,  that  the  winters  in  Great  Britain  have  ceased  to  be  so  ex- 
treme, as  they  once  were,  we  extract  from  the  Berwick  publication, 


TEVIOTDALE  FARMERS'  CLUB  (estab.  1S59). 
President — William  Aitchison,  Esq.,  Linhope. 
James  Oliver,  Howpasley,  and  James  Oliver,  Bridge  House,  Joint- 
Secretaries. 
Annual  Subscription  (which  includes  all  expenses),  25s. 
Meets  in  Tower  Hotel  third  Thursday  of  each  month  for  discussing 
agricultural  questions. 


WEST-TEVIOTDALE  AGRICULTURAL  SOCIETY. 

Established  1S35  at  the  suggestion  of  the  late  James  Douglas,  Esq. 
of  Cavers.  Comprehending  the  parishes  of  Ashkirk,  Ancruni, 
Bowden,  Bedmle,  Castleton,  Cavers,  Hawick,  Hobkirk,  Kirkton, 
Lilliesleaf,  Minto,  Roberton,  Southdean,  Teviothead,  and  Wilton. 

Patron — His  Grace  the  Duke  of  Buccleuch. 

Honorary  Directors. 

The  Landed  Proprietors,  Members  of  the  Society. 

Allan  E.  Lockhart,  Esq.  of  Borthwickbrae,  President  of  Committee. 

James  Oliver,  Howpasley,  Vice-President  of  Committee. 

James  Oliver,  Bridge  House,  Hawick,  Treasurer  and  Secretary. 

Subscription  for  Landed-Proprietors,  £1,   Is. ;   Ordinary  Subscrip- 
tion, 10s. 

The  object  of  this  association  is  to  promote  the  interests  of  agricul- 
ture in  general,  and  more  especially  to  give  premiums  for  the  most 
improved  breeds  of  horses,  cattle,  and  sheep.  The  society  holds  an 
exhibition  of  stock  on  the  day  preceding  the  Hawick  Tup  and  Lamb 
Fair  iu  September  (see  p.  305),  when  prizes  are  given  ;  amounting  in 
1S64  to  nearly  £S0,  including  a  silver  medal  and  money  prizes  given 
by  the  Highland  and  Agricultural  Society  of  Scotland  for  Cheviot 
sheep.  The  exhibition  takes  place  at  the  secretary's  auction  mart 
at  Bourtree  Place.  Of  late  a  keener  interest  has  been  taken  in  this 
show,  and  a  higher  value  has  been  set  on  its  honours,  than  was  the 
case  for  some  years  previously,  when  it  was"  very  indifferently 
patronized  by  those  most  concerned  in  making  it  a  successful 
gathering.  Indeed  the  competition  was  often  so  meagre  as  to 
quality  of  stock  and  so  small  in  numbers,  that  there  seemed  a 
danger  of  a  termination  to  these  exhibitions.  The  exhibition  of 
1864,  in  all  classes,  was  pronounced  to  be  one  of  the  best  since  the 
establishment  of  the  society. 

A  ploughing  competition,  under  the  auspices  of  this  society,  takes 
place  in  the  district  annually,  when  a  silver  medal  and  money  prizes 
are  awarded  ;  there  is  generally  from  35  to  45  ploughs  on  the  field. 

already  mentioned,  this  notice  of  the  winter  following,  viz.,  that 
ending  March  1787: — 

Berwick,  April  1,  17S7. — "It  is  a  remarkable  fact  in  the  history  of 
Scotland,  that  a  gentleman  who  is  extensively  concerned  in  the 
salmon  fisheries,  and  who  had  built  a  very  large  icehouse  with  a  view 
of  preserving  the  fish  lor  the  London  market,  could  not  procure  a 
single  particle  of  ice  for  that  purpose  through  the  winter ;  such  had 
been  the  singular  mildness  of  the  season," 


319 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    HAWICK. — CHAMBER    OF    COMMERCE EXCHANGE — BUILDING   SOCIETY. 


320 


ORNITHOLOGICAL  SOCIETY  (estab.  1849). 

For  the  Improvement  of  Fancy  Canary  and  other  Birds. 

President — Walter  Ballantyne. 

Secretary — William  Trotter.        Treasurer — James  Riddell. 

Annual  Exhibition  and  Competition  in  November  each  year,  when 
prizes  of  the  average  amount  of  £10  are  awarded. 


SOUTH  OF  SCOTLAND  CHAMBER  OF  COMMERCE. 

President — Walter  Laing,  Esq.,  Hawick. 

Vice-President — William  Brown,  Esq.,  Gala  Hill,  Galashiels. 

Honorary  Treasurer — William  M'Kie,  Esq.,  Hawick. 

Secretaries — Thomas  Cathrae,  Hawick ;  Robert  Stewart,  Galashiels. 

Honorary  Members. 


Sir  Wm.  Scott  of  Ancrum,  Bart., 

M.P. 
Lord  Henry  J.  Scott,  M.P. 
A.  E.  Lockhart  of  Borthwickbrae 
J.  J.  H.  Johnstone,  of  Annandale, 

M.P. 


SirG.  G.  Montgomery,  Bart.,  M.P. 
D.  Robertson  of  Ladykirk,  M.P. 
Sir  H.  R.  F.  Davie  of  Creedy,  Bart., 

M.P. 
William  Ewart.  Esq..  M.P. 
Richard  Hodgson,  Esq.,  M.P. 


Council. 


Walter  Laing,  Hawick 
William  Sanderson,  Galashiels 
George  Roberts,  Selkirk 
George  Wilson,  Hawick 
WilHam  M'Kie,      do. 
Walter  Wilson,       do. 
William  Haldane,  Galashiels 
John  Laing,  Hawick 
William  Irvine,  do. 
William  A.  Sanderson,  Galashiels 
D.  C.  Alexander,  Selkirk 
R.  Byres,  Langholm 


David  Ballantyne,  Walkerburn 
George  Rutherford,  Jedburgh 
Robert  Scott,  Dumfries 
Robert  Gill,  Innerleithen 
James  Carmichael,  Hawick 
Wm.  Brown,  Gala  Hill,  Galashiels 
Adam  L.  Cochrane,  Galashiels 
Alexander  Reid,  Langholm 
Henry  Brown,  Selkirk 
George  Hilson,  sen.,  Jedburgh 
Walter  Thorburn,  Peebles 


EXCHANGE  COMPANY  (Limited). 
Directors. 

Provost  George  Wilson ;  David  Pi-ingle,  Esq. ,  Wilton  Lodge ;  John  S. 
Chisholme,  Esq.  of  Stirches  ;  A.  E.  Lockhart,  Esq.,  of  Borthwick- 
brae ;  E.  H.  Maxwell,  Esq.  of  Teviotbank;  Messrs  G.  H. 
Fraser,  merchant ;  Adam  Elliot,  Goldielands ;  Ephraim  Selby, 
Hassendeanbank  ;  Andrew  Haddon,  Honeyburn  ;  Walter  Laing, 
manufacturer ;  Robert  Thomson,  factor.  Loan ;  William  Grieve, 
Branxholm  Park  ;  John  Melrose,  engineer. 

Secretary  and  Treasurer — James  Carmichael,  solicitor,  Hawick. 


GAS  COMPANY  (estab.  1830). 

President — Robert  Thomson. 
Manager — John  Young.        Clerk — James  Carmichael. 

Collector — James  Shiel,  Albion  Place. 

Price  6s.  3d.  per  1000  feet.         Amount  of  Stock,  £4400. 

Dividend,  10  per  cent. 


CO-OPERATIVE  STORE  COMPANY  (Instituted  1838). 

Secretary — Robert  Tough. 

Depots— 62  High  Street,  Ladylaw  Place,  and  7  Sandbed  (which  see). 


HAWICK  BENEFIT  BUILDING  SOCIETY  (estab.  1852). 

For  the  purpose  of  assisting  its  members  to  build  or  buy  houses 
for  themselves,  the  society  granting  advances  of  £75  upon  every  £20, 
held  in  shares  by  the  members ;  which  advances  are  repayable  by 
half-yearly  instalments,  at  the  rate  of  S  per  cent  per  annum,  clearing 
off  the  debt  in  about  12  years.  The  society  had  originally  56  mem- 
bers, about  one-half  of  whom  have  obtained  houses;  there  are  now 
only  5  shareholders  who  have  not  obtained  houses,  the  others  having 
sold  out. 

President — John  Richardson.        Vice-President — Thomas  Tait. 
Secretary— James  Douglas.        Treasurer — James  Inglis. 

Trustees — John  Laing,  manufacturer ;  Thomas  Brunton,  joiner ; 
William  Munro,  ropemaker. 


WORKING  MEN'S  BUILDING  AND  INVESTMENT  SOCIETY. 

Instituted!  April  1S64,  with  the  view  of  increasing  and  improving 
the  House  Accommodation  for  the  Working  Classes,  and  of  en- 
abling Working  Men  to  occupy  their  owu  Houses. 
This  Society,  by  the  report  of  1864,  consists  of  ISO  members,  who 
possess  amongst  them  upwards  of  600  shares,  representing  a  capital 
of  upwards  of  £3000. 

Patrons. 
His    Grace    the    Duke    of   Buc- :  Sir W.  Scottof  Ancrum,  Bart.  M.P. 
cleuch.  'William  Nixon,  Esq.,  Lyunwood. 


Directors. 


George  Wilson,  Esq.,  Provost  of 
Hawick. 

Rev.  James  Stewart,  Minister  of 
Wilton. 

Rev.  J.  R.  Dakers,  The  Parsonage. 

Thomas  Laidlaw,  Esq.,  manufac- 
turer. 

Mr.  Walter  Paisley,  ironmonger 
Hawick. 


Mr.  James  Thorns,  coal  salesman, 
Hawick. 

Mr.  John  Deans,  gardener,  Ha- 
wick. 

Mr.  John  Rule,  warehouseman, 
Hawick. 

Mr.  John  Bell,  foreman,  Hawick. 

Mr.  James  Hogg,  stocking-maker, 
Hawick. 


321 


Roxburghshire:  HAWICK  AND  WILTON. COUNTRY  sports BANK  branches. 


322 


Trdstees, 

The  Rev.  John  Thomson,  Minister  I  Gilbert  Davidson,  Esq.,  Banker, 

of  St.  Mary's  Hawick. 

Mr.  Jas.  Douglas,  Brougham  Place  | 

President — David  Pringle,  Esq.,  of  "Wilton  Lodge. 

Vice-President — "Walter  Laing,  Esq.,  Spring  Bank. 

Secretary — Mr.  Charles  M.  Wilson,  solicitor. 

Treasurer — Mr.  "William  Martin,  "warehouseman. 

Bankers — The  British  Linen  Company's  Bank,  Hawick. 


ANGLING  CLUB. 

(Organised  in  185S  for  the  Protection  of  Fresh  "Water  Trout  in  the 
river  Teviot  and  its  tributaries). 

President — "William  Ogilvie,  Esq.,  of  Chesters. 

Vice-President — John  Turnbull,  Slitrig  Crescent,  Hawick. 

Treasurer — James  Elliot,  merchant,  Hawick. 

Secretary — James  Elliot,  manufacturer,  Hawick. 

Annual  Subscription,  6d. 


HAWICK  AND  WILTON  CRICKET  CLUB  (estab.  1S49). 

Captain — William  Dryden,  Wilton. 

Secretary— William  Sharp.    Treasurer— Adam  Hart,  Wilton. 

The  Club  is  supported  by  subscriptions  amongst  the  member3. 


COURSING  CLUB  (estab.  1864). 
Takes  place  annually,  in  December,  in  the  locality,  and  continues 
for  two  days.     At  the  meeting  for  1S64,  4S  dogs  were  entered. 
Judge— Mr.  Charlton,  jun.        Secretary— Adam  Wilson. 


BOWLING  CLUB  (estab.  1S54). 

Presidents — John  Young  Scott,  Hawick  Mill 

Secy.— Walter  Douglas.     Treas.— John  Nichol,  Slitrig  Crescent. 

Entry  Money,  20s.        Annual  Subscription,  7s.  6d. 


CURLING  CLUB  (estab.  1740). 

Patron— His  Grace  the  Duke  of  Buccleuch. 

President— John  Y.  Scott.        Vice-President— Adam  Laidlaw. 

Secretary  and  Treasurer — John  Nichol. 

Entry  Money,  5s.    Annual  Subscription,  5s. 

Curling  Pond  at  Hilliesland,  a  mile  south  of  Hawick. 


SAXHORN  BAND. 
Head-Quarters— Town  Hall.     Bandmaster— Stephen  Teal. 
This  Band,  in  1S63,  took  the  second  prize,  and  in  1804  the   fifth 
prize,  at  the  Glasgow  Grand  National  Bands'  Competition. 


UPPER  TEVIOTDALE  VOLUNTEER  RIFLE  CORPS. 

4th  Company  of  Roxburghshire  Battalion. 

Head-Quarters— Mill  Path. 

A  Company. 

John  Scott  Chisholme,  Esq.  of  Stirches,  Captain-Commandant 

William  Dickson,  Esq  .  of  Wellfleld,  Lieutenant. 

Francis  Deans,  postmaster,  Hawick,  Ensign. 

S.  Company. 

William  Scott  Watson,  Esq  ,  of  Burnhead,  Captain. 

William  Scott  Elliot,  manufacturer,  Hawick,  Lieutenant. 

Robert  Selby,  Hassendeaubank,  Ensign. 

George  W.  Thomson,  M.D.,  Honorary  Assistant  Surgeon. 

James  Carmichael,  Esq.,  solicitor,  Hawick,  Honorary  Secretary. 

Robert  Hutton,  Drill  Sergeant.        Francis  Gray,  Bandmaster. 

Honorary  Members— 39.     Effective  Force— 186. 

Annual  Subscription  for  Honorary  Members,  £1 ;  Effectives,  5s. 


BANK  BRANCHES. 


British  Linen  Company  (opened  1799)— William  &  Gilbert  Davidson, 
Agents;  William  Davidson,  jun.,  Accountant. 

Commercial  Bank  of  Scotland  (opened  1820)— George  and  James 
Oliver,  Agents  ;  Lauchlan  Gentles,  Accountant. 

National  Bank  of  Scotland  (opened  1S52)  — Thomas  Purdom, 
Agent ;  John  M'Nab,  Accountant. 

Royal  Bank  of  Scotland  (opened  1S56) — Jas.  Carmichael,  Agent ; 
John  Turnbull,  Accountant. 

N.  S.  Savings'  Bank  (established  1815) — Andrew  Irvine,  Actuary ; 
D.  Watson,  Secretary.  No.  of  Depositors  at  20th  November  1804, 
1214.  Amount  ot  Deposits  at  same  period,  £25,292  :  12:  3.  In- 
terest allowed,  3  per  cent. 

Penny  Bank  (estab.  1859)— Open  in  the  Town  Hall  every  Saturday 
evening.  Actuary — Mark  Currie  ;  Secretary — D.  Watson.  No. 
of  Depositors,  1073.   -Amount  of  Deposits,  £17S:18:2. 


INSURANCE  AGENTS. 

Briton  Medical  &  General  )  ,     ,        a  _,.   Q  „      ,      .  ~, 

Life  Association I  Andrew  Scott,  8  Buccleuch  Street. 

Caledonian ..  .W.  N.  Kennedy,  Inspector  of  Poor. 

City  of  Glasgow T.  Cathrae,  Chamber  ol  Commerce. 


323 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    HAWICK    AND    WILTON. INSURANCE    AGENTS WOOLLEN    MILLS — ETC. 


324 


Edinburgh  Life James  Harkness,  builder. 

English  and  Scottish  Law  ^      &  Anderson,  writers. 
Insurance  Co.  of  Scotland  )  ' 

Lancashire  Fire  Department  T.  Cathrae,  Chamber  of  Commerce. 
Life  Association.  . , John  Turnbull,  Royal  Bank. 

^p^cTa^  T!SU:  }^omas  Purdom,  writer. 

National  (of  Scotland) Thomas  Purdom, writer. 

Norfolk  Farmer's  Cat.  In...  James  Carmichael,  writer. 
North  British  &  Mercantile  G.  and  J.  Oliver,  writers. 

Norwich  Union Andrew  Scott,  S  Buccleuch  Street. 

Norwich  &  London  Aooi-1  j  H    ^        b^d 

DENT  AND  CASUALTY )  ' 

Plate  Glass  Insurance  Co.  .Wilson  &  Anderson,  writers. 

Queen's Alex.  Weniyss,  commission  agent. 

"Royal  Liverpool Adam  Hislop,  commission  agent. 

STCompTnVLIFE  ASSURANCE  }  Wilson  &  Anderson,  writers. 

Scottish  Equitable Thomas  Purdom,  writer. 

Scottish  Provident Bunyan  &  Gentles,  Com.  Bank. 

Scottish  Provincial Andrew  Irvine,  Savings'  Bank. 

Scottish  Union James  Carraichael,  writer. 

Sun  A.  Oliver  <fc  Son,  auctioneers. 

THE    EUROPEAN    ASSCRANCE  j  A    Q]i  &  g  ; 

Society I  ' 

UNITEDKlNGDOMTEMPERANCE\Eih      dp      d  Kh.kt    j    pj 

and  General  Provident.  . .  )  •  -i 

West  of  England  Fire  and  )  w  Haddon  (of  Kirk  &  s)  writer 

Life  Insurance  Coy )  v  " 

Westminster  General  Fire  |  WUson  &  Aud  wtitera_ 

and  Life  Assurance  Co. .  J 


PROCURATORS  AND  NOTARIES  PUBLIC. 
Andersnu,  John  (of  Wilsou  &  A.),  2  Howgate. 
Carmichael,  James,  N.P.,  12  and  14  High  Street. 
Haddon,  Walter  (of  Kirk  &  H.),  3  Buccleuch  Street. 
Oliver,  George,  N.P.  (of  G.  &  J.  Oliver),  4  Tower  Know©. 
Oliver,  James,  N.P.,  do.,  do. 

Purdom,  Thomas,  N.P.,  31  High  Street. 
"Wilson,  Charles  M.  (of  Wilson  &  Anderson),  N.P.,  2  Howgate. 


ACCOUNTANTS,  (fee. 

Scott,  Andrew,  S  Buccleuch  Street. 

Scott,  Robert,  43  High  Street. 

Thomson,  Robert,  factor  for  Cavers  estate,  17  Loan. 

Turnbull,  George,  6  Teviot  Crescent. 


MEDICAL  PRACTITIONERS. 
Brydone,  James,  31.  D.,  4  Sandbed. 
Grant,  John,  M.D.,  47  High  Street.* 
M'Leod,  Donald,  surgeon,  14  Buccleuch  Street. 
Paterson,  A.,  M.D.,  S  Buccleuch  Street. 
Thomson,  George  W.,  M.D.,  North  Bridge  Street. 

veterinary  surgeons. 
Andrew  Bowie,  1  West  Port ;  James  Bowie,  41  High  Street. 


NEWSPAPER. 

"Hawick  Advertiser  and  Roxburghshire  Gazette"  (established 
lS54t,  issued  every  Saturday ;  Publishing  Office,  5  High  Street ; 
Printing  Office,  9  High  Street;  James  Haining  &  Co.,  proprietors, 
printers  and  publishers.  Advocates  Social  Improvement  and  Parlia- 
mentary Reform. 


WOOLLEN  MILLS  (Hawick  Side). 
Teviot  Crescent  Mills — Tweeds — William  Laidlaw  &  Sons. 
Lynwood  Mill — Yarns  and  Spinnings — W.  Laidlaw  &  Sons. 
Teviot  Mills — Hosiery  and  Tweeds— Walter  Wilson. 
Weensland  Mill — Tweeds  and  Blankets — Wilson  &  Armstrong. 
Tower  Knowe  and   Stonefield   Mills — Hosiery,    Blankets,   and 

Tarns— William  Elliot  &  Sons. 
Walter's  Wynd — Hosiery — Nixon  &  M'Kie. 

Slitrig  Crescent — Lamb's  Wool  and  Merino  Hosiery — John  Laing. 
Crosswynd — Hosiery — R.  PriDgle  &  Sod. 

North  Bridge  Street — Tweeds  and  Hosiery — Laing  &  Irvine. 
Mill  Bank — Hosiery — Robert  Ewen  ;  Foreman — Andw.  Richardson. 

(Wilton  Side). 
DANGERFiELrj — Tweeds — W.  Watson  &  Sons. 
Ladylaw — Tweeds  and  Hosiery — John  Wilson  &  Son. 
Langlands,  Do.,  John  Wilson  &  Son. 

Wilton.  Bo.,  Dicksons  &  Laiugs  ;     Manager — 

Thos.  Scott. 

DYERS. 
Sutherland,  James,  Teviot  Road. 
Turnbull,  John,  &  Son,  Slitrig  Crescent. 

*  Dr.  Grant  is  representative  of  the  eighteenth  branch  of  the 
honourable  family  of  Grant  of  Grant.  He  is  the  fifth  descendant  of 
Patrick,  progenitor  of  the  family  of  Wester  Elchies,  second  son  of 
James,  laird  of  Grant,  and  of  Lady  Mary  Stewart,  daughter  of  James, 
Earl  of  Moray,  by  Lady  Anne  Gordon,  daughter  of  the  Marquis  of 
Huntly — Anno  1663.  Dr.  Grant  is  Master  of  the  Teviotdale  Otter 
Hounds. 


325 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    HAWICK    AND    WILTON. — CARRIERS ETC. 


326 


SKINNERS. 


Little  &  Murray,  High  Street. 
Nichol,  John,  Slitrig  Crescent. 


I  Scotb,  William,  Slitrig1  Crescent. 
|  Wilson  &  Sou,  Teviot  Crescent. 


FLOUR  MILLS. 
Hawick— John  Young  Scott. 

Trow  Mill  (2  miles  east  of  Hawick  on  the  Teviot) — Hugh  Goodfellow. 
Roughheugh  (Wilton) — William  R.  Wilson. 


AUCTIONEERS. 

Andrew  Oliver  &  Son,  Bourtree  Place. 
Robert  Millig'an  (Appraiser),  SO  High  Street. 
Henry  Paterson,  61  High  Street. 

PORK-CURERS.* 
James  Swan,  27  High  Street.     Andw.  Borthwick,  4  Allars  Crescent. 


DAIRIES. 

James  Stein,  Hawick  Muir  ;  William  Goodwin,  Kirkton.     Both  come 
daily  to  Hawick. 


CONVEYANCE  BY  RAILWAY. 


By  North  British  Railway  to  Kelso,  Jedburgh,  Newcastle,  etc.. 
South  and  East ;  and  Edinburgh,  etc.,  North.  By  "■  Waverley  Route ' 
to  Carlisle,  etc. 


CARRIERS. 

Borthwick  Head — Andrew  Walker,  Friday  morning,  Mr.  Walker's, 

Sandbed-. 
Borthwick  Water — John  Elliot,  Tuesday  and  Friday,  Ewe  and  Lamb. 
Carlisle — M.  Murray,  every  Monday  night,  Bridge  Hotel. 
Cavers  and  Kirkton — Andrew    Walker,    Thursday,    Mr.    Walker's, 

Sandbed. 
Chesters— Archibald  Scott,  Thursday,  Crown. 
Deauburnhaugh — Robert  Brown,  Thursday,  Bridge  Hotel. 
Edinburgh  and  Glasgow,  and  all  parts  of  Scotland,  by  Railway,  daily. 
Ettrick — Thos.  Jackson,  every  Monday  alternately,  Fiddler's,  grocer, 

Old  Kirk  Style  ;  Matthew  Palmer,  Eskdale  Muir,  Bridge  Hotel. 
Jedburgh  and  Kelso— Thomas  Robson,   Wednesday  and  Saturday, 

Bridge  Hotel. 
Kelso  and  Berwick,  and  all  parts  of  the  South,  by  Railway,  daily. 

*  The  number  of  carcases  cured  in  Hawick  during  the  past  season 
amounted  to  1000,  weighing  fully  200,000  pounds,  and  valued  at  £4500. 
See  Kelso,  p.  97. 


Langholm,   Ecclefechan,  &c— M.   Murray,  Monday  and  Thursday 

Bridge  Hotel. 
Lillieslcaf— John  Fergrieve,  Thursday,  J.  Campbell,  baker ;  Thomas 

Davidson,  Plough  Inn. 
Newcastleton— William  Scott,  every  Thursday;  James  Mable,  Geo. 

Brown's,  9  High  Street,  or  Plough  Inn. 
Newcastleton,  Netheroakshaw,  and  Branton — Per  Rail. 
North  Tyne— Per  Rail. 
Selkirk— D.  Chisholm.  Tuesday  and  Friday,  Ewe  and  Lamb;  Wm. 

Scott,  Monday,  Fiddler's,  Old  Kirk  Style. 
Sintonmossend— W.   Scott,   fortnightly,  Wednesday,  Fiddler's,  Old 

Kirk  Style. 
Shankend— Andrew  Walker,  Monday  and  Thursday— Mr.  Walker's, 

Sandbed. 
Slitrig  Water— James  Mable,  weekly,  Saturday,  Ewe  and  Lamb,  or 

George  Brown's,  grocer,  9  High  Street. 
Southdean— Adam  Short,  Thursday,  "Victoria  Inn. 
Teviot  every  two  weeks  and  Ashkirk  every  week — George  Hogg, 

Plough  Inn,  every  Thursday. 
Teviot  Water — Christopher  Glendinning,    Thursday  and  Saturday, 

Ewe  and  Lamb. 
Teviot,  Rule,  aud  Slitrig— Walter  Jeffrey,  Wednesday,  William  Jef- 
frey, 23  High  Street. 
Tyne  and   Keilder,  England— James  Mable,  fortnightly,  Saturday, 

George  Brown's,  Grocer,  9  High  Street,  or  Ewe  and  Lamb. 


DISTRICT  OF  HAWICK  STATUTE  LABOUR  TRUST. 

Qualification  of  Trustees,  £100  Scots.    Comprehends  the  parishes  of 
Ashkirk,  Cavers,  Hawick,  Roberton,  Kirkton,  Wilton,  and  Teviothead. 

George  and  James  Oliver,  Hawick,  Clerks. 

Andrew  Wilson,  Hawick,  Surveyor. 
Annual  Meeting— Third  Tuesday  of  April. 


327 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    HAWICK    AND    WILTON. STREET    DIRECTORY. 


328 


DIRECTORY. 

TRADES,  RESIDENTS,  AND  PUBLIC  OFFICES. 

Those  marked  thus  (*)  are  Registered  Voters  for  the  County. 

The  letter  (H)  after  the  street  titles  designates  Hawick  Parish, 
(W)  designates  Wilton  Parish. 

Altars  Crescent    (H.) 

Baptist  Chapel  (vacant — see  p.  310) 
4*Borthwick,  Andrew,  pork  curer 
17  Ohesser,  James,  wash-house  and  bath  lessee 
C  Davidson,  John,  designer,  modeller,  dealer  in  cements,  and 
plasterer 
Principal  Modeller — Leopoldo  Arrighi 
13  Douglas,  Walter,  clerk  (W.  Elliot  &  Sons) 

1  Grieve,  Miss,  milliner 

Hawkins,  R.  Y.,  cabinet-maker  and  turner 
3*Hobkirk,  John,  joiner  and  cabinet-maker 
■l*Inglis,  William,  mill  manager  (W.  Elliot  &  Sons) 

ll*Melrose,  James,  wool-sorter 

13*Millar,  William,  stocking  maker 

12*Muir,  Eev.  Robert,  A  liars  U.  P.  Manse 
4  Reid,  Mrs.  Walter 

17  Rule,  Mrs.  George 

15  Scott,  William,  skinner  (works,  10  Slitrig  Crescent) 

13  Thomson,  John,  clerk  (Jolm  Laing,  Slitrig  Crescent) 

2  White,  John,  corn  merchant 

10*Wilson,  A.  M.  &  J.  G.,  painters,  glaziers,  &c. 
7*Wilson's,  Walter  (of  Teviot  Mills)  warehouse,  (house,  Or- 
chard, Cavers  parish) 

Albion  Place    (AA7.) 

♦Blain,  James  A.  H.,  teacher 
♦Brodie,  Alexander,  grocer. 

Hislop,  Rev.  R. 

Lillico,  Thomas,  flesher 

Marshall  &  Ballantyne,  builders 
♦Marshall,  John  (of  M.  &  Ballantyne) 

Post  Office,  James  Shiel,  postmaster, 

Shiel,  James,  Inspector  of  Poor. 


Bach  Darngate     (EL) 

*Beattie,  Thomas,  warehouseman 

Carlyle,  W.,  soda-water  manufacturer 

Freeman,  T.,  sinkermaker 

2*Hobkirk,  G.,  corn  merchant 

*Kyle,  John,  warehouseman 

Millin  &  M'Kinlay,  plumbers 

4  Rule,  Margaret,  grocer 
(>  Smart,  William,  baker 

Back  Row    (H.) 

3  Byres,  Agnes,  spirit  dealer 
8  Graham.  John,  spirit  dealer 
4*Henderson,  R  ,  dairy  keeper 
3  Kerr,  James,  tailor 
7  Kyle,  James,  gardener 

12  Pringle,  George  T.,  grocer 
10*Richardson,  John,  china  merchant 

13  Taylor,  John,  baker 

Brougham  Place     (H.) 

♦Cochrane,  William 

Douglas,  James,  clerk  (Wilson  &  Armstrong) 
*Goold,  Alexander,  framesmith 
♦M'Ewan,  Rev.  James,  East  Bank  U.  P.  Manse 
♦Mitchell,  William,  coach  builder  (works.  Bouitree  Place) 

St   Mary's  Parish  Church  School,  William  Murray,  master 

Syme,  Mrs.  William 

Bourtrce  Place    (H.) 

Auction  Mart,  A.   Oliver  &   Son,  auctioneers  (chambers, 
Sandbed) 
Manager  of  Auction  Mart — Adam  Hogg 

♦Diener,  Fredrick  W.,  joiner 
East  Bank  U.  P.   Church  (Rev.  Jas.  M'Ewen's)—  sre  p.310 
M'Caskie,  Misses,  Bouitree  House  Seminary 
Munro,  William,  rope  maker  and  net  manufacturer 

♦Munro,  Rev.  William  (of  Congregational  Church) 
Murray,  Thomas,  tailor 

♦Scott,  Adam,  joiner 
Scott,  Mrs.  Charles 

♦Turnbull,  George  (of  Dickson  &  T.,  18  High  Street) 

Buccleuch  Street    (H.) 

5  Cathrae,  Thomas,  agent  for  Plashett's  coals  and  bricks 
lb"  Deans,  John,  coachman 


329 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    HAWICK    AND    WILTON. STREET    DIRECTORY. 


330 


Dickson,  Mrs.  W.,  Teviot  Lodge  Villa 
Dodds,  Anthony,  rector  parish  school 
2*Elliot,  James,  grocer,  seedsman,  and  fishing  tackle  maker 
Free  Chunk  (Rev.  Mr.  Wallace's— see  p.  310; 

18  Glendinning  Mrs. 
10  Graham,  Mrs. 

20*Graham,  Robert,  (of  Wood  &  G.) 

19  Grieve,  W.,  &  Co ,  plumbers  and  slaters 

7  Hislop,  Adam,  commission  agent 

5  International  Telegraph  Company's  Office — Thomas  Cathrae, 

agent 
Kirk  &  Haddon's  writing  chambers 

6  Kyle,  William,  market  gardener 
22*Laing,  A.  (of  L.  &  Irving) 
17*M'Kie,  William  (of  Nixon  &  M.) 
14*M'Leod,  Daniel,  surgeon 

♦M'Hae,  Rev.  J.,  D.D.,  Manse 

13  Mudie,  James  C.,  head  master  of  High  School 

ll*01iver,  James  (of  G.  &  J.  O.,  writers) 

12  Oliver,  Mrs. 

Parish  Church  (Rev.  D.  MacRae's — see  p.  310  ) 
Parish  School,  Anthony  Dodds,  resident  rector 

8  Patersou,  A.,  M.D. 

18*Pringle  Walter,  (of  R.  P.  &  Son,  manufacturers) 

Roman  Catholic  Church  (Rev.  P.  Taggart's — see  p.  311) 
Scott,  Andrew,  accountant 

4  Scott,  Walter,  joiner 

8  Scott,  Mrs.  Isabella 

9  Scott,  Mrs.  Esther 

19  Scott  &  Wight,  joiners 
o  South  of  Scotland  Chamber  of  Commerce,  Thomas  Cathrae, 

secretary 
3  Stamps  and  Taxes,  W.  Haddon,  sub-collector  and  sub-dis- 
tributor 

5  Sutherland,  James,  dyer  (works,  Teviot  Crescent) 
lo*Taggart.  Rev.  Patrick  (of  R.  C.  C.) 

l*Telfer,  William,  grocer 

Agent  for  Biggs'  Sheep  and  Lamb  Dipping  Composition 
Wilson,  Misses,  milliners 

Cross  Wynd    (H.) 

Attars  U  P.  Church  (Rev.  Robert  Muir's— see  p.  310) 
10  Brown,  Thomas,  flesher 
13*Brown,  George,  carter 
ll*Clark,  William,  photographer 
5  Douglas,  William,  saddler 
*Ewen,  Robert,  Millbank 
5  Farquhar,  Miss  M. 


1  Gray,  Mrs.  Agnes,  publican  (.?ee  No.  32  High  Street) 
15*Grieve,  Andrew,  farmer 

Hawick  Prison,  Michael  Anderson,  keeper 

3  Kay,  Robert,  mason 

6  Kerr,  Mrs.  M. 

Millbank  Manufactory  and  house 
1G  Pringle,  Robert,  &  Son,  hosiers  (see  1  Melgund  Place) 

4  Turnbull,  James,  shoemaker 

7  Wintrup,  James,  shoemaker 

Damside     (W.) 

Donaldson,  A.  J.,  chemical  works. 
Hogg,  George,  manufacturer  of  hosiery 
Thomline,  John,  miner. 

Dean,  suburbs  of— see  p.  341 

DicJcson  /Street    (W.) 

Amos,  Henry,  cattle  dealer 
Clark,  John,  grocer 
*Laidlaw,  Walter,  shoemaker 
Millar,  Robert,  baker 

Reid,  William,  farmer  (formerly  of  Greenside  Hall) 
Robertson,  Robert,  grocer 
Scott,  Alexander,  grocer 
Yellowlees,  James,  grocer 

Dovemounl    (W.) 

Brydone,  James,  grocer 

Elder,  David,  gardener 
*Henderson,  Francis,  spinner 

Law,  Hugh,  coal  agent 

Law,  Walter,  commission  agent 

Mathewson,  George,  mason 

Michie,  Mrs. 
•Miller,  Robert,  spinner 

Railway  Hotel,  Robert  Learmond 

Slater,  Thomas,  toll  collector 

Watson,  David,  clerk 

Wemyss,  Alexander,  commission  agent: 

Willison,  Miss  Agnes 

Drumlanrig  Place     (H.) 

•Glendinning,  James,  gardener 
•Haig,  David,  mason 
•Hunter,  Thomas,  farmer 
•Rae,  John,  joiner 


331 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  :    HAWICK    AND    WILTON. STREET    DIRECTORY. 


332 


Fore  Row    (H  ) 
7  Black,  Agnes 
1  Fox,  Robert,  grocer  and  spirit  dealer 

Hogg,  William,  pavior 
7  Lymburn,  Hugh,  spirit  dealer 
9*Scott,  James,  grocer 
l*Wheelans,  Andrew,  grocer 

Chreenwynd  Head    (H.) 
5*Andison,  James,  gardener 

Havelock  Street     (W.) 
*Mathieson,  George,  jun.,  mason 

High  Street     (H.) 

70  Allan,  Thomas,  smith 
57*Anderson,  James  H.,  hatter 

21  Anderson,  James,  soda-water  manufacturer 

9  Anderson,  James,  grocer,  wine  and  spirit  merchant 
44  Anderson,  Rachel,  grocer 
50  Bell,  Mrs.  Janet 
17  Black,  Miss  Elizabeth 
17  Black,  Robert,  bookseller  and  stationer 
46  Blaikie,  George,  ironmonger 
70  Borthwick,  James,  grocer  and  provision  merchant 
41*Bowie,  James,  veterinary  surgeon  (shop,  West  Fort) 
78  Brown,  George,  grocer 

9  Brown,  Miss  Agnes 
76  Brown,  Thomas,  bootmaker 

7  British  Linen  Coifs.  Bank,  *Gilbert  Davidson,  resident  agent 

8*Brydon,  James,  grocer  and  tea  merchant 
29  Bunvan,  George,  hairdresser 

61  Bunyan,  John 

30*  Burns,  William,  clothier 

41   Cairns,  Robert,  green-grocer 

10*Campbell,  John,  baker 

12-14  Carmichael,  James,  writing  chambers 

68  Charters,  Francis,  coal  agent 

68  Charters,  Thomas,  baker  and  confectioner 

28*Connell,  Patrick,  clothier 

62  Co-operative  Store,  John  Goodfellow,  manager 
17  Craig,  John,  druggist 

55  Crosbie,  Elizabeth,  milliner 

22  Crown  Hotel,  Jane  Grieve 
5*Dalgleish,  James,  stationer 
4  Davis,  George,  flesher 


25  Deans,  Francis,  stationer 

18  Dickson  &  Turnbulls,  nursery  seedsmen  and  florists 

Nurseries  —  Trinity  Lands,  Weensland;    Laurie's  Den; 
Western  Nurseries 

2*Easton,  George,  hairdresser 
21  Eckford,  John,  merchant 

3  Fiddes,  John,  baker 

6  Fleece  Inn,  John  Bell 
40*Forsyth,  Walter,  flesher 
46*Fraser,  J.  H.  (of  Hislop  &  Co.) 

1  Gowans,  James,  watchmaker  and  jeweller 
16*Graham,  Thomas,  jeweller  and  watchmaker 
32  Gray,  Agnes,  publican  (see  No.  1  Cross  Wynd) 
47*Grant,  John,  M.D. 
10  Grierson,  Adam,  corn  merchant 
17  Grieve,  Mrs.  Christian 

25  Guild,  George,  tinsmith 

61  Guthrie,  J.,  &  Sons,  slaters  and  plumbers 
61  Guthrie,  Lewis  V.  (of  J.  G.  &  Sons) 
61*Guthrie,  J.  (of  J.  G.  &  Sons) 

8*Haining,  James  ((if  H.  &  Co.). 

9  Haining,  J.,  &  Co.,  printers  and  bookbinders 
20*Hall,  Thomas,  &  Son,  wool  merchants 
*Hall  David  (of  T.  H.  &  Son) 

64  Half-Moon  Hotel,  Mrs.  Anthony  Boiston 

5  Hawick  Advertiser  Publishing  Office 
53*Henderson,  Walter,  farmer  and  pork  dealer 

6  Hill,  *  Robert  &  *James,  saddlers 

15  Hislop,  John,  &  Co.,  drapers  (see  13  Teviot  Crescent) 
71   Hogg,  John,  flesher 
3*  Hopper,  Thomas  H.,  druggist 

26  Irvine,  Andrew,  heritors'  clerk 
67  Irving,  William  (of  Laing  &  I.) 

65  Jardine,  Alexander,  painter 
23  Jeffrey,  William,  baker 

9  Johnston,  John,  tailor 

27  Kennedy,  David,  druggist 
56  Kerr,  George,  tinsmith 
74*Kyle,  Francis,  farmer 

60  Laidlaw,  Thomas,  grocer 
49*Laing,  John,  draper  and  coal  agent 
10  Laing,  John,  boot  and  shoemaker 
13  Laing,  Mrs. 

50  Lamb,  William,  seedsman  and  florist 
39  Lawrie,  Walter,  baker 
66*Leyden,  Andrew,  coal  agent 
27  Little  &  Murray,  skinners 
39  Little,  Misses,  dressmakers 


333 


ROXBURGHSHIRE  I    HAWICK    AND    WIMON. STREET   DIRECTORY. 


334 


17  Michie,  Mrs.,  dressmaker 

80*Milligan,  Robert,  cabinet-maker  and  appraiser 

25  Mitchell,  Alexander,  flesher 
63  Moncrieff,  Miss  M.  L.  Scott 
29  Murray,  John,  watchmaker 
51*Murray,  John,  draper 

57  Murray,  John,  slater,  plumber,  and  gasfitter 

75  Murray,  \\  illiam,  china  merchant 

31  National  Bank  of  Scotland,  *Tbos.  Purdom,  resident  agent 

26  National  Security  Savings'  Bank,  Andrew  Irvine,  actuary 
56  Nichol,  Mrs.  Mary 

42*01iver,  Andrew  (late  tobacconist) 

21*Paisley,  Walter,  ironmonger 

19*Park,  David  S.,  merchant 

17  Pasley,  Miss  Agnes,  milliner 

42  Pasley,  Thomas,  grocer  and  provision  dealer 

20  Paterson,  1).  &  J.,  fleshers  and  game  dealers 
37*Paterson,  David,  flesher 

72  Paterson,  John,  jun.,  ironmonger 
72*tPater.-,on,  John,  manufacturer 
55*Patierson,  George,  baker 

61  Patterson,  Henry,  auctioneer,  wool  merchant,  and  corn  agent 
25  Post  Office,  Francis  Deans,  postmaster 
31  Purdom's,  Thomas,  writing  chambers 
1  Purves,  William,  fruiterer  and  confectioner 

76  Refreshment  Rooms 

53  Renwick,  Frank,  draper 
23  Revel,  William,  tailor 

72  Richardson,  Andrew,  grocer 
73*Richardson,  James,  grocer 

73  Richardson,  James,  jun.,,baker 
39*Richardson,  William 

70  Richardson,  William,  Tweed  merchant 

21  Riddle,  Helen,  pie  baker 
24*Riddle,  John,  clothier 
30  Riddell,  Walter,  baker 

23*Robison,  Andrew,  grocer,  wine  and  spirit  merchant 

12-14  Royal  Bank  of  Scotland,  James  Carmichael,  resident  agent 

78  Rutherford,  Andrew 

60  Rutherford,  James,  tailor 

59  Rutherford,  Thomas,  grocer 

20  Rutherford  &  Thomson,  smiths  and  agricultural  implement 

makers 
6  Rutherford,  W.,  watchmaker 
13*Rutherfurd,  Richard,  clothier 

21  Scott,  Joseph,  ironmonger 
36  Scott,  Michael,  grocer 

59  Scott,  Misses,  milliners 


43*Scott,  Robert,  accountant 

58  Shiel,  John,  shoemaker 

59  Sinton,  Adam,  grocer 

27*Swan,  James,  grocer  and  wine  merchant 
76*Tait,  George,  mason 
24  Tait,  Thomas,  joiner 

20  Teal,  Stephen,  tobacconist  and  china  merchant 
64  Temple,  James,  cabinet-maker 

69  Thompson,  J.,  turner 

34  Town  Mall,  Police  Office,  and  Fire-Engine  House — Daniel 

Munro,  custodier 
51*Turnbull,  James,  grocer  and  wholesale  and  retail  spirit  dealer 
ll*Turnbull,  James,  draper 
52   Victoria  Hotel,  *George  Burns 

10  Watson,  Charles,  painter 
38*Waugh,  Andrew,  clothier 
48  Wield,  John,  druggist 

54*Woodcock,  William,  rag  and  china  merchant 
66  Young,  Robert,  baker 
4o*Young,  Thomas,  draper 

Hope  Park    (W.) 

Anderson,  J.  (of  Wilson  &  A.) 
Rodger,  Misses,  Boarding  Seminary 

Hoiugate    (H.) 

20*Barclay,  George,  innkeeper 
7  Blackburn,  G.,  baker  and  confectioner 

21  Brown,  Robert,  grocer  and  confectioner 

16  Burnet,  R.  &  *Wm.,  shoemakers 

11  Cavers,  Robert,  grocer 

14  Cook,  Thomas,  green -grocer 
13  Douglas,  Mrs.  Elizabeth 

1  Fox,